About Cazbar

The Cazbar, established in 2006, is Baltimore’s first & only Turkish Restaurant. With food, atmosphere, & entertainment served in an authentic Turkish style, Cazbar is sure to provide a thoroughly exotic & enchanting dining experience. Cazbar serves lunch & dinner daily and Brunch on Saturday and Sunday.

Join us every Friday at pm & Saturday at 9:30 pm, for the most captivating Belly Dancing shows outside of Turkey!

In addition, we offer vegan substitutions for many of our dishes upon request. Our Kebaps cannot be made with vegan substitutions & your server can assist with items that are available with vegan options.

316 N Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Turkish, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11am - 3pm; Dinner: Everyday: 3pm - 11pm; Brunch Saturday and Sunday 10am to 3pm

Cross Street:
Saratoga Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 528-1222

Website:
http://www.cazbar.pro/

Entertainment:
Join us every Friday at pm & Saturday at 9:30 pm, for the most captivating Belly Dancing shows outside of Turkey!

Parking Details:
Valet Parking and Street Parking are available.

Executive Chef:
Haluk Kantar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cazbar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (16)
See All
Casual (15)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Healthy (7)
Tapas (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Spicy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
848 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Incredible food. I was so happy with our meal. I think my favorite thing was these meat dumplings with a garlic yogurt sauce. Amazing.

I’ll say this. I booked a reservation for 6pm, as it was a 1,000 reservation. We were just finding parking, and called to let them know we were a few minutes away at 5:55pm. They pushed the reservation to 6:15, which made it a 100 Point reservation, even though we showed up at 6pm on the dot. Honest mistake, but it stunk. I’d urge any going to try and take an Uber or plan in advance for difficulty parking. They have a 10 dollar valet, but there’s a 5 dollar garage 3 blocks away where we parked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, great service, very attentive! Definitely a must if visiting from out of town and want something other than seafood. Have to get any of the lamb dishes and absolutely must get the Turkish coffee!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It wasn't a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful and prompt, the food was amazing, and we loved the belly dancer!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been going to Cazbar for years and love it. The food is phenomenal if you like Lamb or are a vegetarian as they have several Egg Plant based dishes. The Hummus, Babaganoush are as fresh as I've ever tasted. If you are a Baclava fan, then this may be the end of you since the Baclava is top notch here and is to die for. They have some specialty cocktails, try the Mavi Altin, its the best. Friday and Saturday nights are cool because they have a belly dancer.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The Cazbar had good food and service. The waitress had good food suggestions and the food had an authentic feel to it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our group of 6 enjoyed a very nice dinner. We ordered a variety of starters, a couple of salads and a few dinner meals, and we shared everything. Our server was very helpful in suggesting items to try, and it didn't hurt that we visited on half price wine night (Thursdays). Would definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Booked a pre-Hippodrome dinner here after having enjoyed a wonderful, leisurely dinner here one evening last year. The food, drink, and ambience did not disappoint, and the servers were definitely conducive to a leisurely dining experience. Once we explained we were on a defined schedule this time, they made sure we were on our way with enough time to grab an Uber, arrive, and be seated before the show started.

Plenty of parking for a school night, not sure how busy it is on the weekends. Would definitely return, especially for the half-price-bottles if wine on Thursday’s, if not for the food alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was delicious! Staff was attentive. I love the decor, just wished it wasn’t so chilly.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This restaurant was a pleasant surprise. My husband and I were seeing a show in the Mount Vernon area and wanted to eat somewhere we hadn't been before . The Open Table reviews for Cazbar looked good, so we figured, why not. Glad we did. The food was great . The falafel and hummus starter was quite good (oftentimes, falafel can be dry and this definitely was not the case here). The turkish dumplings were also a hit. I'm not a lamb eater but my husband really enjoyed how it came out. My eggplant dish was enjoyable. The service was friendly. We weren't that familiar with Turkish cuisine, so we had a number of questions - all answered with patience and a smile. We ate downstairs, which was nice and causal - and appropriate for early evening. The upstairs is much darker with a nightclub type of vibe. I'm sure we'll come back here.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I have dined here before and have always enjoyed good food and wine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food was really good. The atmosphere was really good. Our waitress was really nice and attentive, she really helped with making my girlfriend's birthday a special celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent authentic food. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Ambience was nice. It's a cozy little restaurant with exposed brick walls and Mediterranean decorations. The waitress was very friendly and attentive. The food was fantastic. We got the Turkish 101 which includes a bottle of wine and choice of 2 appetizers/small plates. For my main course I got the Lamb 3 ways. If you like lamb I highly recommend it. Finished the meal with excellent Baklava and Turkish coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our meal was delicious and our server was personable and professional. However, a birthday of younger patrons shrieked and carried on so loudly that we could barely carry on a conversation and had trouble communicating with our server at times. Perhaps larger parties could be seated upstairs or some textiles could be hung in the downstairs dining room to help absorb sound? We love Cazbar; we just prefer dining in a quieter environment!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a fantastic time here! They were happy to accommodate a party of 16 on a Saturday evening. We were surprised how seamless the service was, even with such a big group. Our food was delicious, the ambiance made the evening feel magical, and the late night belly dancer was a big hit. One of our favorite restaurants in Baltimore!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Loved this place!! We had the mixed grill
For four. We added the walnut spread too. It was ample for all 5 of us and took the guess work out of somewhat unfamiliar food. The mix of fish and meat pleased everyone.
All fresh and delicious
They are under renovation so we ate upstairs. It was pleasant and we could actually talk without shouting!! Really loved it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Good food. Large quantities. The triple lamb was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Absolutely wonderful authentic Turkish food! We wanted to eat more, but we're stuffed to the gills. Great service, too. I only wish we lived closer so we could visit more than once a year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The mixed appetizer plate was excellent, and the lamb three ways was good. I would go back - portions ample and good for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always a great experience! The service is warm, friendly and efficient. The food is always delicious and freshly prepared. I love bringing friends here for those exact reasons stated above. The belly dancing after dinner is always an enjoyable treat for everyone! My go to place for tasty food and excellent customer service in a pretty setting!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely incredible! They were waiting for our group to arrive, had the door open and escorted us to our table which was ready for our group of 6 which includes a wheelchair and large service animal.
The service was as incredible as the food.
The entryway was a little tight for the wheelchair but easy enough to navigate.
If we lived in the area we would frequent this place very often!
Loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Tasty food, friendly service, a bit noisy but that's not the restaurants fault, just something to note for yourself when deciding where to dine. The food was super flavorful and affordable. Good for a quick bite or a gathering of friends.

