Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.19mi
  3. Distance: 3.27mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 1.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.19mi
  3. Distance: 3.27mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.19mi
  3. Distance: 3.27mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 1.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.19mi
  3. Distance: 3.27mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About Cafe Rule & Wine Bar

Located in the beautiful foothills of Hickory, North Carolina, Cafe Rule & Wine Bar is an upscale restaurant where you can experience the fine dining that our quaint town has to offer in a relaxed and refreshingly casual setting.
Fresh, sensational flavors and exquisite wine pairings are yours to enjoy as your palette is spoiled by our culinary team. There is simply no comparison to the array of dishes, the extensive wine selection or the fabulous ambiance that Cafe Rule invites you to savor. We offer a private dining room and seating for parties, business meetings and special events (up to 35), as well as an inviting outdoor patio with fountains, sculptures and beautifully manicured gardens.

242 11th Avenue NE
Hickory, NC 28601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11 am - 2 pm

Cross Street:
HWY 127

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 324-2005

Website:
http://www.caferule.com/

Entertainment:
please check www.CafeRule.com for details.

Parking Details:
Self park

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We will have dinner specials Friday and Saturday, as well as a truly wonderful Brunch for Mom on Sunday. Bring her out to Cafe Rule and spoil her for loving you, despite all those rules you broke growing up...

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe Rule & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Modern Decor (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Casual (17)
Business Meals (17)
Cozy (16)
Romantic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fireplace (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (10)
Live Music (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fun (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Private Room (6)
Tapas (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food, friendly staff and the best spot in town for brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant had a great atmosphere, a good menu with many options to choose from and everything we ordered was excellent. We will definitely be going back, again, and again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an amazing experience here and would highly recommend especially if you love great wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We dined in the garden ... beautiful and peaceful. Lunch was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Happy Hour, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was not my first time and the food was great as usual. The only problem this time was the server. He visits to our table we're few and when he did come by he seemed like he was running by. There were several times I had to ask for a refill on my drink and lots of time not having anything to drink. When he delivered our food he said he would bring back some more butter and syrup. I had almost completed eating my food when he finally showed up to ask if we needed anything. He had completely forgotten telling me he would bring it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Outstanding food, great service. Cafe Rule has a fun atmosphere and a unique and fun menu.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

As usual, Café Rule and the food quality, service and atmosphere never disappoints! Love the dining setting choices, indoors near a wonderfully stocked wine room and bar or almost outdoors with fireplace and outdoors.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Came here for lunch on a Sunday not realizing that only brunch was served . The brunch menu was good but having expected a lunch menu, we were disappointed, but it was not their fault, rather mine for not checking first.
Our server was really good, knowledgeable and attentive. Their wine selection was impressive. We sat outside and even with it being a chilly day, their overhead heaters worked well and they had blankets as well. The fireplace has real logs, not gas, which is an added feature to me. The entire layout from the outside dining to the inside to the exterior of the building and grounds were above my expectations.
Living an hour away, I won't get many chances to return, but I will definitely come back!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fewthings that threw us off was when we first got there. The first employee to greet us at 11 am told us the restaurant didn't open till 1130. I thought this was odd based on the fact our reservation was for 11am. We were specifically there for brunch but was seated with the traditional dinner menus, we had to ask for the brunch menu. When ordering drinks was told the specialty coffee machine was out of order so only regular coffee was available. The waitress was very helpful with menu choices and making sure our dining experience was plesant once ordered. The food was absolutely fantastic! We both had the icebox and not one thing on our plate did we not like. One thing I would love to see in the future is an icebox lady friendly portion option. My date and I have already recommended Cafe Rule to several friends and family and look forward to going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful place with great food and ambiance. Service was second to none! Love it!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great Food and Great Service as always. We love to share plates and the street corn and broccoli are fantastic. Everything we have had there is very good, from pizza to chicken and waffles.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I took two friends with me to Cafe Rule and we were all in agreement that the food was very good and made with fresh ingredients. We liked the variety of the menu and the great ambiance of the restaurant. I will definitely go back again

