Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.60mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.60mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.60mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi
  1. Distance: 2.14mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.60mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi

About California Market at Pacific’s Edge

The new California Market at Pacific’s Edge is the exciting fusion of the Hyatt Carmel Highlands' two popular and award-winning restaurants, the casual bistro California Market and the fine dining Pacific's Edge.

After the biggest renovation in the hotel's 100-year history, the California Market at Pacific’s Edge is ready to welcome diners for breakfast, lunch and dinner on its expansive new 870-square-foot deck, featuring louvered roof and glass-panel walls with dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and the Big Sur coast.

Combining the best of both worlds, California Market is committed to fresh, organic, locally grown and raised ingredients to create food that not only fulfills our appetites but pleases our sensibilities.



120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 3:30pm
Lunch Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Brunch Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 3:30pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Lounge: 3:30pm - closing (drinks start at 3:30pm, 4:00pm for food)

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5445

Website:
http://www.pacificsedge.com/

Entertainment:
Come and listen to the stylish voice of Neal Banks and contemporary guitar of Steve Ezzo every Friday night in the Lobos Lounge from 7:00pm to 10:00pm. Enjoy the vocal stylings of Dino Vera in the Lobos Lounge every Saturday night from 7:00pm until 10pm. Peer at the wildlife on Bird Rock at Point Lobos through the ship's telescope in the corner, then drop the lens and join the party, dancing to tunes such as "Great Balls of Fire," one of their more raucous covers that always seems to get everyone up and dancing in merriment.

Catering:

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking. Drive your car to the front steps and the friendliest valets in the world will happily park your car for you. Towards the end of your meal, have your server summon your car. Nothing could be more convenient, other than an overnight stay here at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands where you could walk to your room after dinner.

Private Party Facilities:
Named one of the top 20 restaurants in the United States by Wine Spectator, Pacific's Edge is ideal for every occasion; from wedding receptions to corporate events. Set high atop a cliff in Carmel overlooking Monterey's Big Sur coastline, our private dining room will enchant your guests with its warmth and beauty. Glass enclosed for privacy, our Wine Room can seat up to 40 guests and provides a personal wait staff for the ultimate in service and elegance.

Contact one of our sales professionals at 831.622.5445.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our Facebook Page for upcoming special events: https://www.facebook.com/hyattcarmelhighlands/events

California Market at Pacific’s Edge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (56)
Waterfront (36)
Romantic (32)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Great for Brunch (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (5)
Historic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1888 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

This is a restaurant with stunning views. The food was quite tasty as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined a day ago

Great Sunday breakfast. Everything was much improved from last time - food, service, seating - all were excellent! Grilled cheese sandwich to die for and poached eggs with corned beef hash delish. Service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We expected the spectacular view and Pacific sunset, but the service and the food quality matched the view! Our server, David, made excellent wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Unforgettable view and a memorable dining experience. The food is very good, but the view of the Pacific coastline below makes for a sublime and wonderful time.

Get a late lunch reservation so you can get a table with a view.

Amazing!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Loved our evening - was special in every way. The view is beyond comparison and everything else was incredible! Amazing evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Server disappeared after I questioned his wine choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Table server was excellent and professional. Bar staff and bus attendants were not as professional as I would expect in this caliber of restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We took two friends to the California Market on Saturday, July 15th and had a great lunch. The location is superb, as is the view, and we were given a table in a window corner with views in all directions. It was much quieter than we had expected, which made for great conversation. The service was attentive when we first arrived but we had to go looking for a server at one point for refills of iced tea. Being able to make a reservation in advance was also great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The scenery is spectacular and service is excellent. The food is very good, but a bit pricey. Watch the sunset while looking over the Pacific.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 9, 2017

One of our favorites as local people. Great views abound. Food is great, especially sea bass, short ribs and bread pudding dessert! Don't think about it! Go!!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Reservation for 1pm. Window table.
My food (Eggs Benedict) was cold. The other two (guests) were fine. I did not send it back because we never saw our waiter again. Finally we got someone when we needed and had to ask for hot & more coffee. No one came to ask us if the food was all right. I have been here for lunch during the week when the service was outstanding. The food hot. Great view.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Diana seated us outside and it was overlooking the water. She was incredibly nice and is a very special lady. Food was great, and cannot wait to come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Beautiful views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Exceeded expectations in all aspects for a romantic date. View is spectacular. Fantastic

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My wife and I have been to Pacific's Edge a number of times and it has previously been a perfect experience. However last night was a major disappointment. The appetizer was OK but uninspired. The sea bass entree, which we split, was not hot and the fish was tough. Also, the kitchen wouldn't split it on two plates, with the sever even commenting that she was surprised. We were going to split a second entree but decided against it. Instead, we had an heirloom tomato salad with the tomato being mealy.

