Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Café Central

With food prepared by one of the most highly respected chefs in the city,
guests of Café Central experience dining at its finest.
Soft lights, handsome furnishings and ambient music create a relaxing mood-setting atmosphere; fine linens and fresh flowers adorn every table. Our staff provides every patron with unsurpassed service. Bon Appétit.

109 North Oregon
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:00am-4:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mills and San Antonio Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 545-2233

Website:
http://www.cafecentral.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz on Thursdays; Piano during Dinner Monday thru Saturday.

Catering:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Parking Details:
Public lot located next door to restaurant. Parking is $6.00 and Valet parking is $5.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Mora

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Candlelit, private, impeccably appointed gatherings are our pleasure. The Board Room accommodates 20 to 48 people with a private, full service bar cloistered on the reverse side of our main bar. The Wine Vault accommodates 2 to 20 people and is a fully private room, separated from main dining area.

Café Central Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Notable Wine List (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Live Music (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Historic (8)
Bar Seating (8)
People Watching (7)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 3 days ago

We love going to Café Central. Food is great! The Green Chile soup is amazing! You must try it!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful early dinner, starting with the fresh flowers and perfectly set table. Our waiter was attentive and professional. I wish we had scheduled a little later to listen to the music. They arrived just before we left. Food was very good. Will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A nice romantic restaurant , my wife an I went for our wedding anniversary and we loved the environment and the music was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Normally not open on Sunday but opened for Mother's Day with special menu which must have thrown our young server off. Mixed drink (Cucumber Press) was off the mark and I paid for an extra shot of vodka which barely helped. Wine was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food and service are always wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great atmosphere, great drinks, lots of choices for lunch and dinner and out of this world desserts! I highly recommend the green chili soup as a starter it's super yummy!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We made reservations 2 months ago for this special nite. We get there on time and get seated, not in the main restaurant but in the patio addition, which apparently allows cigar smoking. There is no way this patio can meet the local non smoking guidelines as there is no open breezeway for the smoke to dissipate. The service was ok, and we have been there 8 or more times in the last 2 years, and the food and service impeccable. Tonight, the food was good, but our overall experience was not. Cafe Central is no longer our go to place for a classy nite on the town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was my first experience at Cafe Central. The wine list is amazing. The service is outstanding. And I had the best Rib eye in my life. If you want to impress someone this is the place to take them. The valet kept our vehicle until after the show at the Plaza, we returned for dessert and coffee and not only did they remember us... they put us at the same table. What an amazing evening!! Thank you

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Perfect 1st date restaurant and those thereafter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The only drawback was the live music. The piano overshadowed the not-so-strong voice of the chanteuse. My date and I were actually relieved when the duo took a break and they used the piped in music.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Always a great place to go before an event. Look forward to coming back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I love this place!!! Possibly the best steak I have ever had!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A Wonderful lunch before a great performance of Phantom of the Opera at the historic Plaza Hotel in El Paso. If possible, the lunch was as good if not better than the performance. GREAT RESTAURANT!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Cafe Central is a staple restaurant downtown that has only improved its valet, food and service. The outdoor patio provides a more casual dining experience, while the indoor dining is more casual-formal. The food is amazing. I order something different each time and am never disappointed. The bread is fabulous and just keeps coming to the table. Awesome restaurant!

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Simply put: superb!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The service was lacking. I've never had to ask for a drink three times because the waiter kept forgetting. Also, service was incredibly slow. Ordered the tuna plate and the tuna was cooked to the point that it was like rubber. I've never had such a bad experience at this resturaunt. For the amount of money I spent, I expect much better service and quality of food. I won't be back. In fairness the manager was very apologetic but it should have never happened in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Best fine dining in El Paso.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Went to the plaza theater for a show then came to have reservations. We arrived early it was very busy and we didn't get sat till about 45 minutes after our reservation time. When we got seated in the bar area. Our server did a great job she was very attentive and the food as always was amazing which is why we come back so often. The tomahawk chop is so good and the ribeye was also delicious. Great bar selection and drinks were great. Had the beef carpaccio for the first time there and it to was great. We also enjoyed the lump crab avocado tower and it never disappoints

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent place to dinner in el paso

