About Café Trio

Hip & glamorous, Café Trio blends outstanding cuisine and cocktails for an award winning “Come as you are” casual fine dining experience offering the perfect “Trio” of great Local Food, Art and Live Music. The Starlet Lounge at Café Trio evokes a bygone era complete with Hollywood Starlets and the always playing classic movie with specialty martinis, traditional cocktails and an extensive list of wine and beer with Live Music Tuesday through Saturday. Large outdoor terrace offers one of kind views of the Country Club Plaza & J.C. Nichols Fountain. Chef Nick Estell uses a cornucopia of local and regional produce and artisan ingredients for a very well curated menu. Expect to be greeted with a smile by both the staff & owners, Tai and Chris. Cafe Trio is one of Kansas City's most popular restaurants awarded multiple Kansas City “Best Of” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant”.

4558 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday -Friday 2pm-6pm

DINNER / Full Menu Service: Monday: 5pm-9pm, Tuesday-Thursday: 5pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5pm -10:30pm. Sundays in December & January ONLY from 4-8pm.

Cocktails (Lounge & Deck): Monday - Friday: 2:00pm - Midnight, Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight
Kitchen & Bar Hours may Vary

Cross Street:
E. 45th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 756-3227

Website:
http://www.cafetriokc.com/

Entertainment:
Piano & Vocals. Blues & Jazz. Evenings: Tuesday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Private Lot & Street Parking.

Public Transit:
On the actual Main Street route, including the Max. Only a few feet from two stops.

Executive Chef:
Nick Estell

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe Trio hosts numerous special events year round including wine diners, art openings, costume parties and special live music engagements. Please sign up to receive emails about these events by visiting our website at cafetriokc.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Offering the very best in private event options in Kansas City. Outstanding private dining opportunities for fifteen to over a hundred guests. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of two very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Café Trio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Special Occasion (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Happy Hour (40)
Romantic (39)
Bar Seating (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Casual (34)
Live Music (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Fun (31)
Scenic View (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Cozy (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Authentic (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
People Watching (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Seasonal (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Healthy (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tapas (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined a day ago

Good food, great service, lovely deck, thanks much!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I celebrated my birthday with my husband and some friends at Cafe Trio. Our server was perfect in his timing, which surely required patience and experience since we were enjoying chatting. The wine selection was lovely. We had mussels for starters. They were delicious and plentiful. We all enjoyed our entrees. I couldn't resist getting the Bistro Tips, having had this dish on many occasions. I love the skewers of bite-sized tender pieces of grilled filet tips and veggies atop seasoned mashed potatoes. The live piano music was amazing - very creative and inspired! My birthday dessert of blackberry basil ice box pie was a unique treat! Loved it! #favoritekcrestaurant

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Celebrated my birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We have eaten many times at Cafe Trio and this visit was as outstanding as any we've had. My wife was extremely pleased with her Roasted Chicken and found it's preparation unique and delicious. After eating the Parmesan Encrusted Halibut, I can say that it was one the best halibut dishes I've eaten. We always enjoy having Richard as our server — he remembers us and was attentive and friendly, as usual. With any luck we'll be returning to Cafe Trio soon!

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We have discovered all day Monday happy hour. Pure joy!!! Cafe trio has THE BEST chicken livers in k.c , bar none. Never get tired of them. Their Tuscan flat bread is also exceptional.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great Vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We we're visiting from out of town and Trio came highly recommended. Very well done and ambiance was fantastic. It's nice to be able to have a conversation during dinner even with an outdoor patio which was exceptional. We booked the day before and got lucky with a nice table outside, still, I'd recommend booking at least two days before.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great wine, great food, great service. What else do you need?

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent food, service , and a wonderful piano player.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Cafe Trio never disappoints. They keep great staples on the menu and change up other offerings seasonally.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

First time in KC
It was our first time here
Will be back
Loved it

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great place to eat and drink. The patio was great the food was stellar and the drinks were perfect. Staff was knowledgeable on the menu and its a great place visit!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Enjoyed our wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Beautiful inside and out. Great service and Ty has done a lovely job of making everyone feel welcome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Really nice swordfish and chicken entrees. Piano music was varied and enjoyable. Great ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Had a great birthday lunch on the patio. We were seated at the very south end which was a bIt loud due to street traffic. Our lunches were deliscious. I had the quiche of the day with a coconut curry carrot soup. My sister had the shrimp skewers with she raved about.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The setting is nice and the service was very good. For a $90 meal (without alcohol), I expect the food to be exceptional and while the meal was good, it definitely wasn't exceptional. Had we explored more reasonably priced options, I might have a different feeling, but I suspect one is paying more for the location than anything else.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Only our second time here but now one of our go-to's. My partner tried the mac n cheese which is claimed to be best in KC...oh yes! I'm not a big fan of mac n cheese but I loved it. Not too creamy...perfectly "toasted". I had the trout...fabulous! The dumplings were amazing...where do they get the smoky flavor? The green beans were a little al dente...not a big deal.

