About Cassis American Brasserie

170 Beach Drive NE
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

Cassis American Brasserie brings to downtown St. Petersburg a concept of “Continental Comfort Cuisine” in the tradition of European Brasseries, yet with the relaxed flair of American eateries and a feeling of “always been there”.

Zinc top bar, dark mahogany wood, oversized framed mirrors, hand-painted three tone cement floor tiles, chocolate brown leather banquettes and booths; Cassis offers casual eating in a comfortable environment.

The dining room opens onto an outdoor terrace displaying a bistro area in the tradition of Parisian style cafes and a dining section in the South Beach style with colorful offset umbrellas.

Open seven days a week for lunch, and dinner, week-end brunch and throughout the day for light fares, coffee, home-made ice cream and desserts, Cassis American Brasserie is an ideal destination for quick bites or leisurely meals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary French / American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Bakery:

Sunday - Thursday

8am - 10pm

Friday - Saturday

8am - 12am


Brunch:
Everyday

8am - 3pm

Lunch:
Everyday

11am - 4pm

Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday

4pm - 10pm

Friday - Saturday

4pm - 11pm

Bar:
Everyday

Till 1 am nightly

Cross Street:
2nd avenue north and beach drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 827-2927

Website:
http://www.cassisab.com/

Entertainment:
Please sign up to our email guests list.
You will receive all our specials events and specials menus
thank you

Parking Details:
$3 valet parking available everyday with a Cassis receipt.
except Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday lunch.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Duclut

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room fits up to 25 and is discreetly linked to the main dining area through the softly lit back-bar and reveals a sleek and daring feel. It features built in state of the art audio visual equipment.

Private Party Contact:
Elliot Gunther: (727) 827-2927

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cassis American Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
People Watching (23)
Great for Lunch (18)
See All
Great for Brunch (16)
Casual (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Scenic View (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (9)
Romantic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Waterfront (8)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Cozy (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined a day ago

Service was deplorable . One hour to get our food, which arrived cold . They comped half our bill but experience was the worst ever

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Outdoor seating was very pleasant. The menu was interesting and the service was timely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful outdoor eating & service was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Cassis poutine and croque monsieur were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Haven't been to Cassis for a while and my husband and I have raved about it in the past -- Christmas Eve dinner, special breakfast... loved every experience in the past. This time wasn't so great. We were just there for breakfast and my husband had three eggs over medium... they were pretty much what I'd call hard. The rest was OK just not brilliant. The service was good and we do like the ambiance at Cassis, we will give it another chance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

it is very nice - but i felt i was nickeled and dimed to death - 3 eggs and potatoes for $13.50 - ok, pricey, but location, location. but bread was $1.50 extra - bacon $2.00 extra - come on folks, that's a bit much - set a price - enough with the add-ons

won't be back - but i'm sure they could care less

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The best most succulent calamari we've eaten in forever. Very lightly battered and paired with an amazing and fresh tomato sauce. Perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was one of the best dinners we have enjoyed in the last couple of months. The scallop / Brussels sprouts was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Valentine's Day menus was alright but the normal menus is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for Valentine's Day. The special menu was great - especially the desserts!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

