Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Chandlers Steakhouse

Prime steaks, fresh seafood and an award winning wine list combine with friendly service and a warm, inviting atmosphere making Chandlers Steakhouse your destination of choice for a remarkable dining experience. Home of the famous "10 minute martini" enjoy live jazz 7 days a week.

981 W. Grove Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Martini bar opens at 4:00pm daily for cocktails and appetizers.

Dinner seating starts at 5:30pm Daily.

Don't forget about Prime Rib Sundays with an expanded three course menu priced at $38 featuring our slowly roasted Prime Rib, Trout, Lamb Chops, Duck Two Ways.

Online reservations will not be available for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, or New Year's Eve.

Cross Street:
10th & Grove

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 383-4300

Website:
http://www.chandlersboise.com/

Entertainment:
We feature live Jazz seven days a week.

Catering:
Passed appetizers, reception area, full business presentations, we have done it! Fine dining for 50 (plus!) as we like to call it. We will customize any menu for you.

Parking Details:
Take advantage of our complimentary valet service. You can choose to self park on the street or in the hourly pay garage adjacent to the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Luis Flores

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Nights we offer our Prix Fix menu from 5:30 - 10:00 p.m., featuring our Prime Rib. 3 course meal, with four entree choices, Prime Rib, Trout, or Lamb Chops.

"10 Minute Martini" ALWAYS!

Live Jazz, 7 nights a week, no cover.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Business and group meetings, presentations, private parties and holiday functions. Banquet facilities that don't compromise service, food or atmosphere. Three private dining rooms with banquet service for 6 to 88. Full AV capabilities. It's not only a company function, it's fine dining.

Chandlers Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (91)
Good for a Date (79)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
See All
Romantic (68)
Business Meals (59)
Notable Wine List (55)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Live Music (47)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Worth the Drive (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Bar Seating (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Fun (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Happy Hour (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (5)
People Watching (5)
Organic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappoints!! Good food, good service an all around great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was our 2nd visit, both for our Anniversary. The Service and food were superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Good food, good setting, food wine. Probably best in Boise. Service is outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great evening out with fantastic food and mood. The music was a plus.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Trey, our wait person, made our anniversary very special. He is such a professional, an attribute that is lacking in most restaurants these days. We are so grateful Chandlers has high standards in all aspects of fine dining. My husband has been in food service for 30 years and certainly has high expectations. As a former VP of Purchasing and Distribution for several major restaurant chains and consultant for small, emerging restaurants, he is well aware of quality food and service.

Only suggestion, get rid of that plant in the corner. The wait staff really do struggle to get around it while serving. Come up with a better solution. Happy wait staff, happier customers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was delicious. Delmonico filet so tender and flavorful; tastier than the Cowboy rib eye. Caesar dressing very tasty. Gazpacho perfect. Creamed spinach quite garlicky. Baked potato a bit underdone. Passion fruit sorbet extremely tart. Service outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Easily among the finest steaks and fish in Boise. Expensive to be sure, but oh so good. The service was impeccable. We were celebrating my son's 12th birthday and it was a dining experience to be remembered. Thank you Chandler's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Noted our anniversary dinner and served an unexpected, complimentary souffle. Best steaks in Boise, best service in Boise. Not inexpensive but still highly recommend this dining experience.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I've dined at Chandler's may times before and never before experienced a disappointing meal. Nice glass of wine; nicely prepared Caesar salad. Then I was brought a plate of rack of lamb and warned not to touch the plate because it was incredibly hot. First that should never be the case. But more to the point, not only was the plate not hot, but neither was the food that had apparently been sitting on it far too long. The waiter bought it back to the kitchen and after a too long wait, it came back, this time the plate really was hot, but the food still wasn't even a little bit warm. A young woman of apparent (but not actual) authority came by at that time to announce that she'd be right back to se how I was doing. Nice words, but entirely insincere. Never saw here again My waiter gamely kept swinging at it and became pretty adept at apologies. But here's the thing:misakes are going to happen, even at. a good restaurant. I'd happily give Chandler's another chance, but at least for this evening, it was just a dud.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

As eat at Chandlers when I'm in Boise. Great service and food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We were celebrating an anniveesary and had a reservation but the booth we were seated at was so close to the table it was very uncomfortable . Pretty expensive for product.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 1, 2017

A Boise landmark. One of our top 5 favorites. Great steaks and seafood expertly prepared. Friendly welcome by a staff genuinely glad to see you. Piano bar before dinner, jazz performers after dinner in the bar. Free valet parking. Plan to spend the evening. Been there many times and every time better than the last. Great for a date, a business dinner or special occasion. Or when you just want a great dinner.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Really a great and fun experience. Is expensive but the food was excellent and a huge wine list although you need to watch the prices. Service was very good. Someone was always there to fill your water or remove dishes. Because of the price you might save it for special events.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Janie, our server and Stewart, the sommelier, went above and beyond to make sure we had a memorable night. Both had great recommendations for us. Dinner was fabulous, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great service that is expected at a fine dining establishment. Exceptional aged steak and grass fed filet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

