Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Chandlers Steakhouse

Prime steaks, fresh seafood and an award winning wine list combine with friendly service and a warm, inviting atmosphere making Chandlers Steakhouse your destination of choice for a remarkable dining experience. Home of the famous "10 minute martini" enjoy live jazz 7 days a week.

981 W. Grove Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Martini bar opens at 4:00pm daily for cocktails and appetizers.

Dinner seating starts at 5:30pm Daily.

Don't forget about Prime Rib Sundays with an expanded three course menu priced at $38 featuring our slowly roasted Prime Rib, Trout, Lamb Chops, Duck Two Ways.

Online reservations will not be available for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, or New Year's Eve.

Cross Street:
10th & Grove

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 383-4300

Website:
http://www.chandlersboise.com/

Entertainment:
We feature live Jazz seven days a week.

Catering:
Passed appetizers, reception area, full business presentations, we have done it! Fine dining for 50 (plus!) as we like to call it. We will customize any menu for you.

Parking Details:
Take advantage of our complimentary valet service. You can choose to self park on the street or in the hourly pay garage adjacent to the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Luis Flores

Private Party Facilities:
Business and group meetings, presentations, receptions, private parties and holiday functions. Banquet facilities that don't compromise service, food or atmosphere. Three private dining rooms with banquet service for 20 to 90. Full AV capabilities. It's not only a company function, it's fine dining for 50!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Gould melissa@chandlersboise.com: (208) 383-4300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Nights we offer our Prix Fix menu from 5:30 - 10:00 p.m., featuring our Prime Rib. 3 course meal, with four entree choices, Prime Rib, Trout, or Lamb Chops.

"10 Minute Martini" ALWAYS!

Live Jazz, 7 nights a week, no cover.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chandlers Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (105)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Romantic (77)
See All
Good for a Date (72)
Notable Wine List (61)
Live Music (57)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Business Meals (41)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Modern Decor (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Cozy (24)
Happy Hour (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fun (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Private Room (13)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (9)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Always excellent, beef and seafood the best in Boise. Outstanding service with great wine selection and assistance from their staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 3 days ago

We were in town visiting for work for a long weekend and had to try Chandler's. This was the 4th different restaurant we tried. Definitely the best of all of them. It was higher priced than the others but definitely worth it. Luke, our server, was spot on. His service was outstanding! All employees we encountered were very pleasant as well. Atmosphere was nice and cozy but not uppity and stuffy. I had the Del Monico and my wife had the Lamb Chops. Both were spectacular! The berry cobbler was out of this world too! This dinner wasn't a quick in/out experience either. It was a relaxing and romantic 2 hour cuisine so hopefully you like the person/people you are with...lol. We highly recommend for any date night or special occasion! The perfect way to end our stay in Boise. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

Atmosphere, food, service and music were all amazing!! Great experience for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

I was very satisfied with the evening at Chandlers. Outstanding meal and service. Maybe a bit pricy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

Chandler's never disappoints! From the arrival at the reception desk to the end of the meal, we were treated well, the wait staff was very attentive, the food service was appropriately prompt, and the music wonderful. We love to share the Limousine Salad and my husband salivates over the thought of their scallops. We will definitely recommend Chandler's to others, and to return as often as possible.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had an almost private room. It was intimate and quiet. The food was perfect. I had escargot, filet mignonette and fromage Blanche cheesecake. Yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love the food, the music is too loud.......way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We could have not been more pleased with our experience at Chandler's. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed we were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff. The wait staff are true professionals. The food was perfect and we will certainly be going back to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

5 star food and ambiance in the wine room. Perfectly cooked scallops and halibut along with a great wine recommendation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 12, 2017

In a word, fantastic! First time I went and and I was with a group of seven so I was able to see a variety of dishes as well as the flexibility and service of the staff.
Reservations​ a must

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We rarely go out for dinner and this was a special treat for our anniversary. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the staff and the food was wonderful. Would definitely have done there again👍.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I have been looking forward to eating at chandler's for a long time. It did not disappoint. Probably one of the best steaks I've ever had.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2017

