About Café Trio

Hip & glamorous, Café Trio blends outstanding cuisine and cocktails for an award winning “Come as you are” casual fine dining experience offering the perfect “Trio” of great Local Food, Art and Live Music. The Starlet Lounge at Café Trio evokes a bygone era complete with Hollywood Starlets and the always playing classic movie with specialty martinis, traditional cocktails and an extensive list of wine and beer with Live Music Tuesday through Saturday. Large outdoor terrace offers one of kind views of the Country Club Plaza & J.C. Nichols Fountain. Chef Nick Estell uses a cornucopia of local and regional produce and artisan ingredients for a very well curated menu. Expect to be greeted with a smile by both the staff & owners, Tai and Chris. Cafe Trio is one of Kansas City's most popular restaurants awarded multiple Kansas City “Best Of” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant”.

4558 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday -Friday 2pm-6pm

DINNER / Full Menu Service: Monday: 5pm-9pm, Tuesday-Thursday: 5pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5pm -10:30pm. Sundays in December & January ONLY from 4-8pm.

Cocktails (Lounge & Deck): Monday - Friday: 2:00pm - Midnight, Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight
Kitchen & Bar Hours may Vary

Cross Street:
E. 45th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 756-3227

Website:
http://www.cafetriokc.com/

Entertainment:
Piano & Vocals. Blues & Jazz. Evenings: Tuesday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Private Lot & Street Parking.

Public Transit:
On the actual Main Street route, including the Max. Only a few feet from two stops.

Executive Chef:
Nick Estell

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe Trio hosts numerous special events year round including wine diners, art openings, costume parties and special live music engagements. Please sign up to receive emails about these events by visiting our website at cafetriokc.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Offering the very best in private event options in Kansas City. Outstanding private dining opportunities for fifteen to over a hundred guests. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of two very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Café Trio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Live Music (48)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Romantic (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Happy Hour (35)
Great for Lunch (35)
Bar Seating (35)
Scenic View (34)
Casual (34)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Cozy (33)
Fun (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Groups (21)
People Watching (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Authentic (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Seasonal (10)
Private Room (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Historic (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Tapas (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 17 hours ago

Had such a blast.! Jermey was not pur server but spoke to us the most because he is awesome. Be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

This is my GO TO place for happy hour and a snack. As always great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband & I went for dinner on our anniversary. We were greeted and Congratulated by our hostess as she directed us to our table. The waitress assigned to our table also wished us felicitations for our special occasion. She was very nice and chatty even though my husband tried to keep her talking forever. The live piano music was a great surprise and the ambiance was lovely.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We've been to cafe trio several times and have never been disappointed. Food so GOOD. Servers always attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

We had reservations, but had to wait almost 30 minutes for a table. They weren't too busy so I'm not sure why it took so long. They were apologetic, but made no effort to make amends. Not that we would've taken them up on the offer, but the gesture would've been appreciated especially since it was my friends birthday. I had two of their specials, the wedge salad and pork chops, but was underwhelmed. Everyone else said their food was quite good. Jake was our server and he was polite and we felt taken care of; his hospitality was greatly appreciated. I was surprised it took us nearly 3 hours for dinner. Maybe they were short staffed and the kitchen was running slow? Regardless we had quite a good time and I hope to try it again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

As mentioned above every thing was excellent. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Cara was a fantastic server. Enjoyed her attention.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food and fun atmosphere. The live music was fun....just a little loud for trying to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

My mother came in from Miami for Mother's Day so this was a special occasion, her last evening here. We orIginally had reservations at J.Alexanders.

We had 3 different servers for this dinner, a little confusing. My brother ordered a glass of Cava and it truly was not served cold enough. The second glass was the same when the server replaced it, but she did offer to replace it with a glass of red if it was not to his liking. No other issues other than the confusing server situation, and apparently a new menu that the first server, to his own admittance, knew nothing much about. My mother and my brother both ordered beef filet and I had a wedge salad and the Tuscan flatbread. Nothing special about my dinner, although she did not bring red pepper flakes as I requested. We were informed of all-day happy hour on Mondays.
Cafe Trio is one of my favorite Kansas City restaurants. I will be back, I find the back patio most enjoyable and I loooove the martinis!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We reserved a table for four on their special Mother's Day brunch, and had a wonderfully tasty time! The menu - both for grown-ups and kids - was phenomenal, and the $5 mimosas were a perfect accompaniment!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was poor. Food was good but average. 1 appetizer, 2 entrees and 1 glass of wine was $80. Nice outdoor patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Cafe Trio has been a favorite spot for my wife and me for many years. Unfortunately, it was a bit off on this visit. The service was - as always - excellent. The surprise was the pork chop - one of their long-time specialties. It seemed considerably smaller than in the past, was more expensive, and borderline dry. It was also our wedding anniversary (as we noted on Open Table), yet that was not mentioned at any point.

