About Captain James Landing

2127 Boston Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

A Baltimore landmark since 1978, Captain James Landing Restaurant has earned the name "most unique eatery" in Baltimore City. For starters we are the only restaurant shaped like a merchant vessel. Five brothers created a restaurant in the 70"s with the goal of providing quality service to the citizens of Baltimore, Maryland as well as the thousands of tourist that visit our Monumental City. Our Waterfront Crab House (located adjacent of our restaurant) was awarded in 2012 "#1 Best Crabs in Baltimore" by Baltimore Magazine. Our Crab House is the one spot in the city where you can eat steamed crabs with a true waterfront seating. Water Taxi Stop #14 brings you right to our waterfront location.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Location:

Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 12:00pm; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Aliceanna Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 327-8600

Website:
http://www.captainjameslanding.com/

Catering:
We offer complete catering services for special events and corporate functions. This allows you (the host) to enjoy your party while we do the work. Our wide range of delicious appetizers, amazing dinners, decadent desserts and impeccable service offers a perfect event for everyone.

Parking Details:
Free Parking for Guests

Public Transit:
Water Taxi stop #14 brings you right to our deck!

Private Party Facilities:
Captain James Landing- Seafood Palace, is a unique concept to Baltimore for Private dining and entertaining. Captain James Seafood Palace is not just a restaurant that looks like a ship. It"s a totally private venue known for its extraordinary cuisine, warm casual elegance and friendly, professional service. Captain James Seafood Palace is the perfect setting for dinners, business meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, off-premise catering, crab feasts or just a great celebration!

Please email our Events Coordinator and include your name,phone number, date, time, number of guests, and occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (410) 327-8600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Captain James Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Casual (41)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Waterfront (22)
Fun (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Cozy (18)
Family Style (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Scenic View (9)
Business Meals (9)
Romantic (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Modern Decor (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

As usual, the food, service, and views were the best. This has become truly one of my favorite places to come. For lunch or dinner

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I had a great time but the seating was horrible. My boyfriend and I went and we were seated in the middle of the restaurant. People were bumping into us trying to around and the table was very little. That's my only complaint.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious food for great price. The seafood selection is fantastic. I will make Captain James a stop on my next trip to Baltimore

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful food and service!! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Captain James was perfect for the moment. I will see them soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Really enjoyed Captain James. Great soup. Great seafood dishes. We had flounder and salmon. Both were very tasty and the portions are good size. Our server was friendly and the service was prompt. Plus they have convenient parking right across the street. All told a very good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

we had a great meal and the staff was very friendly for our birthday ocassion. Good decor and ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for a quiet Sunday evening dinner & was surprised that the restaurant was full. It was a surprise because we've gone on Sunday evening in the past. However, this didn't diminish our dinning pleasure. As always, the mussels, crab imperial, spanikopita and salads were very tasty. We will return again as we are frequent "flyers".

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Groupon was a great deal!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoy capt. james landing- good food, good service and good value- what more could you ask for?

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Crab imperial is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was excellent, I have never had a problem with the food being bad, ever! Our waiter was a little too talkative and too informal. We placed our order and there was a mistake in the order when it came. He never returned to check if everything was ok, too busy talking to another couple at a different table. I had to grab someone else who went into the kitchen and got the corrected food item. Tip was not a option, 18 percent added to the bill automatically. I normally tip 20 percent but that's their loss. This give the waiter and waitress no incentive to give great service, very sad! There was some young kids on Boston street that knock on the our window and took a picture of us. It seemed odd, I don't know if this a problem but It was awkward and uncomfortable to us. One way windows should be installed.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good; server was timely and offered specials and knew the menu. Value was reasonable. We would return.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Service was great and food was great. Would recommend it for just a night out or a date

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We dine here a few times a year and eerything was great. The service, the food, be drinks were all very good. The only problem I had was that after they give you one roll apiece they wanted to charge you for a couple more dinner rolls. Not a fan of that especially when I like to dip my bread into my cream of crab soup which by the way was yummy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have dined many times over the years at Captain James and always loved it. This was my first experience where both the food and the service were poor. The server was neglectful. She did not check on us as she should. She had others bringing appetizers and entrees to the table and when I raised my arm on 2 occasions to make a request she flew past the table. She even added an 18% gratuity on to the check after she knew her service was poor.

The crab dip appetizer was good but both entrees for poor. I ordered the crabcake which was dry and overcooked. The broiled seafood platter my date ordered was nearly inedible. The lobster tail turned to hard rubber, the fish dry and overdone, along with similarly overcooked mini crabcakes. She could only eat the shrimp. I was so disappointed. We will choose a new seafood place for date night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food. Very slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were spending the weekend in Baltimore celebrating our birthdays and decided to go to Captain James. Upon arriving we were immediately seated at a small quaint table. Lindsey was a delight throughout the entire meal and the food was delicious. We enjoyed it so much we ended up going for breakfast the next morning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Restaurant week is what brought us there and it turned out to not be the best decision. It wasn't really a deal and the food quantity was minimal. First time being there so I'm not sure if there was a change in the amount of food of not but it wasn't fulfilling. The quality was good however. Service was good and polite. I'd recommend to others o it because everyone has a different opinion and everyone should make their own judgment, not based upon my review. Just saying how I felt about it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent experience overall very comfortable and friendly environment the waitress was excellent she explained the menu perfectly in a very understandable way the food was delicious i will be returning

