Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Captain James Landing

A Baltimore landmark since 1978, Captain James Landing Restaurant has earned the name "most unique eatery" in Baltimore City. For starters we are the only restaurant shaped like a merchant vessel. Five brothers created a restaurant in the 70"s with the goal of providing quality service to the citizens of Baltimore, Maryland as well as the thousands of tourist that visit our Monumental City. Our Waterfront Crab House (located adjacent of our restaurant) was awarded in 2012 "#1 Best Crabs in Baltimore" by Baltimore Magazine. Our Crab House is the one spot in the city where you can eat steamed crabs with a true waterfront seating. Water Taxi Stop #14 brings you right to our waterfront location.

2127 Boston Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Location:

Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 12:00pm; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Aliceanna Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 327-8600

Website:
http://www.captainjameslanding.com/

Catering:
We offer complete catering services for special events and corporate functions. This allows you (the host) to enjoy your party while we do the work. Our wide range of delicious appetizers, amazing dinners, decadent desserts and impeccable service offers a perfect event for everyone.

Parking Details:
Free Parking for Guests

Public Transit:
Water Taxi stop #14 brings you right to our deck!

Private Party Facilities:
Captain James Landing- Seafood Palace, is a unique concept to Baltimore for Private dining and entertaining. Captain James Seafood Palace is not just a restaurant that looks like a ship. It"s a totally private venue known for its extraordinary cuisine, warm casual elegance and friendly, professional service. Captain James Seafood Palace is the perfect setting for dinners, business meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, off-premise catering, crab feasts or just a great celebration!

Please email our Events Coordinator and include your name,phone number, date, time, number of guests, and occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (410) 327-8600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Captain James Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Casual (45)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Great for Lunch (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Fun (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Waterfront (20)
Kid-friendly (20)
Scenic View (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Authentic (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Romantic (6)
Healthy (5)
Live Sports (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great Beer (4)
Live Music (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time, was reffered by friend. We are from out of town and loved the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food is always delicious . The best time to use any GROUPON is @ lunch☺.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

food is excellent, Delicious, good quality and great quantity.
service was excellent quick and friendly waitress

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We made reservations weeks ago for our recent weekend trip. We had checked on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try for our first night. We were not disappointed! The seafood selection was great, our server was very good and everything went well. Would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was great food and drinks has a good date night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing food as always. Menus might be a bit too overwhelming. A bit of noise unless you have a booth the tables are a bit too close against the wall but the service was excellent and had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good lousy, service extremely slow, low value for the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

It was a Tuesday, and the place wasn't busy at all, so I have no idea what our server's problem was. It certainly wasn't being busy. If I have to flag down another employee to go in the back and find you, and then you aren't even the last bit sorry about that, you are not upholding your end of the Good-Tip agreement.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

This venue had great food and a great atmosphere! Outstanding wait staff!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I have been several times and used a Groupon each time. You cannot beat the value. (38 dollars for 80 dollars worth of food and drink) The service was not as good as the last few times. The food was excellent as usual. Very strange that when we asked for more bread we were told there would be a three dollar charge?? Never in 52 years been told that by a restaurant...bizarre. Will be back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service, atmosphere and food were great. Went to celebrate my husbands birthday and couldn't be happier. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We went to Captain James Landing for my mother's birthday. The restaurant was very accommodating due to the fact we had 3 little children. We definitely would recommended & the food was great.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Depressing ambiance...a tired old building in a kitchy shape of a boat. Looked depressing on the outside and just as depressing on the inside. Old, dark, run down. I had the salmon and it wad quite good. Oysters tasted fresh but many shell chips mixed in with the oyster liquor. Eouldnt recommend

