About Capitol Garage

Located at the corner of 15th and K, Capitol Garage is within walking distance of the capitol, convention center and Sacramento community theater, and has been a midtown icon for over 19 years. The menu spans the globe and has an eclectic mix to satisfy your culinary desires! Chef Raphael Kendall uses only the finest ingredients in his crowd pleasing dishes and offers them to you at an affordable price. Be sure not miss our delicious selection of house made artisan chocolates and indulgent cheesecakes, and our Weekend Brunch is the talk of the town with mouthwatering items such as the Dragon benedict with vegetable medley and our vegan biscuits and gravy.

1500 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Comfort Food, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Saturday Brunch & Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
15th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-3633

Website:
http://capitolgarage.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment to please all tastes!, Dance Hall Reggae(Friday nights 10-2) to Karaoke(Sunday night 9-2). Check out Capitolgarage.com for up to date info!

Catering:
We are a full service catering company. Please go to our website Capitolgarage.com for more details.

Parking Details:
Street parking where available, no metering after 6pm or on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Raphael Kendall

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining is perfect for hosting birthday parties, wedding rehearsals and many other events.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Mitchell: (877) 275-8842

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be hosting an Art Dinner featuring Local Artist Aaron Hood ( hoodlyart.com ) with a special menu for art goers.

Capitol Garage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (17)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vegan (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Live Music (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
S
742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Valentine's special menu was fantastic. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's special menu was fantastic. Food was amazing. Licked every plate clean

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capitol Garage always has amazing vegan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Capitol Garage always has amazing vegan dishes. We come here for vegan breakfast all the time and we loved the vegan buffet they had for the Superbowl. Great place for vegans!

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capitol Garage has a very eclectic and c ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Capitol Garage has a very eclectic and changing menu. They have lots of options for

vegetarian and vegan as well as mainstream and very interesting combinations. The

biggest downside is the noise level as well as the proximity of the tables in this very

small restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I like the Capitol Garage. The location ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I like the Capitol Garage. The location is great and it's very handy for theatre or other events downtown. The food is plentiful and pretty good - nothing exceptionally fancy. The negative is that it is so loud. I mean really loud. You can't talk at a normal level unless you get a table outside. I think they need to hang something on the wall or ceiling to temper some of the noise.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed the experience, but it was ve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the experience, but it was very loud and the service was quite slow.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went on line to check out the lunch menu ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Went on line to check out the lunch menu, arrived to find none of the listed items I had thought of ordering.

Food was good but not what I had hoped to order.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I've been here several times, and even t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I've been here several times, and even though it was especially busy when I went with my friend (Women's March was held on the same day), the service was great and the food was amazing as always! I had the bbq tofu wrap and potatoes - the food was absolutely delicious! I'll definitely be back again. Thanks! - Jesse

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Food was good. Service was great. The sw ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was good. Service was great. The sweet and spicy fries were tasty. House red wine was actually pretty good.We sat at the high table by the dessert counter. Glad we did as the other small tables seemed really close together. If we come again I'll get a burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I appreciate the number of vegetarian op ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I appreciate the number of vegetarian options! I had the tikki masala, which was very tasty. The salad we also ordered was a bit bland. But, there are a number of things on the menu that sound delicious, so we will definitely try it again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was just a breakfast get together right ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Was just a breakfast get together right next to the convention center. Good food & kid friendly especially how early we got there on a Sunday.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for Christmas Dinner. The place ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for Christmas Dinner. The place was packed but the service was quick and everyone was so very friendly. The cocktails were top notch and the food...AMAZING! Thank you!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place! We were there on Christmas ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great place! We were there on Christmas day and had a great first time experience. Our server was fast, friendly, and answered our questions with a smile.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Chritsmas Brunch w/bottomles ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Chritsmas Brunch w/bottomless Mimosa's!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for date night. The restaurant ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Came here for date night. The restaurant had a great atmosphere and a friendly staff. We ordered the tacos for our appetizer and they were very good. It came with three tacos but two would have been nicer because it is kind of difficult to divide a taco in two. For our meals, we ordered the sirloin steak and the cheeseburger. The presentation was pleasing and the flavor was great. For our drinks, we ordered a mojito and a cosmopolitan. Both were made very well and tasted great. We will definitely be coming here again.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Walked in, sat down and walked out! Atm ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Walked in, sat down and walked out! Atmosphere was like a sleazy bar, it was dirty, and there was no one to wait on us! Avoid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

