About Cafe Rule & Wine Bar

242 11th Avenue NE
Hickory, NC 28601
View Larger Map

Located in the beautiful foothills of Hickory, North Carolina, Cafe Rule & Wine Bar is an upscale restaurant where you can experience the fine dining that our quaint town has to offer in a relaxed and refreshingly casual setting.
Fresh, sensational flavors and exquisite wine pairings are yours to enjoy as your palette is spoiled by our culinary team. There is simply no comparison to the array of dishes, the extensive wine selection or the fabulous ambiance that Cafe Rule invites you to savor. We offer a private dining room and seating for parties, business meetings and special events (up to 35), as well as an inviting outdoor patio with fountains, sculptures and beautifully manicured gardens.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11 am - 3 pm

Cross Street:
HWY 127

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 324-2005

Website:
http://www.youssef242.com/

Entertainment:
please check www.youssef242.com for details.

Parking Details:
Self park

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Rule & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Most Booked
Hickory
Best Restaurants in Hickory ›

Special Occasion (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (12)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My favorite restaurant in Hickory!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Hickory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat dessert first! Our waiter, Michael ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Eat dessert first! Our waiter, Michael was superb and the food was incredibly tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice modern restaurant, quite open ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very nice modern restaurant, quite open with natural lighting. I am from the Washington, DC area where are many fine dinning places. Cafe Rule can compete with the best of them. If you are looking for a special place to dine in Hickory, NC this is the only restaurant that I have found that offers fine dinning a varied selection of steaks, seafood and their own very special appetizers.

If you are a "foodie" and wish to a sophisticated dinning experience in regard to both service and food offerings you will enjoy Cafe Rule.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We took 4 family members to dinner for t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We took 4 family members to dinner for their first time and everyone raved about the food. My husband and I have been many times and we are always very happy with the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not sure I am crazy about new menu. Not ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not sure I am crazy about new menu. Not sure why they insist on live music- warehouse type building noisy enough without background live music. Hard to talk with dinner companions. Service slow. Not inexpensive. Do like the outdoor venue when not so hot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was awesome as was the wait sta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was awesome as was the wait staff. Beautiful decor and trendy. The prices, however, were out of our league and questionable cost vs quality. Glad we had a Groupon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

An overall excellent dining experience. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

An overall excellent dining experience. The food was top-rate and the service impeccable. I have already recommended this restaurant to several of my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined there during the Queen's Feast w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I dined there during the Queen's Feast week, so I got the 3 courses for $30. This was a good bargain. The Southern Wedge salad and pork chop were splendid! The only downside was the waitress we had-either she was new or very unconcerned with serving us. Other than that, the experience was great and it's definitely a place I want to return to. The ambiance in the outdoor dining area was wonderful and beautifully designed and during early fall months would be a great place to sit once the fireplace was going. We left by going back through the inside dining area and inside the place was alive and vibrant and much louder. Totally different atmosphere than outside but seemed like a hot spot to be.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Dined here as a part of Charlotte Restau ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dined here as a part of Charlotte Restaurant Week on a whim and BOY were we impressed! Completely worth the drive from LKN. Everything was wonderful and the bloody mary shrimp & grits was especially fantastic!!! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spur of the moment Monday dinner - Many ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Spur of the moment Monday dinner - Many empty tables. Very good service and meal. Outdoor seating was comfortable. Will return with friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service. Our server ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Our server was awesome. Food was amazing. Only suggestion I would offer is to expand menu just a bit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The name has changed recently, but it ha ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The name has changed recently, but it has the same great, professional service, fantastic food, unique menu and nice atmosphere. We are lucky to have Rule. It would easily fit in the resturant scene of a city 10x the size of Hickory.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat there a lot.....and always enjoy. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We eat there a lot.....and always enjoy....but last night was best yet. Love the new menu. Service is always superb. Live music was fun....Good background, not too loud. I really appreciate the chef accommodating my low cal diet. Motorcycle display....very cool!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere. Chicken in chicken ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Love the atmosphere. Chicken in chicken and waffles was dry. Drinks were small but tasty. Wish there were more wine by the glass choices. Service was pleasant but we found ourselves consistently looking for our server. Not the best value but not terrible either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We really enjoyed our visit at cafe rule ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit at cafe rule. The chicken and waffles was fabulous! Also sampled there list, all which were really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my first visit since the restau ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first visit since the restaurant changed its name and menu. I don't quite get the attraction of the motorcycle theme they're using, but I will have to say the food was excellent and the service hasn't changed from the old days of Youssef 242. Strangely, the best item our table had was a broccoli appetizer. It was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent. Scallops with truffl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was excellent. Scallops with truffle risotto , halibut, and charcuterie plate app were memorable. Pleasantly surprised by drink menu as well. Had a jalapeño cocktail that was outstanding.

Our server was excellent, but I believe he had too many tables so service was a little slow. Hopefully they will get the service sorted out before the grand opening.