Tags: Quick Bite, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Love the pides!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went here with a friend who lived in Turkey for most of her life. The food was great and she said it was very authentic. The three course lunch is a fantastic deal. She couldn't stop smiling for the rest of the day and said just being in the restaurant made her feel like she was back home.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Chicken kabobs at most places are a bit dry. Our chicken kabobs were perfectly cooked. The rice is addictive.

The kids burger was a bit dry and spiced in a way that may not appeal most kids, and it only occupied the center of a very large bun.

Yea for the hummus. Hummus is everywhere in the stores, and most don't even use olive oil anymore (presumably to save on production cost). Cazbar has wonderful hummus.

We also had eggplant done in many ways. All we're really good.

We'll be back there again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

As always everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I loved it! The servers were knowledgeable and personable. The food was so good and flavorful. I ate some there and took a lot home.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

It was everything others said. The food was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had the Manti, Imam Bayadi, and pumpkin soup. loved the food. Service people were very nice

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Small friendly restaurant with helpful staff. The cold mezze was outstanding with flavors we had never had as was the sultan platter. There was more than enough food and a chance to sample. It also saved us a lot of time trying to figure out the large menu. Valet parking for a fee was good for us but was a little confusing as no one comes out. Plan on going into the restaurant to use this service.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very understated exterior. Thought place was closed. But behind the nondescript store front, is a delightful, cheery spot, with wonderful food and very helpful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and cocktails. The Sultan's platter offered a diverse selection from the menu for a good price, and the included appetizer provided plenty to share for our group of 6.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wait staff was very knowledgeable and attentive. We have been going there for years now and it is always a very pleasant experience with fabulous food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A little cramped for our table of 8, but the service was great and the show was fantastic. We did this for Father's Day and we all (older kids) really enjoyed it. It would not be good for small children. Loved the food. A little pricey so we will only go on special occasions.

Tags: Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This place was a great pick! The food was awesome and I was very intrigued by the initial view of the restaurant's website. The food is a fair portion and well seasoned. If you are looking to venture out a night in the city this an excellent stop for great Turkish(Mediterranean )cuisine. Apparently they have belly dancers on the weekend (which sounds like fun) but I went on a Tuesday for my boyfriends 24th birthday. Customer service could use some work, there was no one to greet you are the door and you have to figure things out yourself, but overall it was great. I would recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I love love love Cazbar. I've been there three or four times now over the space of a few years and every time I am delighted. I love all the exotic flavors and textures in the sampler of dips and spreads, and I could eat their bread for the rest of my life. We get the sultans meal or something like that with a variety of grilled meats with veggies and salad, and I love making every bite a different combination of flavors. If I had a magic wand I would make the space a little bigger, because we order so many different foods that the table gets very cramped. But they have a small space and a lot of customers so there's really nothing to be done. But I would go back anytime. If you're in the mood for a fun and exotic meal, get yourself to Cazbar now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Both servers we are very dis-interested to serving us and they made the overall time that we spend very uninviting. Both servers were very unwelcoming to us from the moment that we got in, and we asked them several questions about the menu and their answers were very brief not answering our primary questions. The servers were not keen to come to our table and ask us how the food tastes and how everything was. They never came to us to refill the bread or to refill the water. I came to this place several times before over the past year or two, and I had a good experience, however this experience is the worst ever in this place and anywhere else in Baltimore that I ever had in the past six years. The food is good, it tastes very well, but if this comes with mediocre service then, with no sorry, I'm not interested in your service know when your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Easily accommodated a party of ten on a Wednesday night with an advance reservation. The food was filling and delicious, the staff attentive, and the wine and beer a big hit with everyone. Two members of our party tried and enjoyed the Turkish coffee.

Ambiance: Cazbar can be noisy on the weekends but it was nice and quiet on Wednesday. The decor makes it appropriate for a special occasion but not one where you need to dress up too much.

Food: A good range of sandwiches, platters, and small plates. No one in the party was a vegetarian, but the falafel was a hit. The rice pilafs and yogurt sauce that accompany the kabap could be a delicious meal on their own.

Highly recommended, but make a reservation and take into account that it gets busy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Cazbar was amazing and we will definitely be returning in the future. Perfect for our lunch anniversary date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Lovely meal. Reminded us of dining in Istanbul a fee years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.