About Cantina Laredo - Columbus

8791 Lyra Drive
Columbus, OH 43240
View Larger Map

We create authentic Mexican food inspired by the cuisine of Mexico City and add a modern twist. Try our guacamole made tableside or our full Tequila Bar. We offer two private rooms with 50 and 30 seating. Delivery Service is available. And we are happy to cater your next event, large or small. Contact us today to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 11:00am - 9:00 pm, Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Polaris Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 781-1139

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/location/columbus-ohio/

Catering:
Cantina Laredo opens it's doors to parties as small as 10 and as large as 300. We also provide off-site catering for functions outside the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available behind and on both sides of the restaurant and valet service is available in the front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Leon DeLeon

Private Party Facilities:
Cantina Laredo boasts one of the most amazing private dining rooms in all of Columbus. We offer two private dining rooms. Our all seasons patio room seats 50, a private space with windows to open if weather permits. Our second private dining room features a wall of windows that disappears to be used as both an indoor and outdoor area, complete with heated outdoor tables and a fireplace inside. 32 people can comfortably dine and converse with a beautiful view of the Polaris Fashion Place promenade and fountains, with an additional 16 seats on the open-air patio. We also have a TV accessible for Power Point presentations and conferences.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Belcastro: (614) 781-1139

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
See All
Creative Cuisine (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Fireplace (11)
Fun (10)
Spicy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Tapas (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Private Room (6)
Romantic (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and atmosphere for upscale date night in the Polaris area. Food was quick and really good. After living in Texas for years, this reminded me of the cuisine down there.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

My friends and I were excited to have dinner at Cantina Laredo for girls night, but we did not have a good experience. The only good thing about our dinner was the chips & guacamole. The margaritas with fruit were made with a syrup that was so bad we couldn't drink them. The waitress asked if we wanted new ones after we talked to her about disliking them, and we said yes. The regular margarita was better. My chicken fajitas came to the table not fully cooked. The waitress and manager apologized but did not comp the dish, which would have happened at pretty much any other restaurant. The new, fully cooked fajitas came, and they were fine, but I was grossed out by that point and didn't eat much. When the bill came, out original margaritas (the awful ones) were on the bill, so we had to ask for those to be taken off. I don't know what happened to this restaurant, but I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We met friends from out of state and had a lovely time. The Food was very good, quickly served and waitress was friendly, attentive, and willing to substitute as we requested.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was good, service was friendly but forgetful for items like silverware and drinks. I would go back though!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came in for a friends birthday and had a wonderful time. Natalia was a wonderful server and we thoroughly enjoyed her.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Spicy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a great experience! Chilean seabass was AMAZING and the best part was our waiter, Mohammed. He was an outstanding waiter. He was so friendly, polite, attentive, and very fast!!! I will be requesting him every time I go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Good food. Valentines Day menu was great, enjoyed our meal very much. Very pleasant evening, wonderful service. Worth the money

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We are extremely disappointed in our dining experience. My husband and I had 6:00 reservations for Valentine's Day. We were immediately seated and received chips and salsa. After 15 minutes we were finally asked if we wanted drinks. The food was just ok not definitely not worth the price. Our server was disengaged and completely not thrilled to be at work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Asked for no peppers and was told it all comes premade so half of my chimichanga didn't get eaten. Also asked for pulled chicken instead of the fajita chicken and was basically told no. Kids mac n cheese was good and my husband enjoyed his meal but overall just not the place for us. Took a minute for the server to warm up to us which was disappointing but he finally did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of the best Mexican food restaurants I have ever had.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Server really tried to upsell everything. Food was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Last two times that I've been to this restaurant the server seems that they have two much going on to be attentive to the table.. not sure if management is putting to much on the servers or if they just can't handle it.. other than that very satisfied..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was great but management needs to pay attention to tiny details like wobbly tables and fix them.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful service. Wonderful food. We really enjoyed celebrating our birthdays that night. Emmanuel (I believe was our server) he was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I sent my food back TWICE. The first time "sizzling" fajitas were cold and the usually hot plate was cold, on the second round at least the plate was sizzling but again the chicken was cold (ok- some was luke warm). I sent it to be remade and the manager delivered it, AGAIN LUKEWARM. AND she argued that she saw it on the grill so it has to be fine, but since I was laying my hand on the chicken she couldn't continue to argue

