About Café Trio

4558 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Hip & glamorous, Café Trio blends outstanding cuisine and cocktails for an award winning “Come as you are” casual fine dining experience offering the perfect “Trio” of great Local Food, Art and Live Music. The Starlet Lounge at Café Trio evokes a bygone era complete with Hollywood Starlets and the always playing classic movie with specialty martinis, traditional cocktails and an extensive list of wine and beer with Live Music Tuesday through Saturday. Large outdoor terrace offers one of kind views of the Country Club Plaza & J.C. Nichols Fountain. Chef Nick Estell uses a cornucopia of local and regional produce and artisan ingredients for a very well curated menu. Expect to be greeted with a smile by both the staff & owners, Tai and Chris. Cafe Trio is one of Kansas City's most popular restaurants awarded multiple Kansas City “Best Of” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant”.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday -Friday 2pm-6pm

DINNER / Full Menu Service: Monday: 5pm-9pm, Tuesday-Thursday: 5pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5pm -10:30pm. Sundays in December & January ONLY from 4-8pm.

Cocktails (Lounge & Deck): Monday - Friday: 2:00pm - Midnight, Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight
Kitchen & Bar Hours may Vary

Cross Street:
E. 45th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 756-3227

Website:
http://www.cafetriokc.com/

Entertainment:
Piano & Vocals. Blues & Jazz. Evenings: Tuesday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Private Lot & Street Parking.

Public Transit:
On the actual Main Street route, including the Max. Only a few feet from two stops.

Executive Chef:
Nick Estell

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe Trio hosts numerous special events year round including wine diners, art openings, costume parties and special live music engagements. Please sign up to receive emails about these events by visiting our website at cafetriokc.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Offering the very best in private event options in Kansas City. Outstanding private dining opportunities for fifteen to over a hundred guests. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of two very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Café Trio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for a Date (69)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
See All
Romantic (63)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Cozy (46)
Live Music (44)
Happy Hour (42)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Great for Lunch (39)
Worth the Drive (38)
Scenic View (38)
Bar Seating (36)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Fun (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Casual (28)
Business Meals (22)
Modern Decor (22)
People Watching (21)
Seasonal (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Authentic (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Private Room (11)
Healthy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious, the surroundings ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious, the surroundings very pleasant, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. I will definitely be returning!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Trío is a beautiful restaurant with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Cafe Trío is a beautiful restaurant with excellent food .

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the best lamb meatball gyro lunch ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

I had the best lamb meatball gyro lunch special - the meatballs were to die for (please have them again).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. The food is delicious, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place. The food is delicious, greedy presentation, and excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Cafe Trio for Valentine's Da ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We dined at Cafe Trio for Valentine's Day and enjoyed it very much. The restaurant had a price fix menu with several good selections. The Osso Bucco was really, really good, but the short ribs were a bit chewy, but flavorful. The wine pairings were very nice and I was very glad we could choose whatever wines were on the pairing menu, not just be stuck with the pairings offered with the different courses. (I'm not much on whites, only reds.) Overall, the meal and atmosphere was really good.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had really good Valentine's dinner on ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We had really good Valentine's dinner on the patio.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our meal was really wonderful. I ordered ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Our meal was really wonderful. I ordered off the Monday Happy Hour Menu. The chicken livers & fries were delicious...cooked to perfection. My party loved their Empanada & shared a bite of his velvety sweet potato with us. Another, loved their fish tacos. Service was just right. A real winner here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service. One of th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great food and service. One of the best in KC! Especially for a chain. Under rated for plaza area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks were great. Service was great. Fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Drinks were great. Service was great. Food...not so great. We had a reservation for our Valentines date and were seating in the back by the kitchen. It was quiet and boring...couldn't hear or see the live entertainment. My steak was cold. My wife's seafood lasagna was cold in the middle. And it took forever to get our food delivered. It must have been sitting in the back getting cold for several minutes before they brought it out. I would not recommend Cafe Trio based on this visit. I definitely expect better food when I pay $120 for two people. I would have sent it back but we were already running late for our movie because it took so long for our food to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Sat at the bar to be near the piano play ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sat at the bar to be near the piano player because they pump in bad music upstairs instead of the piano.

