About Casa Italiana

Family. Everything about our story comes back to that one word. Our story started in Carini, Italy and our individual journeys have brought us all here to Richmond, Virginia. The family is back together again, and is ready to share our passion for family and great food. From our Famiglia to yours...
Open daily for Lunch. Serving up a quick and fresh menu. Panini's, Artisan Grilled Pizza's, Salads and so much more. Saturday & Sundays we will also be preparing weekly brunch specials.
We specialize in bringing the "Old & New" flavors of Italy to your table. Risotto Fries, Pasta's and Entree's. Our Spaghetti al Formaggio is cooked for you tableside. You won't want to miss this beautiful experience.

8801 Three Chopt Rd
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday 11am- 10pm
Sunday- 11am- 9pm

Lunch & Dinner Served Daily

Cross Street:
Eastridge Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 303-2769

Website:
http://www.casaitalianarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We are able to make any of our items into a catering portion for your office party, or family functions.

Parking Details:
Entrance is within a few meters of parking lot. Very accessible.

Executive Chef:
Filippo Genova, Gaetano Genova, Kristi Ritchey

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Casa Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (15)
Casual (14)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
41 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding evening with friends. Great food and service. We will definitely be back

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our second visit in as many weeks, which is highly unusual for us and reflects well on both experiences. Service is very friendly and professional. The food was superb on both visit and is much fresher than your basic Italian you find in Richmond. Prices are very reasonable making this a great weekly stop.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place started on a very high note when it re-opened as Casa Italiana last fall. Food was consistently outstanding and the value was never in question. Incredibly, things have only gotten better since brother Gaetano joined the staff on a regular basis, recently.

To be sure, the servers sometimes are challenged on busy nights, but Kristi is an experienced restaurateur who keeps close tabs on the front of the house. She is quick to notice any lapse and move in promptly when needed. Too, the staff are so darn cordial that it's hard to be put off.

Besides, if the food is the reason for your visit, you won't be disappointed. My wife and I have tried a good portion of the menu over appoximately a dozen visits, and none of the offerings has failed to impress. Sauces certainly will catch your attention, but it seems the ingredients comprising each underlying dish are sourced so carefully that identifying a best characteristic is difficult.

We are well-pleased to have this gem in our neighborhood and we wish to share it with others less fortunate.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

some of the most delicious Italian food I have had. Servers were very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went looking to see the "Cheese Wheel" in action. It was covered. Be careful of the house salad. all arugula and inedible house dressing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great experience! I was looking for an alternative to national chain restaurants and found this gem. The staff was very knowledgeable and welcoming. The food was delicious, authentic and presented exquisitely. Kristi and Annalisa ran the front of the house with grace and made everyone feel at home. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have been here several times and Casa Italiano never disappoints. I like the Pasta Fromagiano and ordered a meatball on the side. Great chicken Parmesan.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Yummy yummy yummy great fresh ingredients and local desserts make this a fun surprise neighborhood find !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Comfortable atmosphere, dishes are well prepared and presented. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We tried Casa because of the positive reviews and, you know what? They were right! This was a most enjoyable restaurant. We were a bit taken back when we arrived at 6:15 on a Friday night and there was only 1 other couple in the restaurant! However, before we left, the place was packed! We had their two veal dishes and both were wonderful. They came with a small side salad and freshly baked bread. While there, we watched as two other customers ordered the house special "flaming" spaghetti dish -it was certainly special to watch it being prepared in the middle of the dinning room - along with commentary! I asked one of the customers if it was as good as it looked and she said, "Absolutely! It's divine! I'm bringing my husband next time so he can try it." Service was attentive and informative (though our server did get tied up a bit when the place was full.) The dessert menu looked wonderful too, but we were too stuffed to try it! We will be back - have to try that spaghetti special!!!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Place was great, really enjoyed everything. I did think the pasta carbonara was a bit salty, but still edible. The lasagna was awesome .

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great sevice. Prepared flambeed spaghetti in center of restaurant for all to enjoy. Lighting is a bit harsh and noise level is up there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I had very high expectations going into this meal after all the outstanding reviews I read in my research - and by some miracle, those lofty expectations were still exceeded.

We were greeted personally at arrival by Chef Khristi (who is super cute btw) and escorted to our table in a fantastic location. The service was prompt and personal; the food was outstanding; the ambiance was everything we could have asked for. We enjoyed our meal so much that we scheduled another reservation on the spot, and will be coming back over and over until they stop letting us in!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fun, People Watching, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a nice meal with another couple. The food was good but nothing special. It was convenient and the staff was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent freshly made, delicious, Italian food by a family of experienced chefs. Sauces are superb. Casual atmosphere with attentive waiters.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

food was awesome. friendly staff. enjoyed talking to one of the chef's/owner/family members.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always , the food never disapppoints! I had the lasagna, which was simply delicious with the cream sauce. My friend had a pasta dish and he was very pleased.