Service was impeccable!

We were outside which is nice...the dining room inside has a wonderful ambiance with pianist. Very nice overall and can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Just love this restaurant! The food and service were great. No complaints or suggestions for anything at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Really disappointing service. We love the food and the deck but we were offered the worst table in the restaurant and then bullied into leaving by a certain time when we asked to sit at another table. The other reservation was at 8 and at 7:40 in the middle of our entrees tried to move us. Offered us another table which we were happy to move to AFTER we finished our entrees then gave it away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Atmosphere and service are always exceptional at Café Trio. The menu is full of affordable and delicious offerings. Happy hour is an excellent value and the live music alone is worth the trip. Café Trio never disappoints.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Cafe Trio never lets me down. My favorite restaurant for all occasions. I especially like to bring out-of-town guests to Cafe Trio to show them what Kansas City has to offer.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We come to Cafe Trio each year for my wife's birthday and always have a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was our first experience at Cafe' Trio and really enjoyed the evening with the live piano music in the background during our time there. Our server said it was her first night working and she did a great job! It was a learning experience for all of us. The crab cakes appetizer was delicious. I had the hanger steak and ordered it to be medium, but it was very much on the medium rare side, which was a little disappointing, but I am not one to send my food back to the kitchen unless the cow is still mooing on my plate when it gets to the table. I did not care for the dressing that comes with the house salad, but other than that the food was all really great. I was glad that I was able to substitute the baby red potatoes for the horseradish mashed potatoes without any problem or up charge. We will definitely be going back, but glad I was able to get my first experience out of the way so I know what to order/not order for next time so that my next experience will be even better.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our server was excellent! There were 6 of us and our food was poor to fair. Very disappointed but I our server did everything to help the situation. She took 1/2 off one girl's bill that just couldn't eat her food. I was very disappointed. I have been here once before and I remember the food being better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Cafe Trio is always "top notch" dining! One of our favorite places to dine in all of Kansas City. From the food, the atmosphere, the art, the fabulous patio, great piano music . . . I could go on and on. The wait staff is superior and always remembers us. A true treasure in this area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything clicked on our last visit to Café Trio. We arrived about 30 minutes ahead of our reservation to enjoy cocktails at the bar. We were promptly and warmly served at the bar. Once our table was ready, we were seated and to our delight, we had our favorite server so we new we were in for a fun evening. The food presentation was spot-on and each of us commented on how delicious. Live pianist in the background, great friends, delicious food and drink in such a terrific, independent restaurant all made for a magical evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always enjoy eating on the deck. Love the ambiance and the view.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

AWESOME PLACE WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANY AND EVERYBODY ! STAFF WAS WONDERFUL , AND HELPFUL . GOING HERE IS A MUST!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We celebrated out anniversary and enjoyed the evening. Food, service and venue were excellent. We arrived early so we had several seating choices. Staff was courteous and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. They always have lovely piano music playing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This meal was for our 50th anniversary and Cafe Trio did a terrific job for our event. A great waiter, terrific seating, wonderful food and a great welcome. I highly recommend Cafe Trio for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We took our family out to dinner before our youngest two head off to college. Wonderful food and service! Would have loved to sit out on the patio but it was raining. Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Antipasto was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Son and girl friend in from SF and wanted to treat them to one of our favorite local spots. As always, excellent food, service and environment!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

First time visitors celebrating our anniversary. Server made several menu recommendations and spoke highly of the entire menu. Ordered the caprese tower which did not disappoint. Wife ordered Seafood Lasgana and I ordered a filet. Both were awesome. Unfortunately no room for dessert. Look forward to returning and not waiting for next anniversary to do so!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great evening out with family for a birthday celebration! Food and service were awesome! Fun drinks too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Minimal service, crab cakes aren't as good as they used to be, piano player was like listening to live elevator music, disliked seafood lasagna with vinegary kale. Lots of police action outside, which isn't the restaurant's fault, but didn't make me feel very safe. My husband did like his chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always enjoy the atmosphere! The service is Excellent! The menu is always changing and to my delight they also have Gluten Free Options!!
I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Café Trio is one of my favorite restaurants. Great atmosphere whether you are dining inside or out. Always good food! Never know what celebrity you might see there.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.