About Chandlers Steakhouse

981 W. Grove Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Prime steaks, fresh seafood and an award winning wine list combine with friendly service and a warm, inviting atmosphere making Chandlers Steakhouse your destination of choice for a remarkable dining experience. Home of the famous "10 minute martini" enjoy live jazz 7 days a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Martini bar opens at 4:00pm daily for cocktails and appetizers.

Dinner seating starts at 5:30pm Daily.

Don't forget about Prime Rib Sundays with an expanded three course menu priced at $38 featuring our slowly roasted Prime Rib, Trout, Lamb Chops, Duck Two Ways.

Online reservations will not be available for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, or New Year's Eve.

Cross Street:
10th & Grove

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 383-4300

Website:
http://www.chandlersboise.com/

Entertainment:
We feature live Jazz seven days a week.

Catering:
Passed appetizers, reception area, full business presentations, we have done it! Fine dining for 50 (plus!) as we like to call it. We will customize any menu for you.

Parking Details:
Take advantage of our complimentary valet service. You can choose to self park on the street or in the hourly pay garage adjacent to the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Luis Flores

Private Party Facilities:
Business and group meetings, presentations, receptions, private parties and holiday functions. Banquet facilities that don't compromise service, food or atmosphere. Three private dining rooms with banquet service for 20 to 90. Full AV capabilities. It's not only a company function, it's fine dining for 50!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Gould melissa@chandlersboise.com: (208) 383-4300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Nights we offer our Prix Fix menu from 5:30 - 10:00 p.m., featuring our Prime Rib. 3 course meal, with four entree choices, Prime Rib, Trout, or Lamb Chops.

"10 Minute Martini" ALWAYS!

Live Jazz, 7 nights a week, no cover.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chandlers Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (54)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Romantic (47)
Live Music (34)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Cozy (16)
Modern Decor (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Private Room (8)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, great food, comfortable and quiet and able to talk to each other.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Best restaurant in Boise for fine dining. I really can't say anything bad about it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Three kinds of water? A little pretentious but the food is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a date night to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was her first time and we left with huge smiles and a new wedding ring! The entire meal was wonderful. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

If you want top of the line dinner, this is the restaurant to go to.

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great time celebrating Valentines on Friday night. Lucas, our server, was fabulous. He was very knowledgeable, kind, and not pushy. He made our night so much fun. Stewart gave us a great wine recommendation as well. We are always treated so well at Chandlers and the food is always perfect. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We loved the service, the food, and the atmosphere. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We didn't choose to buy water, just thought the filtered tap water would be fine. It was not. When we told our server that the water tasted terrible - she said it was a known issue. She said that around that time of night, it starts tasting funny because of the new filtration system the restaurant just put in. If this is a known issue - whether it be temporary or not - don't serve it on the floor.

I bought a bottle of wine as well. The cork was disintegrating as she was trying to get it out of the bottle. Literally falling apart. So, she left the table. Came back with a guy, same bottle and a strainer. He got the cork out and strained the wine in to a caraft that was left on the table. Leaving the wine to get warm as we sat there for several hours. They should have never actually sold me that bottle after our server got cork in it.

Maybe it was just an off night. We went there for Christmas dinner and it was lovely - however, for a nice date night out - we won't be choosing this place again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

A late family dinner. Meal was excellent, as always. Would recommend any will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

Lovely dinner celebrating Valentines Day a few days after, enjoyed less crowd and bustle.

Incredibly fresh oysters, the fresh salmon special was delicious, and a shared Chocolate Soufflé with its rich chocolate "magma" is a rock solid go-to dessert. Bonus for being shareable.

Try it with the 20y/o Graham's Tawny Port!

Great music, fun people watching, wonderful evening.

Best service in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

We always enjoy Chandlers for wonderful food and service. It's our favorite occasion restaurant!

Their staff is professional and friendly. Nice cocktails and thoughtful wine list. This is one restaurant that knows how to cook a great steak using the highest quality meat and not over-salting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fantasticwe had been concerned because they just finished with the remodel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful meal! The Scallops were unbelievably delicious - the best we've ever had. Ribeye was delicious. We were right next to piano player - a little bit too loud for us to chat. Nice place....

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was excellent! Outstanding food, service and ambiance. Well worth the price!! Will return again and again....

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love eating here, great service and food.I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Chandler's is a special treat. The steak is heavenly and the service is outstanding. We live 150 miles away and it has become an annual tradition for us and some of our friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Like always amazing food , service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

You go to Chandlers because you want something special, something out of the ordinary to celebrate a singular occasion, such as an anniversary. They never disappoint. The lobster bisque was extraordinary, the steak was cooked to perfection, the service was exceptional, and the ambiance classic Chandlers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second visit. Valet parking is great. We were right next to piano which was a little loud. Service was good. Drinks are just so- so but expensive. Food was good but a little salty. The chocolate soufle was wonderful. A good restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

