Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.19mi
  3. Distance: 3.27mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 1.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.19mi
  3. Distance: 3.27mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.19mi
  3. Distance: 3.27mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 1.43mi
  2. Distance: 2.19mi
  3. Distance: 3.27mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About Cafe Rule & Wine Bar

Located in the beautiful foothills of Hickory, North Carolina, Cafe Rule & Wine Bar is an upscale restaurant where you can experience the fine dining that our quaint town has to offer in a relaxed and refreshingly casual setting.
Fresh, sensational flavors and exquisite wine pairings are yours to enjoy as your palette is spoiled by our culinary team. There is simply no comparison to the array of dishes, the extensive wine selection or the fabulous ambiance that Cafe Rule invites you to savor. We offer a private dining room and seating for parties, business meetings and special events (up to 35), as well as an inviting outdoor patio with fountains, sculptures and beautifully manicured gardens.

242 11th Avenue NE
Hickory, NC 28601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11 am - 2 pm

Cross Street:
HWY 127

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 324-2005

Website:
http://www.caferule.com/

Entertainment:
please check www.CafeRule.com for details.

Parking Details:
Self park

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We will have dinner specials Friday and Saturday, as well as a truly wonderful Brunch for Mom on Sunday. Bring her out to Cafe Rule and spoil her for loving you, despite all those rules you broke growing up...

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe Rule & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Modern Decor (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Good for Groups (19)
Business Meals (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Cozy (19)
Casual (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fireplace (14)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Live Music (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fun (10)
Authentic (10)
Private Room (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Tapas (6)
Seasonal (5)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Really enjoyed it! Great food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had a great evening of friendship, basking in great service, and devouring perfectly prepared 8 ounce beef filets with mushrooms and garlic mash paired with 2010 Silver Oak Napa Valley Cabernet - a wonderful experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

First time there...loved it !!

Sat outside. Great atmosphere ! Service and food !!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Outside dining for lunch on a 70 degree day. Great service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My friend and I had a lovely time at Cafe Rule. The atmosphere was convivial and not too loud or quiet, but a good in between. The service was outstanding! It was our first visit and our waitress, Florina, who was a gem, took extra time to explain the setup of the menu and describe several of the more popular dishes. Our food arrived promptly and was good. We tried the Fried Broccoli Baffle as a starter and it was delicious-we surreptitiously kept going back looking for crumbs. Our entrees were also good-though my pork chop was a little underseasoned and my potatoes were overly so. Still, it was a good experiance and we'll be returning.

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The fried okra app was great with the pimento cheese dip, the specialty drinks were fresh, and the dinners all consistently well prepared. Our server was very attentive and the atmosphere is wonderful. Only wish it had been warmer so we could have enjoyed the lovely outdoor patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Loved it! So glad we found this grwat restaurant on Open Table and were able to bypass the chain food options. Great menu. Nice and quiet. Wish we could have sampled what appeared to be a great cocktail menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We love sitting outside. Beautiful area! The food was excellent and the service was too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Auhmazzzzing! A must eat there restaurant, everything was delicious

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Loved our dinner at Cafe Rule. The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere was great. The only downside was the service was a little slow. We were out for a date night, so weren't in a rush, but wouldn't be somewhere I would go to eat a quick meal. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The beer was not chilled and the service was extremely slow paced. Our food was good but we received incorrect items. The presentation of a $35 plate of food should look like artwork. It was very sloppy looking on the plate. The bill we received was incorrect and our server was at a loss as to how to correct it. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant had a very nice appearance. Our server was very personable, pleasant and professional. The two seafood entrees were very good. Both of our wives ordered pizzas, which were delivered to the table much later than the seafood entrees. One pizza was cold and the other was uncooked.

The manager came to our table, our server had asked her to related to the slow delivery and poor quality of the pizzas. That was fine, we were not upset. We explained that the one pizza was uncooked and the manager started arguing with us. I was very surprised and taken back by her attitude and by her lack of professionalism.

I think by the time we finished it had been 2 1/2 hours, although we were not in a hurry, it was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My spouse and I stayed in Hickory after long day of furniture shopping. The dining experience was exactly what we needed. Relaxing, pleasant environment, great friendly service, and good food and wine. Could not have expected more! Highly recommend!

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We were seated at a table in the back of the restaurant. When our server came, she told us it was her first day on the job. She brought enough water for a half glass each, told us she'd be back with more, but forgot. No biggie. Then we ordered drinks, and after a reasonable wait, she came by with some bread and she said they were changing out the keg for the beer I had ordered. We waited another 15 minutes and then left. That was 40 minutes after we were seated.

I understand if a server is new. I don't understand why they would make her look afterwards many tables as she had. I don't understand why someone wasn't checking up on her to make sure she was doing okay with her new role. I don't understand a restaurant that charges what they charge thinks it's okay to have some poor service.

