Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.60mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.60mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.60mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.60mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi

About California Market at Pacific’s Edge

The new California Market at Pacific’s Edge is the exciting fusion of the Hyatt Carmel Highlands' two popular and award-winning restaurants, the casual bistro California Market and the fine dining Pacific's Edge.

After the biggest renovation in the hotel's 100-year history, the California Market at Pacific’s Edge is ready to welcome diners for breakfast, lunch and dinner on its expansive new 870-square-foot deck, featuring louvered roof and glass-panel walls with dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and the Big Sur coast.

Combining the best of both worlds, California Market is committed to fresh, organic, locally grown and raised ingredients to create food that not only fulfills our appetites but pleases our sensibilities.



120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 3:30pm
Lunch Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Brunch Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 3:30pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Lounge: 3:30pm - closing (drinks start at 3:30pm, 4:00pm for food)

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5445

Website:
http://www.pacificsedge.com/

Entertainment:
Come and listen to the stylish voice of Neal Banks and contemporary guitar of Steve Ezzo every Friday night in the Lobos Lounge from 7:00pm to 10:00pm. Enjoy the vocal stylings of Dino Vera in the Lobos Lounge every Saturday night from 7:00pm until 10pm. Peer at the wildlife on Bird Rock at Point Lobos through the ship's telescope in the corner, then drop the lens and join the party, dancing to tunes such as "Great Balls of Fire," one of their more raucous covers that always seems to get everyone up and dancing in merriment.

Catering:

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking. Drive your car to the front steps and the friendliest valets in the world will happily park your car for you. Towards the end of your meal, have your server summon your car. Nothing could be more convenient, other than an overnight stay here at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands where you could walk to your room after dinner.

Executive Chef:
Chad Minton, Executive Chef and Alvaro Dalmau, Executive Sous Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Named one of the top 20 restaurants in the United States by Wine Spectator, Pacific's Edge is ideal for every occasion; from wedding receptions to corporate events. Set high atop a cliff in Carmel overlooking Monterey's Big Sur coastline, our private dining room will enchant your guests with its warmth and beauty. Glass enclosed for privacy, our Wine Room can seat up to 40 guests and provides a personal wait staff for the ultimate in service and elegance.

Contact one of our sales professionals at 831.622.5445.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our Facebook Page for upcoming special events: https://www.facebook.com/hyattcarmelhighlands/events

California Market at Pacific’s Edge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (31)
Special Occasion (24)
Waterfront (22)
See All
Romantic (20)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fireplace (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
1829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wonderful meal and view. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Sevice was great our sever named David was very attentive and made excellent recommendations as the night went on. Will go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food and wine and absolutely magnificent view of the Pacific Ocean. We were there on a special occasion and had a delightful lunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter brunch and we're disappointed. The service was friendly but slow - plates were left on the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

If it were not for the truly amazing view of the pacific ocean from high up on a spectacular hillside, this would have been a bad experience. There were 5 of us at a table, when the waiter came and asked us if we wanted cocktails or wine before dinner, he only waited around for two of us to order. The others didn't get a drink until halfway through their main course even though they asked twice (nicely). The two of us that had the opportunity to get a first cocktail, never had the opportunity to ask the waiter for a refill or another type of drink. In fact, we saw the waiter, three times only.....cocktail order, dinner order, and bill delivery. Otherwise, runners were used to deliver the mediocre dinner. Only during the check delivery, was the waiter enthused to serve us. As an example of the mediocre dinner, I ordered ceviche as an appetizer; I was delivered three slices of a shrimp that had been 'cooked' in lime juice. There was no other type of seafood on the plate....just a lot of sauce covering the meager shrimp ($16). For my main course, I ordered the south pacific bouillabaisse ($46). It was delivered, but I could not eat it for about 5 minutes because I had no spoon. Although the bowl was filled with many clams and mussels, they were empty shells.It was the most flavorless bouillabaisse that I have had. If that was the first time I had bouillabaisse, I would think it horrible. I would not recommend this restaurant for its service or food. The others at my table had similar feelings. Again however, the view is absolutely stunning.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The view is unbeatable. If you want an outdoor table, make sure to request that specifically during your reservation or be prepared to wait. However, there are many indoor tables with great views as well. The service is mediocre (a bit slow/not particularly attentive). However, the food is pretty good and very decently priced for this kind of view! I often bring first time visitors here for the view, but when it's just us/locals, we don't often visit.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Incredible view although bring sunglasses for pre and sunset as it is very very sunny even with some cloud cover. The food is good. The service is good. The speed of the food to the table is a bit slow. If you are in no hurry it is a great place to enjoy the view.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Our diners were delicious but VERY pricey! The abolone appetizer was quite small for the price! The service was poor....it took way to let NATO get our main course. Then the waiter promised to make it up with "comping" desserts but he disappeared. We arrived early to eat the crowd because we had an infant with us, and made it clear that we couldn't dally. The waiter seemed oblivious to our need. We never got those desserts.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Breathtaking views! As locals, we love to take guests here. Good food as well!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great spot for locals like us or visitors. New deck is spectacular with glass shield to minimize wind. Get there before sunset! Indoor setting for happy hour is also special !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We enjoyed our meal , and the setting is fantastic. Perhaps the restaurant was short handed because the service was slow in terms of bringing wine, picking up check. Food arrived quickly though.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

