HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Cafe Rule & Wine Bar

4.5
554 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Southern
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Romantic
Located in the beautiful foothills of Hickory, North Carolina, Cafe Rule & Wine Bar is an upscale restaurant where you can experience the fine dining that our quaint town has to offer in a relaxed and refreshingly casual setting.
Fresh, sensational flavors and exquisite wine pairings are yours to enjoy as your palette is spoiled by our culinary team. There is simply no comparison to the array of dishes, the extensive wine selection or the fabulous ambiance that Cafe Rule invites you to savor. We offer a private dining room and seating for parties, business meetings and special events (up to 35), as well as an inviting outdoor patio with fountains, sculptures and beautifully manicured gardens.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11 am - 2 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 324-2005
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
HWY 127
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Self park
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
please check www.CafeRule.com for details.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 554 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Bert55555555555555 
3.0  Dined 6 days ago

did not have food served until 1;40 past our reservation time.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Took another couple out for supper. The menu was extensive with many delicious options. Our waitress was wonderful and very informative. The only thing I was disappointed in were the cocktails. Too strong for my taste.

Report
Helpful
20174runner 
2.0  Dined 6 days ago

poor service this is the second time in a row for poor service for us not sure if or when we will be back

Report
Helpful
ChiquitaD 
2.0  Dined 6 days ago

Service was wonderful. Food was terrible and undercooked

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

We enjoy our experience every time we dine at Cafe Rule. Food is delicious and the staff is the best!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Western NC)
4.0  Dined 7 days ago

Had a great time with my wife at Café rule after a long and hectic week… It made date night worth having. Keep up the good work guys.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Great seafood specials and amazing service!

Report
Helpful
ThursdayDiners (Charlotte)
3.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

We had a reservation and when we arrived there was only one other couple in the restaurant and my wife commented it doesn't look like a reservation was required and the hostess said "oh yes it is good because with a reservation you get a better table or booth." At that point she proceeded to take us to the booth in the very back corner of the restaurant. I asked can we could be seated at one of the booths by the windows and she said she would have to check since people had reservations and I said yes and so do we. She went and checked and then moved us to the front booth next to a window. This used to be one of our favorite restaurants in Hickory but with the seating experience, when we had a reservation, and then the food being average at best we won't be in a hurry to return. Our waiter was good and did his best to make up for the original back corner booth including searching through the stack of menus to find two that didn't have food stuck inside of them. We both asked if we could change out the French fries with dinner to another side and were told there maybe a slight up-charge and when my wife order the beets the waiter said there would be no up-charge for beets. Bottom line there was a up-charge for her beets and an even higher up-charge for my asparagus. Again, I understand a up-charge but didn't expect the amount of the charges.
Bottom line I was very disappointed at Cafe Rule and our experience, not the restaurant and experience that it use to be.

Report
Helpful
MatthewK (Charlotte)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

First time here, brought my girlfriend for Valentine’s Day. Great service, exceptional food, great wine and beer list. I think we were there for around 2 hours, and we had an awesome time!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The food was over priced. They ran out of the fish that I ordered and instead of replacing it with another fish I was told I would need to order the valentine "special". No other fish was offered and the valentine special was $60/ person.

Report
Helpful
MonicaR (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

I love the relaxed feel of this place –especially the outdoor fireplace and heaters in the winter time. Extensive wine list, amazing small bites, entrees and desserts. I love everything i've tried on the menu and want to try more dishes. Service was well-timed and friendly as always.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was excellent. I have never had a bad meal at Cafe Rule. Nice Valentine's menu but we selected from the normal menu. Great service, waiter had excellent timing. The prices are high for Hickory, NC but it is one of our favorite places for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
DaleL (Charlotte)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Excellent restaurant! Service was very good. I ordered the Salmon and it was delicious. Great wine list with a huge selection. It’s a little pricey but it’s worth it. We had a very nice experience.

Report
Helpful
ShaneC (Charlotte)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

My favorite local spot. I travel around the globe, and it’s great to come home to a world class restaurant. Thanks you Cafe Rule.

Report
Helpful
eileenK (Charlotte)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

My third dining here at Café Rule and I will return. Have been happy with all the selections I've made. Only the shrimp yesterday was not up to the par I imagined. Service outstanding! I liked making the reservations with Open Table.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
37