Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Café Central

With food prepared by one of the most highly respected chefs in the city,
guests of Café Central experience dining at its finest.
Soft lights, handsome furnishings and ambient music create a relaxing mood-setting atmosphere; fine linens and fresh flowers adorn every table. Our staff provides every patron with unsurpassed service. Bon Appétit.

109 North Oregon
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:00am-4:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mills and San Antonio Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 545-2233

Website:
http://www.cafecentral.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz on Thursdays; Piano during Dinner Monday thru Saturday.

Catering:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Parking Details:
Public lot located next door to restaurant. Parking is $6.00 and Valet parking is $5.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Mora

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Candlelit, private, impeccably appointed gatherings are our pleasure. The Board Room accommodates 20 to 48 people with a private, full service bar cloistered on the reverse side of our main bar. The Wine Vault accommodates 2 to 20 people and is a fully private room, separated from main dining area.

Café Central Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (23)
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Live Music (10)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
828 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter and the other waitstaff were outstanding. My wife and I go there each year on our anniversary and they never fail to disappoint! There was even a "Happy Anniversary" card awaiting us at our table. Nice, personal touch! Thank you CC!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The environment was new but was very flavorful. The live music was great as you’re waiting for your meal. The wine collection was off the charts. I’m glad there was a gentlemen that knew his wine collection. Awesome place. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

simply Amazing place fully recommended for any special ocsion

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

When all dressed up for theatre, It is such a pleasure to have available an elegant dining experience. I would highly recommend Cafe Central for those special occasions when you want to wear something nice and not stick out like a sore thumb because everyone else is dressed dreadfully casual. Service was impeccable and our wine glasses were kept at an equal level. (Drink faster than your date so you can get more!) My only two minor complaints are, although delicious, my duck was a bit rubbery and, as the restaurant filled the sound level (of course) increased. The background music was fine but when the piano and singer joined in, it was a bit too much. Sorry, but we could have done without them. All in all, a lovely pre-theatre dinner with my sweetheart.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Excelente cena romántica en familia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Cafe Central is wonderful restaurant. Make sure ou plan for at least 2 hours or more before an event. They are never in a hurry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I made a reservation for my 1st anniversary and we were seated promptly after arrival. Supposedly there was a mix up on who was our waiter so there was a wait before we got to order our drinks. I loved the bread basket full of different types of bread....the jalapeno cheese was the best! We started off with the crab cakes and portabella starters. The crab cakes were crispy, golden brown and paired well with the sauce they came with. The portabella mushrooms and goat cheese flavors melded well together. Of course, we had to get the cream of green Chile soup. My husband said it tasted like Chile con queso but we enjoyed it nonetheless. For our entrees, I got the ribeye and he got the aged NY. Best steaks ever...better than Ruth's Chris! The sides were just as delicious. The waiters were quick to remove any empty plates and kept our glasses full. Unfortunately, we had no room for dessert. We will definitely have to come back!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I had a great time. The service was good and tje food was delicious. Very romantic. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Was Very disappointed. Cafe Central used to be a wonderful restaurant for wonderful food and exceptional service. However Friday night was way below par and we all said how sad it was that the standards had reached such a low.
Our waiter Ceasar was very Uninterested and the service was very slow. We weren't the only table that had him as a server who felt this way.
The highlight was Raylyn the bartender. She had a great personality and was very good a he job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Everything about the meal was flawless. Wait staff was impeccable. The sommelier recommended the finest bottle of wine my wife and I had ever had. Food was perfectly prepared and presentation was exceptional. One of the best meals we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing experience!!!! They helped me set up a proposal and it was just incredible. First time here and I will for sure return and tell everyone how beautiful and truly amazing this place is.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Fuimos a celebrar el nacimiento de un nieto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Amazing food, wine and service. Top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I proposed at Cafe Central. The staff was incredibly helpful. They assisted me in accomplishing my vision for the night flawlessly. They have gained a customer for life. Paul and his crew play fantastic music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was more than spectacular. From food to service. It's quite expesinse but mostly worth it

