Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The Grille at Park PlaceThe Grille at Park Place
(382)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 14 times today
Pig & Finch GastropubPig & Finch Gastropub
(851)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 12 times today
801 Chophouse Leawood801 Chophouse Leawood
(1111)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 5 times today
RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - LeawoodRA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Leawood
(176)
$$$$
Japanese | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 11 times today
Bristol Seafood Grill – Leawood, KSBristol Seafood Grill – Leawood, KS
(3945)
$$$$
Seafood | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 44 times today
North Italia – Kansas CityNorth Italia – Kansas City
(1416)
$$$$
Italian | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 36 times today
Red Door Woodfired Grill - LeawoodRed Door Woodfired Grill - Leawood
(613)
$$$$
American | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 27 times today
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - LeawoodBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Leawood
(512)
$$$$
Italian | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 23 times today
Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant - LeawoodGordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant - Leawood
(163)
$$$$
American | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 6 times today
Sushi HouseSushi House
(364)
$$$$
Sushi | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 11 times today
Hereford House - LeawoodHereford House - Leawood
(1483)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 14 times today
La Bodega - LeawoodLa Bodega - Leawood
(844)
$$$$
Spanish | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 9 times today
Sullivan's Steakhouse - LeawoodSullivan's Steakhouse - Leawood
(1515)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Leawood, Kansas City, KS
Booked 19 times today
Louie's Wine Dive 119th KitchenLouie's Wine Dive 119th Kitchen
(108)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Overland Park, Kansas City, KS
Booked 8 times today
OP 1906OP 1906
(141)
$$$$
American | Overland Park, Kansas City, KS

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Carma

Carma is a fine-dining restaurant that serves authentic Italian and Mediterranean cuisine in an elegant space. Helmed by Chef Leo Santana, the menu features pasta, salad, seafood, beef and chicken dishes. Diners rave about Carma's chicken Spiedini Trio, chicken Minestrone soup and the Cannoli. Try the steak Verona for a carnivore's treat. It includes two filet topped with mushrooms, shrimps, prosciutto and a savory wine, butter and lemon sauce.

Carma's relaxing ambience, enhanced by the occasional live music, makes it an ideal choice for a casual dining experience. This restaurant is open before noon for breakfast, lunch and dinner Mondays to Fridays, and a little later for lunch and dinner over the weekend.

11526 Ash Street
Leawood, KS 66211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-3:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 3:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 3:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
115th st. and Nall Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 327-7115

Website:
http://www.carmakc.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturdays 6-9pm

Catering:
Catering options available upon request.

Parking Details:
Street parking and parking garage available.

Executive Chef:
Leo Santana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carma Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (132)
Special Occasion (116)
Romantic (107)
See All
Fit for Foodies (97)
Great for Lunch (48)
Good for Groups (44)
Notable Wine List (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Late-night Find (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
Sort by
S
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Great neighborhood feel in a very "big box" area! Rigatoni was amazing and the happy hour food (mussels and calamari) were fabulous. Looking forward to coming back when the music is playing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great!! Rounds table for party of 5 made it easy for a girls' catch up session. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2016

It took me two years (after moving from California) to find one of the best restaurants in the area. Don and Bree are two of the three owners and two of the nicest restaurateurs you will ever find. The food was fantastic from beginning to end. The bread and garlic flavored olive oil is exceptional. The food is well prepared and well presented. Our waiter was quite attentive and it was an extra nice touch to have Bree and Don stop by our table to see how we enjoyed our meal. The evening was topped off with a tiramisu made without lady fingers. That alone makes me want to return. And we will return as often as possible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 27, 2016

We have become regulars of this hidden gem! Friday nights feature quiet Chet Atkins style guitar music that provides a great backdrop for a fantastic meal. The wine selection is second to none. We have tried a variety of main courses and have found that the chef is always provides a memorable experience. We have even ordered entrees not on the menu that were created to perfection! Don't forget dessert, Carma has the best Cannolis in town, bar none!!!

Don, the owner, is always present and engages in conversation. He is genuine in his concern for his customers and values feedback. For a quiet evening, special occasion, or just a great meal, Carma will not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Very good food. Nicely seasoned and great plate presentation. The dip for the bread was unlike any I have had and so fresh. The sauces were delicate rather than heavy which allowed the food flavors to be fully experienced. Oscar Salmon is what I chose and I was not disappointed. If you have never been to Carma, I recommend you go. Make a reservation as the venue is small. Cons: Can be a little loud and I recommend they upgrade their wine glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a reservation for Valentine's evening. We got to town early so we decided to stop in and see if maybe we could sit early. It was packed and they were fully booked, but offered us a seat at the bar to wait. The bar staff, as well as literally all of the staff we encountered, were incredibly kind. The wine was also quite delicious. We ordered the Spaghetti and Meatballs, Toasted Ravioli, and Eggplant Parmesan, all of which were absolutely delicious. Oh, and the bread with the garlic oil alone is enough to bring me back. They had a live band playing and ended up singing happy birthday to the owner that evening. At the end of the evening the waiter brought over a rose for me as well which was a sweet touch to the evening. All in all, it was an incredible experience and we are looking forward to our next trip to KC to stop back in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The appetizers we had were great - the loaded artichoke, and the bacon wrapped shrimp. After that it went downhill. The band playing on Valentine's Day was singing love songs like Lyin' Eyes and Desperado. Disappointing. Our server worked hard and was knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service felt rushed and food was subpar for the price. I got fettuccine carbonara and it tasted like it came from Stoffurs. Over cooked pasta and a gel of a sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Don't sit customers in overflow room. It's not as nice and welcoming as main dinning room. But food was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was incredible!! I highly recommend the stuffed artichoke as an appetizer. The chicken spendini was the best I've ever had! The portions are very generous and the waitstaff was amazing. The live music was just perfect not loud just nice relaxing and romantic music played by you enjoyed your dinner. It was Valentine's Day and each lady who was at the restaurant was given a red rose upon leaving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere was great. Went here for a date night and was pleasantly surprised!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Fabulous meal and ambiance on Valentine's eve night. Best food we have had in a long time! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2016

We have been searching for a good, reliable Italian restaurant that doesn't break the bank and found it in Carma. Been there in its previous incarnations and had a good time, but this time the food, service and ambiance were excellent.