The prices are great with a salad in lauded with the entree, which is rare anymore.

I highly recommend !!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Rated the service as middle of the road because the pace was off on the timing of the meal. The apps were late and the salads and entrees were early. A little loud for me and I felt a little crowded. The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed but they were not full. I would go back as the food was good and the value high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went with a few friends for New Years Eve and had the best dinner out all year! The food was spectacular. The preparation of food by our table was amazing and fun. We ordered several plates to share in order to try several items on the menu, it made it fun and we were really glad we did as we tried things that were unusual and really enjoyed every bite. Great menu, great wine list. We have been to Italy and this is taste of it close to home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Adam took good care of us when we were there -- attentive, personable, and knowledgeable. The food was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting and speaking with Kristi, one of the owners/chefs. We have already told family and friends about this restaurant and look forward to returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was excellent! Very nice and accommodating. Disappointed that the spaghetti al formaggio was not cooked at the table as promised in the menu and reviews. Best thing we ordered was the fried mozzarella which is apparently made in house. Other entrees were fine, but felt they were overall bland in flavor. Lots of great potential, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My husband said his meatball sandwich was so salty he tasted it the rest of the night, and the pizza dough bread was so soggy he couldn't eat it. I had the penne pasta, and was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always good

Will always return .... good atmosphere good food easy parking!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food prepared on site. Staff very hospitable. Food is outstanding. A great Italian restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was our second trip to this lovely spot, but our first visit for dinner. I took my mom for her birthday and we had a fabulous meal. I strongly recommend the veal marsala and the tiramisu. The cocktails are excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food was fresh, the wine paired well with the food, and the staff were friendly. The chef cam out to say hello and truly wanted to know if we were satisfied with our meals.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A great example of what a neighborhood restaurant should be. Excellent Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Another great meal! Very friendly place and the owners make you feel right at home. Definitely order the spaghetti al fromage. It is fantastic and the chef gives an excellent show preparing it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Casa Italiana is awesome! The staff is friendly, and the food is great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our evening at Casa Italiano was lovely. The food was excellent; the wait staff very professional and overall was an evening we look forward to enjoying again and sharing with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was perfect as always! Our second weekend in a row there. Can't wait to try it all. So far everything we have eaten there has been fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My second time this week ! Excellent food for the money! I

This time I had the penne pasta with bolognese- excellent !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I can't say enough about how wonderful the food was as well as the service! A big shout out to Sadie for being so accommodating and making sure we were comfortable as well as attending to all our needs. The lasagna is awesome - very meaty with a bit of a French flair as it is surrounded by a velvety cream sauce! I Hightower recommend this place and plan to return very soon !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our meal was exceptional and the desserts were delicious. We both thought it was one of our best dining experiences this year . We plan to return very soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A new restaurant that is family-owned and -operated, and the family pride is obvious. Family member Kristi is a combination of host, chef, and entertainer (preparing pasta al formaggio at tableside, complete with a torch!). The food is creative, satisfying, and nicely priced. I've also found the chefs very willing to make a change if, for example, you prefer spinach to rapini. It's also fun to have the preparations explained to you, if you ask. My favorite so far is the chicken cacciatore, which they prepare with nice twists of prociutto and a light sauce. Overall, a very inviting spot for either a casual evening or for a group.

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My wife and I like to try new restaurants and after seeing a small article in the newspaper we decided to stop by. My wife loves Bolognese sauce which is often not available at Italian restaurants so she ordered the Penne Bolognese and thoroughly enjoyed it. I ordered the Spaghetti and Meatball. I thought maybe that was an error (the singular) but it really was one giant, delicious meatball. So tender and moist it practically melted in your mouth. We finished the meal off with the tiramisu which was just about the best we had ever had. We enjoyed the meal very much and plan to come back soon.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Delicious authentic Italian food; I would add candle light at each table for more ambiance.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Same mediocre restaurant as last year- they fooled us by changing the name- thought it was a new restaraunt-- but same menu, same decor and same chef same everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 22, 2016

My husband and I were there to celebrate our 3 year anniversary and we were overall disappointed. The room was very brightly lit, especially for an evening/dinner shift. About 10 minutes after arriving more groups also arrived and the kitchen started to get going. Normally this wouldn't affect the sitting area, but the room very quickly got very warm and uncomfortable. I asked our serve if they could turn the air on or up to cool off the restaurant and she said she would take care of it. It just got worse. By the end of our 45 minute stay I was sweating. What was supposed to be a nice romantic baby-free evening out turned out to be extremely uncomfortable. Additionally, the food portions were very small and not worth the price. We do not plan to return or recommend Casa Italiana to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Perfect! Best Italian food ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.