HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Carma

4.1
140 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

Carma is a fine-dining restaurant that serves authentic Italian and Mediterranean cuisine in an elegant space. Helmed by Chef Leo Santana, the menu features pasta, salad, seafood, beef and chicken dishes. Diners rave about Carma's chicken Spiedini Trio, chicken Minestrone soup and the Cannoli. Try the steak Verona for a carnivore's treat. It includes two filet topped with mushrooms, shrimps, prosciutto and a savory wine, butter and lemon sauce.

Carma's relaxing ambience, enhanced by the occasional live music, makes it an ideal choice for a casual dining experience. This restaurant is open before noon for breakfast, lunch and dinner Mondays to Fridays, and a little later for lunch and dinner over the weekend.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Contemporary American, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-3:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 3:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 3:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(913) 327-7115
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Leo Santana
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering options available upon request.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
115th st. and Nall Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking and parking garage available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music Saturdays 6-9pm
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 140 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1  based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.0
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipLER1015 (Kansas City)
4.0  Dined on March 15, 2016

Great neighborhood feel in a very "big box" area! Rigatoni was amazing and the happy hour food (mussels and calamari) were fabulous. Looking forward to coming back when the music is playing!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on March 3, 2016

Great!! Rounds table for party of 5 made it easy for a girls' catch up session. Delicious!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on March 3, 2016

It took me two years (after moving from California) to find one of the best restaurants in the area. Don and Bree are two of the three owners and two of the nicest restaurateurs you will ever find. The food was fantastic from beginning to end. The bread and garlic flavored olive oil is exceptional. The food is well prepared and well presented. Our waiter was quite attentive and it was an extra nice touch to have Bree and Don stop by our table to see how we enjoyed our meal. The evening was topped off with a tiramisu made without lady fingers. That alone makes me want to return. And we will return as often as possible.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Joaquin)
5.0  Dined on February 27, 2016

We have become regulars of this hidden gem! Friday nights feature quiet Chet Atkins style guitar music that provides a great backdrop for a fantastic meal. The wine selection is second to none. We have tried a variety of main courses and have found that the chef is always provides a memorable experience. We have even ordered entrees not on the menu that were created to perfection! Don't forget dessert, Carma has the best Cannolis in town, bar none!!!

Don, the owner, is always present and engages in conversation. He is genuine in his concern for his customers and values feedback. For a quiet evening, special occasion, or just a great meal, Carma will not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
4.0  Dined on February 20, 2016

Very good food. Nicely seasoned and great plate presentation. The dip for the bread was unlike any I have had and so fresh. The sauces were delicate rather than heavy which allowed the food flavors to be fully experienced. Oscar Salmon is what I chose and I was not disappointed. If you have never been to Carma, I recommend you go. Make a reservation as the venue is small. Cons: Can be a little loud and I recommend they upgrade their wine glasses.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a reservation for Valentine's evening. We got to town early so we decided to stop in and see if maybe we could sit early. It was packed and they were fully booked, but offered us a seat at the bar to wait. The bar staff, as well as literally all of the staff we encountered, were incredibly kind. The wine was also quite delicious. We ordered the Spaghetti and Meatballs, Toasted Ravioli, and Eggplant Parmesan, all of which were absolutely delicious. Oh, and the bread with the garlic oil alone is enough to bring me back. They had a live band playing and ended up singing happy birthday to the owner that evening. At the end of the evening the waiter brought over a rose for me as well which was a sweet touch to the evening. All in all, it was an incredible experience and we are looking forward to our next trip to KC to stop back in.

Report
Helpful
vipWinendine (Kansas City)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

The appetizers we had were great - the loaded artichoke, and the bacon wrapped shrimp. After that it went downhill. The band playing on Valentine's Day was singing love songs like Lyin' Eyes and Desperado. Disappointing. Our server worked hard and was knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

Service felt rushed and food was subpar for the price. I got fettuccine carbonara and it tasted like it came from Stoffurs. Over cooked pasta and a gel of a sauce.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

Don't sit customers in overflow room. It's not as nice and welcoming as main dinning room. But food was very tasty.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was incredible!! I highly recommend the stuffed artichoke as an appetizer. The chicken spendini was the best I've ever had! The portions are very generous and the waitstaff was amazing. The live music was just perfect not loud just nice relaxing and romantic music played by you enjoyed your dinner. It was Valentine's Day and each lady who was at the restaurant was given a red rose upon leaving.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere was great. Went here for a date night and was pleasantly surprised!

