Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 1.79mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 1.79mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Mizumi Hibachi & SushiMizumi Hibachi & Sushi
(19)
$$$$
Sushi | Greensboro, Greensboro
Print Works BistroPrint Works Bistro
(2449)
$$$$
European | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 21 times today
Green Valley GrillGreen Valley Grill
(2653)
$$$$
European | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 27 times today
Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen - GreensboroLucky 32 Southern Kitchen - Greensboro
(1958)
$$$$
Southern | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 20 times today
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - Greensboro - Friendly CenterBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Greensboro - Friendly Center
(547)
$$$$
Italian | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 14 times today
Village Tavern GreensboroVillage Tavern Greensboro
(1349)
$$$$
American | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 21 times today
Fleming's Steakhouse - GreensboroFleming's Steakhouse - Greensboro
(473)
$$$$
Steak | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 3 times today
Undercurrent RestaurantUndercurrent Restaurant
(1042)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 7 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - GreensboroRuth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
(477)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 1 time today
Osteria Italian RestaurantOsteria Italian Restaurant
(249)
$$$$
Italian | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 4 times today
Four Flocks and LarderFour Flocks and Larder
(81)
$$$$
American | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 5 times today
Leblon ChurrascariaLeblon Churrascaria
(975)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 6 times today
B. Christopher's- GreensboroB. Christopher's- Greensboro
(268)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 2 times today
Pier Oyster Bar & GrillePier Oyster Bar & Grille
(48)
$$$$
Seafood | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 1 time today
Positano - GreensboroPositano - Greensboro
(256)
$$$$
Italian | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 3 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 1.79mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 1.79mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

About Cafe Pasta

Café Pasta is a cozy, neighborhood Italian spot that serves up traditional dishes as well as live music on the weekend. There are also monthly beer and wine tastings for you drink aficionados. The kitchen at Café Pasta blends authentic and traditional flavors with a dash of modern technique using fresh, local and seasonal ingredients.

Café Pasta's dinner menu starts with small plates to share and you can choose between many options such as homemade Italian sausages, breaded ravioli and fried zucchini. Larger dishes include dinner salads like caprese and Caesar and many homemade pastas, including fettuccine primavera, tortellini alfredo and shrimp scampi.

305 State Street
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Golden Gate

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 272-1308

Website:
http://www.cafepasta.com/

Entertainment:
Local live music on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings! We also host wine and beer tasting.

Catering:
Café Pasta + Grille offers a variety of catering options to fit your needs. We are able to customize a menu that best fits the occasion. Our affordable rates are based on the menu you create for your event.

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across from the restaurant on State Street.

Executive Chef:
Bethany Ayars

Private Party Facilities:
To help make your event special, we offer free banquet rooms for any occasion. We believe that each event is special, and can tailor the menu to meet your budget or theme, regardless of size.

Private Party Contact:
Ray Essa: (336) 339-6900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
30 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 29, 2015

One would think someone's grandmother is in the kitchen sending out delicious Italian food. The prices are reasonable. They will accommodate dietary needs. We will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 10, 2015

This was our first time at Café Pasta and we LOVE it! I chose this place for our next DATENIGHT adventure. We loved the customer service. The food was very flavorful and delicious. The ambiance was beautiful. And the price was not bad at all! We will definitely be back to visit again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 14, 2015

It has been at 15 years since I have dined here and now I know the reason why it has been so long, the food is mediocre at best. I had the pasta bolognaise and even though the sauce was okay, the dish was 3/4 sauce and 1/4 of over done pasta. My wife had a veal dish and the veal was very tough. The place it very outdated and looks the same as it did over 15 years ago. One strange thing is that the tables near the bar area have white table cloths with glass over them, but in the downstairs and upstairs areas, they do not have table cloths and the tables are old and cheap looking. The only bright spot was the service, our waitress did a great job. However, it will be another 15 years before I plan I giving café pasta another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2015

Excellent food, good proportionis and very friendly and helpful service. Also offered some very unique Italian dishes and combinations. Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2015

I do not recommend. I would not put any stars if it wasn't required. Owner was crass. Sat at a table that was in the aisle had to move. Continuously to let people go by. Glasses had lipstick on it. Food was watery and took 45 minutes to serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2015

My wife and I have dined at Cafe Pasta on many occasions, and have always had a great experience. We went on V-Day and were very disappointed. It seemed they were completely overwhelmed. We were seated upstairs, which is very sterile and I will refuse a table up there in the future. The food was bland and the service was poor. We will definitely go again, and recommend it to others, but we will never go back on a busy night such as Valentine's as they don't seem equipped to handle those big turn-out types of nights.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 6, 2015

It's been a few years since I last ate here. The foods was reliably good as usual. We both got the lasagna. It was enough for two meals. Their bread is great but the cold Tuscan sauce would be better warmed. I had terrible eating it cold. It's like eating cold spaghetti sauce. Their wine selection is great. Very nice wait staff, very friendly. Glad we tried an old Greensboro staple.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2014

Cafe Pasta is a nice place. However, using Open Table to make reservations is useless. I was told they don't check your website for reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2014

The inside of the restaurant on the upper level is very dated. The chairs and tables look like they have been rented from a banquet store. It looks cheap and the tables should be covered with cloth tablecloths. They host a lot of receptions/parties in the lower level so your options of upper or low section are limited. Its difficult to hear when they host these parties and the rest of the patrons suffer. We were seated upstairs on a very cold night outside and we froze the entire time we were eating. They adjust the temp to the servers not the diners. So much for the ambiance. The food was mediocre at best. I did give three stars because my husband enjoyed his meal. They offer spicy dishes ( with ghost peppers) and i mean spicy… which is a pro. My bolognese was very bland and had such a fake tasting sauce i didn't eat much. Our waitress started out with a good attitude and quite attentive but by the end of our meal she was difficult to find…as mentioned before we had to sit on the upper level so we couldn't just flag her down when we needed water refills. I would not return but my husband would!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 23, 2014