They're the best in Boise
They consistently deliver top-notch food and service

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Pricey, but worth it: Food, service, ambiance are all top -notch. Best steaks in Boise.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love the food, the atmospher and the service. Best martinis in town.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great wine list and exceptional waiter/ wine service. If this is your first time there, don't hesitate to tell your waiter. He or she will explain everything on the menu including specials of the day/week.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful Evening!
The steaks were the best I've had in Boise, the service was excellent, and the chocolate soufflé superb. We'll look forward to celebrating future events at Chandlers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food is marginal for a high end steak house. Beautifully set table, however very cramp. Service was terrible. They don't seem to know how to clear a plate when people are done eating, all courses noted. Had a bone in filet and was really disappointed in the quality of the meat. Tried this place about 5 years ago and was disappointed then. I shouldn't have given them a second chance. Shame on me. We need a Flemings Steak house in this town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Lots more light following the remodel...very nice. Superb service and food, as always. Our filet mignon's were absolutely perfect. Love going to this wonderful local steak/seafood house!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was very good, but I didn't have my usual waiter and the service was very bad. If this had been my first time, I probably would't go back, since the prices are quite high.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Spectacular wine list, phenomenal seafood and steaks. Love the Kumamoto oysters and tuna tartare tower. The Mirabelle sparkling rosé is a classic and pairs perfectly with a seafood app. Chandlers is my favorite place for elegant happy hours and celebratory dinners.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Never had a bad meal at Chandler's. Service level is outstanding, don't feel rushed and they don't hover at your table all night. Great wine selection as well as fantastic food presentation and selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Chose Chandlers for my friend's 50th birthday dinner. We were not disappointed. Ambiance is very uptown swanky, there was a trio playing standards (Sinatra, light jazz) and we tried the 10-minute martinis which were great! Felt a bit like we were in Manhattan in the early 60's -- Very Mad Men. Our server was a young enthusiastic blonde lady, and she was very helpful and knowledgable. The service was friendly and attentive. Since it was my friend's birthday, they gave us a chocolate soufflé and we also ordered the goat cheese cheesecake. Both were wonderful. Our entrees were all good, but the beet salad was underdressed and the dressing was bitter and un-interesting. For me, that was the only mis-step in an all-together lovely evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 30, 2017

As always, the food was delicious. The hostess was very accommodating as our group size changed and they were able to combine tables. Lots of large tables were being served as it was also during high school prom, so service was a little slow trying to accommodate all the people. We were a little concerned about making it to our play at the Boise Contemporary Theater and had to rush over to make it. The delay was partially our fault as a couple of our guests didn't arrive on time; delaying the ordering process.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My favorite place in Boise every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always our favorite / special place to go downtown. Made a night of it with Hotel 43 dine and unwind package and had a great time. Food and atmosphere are always perfect. The expanded bar and live music are an added bonus.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As always, we had a fabulous dining experience. The food was incredible and our waiter, Jason, was both helpful with menu options and attentive to our needs. We'll go back in the very near future!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Chandler's is consistently good. We eat out often and Chandler's is a favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I have lived in Boise for 30 years, and Chandlers is simply the best restaurant in Boise. Be prepared for a pricey meal, but worth it for special occasions

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My steak was good, but the swordfish my husband got was 'overcooked'. They did took it off the bill but we were disappointed. Good server and a yummy chocolate dessert for my birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

From the barstaff to the waiters and other servers, fabulous! A few hiccups, but nothing so awful it changed my rating of 5 stars. The food... best in Boise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Normally a stellar experience, they were definitely off tonight. Slow service and mix ups with what we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our favorite special occasion restaurant. Perfect ambience, excellent service. We especially appreciated the music of Chuck Smith and trio. They are all excellent musicians and sensitive of the noise level. Too bad not more people showed their appreciation with some applause.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great wine list, friendly well informed wine steward who has spot on recommendations. Very fresh oyster, the only kind to enjoy. Seafood salad included crab, juicy shrimp, tender greens, and I had a hard time keeping my husbands fork out of my plate.
Just a treat to one here anytime. Bravo!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service was by far and away the best service I have ever had! Roni was an excellent server. She was aware of every aspect of our meal. When my steak was not quite prepared how I ordered it, she brought it to my attention before I could even ask her about it. She also noticed that I had a valet ticket and offered to take care of it a few minutes before we were leaving.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is the second time we've visited Chandler's, and we remain very impressed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Just perfect. Perfect ambiance. Service was impeccable. Sommelier was on top of his list. Food perfectly prepared. Definitely a high end experience and priced accordingly. With tip, the two of us dropped 277.00. But it was worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Superb as always! Never had a bad meal or experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Private Room, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good food excellent staff. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was I had risotto and it was not good and my daughter tried it and thought it was bad too. Over all the food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I are from out of state. We chose Chandlers to celebrate his birthday and we were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and professional. The food was to die for. We highly recommend Chandler's .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Healthy, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.