Food, service and staff all deserve accolades.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine date, we had reservations else ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine date, we had reservations elsewhere but as I was scrolling for romantic, piano music sold me.... ambiance was perfect, perfect selection of titles she loved the entire evening.....

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Cafe Trio, wish they had a vegeta ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I love Cafe Trio, wish they had a vegetarian entree. I end up ordering a salad and side dishes. Great Cocktails

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated our Annivers ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary and really enjoyed our meal and the quiet, intimate time at the Trip Cafe. We sat upstairs, had a very attentive (but not annoying) waiter, and had such a wonderful time with great food...loved it! Debbie Sellers

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I made the reservation in advance and I ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I made the reservation in advance and I guess I should have specified that we wanted to be on the main floor. We were taken to the 2nd floor, which is okay, but not as fun as being where the people, the decor and the music are. Next time, I will know to make that request in the reservation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We have had both lunch and dinner at the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have had both lunch and dinner at the Café Trio and both experiences were great. The food is good as is the service. The décor and ambiance is very good as well. We will go back again I am sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time here, but for lunch instead ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Second time here, but for lunch instead of dinner. Had the chicken fettuccine and it was superb. Two of my party had the quiche - it was delicious they said. We had the Pot stickers as an appetizer - yummy. Menu is great - try if you havnt yet!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, , Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my go to restaurant in KC, when ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is my go to restaurant in KC, when I have an out of town guest. The service is always good, along with great drinks and wine selections. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as always goo food and good service we h ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

as always goo food and good service we had an early Valentine dinner the small plate mussells were great as was salmon chowder and salad, desert enough to share

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was knowledgeable and took go ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our server was knowledgeable and took good care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Historic, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful as always! A lovely dining exp ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful as always! A lovely dining experience for any occasion.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my wife's and my fourth time di ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my wife's and my fourth time dining here. Each time we go, I feel like we have a different experience, all good, based on where we are seated and what season we visit. Almost like 3 or 4 restaurants in one, but still a mostly intimate dining experience. The service each visit has always been outstanding, and the food delicious.

This trip, I had the Yellow Fin Tuna steak. As usual with Tuna, it's cooked very rare by default, but that's how it should be and this one was seared to perfection. My one suggestion would be to have at least three slices of tuna vs. two and lessen the sides a bit, but this is more preference than a satisfaction issue.

My wife had the 6 ounce steak filet which she said was also very good, and was cooked perfectly to her request. For an appetizer, the crab cakes were great. A little "creamier" than some other restaurants', but we felt they (2 cakes) were quite unique in flavor and texture, and again delicious.

Great variety of beverages including their fun and flavorful custom cocktails. Piano player on a Saturday night played beautifully and was not too loud. As referenced above, server was excellent, just the right amount of attention. Artwork on walls rounds out the great ambiance.

I highly recommend Cafe Trio. I am quick to decide not to go back to a restaurant for even a mediocre experience, so traveling the distance we did as many times as we've eaten here says a lot about how we feel about Cafe Trio.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Bar Seating, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT DINNER - AGAIN. WE HAVE BEEN ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

EXCELLENT DINNER - AGAIN. WE HAVE BEEN TO CAFE TRIO ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS, FROM DINNER WITH FRIENDS, BEFORE THEATER EVENTS, AND FOR NEW YEAR'S EVE. EVERY TIME WE'VE BEEN HAS ALWAYS BEEN TERRIFIC. GREAT FOOD, REASONABLE PRICES, AND GREAT SERVICE.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tried this restaurant out for the first ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Tried this restaurant out for the first time the other night. Food was phenomenal! Tried the brussel sprouts appetizer (I hate brussel sprouts) and was amazed at how great they were pan seared with pancetta. Mmmm! Also had the warm spinach salad 🥗 and filet mignon. The beef was incredible and cooked to perfection. Enjoyed it so much that we booked it for Valentine's Day dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I attended a Holiday Par ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I attended a Holiday Party at Cafe Trio and were impressed with the roasted chicken and other offerings. Despite living south of 135th Street in Overland Park, we purposed to have dinner at Cafe Trio as a couple. I made reservations for a party of six one week before we were to dine, and specifically requested a booth if possible or at the very least a table that was not in a high traffic area. For whatever reason, they seated us at a free-standing six-top just to the right of the hostess station. It would've been difficult for them to have found a less suitable table.