We went to Capitol Garage for our work t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went to Capitol Garage for our work team's holiday brunch. I choose this place because we have several vegans on our team and they offered some vegan choices on their menu. Everyone thought the food was good. I had the vegan Tikka masala hash and thought it was very flavorful but it was served just barely warm temp wise. A couple of people ordered the Monte Cristo and they were the last to be served...it was about 20 minutes after the rest of us got our food. Most of us were half way finished with our meal when theirs was served! I would go there again because of the vegan choices, and I thought that the food was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food came out extremely late and the qua ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food came out extremely late and the quality was not worth the price paid.

The server was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I've been here a number of times, and wi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I've been here a number of times, and will be telling people about this place.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Organic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed in Capitol Garag ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was very disappointed in Capitol Garage. The service was slow. Took them 45 minutes to take our order. People in our party were ignored, even when the waitress was looking right at them. The food was under seasoned and under cooked. Combinations of flavors didn't work. The drinks were watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We visited Capitol Garage for a small of ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We visited Capitol Garage for a small office gathering of seven people. The service was friendly and the food outstanding. Several people commented as to how they never had been there before, but really enjoyed it. The Thai Pork Chop was one of the favorites. I had the falafel bites and a very generous portion was served! I would definitely visit again and heard several others say the same. Thanks for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is consistently good with ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food here is consistently good with seasonal healthy options as well as vegetarian and gluten free. The staff is very friendly and helpful, even during rush they check up often. I come here for brunch regularly and always leave happy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, amazing drinks, amazing ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Amazing service, amazing drinks, amazing food! Must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only items available without garlic or o ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Only items available without garlic or onions were nachos or cold salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was an ok meal. I at everything but i ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It was an ok meal. I at everything but it was not outstanding. There were not many people there, but it was still noisy. Also, the table felt sticky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I went there on a Thursday with friends. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I went there on a Thursday with friends. We got there at 8:30am and were started right away on bottomless mimosas (til 11am). We all ordered the capitol burrito and it was delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had high hopes for vegan food given the ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Had high hopes for vegan food given the restaurant's participation in the Vegan Chef Challenge. The broccoli "cheese" soup was excellent. Everything else was okay.

Since some of the old menu items with tofu were removed from the menu, the vegan choices typically available are mediocre. You still get a lot for your money here though. Better vegan options were available at The Porch (both restaurants have same owners)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Traditional dishes done with a flair for ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Traditional dishes done with a flair for fun ingredients and taste. Service excellent. But, be prepared for close quarters and noise from all the conversations. If just two people go and

sit at the bar. Several TV screens with sports on. GREAT Coffee.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The apple biscuits were ok, but not that ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The apple biscuits were ok, but not that great. They're more of a side more than anything. I wouldn't order them again. The cocktail was great. The sandwich and the potatoes were delicious.

Service was fair because although the server's met our needs, their attitude was less than inviting and they were very detached. They really need to work on their people skills! For example, our server did check on us to made sure we had what we needed and yet I got a cold vibe from her. I don't know her name but she had big frizzy hair in a sloppy bun hair-do. Also, a male server came up to my table, randomly dropped a plate of pudding bread, and quickly mumbled what it was and left with a rush, without letting us know it was a sample or anything. Just a, "here is a pudding cake with raspberry sauce." It was weird.

