Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Cantina Laredo - Columbus

We create authentic Mexican food inspired by the cuisine of Mexico City and add a modern twist. Try our guacamole made tableside or our full Tequila Bar. We offer two private rooms with 50 and 30 seating. Delivery Service is available. And we are happy to cater your next event, large or small. Contact us today to learn more.

8791 Lyra Drive
Columbus, OH 43240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 11:00am - 9:00 pm, Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Polaris Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 781-1139

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/location/columbus-ohio/

Catering:
Cantina Laredo opens it's doors to parties as small as 10 and as large as 300. We also provide off-site catering for functions outside the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available behind and on both sides of the restaurant and valet service is available in the front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Leon DeLeon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Casual (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Tapas (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined a day ago

The restaurant was practically empty and service was incredibly slow. Had to ask several times for drink refills. We were a party of six and everyone's food came out at different times. There were also two mistakes that had to be sent back. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The waiter couldn't describe the fish dishes, and didn't go check on it. Just shrugged off his lack of knowledge. The server dropped one of our meals near another table and it crashed onto the floor and splattered their purses and legs . We saw it all but no one acknowledged it initially. They just delivered the rest of our meals then the waiter came over nonchalantly to say "yeah they dropped your meal over there". My meal was 15 min behind everyone else at my table since they had to remake mahi tacos.
Disappointed all around and they only comped the $15 fish tacos on a $200 ticket. No class or professionalism demonstrated throughout the night. Huge downgrade in service from the last few years. Won't be back probably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was lovely. Great ambiance and good food. The service was top notch and we left with a good feeling.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of if not the worst restaurant experience in our lives and we go out almost every day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

My wife had been previously for a Christmas party and couldn't stop raving about the steak fajitas. She wanted to go back for her birthday, and I was happy to accommodate her ;) The fajitas were indeed amazing, and the service, atmosphere, and friendliness of the staff were all great as well. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always can count on great food and service! Thanks for a nice evening.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Some dishes are very spicy hot. If you don’t want very hot and spicy, ask the waiter to lighten up on the hotness.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Service wasnt all there tonight. Usually good food and service. Think the guy was new. Almost mixed the advocado sticker into the guacamole, then he didnt bring us chips for 10+ mins, had to ask a bus-boy, forgot sour cream twice. My drink was always empty, come on, this is where you make your money.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

First time here and it was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Having celiac disease has made dining out so difficult! Thanks for treating me like a normal person! So often I feel like a second class citizen! The food was amazing!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Disappointing. Fish tacos ober cooked. Seviche past prime. Pass on Flautas. Shrimp salad and tamales great. Wish you had chicken or pork tamales. Service for drinks slow

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food, drinks, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Friends from out of town often drive down to go here, but there are two good Mexican restaurants near us. This week we had company and decided to drive out to try. Chips were thin and fresh and dips were most unusual (one sweet and one hot (temp.) and spicy.) but looked the same, All of us loved combo plates which were very tasty. One split 1-2 was on the tacos (two of us do not like hard tacos and one loved them). Waiter (Bryce) was extremely personable (we are older and do not expect that kind of communication) and fun. We will go back and ask for him. You can enter from the back door (no steps) right near the parking and not have to meander through the court yards around it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was great, service was excellent. Drinks were ok, but pricey

