About Cafe Rule & Wine Bar

242 11th Avenue NE
Hickory, NC 28601
View Larger Map

Located in the beautiful foothills of Hickory, North Carolina, Cafe Rule & Wine Bar is an upscale restaurant where you can experience the fine dining that our quaint town has to offer in a relaxed and refreshingly casual setting.
Fresh, sensational flavors and exquisite wine pairings are yours to enjoy as your palette is spoiled by our culinary team. There is simply no comparison to the array of dishes, the extensive wine selection or the fabulous ambiance that Cafe Rule invites you to savor. We offer a private dining room and seating for parties, business meetings and special events (up to 35), as well as an inviting outdoor patio with fountains, sculptures and beautifully manicured gardens.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11 am - 3 pm

Cross Street:
HWY 127

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 324-2005

Website:
http://www.caferule.com/

Entertainment:
please check www.youssef242.com for details.

Parking Details:
Self park

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Rule & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Outdoor Dining
Charlotte
Most Booked
Hickory
Best Restaurants in Hickory ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved it. Be careful requesting garden ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved it. Be careful requesting garden seating before 7pm, it can be quite hot. Overall good quality and service was fantastic. Absolutely the best calamari in the area, hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Just a fabulous experience in every aspe ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Just a fabulous experience in every aspect. Very impressive for a small town dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess moved our table to the outsi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The hostess moved our table to the outside patio which was wonderful. Our server was exceptional .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, I had the ham and fig gluten ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food, I had the ham and fig gluten free pizza and the broccoli baffle. Wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time. Food was outstanding a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a great time. Food was outstanding and the wine list quit extensive. Diffently not your ordinary fare. Chef is extremely creative. Owner/chef stopped by the table and treated us like family. Friday night date night. Extremely busy. Reservations highly recommended! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super experience, excellent service by J ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Super experience, excellent service by Jocelyn, innovative food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Calimari was some of the best I've had. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Calimari was some of the best I've had. Grilled Romaine Caesar was very good as well. Across the board all of our steaks were perfectly cooked at a variety of temperatures.

Highlight of our experience was the service. My daughter was a bit cold, our waitress offered her a blanket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My favorite restaurant in Hickory!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Hickory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat dessert first! Our waiter, Michael ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Eat dessert first! Our waiter, Michael was superb and the food was incredibly tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice modern restaurant, quite open ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very nice modern restaurant, quite open with natural lighting. I am from the Washington, DC area where are many fine dinning places. Cafe Rule can compete with the best of them. If you are looking for a special place to dine in Hickory, NC this is the only restaurant that I have found that offers fine dinning a varied selection of steaks, seafood and their own very special appetizers.

If you are a "foodie" and wish to a sophisticated dinning experience in regard to both service and food offerings you will enjoy Cafe Rule.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We took 4 family members to dinner for t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We took 4 family members to dinner for their first time and everyone raved about the food. My husband and I have been many times and we are always very happy with the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not sure I am crazy about new menu. Not ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not sure I am crazy about new menu. Not sure why they insist on live music- warehouse type building noisy enough without background live music. Hard to talk with dinner companions. Service slow. Not inexpensive. Do like the outdoor venue when not so hot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was awesome as was the wait sta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was awesome as was the wait staff. Beautiful decor and trendy. The prices, however, were out of our league and questionable cost vs quality. Glad we had a Groupon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

An overall excellent dining experience. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