DONE with thos place and that is sad becasue have been several times with good food and ok service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Was very good food and service and will defiantly recommend Cantina Lerado in the future.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 31, 2017

I have been to this restaurant several times.

The last three times I have gone to this restaurant, I was looking forward to their Sea Bass meal.

All three times I ordered the Sea Bass to have the waiter return to tell me the Sea Bass was not available that evening.

I am finished with this restaurant. I will be going elsewhere from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We hadn't been here in a while and both agreed we would never come back on a Saturday night. They were so busy that it was pure chaos. We were seated right away, however it took our server 20 minutes to greet us. We thought he was a good server and the fact his service was poor on this night is because all of his tables were sat one after another so we all needed everything at the same time. We waited 20 minutes after his greeting (so 40 minutes total) for our drinks from the bar to get there. We will not visit again on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was slow. When food came, it was cold and special instructions not followed. Manager apologized for the service but did not adjust bill as he had claimed. There are too many other dining options out there to accept this level of service. I'll vote with my feet and not return for a next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Slow. Brought out half of kid meals. Then another 10 min. A few more. Then a wait. Finally last meal, which was cold. Child ordered a gluten free salad that came out with gluten end (fried) tortillas on top (not described in menu). Had to be taken back. Food okay, but second time we've eaten here was NOT a charm, as bad as first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Literally gourmet Mexican! Everything was top notch, great food, drinks, good prices, great energy! Will be back!

Tags: Tapas, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, People Watching, Private Room, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I expected a good upscale Mexican meal and was disappointed, but for restaurant week prices I can't complain too much. The chips and mild salsa were about what I would expect at Taco Johns. The Hot Salsa and the Guac were good. The empanada appetizer was the highlight - fabulous flavor, if very greasy. The Asada Enchilada was OK and the plus was you won't find it on a budget Mexican menu but it's not worth the regular menu price. Dessert was uninspired. I likely won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was HORRIBLE sat for 25 minutes before we even had a water. Thirty-five minutes in and still no server to take order. Manager apologized but it was too late at this point. Will NEVER go back and will NEVER recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a great time here. The food was great and the prices reasonable. Our waiter was fantastic. He was funny and personable. We will return to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We really enjoyed Catina Laredo. It's a nice restaurant, great staff, nice environment, and the food was delicious. I would have rated it a five but the tamales were a bit salty and the Empanadas were different than expected. We loved our server, Muhammad, was great. Very accommodating and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was delicious! Been wanting to try this restaurant for quite a while. It won't take that long for us to go back. Service was excellent and food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very good food, excellent service. Great outdoor area for fun summer people watching.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Quick Bite, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Used open table reward. Reservations right on and staff very friendly. Service very good. Mexican food didn't stand out above the rest places. Needed more seasoning a bit bland. Wife not high on margarita. Would return, but not high on list. Best part was staff and decor.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food is excellent and very nicely served. My only complaint is the noise level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I had the seasoned rib-eye steak and it was excellent. Others had the carne asada and other more traditional dishes and they were also very good! It was a Thursday night so fairly quiet. Had a great time and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Came in strictly for the $10 fajitas. This was an unusual experience in that the service was slow and half the food was bland.

The service: was seated quickly and given chips and salsa. It was such a long time from being seated to getting our drink order, that I actually called the restaurant and asked for our wait staff. The staff that did arrive was friendly and personable, like usual.

The food: we got the combination fajitas. The steak was very tasty, as expected, but the chicken was bland. It tasted like there wasn't any seasoning applied to the chicken at all...which was weird since grill marks could be seen on the chicken strips, so it should have at least tasted grilled.