Overall, the service was subpar. However, we did tell the server about the tomato salad which she removed from the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were fortunate to secure a corner window table overlooking the rugged Pacific coastline below and the view was the beginning of a very wonderful dining experience. Appetizers started with tuna tartar which was average fare. However I would highly recommend the seared octopus appetizer, which was truly outstanding and flavorable. Main courses were sea bass and scallops, which again were prepared to perfection followed by a shared dessert. I must also comment that the service from beginning to end was prompt and timely. The best recommendation I could give is that we would dine there again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Overall very good. However, we went for a birthday and we were the only table who didn't get anything done for a birthday. I did ask about it and she said she overlooked it on her table assignment. She felt bad, but by then it was a little late. We did enjoy it overall, just didn't feel like a special celebration. Food was good with exception to bread pudding ( didn't soak it long enough). Might comeback, but no rush to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We went to the Pacific Rim for our 10 yr wedding anniversary. The views of the ocean were fantastic (after we asked to be moved due to special occasion). If we would've gotten our reservation earlier, we could've enjoyed it longer. The sea bass was good. For the prices, I'm not sure it was worth quite the cost. Our waiter was friendly and gave nice recommendations. Not a 5 star restaurant. There just wasn't the complexity in the flavor. But, generally, an enjoyable restaurant for the views and ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2017

California Market has moved into Pacific Edge with a new deck space. We were worried that the view wouldn't be as nice, the service different, the menu changed. But it's only better! Heaters are great, the servers are the same, the view beautiful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I celebrated my 60th birthday here with my husband and 2 dear friends. It was our first visit and our friends suggestion. It didn't disappoint. The view was spectacular and the service and food were outstanding. We will definitely go back and tell our friends to go as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food was excellent and beautifully presented, the view was absolutely spectacular (I jokingly asked our server how much he had to pay to work there), and the service was exceptional.

We were joined with my brother and his wife, and a friend from the Central Valley for what turned into a lazy, four hour lunch. We were never rushed.

Great food with a spectacular view: what more can one say?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 28, 2017

A bit pricey. Service wasn't as good as you would expect for a restaurant of this caliber. Food was good. The view is amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We specifically went for the plant based tasting menu. It is difficult as plant based eaters to be able to find a fine dining experience that will suit our needs. There has been a lot of promotion surrounding this option so we thought we'd try it. The food was outstanding! Thanks to the chef for showcasing this option. Just beware that it is a "tasting menu" which means it is not much for volume. However, the attention to detail with the flavors, colors, and presentation was well worth it! We were a bit disappointed though, that the waiter commented about whether we finished something. It did not seem to be in a way to see if there was something wrong with it, but more like a comment that caused us to feel uncomfortable for not finishing something or eating the bread and butter. The view was fantastic! Overall it was a positive experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

One of the best dining experiences we've ever had from the incredible view to the excellent food and outstanding service. I'm only sorry that the Inn was full and that we couldn't stay there. We're very glad that we at least made plans to dine there while we were in Carmel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 22, 2017

great views; good food; they had no record of our reservation. service was just ok

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

View is breathtaking. Service is SLOW. We have been here several times and a literal fire under them would not make the wait staff move any more quickly. It’s such a pleasant place to be but I still don’t want to spend 2 1/2 or 3 hours on lunch which is what is took.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We stayed in hotel that houses this restaurant, and heard it was very good. Had an 8 pm reservation, hostess put us in the bar and forgot us. Waitress was lovely but forget to bring my wine. Food was fine but not as creative as we'd hoped. Ocean views are magnificent, and that's what saved this experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great place. Amazing views and perfect spot to check out the sunset. Great food. Even had a couple drinks on the deck before dinner. Highly recommended for splurge date night. Staff was very friendly as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

What an outstanding experience! The perfect view of the ocean, the Cypress forest, and the sunset. The food was excellent (we heartily recommend the plant-based tasting menu) and with lovely presentation. Great service in a beautiful setting. We will definitely come here again for our next special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and could not have chosen a better place. We were shown to a table in the corner on the windows that had wonderful views on an extremely clear evening. We started with an evening special heirloom tomato salad that was basically a caprese except instead of balsamic, it was a delicate mint infused drizzle. My husband ordered the boullaibase which he raved about, I had the short ribs which were the most tender and flavourful I have ever had. To top it off we shared creme Brule. The service was impeccable and made for a truly memorable anniversary celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Amazing views make sure to come at sunset. The food was great, expensive but worth it. Large piece of salmon and my boyfriend loved his lamb. We had great service from Tim. The creme brûlée was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Amazing ocean views, delicious fish tacos,
one of our favorite places for breakfast or lunch!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Disappointed that my reservation request was disregarded and that I was seated in third row instead of requested window table.

We saw a table then used later for a walk-in and were further more surprised.

We were seated behind a messy service station and a noisy table due to child but still enjoyed the time with my company - it was our anniversary and the waiter was good.

However, considering that we stayed at the hotel (received an anniversary letter) and that the restaurant reservation (3 weeks upfront) mentioned that it will be our anniversary and that we would love a window table - I am truly disappointed.

Best,
Moritz

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I would not return to the restaurant simply due to the chipped coffee cup saucer. A restaurant of this reputed caliber should be paying attention to the details and presentation. The chipped saucer - and I mean a thumb size chip - demonstrated lack of pride in who they were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Come early enough to enjoy the spectacular view from any seat. Strange as it may seem in the produce rich central coast it is so rare to find really special and tasty plant based menu option so the tasting menu was a real treat. Creative and beautifully presented with outstanding service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 2, 2017

fabulous view and very attentive service. The food was good but not exciting. I shall return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This is an amazing place to dine, both for the view and the food. It might be the most beautiful view of anyplace I've ever eaten, and the food was outstanding. The octopus as an appetizer was fresh and delicious. Most of our group had lamb, which was flavorful and tender. Desserts were all good too, including the creme brulee. I have to put this on my list of favorites ever! It's not inexpensive but it's worth it!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

While we didn't actually get to see the sunset due to the cloud coverage, this was very much worth the drive from Monterey Beach. The food and wine list were beyond wonderful and our waiter was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Incredible views and very good service. However, the food was not up to par for what we expected.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This is a must go to place if you stay at the Hyatt Carmel place.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.