Overall a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for brunch on Father's Day. The ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for brunch on Father's Day. The menu was disappointingly limited. I had "The Skillet." I thought it would come with some toast or a slice of melon. Nope, nothing extra -- not even a slice of lemon in the water. The interior of the restaurant is lovely, as is the outdoor eating area. But the food was only OK, and we both thought it was overpriced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Still a great restaurant, but not sure I ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Still a great restaurant, but not sure I like the menu changes. Offerings seem "heavier" overall. Don't like that cannot get Salmon as an add-on for salads. Also, hate that Casino Royale drink taken off drink menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

They've added all sorts of great vegetar ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

They've added all sorts of great vegetarian options!!! Yay!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's meal was incorrect. The menu d ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife's meal was incorrect. The menu did not say it had pesto, but came with pesto. They did redo the meal but then skimped on the carrots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Awesome dining experience as usual !

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Awesome dining experience as usual !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious new menu items!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious new menu items!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE LOVE LOVE the new menu. The Street ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE the new menu. The Street corn, Calamari Sweep with Mustard BBQ sauce and the Black Eyed-Pea Hummus Lettuce Wraps are among my new favs. The service was great and the food was amazing. My next visit will be very soon as I can't wait to try the new Allen Brothers steaks that I overheard the table over from us raving about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. Shrimp and grits was very ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place. Shrimp and grits was very good. Enjoyed wedge salad. Staff was very attentive but not intrusive. Definitely will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Slow service, under staffed. Three memb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Slow service, under staffed. Three members of the group were pleased with food, two ordered steak which were over cooked. Requested medium rare, received well done. Did not send steaks back because service had been so slow we did not want to create awkward dining for our guests.

Overall we like Youssef's and will return, but we're a bit disappointed on that occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My favorite restaurant in Hickory. Amazi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Hickory. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife's Birthday

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was excellent and service was outstanding. It was a bit pricey but it is not an everyday restaurant. Our meal was worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst experience to date. This was our ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Worst experience to date. This was our favorite restaurant, but has dropped to our least favorite. The service was only okay at best, but now their waitstaff's dress code is the same as someone working in fast food and just seems to be too casual. Their dishes look like discounted second quality, again too casual. When you spend this much money for dinner, you expect a little class, but it has left the building with the service, casual dress code for the waitstaff, food quality, and overall feel. The worst part is a server/helper that seemed very dirty and unkept which does not represent the image of the restaurant. He seems to wonder around the place occasionally helping with food orders, but not sure what his job is. If I owned the place, he would be fired on appearance alone! It is hard to always stay on top in the restaurant business, but it seems this place is making so many bad changes one after the other, that it makes me think they are getting advice from rookies rather than professionals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Great surprise to find such a treasure.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Absolutely love this restaurant. It was really a treat to find such a culinary delight in Hickory, North Carolina. Must try the black eye pea hummus and the fried kale. The ahi tuna appetizer was delicious and more than enough for 2 people. The scallops and homemade fettuccine was fantastic, the scallops were grilled to perfection. The beignets were excellent,portion is huge. We had 3 adults and didn't eat a fraction of them. All in all this is a must stop and enjoy, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved your restaurant and were lookin ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We loved your restaurant and were looking forward to returning, then we heard that you were changing the format into a tapas type of offering. We loved the food, the presentation, and the portion size just as it is.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Among best global wine list.Food wine flights BEST

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

A surprising find. Really good food, ambiance and wine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

This is a very special dining experience. Ambience, service and food are as good as it gets. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely casual upscale meal

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with a really wonderful outdoor area and classy indoor area; upscale but not fussy. Food was in the $$$ range, not $$ as described in some places- expect $25-35 entrees for dinner, plus some less expensive options like gourmet burgers and pizzas. The food was excellent, the service friendly and knowledgable. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for any special occasion.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I enjoy bringing my out of town guests here since it's always a special treat. Great atmosphere and wonderful customer service. Quality of food and wine is fantastic. My friends always request Miguel every time because he's so passionate about what he does and always engages everyone in the group and makes them feel so welcome. Plus he's knowledgeable about each menu item and knows what to recommend based on expressed preferences. Great place to catch up with good friends and unwind. Great place to enjoy a relaxing dinner out for adults vs. the more family-oriented places in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had An Amazing Dinner!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We were staying overnight in Hickory and had dinner at Youseff's on our way to a concert. From the atmosphere and service to the menu and wine/beer list, were were extremely impressed. We had to try the calamari that was done perfectly with and the Thai sauce was amazing. My husband had the tuna and I had the Asian style chicken and lettuce wrap - both were delicious and perfectly done - loved the presentation too. The wine and beer pairings were perfect. We had planned to come back for dessert (I wanted to try the cappuccino cheese cake) after the concert but we ended up getting out too late. We have been raving about our experience since we got home and would stay in Hickory again just to have dinner again at Youseff's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in hickory

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We absolutely loved this place. The decor is modern and elegant. The food and service were excellent. We loved the goat cheese appetizer in the mason jar. The steaks were perfectly prepared. Loved the wine list. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for any occasion

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday and had never even heard of the restaurant. I wanted to find somewhere nice but not have to go to Charlotte and what an unexpected surprise to know this gem is so close to home! It's a little pricey but perfect for special occasions.

The food was absolutely delicious and the waitress was knowledgeable about food and wine. We can't wait to be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

We had a party of four and all were very pleased with the experience. The service was prompt and professional. The food was excellent - including the Calamari and Ahi Tuna appetizers. I travel for business and have the opportunity to visit fine restaurants across the nation. It is so good to find such a great restaurant right here close to home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The steak and the waitress

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The steak and the waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.