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

A cute spot to grab some local favorites. Atmosphere is really fitting of the harbor area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Cream of crab soup was super bland & barely any crab so i replaced it with maryland crab which didnt really have a good flavor either so that should be looked into, as I i love crab soup and was disappointed as i feel that a"Maryland fspecialty" should be easily executed. I ordered the salmon over rice for my entree and when I got to the middle of the filet it was raw. I did have another made because the flavor was definitely there and it was delicious! Even more disappointing was that I was not checked on by a manager after sending back 2 meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We went to Captain James for dinner on a Saturday evening and enjoyed it so much that we came back for breakfast the next day. The food was fresh and tasteful, 5 star quality, yet the ambiance and decor was laid back and relaxed which we liked. The staff was friendly and courteous and having parking available was a big plus. This New York family will be back again very soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Had the broiled seafood platter. Excellent! Great place to catch up with friends. Parking is a challenge. Arrive early - before dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

It was my wife's birthday she loved it so much last year we went back this year never disappointed time excellent service great food good location free parking I love this place will return very soon

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 24, 2017

It was our first visit, and we wanted good seafood. Our visit was a very nice experience. The food was outstanding. The next time we are in Baltimore, we'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was excellent. We enjoyed it. Wonderful taste and flavor. ** Any order over $70 has an 18% tip automatically included in the bill. I would have given 30% but instead I have 23%. The 18% included in the bill and 5% more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Took my dad there for his 73rd birthday. He loved the food. The people were pleasant and attentive. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Service was fast, attentive, and friendly. However, while the scallops were actually very good, the rest was mediocre and expensive. Not worth going back, although we might try the crab bar across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food and fun atmosphere. Service suburb. Great menu choices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was great. $1 Oysters special was great. Service was prompt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good is usually good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I brought my husband here for dinner all the way from Philadelphia, PA and it was worth the drive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This place is always a favorite of ours. You can't go wrong with anything you order but the crab Mac n cheese and the crab dip are exceptional! We drove 1.5 hrs just to eat here. It's that good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was too crowded I requested a booth they still put me at a table all in all it was just OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food, great service and family atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

I initially was very excited about eating at captain james due to me having a groupon. I walked in and was greeted by a host whos first thing was do you have a reservation. So first if you dont have a reservation you will likely not get in today. Our wait time was perhaps 2mins. And then we were seated at the smallest tabled ive ever eaten at. We were so close to the table next to us just to get to my seat i bumped there table, and the ppl who were seated next to us bumped our table. The management try to cram tables in the small dining area and it definitely took away from the experience but to say the least my food was excellent. If i go back it will be with a groupon and i will request different seating because the seating was absolutely horrible.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent will be back again. Already recommended to people!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Tourist trap, not what I expected at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

You walk in the foyer area and think "Well this isnt much" but when youre led into the dining room the atmosphere gets more attractive with a nautical theme. The staff was top notch...very attentive and knowledgable. Meals were very good, however the bbq baby backs were overdone. Recommend the crab pretzel as an appetizer (almost ordered another for my entree). My broiled scallops were prepared perfectly. Got broccoli as a side and it literally was a stalk...very little florets. Will come back as it was a wonderful late afternoon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

It's a nice place, the staff is wonderful, the food is really good. they also have crabs. what's not to love.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We enjoyed the authentic dishes - especially the loaded waffle fries topped with crab dip and bacon. A big splurge- but delicious. The crab cake was large and full of backfin meat, but the sirloin had quite a bit of fat. The Mediterranean pasta had several large shrimp and other yummy Mediterranean flavors. We were disappointed that the menu did not offer any local craft beers on tap - only bottles.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Their steamed crabs were great and reasonably priced . The deck is big and has a great ambience.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good for a date some menu items ate well others lingered

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Well, we ate dinner in a boat! For years we've seen this place and thought, "why not?". Our server was fantastic. The front area isn't nice, but it's nicer as you come inside the boat. It's got a loud vibe, and great for rowdy kids. Menu is diverse, everyone found something that tasted pretty okay, and it's not inexpensive.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Non climactic food and atmosphere. Fish horribly overlooked as was shrimp. Crab cake not bad but could still "feel" the breading with some bites and gummy. Maryland crab soup was as if they took Campbell's and put jus a little crab in it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.