Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin

Carmelo’s Ristorante Italiano, Austin, is located in the historical "Old Depot Hotel" downtown across from the Hilton. Open since 1985, Carmelo's, was recently awarded the Seal of "Ospitalita Italiana" from the Italian Government for our use of authentic Italian products and the preparation of genuine Italian cuisine. We have created a menu that is not only carefully thought out and authentically Italian, but also one that uses the finest quality beef, veal and poultry and the freshest of seafood, and when available local produce. With an extensive wine list and options ranging from an award winning Risotto with Truffles, a tableside cooked Steak Diane and gluten free, vegetarian and vegan fare it is our aim that everyone will be satisfied. Our delectable desserts include homemade specialties such as Tiramisu and Millefoglie. Come on by and experience a little bit of Italy tucked away in downtown Austin! We are also in Houston.

504 E 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Red River

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7497

Website:
http://www.carmelosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Accordionist playing Italian and other tunes. Will take requests.

Catering:
Catering to your home for 10-500 guests. We will set up, provide service if required and leave your house or facility as we found it. One of our managers, Luis or Eddie will be happy to assist in the planning your event.

Parking Details:
Valet parking through Hospitality Parking Services.

Public Transit:
Armadillo Trolley.

Executive Chef:
Margarito Machado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in rehearsal dinners, weddings and receptions. Our private dining rooms are perfect for all celebrations, luncheons and meetings

Private Dining

Exquisite Private Dining Rooms showcasing original Austin limestone, original artwork; seating up to 80 guests, and accommodating up to 120 for mingling events.

Great semi-private patio, which seats up to 50 guests or up to 60 for mingling pre-party. Wonderful for weddings!

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (41)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Authentic (27)
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Historic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Family Style (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Live Music (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (3)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

We always make Carmelo's a stop when in Austin. Great service Great food at a reasonable price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Our reservation was at 8 pm, however we arrived earlier than planned. The manager was very nice and was able to sit us down with no problem. After we left he followed us out and wished my husband a happy birthday .The food was great as usual so were the staff. This is one of my favorite place in Austin and would definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

We really love this place. It breaks my heart that they are going to be closing because of good old Austin expansion/ not caring for old, historic places downtown. I hear that the main guys are trying to open a similar place south. If so ,we need to get behind them with all our support.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was mediocre at best. Wait staff had bad attitude. Never came by to check on us. I gave him 5 bucks on a 70 dollar tab. He was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating my son's birthday. It's a perfect special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Love Carmelo's. Great service tonight along with delicious food. Really going to miss this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Very unfortunate that they are closing. Enjoy while you still can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice meal and service. Cost was more than expected.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We celebrated Mother's Day a week late, and my wife chose Carmelo's for the occasion. I'd only been there once before, and that was for a special occasion in their separate party facility. There is a lovely patio with many plants that leads to the main dining room. The lighting is low, but sufficient to read the menu. The selection of dishes is amazing. It was difficult to decide what to order. My wife had a seafood fettuccine dish, while my son and I both went for the Steak Dianne, which was prepared table-side. That's right, old school preparation at the table! The steaks were perfectly prepared and seasoned. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for excellent food and the best service we have experienced in a long time. You'd better hurry though. Their rent has increased to the point that they will be closing their Austin location after Father's Day in June 2017.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Awesome place sad that ya'll are leaving. Blessings

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went for son's graduation and everything was awesome!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was awesome as usual! So sad to know that they are closing:(

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Love this place. Wish it weren't going the way of Austin......make way for more condos. Ugh.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We love Carmelo's. Our 3rd visit to this restaurant in 3 trips to Austin. The staff is always welcoming and attentive. One of my favorite items is the fabulous Signature Salad. We have also gotten several different enteees there and they have all been delicious. We will keep coming back.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great food, excellent service & low-key ambiance! It was the perfect venue for our business dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a wonderful experience, as usual. Food and service excellent, even tho they forgot the birthday cake. But we liked the creme brûlée better anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We celebrated a family Mother's Day buffet at Carmelo's. The food was excellent and there were many choices. We'll miss Carmelo's very much after it closes on Father's Day. We live just across the street at the 555 Condos and have eaten there many times in 10 years. We hope that they find another location soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Favorably impressed with the kind service by waitstaff. The coffee was always filled; waiters smiled and appeared to enjoy the Mother's Day buffet as well as the diners. Very special is that between replenishing my plate and reseating myself, I always found a fresh silverware place setting. Appreciate that gesture. Even after multiple times going to the buffet, the eating utensils at my table were always new.