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We visited the Café Rule to celebrate my retirement of 20 years. We were greeted promptly and were served with a smile. The food was delicious! Our cocktails were very good. Although our experience was amazing, it was a bit pricey. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was one of the worst meals I had in a long time. The lowest point was when I complained to the waiter that I couldn't eat my tuna because on very bite there were those white string fibers, he told me he was good with faces, so he would remember that for next time I went there. Well, as sure as hell there won't be a next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very enjoyable evening, overall wide selection on menu, it was a little noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Upscale look and feel, great menu with something for everyone. !!However!! My food was served cold and McDonalds has better fries. We happily ordered our birthday person the $47 steak. He was very disappointed, describing it as tender but tasteless. He really disliked the very sweet house steak sauce, and when we asked for an alternative, we were told that was it! So they brought cold butter after the steak got cold - and charged extra for it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Perfect for any occasion. Beautiful outdoor seating area. Never disappoints!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place, excellent service, great food. Great selection as well. It has an upscale feel and price (depending) but a down to earth selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything was great! A little pricey but well worth the money!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time dining there. Great experience, great food, kind and courteous staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place with amazing food. The decor is nice and love the live music. It will definitely be my place to be on the weekend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day was special at Cafe Rule. Roses for the Ladies, special menu, live music, photo booth.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The scallops were amazing!
One of the best meals ever...I am gluten free, so sometimes menus are lacking in choices and taste. This was not the case at Café Rule. Good GF choices.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good fuds

Apparently 2 word answers are not an acceptable review and I need 50 characters, but I can keep typing stuff until it will let me submit!!!! ! !! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! GOOOOOT'EEMMMM!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The restaurant was clean, well lit and had nice decor! The music was a little loud for dining! The waitress was very personable but couldn't answer a few questions, but did get the answers! Food was great! We had the petite tenderloin with the Chef! Would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very elegant and classy place with live music and great ambience

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Vegan, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Friendly and accommodating staff; variety of seating; extensive wine list (the word extensive is really an understatement); wonderfully crafted cocktails; food selection to please anyone (I PA collards is a must) with generous portions; best cheesecake ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! Upscale comfort food done to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our first time there for Valentines dinner. Server was awesome. I got a steak and it literally melted in my mouth. My husband and I had a great time and the server was very patient with us as we did not know what we wanted on the list of wines or foods. She gave us some helpful hints of what she liked. It's a little on the pricey side. We will go again. We left full!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Private Room, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was fantastic. The service was great. Overall very nice experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Hickory continues to surprise us with excellent restaurants and Cafe Rule definitely qualified. Good food, moderate pricing, friendly, efficient staff. Just remember that this is NC. Brunch begins at 11 but you can't get a mimosa until noon!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The noise level was deafening. If there was live music Saturday night we couldn't hear it or see it. We couldn't hear each other to carry on a conversation. I was sitting closer to the stranger at the table next to me then I was my spouse. The waiter was attentive until we received our entree. If we hadn't ordered our desert initially we wouldn't have stayed for it. My wife wasn't asked if she wanted a 2nd glass of wine until just before we left. A waiter from another table cleared dirty dishes from our table since our waiter wasn't coming around. The food was okay. I expected more for the price. All and all it wasn't the quiet, relaxing intimate dinner with music that we had hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. A great dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was great and our waitress was the best! Even though there was a huge crowd she was on top of everything! I would definitely go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was Queens Feast do our value for the food was excellent. The menus is a little high compared to our normal choices. But the food was delicious, excellently prepared and beautiful presentation. Noise level was a little high but there was a large table celebrating a birthday that contributed to that. We will be back to try the patio in warmer weather

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Every single course was excellent. None better than the previous. I highly recommend the street corn, broccoli baffle, chicken and waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love the ambiance and don't miss the original recipe Calamari with the Fig & Prosciutto flatbread pizza ! Delicious!!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We met friends for dinner and selected menu items from the Queens Feast menu. The food was an excellent value and delicious. The service was good.

The problem was the extremely high noise level. A small band performed, but the noise level before they started made normal conversation with table mates difficult. I noticed that sound deadening panels in the ceiling had been removed.

For me, part of an enjoyable dinning experience is conversation with table mates. This was impossible at Cafe Rule. Sorry, but I will not return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was very good, unfortunately we had to wait about 1.5 hours for it to be served. We heard from friends that they've had similar experiences.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Everything at Cafe Rule is superb!!! I really don't know what more I can say!! Food,service,drinks,atmosphere, everything is wonderful!! We love it!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.