From the moment we were greeted and taken to our seats, we had a fabulous experience.
Our server greeted us immediately and offered us drinks. Each of our dishes was delicious and cooked perfectly. The service throughout our meal was perfect-not overbearing and not avoidant. We were entertaining friends from San Francisco. One of them is a former chef and loved the place. We will definitely return on their next visit. And let's not forget the stupendous views.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

What a great view! The price of the view is reflected in the entree pricing. For the same $46, wife got three scallops and I got the bouillabaisse with 1 scallop, big piece of Halibut, two shrimp and six clams. The protein quantity for the same price way off. Disappointed.
The food was good, the Brussels Sprouts and the Octopus starters were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The view and the ambience were terrific. Three of the four of us thought their meals delicious - the other meal was ordinary. Service just a bit spotty for what you would expect for this type of restaurant. Overall, a positive experience.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Lovely and convenient but way over priced. Tuna was not fresh - sent back. Food was good not great but very very expensive. Vegetarian pasta in 30's and salmon entree in 40's.

Beautiful hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The California Market Place at the Highlands is always a favorite location. We enjoyed our food and had good service. There was some remodeling going on, but it did not affect our experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I was disappointed when we asked for a window seat the host said no, when she had just sat a couple at a window seat right before us. She gave us some excuse that the last table available had to be saved for a group of four. She immediately (within 5 minutes after we were situated) sat a couple at the same table that I requested. The food was ok; for the price, I would say nothing spectacular. With the exception of the spectacular view, I would save the money and find another location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The plant-based tasting menu was delicious and unique. The duck was prepared will although not as special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The view is spectacular and the ambiance is nice. I was disappointed in the food and the service, while friendly, was a bit on the slow side. The price was silly high. It's a great place
for a once in a blue moon visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Amazing views that go forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The renovation of this restaurant has resulted in an incredible outside experience, which ironically has been timed perfectly as just 6 miles south Highway One is closed so no one can enjoy Big Sur restaurants. We were here for lunch, and the setting, the service and the food are just superb. It just doesn't get any better!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I really enjoyed the tuna tartare. The servers were extremely attentive and we had an incredible view from our table. I would definitely go back and try lunch next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Disappointed The food was nothing special and the service is spotty. We have not been to Pacific edge in years and we're looking forward to returning, it certainly was not the same as it used to be. I honestly could not recommend a special occasion there

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service and eats! After dinner we enjoyed a nightcap next to large fireplace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our favorite restraunt on the Monterey Pinensula with amazing views of thePacific and Point Reyes. The service and food is always equally as good!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

What a terrible restaurant. Two hours of waiting and terrible food. The waitress was untrained. We came for our anniversary and they had to Comp our terrrible meal. Somehow the Hyatt has wrecked this place. Don't eat here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This restaurant has amazing views so that's the draw, and the menu and pricing suggests a higher standard for service and quality. Though the bar was excellent and the cocktails creative and well made, dinner service was spotty, our mains were delivered when we had not even finished half our starters. We waved off the entrees and after our appetizer plates removed, the server asked us if we were ready to see the dessert menu. We told the server we had not received our mains yet, and when they finally arrived they came out lukewarm--likely because they had remained under a heat lamp while we had finished our starters and then waited an inordinate amount of time for the mains to arrive. It's not worth the view, or these prices, for this level of service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very disappointing service. Surly waiter who never cracked a smile. Arrogant attitude. Food was good, but not great. You are paying for a great view which of course you can't see at night, so not worth the price you pay. There are many other better, more quaint restaurants in Carmel. Won't go back!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Restaurant is beautiful
Great ocean view
Food was amazing ....
The only drawback was our waiter. A middle age man that was very sarcastic.
I have some food allergies and when I asked him a question about my food options .
He replied ( just read the menu).....
His attitude ruined the whole evening for us. And It was my husband 's birthday ...
All evening he had that sarcastic look on his face...
(Just wish I Could remember his name..)
Everyone else was so graceful
I will go back again , I will make sure that I got a different waiter...
I do recommend the restaurant.
I wish they had a gluten free option ...