I also like the varieties of vegan foods. There was an appealing mix of cooked veggies with broccolini, multi-colored slender carrots, and other very tasty and appetizing fare. There were bowls of spinach leaves for the Caprese salad and of field greens for everything else. The king salmon fish was perfectly tender and flavorful. There were pastas with basil, peas, and creamy sauce. Mussels in open shells were so good that on the way home my companion stopped to buy some more. I tried some of the meats as well--delicious minty lamb chops, excellent prime beef roast from the carving table. The substitution I'd have made in the special menu was to omit the hearty lasagna of ground meat to have an eggplant parmesan, though that dish might be time consuming to prepare in quantities. As for dessert, the offerings were invariably delicious and light in texture, a good conclusion to a great gustatory experience.

The ambience was leisurely and welcoming. The ornamental courtyard at the restauant's entry required picture taking before heading to the adjacent valet car park, the entrance to which is through a Carmelo's archway. This long-established Italian restaurant is still going strong and is one I plan to bring visitors.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Healthy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Carmelo's will be missed, but at least the walls will remain.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very attentive you there diners, extensive wine list, and the food is amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 3, 2017

So sad this Austin treasure is closing to make room for another high rise. Service was excellent and everything was delicious. Find time for a visit, before it's gone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was good but we were concerned with the lack of patrons. Was empty on a Monday evening. We enjoyed everything though.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love this restaurant and hate to see it close. This was one of the first dates for me and my wife when we were dating in college. Always great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Anniversary dinner after a show at Zach. Easy parking. Charming setting, great service, excellent food and wine. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Carmelo's is a go to winner every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We are so disappointed that Carmelo's will be closing in Austin -- it is a wonderful restaurant in a gorgeous setting. We have always felt incredibly welcome here and just can't imagine the restaurant going dark. Even in these final weeks they are showing off impressive food and great hospitality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was delicious! Atmosphere is great, as well as the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food, atmosphere and service were outstanding!!!!!
I love Carmelo's

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely fabulous as always our favorite , food is always superb. Will prepare what you ask for weather or not it is on the menu . Very sad they are closing

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Carmelo's has always been a superb place for true Italian food. So much like back in the Northeast. So sorry to see that it will be torn down and another damn condo in it's place after like 40 years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Charming and quaint restaurant in a former historic train depot. I love old buildings and the feeling of being whisked out of the hustle and bustle of the city. An accordion played while another patron sang one of the nostalgic songs of yester year. My husband and I sat on the same side of the table taking in the music while enjoying each other's company and a bottle of wine. We each enjoyed flavorful salads. I had the Salmon with risotto and my husband the Ossu Bucco. We skipped dessert as we usually do. Excellent meal.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always delicious - especially the lasagna - with great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Luis and his staff are the best. Carmelo's has the best escargot in Austin and all of our meals were delicious. We have been enjoying meals here for more than 30 years and it is a shame that Austin property taxes are forcing out all of our homegrown favorites. Soon only chain restaurants will exist in Austin.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The restaurant seated our large party early and were extremely attentive throughout the entire meal. The food and atmosphere was wonderful! We will be going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Only true Austin restaurant with great food, great service, in an elegant atmosphere.
Thank you for serving me and my family all these years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I was looking forward to eating at this Austin establishment, but the food and service just did not live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a great meal. We had 3 children aged 5-10 and they all ate cheese pizza which they enjoyed. Great service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Very good service, food was excellent, would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Not a single item on the menu wasn't appealing. Chose their wonderfully tasty veal marsala -- preceeded by a crisp and zingy caesar salad. The complimentary bread was soft yet chewy -- and "dunked" perfectly in their olive oil and shaved parmesan.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Austin is not known for its Italian food. Carmelo's was good by Austin standards, but doesn't live up to fine Italian fare elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.