About Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest

7708 Rea Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Ever since 2004, Cantina 1511 has been serving consistently excellent Mexican fare to the people of Charlotte. A philosophy of only the freshest ingredients cooked from scratch to traditional recipes; guarantees an Authentic Mexican Celebration every time.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm


Cross Street:
485 & Rea Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 752-9797

Website:
http://www.cantina15eleven.com/

Entertainment:
We feature Live Music on our Patio Friday through Sunday starting at 6pm. Join us for amazing margaritas and great music.

Catering:
Whether you’re planning a wedding, birthday party, a seminar, a luncheon, or a retirement party – we cater directly to your specific event. At Cantina 1511, we approach every event with absolute professionalism and passion.
Our clients have been raving over our authentic Mexican creations and Tex Mex- culinary dishes for years! Our event planners can transform a simple room into a delightful space that is detailed to perfection. We always create a unique experience for your guests and provide them with a lasting impression that leaves them wanting more.

Parking Details:
Valet and lot parking available

Executive Chef:
Vince Giancarlo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Cantina 1511 offers private dining accommodations for up to 70 guests. There are several different rooms that can be configured into a variety of seating designs, based on your personal preference. We also have the capability of renting our entire restaurant for your venue space.

Cantina 1511 - Stonecrest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Authentic (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Family Style (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

First visit to Cantina 1511 and we certainly enjoyed it. Delicious salad and my Wild Mushroom and Spinach Quesadillas were fabulous!

Nice basket of warm chips. Good service and really attractive restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Spicy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Guac was tableside, very salty, and lacked any cilantro - one of the worst I ever had to be honest. Carne Azteca was a small piece of flank steak and tons of potatoes - proportions all wrong...margaritas were excellent though and the salsa was very good...other diners with me were also disappointed...and they put Cojita cheese on everything including the steak and the guac - terrible !

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed the guacamole prepared at tableside, as well as the enchiladas. You won't leave this place hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistently a great dining experience. Great value too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good Mexican cuisine. The fresh guacamole is excellent. We'll go back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed our first visit more as felt rushed at this visit. I made the mistake of not requesting to leave off the additional salt on my entrée (selected 3 separate tacos) as am very salt sensitive and could not eat more than several bites of one of the tacos due to so salty. (I am a Clinical Dietitian and thus cook low sodium items at home.) My husband and my teen sons loved their entrees, although my husband noted that his burrito was very salty also. Sorry I do not know the specific one he ordered. The guacamole made at table-side was okay (have had better elsewhere) and way too much salt added at the end. The chocolate cake is awesome as well as the 1511 Margarita. Thank you for asking our opinion!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Belated family Christmas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was excellent and the food very good. A good value for eating out. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food at Cantina 1511 is consistently good and reasonably priced. One of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Love Cantina 1511!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Josh and the bar staff did a great job all around. The food was tasty and a top 3 mexican in charlotte.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The waiter did not know much about the menu and he could have been more attentive and personable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Run of the mill Mexican joint in my opinion. Guacamole made table side was eh, especially for the price. Had a mix of tacos and again eh. There are certainly better places with better food and better prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great experience. Service and food was good. It was crowded, so the noise level was higher than we would have liked, but that is to be expected.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

New server and new to town gave great customer service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Enjoyed good food & good service. Amount of food seemed smaller this time than last

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fabulous Margaritas and the chips are thin and made fresh, a basket of hot chips is AMAZING!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Delicious food and great service! Friendly staff & atmosphere

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Attentive service, good food. Booth was a little tight even for normal-sized people. But always enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2017

