Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Café Monarch

Café Monarch, in Old Town Scottsdale, is a family-owned and operated restaurant offering an ultra-romantic setting for your birthday, anniversary, special occasion, or extravagant night out. The four-course menu is altered weekly by Chef Gus Lewkowicz, using only seasonal and local ingredients. All servers are trained and certified sommeliers with extensive wine knowledge.
*Reservation Only

*Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten free restrictions can be accommodated



*Due to the high demand for outdoor seating we cannot guarantee or reserve courtyard seating. We will do our very best to accommodate requests when possible. Thank you for your understanding!

6934 E. 1st Ave.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Summer Seating Times:

Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Sunday: Closed




Cross Street:
NW Corner of 1st Ave and Goldwater BLVD

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-7682

Website:
http://cafemonarch.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Executive Chef:
Gus Lewkowicz

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Host your special event, private function or business dinner in one of America’s Top 100 Best Restaurants.

Café Monarch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (94)
Special Occasion (87)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
See All
Good for a Date (78)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Cozy (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Notable Wine List (46)
Local Ingredients (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Tasting Menu (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Worth the Drive (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Authentic (18)
Seasonal (14)
Business Meals (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Fun (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Organic (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome! Haven't had food this good in a really long time!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This is an expensive but truly wonderful place. Don't miss it! I was only slightly surprised at the many different servers, I would have preferred fewer. But all were exemplary. The food is just marvelous. Four creative, delicious courses, each sized to end up with a satisfying, but not overfilled evening. The courses change weekly and there is some choice but not like the extensive menus at some restaurants. It doesn't matter, every course is perfect. The ambience is cozy, candlelit, with quiet music. I understand they will soon be expanding to a new nearby location so that brunch can be offered as well. It will be a welcome addition. This is a gem of a place, special.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

If you have traveled extensively and sought out fine dining around the world, you eventually understand what makes "fine" vs. "great" restaurant. It is the "Get it" factor. Not tangible, but there staring right at your your face. Cafe Monarch has that factor. It's not just the food ( magnificent 4-course tasting menu that changes weekly), or the servers (ALL are certified sommeliers....crazy), or the atmosphere (think romantic candle lit carriage house and courtyard), but "IT". A tangible passion to make the customer experience extraordinary. If you go, make sure to meet Christian, the 3rd generation restauranteur / owner. He is obsessed with the customer experience. If you are lucky, you'll get to meet his father who was born in Buenos Aires, but surprising has virtually no accent.
To talk about the food....the cauliflower soup, tiger prawn, compressed cantaloup in the huckleberry vinegarette salad, the chilean sea bass, the decadent lobster ravioli....all a bit meaningless as the menu changes weekly as previously mentioned. But this place is special. Go, relax, and enjoy a restaurant with the true "It" Get It' factors.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The entire evening was amazing with impeccable service, great food, superior wine and all while you are dining in a very romantic garden. It's worth every penny!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