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Fantastic views from every vantage point in the dining room. Wonderful service and some great variety on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Just a spectacular spot, one of the very few where the view and the food are both extraordinary. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our experience began in a benign manner. The regular, non-bottled water was served in unattractive amber glasses reminiscent of a cheap diner. We brought a very special bottle of champagne and a French burgundy in celebration of a birthday. As I watched, the waiter popped the cork of the champagne. He clearly touched his nose to the opening, resulting in a reflex nose wipe. Then he promptly whisked the bottle away for some unknown reason. Ten minutes later, we were forced to inquire as to the whereabouts of our bottle. At that point, we discerned that this man lacked a sense of refinement in his experience and training. A clear departure from our experience three months prior, and the very reason we had returned. A beet salad arrived with a meager portion and only one bite of avocado. The winter salad, boasting of nuts and blue cheese, arrived with a dressing speckled with trace amounts of dilute blue cheese. Discussion of the pasta of the day revealed the presence of artichokes, a flavor I dislike. I was assured the dish could be made sans offensive vegetable. Upon presentation, the pasta dish contained cherry tomatoes and large chunks of an unidentified ingredient. With a flavor reminiscent of artichokes, I sent the dish back. It was promptly returned with the explanation that large sections of (surprise) mushrooms were amongst the large macaroni shaped pastas, as literally pointed out by the server as he stuck his finger inside my bowl within a half inch of my food. Apparently clairvoyant, he informed me that my thoughts were erroneous. Obviously, I did not care for the flavor of the $34 bowl of pasta. No offer was ever made to replace it with another entree, something that I would have expected given it was an inexpensive, vegetarian, pasta dish. Thank goodness for the wonderful mushroom risotto my husband ordered to diminish my hunger. The bottom line; We will not return. Quite honestly, this server is out of his element.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was mediocre and offensively overpriced. The best part of the restaurant is the view and, unfortunately, it was dark so we couldn't see the ocean. The service was excellent.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wow! What a view! Not to mention the food was outstanding. Ordered a delicious Caesar salad and the dry aged ribeye which was tender and cut like butter. Seabass with mussels clams and scallop dish was delicious and the perfect two meals to share. Got there a bit early to sit in the bar for a great happy hour. Lemon drop lavender martini and Manhattan was awesome for $8.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Historic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Came here for dinner after a day of driving along the coast from San Francisco. What a great way to the end the day. My only disappointment was that our reservation was after the sun had set and knowing we missed on a beautiful view. But otherwise this was a great experience. Excellent service and the food was superb. My fiancé and I shared the grilled octopus appetizer which I was afraid was going to be tough given octopus's consistency but it was so tender!! Amazing!! My fiancé opted for the prime steak which was delicious and perfectly cooked. I had the chicken which was delicious. Lots of good choices on the menu. It was tough to narrow it down! The only mediocre portion was the dessert...a pumpkin cheesecake which was lackluster in comparison to the outstanding nature of the rest of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

View is great and can't be beat....we were there for New Years Eve so that may skew my review, but the service was not good and the food was good, not great, and overpriced. But again it was New Years.. Wine came late after first course, then first course was cleared and almost 15 minutes until 2nd course, then 15-20 minutes between 2nd course and 3rd course.. So kind of sloppy, but the staff just seemed busy and disorganized as opposed to rude. Sommelier was helpful. Worth a try - go in daylight to take advantage of the views.. But be prepared you are paying a premium and there are probably better pure cuisine options in Carmel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always Pacific's Edge is a wonderful experience, coupled with a terrific wine list and outstanding cuisine. We enjoyed the New Year's Prix Fixe menu and thoroughly enjoyed the wine pairing recommendations from our Master Sommelier. Starting with pre-dinner drinks in the lounge, we watched the sun go down with a Tanqueray and tonic, while I had a glass of Roederer L'Ermitage. The balsamic brussel sprouts are not to be missed, nor was the prime rib or the creme brulée. Of course a finish with 12 year old Macallan and a Kir Royale rounded the evening beautifully.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A delightful experience. Food like art. Impeccable service. The sommelier picked the perfect wine. I checked the wine later because I am always curious about mark-ups. The mark-up was fair.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First, the service was outstanding the waiter did everything he could to try to rectify the fact
the food was horrible. Not bad, horrible. Borderline comical. Ordered a Beet Salad with polenta what I got was a glob of brown flavorless polenta with about 5 beets in a brown dish. The waiter immediately replaced it with a "winter" salad or, bag salad with watery blue cheese dressing. Then came the lamb shank. Oh my God, it was unrecognizable as a lamb shank with some sort of orange goo on the side. I was just going to let it go but the waiter insisted on getting me something else and served a filet. Crusty on the outside and raw in the middle. Not rare, purple cold raw. I give up. My wifes duck was good not great. My wife wanted desert so we ordered a bread pudding that was outstanding. The waiter did not charge us for any of my food and we tipped him well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.