delicious food, very attentive & friendly staff, and a pretty atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's Eve. It was very good food, had noise level that you could talk and hear comfortably, service was great, guacamole and quest were superior-had great time with friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Special Occasion, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our dinner was very good. They were able to seat us early. Service was excellent! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have been trying to find good Mexican in this area and much to our chagrin this is one of two restaurants with good food. This is a must do if you are looking for Tex-mex.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food is always perfect and tonight the staff was very busy but friendly. One of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have been to Cantina multiple times but this was by far our worst experience ever - the service was absolutely terrible, there was no silverware, food, (even appetizer) took forever to show up and waiter barely ever checked in - all this in spite of restaurant not even being full A couple we know was there earlier that evening and also said the service was terrible. While we have enjoyed Cantina in the past, we do not plan to return after this experience. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Was very disappointed when they sat us the underneath of the table was filthy it had food, lemons, napkins, and silverware on the floor. I could not believe that didn't clean it before they sat us. The lemons made the floor very slipper. The server did tell me that a family with children where sitting there. Just disappointed they didn't clean it before they sat us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Menus were dirty with dried food and my knife had dried lettuce on it. Compared to Park Rd. Location, this was a sub-par experience at best. Disappointed for my friends I invited for a Christmas Eve celebration...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was incredible and service in particular our server was amazing!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a reservation but still had to wait a half hour. Our table was dirty. There was a party or something before us and there were lemons and trash all over the floor under our table. Our food was lackluster and extremely slow. I don't see us going back. It is pretty disappointing because we heard good things from friends, but didn't have the same experience we hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wait service was good, considering it was the waitress first week. A bit of a wait getting food from kitchen. Hot and as ordered with not oops when it did arrive. They were especially busy for a week night, however probably due to being December.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overall a great experience. We arrived a little early for our reservation and were told we would be seated at our time. So, we waited 25 minutes until it seemed she remembered we were waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Delicious food served at a good temperature. Friendly attentive staff too

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Went to Cantina 1511 to meet a friend for dinner. John, our server, was very informative and attentive. We tried the new margarita for 2 and it was great! They shake it table-side and serve. We also ordered the table -side guacamole and it was delicious - always a good choice. The Veggie Enchiladas were very flavorful and yummy. Would recommend all of our selections!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We always enjoy going to Cantina 1511. We love the Mexican BBQ. The drinks are good too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Made a reservation and still waited 40 minutes to be seated. I know it was a Saturday night, that's why we made a reservation. That will make me think twice about returning. The hostesses were not very friendly, nor helpful. It was an hour after our reservation before we got any food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the evening! However, we had to wait 45 minutes even though we had reservations. It was a tough situation as the guests in the table selected for our group did not leave as expected. Good thing we had the time to wait and were with good friends. The team should have selected another table much quicker....

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Reservations are needed, yet still had to wait about 15 minutes for a table.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good food and good service. Great fajitas and guacamole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We have been going here for years, since it moved to Stonecrest. The last time were were there in the late summer (a saturday night) the service was HORRIBLE...had to ask for our meal, drink refills and the manager finally personally waited on us...TOTALLY UNDERSTAFFED!. This Saturday night was OK, not great, not horrible. However, it did appear VERY TIRED and certainly nothing special. The food was OK Tex Mex, Margarita were C+ to B, restaurant Margaritas. The only reason that we would go back is that the food is adequate and THEY TAKE RESERVATIONS. Otherwise, there are a lot of better options for this type of food, Cantina is just a bit more upscale.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always good Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Queso was AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was decent, but not extraordinary. We always receive good service, although this time our waiter seemed a little overburdened and therefore took awhile to get back to our table to refresh drinks and take entrée orders. We were seated in an annex section, and the temperature was uncomfortably cold when the AC was running.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love the food- ours was a little cold for the most part. Our server could have been quite a bit better and more attentive/ amicable. Overall it was not as fantastic as in the past, but I would definitely try it again because I have had good experiences in the past.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First time here, got the burrito and my friend got the quesadillas and we both left extremely satisfied. Large portions, good beer selection and service, too. It gets busy so a reservation is strongly recommended to avoid the 1hr+ plus wait that I heard the hostess tell others when I was checking in.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food and service were both great Davis was an excellent server and took good care of our table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food is excellent! Love the guac! Great waiter!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I went their for my birthday on Oct. 22 and had reservations at 6:00. We were promptly seated and waited on. The food was excellent as always and we had a great time. They even brought out a free piece of cake and it was wonderful. Will be back again soon!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was delicious, our server was excellent but it took nearly an hour to get the food after we ordered it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Casual, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.