i enjoy this place so much i keep returning every time i have a special occasion. one of my favorite places in Scottsdale.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Anniversary. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was excellent. Not one dish on this four course menu missed the mark in preparation, taste and the subtle mixture of seasoning.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I'm not quite sure what word could describe this place. It's special. Truly one of a kind. From the moment you enter, you'll experience exceptional service. Every employee knows the menu- from where the food comes from to where the salt comes from - no lie! I heard a waiter explaining where their salt came from. Unreal. Richard, you're awesome and congrats on you're upcoming wedding. To the owners, you're doing it right... better than right. Keep it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Simply Amazing, staff was great, food was unbelievable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Cafe Monarch lived up to its previous billing. It is simply outstanding in all regards. From the moment you arrive you know this is going to be a special place. The wait staff is impeccable and both knowledgable, courteous and attentive. The food was prepared perfectly. I simply have not had a better dinner any where. Well worth the trip and the price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We love this place! Every time we come to town we try to eat here. Great place for a date night. The service is 5 star, the food is outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was amazing! Service phenomenal! Environment couldn't be better. Very pricey but worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was my second experience in less than a month, dining at Cafe Monarch. The first dinner was so extraordinarily perfect, that I admit to a slight trepidation about the restaurant and the overall experience, being able to rise to the level of my initial experience. That hesitancy or fear was proved to be unfounded.
I can say without a doubt now that TWO of my greatest dining experiences ever, have both taken place in the beautiful courtyard of Cafe Monarch.
Kesam (Sam) was our Sommelier and Server on both occasions. I'm a huge fan of artisanship and seeing those who are a master of their craft. Sam quite simply brings the dining experience to a level rarely seen in the finest restaurants in the world. From his descriptions of each dish and it's preparation, to his selection of wine pairing, he exudes so much passion (and expertise), that you know you're in rarefied company.
There is a 4-course tasting menu that changes weekly. I cannot emphasize enough, that this is one restaurant where you can place implicit trust in the Executive Chef, Gus, and his team, and leave things in their capable hands. Everything I've tried has been among the best tasting dishes I've ever had. Cast iron filet mignon,...among the best of the best. Lobster ravioli,...among the finest bites to ever cross my palette. The cauliflower soup was the single best soup I've ever had. No doubt the menu will have changed, with new offerings in a week's time, but that's beside the point. You can trust that your dishes, and your experience will be just as unique, and exemplary.
I look forward to many more memorable dining experiences at Cafe Monarch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great experience in every way. Had the wine pairings with the menu and they were exceptional but just a bit pricey for the wines, except however when you compare it to the wine list which looks like bottles are 2-3X retail. The selection is very good but as said the pricing is pretty steep compared to other restaurants around the country. Outside of that the food was exceptionally prepared, very creative and service top notch.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Cafe Monarch is an amazing restaurant in every respect. On arrival, it captivates you with its charm, from the soft candlelight to the soothing background music. The service is almost beyond belief . . we were made to feel like special guests in a private home and every conceivable courtesy was extended. And I haven't yet mentioned the food! Each course was unique and delicious. It's truly a gem in Scottsdale and we can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Creative food, romantic ambiance, courteous and kind staff. Amazing complimentary desserts for our birthdays. One of our very favorites in Phoenix!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This is a gem in Scottsdale! The menu is Southwestern-influenced and creative. The service is impeccable and the chef is flexible about dining restrictions. They were very accommodating in making vegetarian versions of the courses. The wine pairing included some unusual offerings and each course was perfectly complemented by the pairing. The food is delicious and beautifully presented. The staff explains each course (and possible variation) along with each wine pairing thoroughly. The outdoor patio is lovely and romantic. It was very hot (100 degrees+) when we dined and there were overhead misters which made sitting outdoors quite comfortable. One of my favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We flew in from Ohio for our 30th Anniversary and wanted to celebrate in a romantic atmosphere with great food. Cafe Monarch fit the bill perfectly! From the unique cocktails to the "melt in your mouth" steaks, we can definitely recommend this quaint bit of heaven to everyone!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Worthy of a Michelin Star! Creative seasonal cuisine with fresh quality ingredients masterfully prepared! Amazing ambiance with sincere and attentive staff. Interesting cocktail menu and our waiter was knowledgeable of the wine list and paired a glass of wine with my entree perfectly. I would come back to Arizona just to eat here again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Amazing Restaurant, probably one of the best in AZ!!

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I have dined all over the World at some of the finest restauarants. Cafe Monarch rates in the top 10 of the best dinning expereinces I have had. It was truly a flawless meal. I was concerned as it is quite expensive, but found it to be worth every penny.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everything was fabulous so enjoy 😊
The service excellent the waiter

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The best dining experience in Arizona, hands down. No one in the valley can compete with the service and food quality Café Monarch has to offer. This restaurant has a huge bonus of being very allergy friendly for those who are gluten, soy, and dairy allergic. This restaurant is beyond amazing and the courtyard is stunning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

There are few special restaurants in this country but the Monarch Cafe is one of them! Everything about it is fabulous. Every item on the menu is superb! It's expensive but worth every cent! My only little suggestion may be a little more food. You cherish every bite there!