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a Groupon that made me decide to go here on a recent visit to Baltimore. My sister a native of the area was reluctant to go but after a wonderful dinner she changed her mind about this place that she always considered a tourist spot. She and I will be back! Wonderful place, value and food!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and service were excellent and we got restaurant week specials. The downside for my group is that we were seated upstairs which was a problem for several in my party. I wish the information was available when i made the reservation that the restaurant wasn't accessible or provide the option to request accessible seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The server we had was very good and the salad we had was great, beyond that, I was very disappointed. We tried the restaurant during Restaurant Week, Extended and after visiting a couple of restaurants, this by far did not live up to the bar that was raised. There were 3 courses, the main course was tasteless and unappealing and for the money charged was not worth it, on top of that, the tip was included. I am usually a high tipper, if the service is great, I would tip 25% of the check or more because I know service people are usually unappreciated, but when the servicer said the tip would be on the check, I was offended. Well, they don't have to worry about by patronage, the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2017

First time for me and my guest and it did not disappoint. Excellent food and service. I am truly a fan and will return.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

On time reservations. The food was good but they ran out of the beer my bf was drinking. Good service. Friendly staff. Only thing...we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs outside in the drizzle to get to the other dining area. Not a huge problem but probably not ideal for those who have trouble getting up stairs. Over all very nice. Quiet environment for nice birthday dinner with significant other.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Have been wanting to try the restaurant for a while and happened to see that they were on the Baltimore restaurant week list. Had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was excellent and I had exceptional service!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent customer service. Amazing food. Most definitely will dine there again in the very near future.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We dine here often and enjoy the food. The Restaurant Week menu was very disappointing. We both ordered the stuffed lobster, which other than the lobster meat in the tail had no lobster, it also came with two large stalks of asparagus. Service was fair and we felt rushed. I would have expected more for them as our other experiences have been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My date and I were there for restaurant week on a Friday evening. We both got the Maryland Crab soup which was very good. My date ordered the Seafood Fried Rice, which came hot as we could see the steam rising from the bowl. I ordered the Crab Cake which was had plenty of crab. Both dishes were good. Dessert was the Vanilla Bean Banana Sundae and the Chocolate Oreo Lava Cake. Both delicious and sweet.

The restaurant wasn't too busy but it was rather loud as I had times where I could not hear my date. Overall it was a good meal and I would go there again.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went for my Birthday which fell during Baltimore Restaurant week, so it was extremely crowded, but thru open table I made a reservation and was seated quickly. The food was delicious.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Had a good time.. Sea food was good. Service was good. Drinks not so good. Two rolls for two people. No other to be had.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food and service was very good. The restaurant is noisy. So, I'm not sure how it would be for a romantic date. For families and couples looking for a casual atmosphere and great food, I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Good choices for Restaurant Week. But, the soft crab was not fresh. My dining companion ended up ordering the Crab Cake Special on a Monday which was outstanding!! My seafood chowder which was the first course on RW was something I would order again. My companion ordered the seafood stew, which never made it to the table as the waiter forgot to order it from the kitchen. Very busy on a Monday night and most around us were ordering off the regular menu which looked awesome. We will give this one another try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My 3rd time going for dinner, but this time I decided to try something new. HOWEVER, I wasnt please, the crab fries were fried too hard. The shrimp scampi was $25 for only 6 medium sized shrimp with too much spaghetti. (The meat to pasta ratio didnt work) The service was ok but had better previously. Overall, it was okay but I'd prefer to stick to what I've ordered before. Won't try anything new anymore. Better luck, next time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was excellent, huge crabcake, juicy steak, everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Found Captain James in the list of participating restaurants in the "Restaurant Week" (Baltimore). Really, really great food and good service!

-Jesper

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loved my crab legs and chocolate molten cake. Very fresh food and unique atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Seating way too close together, tables too small...might as well have been seated at the same table, way too loud, our server had to lean over a partial wall to take our order...good food, if there is a next time would request a window booth for sure...even made reservations

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We've been to this restaurant on several occasions. It did not disappoint us. The menu has a few more items. The mussels are now offered a few different ways. All are good. The crab imperial remains a favorite.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food!!! Better service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food at reasonable prices. Outstanding seafood options.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good. But the server AJ was Awesome! He provide excellent service from start to finish. I would request him specifically. Thanks for making my birthday great!!!

Toni

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I had a groupon credit for $80 worth of food and drink which I thought was a great value. We were able to get a great bottle of wine, calamari appetizer(super yummy!), and two great entrees. Almost all of that was covered under our groupon. My boyfriend got the stuffed flounder which was very tasty and I got seafood alfredo which had a great amount of seafood on it! Our server was great. She was friendly and attentive and gave great recommendations. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We love going to CJ for dinner. Groupon or not its top notch food and friendly service. We always make reservations to ensure a table. Lots of parking too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was very tasteful. I had the broiled scallops that were tastey

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Shrimp and softshell crab were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience. Oysters were plump and juicy. Mussels in a rose cream sauce were incredible. Unique and so good I was dipping the crusted bread in the plate to get every last drop. Our entree, the Chefs Catch was quite possibly the best dish Ive ever eaten. Penne pasta, jumbo shrimp and bay scallops and clams in an aldredo sauce that, unlike other restaurants, was so light it allowed the taste of the seafood to shine thru. Our server was attentive and a smiling delight. The chef here is creative and knows his food! A must for true foodies.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Family Style, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Be sure to make a reservation as seating is limited.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice dinner. Every dish was very good with a nice presentation. We never had to wait for our water to be refilled or our drinks to be brought. Damien was very attentive and made our evening enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.