Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Chandlers Steakhouse

Prime steaks, fresh seafood and an award winning wine list combine with friendly service and a warm, inviting atmosphere making Chandlers Steakhouse your destination of choice for a remarkable dining experience. Home of the famous "10 minute martini" enjoy live jazz 7 days a week.

981 W. Grove Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Martini bar opens at 4:00pm daily for cocktails and appetizers.

Dinner seating starts at 5:30pm Daily.

Don't forget about Prime Rib Sundays with an expanded three course menu priced at $38 featuring our slowly roasted Prime Rib, Trout, Lamb Chops, Duck Two Ways.

Online reservations will not be available for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, or New Year's Eve.

Cross Street:
10th & Grove

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 383-4300

Website:
http://www.chandlersboise.com/

Entertainment:
We feature live Jazz seven days a week.

Catering:
Passed appetizers, reception area, full business presentations, we have done it! Fine dining for 50 (plus!) as we like to call it. We will customize any menu for you.

Parking Details:
Take advantage of our complimentary valet service. You can choose to self park on the street or in the hourly pay garage adjacent to the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Luis Flores

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Nights we offer our Prix Fix menu from 5:30 - 10:00 p.m., featuring our Prime Rib. 3 course meal, with four entree choices, Prime Rib, Trout, or Lamb Chops.

"10 Minute Martini" ALWAYS!

Live Jazz, 7 nights a week, no cover.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chandlers Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Good for a Date (72)
See All
Romantic (59)
Business Meals (58)
Notable Wine List (55)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Live Music (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Worth the Drive (38)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Fun (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1763 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Amazing food, always a delight to dine there! The service is impeccable!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 16, 2017

In our view, Chandler's is the premier Steak House in Southwest Idaho, by a long shot. The steaks are always perfectly prepared with creative sauces, and Rex sources fresh seafood that can't be matched in this area. The wine list is comprehensive, with something for everyone, and the service is always outstanding. Best in this area for outstanding food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

My wife and I came here for our anniversary. The Host asked if we were celebrating. Our waiter informed us that the restaurant would be comping us a chocolate soufflé! Dinner was amazing. And the Soufflé was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our waiter Jason was great! He was very knowledgeable and accommodating with our order. It was a great and delicious experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Chandler's is one of the finest restaurants in the country. The room is elegant, the food is perfectly prepared and the service is professional and gracious. Rex Chandler sources the highest quality ingredients, hires the most talented people, and spares no expense on decor. We dined on seared tuna and pan roasted salmon -- both expertly prepared, and had the sinfully rich chocolate souffle with Grand Mariner and whipped cream for dessert. Our server, Sean, was an absolutely delightful and professional man.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

They have recently redone their interior, looks very nice although it looked very good before. Definitely an asset for Boise!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I made reservations about 2 weeks in advance to celebrate my spouse's birthday. It was recommended to us to sit near the bar area to enjoy live music. I received a confirmation call the day of our reservation from the restaurant. We were seated on time and just behind the pianist. Our dining experience was GREAT! Our server gave us a tour of the menu since it was our first visit and was warm and friendly. The food was AMAZING and the complimentary birthday dessert melted in our mouths! We've already shared with our friends how awesome it was and we can't wait to go back to celebrate another special occasion!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great service. Food was meh with the entrees being subpar. Very disappointed in the food but the drinks and service were fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good, but not up to my expectations as the best restaurant in Boise. Caprese salad tomatoes were sub par. Steak was very good, but not memorable. Flourless torte was mediocre fudge. I will go elsewhere for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Chandlers is the finest steak restaurant in Idaho. Service is always above 5 stars. Have been here for business dinners as well as special occasions. Dave the GM is a great guy and always comes over to say hi.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We sent a message to the mgr. He has our comments. Everything was superb.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We really enjoyed our time at Chandlers! The waiter was excellent and brought class to a already classy restaurant. We had the crab cakes for an appetizer and they were very tasty! The Fig Salad was very good as well.

For the main course, my wife had the veal and risotto and it was very tender and had a nice lightness to the dish due to the citrus flavor. I had the American Waygu Filet and roasted vegetables along with a scallop. The steak may have been one of the best steaks I've ever had (and I've had a lot). The flavor was spot on and it was as tender and juicy as I've ever had. I wish I would have ordered two scallops. They were amazing. The roasted vegetables were very complementary to the steak and had great flavor.