No one came to our table for 20 minutes, no water, nothing. Then the wrong table's food starts being delivered to our table. Engaged the GM, Elliott, he told us not to worry and things would be straightened out. Paid $50 for wine pairing. Never once was the correct drink served with the correct course. Our cocktail ordered at the start of the meal? Delivered after dessert was finished. I could go on and on. GM was dismissive and demonstrated no concern for the subpar experience we had nor for the people around us that also had poor and similar experiences. Merely attempted to brush over the mistakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Arrived at 7:08. Salad arrived at 8:00. Had to ask for our drinks since waiter never took our drink order. Service wasn't what I expected when we paid $163.00 for a romantic valentine dinner. Food was good. Recommend: Don't make a reservation here when you are limited to a small number of entrees because of a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have dined at Cassis many times. It is in a great location on Beach Av at the intersection of the old pier and has valet parking, usually even at lunch. The menu is a cross between old favorites and inventive twists, and is usually well prepared, though perhaps a bit lacking in herbs/spice flavors. However, they will not let us specify indoors or out when making a reservation, just saying, "We will do our best." The server we had recently was overly friendly; he repeatedly patted my shoulder. And the wait staff seems stretched too thin and it is hard to get anyone's attention, like to ask for a spoon for the soup they just served. Still, it is a lovely place with above average food, and there is a great bakery attached for take-out dessert. Wine list is perhaps 30 labels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were there with friends for the Valentine's Day preset menu. Thought the options were very good and particularly enjoyed the pork appetizer. Desserts were also delicious. Service was very professional and timely...especially given it was such a busy night. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had Valentine's Day dinner reservation. The food was okay. Dessert was very bland and awful. The wait staff was awkward and did not explain what anything was. Not a great experience. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I took my girlfriend for Valentine's Day and it was amazing. The food was excellent, the ambiance was nice, and the service was great. It was expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

we arrived early for a 1:15 reservation on Open Table. We were seated quickly, which was the ONLY quick thing about our time there. We placed our drink order which was served and then we placed our brunch order. After 30 minutes waiting I asked the server if the kitchen was in the weeds. She stated that there were 300 people who came for 2 large reservations and I voiced my concern that Open Table would accept my reservation even if the restaurant was over booked and the server said yes. I shared my disappointment. Later the manager came over and thanked us for our patience. We finally received our meal and the food was certainly well prepared. I am still concerned about the wait and if a person can actually make a reservation when the restaurant knows it's overbooked. We are most forgiving however there is a limit.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

"Stephanie" was part of a wonderful Valentines Day Bruch this past Sunday (2017-02-12) ... Breakfast dining fare was superb ... Seating (on the patio) was perfect ... Clearly, having lived in the Tampa - St. Pete - Dunedin area for 15 years "Cassis American Brasserie" is the BEST venue to entertain the true "romantic love of your life" for a Valentines Day Bruch ... Best Regards !

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have eaten here in the past and have had good experiences, however, that was not the case on Sunday. I invited friends to brunch and was embarrassed. Getting the wait staff's attention to refill coffee/water was a challenge while we waited for our food, which took over an hour to receive. When it finally did arrive, many items were cold and a few items forgotten. Will think twice before making another reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday brunch, outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had a lovely brunch with family and friends. 5 of us sat comfortably. Good service. Attentive and friendly. Good food, may be a touch pricey but not horribly. I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent experience at Cassis!

Service was exemplary, and food was outstanding- beautifully prepared and plated. The cocktails were interesting and creative. The wine list fairly large, but very limited on reasonably priced bottles. (They do offer a carafe of house white or house red for $18.)

Our only (small) negative is that we think it is a tad over-priced: most entrees $35-ish, cocktails $12-plus, appetizers $10-$18. Perhaps it should have another "$" on Open Table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always a good choice. Quality and variety are awesome. Staff is fun, friendly and professional.

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cassis has a wonderful outdoor seating area that is great for people watching. Their decor is modern and the food is delicious. However, the prices are on the higher side and sometimes service can be slow as they are a very busy restaurant. Worth a visit if you are looking to have a leisurely lunch or dinner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It is a nice place to eat out, but for what you get it is very very pricey. The food was outstanding, but it is very hard to heard due to the noise level and the close seating arrangements. Combo Table/Booth seating is way too close together. One can not have any discussion without the combo Table/Booth next to you being in on the conversation. If you are seated in a combo Table/Booth and are in a middle seating area there is no way one can leave with squeezing by the table next to you.