I would highly recommend this place to anyone for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2017

There is never anything to be improved upon here. Have been several times when in town, and will continue to make it a high priority each trip. Don't bother going if on a tight budget, but definitey go if looking for a very memorable, relaxing, outstanding and remarkably delicious experience. The service is impeccable, and you (as we always do) will reminisce about, and long for, the food for days following. Thank you, Chef, for another amazing evening at Cafe Monarch!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We visited Cafe Monarch on a trip to AZ for Labor Day weekend. It was easy to find/park for out-of-towners, and as you walk up you realize that the experience will be different from the usual. The website explains that you will be having a 4-course meal, so that was not a surprise to us.

We were seated out on the front patio at a bistro table, for a pre-dinner drink according to the hostess. I was not sure if it was part of the dining experience or if we were just too early for our reservation. Unfortunately, no one ever came to take our drink order, so I didn't get to have a pre-dinner cocktail.

We were then seated about 10 feet from the main busy doorway, so my review of the noise level of the restaurant might have been skewed due to that. It was distracting at times.

The cocktail list was diverse enough that based on the ingredients in them, you probably couldn't find one that would not taste good. I did not have a cocktail, but my significant other did and enjoyed it.

The food was great, and the portions are appropriate for having 4 courses. I know the menu changes frequently here-but during my dinner I had some gnocchi with tenderloin, and it was a nice balance of flavors. My significant other had the surf and turf trio, and I would suggest that diners skip on that unless they really can't commit to one of the other menu options, because you aren't really missing out by only choosing 1 entree.

Cafe Monarch is a great option in Scottsdale, especially if you are looking to get away from chain restaurants or a typical steak house for a nice, romantic meal. It's very pretty inside (what I was able to see of it) and they create a calm, cozy atmosphere. I also thought the pricing was spot-on for what you are getting in your meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

An awesome dining experience. We have been regulars and we bring friends quite often. LOVE THIS GEM OF A RESTAURANT.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was a beautiful birthday spot! I took my boyfriend there and he was so amazed and loved it. I enjoyed everything about it. Would definitely go back for their weekly menu, ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Charming ambiance....excellant cuisine.......pleasant staff......Word is that they are planning to move across the street soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had a reservation for 20:30 on a Thursday. We arrived at Cafe Monarch 10 min late and were informed the kitchen had already closed. In fact, according to the information given by the waiter that talked to us, the kitchen closes at 20:30. It is true we were 10 min late and it would be better if that had not happened but it is absolutely not acceptable that a restaurant accepts a reservation for 20:30 if the kitchen closes at 20:30. Even if we had arrived at 20:30 we would have had no time to choose what to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening out. First time to visit this restaurant but will not be our last.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food was amazing and the wine pairing was perfect. The best restaurant ever!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Awesome as usual. The food was great and the service was fantastic. Thanks for a great evening. Jim

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Amazing evening at this beautiful restaurant. Service, ambience, wine & food were all executed perfectly. Very romantic spot - we dined in the patio, under the misters and twinkly lights. Loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful food for foodies. This is a phoenix gem. Special place.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

One of the best if not the best meal I have had in Arizona. the service, ambiance, the quality of the food, the presentation and then the complete description of all our courses by the wait staff (who were superb). This was true dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very quaint place! Quiet for a Saturday night. Ambiance was wonderful. Farmhouse chic. Servers were excellent...very knowledgeable. Food was excellent too!! Would definitely go back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Cafe Monarch was awesome. Incredible food, excellent service, and the ambiance of that exceptional courtyard.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was amazing. It was an anniversary dinner and it felt like every employee at the restaurant knew it was our special night. They paid attention to the small things from the valet (and the time we arrived) to the end of the night. I had one employee notice that I was looking at a drink menu across the room, stop what he was doing to come back give me a menu, a few suggestions, and get our drinks ordered. The staffs ability to make us feel individually special in a room full of guests who I can only imagine get the same way completely made up for a terrible experience at our hotel where they completely forgot to add the anniversary gifts that were purchased in advance. This restaurant and its staff made our anniversary trip all better in one small night. Thank you to those involved. Ps I'm not being paid for this, it just was that perfect. If anything I might be doing a disservice by setting the expectations to high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.