About Café Trio

Hip & glamorous, Café Trio blends outstanding cuisine and cocktails for an award winning “Come as you are” casual fine dining experience offering the perfect “Trio” of great Local Food, Art and Live Music. The Starlet Lounge at Café Trio evokes a bygone era complete with Hollywood Starlets and the always playing classic movie with specialty martinis, traditional cocktails and an extensive list of wine and beer with Live Music Tuesday through Saturday. Large outdoor terrace offers one of kind views of the Country Club Plaza & J.C. Nichols Fountain. Chef Nick Estell uses a cornucopia of local and regional produce and artisan ingredients for a very well curated menu. Expect to be greeted with a smile by both the staff & owners, Tai and Chris. Cafe Trio is one of Kansas City's most popular restaurants awarded multiple Kansas City “Best Of” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant” designations including “Best Overall Restaurant”.

4558 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Friday 11am - 2pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday -Friday 2pm-6pm

DINNER / Full Menu Service: Monday: 5pm-9pm, Tuesday-Thursday: 5pm-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5pm -10:30pm. Sundays in December & January ONLY from 4-8pm.

Cocktails (Lounge & Deck): Monday - Friday: 2:00pm - Midnight, Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight
Kitchen & Bar Hours may Vary

Cross Street:
E. 45th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 756-3227

Website:
http://www.cafetriokc.com/

Entertainment:
Piano & Vocals. Blues & Jazz. Evenings: Tuesday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Private Lot & Street Parking.

Public Transit:
On the actual Main Street route, including the Max. Only a few feet from two stops.

Executive Chef:
Nick Estell

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cafe Trio hosts numerous special events year round including wine diners, art openings, costume parties and special live music engagements. Please sign up to receive emails about these events by visiting our website at cafetriokc.com.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Seating from 3-7 pm. Offering our regular menu with our special Thanksgiving feature.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Join Kansas City's best holiday decorated restaurant! We are open from 4-8 offering our regular menu. Credit Card required to guarantee reservation.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Offering the very best in private event options in Kansas City. Outstanding private dining opportunities for fifteen to over a hundred guests. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of two very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Café Trio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Romantic (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Live Music (38)
Happy Hour (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Casual (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Worth the Drive (31)
Fun (29)
Scenic View (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Business Meals (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Cozy (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Authentic (21)
Hot Spot (21)
People Watching (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Seasonal (12)
Healthy (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tapas (9)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great decoration for the holiday !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

What a wonderful experience we had. The wait staff was efficient and the food was excellent. Deserving of the high marks it recieves.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We ate here on a recent Friday night. The weather was nice and we were able to eat out on the deck. We shared a bottle of nice wine with our fish dishes. My companion had the swordfish and loved it. My fish entree was also delicious. We shared a blackberry icebox cake for dessert. Also good. Our server was friendly and professional. They consistently provide excellent service on the outdoor deck in spite of a challenging environment. Parking is pretty easy and the wine list is interesting. If the weather is nice, ask for the deck, but the interior is very cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Got the crab cakes - small, but made with REAL LUMPS of crab (not tiny pieces of shredded crab). Richard, our waiter, is always pleasant & attentive without being annoying. I need to remember to request him. I eat at Trio's fairly regularly - just a good place to hang with a friend...USER FRIENDLY as the saying goes. The customers are always treated right by the owners - Tai & Chris. If you've got a problem they will make it right. Really great place to eat lunch or dinner or just get a glass of wine & small plates.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely a great dining experience! We had a lovely server, who was attentive yet unobtrusive. Our perfect martinis arrived quickly. All was delicious; appetizers, entrees and dessert. Restaurant was cleverly decorated for Halloween, really fun atmosphere. And there was a terrific piano player too. All in all a really lovely and tasty evening. We will return on our next to Kansas City!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Always a good choice. Great staff and atmosphere. Best outdoor space in the city.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Seasonal, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Every time we come to Cafe Trio we are never disappointed!!! Food is always prepared perfectly. The Filet is always great, and the Diver Scallops are the best in the city. My favorite place to have any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a great time, went during Happy Hour to save a little money, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was nice. Our waiter kind of confused us on what we could order for happy hour drinks so we ended up spending more than we wanted but that was our fault too for not making sure. Overall we really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Richard our waiter was very passionate about the food. All his recommendations were fabulous. Cafe Trio was accommodating with changes and addions to the menu selections. We had all their specialties on the lunch menu: both soups, the fried chicken sandwich, big daddy mac and cheese and the Tuscan flatbread. The blackened shrimp was cooked and seasoned perfectly. One of the best lunches we've had! Loved it and we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Lunch for the two of us was reasonably priced and very good. I had the very creative special, fried ceviche, which was excellent and a perfect lighter lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

I invited my friend to go with me Monday night, as our husbands went to the Chiefs/Redskins game.
She had never been there before and she thouroughly enjoed it.
It was quiet due to the football game.
Our server was great.
She had the trout and I had the hanger steak and both were delicious, as was the coconut cream pie.
Such a fun place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We usually have a decent time at Cafe Trio, and we still did, it was just that service was super slow. It took our waiter almost 15 minutes to even stop by the first time, and unfortunately it wasn't a one time incident. The food was fine, our waiter was nice, it just took a lot longer than originally planned.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food and service were absolutely fantastic! The pricing is moderate to higher for an average layman. Tip well; the service is impeccable and they deserve every dollar. There was live piano music indoors. Bathrooms were very well kept. The drinks we ordered were standard but not listed on the drinks menu and were well made. We sat outside; it was high sixtys in temp and was perfect. They say the patio has a park view, but in reality the park is a bit hidden behind trees, traffic, and parking. But it was an eclectic view of people walking on the sidewalks and the surrounding buildings visible from the far end of the patio were nice to talk about. When inside, we did not think it was too loud even with the piano playing. Outside was full and it was not loud at all. There were several families there with children; having 4 ourselves this did not upset us in the least, but we didn't think of this restaurant as a "family with young kids" type. (This was based off of style, menu, surrounding clientele, and atmosphere. To each their own!)