I would not suggest this place if you are taking a date/wife out for a romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 24, 2017

An evening with a friend and just catching up over wine and good food. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Had the omelet with salmon and asparagus and it was delicious! Attentive staff got us in and out efficiently!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 23, 2017

There were 8 of us for lunch. Service eas friendly and professional. Everyone loved there meal!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Tapas, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great brunch. Brittany took good care of us. I like enjoy having lunch/brunch at Cassis. The menu has enough variety, the service is great and the location perfect. I also appreciate the option of valet parking.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We booked in advance and when we arrived were seated immediately. This was a busy morning with every table taken, but waiter was friendly and made sure we had drinks and brought mini corn muffins while we waited for our meal. Meal too a long time to arrive, but place was super busy because of the Womens March. We were not rushed and food was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The friendly & gracious manager was very responsive when we had to send our mashed potatoes back to be heated. Other than that and the busboy slamming dishes around at the table right next to us we had a wonderful experience and I highly recommend this excellent choice among many on Beach Drive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful first time in St. Petersburg. Great spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My wife and I were there for our 30th anniversary. Several months prior we had been walking past and my wife said in passing that she would like to go there one day. Everything was perfect. We were quickly seated, the service was terrific and the food was excellent. The staff really went the extra mile to make our evening perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As usual, our dining experience was great! The atmosphere was very pleasant for our dinner with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went for brunch. Unable to sit outside due to workers cleaning the area. Brunch was somewhat "ordinary"--nothing stood out. Fast, attentive service. Would try another place next time if al fresco dining unavailable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made last minute request for late lunch for 6 with seating outdoors. My request was confirmed immediately! Our server was extremely attentive, especially to our 3 1/2 year old grandson. Drinks and food delivered timely. Ambiance, weather, service was delightful.... Oh and our food was incredible. Highly recommend for that perfect Sunday Brunch or late lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambiance and good food! We were able to enjoy the weather and a great meal!

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had Sunday brunch at Cassis and it was great. Drinks and food were excellent. I would recommend reservations as there was a 20-30 minute wait if you didn't have reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went here for brunch with friends and we loved it! Lots of great options to choose from and you definitely have to have the fresh squeezed orange juice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were celebrating New Years and knew in advance that it would be expensive ($95pp) as Cassis had a special five course dinner, where you had a choice of three selections for the appetizer, salad, fish and meat courses and two dessert choices. Considering how busy they were, we felt that both service and food were very good. We were seated inside, but Cassis has great outdoor seating options that are dog friendly as well

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've been to Cassis in the past on other occasions. this time, it was New Years. It was prixe fixe. the food selection was good with 4 courses and an amuse bouche. The wait staff seemed harried and rushed with our waiter constantly refilling our wine glasses. Not clear if he wanted us to buy more wine or get through faster. For the price, would have expected a glass of champagne included especially on New Year's eve. As it was our wine and cocktail costs were equal to the dinner.

Food quality is always consistently good although not great. Will go again for the atmosphere and location.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years train wreck ... immediately seated, but long wait to be acknowledged by server. His first priority was to tell us he was overwhelmed and so was the kitchen and bar. Server was unwilling to make time to discuss / sample wine in an effort to choose bottle. To cut a long story short, the ship was sinking and we didn't want to be on it. So we went to neighboring establishment (with no reservation) and had a lovely meal and enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were here for dinner before going to a NYE party and really enjoyed the chef's 6 course prixe menu! Every dish was terrific! Our sever and all who served us were terrific and seemed to love their job, even on a crazy night like NYE. Great music! We sat outside and would definitely do that again. May become a go-to for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We made last minute reservations for dinner. We sat outside and enjoyed the five course meal on New Years Eve. The service was fantastic and so was the food and atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Casual, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Fun, Historic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was terrible. The service was horrible. Our service was sloe. Food was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We ate outside and the entire area was decorated for the holidays. There were carriage rides, Christmas lights, and exceptional service. The food & Sangria was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Festive evening with family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We chose to eat at an outside table. It was a beautiful night, and there was a lot of people watching as they passed on the sidewalk, but the service was pretty slow out there. The food was delicious, and my wife didn't have any trouble finding a gluten free dish that she liked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The absolute worst service imaginable. Everything was so slow. Drinks were forgotten. The waiter never checked in and we sat with empty glasses through dinner until we asked for the check then we waited forever to receive the check. Maybe you can get better service if you sit inside, but the service outside on a super slow Monday night was absolutely ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Poor service, mediocre food and seriously overpriced. Wine substituted and never corrected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.