About Capitol Garage

Located at the corner of 15th and K, Capitol Garage is within walking distance of the capitol, convention center and Sacramento community theater, and has been a midtown icon for over 19 years. The menu spans the globe and has an eclectic mix to satisfy your culinary desires! Chef Raphael Kendall uses only the finest ingredients in his crowd pleasing dishes and offers them to you at an affordable price. Be sure not miss our delicious selection of house made artisan chocolates and indulgent cheesecakes, and our Weekend Brunch is the talk of the town with mouthwatering items such as the Dragon benedict with vegetable medley and our vegan biscuits and gravy.

1500 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Comfort Food, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Saturday Brunch & Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
15th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-3633

Website:
http://capitolgarage.com/

Entertainment:
We have tons!
Wednesday: Trivia night with Geeks Who Drink. Win prizes! 830pm
Thursday: Karaoke with Spectra! 9pm
Friday: Reggae with DJ Veyn. Dancehall, soca, latin. 10pm/21+/$7/no dress code.
Saturday: Wavy! with DJ Eddie Z. Throwback and new school. 10pm/21+/$5

Catering:
We are a full service catering company. Please go to our website Capitolgarage.com for more details.

Parking Details:
Street parking where available, no metering after 10pm or on Sundays.

Public Transit:
12th and K (Light Rail)

Executive Chef:
Raphael Kendall

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining is perfect for hosting birthday parties, wedding rehearsals and many other events.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Mitchell: (877) 275-8842

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are always having fun at Capitol Garage. Check our website for more details!

Capitol Garage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
See All
Happy Hour (9)
Vegan (9)
Fun (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Live Music (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had an hour and a half before our show at the theater, 2 blocks away. Service took a long time. They undercooked my wife's burger: she asked for medium, and the burger was rare. By the time they fixed the problem, we had to leave. They brought her a complimentary slice of pie, and didn't charge for the burger. So that was nice, but still, the slow service and cooking mistake combined made it so my wife didn't get dinner.
A few good things: the cocktails, my dish (a chile rellenos variant), friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We love Capital Garage, but tonight was an "off" night...service (time to get food) was slow and my grilled cheese sandwich was pretty skimpy on the filling - luckily my friends dinner had far more than enough for me to borrow off her plate for filler. We will definitely go back, especially since it is so convenient to the theater and they do give a 10% theater discount.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The burger was the best burger I've ever ate in my life!!! The waitress on the other hand was slow and didn't make eye contact, so it was very impersonal.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mother's Day dinner for a group of 6 - service was friendly and professional, food was varied, flavorful, and high quality, with portions large enough to serve as left overs for lunch the next day. They have menu regulars but do them in their own style. It's lively and noisy, full of energy, and has sidewalk seating for people watching. The desserts looked great - on a par with the dessert case at Tower - be we were too full to try them. We'll go again and save room for dessert.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We visited on Mother's Day. Even though it was very busy, the service was superb! The food was fabulous and exceeded my plant based lifestyle expectations!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went here for Mother's Day. Food was great! Staff were so friendly! I would go here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I usually love Capitol Garage but the menu seemed lacking this time, although it was good. Parking really is a pain here and unless you have CASH to park in the parking structure next door...good luck! That's the biggest down size is parking! Bottomless mimosas is always great and made the meal great!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Ugh. Gave them 2nd chance after really slow service last time. The drinks were good & the food was delicious when we finally got it and they have delicious desserts too. The service is TERRIBLE. THE SLOWEST EVER. It took 45mins plus to get our food! Again! We had to eat a dessert because we were dying AGAIN! & The sweet hostess got us that again because our waitresses was MIA. only a tad better than the other waitress who was in a constant state of panic just like last time.

Tags: Vegan, Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food really good. Service was terrible and over priced.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great dining experience and service. Killer Long Island iced tea!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The nachos are awesome, we even ordered a second plate. Good pour on the drink.

All our meals were dry. From the pulled pork to the burgers to the wrap, we all commented on how dry the food is.

Without a doubt .... no question about it .... undeniably .... the worst fries in town. If not the worst ever in my life. No other way about it. Horrid.

Never again!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fabulous service from warn friendly people. Fun ambience, fabulous interesting food. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent service. On time reservations, unique beers and cocktails......loved the "little white lie" cocktails. The food was fresh, hot and pleasant herbs and spices. Great atmosphere and fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was just okay. We were there for Easter brunch. We were seated right by the front door and there were a lot of people waiting for a table hovering over us. The food was good, but not great. I would give it another try.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had Easter brunch there. Food was good, however it was really too loud to have a conversation with our family. Next time maybe we will try the outside seating