I would go back over and over if we lived anywhere near this restaurant. Parking tip: parking is on the same side of the street as the restaurant, or somewhat hidden, there is parking in the back of the restaurant. Just follow the signs for the mini mall parking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Loved this spot and loved the piano music on a Friday night

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Wonderful food and service, the short ribs are melt in your mouth good, love the risotto and mac and cheese. A little noisy but we were in the middle of the room. Too full for desert but they looked great too!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Cafe Trio has been and still is a gem. The standard menu items are tasty and there's an addition of a dish or dessert which is creative and new - latest being Blackberry Compote Basil Ice Box Pie with a simple sugar drizzle. "Different and divine."
The ambience inside and outside, although different is inviting. Treat yourself and give it a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Café Trio was a wonderful experience. The service was fabulous. Our waiter was helpful with recommendations and suggestions. We were not hurried, timing is everything. The piano music added to the ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The service was extremely slow. Five out of the seven people in my party said that they would not re-order the dish that they had that evening. I would like to try the restaurant again because I like the ambience and the piano player was delightful. Also, my previous experience there was good. If my next experience is good then I would not hesitate to recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent service from Jeremy. All four of us were happy with our meals.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always a pleasure! Often our first choice when dining out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Good food, great service, lovely deck, thanks much!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I celebrated my birthday with my husband and some friends at Cafe Trio. Our server was perfect in his timing, which surely required patience and experience since we were enjoying chatting. The wine selection was lovely. We had mussels for starters. They were delicious and plentiful. We all enjoyed our entrees. I couldn't resist getting the Bistro Tips, having had this dish on many occasions. I love the skewers of bite-sized tender pieces of grilled filet tips and veggies atop seasoned mashed potatoes. The live piano music was amazing - very creative and inspired! My birthday dessert of blackberry basil ice box pie was a unique treat! Loved it! #favoritekcrestaurant

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Celebrated my birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We have eaten many times at Cafe Trio and this visit was as outstanding as any we've had. My wife was extremely pleased with her Roasted Chicken and found it's preparation unique and delicious. After eating the Parmesan Encrusted Halibut, I can say that it was one the best halibut dishes I've eaten. We always enjoy having Richard as our server — he remembers us and was attentive and friendly, as usual. With any luck we'll be returning to Cafe Trio soon!

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We have discovered all day Monday happy hour. Pure joy!!! Cafe trio has THE BEST chicken livers in k.c , bar none. Never get tired of them. Their Tuscan flat bread is also exceptional.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great Vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We we're visiting from out of town and Trio came highly recommended. Very well done and ambiance was fantastic. It's nice to be able to have a conversation during dinner even with an outdoor patio which was exceptional. We booked the day before and got lucky with a nice table outside, still, I'd recommend booking at least two days before.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great wine, great food, great service. What else do you need?

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Cafe Trio never disappoints. They keep great staples on the menu and change up other offerings seasonally.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent food, service , and a wonderful piano player.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

First time in KC
It was our first time here
Will be back
Loved it

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great place to eat and drink. The patio was great the food was stellar and the drinks were perfect. Staff was knowledgeable on the menu and its a great place visit!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Enjoyed our wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Beautiful inside and out. Great service and Ty has done a lovely job of making everyone feel welcome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Really nice swordfish and chicken entrees. Piano music was varied and enjoyable. Great ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Had a great birthday lunch on the patio. We were seated at the very south end which was a bIt loud due to street traffic. Our lunches were deliscious. I had the quiche of the day with a coconut curry carrot soup. My sister had the shrimp skewers with she raved about.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The setting is nice and the service was very good. For a $90 meal (without alcohol), I expect the food to be exceptional and while the meal was good, it definitely wasn't exceptional. Had we explored more reasonably priced options, I might have a different feeling, but I suspect one is paying more for the location than anything else.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Only our second time here but now one of our go-to's. My partner tried the mac n cheese which is claimed to be best in KC...oh yes! I'm not a big fan of mac n cheese but I loved it. Not too creamy...perfectly "toasted". I had the trout...fabulous! The dumplings were amazing...where do they get the smoky flavor? The green beans were a little al dente...not a big deal.

Service was impeccable!

We were outside which is nice...the dining room inside has a wonderful ambiance with pianist. Very nice overall and can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Just love this restaurant! The food and service were great. No complaints or suggestions for anything at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Really disappointing service. We love the food and the deck but we were offered the worst table in the restaurant and then bullied into leaving by a certain time when we asked to sit at another table. The other reservation was at 8 and at 7:40 in the middle of our entrees tried to move us. Offered us another table which we were happy to move to AFTER we finished our entrees then gave it away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.