Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Central Wharf Company

Central Wharf Co. Located on Milk Street in the Financial District and just steps from the waterfront, Central Wharf Co. welcomes you in with it’s long, oak bar, inviting banquette seating, exposed brick and modern industrial charm.
Housed in a 200-year-old building that was once home to the Central Wharf Tea Co., the space has floor to ceiling windows, nautical decor, three bars on two floors and a striking layout that gives guests a unique experience unlike any other bar in the city.
Complimented by a creative menu offering refreshing options with a focus on using local foods and homemade ingredients, as well as a top-notch craft beer and cocktail program, Central Wharf Co is the complete package. With multiple rooms, floors and bars, Central Wharf is also a perfect space for functions of all sizes. With multiple rooms, floors and bars, our space is perfect for any event or function

160 Milk Street
Boston, MA 02109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Oyster Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Surface Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 451-9460

Website:
http://www.centralwharfco.com/

Entertainment:
Live music & weekend d.j's

Parking Details:
Street parking as well as several near by parking garages are available.

Public Transit:
The closest T stops are the Blue Line (Aquarium Station) and State Street.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Central Wharf Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.5

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (3)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

first bad review I've written because I was very disappointed since I booked for 10 workmates sight unseen based on the reviews and rating here and we were not happy. Service was very, very slow and not friendly. no real check ins for water or drinks and though we waited a very long time for entrees after apps, most items were cold (meaning they sat waiting for pick-up) and one item, originally forgotten, came out with the center completely cold/uncooked.

nachos had a whole top layer of burnt chips, and were generally eh, hummus platter the same, people said the chowder was good.

Overall the mediocre food and really slow service could have been overcome with a friendly and apologetic waitress who brought us more drinks before we had to flag her down.

first time in 20 years of business dinners I gave the minimum 15% - and she was lucky to get it.

too many other great places in Boston - would not recommend or go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The Central Wharf Company restaurant is a great place with excellent food. We had incredible service and enjoyed the nachos especially. The beer and wine selection were great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We (2) had come to the central wharf company when they had an event upstairs. It seemed to have distracted the service downstairs a bit. The restaurant had great potential, but we did seem to hit a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The nachos were scrumptious and hearty. The eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich was perfectly layered. The eggplant was well prepared (not mushy) and the balsamic was the perfect compliment to the vegetables. The atmosphere and service were excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Waitstaff service was really slow despite the restaurant being very empty and we were the second table seated. Asked for bread and after waiting for a while, two slices arrived on a plate with no butter. I ordered the grilled octopus and it was so mushy (not grill tasting at all), I had to order a chicken salad wrap. I wasn't charged for the octopus. The French fries (although I asked for them to be left off my order) were very nice. My friend's cod sandwich was nice, but the accompanying salad was overdressed. We won't be going back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

our entire table had something with fish. everything tasted fresh and seasoned just right. Lunch wasn't overly crowded and the atmosphere is just right.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a table by the door on a cold night and there was a private party upstairs so he had cold gusts of wind, loud music and it was so dim it was hard to read the menu. Food was ok but I would not make a special trip. If I wanted a meal and drinks near the financial district or Fanuel Hall then I would come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The burger I had was great, the service was very slow and not very friendly. I would not dine here again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Good heavier salads and lunch options. Service a bit slow especially given there was not much of a crowd. But a good spot for business lunch to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Good menu selection and good quality. Attentive service in a great historic Boston atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was New Year's Eve, and pretty early in the night. Everything was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice lunch at the bar with Chris. Erin recommended the restaurant highly and it did not disappoint. Great bar service, tasty drinks, and delicious food. Very highly recommend a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service took a while to get to us as we were seated in the back. Server was less than friendly and forgot a few items along the way. Food was good but sandwiches portions were small. Crackers/bread were stale on the starters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I loved this place! We had our company holiday party here. There are only 12 of us, so a private room wasn't really necessary. We were concerned that we would be too loud with our large party playing games after dinner. The ambiance was perfect for a holiday get together and the menu wasn't overwhelming and had something for everyone!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Had a delicious lunch. As this was a business meeting, I appreciated the host seating us at a table in a quiet area. The menu was well-priced, which is especially important when someone else is picking up the tab! I would highly recommend Central Wharf Company for business lunches, and I plan to go back for non-business dining soon!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice spot for a bite; service was attentive, menu was pedestrian, food was definitely edible. Nothing special in either direction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall it is a great spot and I would visit again. I went for dinner with to other friends and after we stayed for the Boston Plant Nite (I bought tickets online). It was a great venue for the event. The food was very good as well as the music. I can not believe I have never gone until that night. I do plan to go again soon.