An overall excellent dining experience. The food was top-rate and the service impeccable. I have already recommended this restaurant to several of my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined there during the Queen's Feast w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I dined there during the Queen's Feast week, so I got the 3 courses for $30. This was a good bargain. The Southern Wedge salad and pork chop were splendid! The only downside was the waitress we had-either she was new or very unconcerned with serving us. Other than that, the experience was great and it's definitely a place I want to return to. The ambiance in the outdoor dining area was wonderful and beautifully designed and during early fall months would be a great place to sit once the fireplace was going. We left by going back through the inside dining area and inside the place was alive and vibrant and much louder. Totally different atmosphere than outside but seemed like a hot spot to be.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Dined here as a part of Charlotte Restau ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dined here as a part of Charlotte Restaurant Week on a whim and BOY were we impressed! Completely worth the drive from LKN. Everything was wonderful and the bloody mary shrimp & grits was especially fantastic!!! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spur of the moment Monday dinner - Many ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Spur of the moment Monday dinner - Many empty tables. Very good service and meal. Outdoor seating was comfortable. Will return with friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service. Our server ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Our server was awesome. Food was amazing. Only suggestion I would offer is to expand menu just a bit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The name has changed recently, but it ha ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The name has changed recently, but it has the same great, professional service, fantastic food, unique menu and nice atmosphere. We are lucky to have Rule. It would easily fit in the resturant scene of a city 10x the size of Hickory.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat there a lot.....and always enjoy. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We eat there a lot.....and always enjoy....but last night was best yet. Love the new menu. Service is always superb. Live music was fun....Good background, not too loud. I really appreciate the chef accommodating my low cal diet. Motorcycle display....very cool!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere. Chicken in chicken ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Love the atmosphere. Chicken in chicken and waffles was dry. Drinks were small but tasty. Wish there were more wine by the glass choices. Service was pleasant but we found ourselves consistently looking for our server. Not the best value but not terrible either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We really enjoyed our visit at cafe rule ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit at cafe rule. The chicken and waffles was fabulous! Also sampled there list, all which were really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my first visit since the restau ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first visit since the restaurant changed its name and menu. I don't quite get the attraction of the motorcycle theme they're using, but I will have to say the food was excellent and the service hasn't changed from the old days of Youssef 242. Strangely, the best item our table had was a broccoli appetizer. It was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent. Scallops with truffl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was excellent. Scallops with truffle risotto , halibut, and charcuterie plate app were memorable. Pleasantly surprised by drink menu as well. Had a jalapeño cocktail that was outstanding.

Our server was excellent, but I believe he had too many tables so service was a little slow. Hopefully they will get the service sorted out before the grand opening.

Overall a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for brunch on Father's Day. The ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for brunch on Father's Day. The menu was disappointingly limited. I had "The Skillet." I thought it would come with some toast or a slice of melon. Nope, nothing extra -- not even a slice of lemon in the water. The interior of the restaurant is lovely, as is the outdoor eating area. But the food was only OK, and we both thought it was overpriced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Still a great restaurant, but not sure I ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Still a great restaurant, but not sure I like the menu changes. Offerings seem "heavier" overall. Don't like that cannot get Salmon as an add-on for salads. Also, hate that Casino Royale drink taken off drink menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

They've added all sorts of great vegetar ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

They've added all sorts of great vegetarian options!!! Yay!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's meal was incorrect. The menu d ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife's meal was incorrect. The menu did not say it had pesto, but came with pesto. They did redo the meal but then skimped on the carrots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Awesome dining experience as usual !

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Awesome dining experience as usual !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious new menu items!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious new menu items!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE LOVE LOVE the new menu. The Street ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE the new menu. The Street corn, Calamari Sweep with Mustard BBQ sauce and the Black Eyed-Pea Hummus Lettuce Wraps are among my new favs. The service was great and the food was amazing. My next visit will be very soon as I can't wait to try the new Allen Brothers steaks that I overheard the table over from us raving about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. Shrimp and grits was very ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place. Shrimp and grits was very good. Enjoyed wedge salad. Staff was very attentive but not intrusive. Definitely will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Slow service, under staffed. Three memb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Slow service, under staffed. Three members of the group were pleased with food, two ordered steak which were over cooked. Requested medium rare, received well done. Did not send steaks back because service had been so slow we did not want to create awkward dining for our guests.

Overall we like Youssef's and will return, but we're a bit disappointed on that occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My favorite restaurant in Hickory. Amazi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Hickory. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife's Birthday

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was excellent and service was outstanding. It was a bit pricey but it is not an everyday restaurant. Our meal was worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great surprise to find such a treasure.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Absolutely love this restaurant. It was really a treat to find such a culinary delight in Hickory, North Carolina. Must try the black eye pea hummus and the fried kale. The ahi tuna appetizer was delicious and more than enough for 2 people. The scallops and homemade fettuccine was fantastic, the scallops were grilled to perfection. The beignets were excellent,portion is huge. We had 3 adults and didn't eat a fraction of them. All in all this is a must stop and enjoy, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved your restaurant and were lookin ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We loved your restaurant and were looking forward to returning, then we heard that you were changing the format into a tapas type of offering. We loved the food, the presentation, and the portion size just as it is.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Among best global wine list.Food wine flights BEST

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

A surprising find. Really good food, ambiance and wine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

This is a very special dining experience. Ambience, service and food are as good as it gets. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely casual upscale meal

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with a really wonderful outdoor area and classy indoor area; upscale but not fussy. Food was in the $$$ range, not $$ as described in some places- expect $25-35 entrees for dinner, plus some less expensive options like gourmet burgers and pizzas. The food was excellent, the service friendly and knowledgable. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.