Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Casa Italiana

Family. Everything about our story comes back to that one word. Our story started in Carini, Italy and our individual journeys have brought us all here to Richmond, Virginia. The family is back together again, and is ready to share our passion for family and great food. From our Famiglia to yours...
Open daily for Lunch. Serving up a quick and fresh menu. Panini's, Artisan Grilled Pizza's, Salads and so much more. Saturday & Sundays we will also be preparing weekly brunch specials.
We specialize in bringing the "Old & New" flavors of Italy to your table. Risotto Fries, Pasta's and Entree's. Our Spaghetti al Formaggio is cooked for you tableside. You won't want to miss this beautiful experience.

8801 Three Chopt Rd
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday 11am- 10pm
Sunday- 11am- 9pm

Lunch & Dinner Served Daily

Cross Street:
Eastridge Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 303-2769

Website:
http://www.casaitalianarestaurant.com/

Catering:
We are able to make any of our items into a catering portion for your office party, or family functions.

Parking Details:
Entrance is within a few meters of parking lot. Very accessible.

Executive Chef:
Filippo Genova, Gaetano Genova, Kristi Ritchey

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Casa Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Casual (21)
Authentic (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
67 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We have enjoyed this restaurant on several occasions and never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was fantastic. Definitely a great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I will come back for sure! Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful, friendly staff. Nice ambiance, a little noisy for a special occasion. Excellent service, well made cocktails. Unfortunately, the overall experience was disappointing due to the food. Both entrees were bland, unremarkable. Have had the same dishes at other local restaurants that were much better prepared, more flavorful. Nothing special here, too bad because it has so much else going for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very enjoyable family run restaurant. Kind waitstaff, delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food, great wine, wonderful deserts .... family owned lots of pride in what they do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We like the restaurant. It was quite noisy this time because of a large family group but that's not the restaurant's fault. There really is no way to separate groups because the space is small. We have been there before when there was not cub problem.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have really enjoyed this neighborhood gem. The food is really good, but not too fru fru. Everything is fresh and the service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I don't normally leave a review. But for Casa Italiana I MUST. Our server gave great suggestions and was very pleasant. The front manager (chef's sister - this is a true family place) is great. The way she interacted with us made a good experience, great.

As to the food. One of my friends is a Vegetarian. When I look for a place to dine out, the main criteria is she has to have at least two entree choices. Not only did Casa Italiana fit the bill but one of the specials was vegetarian! That NEVER happens.

The Calamari with Fennel, Artichokes will be a must have every time we go back. All the other dishes, from risotto "fries" to tiramisu were spot on. go there. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Sadie was our delightful waiter person. She was very cordial, professional, and took great care of us. My husband and I have been here a couple times and we have always had a great meal. Tonight we were not disappointed.

I had the penne with meal sauce which was delicious. I are as much as I could but couldn't finish it. Sadie boxed it up for me so I can have it tomorrow. Yay! My husband had the chicken parm. He didn't leave a drop. He lived his too!

We've never been able to eat dessert because we eat so much during our meal. One day we are going to eat light and get dessert.

We LOVE this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Casa Italiana is a great restaurant for almost every occasion; great food; great customer service; great experience. I always look forward to going back for another meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Started a little rough...seated at a small table right by the entrance,.... and it was busy and a little noisy. Other than that...the food was Very good. the special Pasta made flambe in the parmaesan wheel...rich but very good. A very nicely prepared veal dish. all total the food and service were all good. Never made it to desserts..so can not comment. We will go back again.... it was well worth the trip and cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were a little skeptical after reading the Open Table reviews but decided to give it a try. We were extremely pleased with our decision. The food was excellent. The service was very good. It was a Wednesday evening and there were very few people there so we felt like we received the full attention of the staff. The seating for the two of us seemed to be limited and on a busy night I think it would be less to our liking. We do not like sitting in banquet rows where we share our table with the folks next door. A lot of the available tables seem to be like that. Even on a night where they had only three groups in the restaurant they seated us at a very small 2 table. (?) The menu and food made up for the seating. I had the veal Nuovo and my wife had the seafood risotto. Both dishes were outstanding. Definitely going back. Many more things on the menu to try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Came here for a Saturday dinner with my parents since they came to see me in college. Would definitely go again, as the tortellini was delicious. Appetizers were fantastic too!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We ordered 2 different veal dishes. On one, the veal was overcooked and the gnocchi was undercooked. On the other dish, the veal was cooked in a satisfactory way but the overall dish was bland. For the price we paid, I expected more. They lost a repeat customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We arrived at 6:15 on a Saturday evening to find that a party of 50+(!) was just finishing up! They departed within 10 minutes of our arrival and the staff immediately set to work cleaning up and separating the tables into the normal configuration of two and four-tops. Within 5 minutes, the place was back to normal and much quieter! - Very impressive to watch them in operation. While this was going on our server was on top of our order and needs. Unfortunately, one of the chef's was out of town, so their special spaghetti was not available. However, the two chicken dishes we ordered - Chicken Cacciatore wrapped in proscuitto and Chicken Parmesan were delicious. We also ordered the Crispy Calamari and it was very good, though the calamari was a bit tough. This is our fourth trip to Casa and their food has always been very good and their service is outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was our third visit in as many weeks. We keep coming back because there are so many interesting items on the menu that we want to try. The quality of the food is amazing and the prices are very affordable. This is now our weekly go to place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our group of friends got together on a Wednesday evening - and lucky for us, there wasn't a big crowd which made it very comfortable for our group to take our time and enjoy our dinner without worrying about holding other diners up.

