Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.72mi
  2. Distance: 2.72mi
  3. Distance: 4.50mi
  4. Distance: 6.72mi
  1. Distance: 1.72mi
  2. Distance: 2.72mi
  3. Distance: 4.50mi
  4. Distance: 6.72mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Portus 360Portus 360
(364)
$$$$
Portuguese | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 25 times today
Kyo Bar JaponaisKyo Bar Japonais
(447)
$$$$
Japanese | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 31 times today
L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon - MontréalL'Atelier de Joel Robuchon - Montréal
(213)
$$$$
Modern European | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 28 times today
40 Westt Steakhouse40 Westt Steakhouse
(377)
$$$$
Steakhouse | West Island, Montreal
Booked 18 times today
Restaurant BalsamRestaurant Balsam
(165)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 29 times today
Towne HallTowne Hall
(158)
$$$$
European | West Island, Montreal
Booked 5 times today
Maggie OakesMaggie Oakes
(190)
$$$$
French / Canadian | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 38 times today
Le BordelaisLe Bordelais
(41)
$$$$
French | Ahuntsic - Cartierville, Montreal
Booked 1 time today
Taverne Square DominionTaverne Square Dominion
(604)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 31 times today
Pavillon 67-Resto CasinoPavillon 67-Resto Casino
(360)
$$$$
French American | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 15 times today
RUBS BBQ Américain - LavalRUBS BBQ Américain - Laval
(166)
$$$$
Barbecue | Laval, Laval
Booked 5 times today
Bistro MerlotBistro Merlot
(58)
$$$$
International | West Island, Montreal
Booked 3 times today
Taberna MTLTaberna MTL
(53)
$$$$
Portuguese | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 5 times today
Beaver HallBeaver Hall
(895)
$$$$
Contemporary French | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 23 times today
BEVO Bar + PizzeriaBEVO Bar + Pizzeria
(562)
$$$$
Pizzeria | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 37 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.72mi
  2. Distance: 2.72mi
  3. Distance: 4.50mi
  4. Distance: 6.72mi
  1. Distance: 1.72mi
  2. Distance: 2.72mi
  3. Distance: 4.50mi
  4. Distance: 6.72mi

About Carambola

Carambola is a tapas bistro located in Hudson, Quebec, where guests are invited to bring their own favorite bottle of wine to enjoy with an innovative menu of unique small plates. Created with ingredients that are local, sustainably-produced and SQF certified, the dishes at Carambola feature global flavors with Canadian twists.

Try the pierogis or the lobster in bisque for an Italian-inspired meal. The shrimp curry and the Texas sushi are great ways to try a meal with Asian flare. The menu features crab cakes, foie gras, calamari and more, perfect for sampling a little of everything every time you come to Carambola.

72 Cameron
Hudson, QC J0P 1H0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Cross Street:
rue St Jean

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(450) 458-0098

Website:
http://carambola.ca/

Executive Chef:
Scott Geiring

Additional:
BYO Wine

Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 12, 2015

Excellent food as always. Celebrated my wife`s 50th birthday there. It was so good we went back the next day for lunch. Alsway changing menu of specials executed perfectly every time. Our favourite restraunt in all of Quebec.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 6, 2015

As always Carambola lives up to our expectations, a great neighborhood spot and bring your own wine to boot... can't beat that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 1, 2015

Le sourire de Heather, la fraîcheur des ingrédients et l'originalité des plats contribuent à rendre l'expérience gastronomique fort satisfaisante.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 31, 2015

The service was exceptional. The food was different and well prepared with unbelievable presentation. The only negative was the poor choice of music which was loud making it difficult to have a decent conversation with dinner companion. Soft dinner music would be more appropriate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 8, 2015

This was our first time at Carambola and we will definitely be coming back!

We were a party of three and wanted to share our dishes. We ordered the carrot ginger soup, calamari, General Tao Chicken salad, Fish Tacos and Quinoa salad. Without asking or charging extra, they accommodated us by making enough for three portions of everything, down to the soup! The fish tacos were so so good!