Report
Helpful
vipStephanieT (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2016

Fabulous meal and ambiance on Valentine's eve night. Best food we have had in a long time! Can't wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2016

We have been searching for a good, reliable Italian restaurant that doesn't break the bank and found it in Carma. Been there in its previous incarnations and had a good time, but this time the food, service and ambiance were excellent.

Nice touch handing out roses the day before Valentines' Day!

Report
Helpful
vipbaileysmom (Kansas City)
3.0  Dined on February 12, 2016

The food is good. The service is good. Pleasant atmosphere. Enjoyed the band, not too loud.
Our waiter seemed to want to rush us out. Never asked if we wanted salad with our meal. Never asked if we wanted another drink. Took the paid bill before we even left our table. Felt very hurried, which is not a very relaxing feeling.

Report
Helpful
Lindalou (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on February 6, 2016

We were celebrating a special occasion and our waitress and the owner went out of their way to make sure we were having a great evening.
The wine list is excellent and we were especially pleased with the music.

We will definitely make this one of our frequent night out restaurants.

Report
Helpful
vipCatlover (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on January 29, 2016

Love the Friday night band! Love bringing friends to enjoy a great Park Place restaurant!
We'll be back again and again!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on January 29, 2016

The food was excellent. Our waiter had been with the restaurant for many years and was extremely knowledgeable about the menu, and remarkably kind. Very much appreciated the owner Don stopping by our table a couple times to make sure we were well taken care of. The two man live music was at a perfect level to enjoy the song but still allow for easy dinnertime conversation. Was our first time, but definitely not our last. An excellent experience.

Report
Helpful
Sharoon (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2016

We took our friends out to Carma for their anniversary. Our Open Table reservation was seamless. We were placed at a table which allowed for pleasant conversation. The food (Restaurant Week menu) was marvelous, especially the Chicken Limonata! We also ordered an appetizer from the regular menu ... Don's Artichoke, a large artichoke stuffed with lobster, shrimp, prosciutto, cheese, and bread crumbs. This appetizer could be a meal for two.

Service was attentive, but not formal or stuffy. The owner, Don, also came by to make sure we were being taken care of. Altogether, it was a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
vipJimmyD (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on January 23, 2016

This has become our local favorite. We like to sit at the bar, but the whole staff is always attentive and goes above and beyond.

Report
Helpful
RFinoverlandpark (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on January 23, 2016

We went to carma during restaurant week. The staff was well prepared for a crowd. The service was excellent! The food was delicious and plentiful. There was enough left for another meal or two. We did not feel the least bit rushed and stayed there probably longer than we should have. The owner was on site and was very gracious. Worth the effort to visit park place! Thanks to all.

Report
Helpful
KSsunflower (Kansas City)
4.0  Dined on January 22, 2016

Fast service for a busy night. Food was top notch except for the bread. Liked getting a flower from the owner at the end of the night.

Report
Helpful
2ndChanceTYJ (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on January 22, 2016

We went to support Restaurant Week. It was our first trip there. Nice live 2 man band playing.
Food was good especially the soup.

Report
Helpful
Megan (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2016

Loved the ambiance! Service & food was also outstanding.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Nashville)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2016

We stopped in Carma for a quick dinner with the kids. It was restaurant week so pretty busy. Kids meals were great and all $5 each. My entree was amazing. More than enough food, lots of leftovers. We have been to Carma a couple of times. Service has always been great and food is always good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2016

I love Italian food and I felt I had fairly high standards which I wasn't for sure was reasonable to match. But wow, their food was awesome. I really loved the rigatoni. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on January 16, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised with our (first) dining experience at Carma. The food was piping hot and exceptionally delicious, with a unique blend of wonderful Italian flavors. Our house salads and entrees were exciting taste sensations. The manager, Don, took the time to briefly visit with each table, which impressed us, and, our waitress, Sumin, was especially professional as well as personable. We highly recommend this restaurant and we will definitely return soon.

Report
Helpful
SynergyNT (Kansas City)
4.0  Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was good, but the atmosphere felt a bit like it was catered to an older crowd. My friend and I looked to be the youngest in the restaurant other than the staff and we're both in our mid 30s.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on January 16, 2016

Hate the music........love the food.....

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
4.0  Dined on January 15, 2016

Tables are too close together and plenty noisy, but service was excellent and my food was very good (Fettuccine Mare) and my wife loved her meal. Wine is a little pricy but it is Leawood.

Report
Helpful
Sans (Kansas City)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2015

My lobster was overcooked and tough, and the manager asked but ignored my reply. Spaghetti was floating in oil from spedeni. Waiter was great.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5