Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Casa Italiana

Family. Everything about our story comes back to that one word. Our story started in Carini, Italy and our individual journeys have brought us all here to Richmond, Virginia. The family is back together again, and is ready to share our passion for family and great food. From our Famiglia to yours...
Open daily for Lunch. Serving up a quick and fresh menu. Panini's, Artisan Grilled Pizza's, Salads and so much more. Saturday & Sundays we will also be preparing weekly brunch specials.
We specialize in bringing the "Old & New" flavors of Italy to your table. Risotto Fries, Pasta's and Entree's. Our Spaghetti al Formaggio is cooked for you tableside. You won't want to miss this beautiful experience.

8801 Three Chopt Rd
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday 11am- 10pm
Sunday- 11am- 9pm

Lunch & Dinner Served Daily

Cross Street:
Eastridge Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 303-2769

Website:
http://www.casaitalianarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We are able to make any of our items into a catering portion for your office party, or family functions.

Parking Details:
Entrance is within a few meters of parking lot. Very accessible.

Executive Chef:
Gaetano Genova

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Casa Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Authentic (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Business Meals (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Romantic (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Casa Italiana. We usually eat here as a family and this time took friends who also loved it. Food is fresh and amazing, service is friendly and they always accommodate special requests.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our waitress was a novice at best and seemed overwhelmed by a party of 8. We were there an hour before any bread was brought to the table. The food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Owners are so nice and try to make dinner a personal experience for all guests. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent food and good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We eat there fairly often and have a hard time choosing what to order since everything is so good!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Second time at the "Casa". Food excellent. The house specialty of flaming spaghetti is fabulous to watch the preparation and even better to eat. Family owned and operated with super nice staff.. Menu has many good entrees and the daily special are excellent as well. The only reason for the 4 star service was the "doggie bags" were mixed up and we didn't get our correct left overs. Already planning a return with different friends to make another set of "true believers".

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were very disappointed in the calamari and the chicken parm. We loved the bread and the other entree we got that had sausage. Our service was fine but overall I am not sure if we would come back. We live in the short pump area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This place is great for authentic homemade Italian food. I had their house made braised beef ravioli and it was incredible.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Selected this restaurant because it was near my hotel. I was surprised to find out it was owned by a Family from Sicily. The service was great. I was dining alone and sometimes you don't get much attention, but I was checked in just the right amount. Chicken Marsala was delicious and just the right amount. I will definitely go back when in the Richmond area!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Amazing find for Italian dining in Richmond. Staff is courteous, service is well timed coming out of the kitchen. If you're like me and willing to go anywhere for Spaghetti Al Formaggio, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Our meal was spectacular You MUST have the al formaggio. So outstanding. I could have it again tomorrow. Shrimp scampi wonderful. Mushroom risotto excellent. Overall a fantastic. Please go and enjoy. We want this restaurant to be around for a long time!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

A wonderful family place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The Chicken Parmesan was very good and my husband had Ravioli filled with crabmeat-told me it had a good taste. Nice little place to meet friends or family for dinner. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Food was great and reasonably priced and location worked well for family birthday gathering. Wait staff was very efficient and food was delivered promptly without a long delay. Our compliments to the chef who prepared creative and delicious dishes.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Staff was very friendly. Food was good. This could be a great spot but atmosphere is zero right now. Here's what could help...
Get some rugs. Warm it up a little and helps w the noise. Background music. Plant, candle or flower on the table. Turn lights down a little for evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent service in a family-run neighborhood restaurant, offering a variety of dining options and very tasty food!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Certain items were great like the spaghetti, the bread, the beer selection and risotto fries. I ordered the veal, ut was tough and flavorless. The fried cheese app. was so good but it was too salty. Service was spotty as we started with a nice enough waiter but then suddenly an extremely energenic waitress bounced in and took over. Tortellini was the show stopper. A little hard to hear the folks at our table. I would go back but woukd ask the server to order for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Casa Italiana is a reincarnation of Pesce & Vino by the same family. The Vecchio and Nuovo in the title refers to the restaurant using old recipes that have been in the family for generations while offering new takes on old favorites. The meatballs are a flavorful specialty whether in a sandwich or as an entree. The serving of a spaghetti dish can be a spectacle. The food is a strong lure for this restaurant. Yet...the restaurant is a victim of its own success. The kitchen can be overwhelmed by a full dining room and can't turn out the food fast enough. Three waiters for the entire restaurant are also overwhelmed. The restaurant has the resources to offer the best baked Italian bread in the area, but settles for dinner rolls which are baked in the restaurant but may or may not have been prepared elsewhere. Salads and bread, staples that are at the ready in most restaurants, take too much time to arrive, as if they start to bake the bread when it is ordered. Dishes come out slowly, one by one; each person at a table of six might be served at different times. Perhaps going to Casa Italiana on a slow mid-week day might allow you to better enjoy the truly delicious food this restaurant is capable of serving to you.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. The staff was great and they were willing to accommodate a few special requests regarding our meal. Served delicious bread and the pasta with meat sauce was outstanding. We didn't have room for dessert, but they looked delicious. Very reasonably priced. Worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very good food the tomato sauce is the best I have ever had. The calamari was a bit skimpy but lots of flavor. Overall I hope the standards up and they will do a good business

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food is tasty and the portions are ample. The meat balls were delicious. The antipasto and salad was enough for a meal. The service was attentive but not overly. The restaurant is small and seating is cosy but comfortable.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Another amazing meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Our server, Lauren, was wonderful. The meal was paced perfectly from salad to entree to dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We had read the good review in the Richmond Times-Dispatch, so my wife and I and our fiercely Italian friend went to Casa Italiana. We arrived and were shown to a 6-top stuffed right by the kitchen door even though there were a number of 4-top tables available in the open space of the restaurant. Very strange.