So, although I liked the ambiance of the restaurant the chilly vibes I received here make me doubt coming back. I wish that weren't so.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Met up with a friend here when I was in ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Met up with a friend here when I was in town. Wide variety of menu items that didn't disappoint. Service was friendly and the server took the time to walk my friend through some of the Vegan options. If I am back in the area I would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been here a few times, and it's a w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I've been here a few times, and it's a wonderful place - the food was delicious, and as I'm vegan, it can be challenging to find a place that has vegan options, but they have enough vegan options to keep from getting repetitive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Told them when we needed to leave. Food ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Told them when we needed to leave. Food out five min before. Quite frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Sunday brunch was Huevos Rancheros and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sunday brunch was Huevos Rancheros and the kids had French Toast. Both delightful with Mimosas.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Capital Garage turned out to be a great ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Capital Garage turned out to be a great location for a Sunday brunch. Outdoor dining is on two sides of the building where the sun is not beating down on you. The food was good and service was attentive. Also, Capitol Garage was very dog friendly. That feature was not in the expanded list of desirable features, although "Paleo friendly" might have been a misspelled attempt to list "Pet Friendly".

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was there with 4 other people on a Sunda ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Was there with 4 other people on a Sunday around 11:30am. Even though the place was busy we waited over 35 min. for our food, which seemed like an eternity. Servers were apologetic & brought us something from the pastry case to share/nibble on. Friendly staff. Good food. We come here for the vegan options. Our guests were glad to have mimosas & bloody Mary's. Colorful menu, fun place

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I wish that the vegan dinner entrees wer ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I wish that the vegan dinner entrees were as numerous and tasty as what is offered for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Capital Garage used to be one of my favo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Capital Garage used to be one of my favorite restaurants but sadly it has gone significantly downhill. The food was bad and overpriced. The kitchen said food was gluten free that wasn't and ended up causing issues for my friend. I'm sad we decided to come here. I definitely will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Even though we had a reservation, we had ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we had to wait 15 minutes to be seated. They were not busy. It seemed like they weren't sure what they were doing. The bartender refused service to a member of a party and told him to sit back down at our table and wait for the server to take his drink order. We were served a cup of lemons after having been seated for approx. 10 minutes. Another 10 minutes went by and we finally got water. The food did not come out as ordered and it was nothing special. We split our bill between a few debit cards and we had written down how much should go on each card to make it easier on the server. They accidentally charged us each our portion plus the entire bill on one persons card (we were double charged). They couldn't seem to figure out how to void the charge. The service was slow and they seemed to not know what they were doing and the food wasn't all that great. I wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Vegan menu improving. While the new men ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Vegan menu improving. While the new menu has a few decent vegan options and is better than the most recent menu, the choices are still quite limited compared to when there were several tofu options available in the past. Current vegan options are mostly limited to dishes with black beans. The current emphasis on burgers and removal of fish and rib entrees was a disappointment to the omnivores in our party.

Has gone from our most frequented restaurant to somewhere we only go on occasion now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

I have heard the food here is good, but ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have heard the food here is good, but I can't speak from experience as we were unable to eat here despite making reservations. I gave everything middle ratings because ratings are required, but will update if I am ever able to actually dine at this restaurant. We made brunch reservations for noon on a Saturday. On the way to the restaurant we got stuck traffic and tried to call the restaurant to let them know we would be a few min late. The phone just rang and rang. Eventually an automatic greeting told us that the mailbox was full - please hang up. We confirmed that we had the correct phone number, and tried calling again 5 min later, and then again 10 min later, but with the same result. We decided to eat elsewhere since it seemed that either the restaurant was unexpectedly closed that day or the staff was completely overwhelmed (and thus would be unlikely to provide reasonably quick service). I would proceed with caution, and have a back up plan if you make reservations at Capitol Garage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Always good, not great but very dependab ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always good, not great but very dependable. We come here once a month for brunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.