Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Captain James Landing

A Baltimore landmark since 1978, Captain James Landing Restaurant has earned the name "most unique eatery" in Baltimore City. For starters we are the only restaurant shaped like a merchant vessel. Five brothers created a restaurant in the 70"s with the goal of providing quality service to the citizens of Baltimore, Maryland as well as the thousands of tourist that visit our Monumental City. Our Waterfront Crab House (located adjacent of our restaurant) was awarded in 2012 "#1 Best Crabs in Baltimore" by Baltimore Magazine. Our Crab House is the one spot in the city where you can eat steamed crabs with a true waterfront seating. Water Taxi Stop #14 brings you right to our waterfront location.

2127 Boston Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Location:

Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 12:00pm; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Aliceanna Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 327-8600

Website:
http://www.captainjameslanding.com/

Catering:
We offer complete catering services for special events and corporate functions. This allows you (the host) to enjoy your party while we do the work. Our wide range of delicious appetizers, amazing dinners, decadent desserts and impeccable service offers a perfect event for everyone.

Parking Details:
Free Parking for Guests

Public Transit:
Water Taxi stop #14 brings you right to our deck!

Private Party Facilities:
Captain James Landing- Seafood Palace, is a unique concept to Baltimore for Private dining and entertaining. Captain James Seafood Palace is not just a restaurant that looks like a ship. It"s a totally private venue known for its extraordinary cuisine, warm casual elegance and friendly, professional service. Captain James Seafood Palace is the perfect setting for dinners, business meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, off-premise catering, crab feasts or just a great celebration!

Please email our Events Coordinator and include your name,phone number, date, time, number of guests, and occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (410) 327-8600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Captain James Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (61)
Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Comfort Food (33)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Waterfront (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Fun (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Lunch (20)
Family Style (20)
Scenic View (19)
Cozy (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Romantic (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Authentic (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Historic (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to the Center stage to see Jazz and had lunch here. Great choice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Very pleased with his restaurant. Great crab-based recipes with big hunks of crab (dip, fritters, cakes). Not too formal which was perfect and good service. Actually prices pretty reasonable for quality and quantity.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Been to Captain James many times and it never fails to please. Love their crab cakes

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was great but we were greeted by a rude hostess. She set the mood for the whole experience and it ruined my Mother's Day

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was mediocre and left something to be desired. Upon arrival we were informed very quickly that there would be a $10 fee for bringing our own birthday cake. In addition to the fact that they flat out refused to do separate checks for two families. Overall service was very slow as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great as usual. Best sweet tea around. Really good

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were quite surprised at the size of the restaurant. We thought it would be larger. However, overall we enjoyed the experience. The food was quite tasty.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I must say Captain James was really a great experience for me and my wife we really enjoyed the food and it was very Tastefully cooked marinated and serve very well the hospitality was overwhelming and extravagant I will recommend Captain James fat in about it is trying to get out and have a really good relaxing family love and time

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food and service were excellent! We were there early on a Tuesday evening, so it was relatively quiet. Everyone loved their food: The crabcake was full of meat; steaks were delicious and the crab imperial outstanding! All the side orders/salad/soups were great, rolls were fresh and warm....one of the best meals I've experienced. AJ our waiter was attentive and friendly and efficient. The only thing lacking was the view...sits right on the street although you can sort of see the water across the parking lot/past the other Captain James restaurant that specializes in crabs. Can't wait to try that, and to come back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food is always good. Service depending on your wait staff..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good food, excellent service. Our only complaint is that the restaurant has a policy against separating checks for groups (7 in our party). Otherwise, a fun restaurant with good seafood selections.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was great but our waiter was a little slow and forgetful. He was busy but needed to be a little bit more organized. Since this is my second time coming, I know that the service is better. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting some great seafood. I will say that the Eastern Shore Club made with a soft shell crab and crab cake was excellent. I'm coming back just to get that again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was dry, cold, and very salty. I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our food took extremely long this time. Food wasn't nearly as good as it usually is. It wasn't a good night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Really great food! Enjoyed the crab legs and my fiancé enjoyed the stuffed shrimp! Servers were very nice and the atmosphere was cozy!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The service was pretty good. The food is ok. I have had better. The add 18% tip for two people without telling you. So be careful not to tip twice. Pretty loud and parking is awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Who doesn't want to enjoy dinner in a building that looks like a boat? The ambience was unique and fun and the seafood was excellent. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Overall, it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 25, 2017