Tags: Disabled Access, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was great but the service was lacking. My husband ordered chowder to start and it took quite a while to get it. He had only tasted it and the waitress brought our entrees.
Seriously?? I took mine since I didnt have an appetizer but we asked to have his held in the kitchen and kept warm.
The wait staff needs to know something like that should not happen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Decor was great and so wasn't the good. Prices were reasonable. Couldn't tell if the waitress was new or just not knowledgeable/familiar with the drink menu/alcohol. Would definitely recommend/go again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Went to watch the Clemson vs. BC game on TV. Had a great time. The Boston chapter of CU alums gather to watch, eat, drink, and cheer on our Tigers to victory!! Waiter was exceptional.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I like this place because it's easy to make a reservation for a large group and the food and drinks are great. This is our first choice for a team lunch every time. The prices are a bit expensive but it's the financial district and rent is high!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was aloof.

We ordered fra-diaVolo dish. My dinner guest asked for not too spicy.
When it came:
Me: which one is less spicy ? (She wasn't our initial waitress)
Her: neither. Um, that one.

Didon't bother to take the time to even ask the kitchen.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2016

very good, so good in fact I booked a dinner for 10 people on august 10!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Appetizers were delicious.
Fish was perfectly cooked and totally flavorless. Some spices need to be used.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2016

I really wanted to love this place. It has such a great atmosphere and vibe, however that turned out to be just nice decor. I work around the corner and had been meaning to try it, and ended up taking my parents and younger cousin. hostess didn't acknowledge me when I came in (she was on her cell phone). service was fine, but the food was awful. between us we had oysters, fish n chips, fish tacos, tuna wrap and veggie burger. I don't think anyone has more than 3 bites of food, which was mainly tasteless. the menu reads well and looks interesting, but really not worth it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for a casual business meal. 8 of us had trouble hearing each other even though it was a Wednesday night. I would have been better off picking a quieter place. The food was good and I would go back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was good and service excellent. There was a private [arty near us and it was very noisy but otherwise the ambiance was quite nice. We were seated by a window so had a nice view . We had our granddaughter and the kids menu had a nice selection. It was a little pricey for food and bar drinks but they were good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2016

There were some crumbs on our table. The appetizer was served at the same time as the entrees. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Kids meals are only $5. Close to the waterfront and attractions in the local area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I had a quick date night on a Saturday night and noticed this restaurant had openings in our time table. I probably ordered the wrong thing but the soba salad was just plain bad. My husband's mussels were solid and had a good flavor, but the soba salad should be reworked. Service was good, definitely a good spot for a big family or group. Friendly waitstaff, which is always a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Central Wharf Company was recommended to me by the hotel I was staying at nearby. I travel a lot for business and often eat alone. This was the FIRST restaurant I've ever dined at that made me feel unwelcome. They weren't even busy. But my waitress blatantly ignored me and took forever to assist. Meanwhile, nearby tables were served promptly and with a friendly attitude. With SO MANY other options in the Boston financial district, I wouldn't bother with this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great and we were in a big group which wasn't a problem, but the waitress was not very attentive and they overcharged us a full meal. Then, when we found the issue and asked for it to be corrected, a number of our credit cards got charged again. It was only last weekend so we're still trying to figure out if we need to contact the restaurant to get this fixed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2016

But the food was gross. The roast beef was inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Service was polite, engaging and helpful. Entrees (fish tacos and seafood pasta) were attractive, delicious and exceeded expectations.

The chowder starter was the consistency of pudding...like chunky potato pudding. This is not acceptable and should never have left the kitchen in that state. If that is their style, I would recommend avoiding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great location, food, and atmosphere. Variety of food choices to meet everyone's tastes. Able to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Very nice. Lobster fritters were awesome. A little empty but nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Got there a little late so the bar scene was starting, but besides the loud music it was a good fun time with great food. Some good options for seafood and meat with a great drink selection. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Fish of the day with the risotto was excellent! Would have it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Central Wharf is located centrally in the downtown business district with easy access. It's a true gem for a casual business lunch as it combines sufficient privacy that one can have an intimate business conversation and a very modest (low!) noise level so one can hear without distraction unlike other downtown lunch locations. The food is very good, services is professional and quick and it's an attractive layout. Much better than the Faneuil Hall-centric restaurants for business.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2016

My girlfriend & I went on a date there this past Saturday, & despite it being St Patrick's weekend, I was only slightly impressed with the service. Our food too an appropriate time frame, but our drinks took longer than most places. I can only account that to not having enough bar staff & wait staff to balance the running. There weren't a lot of guests in comparison, so I guess that's my only real complaint. Other than that, & the smaller than expected food portions, we enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.