They were rally friendly and the food was excellent. Nice restaurant and the services was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Excellent atmosphere! My meal was perfection and the service was friendly and fun, while also classy and professional.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

It was an amazing experience! We'll definitely be back again! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent service. Reservations but waited for table. Late reservation ( 8:45pm) — the live music started which wasn’t especially loud but yet made conversation challenging, was looking forward to quieter setting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Definitely recommend Chandlers to anyone who wants a great steak and incredible seafood.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Had son and daughter-in-law from out of town here, and thought this would be a great way for her to see that Idaho wasn't just a bunch of hick's. She was very impressed and so were the rest of us. Couldn't be happier with our decision of going to Chandler's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Amazing food, always a delight to dine there! The service is impeccable!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 16, 2017

In our view, Chandler's is the premier Steak House in Southwest Idaho, by a long shot. The steaks are always perfectly prepared with creative sauces, and Rex sources fresh seafood that can't be matched in this area. The wine list is comprehensive, with something for everyone, and the service is always outstanding. Best in this area for outstanding food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

My wife and I came here for our anniversary. The Host asked if we were celebrating. Our waiter informed us that the restaurant would be comping us a chocolate soufflé! Dinner was amazing. And the Soufflé was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our waiter Jason was great! He was very knowledgeable and accommodating with our order. It was a great and delicious experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Chandler's is one of the finest restaurants in the country. The room is elegant, the food is perfectly prepared and the service is professional and gracious. Rex Chandler sources the highest quality ingredients, hires the most talented people, and spares no expense on decor. We dined on seared tuna and pan roasted salmon -- both expertly prepared, and had the sinfully rich chocolate souffle with Grand Mariner and whipped cream for dessert. Our server, Sean, was an absolutely delightful and professional man.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

They have recently redone their interior, looks very nice although it looked very good before. Definitely an asset for Boise!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I made reservations about 2 weeks in advance to celebrate my spouse's birthday. It was recommended to us to sit near the bar area to enjoy live music. I received a confirmation call the day of our reservation from the restaurant. We were seated on time and just behind the pianist. Our dining experience was GREAT! Our server gave us a tour of the menu since it was our first visit and was warm and friendly. The food was AMAZING and the complimentary birthday dessert melted in our mouths! We've already shared with our friends how awesome it was and we can't wait to go back to celebrate another special occasion!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great service. Food was meh with the entrees being subpar. Very disappointed in the food but the drinks and service were fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good, but not up to my expectations as the best restaurant in Boise. Caprese salad tomatoes were sub par. Steak was very good, but not memorable. Flourless torte was mediocre fudge. I will go elsewhere for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Chandlers is the finest steak restaurant in Idaho. Service is always above 5 stars. Have been here for business dinners as well as special occasions. Dave the GM is a great guy and always comes over to say hi.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We sent a message to the mgr. He has our comments. Everything was superb.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We really enjoyed our time at Chandlers! The waiter was excellent and brought class to a already classy restaurant. We had the crab cakes for an appetizer and they were very tasty! The Fig Salad was very good as well.

For the main course, my wife had the veal and risotto and it was very tender and had a nice lightness to the dish due to the citrus flavor. I had the American Waygu Filet and roasted vegetables along with a scallop. The steak may have been one of the best steaks I've ever had (and I've had a lot). The flavor was spot on and it was as tender and juicy as I've ever had. I wish I would have ordered two scallops. They were amazing. The roasted vegetables were very complementary to the steak and had great flavor.

The only downside, which wasn't a big one, was the restaurant itself wasn't that interesting or beautiful a place. Other than that, all and all a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

HAD A GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE WILL GO AGAIN. THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT AND THE FOOD WAS TO DIE FOR.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2017

As always the food and service were outstanding! Every time we have family or friends in town we have to take them to Chandlers! It is a true Boise gem.

Tags: Live Music, Organic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always great. The abalone is special, the steaks are always cooked to perfection and the service is first rate.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was excellent! And the service superb. We were seated on time and each course of food was served promptly but in a relaxed way so we could just enjoy our time and the food. A special dessert compliments of Chandler's for our anniversary was unexpected and fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Another exceptional dining experience with the ambience, service, and mouth watering food one would expect from a high end restaurant. From the first moment when one is offered their choice of water to a knowledgeable waiter with important tips to a menu full of unique and farm or sea fresh food; all was phenomenal.

Visit, stay and enjoy a relaxing dining experience seldom found in the mad rush of everyday life.

(Make reservations - - the word is out that Chandlers is the place to be!)

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The waiters were very attentive. The sommelier was also quite helpful when we were informed that they were sold out of the wine that we ordered. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.