Nice touch handing out roses the day before Valentines' Day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2016

The food is good. The service is good. Pleasant atmosphere. Enjoyed the band, not too loud.
Our waiter seemed to want to rush us out. Never asked if we wanted salad with our meal. Never asked if we wanted another drink. Took the paid bill before we even left our table. Felt very hurried, which is not a very relaxing feeling.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 6, 2016

We were celebrating a special occasion and our waitress and the owner went out of their way to make sure we were having a great evening.
The wine list is excellent and we were especially pleased with the music.

We will definitely make this one of our frequent night out restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Love the Friday night band! Love bringing friends to enjoy a great Park Place restaurant!
We'll be back again and again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2016

The food was excellent. Our waiter had been with the restaurant for many years and was extremely knowledgeable about the menu, and remarkably kind. Very much appreciated the owner Don stopping by our table a couple times to make sure we were well taken care of. The two man live music was at a perfect level to enjoy the song but still allow for easy dinnertime conversation. Was our first time, but definitely not our last. An excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 24, 2016

We took our friends out to Carma for their anniversary. Our Open Table reservation was seamless. We were placed at a table which allowed for pleasant conversation. The food (Restaurant Week menu) was marvelous, especially the Chicken Limonata! We also ordered an appetizer from the regular menu ... Don's Artichoke, a large artichoke stuffed with lobster, shrimp, prosciutto, cheese, and bread crumbs. This appetizer could be a meal for two.

Service was attentive, but not formal or stuffy. The owner, Don, also came by to make sure we were being taken care of. Altogether, it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2016

This has become our local favorite. We like to sit at the bar, but the whole staff is always attentive and goes above and beyond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2016

We went to carma during restaurant week. The staff was well prepared for a crowd. The service was excellent! The food was delicious and plentiful. There was enough left for another meal or two. We did not feel the least bit rushed and stayed there probably longer than we should have. The owner was on site and was very gracious. Worth the effort to visit park place! Thanks to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Fast service for a busy night. Food was top notch except for the bread. Liked getting a flower from the owner at the end of the night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2016

We went to support Restaurant Week. It was our first trip there. Nice live 2 man band playing.
Food was good especially the soup.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2016

Loved the ambiance! Service & food was also outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2016

We stopped in Carma for a quick dinner with the kids. It was restaurant week so pretty busy. Kids meals were great and all $5 each. My entree was amazing. More than enough food, lots of leftovers. We have been to Carma a couple of times. Service has always been great and food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2016

I love Italian food and I felt I had fairly high standards which I wasn't for sure was reasonable to match. But wow, their food was awesome. I really loved the rigatoni. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised with our (first) dining experience at Carma. The food was piping hot and exceptionally delicious, with a unique blend of wonderful Italian flavors. Our house salads and entrees were exciting taste sensations. The manager, Don, took the time to briefly visit with each table, which impressed us, and, our waitress, Sumin, was especially professional as well as personable. We highly recommend this restaurant and we will definitely return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was good, but the atmosphere felt a bit like it was catered to an older crowd. My friend and I looked to be the youngest in the restaurant other than the staff and we're both in our mid 30s.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Hate the music........love the food.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2016

Tables are too close together and plenty noisy, but service was excellent and my food was very good (Fettuccine Mare) and my wife loved her meal. Wine is a little pricy but it is Leawood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2015

My lobster was overcooked and tough, and the manager asked but ignored my reply. Spaghetti was floating in oil from spedeni. Waiter was great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2015

An excellent evening with friends. Food was great and our server was the best ever. Very friendly, not pushy, we did not feel rushed and knew the menu. I believe his name is Ray. Loved the 2 piece band, not too loud, conversation was easy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Convenient location with excellent Chicken Speidini Carma, good Italian salad, excellent spaghetti & meatballs. People with children across from our table were welcomed and treated great. Atmosphere quiet and we could have a conversation without shouting at each other. Good service. I would highly recommend Carma!

This was my second visit, and Carma has been consistent with quality and service both times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 18, 2015

Good was ok, nothing out of this world about it. Server was pleasant but never offered a drink to us except water. She didn't offer us extras like fresh Parmesan cheese on our entrees etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 16, 2015

Carma is a great place for a quiet dinner. We made our reservations on Open Table and, upon arrival, were treated like family. Our waiter helped us make a couple of great selections. (I don't think it's possible to make a bad choice.) The wine pairing was spot on.

This is a hidden gem. We are looking forward to a return visit on a Friday or Saturday night to enjoy the live music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2015

People are great ! Food is the best, beautiful place to dine . I am not fond of music on weekends......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 5, 2015

Having recently moved from NY, i am very critical in judging Italian food. We met the owner and he seemed quite humble and pleasant. Very good food, super busy on Saturday nights so our service was a bit slower however we intend on going back pretty soon. The portions were good which is vital, cheese bread was crunchy, pesto ravioli was hearty, one of our entrees came out a bit cold but we figured they were busy so it probably sat for a bit. We would say it still was an overall pretty good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Highly recommended if you're a fan of Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Spiedini was magnifico. Great ambiance and great service...our new neighborhood favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Great for date-night. The Don's stuffed artichoke is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Great food and great service. Really good Italian and the wines are great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.