The food was great as was the service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We went for lunch but it apparently is the same menu for both lunch and dinner so it was a little pricey for me for lunch. Eggplant was overdone on the ends which made it a little tough to cut but didn't want to complain as they are newly open. Reviews were very good on here so we will have to give it another try.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a delicious dinner and enjoyed watching the action at the cheese wheel.
We'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Delicious food. Very authentic. Wonderful attention from servers and owner. Love it. Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Terrific Italian cuisine and incredibly friendly service at this family owned and operated ristorante.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had the special pasta for Maggio it was great. Friendly and knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My son was looking for a better that chain Italian experience. We weren't disappointed. The food was awesome. The risotto fries were a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing! The food was great- everything from the bread to the desserts were amazing. Everyone loved their meals. Sauces in the pasta were delicious And the meatball was to die for. We were so stuffed by dessert, but the lemoncello dessert was so amazing that we gulped it down. Oh- and did I mention the soft warm rolls?? Just as good as the food was the customer service. So friendly- loved how the owners keep thanking us for joining joining their family and coming to their home. Loved every part of the experience!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our second trip to Casa Italiana was not quite as successful as our first - primarily because it was on a Saturday night and it was very busy and very loud. The tables are close to each other - so much so, that our waiter, who was a large man, had difficulties getting to us. As can be expected, when a restaurant is packed, the noise level goes up and the service slows down. That being said, it was still an enjoyable meal because the food is so good. My wife tried the special "Flaming" spaghetti and it was as good tasting as it looks being prepared.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding evening with friends. Great food and service. We will definitely be back

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our second visit in as many weeks, which is highly unusual for us and reflects well on both experiences. Service is very friendly and professional. The food was superb on both visit and is much fresher than your basic Italian you find in Richmond. Prices are very reasonable making this a great weekly stop.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place started on a very high note when it re-opened as Casa Italiana last fall. Food was consistently outstanding and the value was never in question. Incredibly, things have only gotten better since brother Gaetano joined the staff on a regular basis, recently.

To be sure, the servers sometimes are challenged on busy nights, but Kristi is an experienced restaurateur who keeps close tabs on the front of the house. She is quick to notice any lapse and move in promptly when needed. Too, the staff are so darn cordial that it's hard to be put off.

Besides, if the food is the reason for your visit, you won't be disappointed. My wife and I have tried a good portion of the menu over appoximately a dozen visits, and none of the offerings has failed to impress. Sauces certainly will catch your attention, but it seems the ingredients comprising each underlying dish are sourced so carefully that identifying a best characteristic is difficult.

We are well-pleased to have this gem in our neighborhood and we wish to share it with others less fortunate.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

some of the most delicious Italian food I have had. Servers were very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went looking to see the "Cheese Wheel" in action. It was covered. Be careful of the house salad. all arugula and inedible house dressing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great experience! I was looking for an alternative to national chain restaurants and found this gem. The staff was very knowledgeable and welcoming. The food was delicious, authentic and presented exquisitely. Kristi and Annalisa ran the front of the house with grace and made everyone feel at home. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have been here several times and Casa Italiano never disappoints. I like the Pasta Fromagiano and ordered a meatball on the side. Great chicken Parmesan.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Yummy yummy yummy great fresh ingredients and local desserts make this a fun surprise neighborhood find !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Comfortable atmosphere, dishes are well prepared and presented. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We tried Casa because of the positive reviews and, you know what? They were right! This was a most enjoyable restaurant. We were a bit taken back when we arrived at 6:15 on a Friday night and there was only 1 other couple in the restaurant! However, before we left, the place was packed! We had their two veal dishes and both were wonderful. They came with a small side salad and freshly baked bread. While there, we watched as two other customers ordered the house special "flaming" spaghetti dish -it was certainly special to watch it being prepared in the middle of the dinning room - along with commentary! I asked one of the customers if it was as good as it looked and she said, "Absolutely! It's divine! I'm bringing my husband next time so he can try it." Service was attentive and informative (though our server did get tied up a bit when the place was full.) The dessert menu looked wonderful too, but we were too stuffed to try it! We will be back - have to try that spaghetti special!!!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Place was great, really enjoyed everything. I did think the pasta carbonara was a bit salty, but still edible. The lasagna was awesome .

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great sevice. Prepared flambeed spaghetti in center of restaurant for all to enjoy. Lighting is a bit harsh and noise level is up there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I had very high expectations going into this meal after all the outstanding reviews I read in my research - and by some miracle, those lofty expectations were still exceeded.

We were greeted personally at arrival by Chef Khristi (who is super cute btw) and escorted to our table in a fantastic location. The service was prompt and personal; the food was outstanding; the ambiance was everything we could have asked for. We enjoyed our meal so much that we scheduled another reservation on the spot, and will be coming back over and over until they stop letting us in!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fun, People Watching, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.