Amazing food and great service. Can't wait to eat there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 18, 2015

Carambola never fails to please. Great ambiance, bring your own wine and food that is, simply-put, out of this world. But, don't take my word for it. You owe it yourself to check it out for yourself. One suggestion: book early. Carambola is a small space and it is VERY popular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 13, 2015

Bon service, belles assiettes bien présentées, ambiance lounge, très bonne musique. Les plats sont savoureux ... Bref une belle soirée passé chez vous !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 5, 2015

We wanted to celebrate the last night of our long weekend in Montreal with a worthwhile dinner stop on the way home to Wakefield. The menu on the web sounded great, but we had no idea just how great it would be. This is tapas taken to a whole new level: outstanding combinations, flavours, freshness, textures and colours...and generous portions for tapas. The five of us shared ten different plates and each one was unique and incredibly delicious. Well done! My only regret is that you are not closer to home...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 5, 2015

We went there (group of 5) for Easter lunch. My mother is especially picky and she loved it! So did we. The soup was delicious as were the fried calamari. The waitress got my son's order mixed up but they promptly returned it. Even the baguette bread was delicious - drizzled with olive oil. Would definitely go back even though it's a 45 minute drive from my home! For dessert we shared a banana-chocolate cake - also delicious! Looking forward to returning with girlfriends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 4, 2015

I have been going to Carambola for years now, and it never fails to deliver amazing flavor and quality. Over the years I have seen the menu change, the décor change, but Scotts’ incredible way at always producing combinations of flavours with the freshest local produce astounds me and keeps me coming back. While his Dark chocolate torte is amazing with the addition of the pop rock candy (so cool how it pops in your mouth while the chocolate slowly melts), I do miss the crème brulé, and keep hoping I am there if they ever makes a surprise reappearance. This place is so worth the trip to Hudson.

N.B. Remember to bring your own wine. They will take care of you with Ice buckets and service, but they do not sell it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2015

Scott and Heather never fail to please us with a wonderful ladies lunch get- together. Scotts's meal is always wonderful and Heather continues to go the extra mile to make every guest feel comfortable and welcomed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 21, 2015

The famous Michelin guide might say "Worth a Detour" if Hudson were on their radar, because this small
restaurant, chef owned and managed, is indeed worth a little drive. Our recent visit was for lunch, limited menu, but innovative, like Bison and Pheasant Sausage Stew over Creamy Mashed Potatoes, etc..., incl. a cup of soup and small salad, a $20 excellent value and delicious. We sat at the floor- to- ceiling window table watching the local St. Patrick's Day Parade.
Observing the sous-chef preparing 2 beautiful 2 foot long and fat sea bass for dinner, we will take not
too long to again make the short drive to Hudson for dinner at Carambola. The restaurant is BYOB.
The grocery next door sells 3packs of Notting Hill, red and white (chilled), if you don't bring your own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 7, 2015

We're lucky to have Carmobola in our off-island midst - the food is always fresh and imaginative and the services shines. The only downside is its popularity! You really have to plan your visit one to two weeks in advance - last minute rezzos are impossible. we also love the BYOB - it makes for a very affordable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 7, 2015

The food and service were excellent. The restaurant is very loud. I would suggest perhaps lowering the music that is played so that the diners do not feel they have to shout over it to hear one another. We love the food it is delicious and the combinations of flavors is amazing. One of our all time favorite restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 27, 2015

We were a group of 5 and we all enjoyed the food, the wine we brought in and the excellent service. Kudos to Chiara she made all tapas for 5 instead of 4 and kept the food coming at appropriate timing. We will be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Even though it was a bit far, it was worth the try ! We asked to sit at the bar, where we can see the kitchen and talk to the cook. Our whole dinner was made of tapas so we could split everything and have a taste of different things. BEST. IDEA. EVER. We ordered about 7 tapas including the soup for the two of us and I was full before the 7th. Bring your own wine.. Even better !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Une belle expérience que nous allons revivre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Despite it being a crazy busy night, the staff exuded calmness, warmth and patience. Had a tuna tartar, foie gras, pan seared scallops and rack of lamb - all excellent and made for a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Food lived up to hype. Good price for Lunch. Disappointed with ambiance and somewhat 'tacky' deco. White uncovered electrical extension running on base of wall stuck to wall with white duct tape. (Could have been for Christmas decorations but that was a month and a half ago).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 3, 2015

Very interesting tapas menu with plenty of ingenious choices. Creative innovations. Reasonably sized portions for those who prefer flavour to quantity, while being satisfied. Great for experimentation. Atmosphere was better early on, with less noise ( romantic conversations are difficult to enjoy after 7pm - acoustics are not great with merry revelers, so if you're a merry reveler, it's the place for you late evening).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 24, 2015

We are local and go to Carambola in gorgeous Hudson quite often. It's a really cute place with a dozen tables in an old charming house. *reservations needed It's bring your own wine so even better :)
You have to try: Lobster Poutine Tapas with creamy truffle sauce and homemade fries (ask for a lot of sauce)

Very very good food! One of the best in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 22, 2015