The only downside, which wasn't a big one, was the restaurant itself wasn't that interesting or beautiful a place. Other than that, all and all a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

HAD A GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE WILL GO AGAIN. THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT AND THE FOOD WAS TO DIE FOR.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2017

As always the food and service were outstanding! Every time we have family or friends in town we have to take them to Chandlers! It is a true Boise gem.

Tags: Live Music, Organic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always great. The abalone is special, the steaks are always cooked to perfection and the service is first rate.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was excellent! And the service superb. We were seated on time and each course of food was served promptly but in a relaxed way so we could just enjoy our time and the food. A special dessert compliments of Chandler's for our anniversary was unexpected and fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Another exceptional dining experience with the ambience, service, and mouth watering food one would expect from a high end restaurant. From the first moment when one is offered their choice of water to a knowledgeable waiter with important tips to a menu full of unique and farm or sea fresh food; all was phenomenal.

Visit, stay and enjoy a relaxing dining experience seldom found in the mad rush of everyday life.

(Make reservations - - the word is out that Chandlers is the place to be!)

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The waiters were very attentive. The sommelier was also quite helpful when we were informed that they were sold out of the wine that we ordered. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It is our absolute favorite among all US Steakhouses.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I dine out with clients almost every week. This is truly a five-star restaurant in every way.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Had great evening and was very enjoyable environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Celebrating my wife's birthday on Saturday night was a major success with our first trip to Chandler's. Trey exceeded our expectations and provided excellent service. We will be back in the near future!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

From the Valets to the food everything was on point. Loved every moment of it.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Fan-freakin'-tastic! Best food I've ever had in Boise. Eat here and you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 22, 2017

All the food was amazing - oysters, spinach salad, and an amazing steak cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We celebrated a birthday there. The place is beautiful, upscale, awesome food and wine. A wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Puts it all together exceedingly well. Worth the drive, worth the flight. As enjoyable an evening as we've had in a long time. And this from a twosome who regular travel to the country's best restaurant cities.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Visiting Idaho to see the eclipse. Had Sunday dinner here. A wonderful dining experience. Everyone on the staff, and it's a lot of staff, seemed to take a special interest in making sure that we had a great time and that the food was prepared perfectly. And it was. Anyone visiting Boise should treat themselves to this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent. Best steak we had during our 3+ week roundtrip thru the USA.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Went here for our 10 year wedding anniversary and was not disappointed! Steaks were melt in your mouth delicious and service was crazy fast!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Perfection from the moment we dropped our vehicle with the valet until we drove away, service made our experice really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Went for our 15th anniversary. This is one of the best restaurants in Boise. The food and bar are both amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fabulous in every regard.. The filet was cooked t perfection!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Enjoyed the live Music,
Enjoyed the Steaks, recommend the filét Mignon with creamed spinach and potato mash, a killer.
Couldn´t really check out the wines, had to drive by car + Jet Lag + unkown City definitely a no-go.
Keep up the good work and keep the Vibe alive, smart - casual, was a great evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Music, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great service, very ambient, romantic, modern scene. The Rib eye (46) and the Filet mignon (44) was absolutely amazing. However with the eclipse coming seemed a tad chaotic. They were forgetful of silverware and when grabbing a fork from my Fiance the gentleman almost stabbed her,(Unoticed) by him. But overall the atmosphere was great. The live jazz was romantic. And the lemon sceneted towels to clean were nice. This isn't your everyday place. High end. But great for romance. Just be ready to pay around 100 for two people.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing as always. Chandler is always our last nights meal when traveling to Boise. Favorite steakhouse ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was delicious and service was excellent. We all ordered from the pre fix menu and weren't disappointed. The sole was especially good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Halibut was absolutely wonderful. Steaks as usual were a religious experience. The chcoclate soufflé with grand mariner cream is a must! Our servers were delightful. A perfect place for a special dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We are from Chicago and eat at chandlers twice a year (for the past 9 years) when we drive from Chicago to Oregon. This is a really wonderful dining experience. We enjoy the ambience and service and food. Their steaks are excellent. We also enjoy their salads especially the limousine salad. My only tweak would be to add some appetizers that do not have shellfish for those of us who have a shellfish allergy. Of the 12 appetizers only 3 do not contain shellfish. They have such an active bar scene that a flatbread appetizer or cheese selecion would be more modern and up to date. I highly recommend chandlers for a fun dinner out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.