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A bit of a disappointment after seeing great reviews elsewhere. Eggs were very tasty and well prepared but almost everything else was sub-par. No fresh-squeezed juice. Mimosas were pre-mixed, apparently long before, and flat. The room is quite noisy when full. Pastries adequate but uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Though we had reservations we weren't seated when we arrived because the waiter was having difficulty keeping up with their tables. They should have had additional wait staff on a Sunday Morning. And the noise level was very high. Hard to talk even though we were at a table for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Service was terrible. They did not know happy hour prices. They were out of several things on menu like pesto and sour cream. The manager was rude and did not care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I have been going to Capitol Garage for several years now for both lunch, dinner and mainly for brunch. Their menu has always had the best selection and excellent choices for the price. Service from the start both at the hostess level to the waiter/waitress is extremely well done. I recently had an issue that wasn't taken care of adequately, but the manager immediately responded and took care of the situation. That, by far, goes above what I was expecting. That level of customer service in this day and age shows how this restaurant values their customers. You will experience it first hand if you visit Capitol Garage!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food, great service never been here in the middle of brunch before, it was incredibly loud but it was ok the ambience is always cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a reservation but still waited 20mins to be seated. Hostess was nice and appologetc but we were starving. Once finally seated we got stuck with a frazzled waitress who struggled the entire time. Took 15mins at least to order. Food was good but one order was missing at first so everyone politely waited to eat until everyone served. Had to flag down waitress for 2nd drink which didn't come until we were done eating. They had other wait staff that didn't appear to be doing anything while this one waitress ran around frantically. Also very loud environment.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The greatest disappointment of the evening was that three items on the menu were not available, including the Falafel Burger. That narrowed my vegan main dish options since the moderate spiciness of Autumn Tikka Masala and California Saute would aggravate my acid reflux.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It's fine. There's nothing amazing or fancy about this place. But, it's generally decent. You'll get decent food, with good, but kind slow service. Tends to be more of a standby place for us instead of a destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wow, just had one of the worst restaurant experiences ever at this place for Sunday Brunch.
Went for the first time because they were having a beer week tasting brunch, daughter just moved to sac and I was visiting, wanted to take her and husband out for a special brunch.
We were excited for the 3 course with beer pairing. 1 hour later the first course arrives! 1/2 hour after that the second, 2 hours! Still waiting for the 3rd! We gave up, call for the manager who has been barely apologetic thru the whole ordeal, requested he adjust the $25 a head price we were leaving not having the 3rd course. He takes 50% off the check, so we get a 17% discount for a horrible time. Very poor customer service and operation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Capital Garage for their Beer Brunch event for Sac Beer Week. We had made reservations the evening before and were seated promptly. We ordered within 10 minutes of sitting, however waited 45 minutes for our food. Since I had ordered the set brunch menu of 3 entrees, my boyfriend just ordered 1 entree. His 1 entree and my 1st course arrived at the same time. My 2nd course arrived 25 minutes after the 1st course and my boyfriend was finished eating by that time. We had to ask for the 3rd course to go because it was taking way too long. We ended up staying at the restaurant for about 2 hours. The service was okay, however the restaurant was seriously understaffed and could not handle the volume of customers for this event. They apologized for the delay in service, but I will likely not be returning. Capital Garage is a great place for casual bite or a drink, but be aware of the wait time for special events.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We've gone here a number of times before events at the Community Center. We usually have a reservation, but I don't think we ever have not been able to get a table even if we forgot to make the reservation. The staff always seem very helpful and pleasant, and we always enjoy the food. The prices are reasonable too. There is no dessert menu, but there are a few things you can select from the cafeteria-like section, where you could also grab food to go. The tables and chairs are simple cafeteria style, and a little packed in there - so not the most comfortable - but fine for our needs. There are also two parking garages right next door!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I'm always appreciative that they have vegan options. The food was good, but not amazing. The staff was cheerful and seated and served me promptly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's special menu was fantastic. Food was amazing. Licked every plate clean

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Capitol Garage always has amazing vegan dishes. We come here for vegan breakfast all the time and we loved the vegan buffet they had for the Superbowl. Great place for vegans!

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Capitol Garage has a very eclectic and changing menu. They have lots of options for
vegetarian and vegan as well as mainstream and very interesting combinations. The
biggest downside is the noise level as well as the proximity of the tables in this very
small restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I like the Capitol Garage. The location is great and it's very handy for theatre or other events downtown. The food is plentiful and pretty good - nothing exceptionally fancy. The negative is that it is so loud. I mean really loud. You can't talk at a normal level unless you get a table outside. I think they need to hang something on the wall or ceiling to temper some of the noise.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the experience, but it was very loud and the service was quite slow.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Went on line to check out the lunch menu, arrived to find none of the listed items I had thought of ordering.
Food was good but not what I had hoped to order.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I've been here several times, and even though it was especially busy when I went with my friend (Women's March was held on the same day), the service was great and the food was amazing as always! I had the bbq tofu wrap and potatoes - the food was absolutely delicious! I'll definitely be back again. Thanks! - Jesse

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was good. Service was great. The sweet and spicy fries were tasty. House red wine was actually pretty good.We sat at the high table by the dessert counter. Glad we did as the other small tables seemed really close together. If we come again I'll get a burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I appreciate the number of vegetarian options! I had the tikki masala, which was very tasty. The salad we also ordered was a bit bland. But, there are a number of things on the menu that sound delicious, so we will definitely try it again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Was just a breakfast get together right next to the convention center. Good food & kid friendly especially how early we got there on a Sunday.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great place for a date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for Christmas Dinner. The place was packed but the service was quick and everyone was so very friendly. The cocktails were top notch and the food...AMAZING! Thank you!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great place! We were there on Christmas day and had a great first time experience. Our server was fast, friendly, and answered our questions with a smile.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.