I made note on my reservation request that we had guests coming from out of the country to join us for my husband's 60th birthday celebration. Between the piano music (lovely, if one didn't want to have conversation, which we did), excessively dim lighting, and the constant traffic around our table, the experience was less than I had envisioned. The food was excellent, but the service was mediocre, at best. Our food dinners were very late in coming to the table. Despite notifying the restaurant ahead of time that one member of our party would need a gluten free menu, it was never mentioned until we flagged down another employee and asked for one. We were informed that the items with the yellow marks next to them indicated a gluten-free option. Nobody (ages 31 - 61) at our table could see the boxes. We resorted to cellphone flashlights. I was sincerely disappointed, not in the food, but with everything else. I do not feel as if we had any kind of real dining experience. . We came; we ate; we paid; we left. 60th birthdays are special occasions. In retrospect, I wish I would've made reservations elsewhere.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Beginning to end excellent service and e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beginning to end excellent service and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place. Will go back. Food was good, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Nice place. Will go back. Food was good, service was good too.

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner after the symphony!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Dinner after the symphony!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friend and I dined on a Tuesday evening ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Friend and I dined on a Tuesday evening before we went to nearby Unicorn Theatre. We dine at Cafe Trio about once per year. We enjoyed the Tuesday 1/2 price wine (glass or bottle). I enjoyed a salad and small plate steak pieces on skewers with sauce, fries, and roasted vegetables (very good) and my friend had a very large burger and fries (took 1/2 home). Appreciated having a pianist on an early Tuesday evening to listen to with our dinner. We will be back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had three appetizers that were all pr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had three appetizers that were all prepared perfectly and more than we could eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We introduced some friends to Cafe Trio ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We introduced some friends to Cafe Trio tonight and everything was great. Each of us had different entrees and we all had very positive responses. The food was delicious and our server, Samir, was excellent. He was very attentive without being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was told at the bar, and also at our t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I was told at the bar, and also at our table, that wine was on sale for 50% off per bottle. I mentioned to the server before we ordered that I also had a $20 off email certificate. I was told to hold onto it until she brought the bill. At the end of the meal I gave her the certificate, and off she went. She came back a few minutes later to tell me that I could not use the certificate, and get the 1/2 price bottle of wine. I decided to use the certificate because it was worth a few more dollars. I should have said something then about not being informed at the beginning that I could not use both discounts. I figured I could have purchased the bottle of wine at the bar and had it brought to the table. That way it would have been 1/2 price, as advertised. I was a bit disappointed in how this was handled, and probably won't be going back anytime soon, if ever. The server definitely should have told me up front that I could not use both discounts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My favorite restaurant never lets me dow ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My favorite restaurant never lets me down. Always a wonderful evening from the speciality martini's to the great food to the

atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great evening. Richard always t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great evening. Richard always takes good care of us.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our regular place. When we can't ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is our regular place. When we can't decide, trio is always a win. Everything on the menu has been great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food; and great atmosphere! Staff ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food; and great atmosphere! Staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and quick to handle any requests. Thanks for making our anniversary visit special.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Richard is an outstanding waiter. The fo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Richard is an outstanding waiter. The food is always delicious and they truly are glad you come in there

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends birthday.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Friends birthday.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely delicious and our se ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious and our server was personable and efficient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it Food was excellent. Good win ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved it

Food was excellent. Good wine. Nice atmosphere. I'm going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was pretty poor. Wife ordered the s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was pretty poor. Wife ordered the salmon and it seemed old. She only ate a few bites before she felt sick. She let the waiter know it wasn't good, but nothing was offered in return. Overall meal was very mediocre for the price. We were there to celebrate my wife's birthday, but don't plan to return for any future celebrations or meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.