About Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest

Ever since 2004, Cantina 1511 has been serving consistently excellent Mexican fare to the people of Charlotte. A philosophy of only the freshest ingredients cooked from scratch to traditional recipes; guarantees an Authentic Mexican Celebration every time.

7708 Rea Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm


Cross Street:
485 & Rea Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 752-9797

Website:
http://www.cantina15eleven.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Live Music on our Patio Friday through Sunday starting at 6pm. Join us for amazing margaritas and great music.

Catering:
Whether you’re planning a wedding, birthday party, a seminar, a luncheon, or a retirement party – we cater directly to your specific event. At Cantina 1511, we approach every event with absolute professionalism and passion.
Our clients have been raving over our authentic Mexican creations and Tex Mex- culinary dishes for years! Our event planners can transform a simple room into a delightful space that is detailed to perfection. We always create a unique experience for your guests and provide them with a lasting impression that leaves them wanting more.

Parking Details:
Valet and lot parking available

Executive Chef:
Vince Giancarlo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Cantina 1511 offers private dining accommodations for up to 70 guests. There are several different rooms that can be configured into a variety of seating designs, based on your personal preference. We also have the capability of renting our entire restaurant for your venue space.

Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (28)
Good for Groups (21)
Authentic (20)
See All
Fun (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Spicy (9)
Family Style (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great Beer (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great but was taken back when I was charged extra for more tortillas for my 18 dollar fajitas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a reservation, arrived early but still had to wait to be seated 15-20 minutes past our reservation time. Then we also waited over an hour for our food after ordering. It was delicious, but it was very, very slow. We were told due to a large party being there. Possibly more staff was needed so waiters are not taking care of too many tables or more cooks to get the food out quicker... Either way any restaurant knows Saturdays are busy and should I expect them to be prepared! Definitely get the guacamole, it's amazing!

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Waitress was Fantastic
Food as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Not sure why but last couple visits the kitchen was slow ... food is great! But for Mexican food, usually expect less than usual wait...not longer waits than other restaurants...

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made a reservation for Mother's day, but managed to arrive 30 mins early. No problem they sat us right away and we had an amazing lunch. Great food, great service, awesome leftovers!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day lunch was great and we were seated quickly!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food. Mother's Day with Mom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The server we had was amazing. The right blend of customer service and personality plus her guacamole was amazing. Always a great environment at Cantina and the food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Cantina 1511 always delivers great food and great service, one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Romantic, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Tapas, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Dancing, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I am a repeat customer so I must like it. The Fahita I had was not up to par this time, but, no one is perfect. The chicken was a tough as trying to eat raw hide.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food, as always! Best salsa in town! Well worth the trip!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Very exceptional service & great food; we were treated like royalty

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Vegan, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat at Stonecrest. Only downside is quality of service is not consistent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Matthew our waiter was spectacular. He recommended a dish and it was delicious.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were very pleased with the overall experience. The food was wonderful, Service was great and we were in and out in time for our movie. I was able to book a reservation for two (not all restaurants allow for this). We enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Cantina 1511 never disappoints! Great food & great drinks. One of my favorite go-to's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Me and my girlfriend came to Cantina 1511 for our date night. I wouldn't say this is a date night spot because it is not very quiet. It's more of a group location with lively music and atmosphere. The service was awesome and couldn't ask for better. The food wasn't awesome but it wasn't bad either, I think it was just what I got to eat. This place usually has a wait so I recommend getting a reservation but if you don't they get you in pretty quickly. Overall It was pretty good and very lively. We will definitely be back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Until this last experience, Cantina 1511 was my favorite restaurant in Charlotte. Maybe it was an off night, but we did it have a great experience. We are on a budget so a trip to Cantina is a special occasion, so my family and I decided to celebrate my birthday there. We had reservations for 7:30, but weren't seated until nearly 8pm (after watching parties of the same size with 7:45 reservations being seated before us). Service was slow and our dinner came out before the appetizer (which the manager was kind enough to comp). While my family did enjoy their meals, mine (Enchiladas Tejanos) looked and tasted like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for a while. I had literally to saw through the bottom of one of the enchiladas with a knife to get a bite size piece. I considered sending it back, but at that point we had been there 45 minutes and I didn't feel like waiting for the kitchen to redo the meal. The taste was actually ok, but not to the standards I expected from Cantina. I have to admit that it was a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Outstanding food and bar, great value. Obviously short on servers. We waited 20 minutes and never even saw our server. The hostess that eventually stepped in to take up the slack was great. Not much sympathy for a well known, popular place that essentially says, "It will be slow tonight because we are so busy making bank." Based on other reviews, this is not a new complaint, but clearly it has not been addressed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've visited Cantina several times and this just felt like a completely different restaurant. I'm not sure if it is because of the time of day or what. The drinks had very little in ice in them...in fact all the ice melted within just a few minutes of them being delivered. We tried to order the Slider Sampler appetizer and were told it was not available at that time of day. I ordered a bloody mary and it had no garnishes at all...not even a lime or an olive or anything. My hashbrowns were cold with my omelet. No one apologized for that happening. When the new hashbrowns were delivered they were still not hot. My club soda was refilled with water.