I doubt we'll go back for several reasons.
1. Service clearly isn't a priority.
2. There wasn't much on the menu that was particularly appealing.
3. I feel their prices are awfully high for Hickory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We sat outside on a afternoon and it was super unique delish restaurant! Would recommend to anyone and they offer vegetarian and GF options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary at Cafe Rule. It's our favorite restaurant. Your food is delicious. We had the best steak! Our dessert was fantastic and our night would not be complete without a bottle of outstanding wine. We have to give a shout out to Graham, our server. His expertise and friendly demeanor made our night a special one. We hope he is always our server. He gave us great advice in our food and wine selection. Thank you Graham and the chefs at Cafe Rule!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Amazing food, friendly staff and the best spot in town for brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This restaurant had a great atmosphere, a good menu with many options to choose from and everything we ordered was excellent. We will definitely be going back, again, and again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had an amazing experience here and would highly recommend especially if you love great wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We dined in the garden ... beautiful and peaceful. Lunch was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Happy Hour, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was not my first time and the food was great as usual. The only problem this time was the server. He visits to our table we're few and when he did come by he seemed like he was running by. There were several times I had to ask for a refill on my drink and lots of time not having anything to drink. When he delivered our food he said he would bring back some more butter and syrup. I had almost completed eating my food when he finally showed up to ask if we needed anything. He had completely forgotten telling me he would bring it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Outstanding food, great service. Cafe Rule has a fun atmosphere and a unique and fun menu.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

As usual, Café Rule and the food quality, service and atmosphere never disappoints! Love the dining setting choices, indoors near a wonderfully stocked wine room and bar or almost outdoors with fireplace and outdoors.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Came here for lunch on a Sunday not realizing that only brunch was served . The brunch menu was good but having expected a lunch menu, we were disappointed, but it was not their fault, rather mine for not checking first.
Our server was really good, knowledgeable and attentive. Their wine selection was impressive. We sat outside and even with it being a chilly day, their overhead heaters worked well and they had blankets as well. The fireplace has real logs, not gas, which is an added feature to me. The entire layout from the outside dining to the inside to the exterior of the building and grounds were above my expectations.
Living an hour away, I won't get many chances to return, but I will definitely come back!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fewthings that threw us off was when we first got there. The first employee to greet us at 11 am told us the restaurant didn't open till 1130. I thought this was odd based on the fact our reservation was for 11am. We were specifically there for brunch but was seated with the traditional dinner menus, we had to ask for the brunch menu. When ordering drinks was told the specialty coffee machine was out of order so only regular coffee was available. The waitress was very helpful with menu choices and making sure our dining experience was plesant once ordered. The food was absolutely fantastic! We both had the icebox and not one thing on our plate did we not like. One thing I would love to see in the future is an icebox lady friendly portion option. My date and I have already recommended Cafe Rule to several friends and family and look forward to going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful place with great food and ambiance. Service was second to none! Love it!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great Food and Great Service as always. We love to share plates and the street corn and broccoli are fantastic. Everything we have had there is very good, from pizza to chicken and waffles.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I took two friends with me to Cafe Rule and we were all in agreement that the food was very good and made with fresh ingredients. We liked the variety of the menu and the great ambiance of the restaurant. I will definitely go back again

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We visited the Café Rule to celebrate my retirement of 20 years. We were greeted promptly and were served with a smile. The food was delicious! Our cocktails were very good. Although our experience was amazing, it was a bit pricey. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was one of the worst meals I had in a long time. The lowest point was when I complained to the waiter that I couldn't eat my tuna because on very bite there were those white string fibers, he told me he was good with faces, so he would remember that for next time I went there. Well, as sure as hell there won't be a next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very enjoyable evening, overall wide selection on menu, it was a little noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Upscale look and feel, great menu with something for everyone. !!However!! My food was served cold and McDonalds has better fries. We happily ordered our birthday person the $47 steak. He was very disappointed, describing it as tender but tasteless. He really disliked the very sweet house steak sauce, and when we asked for an alternative, we were told that was it! So they brought cold butter after the steak got cold - and charged extra for it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Perfect for any occasion. Beautiful outdoor seating area. Never disappoints!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place, excellent service, great food. Great selection as well. It has an upscale feel and price (depending) but a down to earth selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything was great! A little pricey but well worth the money!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time dining there. Great experience, great food, kind and courteous staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place with amazing food. The decor is nice and love the live music. It will definitely be my place to be on the weekend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day was special at Cafe Rule. Roses for the Ladies, special menu, live music, photo booth.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The scallops were amazing!
One of the best meals ever...I am gluten free, so sometimes menus are lacking in choices and taste. This was not the case at Café Rule. Good GF choices.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good fuds

Apparently 2 word answers are not an acceptable review and I need 50 characters, but I can keep typing stuff until it will let me submit!!!! ! !! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! GOOOOOT'EEMMMM!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.