About Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin

504 E 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Carmelo’s Ristorante Italiano, Austin, is located in the historical "Old Depot Hotel" downtown across from the Hilton. Open since 1985, Carmelo's, was recently awarded the Seal of "Ospitalita Italiana" from the Italian Government for our use of authentic Italian products and the preparation of genuine Italian cuisine. We have created a menu that is not only carefully thought out and authentically Italian, but also one that uses the finest quality beef, veal and poultry and the freshest of seafood, and when available local produce. With an extensive wine list and options ranging from an award winning Risotto with Truffles, a tableside cooked Steak Diane and gluten free, vegetarian and vegan fare it is our aim that everyone will be satisfied. Our delectable desserts include homemade specialties such as Tiramisu and Millefoglie. Come on by and experience a little bit of Italy tucked away in downtown Austin! We are also in Houston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Red River

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7497

Website:
http://www.carmelosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Accordionist playing Italian and other tunes. Will take requests.

Catering:
Catering to your home for 10-500 guests. We will set up, provide service if required and leave your house or facility as we found it. One of our managers, Luis or Eddie will be happy to assist in the planning your event.

Parking Details:
Valet parking through Hospitality Parking Services.

Public Transit:
Armadillo Trolley.

Executive Chef:
Margarito Machado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in rehearsal dinners, weddings and receptions. Our private dining rooms are perfect for all celebrations, luncheons and meetings

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Exquisite Private Dining Rooms showcasing original Austin limestone, original artwork; seating up to 80 guests, and accommodating up to 120 for mingling events.

Great semi-private patio, which seats up to 50 guests or up to 60 for mingling pre-party. Wonderful for weddings!

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Romantic (27)
Authentic (26)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Historic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (8)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (7)
Live Music (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Quaint wonderful place to enjoy a tradit ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Quaint wonderful place to enjoy a traditional Italian meal!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time! Love the ambience ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a wonderful time! Love the ambience of this place!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Highly rec ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding food and service. Highly recommend the beef stroganoff and bananas foster.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about this. The prices ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved everything about this. The prices are a little spends but the food was authentic, he served excellent, and the ambience awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's very exciting experience eating at ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

It's very exciting experience eating at historical building and especial decoration. The food is not as excited as expected. But I am still willing to try the others at next visit.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The building is a 19th century landmark ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The building is a 19th century landmark (old hotel), and the restaurant has been around since the early-mid 80's. I met my spouse there years ago, and recently returned to celebrate the anniversary of what turned out to be our first date. Of the times I've been there, the staff has always gone WAY above and beyond to make things special. Service so dedicated is very rare, and for that reason alone, we'll be back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Son and DIL moved to Austin

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Son and DIL moved to Austin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a mainstay for us on special occ ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

This is a mainstay for us on special occasions and to treat out of town friends. Friendly staff, great food, excellent wine list, great location and ambiance. Always consistent!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and wine. Relaxing atm ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious food and wine. Relaxing atmosphere Excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was the icing on the cak ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant was the icing on the cake for our Valentines Day!!!! The food, the service, the atmosphere, AMAZING! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone anytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst Italian food I've ever had in my l ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Worst Italian food I've ever had in my life. It was valentine's day so they packed extra tables into the bar to where we felt like we were at a table with 10 other couples. If you told me they cooked all their food in microwaves i wouldn't be suprised. The food came out cold and extremely bland. The service was horrible especially since when i asked a question the server didn't know enough English to answer and just shrugged his shoulders and walked away. They had a limited menu which they don't tell you about when you make the reservation also everything is ridiculously expensive. Save your money and time and go literally anywhere except here!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect for Valentine's Day. One of, if ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Perfect for Valentine's Day. One of, if not my favorite, restaurant. Loved the online reservation system.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was poor

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

It was an event for 18 of us and they pr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was an event for 18 of us and they provided a separate room without us having to ask. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and they were ver ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was delicious and they were very accommodating to my gluten sensitivity. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so pleased. The food and the se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were so pleased. The food and the service were outstanding! Would definitely recommend Carmelo's to everyone!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, although I've had better. The ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good food, although I've had better. The prices may look a bit high but the portions are large--but probably standard Italian family amounts. My wife and I could have split one order. Much louder than anticipated, so not a great date place. Great for a group of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. No frivolity, just Go ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Never disappoints. No frivolity, just Good authentic Italian food.

