Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Cafe Amici

Cafe Amici is a traditional Italian cuisine, we offer extensive menu, you will enjoy dish from Puglia, Veneto, Tuscany and the Mediterranean shores. There is an eight seat bar with 20 wines by the glass, 120 bottle of wines from all over the world, wine vintage from 1964 thru 2016.

1371 main street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm


Sunday-closed june to october

Cross Street:
between Palm Av and Pineapple St on Main street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 951-6896

Website:
http://www.cafeamicisrq.com/

Catering:
We can arrange catering up to 100 people.

Parking Details:
Free parking garage situated behind Cafe Amici, valet service available.

Executive Chef:
Achille Nigri

Private Party Facilities:
The private room can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo: (941) 914-2679

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Kosher, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinner.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe Amici Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Best Lobster Ravioli on the planet and great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We love this Resturant. The owner, Massimiliano Nigri makes each guest feel like family. The service and food are second to none. We always stay for a drink at the bar after dinner and hate to leave.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This is the absolute best Italian restaurant I have ever eaten at. You could taste the freshness in the food, the service was fabulous, and the wine selection was to die for. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants true, authentic, Italian food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was average for Italian restaurant. Waiter did not mention the dinner summer special. We had to ask for it.
Interestingly the owner/manager never came by to say hello or ask if we enjoyed our meal. I find that very unusual for an Italian restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Always a great meal! Carbonara was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Cafe Amici never disappoints. Food is always prepared well and the very attentive hosts are gracious and more like eating at a friends house

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had an excellent evening, the food was wonderful, the service was spectacular and I look forward to going back

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was amazing and well prepared, good service and great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

In a super busy night Amici's team delivered a fantastic culinary experience, well done, can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 1, 2017

What a great place, a gem in downtown Sarasota, fresh ingredient, great food and excellent wine list!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Came in with a party of 10, mix of adults and children. Service was just ok. Had to ask for things repetitively. Server seemed bothered by us, maybe because we had children. My wife ordered the duck and was extremely small portion. I have ordered duck at fine restaurants on multiple occasions and this was disappointing. We left the restaurant hungry. The food was just ok. Not worth the money at all. Would not come back to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Tried it for lunch a couple of years ago, terribly passive-aggressive waiter. A friend loves it, so tried again for dinner. One good dish for two bleh dishes. This time aggressive-aggressive waiter...Won't be a third try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Even with an advanced reservation we were put in a back corner table with a lot of waiter activity, noise and a feeling of being rushed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Shared with a starter of burrata with tomatoes and prosciutto. Very cold cheese (just okay) with two grape tomatoes that had been cut in half, however the prosciutto tasted good. There was a dish of oil on the table with herbs to use for the bread. Tasteless and colorless...unlike any other olive oil I have seen. My entree was lobster ravioli with limoncello sauce. The lobster ravioli was quite tasty but was ruined but the extremely sweet yellow sauce. Would have been much better with a lobster or seafood stock based sauce. My husband's braciole with orecchiette tasted fine, but one small piece of meat with a lot of pasta. Overall fair to average and because the decor is not attractive and needs updating, I see no reason to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Fantastic culinary experience, excellent martini octopus salad and homemade wagyu meatballs, the ravioli with limoncello sauce is a five star recipe!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Cafe Amici continues to impress via tasteful, understated elegance sans pretense. The food is authenticaly delicious, and the management/ wait staff could not be more cordial. Again, Bravo!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Small intimate restaurant would be romantic if not for the extremely loud noise level. Waiter was not very friendly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server, Maria, was knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive, the food was very good and obviously homemade. One of the specials was osso bucco and it was just out of the oven and delicious. We will go back there again. It's sort of expensive but most places on Main Street are.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food and service were both fabulous. Great ambiance and personalized attention. Nice patio to eat outside, but the atmosphere insight is great as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went for an early dinner before an Orchestra performance. We all have the Grouper special, tomatoes, olives and a light sauce. Everyone cleaned their plate. Caesar salad was also excellent and I am a Caesar star maven.

Wine selections were good and reasonable.

Great choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was good but not great. The service was excellent .

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had never been to the restaurant before. Food was excellant as well as the wine. Service was attentive but not hovering. We were going to see a concert at 8 with a 530 reservation we had all the time we needed to eat , drink go to the theater and be in our seat.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was mediocre at best would definitely not repeat in would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This restaurant has been a staple on Main St in downtown Sarasota for many years. So it must do a lot right. Four of us dined here for the first time this week. I thought the overall experience was average when I take into account the many options for Italian food in the area. our waiter was attentive, maybe a bit too much by participating in our conversation, but overall pleasant and prompt.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Special birthday

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food, Wine, Service and Atmosphere is AWESOME. This place is a must visit and enjoy authentic Italian Delightful Meal, Great Vino and the Owner Massimo and his Brother will make sure YOU have an experience you will never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 4, 2017

As usual Cafe Amici excels. Veal chop special was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Highly recommend for an authentic Italian meal.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Specials were expensive - be sure and ask price point!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We have eaten here numerous times! Massimo and his brother are great. Family recipes are always delicious and they have nice nightly specials

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a small Italian restaurant with a limited menu, some reasonably priced wines by the glass, and a very extensive higher priced by the bottle wine menu. I had seen some references to surprise pricing on specials. Apparently, my husband and I did not look like the type that would want specials as our waiter never mentioned them. I noticed after ordering that he only mentioned them to one table around us and not the others. I guess they looked more worthy. The food was good, but not a cut above other Italian restaurants in Sarasota and portions were small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Arrived 30 minutes early and we were seated right away. Waiter was attentive without being intrusive. Food was well prepared and presented nicely. I would return if in Sarasota again.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great, authentic Italian food in a relaxing environment. Wondeful, attentive wait staff.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always a outstanding choice for dinner.
Real Italian food not american Italian!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I nice place

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We always enjoy this restaurant. We go before the Opera and their service is timely and very professional. The portions are a nice size-not so huge. Both their food and wine list are very good.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was disappointing based on what we heard from other friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 6, 2017

classic Italian at storefront family owned restaurant- never had a disappointing meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our meal at Cafe Amici was the highlight of our vacation trip to the Tampa area. Food, service and personal accommodations were top notch. When/if we are ever back in Tampa area, we will certainly take advantage of the Cafe Amici experience once more.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A Neighborhood Gem

We dine often at Cafe Amici...this time it was after an afternoon performance at the Sarasota Opera. Massimo, one of the owners, greeted us warmly as did our favorite waitresses, Maria. We ordered pasta and it was cooked perfectly, the way we requested...al dente. In fact, we are ALWAYS pleased with the delicious food that is served in this fine Italian restaurant. BRAVO!

Brenda and Joe Morra

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.