Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Cafe Amici

Cafe Amici is a traditional Italian cuisine, we offer extensive menu, you will enjoy dish from Puglia, Veneto, Tuscany and the Mediterranean shores. There is an eight seat bar with 20 wines by the glass, 120 bottle of wines from all over the world, wine vintage from 1964 thru 2014.

1371 main street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm


Sunday-closed june to october

Cross Street:
between Palm Av and Pineapple St on Main street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 951-6896

Website:
http://www.cafeamicisrq.com/

Catering:
We can arrange catering up to 100 people.

Parking Details:
Free parking garage situated behind Cafe Amici, valet service available.

Executive Chef:
Achille Nigri

Private Party Facilities:
The private room can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo: (941) 914-2679

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Kosher, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinner.

Specials

Complimentary Glass of Wine With Your Meal

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Osoobuco eevery nights.

Special valid Apr 8, 2017 - Aug 8, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

20% Off Food Only

Sundays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Complimentary Glass of Wine With Your Meal

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Complimentary Glass of Wine With Your Meal. Excludes Tax and Tip. Complimentary limoncello or espressocello or bayleafcello. Special valid Jun 1, 2017 - Sep 1, 2017 on Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Osoobuco eevery nights.

Special valid Apr 8, 2017 - Aug 8, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 8, 2017 - Aug 8, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

20% Off Food Only

Sundays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

20% Off Food Only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 7, 2017 - Aug 7, 2017 on Sundays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe Amici Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (17)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Cozy (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (0)
Sort By:
S
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Cafe Amici continues to impress via tasteful, understated elegance sans pretense. The food is authenticaly delicious, and the management/ wait staff could not be more cordial. Again, Bravo!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Small intimate restaurant would be romantic if not for the extremely loud noise level. Waiter was not very friendly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server, Maria, was knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive, the food was very good and obviously homemade. One of the specials was osso bucco and it was just out of the oven and delicious. We will go back there again. It's sort of expensive but most places on Main Street are.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food and service were both fabulous. Great ambiance and personalized attention. Nice patio to eat outside, but the atmosphere insight is great as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went for an early dinner before an Orchestra performance. We all have the Grouper special, tomatoes, olives and a light sauce. Everyone cleaned their plate. Caesar salad was also excellent and I am a Caesar star maven.

Wine selections were good and reasonable.

Great choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was good but not great. The service was excellent .

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had never been to the restaurant before. Food was excellant as well as the wine. Service was attentive but not hovering. We were going to see a concert at 8 with a 530 reservation we had all the time we needed to eat , drink go to the theater and be in our seat.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This restaurant has been a staple on Main St in downtown Sarasota for many years. So it must do a lot right. Four of us dined here for the first time this week. I thought the overall experience was average when I take into account the many options for Italian food in the area. our waiter was attentive, maybe a bit too much by participating in our conversation, but overall pleasant and prompt.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Special birthday

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food, Wine, Service and Atmosphere is AWESOME. This place is a must visit and enjoy authentic Italian Delightful Meal, Great Vino and the Owner Massimo and his Brother will make sure YOU have an experience you will never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 4, 2017

As usual Cafe Amici excels. Veal chop special was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Highly recommend for an authentic Italian meal.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Specials were expensive - be sure and ask price point!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We have eaten here numerous times! Massimo and his brother are great. Family recipes are always delicious and they have nice nightly specials

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a small Italian restaurant with a limited menu, some reasonably priced wines by the glass, and a very extensive higher priced by the bottle wine menu. I had seen some references to surprise pricing on specials. Apparently, my husband and I did not look like the type that would want specials as our waiter never mentioned them. I noticed after ordering that he only mentioned them to one table around us and not the others. I guess they looked more worthy. The food was good, but not a cut above other Italian restaurants in Sarasota and portions were small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Arrived 30 minutes early and we were seated right away. Waiter was attentive without being intrusive. Food was well prepared and presented nicely. I would return if in Sarasota again.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great, authentic Italian food in a relaxing environment. Wondeful, attentive wait staff.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always a outstanding choice for dinner.
Real Italian food not american Italian!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I nice place

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We always enjoy this restaurant. We go before the Opera and their service is timely and very professional. The portions are a nice size-not so huge. Both their food and wine list are very good.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Food was disappointing based on what we heard from other friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 6, 2017

classic Italian at storefront family owned restaurant- never had a disappointing meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our meal at Cafe Amici was the highlight of our vacation trip to the Tampa area. Food, service and personal accommodations were top notch. When/if we are ever back in Tampa area, we will certainly take advantage of the Cafe Amici experience once more.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Casual, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A Neighborhood Gem

We dine often at Cafe Amici...this time it was after an afternoon performance at the Sarasota Opera. Massimo, one of the owners, greeted us warmly as did our favorite waitresses, Maria. We ordered pasta and it was cooked perfectly, the way we requested...al dente. In fact, we are ALWAYS pleased with the delicious food that is served in this fine Italian restaurant. BRAVO!

Brenda and Joe Morra

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

sacchetti was incredible, eggplant parm. very good. Service excellent as ever, getting us to the theatre on time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Enjoyed meal, was busy service was still excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had pre-theater dinner twice in a week and once again the nailed it!! The grilled octopus was perfectly cook, the seafood ravioli with limoncello sauce was a fantastic surprise, the grilled branzino was superb and the wine list was extensive at reasonable price, can wait to go back !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My wife and I decided to return to Cafe Amici this past Saturday after skipping it last year during our annual vacation to Sarasota. We were glad we did because we were pleasantly rewarded. My wife had the bolognese with gluten free pasta while I had the branzino. Both entrees were very delicious. We'll make sure we return there in February of 2018!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

First visit and it won't be our last. Maria was our server and her great personality and knowledge of the menu helped us decide what to order. This is a gem of a restsurant and a great find.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Historic, Casual, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fantastic culinary experience, can't wait to go back !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day dinner, pre-show dinner. Great from start to finish. We were made to feel welcome, and special. Server was most helpful with menu selections. Food was great, fresh, flavorful. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good Italian food. Cozy,friendly service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We enjoyed the experience at Cafe Amici - will defintely return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The atmosphere at Cafe Amici makes one feel like you are in Italy - superb. The food and wine were great. Our server was just OK. He seemed miffed when I asked the price of one of the specials. I did not appreciate what I interpreted as condescension.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Cafe Amici is our go-to Italian restaurant downtown. We like the ambiance and the food is as good as you get in the NE. Maria is the best and makes you feel at home.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Again, Cafe Amici goes to the head of the class. Of all the Italian restaurants in Downtown Sarasota, Cafe Amici is by far the best. Keep up the excellent work, Massimo. Bravo!

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went for Father's birthday very loud could not hear each other and our waiter was mouthy and put the wrong food infront of us and seemed rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Very good carbonara. Nice noise level-able to have a. Conversation

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 23, 2017

One of best authentic Italian in Sarasota, it's like be in Italy, is a must!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.