It wasn't just my chicken, but my eating companions as well. An unusual experience from a restaurant that, to me, is synonmous with flavor

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not sure what happened on Saturday night but this was the worst experience we have ever had at Cantina Laredo. We have been frequent diners and will not be back for a long time. Wait time for table was twice what they said when we checked-in. Food took an hour and a half to arrive at the table. And to top it off, our favorite dessert of brownie with cinnamon ice cream was so stale that it crumbled when we used our forks to get a bite. Again not sure what was going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We are frequent customers of this restaurant but had the worst experience this evening. The menu has changed since our last visit, and the quality of the food has declined along with the drinks. Our waiter Tyler was busy, and our food took forever to come out and when it did, 3 of our 4 dinners were cold. He didn't clear our plates or ask if we wanted take home boxes. No apology for the delay or the cold food. Really disappointed in our go to place for higher quality Mexican food. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good Ambience and overall nice place for get together. Wait staff was excellent. Did not like the drinks ( watered down and just not prepared right) and limited not so appealing vegetarian options. Food was of ok quality compared to the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Made reservations and got to the restaurant and was seated at the tables near the bar - not a good place to talk because of the noise level. Was greeted by our server and put our drink and appetizer order in. We got our cheese appetizer, no chips and salsa and had to ask where the chips were at. The waiter has to tell someone to bring us chips and the cheese sauce had skimmed over by the time we got our chips (about 10 minutes after we arrived - tables around us that came in after us got chips). I ran out of water and had to ask for water - the waiter did not come over but once after the food arrived. My cousin and I were celebrating our birthdays and planned to sit and talk but they never cleared the table - so we left so we could talk without dishes on our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 8, 2016

GREAT Cocktails. I love the different twists on the Margarita and Always the prepared Fresh Table side Guacamole is Outstanding!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Super delicious Mexican food and amazing margaritas! The top shelf guacamole and queso are the best. I've tried several entree items and am never disappointed. The La Bandera is my favorite margarita. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I chose Cantina Laredo for a special birthday meal for my husband. We dined there about 2 months ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time we were very disappointed in everything about this restaurant. The food was bland and overcooked, the service was nothing special (the waitress even brought us a bowl of broken tortilla chips) . It seemed nothing like we remember the from the first visit. There is no reason to ever go back there or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Didn't get checked in on open table. Waited forever for waitress to appear. She was very nice but very new. Brought app with no drinks yet. Waited over 15 minutes for water. Ordered a beef hard taco and a steak soft taco but got two ground beef

Told waitress wasn't correct wanted steak and she says the kitchen said it was the same thing??? I said no, I get this all the time. Took about 15 more minutes to bring a steak taco that was nothing like I've gotten in the past. Tiny and had stuff on it not normal. We go here slot and usually very good but this night was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Cantina Laredo is your upscale alternative to local Mexican dining. The food is more like what you would find in actual nice restaurants in Mexico. The drinks are tasty and creative. The enchiladas are delicious! Try to book a table in Moe's section. He's wonderfully friendly and funny.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We don't get up to Polaris very often but when we do we have dinner here. This visit was terrible. We were seated near the bar another party that arrived after us was walked to the other side. We waited for 25 minutes for a server to arrive. It seemed to never really get better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great Resteraunt - wonderful experience as always !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Absolutely enjoyed dining at Cantina Laredo. Energetic ambiance with friendly service, great Mexican food and the city's best frozen margarita.

Tags: Private Room, Spicy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Awesome waiter- Mohammad. Nice dinner. We'll visit again.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Outstanding service! Great food! Friendly waiters! Awesome drink selections! Timely in serving groups as most recently visited w/ a group of 12---

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome margaritas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Favorite Mexican restaurant in Columbus, Ohio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our waiter was absolutely terrible. He was grumpy and rude. Did not refill drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.