One of the best seafood dinners I've had, the special of the evening, a split lobster stuffed with jumbo lump crab. The delicious crab soup was rich and creamy with chunks of crab. Everything on the menu was very reasonably priced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 25, 2017

GREAT EXPERIENCE AGAIN. MY PARTY WAS SEATED QUICKLY UPON ARRIVAL AND THE WAITSTAFF WAS READY TO HELP TAKE OUR ORDER. FOOD CAME OUT FAST AND HOT. ALWAYS ENOUGH LEFT OVER TO TAKE HOME A BITE FOR LATER.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We're frequent diners at Captain James and generally enjoy their weekday specials. Went for crab cakes this past Monday. While large as usual there was much more "filler" than we've experienced in the past. Found this most disappointing and hope they don't intentionally change the ratio of crab meat to filler for their specials. Service was great and we were promptly seated upon arrival. Will go elsewhere if next visit produces same poor quality of crab cakes.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great meal and wonderful service. Tables were a little close together in the area we were seated, but no big deal. Sweet and salty grilled oysters were very good, seafood stew was awesome. The whole meal was really good! Would definitely go back if in the area again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent service and food, prices were reasonable,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Best crab cakes! Try the crab fries! Never a bad meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was alright. The best thing was the cream of crab soup. We drove from Virginia for a special birthday dinner. 3 of the steamed crabs were "questionable " in my opinion but the witness said that's the way they were. Ordered the dozen large crabs did not flinch at the price. So if the customer was not satisfied with the product it should have been made right. I saw this place on Delicious Destination and planned a trip around this restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Restaurant is smaller than expected but the food and service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went to Capt. James Landing for a family get together. The decor is interesting. The food was delicious. The noise level was a little high for a large groups conversation. Being from the Nirtheast, I was thrilled to find hush puppies on the menu. The restaurant has its own parking lot which is a great plus in Fell's Point. I would definitely recommend for out of town visitors for a unique and tasty dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great experience every time I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We definitely ordered more food than we could stomach, but it was all good food. We ordered two appetizers. We each ordered a meal of our own. My only regret is we were too full for dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Our first visit was good but this second visit was great! The food was delicious and the waitress was so nice! We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This was not the ideal place to host a business meal. Spoke to host before scheduling my reservation asked about noise level and they lied to me would never had booked if I knew I could not hear the person sitting next to me. Food was okay. Also waited so long to be seated because some silly rule that all of our party had to be there despite 7/9 of us being there that was handled so rudely it was embarrassing. Needless to say I will never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

food average. Slightly noisy , cute inside boat atmosphere, good parking. Good service . Good place for casual lunch or dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is the perfect place for a date or special occasion, as it's a little pricey. It's well worth it! The food is delicious and service is great. Your best bet is to make a reservation, it's a pretty small dining room and always packed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food even better service. Great manager and owner

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This was the best seafood I had in a while. The broiled seafood platter was delicious and enough two meals. I look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great food, and even better service. Greg was our waiter, and was always there when you needed him. And very polite.everybody was so very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was great and nice sized portions. Even good the next day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was great! The service was on point and my family really enjoyed themselves. Plan to go back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Based on previous reviews I expected great food in a great restaurant, and I was not disappointed! I did not expect the friendly, helpful and efficient service we received from our waiter AJ! Great dinner, upstairs, overlooking the harbor at twilight.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Came for the crabs and crabcakes and were not disappointed. We had a reservation which is needed even on a Saturday at 3. We had Great service- awesome seafood and would recommend!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was amazing as always, prime rib excellent medium rare,the crabmeat stuffed items were superb, and the Seafood platter was an amazing spread. Definitely try the potato stuffed tomato. Tried white sangria with mango, super refreshing and not too sweet. Love the decor and the wait staff was very quick and attentive. Looking forward to warmer weather, cause we want to try the crab house right next to the harbour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.