Tags: , Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I remember eating at Carmelo's several y ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I remember eating at Carmelo's several years ago and being delighted with the food. I made reservations and took a new friend there based on that experience. I found the service lacking and the food unremarkable. I will not visit Carmelo's again as only the prices remained above average!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

At 67 years old I reconnected with my 8t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

At 67 years old I reconnected with my 8th grade girl friend after 53 years. We went to Carmelo's by chance the 1st time but now it's our place for romantic intimate dining. The service is second to none, the food outstanding and the ambience is perfect. We predict we will have many romantic and special dinners there in the future.

And...... we were the best looking couple in the place. Nobody saw me because she's still so beautiful and popped every guy's head in the place seriously. Can't wait to return!!!!!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome as always! The service can't be ...

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome as always! The service can't be beat. Thanks Carmelo's!

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really happy we went to Carmelo's. it's ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Really happy we went to Carmelo's. it's what a good Italian restaurant should be - and somehow we're lost in all these new places, when Carmelo's seems to focus and deliver on being a good restaurant with good service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent. The desserts are ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was excellent. The desserts are beyond amazing. I was a little disappointed because I wanted steak but was told it would take about 45 minutes to get a steak from thier grill. A little noisy for conversations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Staff is always accommodating. Fettucin ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Staff is always accommodating. Fettucine Alfredo is the BEST.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lasagna was absolutely incredible! Eggpl ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Lasagna was absolutely incredible! Eggplant was so good too. There was a screaming child that ran around restaurant, but staff didn't care.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere, food was okay, service ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice atmosphere, food was okay, service was really good, it was a relaxed fun evening and we all enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely return

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Every Christmas season I take our entire ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Every Christmas season I take our entire family out for a special dinner. This must be the 19th or 20th consecutive dinner at Carmelo's. Once again it met all expectations.

We have watched our 5 granddaughters progress from taking a few bites from their mothers plates to ordering Spaghetti or Fettuccine to enjoying the Steak Diane or Filet with Bearnaise. And I must tell you that they have especially enjoyed the Desert Cart and the table side preps of Bananas Foster (they do miss the Cherries Jubilee, however).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it use to be, even half of the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Not what it use to be, even half of the sign light was out. Osso Buco wasn't tender and the seafood pasta Lucia had too much clam juice, making it very fishy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Service and Food was outstanding, never ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Service and Food was outstanding, never felt rushed even though we had a late business lunch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only issue we had was with our serv ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The only issue we had was with our server who tried to charge double for our meals and drinks. His supervisor resolved the issue with the tab. Although, the double charge on the tab was a mistake we will be back. The cuisine is always on point, and so is the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here to celebrate a special occa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were here to celebrate a special occasion. The atmosphere is cozy and welcoming. The servie was exceptional. Three of us had the Beef Stroganoff prepared table side. The fillet was tender and the sauce delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and presented nicely b ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good and presented nicely but it lacked flavor and was nothing special nor memorable. There are better Italian returants in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everyone really enjoyed their food. Serv ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everyone really enjoyed their food. Service was great! I will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Make it to Carmelos every time we go to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Make it to Carmelos every time we go to Esthers Follies. Both were delightful. There were ten of us that met up for dinner and all enjoyed their choices. Beautiful old building and excellent Italian with excellent service. Parking is 8 dollars, no matter what.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I love this restaurant. The ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My wife and I love this restaurant. The food and service have consistently been excellent. It's also so nice to go to an uncrowded, downtown Austin restaurant with easy parking. Carmelo's has the best Italian food in Austin that we have found.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years dinner with my family was good ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years dinner with my family was good. Not a young crowd as my 20 something's noticed quickly but the staff was very accommodating. We were confused about the menu options as there seemed to be several non Italian choices. That fact made us a little disappointed in the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I have been coming here for ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I have been coming here for the last 15 years. We try to make it every year for our wedding anniversary and they never disappoint. The manager and the wait staff recognize us upon arrival, so for my wife and I, it feels like home. The service is always outstanding, everyone treats us like royalty (complementary glass of champagne) and as always, the food is very good. The wine selection is excellent and the desserts are always an great finishing touch to our meal. I highly recommend this restaurant and wish the Carmelo's team our best wishes for 2017.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Carmelo's is are go to venue for every c ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Carmelo's is are go to venue for every celebration opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and a wonderful way to sp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food and a wonderful way to spend Christmas with the family!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Xmas Buffet- made last minute rese ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great Xmas Buffet- made last minute reservations-- great friendly staff, and great food! love the courtyard, and room with fireplace....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.