Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Cafe Nell








Located in the heart of Northwest Portland, Café Nell serves French inspired American classics simply prepared from Northwest ingredients. Entering its fifth year, Café Nell has become known for lively brunches featuring signature cocktails which never fail to impress. A full bar, friendly atmosphere, rotating taps, and a glowing fireplace create a welcoming environment. During summer, our patio seating is perfect for happy hour, or a candle-lit dinner on a warm Portland evening.

1987 NW Kearney St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
11 am - 10 pm Monday - Friday
9 am - 10 pm Saturday
9 am - 8 pm Sunday

Cross Street:
NW 20th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 295-6487

Website:
http://cafenell.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking available in private parking lot. Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Two block walk from StreetCar at 18th & Lovejoy.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:00AM - 9:30AM 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 7:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00AM - 9:45AM 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe Nell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Casual (17)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Cozy (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
Fun (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
People Watching (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was fresh, local and yummy! Great waiter! So nice to having parking lot available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2017

What a cozy little place! Creative menu, helpful wait staff, a nice experience, and off-street parking in a busy neighborhood is a plus! I would go again!

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Cafe Nell is a little gem in the alphabet district. With a distinctive French influence, Cafe Nell will satisfy your craving from Sunday brunch, Happy Hour or just a bite at lunch or dinner. The bar is tiny and cozy with views out to the street; the dining room feels communal with long tables. There is an excellent wine list! BONUS: there is a parking lot!! In Northwest, that can be very helpful. Bon Appetit!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very pleasant evening with our son and daughter-in-law, who were visiting. We found the food, which is American with a French flair, to be tasty, but a bit pricey. The service was friendly and excellent. The wine list was extensive, but not everything on the wine list was actually available. It's a very pleasant interior, and we will back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Cafe Nell is consistantly excellent! Food, service, ambiance... it has it all!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Service pleasant and efficient. Friend had risotto and it was very good. I had grilled avacado filled with Bay shrimp which was tasty but avacado slightly over ripe. Would have like bread served with salad for sure. Overall an enjoyable meal with good service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

So delicious! My friend and I both couldn't resist the Parisian breakfast with the silkiest scrambled eggs, potatoes and toasted baguette. The service was fabulous, the decor/ambience divine... I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Beautiful location, neighborhood gem.
Service was spotty. Was left outside waiting after being acknowledged uncomfortably long.
Service was good. Our waitress recommended a terrific bottle of Rose'
Food was just okay. Ordered the shrimp and avocado bruschetta and it was kind of bland. Had to add salt and pepper.
Risotto was just okay.
Beautiful location but food needs improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food. A little crammed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wanted to take my dad to a new place in Portland since he doesn’t visit very often and we loved this place. All of our food was amazing and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Awesome food, wine & outside seating. Loved the waiter/bartender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Very good food. And it is a nice looking restaurant. The waiter was excellent!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 21, 2017

This is a great place for lunch if you want to sit for a while and visit. It's always great to be greeted by the charming Vanessa. She brings Southern charm to the Pacific Northwest.

Their mussels and frites are really good. You'll find yourself ordering more bread to soak up all of the delicious broth.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

our foursome, including a wine expert, had a lovely dinner at Cafe Nell.
the four entrees, and two starters, were excellent, good size portions; no complaints here. service was also very good.
our one dissatisfaction came when the requested wine was not available. we were offered a second choice by name (without knowing the price); this wine was really just ordinary. we finished the wine (it wasn't *awful*).
we told the server our opinion when ordering a second bottle; he found a better wine for our second bottle - at a lower price. it was not on the menu; had we know, it would likely have been the choice for the first bottle. overall, it left us with a slightly off feeling, that reduced our overall satisfaction with the dinner.
by the way, one of us prefers beer; the choices in this department are very limited - if that is your bent, Portland has many other options for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Met relatives for an early supper. We were the only ones in the dining room. I don't know why I felt a need to make a reservation! Anyway, the four of us had a nice time. I think I would have felt cramped if there had been more than four of us as the tables are close together. We enjoyed ourselves because it was early and things hadn't gotten busy or noisy. But, the prices are pretty steep. I may be back for a drink, but no one let us know if there were Happy Hour prices and I don't think they had any. $22 for a bowl of pasta is a bit over the top.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We came for lunch and the service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. My friend had the pancakes and really enjoyed them. I had the fried chicken sandwich, which was very good. Certainly recommended for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