Wait staff was nice, if a little scattered. Noise level was EXTREMELY HIGH - it was hard to hear one another over the noise of the crowd. (An aside - apparently, the Tuesday night we went was the first day back from the restaurant closing for a vacation, and we were impressed by the large crowd.)

Menu looked nice. My wife opted for just the fried mozzarella appetizer and the Panzanella salad - she was very pleased. Everything looked good to me, but I followed my Italian friend's lead - at a new Italian restaurant she always tries the lasagna on the first visit. Lasagna came with a small house salad, nothing to write home about but adequate. Lasagna was just okay. I like lasagna in which the layers are firm and the noodles are substantial. Not the case here. It was also quite salty; my friend attributed it to Casa not using the traditional cheeses and instead something like a Béchamel sauce - I don't know!

All that said, the food was good and it was a great value (lasagna with salad was only $14). I will go back again and try something different this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Our food was great! Service was excellent. Worth giving it a try!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I was glad to see that the restaurant that took over the space is doing so well. It was very vibrant when we came around 7pm--retired couples, families with young children, a large table of friends in their 50s - 70s. It seems like it has become a good neighborhood magnet.

The head waiter was superb. She did everything she could to make our experience a good one, responding quickly and pleasantly to our needs. The waiter we had needs to learn how to follow her lead.

For our group of 7, it was just very difficult to hear the table conversation with the acoustics as they are when there is a large group of people in the space.

The pricing was just a little too high for the group. We've been to other local Italian restaurants and the quality, pricing and quantity don't match.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Truly a hidden gem.We went here for the first time today for lunch. Our waiter Sam was exceptional! The food was amazing and authentic Italian! We already have plans to go back and can't wait! I can't wait to tell all of my friends and family about your outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Terrific food and atmosphere- good price performer!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food in our opinion best italian in richmond

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Overall, I would recommend this restaurant without reservations(no pun intended). Actually, it was not very busy on a Monday night before a big rainstorm, so the service was very attentive. The food was excellent, except the chef was not doing the flambe spaghetti that evening, no reason given. Portion sizes are generous, but not overwhelming, so we were able to share two desserts among six of us. The desserts were memorable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My mom, sister and I had lunch for Father's day after church. We hadn't been there before so we were interested in trying it. We wanted to make a reservation on Open Table so we wouldn't have to wait for a table knowing it might be busy for Father's Day. We walked in to a tastefully decorated restaurant but right away I was struck by the sterile, non-aromatic feeling. I wanted to smell garlic and good smelling italian food but there was no smells coming from the kitchen at all. I almost wanted to leave. We didn't because we didn't want to wait in line at Melito's. We stayed and I am glad we did. It was a very pleasing experience. I had the roasted chicken sandwich which was very tasty, my sister had a salad with huge shrimp added to it and my mom had pancakes w walnuts and cream, also delightful. i do recommend this restaurant but please, please allow some Italian aromas to escape from you kitchen!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Didn't have their signature dish, or half of the menu. The food was b-team olive garden at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food was delicious and we were treated like family. We felt like we had traveled to Italy. Make sure you have a reservation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Lunch as well as desserts were very good and with most attentive service . I would definitely go back for another exceptional meal. What a great find!!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

sorry but the ambiance left me cold. sort of like a cafeteria . too many tables for 4 or more. food great, service great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent experience. Restaurant selected for its Italian menu. Delicious and large portions. Recently opened and reviewed positively in the oress.
Wait staff very knowledgeable and friendly. Restaurant decor is favorable and rest rooms very clean. Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First visit and definitely won't be the last. The 2 main courses we had were very good. Can't wait to try the others. Save room for their desserts, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a group of 6 adults and everyone ordered something different. Our 18 year old son is a vegetarian and he had no trouble finding something to eat. The chef offered to amend an antre to fit his preferences. The seafood was fresh, as well we're the salads. I am often hesitant to order red sauces because they can be too salty. This was not the case at Casa Italiana. Our entire group was completely satisfied with their options. They also had an assortment of wine and beer choices that pleased everyone's palates. We started our meal with several appetizers; all were delicious. The mozerella was lightly fried, leaving a melted cheese taste in your mouth not overwhelmed by breading. We ended our meal with the best cannoli that I have ever tasted and I lived in the New York Italian district! We dined on a Friday and the restaurant was quite crowded, but this did not affect our service or food in the least. Obviously, we are going back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was our first time. Our waitress was very very nice and courteous. The owner/bartender was very sweet to our 3 month old baby boy. The food was tasty. The Caesar salad was particularly good. Not to busy on a Friday night. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A great neighborhood spot with amazing food. The owners and staff go out of their way to make you feel like one of the family. Quickly becoming one of our favorite spots! Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.