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2017

My husband and I live in Tucson and have traveled throughout the country (and world). Cafe Central is our favorite restaurant in the country (and we've eaten in lots of NYC and West Coast restaurants). We come for dinner whenever we are anywhere near El Paso. The food is always perfectly prepared - the restaurant offers diverse and often surprising options. The service is excellent but not at all stand offish and not at all cloying. Just right.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent night! Server super attentive and recommended wine and food. Thanks for the service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very good cuisine, good service. Its allowed to smoke on the terrace and thats not very nice for people who dont smoke. Inside, its very cold.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The service was on point and very friendly. The food was amazing, though the duck was slightly overcooked it wasn't enough to spoil the meal. The live music was very classy and well done. Valet parking made for easy arrival and departure. The breads offered made the wife happy as the chocolate martini made me though I normally drink bourbon. We left relaxed, full bellies and happy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 26, 2017

amazing food, friendly staff, peaceful environment, great quality!!! love it here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Gracias! Excelente servicio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Good food, but was a bit on the salty side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

A long overdue date night was very good a Central Cafe. Wine service was excellent and the appetizers were very good. Presentation for the main course was well done. Wife had pork and I had steak both cooked to order. For dessert my wife had chocolate mousse and I had the creme brulee. Both good. The creme brûlée was colder past the caramelized top than expected but tasty. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent rib eye! Exceptional! Dessert platter was delicious! Very classy, friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 8, 2017

The only problem with the entire event, planning /reservation through a wonderful meal, just as we expected from previous visit, is the reservation process through open table. We were under the impression that the restaurant would packed as there was not a reservation available between 6 and 9. Luckily we like to eat early and started at 5:30 in an almost empty restaurant, finished with absolutely no hurry and never saw the tables full. The restaurant is wonderful and I hope the reservation system is not scaring people away when there are tables available.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 27, 2017

No Vegetarian options on menu, Chef suggested and prepared a dish but would rather be able to look at and select from a set of options. Options for different days have not repeated.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We visited this restaurant prior to walking over to the Southwestern ballpark for an El Paso Chihuahuas game on June 27, 2017. We decided to skip any appetizers/salads and had a mixed drink, Paloma, and a glass of Ruffino moscato with our entrees which were, jumbo scallops, which were silver dollar size, and Alaskan halibut. The drinks were excellent and we plan to find out whether any liquor stores in Las Cruces carries Ruffino. The scallops were very good, but the halibut had an odd tasting sauce which we unable to identify components and since halibut was not posted on their online menu we were not able to compare what we tasted with what the restaurant was purporting to present. This is a very fine restaurant and are likely give it another try, since the service was very good and most of the food quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Café Central is our go-to place for celebrations and indulgence, in spite of the fact that It is located about 40 miles from our home . The portions are modest, a bit pricey, and delicious but the top- notch service and beautiful surroundings make it worthwhile. The room is large enough and separate enough from the bar so that one can have quiet conversation. However, for those wanting a little entertainment there is a piano in the bar area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I have visited before and truly enjoyed everything overall. This recent visit was a little different. For the amount of food I ordered/received this time, was extremely pricey. Our recent experience didn't quite live up to the same expectations of our first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Beautifully appointed with quiet piano music. Excellent cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Consistently superior dining experience. This establishment has been the "go-to" for notable occasions and dates nights.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I love this restaurant! I'd eat here every time I come back to my hometown if I could; lunch and dinner!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Perfect wonderful and delicious always happy at cafe central

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The overall experience was good. The biggest issue we had came at the very end. The waiter messed up the checks for all the parties except for 1. The wine was placed on the wrong check, one party had their credit card swiped for a different party at the table and visa versa. Another party had both children on their ticket rather than the correct family ticket. All this happened after the waiter was informed of who at the table belonged to which party, total of 5 families in all.

Side Note: The NY Strip was very tough, especially for a medium rare order. The sea bass was wonderful and the desserts and wine were amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 7, 2017

A very sweet, romantic and private spot to eat and enjoy company. Staff was attentive and gave us some great recommendations on wine.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Had Escargot as appetizer which is reliably good here. The red snapper for entree was fresh, despite having a tiny hint of being overcooked was still good. The mango colada pie was delicious as usual. Service was very attentive and helped us celebrate a special occasion with complementary dessert which we got to choose.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Elegant ambience, delectable food, fine wine, and great service. Truly a five star experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We love going to Café Central. Food is great! The Green Chile soup is amazing! You must try it!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Restaurant was great for our anniversary dinner. Staff was incredibly friendly and offered an amazing environment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful early dinner, starting with the fresh flowers and perfectly set table. Our waiter was attentive and professional. I wish we had scheduled a little later to listen to the music. They arrived just before we left. Food was very good. Will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.