New to us, Cafe Nell was entirely comfortable. The food ,exactly the right amount on the plate, was prepared with care. It was delicious. The space was intimate without being claustrophobic. It was not completely filled when we were there. I suspect when filled it could become noisy. It seems to cater to a full range of age groups. I like that!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Never a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was not that great and we had three different waiters so we didn't know who to ask for what. The checks were mixed up and then left off my drink and added more to another check in the group. Finally fixed that then the charged the wrong cards for different amounts. If you don't know write it down. Too many wait staff when there was not a lot of people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We loved our meal here. We snagged an outside table and took advantage of the special they had on rose wine. Our server was very knowledgeable and the meal was perfect. Not too rich and heavy like so many restaurants. Good vegetarian options too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We had great service and great food. The group of 7 had various dietary restrictions and all of us could be accommodated. The noise level was a bit high, but we asked the waiter to turn down the music and he took care of it right away. Very comfortable and warm ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Both the regular burger and the turkey burger were fantastic. The brunch food looked great too. They were busy, but there was no wait for seating at around noon on Sunday. This is surprising given the cult-like brunch culture here in Portland where waiting in line for an hour or more is common.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We went for Wednesday Happy Hour (all evening on Wed & Sun) - great values - like a yummy Cabernet for $5 & fish tacos for $7. My fiancé loved the beef carpaccio - any excuse to eat raw beef :) We had awesome service & appreciated the big cold bottles of water they automatically put on the table. Ahhh.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Casual, Quick Bite, Fun, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Definitely enjoyed the food and there was a great wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always a great place for lunch or dinner especially in the summer

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We loved our meals. Trio pork loin, lamb shank and seafood linguini and incredible solkol blosser syrah blend red wine. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a great date night sitting outside and enjoyed our delicious meals. Service was friendly and we would definitely go again!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Mediocre food & poor service. Even after speaking to the owner, the service did not improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2017

They were slow when we arrived at 7pm. We were sat outside, and one of our party must've briefly dropped her napkin, because we discovered her lap, pants and blouse covered in about 100 ants 5 minutes after being seated. Turned out there was a large colony directly adjacent to our table.... it happens.
We requested to be re-sat inside; our server was apologetic. I believe we had ordered beverages but not any food items.
We retained the same server at the inside table. It then took quite some time to get our orders. We ordered a "flatbread" starter and salads. We ordered our entrees at the same time. We requested the starter ahead of time, noting it was primarily to satisfy the hunger of the 8yr old in our party.....
The starter and salads took a very long time, and came out at the same time (based on a reaction from our server when I was ordering a 2nd glass of wine, I suspect the orders weren't placed or went to another table). All were poor to lackluster.
Our entrees came out in a slightly hurried pace, salad plates cleared just about as we were finishing.
My salmon was very good. The 8yr old's fettucine was to her liking. The other 2 in our party had little comment about their food.
Overall the meal and service were average; the evening was not memorable except for the ants.... and the Cafe Nell team really did nothing to take away that event as the only "excitement" of the evening. I frankly didn't even reflect on that until the following day when someone asked me about the meal...... as I am not the type of person that is "looking" for a freebie or to hold an accidental event over on a business. But there you go- there were opportunities I think that were missed by the Cafe Nell team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great service, great cocktail - looking forward to a return visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We have lunch here often and take the baby. Food is great - original and done to perfection - and staff is very welcoming.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We sat outside for lunch and the staff was inattentive. Unfortunately, our table was placed right outside the kitchen door and we frequently smelled garbage. It was a perfectly beautiful day and for the price of our meals, I would have preferred any other outdoor restaurant. It wasn't terrible and I definitely wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service was extremely slow. Food items came out very late, updates were not communicated, nothing was brought out to compensate for the long wait/ nothing was comped. Eggs in benedict were cooked solid, biscuits were doughy and undercooked inside, potatoes were undercooked. Cinnamon roll was not warm. Most of the food was underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Met with a group of 4 friends for Sunday brunch. Eggs Benedict was cold, everyone's food came out in different Times even though we order together. Quality of the food was fine, had to ask for refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Increíblemente deficiente la comida la calidad la presentación. La cantidad
Nada de francés ni siquiera risotto italiano
El chef no tiene idea de lo que es la buena cocina
Una ensalada marchita un risotto deciente de calidad
El Precio ALTO Yo tenía un cupón de 20$ que no alcanza para nada. Una Burla!
No lo repitan es desconsiderado con alguien que está acostumbrado a la buena cocina

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had been told my friends that Cafe Nell was really solid. We had an Open Table gift cert using my points for the dinner. The waitress while friendly, was mostly non-existent throughout the meal; we were one of few tables sitting inside (it was hot; I'm not eating outside in the same climate as in my apartment). It felt like they forgot us until we got up and asked for help. There was quite a bit of staff on what was apparently a slow night. The food was tasty but uneven. We both loved our beet salads. We both had the steak frites. My bernaise sauce was ice cold and even after it was heated, was barely lukewarm. My date had the same and his steak was cold and his sauce piping hot. His fries also were lukewarm. It is a beautiful place and I loved the decoration, but we left with a bad taste in our mouths. If we hadn't had 50$ off, we would have paid more than 100$ for terrible service and cold food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great find in downtown portland. While the place was full it was not overcrowded. Everything we ordered was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great little neighborhood spot just off the beaten path or NW 21st. Feels established and like it has a good quiet polished history. The quality of the food is very good. We enjoyed the southern-fried chicken sandwich, turkey burger and stuffed avocado. Nice spot for a quiet relaxing lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I was introduced to Nells recently by a co-worker because it's an easy walk from Good Samaritan Hospital, in NW Portland. So, I, in turn introduced it to another friend. It's great, quite while close in to the NW 23rd area.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.