Been to this place several times and it keeps getting better. We have our favorite tapas, but we recently went and tried an item of the day, a plate with Camel sausage that absolutely blew our minds and palates! Bravo to the chef who keeps improving his menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 22, 2015

Carambola once again has been a real treat to the pallet. It is a great experience every time. We always bring guest who visit from out of town and they are always so impressed. We feel extremely lucky that our town ended up with this excellent restaurant .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 3, 2015

I don't think that there is much room for improvement on the food side. It's simply outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 25, 2014

We are regulars here because this place is so consistently amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 21, 2014

C'était parfait comme toujours. Excellent restaurant. La qualité des aliments est très grande. Le goût de chaque plat est incroyable. Un de mes meilleurs restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2014

The best calamari I have had in a long time. Great fish tacos and beet salad. Unfortunately the carpaccio was a big miss as the peanut sauce was very overpowering. We were not charged for this dish. We will be back though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 10, 2014

We had lunch at Carambola for our anniversary weekend. My wife had the pasta of the day, which she loved! I ordered the braised beef poutine. Calling it poutine was a disservice to the food! It was amazing! The beef was perfect, the fries didn't get mushy and the aged cheddar made it by far the best 'poutine' I've ever eaten. My wife started off with the soup of the day which was creamy red beet. She loved it! I had a salad, which was a work of art!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 7, 2014

Service was great,we were not rushed out as we thought we might be but our meals were mediocre. The appetizers were okay,the tuna nachos could have used more tuna and to be honest I can't even remember the other appetizers we ordered. For our main meals,2 of us had halibut which we both found dry and the other person had the steak which was overdone. I ordered the lobster mashed potatoes which had 3 tiny pieces of lobster and honestly tasted like regular potatoes with the lobster thrown in,not quite sure what the big deal was about that side dish. It's really too bad as the last time we were there( years ago) we had had a great experience. I unfortunately would not make the drive out again nor would I recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 4, 2014

Carambola was highly recommended to us and we were not disappointed at all! It's a small neighbourhood resto with an open kitchen where you can see the chefs at work (I love that) and was really busy considering it was a rainy Tuesday night!! We sampled 5 different tapas along with a salad and soup appetizer and sweet potato fries as a side. Every dish was outstanding...a foodie's dream!!! Honestly, I can't wait to return and sample more dishes. It's a bring your own wine or beer establishment which I like. The wait staff and service was great as well. All in all a wonderful experience and highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 2, 2014

Good food and ambiance looking forward to go back little bit hard to find room in the weekend can understand because it is so good

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2014

We ate here with friends in June and again in October. June was fantastic, everything was excellent. October meal was so-so.

Order a few dishes and ask for them to be spread apart so you can enjoy a leisurely meal. Otherwise, there is a long wait as everything is cooked to order in their tiny kitchen and then sits in front of you to cool down

The lobster poutine was a bust - cold sauce, cold fries and no taste to the sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2014

We brought overseas guests for lunch on Thanksgiving. We had a DELICIOUS and quiet lunch as we got caught up with one another's lives. Our friends love food and Carambola did not disappoint. We all had the same thing: halibut tempura and dessert. Everything was to die for. Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 12, 2014

Fabulous yet simple ambience. Superb service. The food was amazing. Prices reasonable and portions both beautifully presented and not too large

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 11, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Carambola, Food is always great, small restaurant atmosphere and a bring your own wine!! Highly recommend the Tapas style dishes to share.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 8, 2014

Busy even in the middle of the week but the kitchen manages to surprise and maintain high standards. There is always something for everyone on the daily specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2014

Chef Scott and his team create Magic. Food is treated with respect ang imagination. Bravo to the whole team.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2014

WE ARRIVED AT THE RESTAURANT ONLY TO FIND OUT IT WAS CLOSED!
NO EMAIL OR ANY INDICATION THAT THEY WERE CLOSED
GOOD THING WE KNEW OF A GOOD RESTAURANT AROUND THE CORNER!!
OTHER CAB DRIVERS TOLD US THEY HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WHEN TEY TOOK CUSTOMERS TO THE RESTAURANT TO EAT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2014

We love taking people to Carambola from out of town so they can experience the level of eating available in our quaint town of Hudson, Quebec. Our friends thoroughly enjoyed their meal and it's presentation.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 28, 2014

J'ai réservé en dernière minute pour le brunch - une découverte à réitérer, en effet: le menu et les assiettes soignés, une belle place pour les options végé, le personnel sympa et discret, et la possibilité d'amener son vin avec une SAQ située à 2 pas. Je recommande!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.