I felt as though our server was very new and very unfamiliar with the menu.

It was just underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place to eat, and we have been here many times, but on this occasion we came with another couple. We had a BOGO that was due to expire and just got another so we gave this to our friends, thinking we could each have an economical night out. We were told by our server that we could only use one per table (we were splitting checks between couples). FYI, Nowhere on the coupon is this disclosed. I didn't want to embarrass our friends, or I would have spoke up and asked for a manager, Our server was gracious enough to offer to add the coupon for the lowest priced item and then split the check in two. As a result, our "economical dinner" covered half of our friend's drink order which was much larger than our own. I guess next time we will request adjoining tables so that we can each use our BOGO!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Delicious food at a good price. Good service & a friendly staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great. Our waiter Blair was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We were there over an hour before our food came. The excuse from the manager was basically that they had more business than they could handle, which should never be an excuse. We were there before it got busy, and our waitress waited so long to take our order that we weren't hungry by the time our meal got to the table.

I wouldn't even leave a review, but it's not the first time this has happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food is always good. Drinks too. Service was not attentive. Once we got our meals the server disappeared. Didn't check on refill of drinks or deserts etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Table for 2 was much too small and felt like it was in the middle of a freeway. We were immediately served chips and salsa but no napkins or water. I had to go looking for them. The noise level in the restaurant was overwhelming and there was some "background " music with a frantic drumbeat that made both of us feel frayed. The food was good but the ambience was so bad that we won't go back which is a shame because we have previously enjoyed the place.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The server should have used a pencil, he would return to table to ask same question twice, on three separate occasions...he wasn't too busy for a Saturday 8PM. May have been the basketball game.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Bad margarita, OK food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was as expected. We love dining here. Our favorite dish, table side guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delicious food at a reasonable price. Excellent service; very attentive and friendly staff.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great service and food!!!! Had a group of 10 and they accommodated us in a private room, so much better for our friends. We had a single waiter and he was not fazed with 10 folks at all. This place is a gem.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Overall, it was good. The only downside is we mentioned to the server at start it was our 10 yr old birthday and in the past, the restaurant would sing happy birthday and bring a small dessert. The singing and dessert did not happen and at the end when we left, the server said Happy Birthday to our 10 yr old, so they did not forget what we mentioned at the start. Anyway, we had dessert elsewhere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Get the spicy margarita. It's not on the margarita list but they make it. Best margarita I've ever had. Not too spicy. Perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

So much for a making a reservation for a table that is off to the side a bit out of the way, we were sat down in the middle of the restaurant next to a group of 9 guys obviously on a work dinner of sorts... There was another large party behind the curtains and our food took an hour to get out to us. Manager came over and apologized stating they had several large parties, but guess that didn't mean they were willing to take something off the check it just meant deal with it as they have larger parties and your food will get out when it does. Figured a nice quiet date night on a Tuesday was a good thing, obviously not because this place does not staff for occasions like this. Will not be returning anytime soon after this evening.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was delicious and we were seated right on time.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great restaurant for meeting up with friends. The table side guacamole is the best, I have ever had.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I had a marvelous meal. We made reservations and were promptly seated. Our waiter was attentive and helpful throughout the meal. My husband had the "beef" and "chicken" tacos. He commented the best he'd ever eaten, very tasty and the slaw, black beans and rice very good. I had chicken quesadilla, small portion. Delicious is the only way to describe. The guacamole was great, as was the pico de gallo. The salsa and chips were fresh and the salsa very tasty without being too warm. We have been to most Mexican restaurants in the area, this was hands down the best to date. It was obvious while dining that the servers and helpers, including the manager Frank, worked as a team, nice to see! We shared our delight with the manager Frank who was available throughout the dining hall, he knows what his team is doing and they appear to be doing it right! We will return with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I would generally give Cantina's food a 5 but something was off tonight. I always get the same thing and tonight it tasted different and the portion was much smaller. The service wasn't as good as usual either. To be honest, I was shocked! I will go back because it's usually one of my favorite meals. Fingers crossed it's back to usual next time!!!

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Tacos were great; go with the guacamole dip versus the cheese dip. Wish they had bacon wrapped jalapeños. We will go back when we're in the area.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Cantina 1511 is a favorite hot spot for my girlfriend and I. It never really disappoints!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.