Easy to find; atmosphere was great and the food was just right.
Liked the timely serving of the food orders.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 11, 2014

Main level was occupied by a catered party. Half of upper level was occupied by a catered party. Service was not very good. We ordered two bottles of wine. Waitress did not offer a taste test. Just poured the wine into the glasses and left.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 3, 2014

I had forgotten about this spot on State Street. Nice neighborhood -- we had a view of the street. The bar seemed to be lively, but we sat upstairs where it is quiet. Wait staff a little disorganized (3 different folks asked for our drink order), but overall service was great. The crab cake appetizers, Caesar salad, spaghetti -- everything tasty! Waitress asked about your "heat level" from 1 to 5. The 3.5 was a little too much for a wimp like me, but my husband thought it was perfect! We will certainly put this back on our restaurant rotation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 7, 2014

We really had a nice time...the food was wonderful and there was entertainment and wine tasting...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 27, 2014

Great menu selection, excellent service, and comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 3, 2014

I went there for a pre-prom dinner and the food was fantstic. There was live music and a great atmosphere. All that for a great price considering the quality of the food and the resturant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 19, 2014

Cafe Pasta was the toast of the town in the late 90's and then everyone forgot about it. I rediscovered it last year and the food is incredible. Ray does a great job making everyone feel like a regular even of its your first time. Go rediscover Cafe Pasta. You will be glad you did.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 11, 2014

This restaurant is in a good location along a street of small shops. Unfortunately, the area is empty on a Friday night so there is not an social vibe in the area. The building and decor is welcoming, the food just average. Our server was friendly but on a Friday night, the restaurant was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 5, 2014

Over all shrimp scami was ok, I think it had too much h water tomatoes sauce, not enough garlic! The house salad was on a saucer cup, and just leaves. We felt rushed to or order and eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 28, 2014

This restaurant is a gem! Atmosphere is awesome, food delicious, service impeccable. We will be dining here again !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2014

Kinda of NYC throwback. Food was good and service likewise. Will consider going again if in the mood for Italian food

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2014

I heard about Cafe Pasta from a friend who told me the food was excellent. The online reviews gave me a good feeling about the place so I decided to take my fiance' there for a small quite valentine's dinner. We both loved the atmosphere and friendly service that we found that night. The food was excellent, especially the crab cakes! I would definitely recommend this place as a unknown gem and awesome place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Appetizer of crab cakes came out cold... it was obvious they were not fresh crab cakes but possibly frozen. Ordered a pasta dish (linguini rustica) and it was like I was eating a bowl of soup. Way too much water. The pasta was covered with tomatoes which made the dish look like a lot more but wasn't. Hardly any pasta at all. Ambience was awful...the music playing was like 60s and 70s rock or something...it was horrible. So much for a romantic dinner. Very dated decor and I even had a coupon they wouldnt take. Food is severly overpriced. And to top it all off, our waitress decided she was going to try and flirt with my husband and touched him. That's a big no-no in my book. I will never go to this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Service and ambience were nice. Food was very good, but entrees were only warm to room temperature. Desserts were fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2014

Scrumptious and plentiful portions. Welcoming to kids lovely all around. I'll be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 25, 2014

Great food and great service. However the decor needs updating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2014

This was a very odd experience. We went here on a Sat night. They must do banquets more than regular diners. We were escorted to the upstairs "dining room." There were folding chairs and banquet-style tables. Calling this a dining room was quite a stretch. The food was good but the ambience was quite over shadowed by the party downstairs. The server was friendly and kept aplogizing for the situation. However, I would only go back for take-out. Any restaurant that puts a banquet over a diner does not need my business. If you define your"restaurant" as that, then don't' place your diners at an overflow location. Quite an experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2013

Food was delicious. Setting was dated (we were upstairs). Waitress was eager to please, but unfamiliar with how to serve wine, and we had to work to keep her from rushing us (we wanted a leisurely dinner). But the food was fresh and good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2013

Good menu with a chef that will tailor any dish to your liking. If you don't see what you want, ask and they will try to accomodate you. The owner is always around and available. The ricotta cheese cake is the best around. Only place in town that allows you to substitute spaghetti squash for any of the pasta's on the menu. Great ;for low carb Italian food. Atmosphere is neat, music in background is not too loud and is a nice mix of old and new. Hard not to like this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 30, 2013

I've been going to Cafe Pasta ever since a friend first took me there two years ago. I instantly loved it for its dark atmosphere and friendly staff, but more importantly, the food has been consistently outstanding. The menu or daily special is just the beginning: they always stress that you can have it your way--any dish cooked with more of this or that, hotter or milder, as you like it. For an appetizer or light dinner, definitely try the crab cakes. The spinach-artichoke dip with bread is nirvana, and for a main course, I highly recommend any of the salmon or risotto dishes, which are world class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2013

I heard they had a new chef, so ventured out. The specials were a veal chop with mashed potatoes and artichoke hearts, with a Bordeaux reduction and a duck breast with risotto and grilled veggies. I had the Veal and my wife had the Duck. Both were cooked to perfection and everything on the plate was wonderful. Service was great and we enjoyed a nice bottle of Decoy. For desert we split a piece of the most wonderful homemade cheesecake. I highly recommend this place to anyone. No wait, plenty of space and well staffed and best of all, we got out of there for almost half of what I would have expected to pay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.