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Overall our experience was OK
We've been to this restaurant many times and our other experiences have been better
It just felt like they were not as cohesive as they normally are
There had been a very large party there before us and things were pretty messed up when we got there and it just seemed like they didn't have time to do adequate cleaning up the area around the tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Perfect place to have a team lunch. The guacamole is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Everything we had was very good and more creative than the other typical Mexican restaurants around. All the drinks on the drink menu looked worthy of trying and each one of us loved our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The service was very slow. We would not see our server for extended periods of time. Our first drink was good, the second was not at all. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was great. Been several times; thought server could have nicer and more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We indicated on open table that we would like a certain server and were surprised when our request was not honored. When ordering our server Morgan asked us to point to the items because she did not know the menu. We saw our food go by and then sit outside on the patio for 5 minutes because the food runner did not know table numbers. The food was excellent my boyfriend had the carne asada and i had the carne asada with shrimp. Not even halfway through our meal the server said you guys ready for the check? We had planned on ordering dessert and she never cleared the table and left dirty plates all over when finally another server came and asked if we'd like boxes. Service left much to be desired but the food was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We are regulars at this location and usually this is a five star experience. This time was awful. The server was new but it took forever to get our order taken and even longer for our food to come. Order was not eight when we finally got our food. New server was very apologetic however this is not what we have come to expect from an otherwise great place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Are used to go here all the time, and as usual the food was wonderful. However even though there were very few people in the restaurant service was incredibly slow, and we had a few things we ordered that didn't ever make it out. I'd still go back, but it's probably on probation and my rotation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Server Bryce was awesome. Food was great-sat in the patio which was really nice and relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

They graciously gave us the private dining room! Service was a little slow, but we were there for a long time. Everyone loved their food! Only odd thing was when the chef walked out with a bowl of soup and said to one guest, we don't have what you ordered, so you can have this instead. No asking her.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food and service were great! Server was knowledgeable about the menu and offered recommendations.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were seated before are reservation time and the food was excellent. They got our drinks and gave us chips & salsa quickly but then we had to wait 30 minutes to order our food. Also we had several different people waiting on us so not sure who our actual server was.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great time just seemed a bit overpriced for what was being served the service was excellent just at the end of the day we could of spent a lot less for the same product somewhere else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was a family event for a birthday and father's day. We had a semi private room with patio access, perfect. Our waiter, Johnny, was very personable, efficient and attentive , just what you want of a waiter. And by the way, the food and drinks were very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fun and easy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our waiter Mohammad made our evening! He was so friendly , helpful and personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The first very young waitress had a meltdown when we complained about the noise level. She left momentarily and then marched back into the room, had a small tantrum and left promptly. The rest of the meal was great and the second waitress was professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food, as always, very good. Service: friendly, professional but rushed. Ambience: cozy but LOUD.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I booked this restaurant to celebrate a very special birthday and I was very disappointed. First of all, when I made the reservation I called and asked that since I was bringing a large party if I could be seated in a separate "occasion" room if they had one, they told me that they did have a room for such occasions and that they would book it for me. They did not and we were seated in regular seating in the middle of the restaurant. The service was TERRIBLE and it was not crowded. My husband had to go up to the host at the front of the restaurant to try to get our waiter to serve us because we had sat there for 30 minutes without our waiter/waitress coming over to get our drinks. They really made what was supposed to be a special occasion really stressful because I wanted to have my guests have an enjoyable evening and I was stressed out because it was taking an insane amount of time to get drinks, food, any service, etc. In addition they got one of the orders wrong so we all had to sit and stare at one another while they redid one person's food. I will not be coming here again, which is a shame because the food is generally good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I stopped by for dinner at the last minute. We got a reservation immediately so not sure if they aren't busy or we just picked a slow weekend. Food came out pretty fast and the staff was attentive to our needs. The waiter did lack knowledge on the dish when I asked him what it was. I ended up not trying something different and got the Dinner carnitas plate. I would go back another time to try out the drinks but that's about it. Food wasn't something that I would go out of my way to visit and eat again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was great! Service was horrible!!
Took forever for a server to come to our table and then he never checked on us. We ended up taking our bill to the bar to pay because he never came back. And even then it still took entirely too long for the bartender to ring us up. Disappointing because the food is so good, but the service makes me not want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The service was very slow and not attentive. We had our kids with us, and slow service in a fairly empty restaurant is not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was nonexistent (and that went for every table around us)...our waitress did not listen to what was ordered ( brought wrong beer)....she kept disappearing for long periods of time...our queso was cold before we could get chips. Drinks were not refilled in a timely manner....very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was good, but the server couldn't undo what came out of the kitchen. We had table for 8, and 4 of the meals came out wrong. Overall food quality was poor, manager intervention was poor and the server did his best, but in the end it's our last time at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved everything about this dining experience! Nice mix of standard mexican menu items and restaurant specials.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.