In all fairness, Cafe Trio is excellent, and even great spots deserve some grace. We will be back, no doubt. I'll likely just order something else and trust all will be right in the universe once more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The staff from a hotel on a previous trip to Kansas City recommended Cafe Trio and we thoroughly enjoyed it then and it was just as good the second time; if not better than the first time. Our waitress, Kara, was a joy to interact with.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service and food and lovely day on the deck.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always reliable and delicious! A regular go to place on the Plaza.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Their menu items have changed
Caesar salad & crab cakes for my dining pleasure

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was disappointing andservice was inattentive. I ordered a pork chop and it was tough and difficult to eat. The little potatoes tasty salty as their only flavor. Server never came to check on us or our food. I expected more on a Friday night. Cafe Trio had been a favorite to us. We chose it for our hard earned rewards certificate.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Jeremy gave great service. Fantastic new menu.

Tags: Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Café Trio does not disappoint. In the pouring rain, there was a nice crowd. The service is always prompt and courteous. We enjoyed a drink at the bar before our table was ready. A new quinoa salad was featured that evening (outstanding!) and the scallops are always a hit as is the Mac Daddy. Great place to meet up with friends for happy hour or a meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Live Music, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The BEST food I've had since moving to KC nrly a decade ago. I DEF plan on returning w/my husband for dinner/date night!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Historic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fun, laid-back atmosphere. Service was great! Friendly staff. Enjoyed the live music. Food was great. In my opinion, the price was a bit high compared to the portion.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Birthday

The pianist was delightful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I like that this restaurant goes out of its way to raise money for aids research. Outstanding!!! Richard is an exceptionally wonderful waiter. Such a delight. Always a fabulous experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

After seeing the deck from the road many times, I really wanted to try this place, purely for the ambiance. I had heard it was good, so my husband and I finally made a reservation for an outdoor table on a beautiful evening. The ambiance did not disappoint, and the rest of it exceeded expectations. Our waiter was friendly and prompt, and even comped our dessert just because he convinced us to try the chocolate gooey butter cake when we were not planning to order dessert. It was an amazing dessert and we gladly would've paid for it but it was a nice gesture. I got the salmon which was cooked perfectly and it came with amazing sautéed veggies. My husband got the filet, which we both think was the best filet we've ever tasted, and we've been to some fancy steakhouses! It was like butter. AND it came with an infused butter that I could've eaten with a spoon. We were only slightly disappointed with the crab cake appetizer - it was delicious but small compared to other crab cakes we've had. But with everything else we got plenty to eat! We had a wonderful meal and experience and definitely plan to come back as the menu had lots of things we want to try!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was great. Food was flavorful. Piano music was perfect backdrop to a wonderful meal.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary on this evening for dinner. We liked the ambiance of the restaurant and it had a nice patio that was covered as well as an open patio. The food was very good and prepared well with a nice presentation. The only issue we had was the cheese plate that had only 1 hard cheese and a 1 weird crumbly spicy cheese. For the price ($18)I think you should get at least 4 different cheese selections.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food and service. Enjoyed taking business friends out for lunch.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved it! Our meals were so flavorful and my cocktail (bombshell) was perfect. Great atmosphere. Would recommend most definitely. It was fairly expensive, so we probably wouldn't go on a regular basis because of that, but great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was delicious, and the service was great! Our server, Richard, was a pro..........did a fantastic job!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Birthday for my wife.
Nice venue for lunch. The portions were decent but the protein to carbohydrate ratios were off. Too much of the sweet potatoes when compared to the size of the empanadas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We went for a business dinner and the noise level was low enough that we could hear the whole table. Service was great along with great food. Definitely will come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The ambiance was great, service was good, food was wonderful. The drinks were the only diss. Good date night place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was good, but not great. We enjoyed our dinner and thought that our server was very nice. I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Greeted and seated promptly when we arrived. Immediately attended by waitperson. Ambiance was excellent as was ability to hold conversation with friends in a quiet atmosphere. We have eaten at Cafe Trio three or four times over the years both at their old a new locations. For some reason the meals this time were way below our expectations and previous experience. Service and overall experience excellent but food sub par.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in town. Love everything about Cafe Trio - especially the food quality.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Dined prior to a concert from the Happy Hour Menu. The server made sure we were his top priority and we were served very efficiently with a good sense of humor. Thank You.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

God was great. Waiter was inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Delicious, very attentive server, and the playlist! Fantastic! You might have turned into my favorite place for lunch, Cafe Trio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were running late and had to be somewhere at a specific time.
The staff was outstanding in getting us taken care of. Bravo!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

One of my favorite KC restaurants - just an overall great place to hang out with a friend, have a glass or two of wine, some good food. The piano player is an additional plus - makes your stay just that much nicer. You can't beat the 4-6 "happy hour."

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.