Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Café Monarch

Café Monarch, in Old Town Scottsdale, is a family-owned and operated restaurant offering an ultra-romantic setting for your birthday, anniversary, special occasion, or extravagant night out. The four-course menu is altered weekly by Chef Gus Lewkowicz, using only seasonal and local ingredients. All servers are trained and certified sommeliers with extensive wine knowledge.
*Reservation Only

*Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten free restrictions can be accommodated



*Due to the high demand for outdoor seating we cannot guarantee or reserve courtyard seating. We will do our very best to accommodate requests when possible. Thank you for your understanding!

6934 E. 1st Ave.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Seating Times:

Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Sunday: 5:30pm - 8:00pm




Cross Street:
NW Corner of 1st Ave and Goldwater BLVD

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-7682

Website:
http://cafemonarch.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Executive Chef:
Gus Lewkowicz

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Café Monarch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (199)
Romantic (196)
Good for Anniversaries (178)
See All
Good for a Date (169)
Great for Outdoor Dining (163)
Creative Cuisine (130)
Fit for Foodies (120)
Good for Birthdays (104)
Quiet Conversation (104)
Notable Wine List (96)
Worth the Drive (93)
Cozy (93)
Local Ingredients (73)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Tasting Menu (61)
Handcrafted Cocktails (58)
Authentic (43)
Seasonal (27)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Healthy (18)
Fun (18)
Scenic View (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Business Meals (14)
Molecular Gastronomy (14)
Historic (14)
People Watching (13)
Organic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Fireplace (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Insane 4 Course Meal only to be outdone by service level. Perfect for romantic date. If weather looks good, request courtyard table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Flawless evening. Amazing setting. As good as it gets.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and stellar staff- especially the Scott (not from Scottsdale). Chef came out to chat briefly, which is always appreciated for this Foodie.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Terrific food. Place was full and service was slow at time. The patio is fantastic. We could not eat all four courses but took food home to enjoy later. Worth the money!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Best restaurant in Scottsdale. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent. My husband and I thought it was a little expensive but worth the money. My husband said it was the best meal he's had in Phoenix. We happened to go on a cooler night in May and the outside patio table was perfect. They even gave me a little Mother's Day gift at the end of the night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

the service and ambiance were great but the food was not as good as expected based upon our previous visit or expectations

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Another fabulous meal at Monarch. We alway request John as our server. His wine knowledge is amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The personal rapport and courtesy of staff was exceptional. It makes so much of a difference.
Thanks for a wonderful dinner experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outside seating next to a waterfall and the flowers I requested was ideal. The food was very special. Not rushed at all. Service was outstanding and helpful. Most important the dinner was far above what I expected. This is our new special occasion place for dining. Well worth the cost.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and service was great! I know it states can't guarantee outside seating but for our 20 year anniversary was hoping it would happen. Maybe next time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful adventure in dining every time we go. Took a friend this time and she will return.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Just wonderful the Chilean Seabass and Foie Gras!! Sam is the best...

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. This has become one of our favorite places in old town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My daughter and I had an amazing experience. We will be returning.
Everything was top notch. The menu is phenomenal. Highly recommend this to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We requested to be seated outside on the patio. My reservation was made about a month ahead, but we could not be accommodated. This was extremely disappointing as the inside table was small and in a corner, not much to be excited about. The food was good but this is a VERY expensive restaurant. Would not recommend this for the price and ambiance indoors not attractive. We were celebrating a big birthday and it was a disappointing night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was great, except the timing of the courses and drinks. We couldn't finish our cocktails before they place the white wine next to them. On a warm evening like last Friday the wine will not stay cool for that long. The meat course came before the red wine was served and then the last white wine came too early again. That time we asked the waiter to take it back and wait, which he did.
Small problem that can be solved for future guests.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We celebrate our anniversary there, we had a wonderful time, everything was perfect, food, service, ambience . We'll celebrate many anniversaries to come at Cafe Monarch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a phenomenal dinner in a fabulous setting. Love love love the food and loved loved loved the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Thought it was expensive for a 90 minute dinner- not dining! Surprised chef did not serve any amuse bouche, not even bread or a chocolate with the check! Food was excellent however and you were not overly stuffed, even with 4 courses (not huge portions).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My wife always researches our trips using Trip Advisor and this time was no exception. This trip to Scottsdale was to celebrate our Anniversary. She chose Café Monarch for our Anniversary night Dinner from doing her typical research. She could not have chosen a better venue. The outside eating area was remindful of some of our European dinners. We had excellent service and the food was outstanding. We both highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I just wrote a detailed review on Trip Advisor. Please see that review.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Impeccable! The service and the food - top notch. Attention to detail and high quality. They went out of their way to acknowledge our special occasion including complimentary dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is our current special occasion restaurant . We have been several times now and have never been anything but thrilled with our experience. From the attentive service, to the exquisite food , to the enchanting outdoor patio… it really is perfection!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was a complete experience, from the setting, food, and service. Each cousrse was full of flavor, and the portions just enough, not over or under filling. As a result, we will certainly return, and bring guests, who will appreciate the tasteful, and relaxing setting, and would expect that they will in return, do the same.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Cafe Monarch has been our favorite for a couple of years now. The service is very attentive, they know their wines, and never miss a details. When each course arrives, they describe each item in detail and it looks like art on a plate, then the flavor is even better. Best restaurant in the valley!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was excellent. The only issue is the chairs are a little bit uncomfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great find. A culinary gem. One of a kind dishes that titilate your palate. Totally customer oriented. Try it. Dine in the garden patio. Memorable.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My new FAVORITE restaurant on earth! Thank you!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Cafe Monarch was an excellent place to have a great meal! Each of the four courses was amazing and the wait staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect!!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Fabulous dining experience.....four course gourmet food presented in an unbelievable display of color on each plate. The filet mignon was grilled to perfection and the pork chops were very moist!! The waiter was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and the attention to detail did not go unnoticed. Although this time we were gifted by our adult kids, we will definitely be back at least once a year to celebrate another special occasion! What a wonderful two hour leisurely romantic adventure! It is not to be missed!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Perfect taste, service was excellence, no complaints except maybe a tad bigger portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was our first time at Cafe Monarch and we were extremely impressed with the food, excellent service and ambiance. It lived up to all the great reviews and more. Had a wonderful wine selection. We brought friends who were visiting from Miami and they were equally impressed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The finest dining experience we have had and that includes places like NY, San Francisco. Chicago etc. Words can't describe how much we enjoyed it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was wonderful. We liked the outdoor patio area, champagne when we arrived and the sparkler dessert at the end for our anniversary. If I have one comment it is that by the time my entree came it was so dark, I could not see what I was eating. The menu listed many ingredients which I liked but had to blindly taste test. We will return for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The most incredible restaurant I have ever been to. The ambiance is magical and the cuisine is consistently 5=star plus !!! The staff are so professional and so nice and the owner could not be more attentive and always making sure he remembers you. This restaurant is a true find.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The ambiance was perfect. The food was wonderful. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was great

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our Server John was very knowledgeable of the menu items their seasoning and cooking temperature. He checked in frequently but not overly so. Excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.