The only reason I gave service a 4 star is due to the fact that having someone wipe away my crumbs is a little unsettling. It seems unecessary and almost demeaning (I am also not one to frequent nicer restaurants so I would note know of its normality). This is just a personal note though and others may enjoy the cleanliness or consider that to be an indication of an upscale restaurant. The food was VERY good and the waiters were very nice. Great variety of foods and the live music was also great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had made reservations ahead of time, knowing that they would be full on Valentine's Day we chose to dine at Chandlers the Saturday before. When I received the reservation verification call Saturday morning I had mentioned that we were married on Valentine's Day but thought we might have a 'quieter' Anniversary experience by coming in on any other day besides Valentine's Day ;) We were pleasantly surprised when the Hostess' said, "Happy Anniversary" as did our Server and Maitre D' when he came around to ask if our steaks were prepared to our satisfaction! Our server, Blake, was both friendly and very professional. The food was amazing! We started off our dinning experience with the crab cakes. I love the new presentation of the lobster bisque :) The hollandaise asparagus and sauteed mushrooms are a must if you choose the filet mignon or grass fed filet as we had, which BTW was prepared to perfection! Trying to figure out just what is in those famous Chandlers smashed potatoes...I taste a hint of horse radish I think :D Ask for a trifecta dessert to go. Trust me 2 hours after you get home break out a couple of forks and share with your sweetheart....TO DIE FOR! Thank you Chandlers for a very romantic dinner, our corner table was just what we needed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Staff was amazing and food was mouth watering delightful. Thank you for a delicious evening.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food swine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Celebrating our 31st anniversary. We received excellent service from Sean and the food was wonderful. They presented us with a chocolate soufflé after dinner, on the house, for our anniversary. It was a lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Chandlers is newly remodeled in the lounge area - absolutely beautiful. My husband had a late date night and the food and ambiance was perfect. We both had the grass-fed filet topped with crab (Oscar style) and it was cooked to perfection. Also, Chandlers has the best crab cakes in town. We also enjoyed the music.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Tapas, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent filet. Extremely loud. We could hear voices from the bar shouting at their table companions trying to be heard over the music. Crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

great food, great staff, love the way we are treated, by everyone from the people at the front desk, the managers, to the guys that park our car......you guys rock!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chandlers is always great! Never disappointed. Great quiet dining in the wine rooms. Always great service. I always go there when I'm Boise.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

They have high quality restaurant food and professional service. Absolutely I'm going to return and recommend to my friends. I'm so impressive them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Chandler's is where I celebrate my birthday and anniversary every year. The food is always wonderful, the ambiance is lovely, and the entertainment provides a nice backdrop to a fabulous evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful American Kobe filet Very good service. Lovely 10 minute martini

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Perfect every time! Love the filet and truffle fries. Must have the chocolate soufflé !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

It's now a tradition whenever we come to Boise. Better than anything we have in Tacoma. Always great in every way.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Thank you, Chandlers, for making our night special... This was our first evening with you, but it will not be our last! From the first greeting when we entered, to our fabulous table servers... From our delicious bread & spreads, to our salads & amazing entrée's... Perfect! We'll see you again!!

Ok, one thing... Have you ever considered having old-time Christmas singers, strolling through?? Just a thought ...

Perfect in any case!! Thanks!

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Took my wife there for her birthday and the food was off the charts delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good food, excellent service. good ambiance, but a bit pricey.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was outstanding! The service was great. Overall, a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had high expectations from everyone's recommendations and Chandlers met every one of them. It was a great experience in every way and we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always 1st choice for us. We have our favorites of rib eye, salmon and filet mignon. As for the appetizers, we love the stuffed mushrooms, or the shrimp cocktail. The bar tenders are great. I tend to order the same drink and it consistently made well. I love the music. It's my kind of music.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Chandlers was amazing! The cocktails were lovely and everyone raved about the 10 minute martini. Our filets were all cooked perfectly and the lobster bisque was something I'll dream about. Over all, it was a prefect Friday night out with friends to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Got a great table next to the band, hence the noise level comment but this is not a negative point. The band sang Christmas classics and the musicians were fantastic!

The service, the ambiance and the food were great. Would recommend the bouillabaisse if you're a sea-foody, simply amazing. It's undergoing renovations soon and will be closed for a few weeks, just hope it doesn't lose too much of its traditional charm in the process.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

As always the food was excellent an so was the service. I understand they will be remodeling the restaurant this January and I hope they keep the acoustics the same because the restaurant is very quiet and you can hear the music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Outstanding dinner and delightful holiday dinner with family.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

We don't go there often because it is expensive. But it is a great place for special occasions. The food is great. So is the service. In contrast to another high-end steakhouse chain (to remain unnamed) I appreciated that the service was not overly solicitous; i.e. they don't hover over you and top your water glass off when you've only drunk 1/4" of it. We went to celebrate my wife's birthday with another couple. Two of us had steaks; one had the ahi tuna, and another had sea bass. All entrees were outstanding and cooked just right. They had a nice selection of wines, including Zinfandels from the Dry Creek Valley of Sonoma County CA. The Quivira Zin we had was great! Since we were celebrating a birthday they gave the birthday girl a complementary chocolate soufflé which was outstanding, and would probably have been enough to share among the four of us. However, the other three of us had key lime tart to finish off the excellent meal. All things considered it was a marvelous evening, with great food and service combined with a wonderful atmosphere. Definitely a place to return for special occasions, and/or to impress visitors with what we have in the fine dining scene in Boise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

I've had really great dinners at Chandlers before - I just think they were off their game the other night. Hate to complain but food took way too long to arrive - and my wife's salmon wasn't done and it was cold - and no one checked on us...

Tags: Hot Spot, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Chandler's rep for fine dining did not disappoint.

We had Oysters Rockefeller/Shrimp Scampi. Cocktails were great. The Caesar Salad and Delmonico Steaks were perfection, accompanied with Stuffed Tomato Provençal/Smashed Potatoes.

Our waiter Jason was the best. He surprised the birthday girl with a complimentary Double Belgian Chocolate Souffle to die for.

The valet parking, ambience and live music made this a memorable evening. A must experience in Boise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We visited this place for my wife's birthday. Service, foods, chemistry all good. For old couple like us, still too much food. But definitely we enjoyed the dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Chandlers is great but when packed with people the service is compromised and the noise level is high

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

One of the best Steaks I have had in a long time. Great place. Will definitely go again when in town for business.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.