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Waited 1 hour after having a reservation. Even though it was extremely busy, priority should've been given to reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My experience at Cafe Central should have been wonderful considering I was celebrating my 5 year wedding anniversary, but I was utterly disappointed. I had made a reservation a week in advance for 730 on February 18. We arrived at 720 and were told to tell the hostess about our reservation closer to 730. We approached the hostess stand at 735 and were told it would be 15-20 min. My husband and I made our way to the bar and ordered drinks. Time passed and the hostess repeatedly came over to the bar to take patrons to their seats. The waiting crowd at the hostess stand had now thinned and the time was now 840. I noticed that two couples who had come into the restaurant with reservations after us were already seated. Angered, my husband and I approached the hostess stand and asked what had happened to our table. The hostess had appeared to have forgotten about our table and told us we were next. She then offered us a table outside in the cold patio next to the covered tarp that was letting freezing, gusty wind in. My husband and I immediately left and could not believe the service we received. If I could leave zero stars for this restaurant I would. I have a 12 month old and my husband and I hardly ever go out alone. We had a babysitter and were looking forward for this night of celebration for weeks. Needless to say I will never be visiting this establishment again.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Let's just say we won't be back.
We were 30 minutes late for our reservation, but either they were extremely understaffed, management assigned too many tables per waiter, or we just had a bad waiter. We waited at least 20 minutes before he took our food order. No "Hi, hello thank you for waiting". Once our food arrived we never saw him. He never once checked to see how we were doing, didn't offer another drink, never asked how our food was. We wanted to check out the dessert menu, but after waiting 20 minutes after we were done with our meal and finally seeing him we decided to just ask for our check.
When you are spending more than $100 on a special night out you're going out for the whole experience. And service is a huge part of that. Unfortunately they completely miss the mark.
The pro: we did enjoy the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was absolutely excellent! The people, the atmosphere, and the food was all wonderful!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Jason did a great job! We had a good time and will definitely recommend Café Central to our friends and family.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Private Room, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was great but the service was the best. Thank you.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cafe central is a great restaurant. Overall everything was excellent except that inside the tables are too crammed.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I were greeted by the valet and the waiters open the door for us in a respectful manner. We were then greeted by one of the three hostess, which I feel wouldn't have acknowledged us unless I went up to the counter. Other than that the service was amazing and the food just as good as the service. As for the price, you get what you pay for, and we were both highly satisfied.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was our first time (14 Feb 17) at Café Central and it was an amazing experience. It was our anniversary dinner and I will tell you that it did not disappoint on any level. The service was phenomenal and the food was worth every penny. This is definitely a place to bring a special someone or just a place to enjoy a great atmosphere with friends or family. The staff was attentive, from the valet to the waiters.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our table was next to bar and was not as comfortable as in other areas.but good restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very classy and romantic. But disliked our server he seemed as if he was new and didn't know what he was doing. He only offered us the wine menu and not the cocktel, as well as when we asked of his opinion upon the food his response was everything is good.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Valentine's Day Dinner with friends & Sea Bass was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The dinner was very good except for the service and noise. We waited over an hour from the time we ordered till the entrees started coming out. We asked the status at 50 min and were told that they were taking care of a large group and we were next up. Didn't need to hear that we were less important than the large group. Towards the end of the meal they started to bus our table with some still eating. The busser was actually pushy. I guess they needed to turn it since we were on it for 3 hrs due to very slow service. Party of 8 so 20% gratuity was baked into the check. Otherwise we would have left less due to no attempt at service recovery. Also, several in our group commented on how loud the music was. It was definitely distracting. It'll be awhile before we're back again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love this place always great food and service ! Very nice staff

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always special. Great steaks, and seafood. Extensive wine list and nice cocktails. One of the best high end spots in El Paso.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was excellent, but the service was very slow, with the waiter disappearing for lengthy periods of time. Overall it was a nice experience and we will more than likely be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I loved it. The Staff was wonderful. The food was delicious! Thank you so much!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It is a comfortable place to have a good time and good food with friends

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is where we go before every theater event at the Plaza. The food is so good and the menu is diverse that you never get tired of trying new things. Service is great and management always is active in the dining area. Always a great experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.