Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Cadiz

Cadiz Restaurant & Lounge offers a Seaside Cuisine influenced by flavors from the seaside villages of Italy and Spain. Cadiz offers pizzas, pastas, seafood, entrees, and a variety of "small plates." The menu is seasonally driven, and all produce is bought from the local Farmer's Market right outside our front door. Our wonderful selection of seafood dishes come from local, harbor fresh seafood, purchased daily. Our mixology bar offers seasonal, market-fresh cocktails, and on weekend nights Cadiz transforms into an upscale European style lounge/nightclub at 10:30 until 2am.

509 State St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday, 5pm-9pm
(Closed Mondays)

Happy Hour: Sunday, Tuesday-Friday, 5pm-7pm

Cross Street:
Haley and Cota

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-2760

Website:
http://cadizsb.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday and Saturday nights at 10:30pm Cadiz transforms into a lounge/nightclub with DJ's for entertainment.

Catering:
We offer various options for catering. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
On Friday and Saturday Nights, we provide complimentary Valet Service out of our back Parking Entrance, which is located on 509 Fig Street.

There is also ample public parking just a few feet away from our front door. The lot is located at Anacapa and Cota Street.

Public Transit:
Right in front of our building at 509 State St.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Vazquez

Private Party Facilities:
Spanish, Italian, and Sicilian Inspired Cuisine in historic Downtown Santa Barbara. Tapas, seafood, flatbreads, pastas & entrees all made from local, fresh produce and seafood. Seasonal cocktails & market-fresh ingredients come together in a warm, inviting space perfect for your next special event.

Private Party Contact:
Messina DeRose: (805) 259-6693

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cadiz can be used a venue for many different events. Rehearsal dinner's, wedding reception's, the after party to your wedding, bachelorette dinner's and private luncheon's to name a few. Please call to book or inquire

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cadiz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Tapas (12)
See All
Romantic (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Healthy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful flavors from the Tapas, pot belly a must, to Paella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

For our first ever evening in Santa Barbara we selected Cadiz because the reviews were great and it is within walking distance of the condo we're renting. We loved everything! Fresh ingredients; perfectly prepared pasta dishes; terrific setting and ambience. Professional servers are a cut above.
Thanks for a great welcome to SB. Cadiz set a very high bar.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food, but the arrival of both our appetizers and entres was slow. Took over 25 minutes for each to arrive. A bit surprising considering it was not that crowded. Once I brought it to the server's attention the food came out right away and we were waited on by three different servers till we left!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great and fast service, thanks for a delicious meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Menu options easy to read and great deserts and happy hour. I was there for my Birthday and was recommended by the hotel I was staying at and it was worth it, had a great time and food was sooo delicious. Will be back went we come to visit Santa Barbara again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Vegan, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

This was a family weekend away . Everyone in our group of six raved about their food and drinks. I ordered the Seared Salmon and it was wonderful. Three others ordered the special which was a Filet, apparently the best filet they had ever had. The table service was great and even after we had finished the meal we were not rushed to leave.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Excellent meal and charming waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Arrived at restaurant and were shown to table, didn't see anyone for a further 15 minutes. Dinner took much longer than expected to be served to the table. I was not impressed with the service at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our second time to visit Cadiz. The patio offers great people watching along with the great food. Order a Santa Barbara wine to accompany your pasta or risotto and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

In addition to looking for a great dining experience, we were looking for gluten-free dining for one person at the table. Searching online via four different sites brought us to Cadiz for purported high-quality gluten-free dining. Our experience was neither high-quality or gluten-free and we were left to wonder how on earth the reviews led us to eat here! Won't be back - no matter the occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The service was very good. We were seated promptly upon arrival. Had reservations and guessing by the groups that came in after us, they were also seated quickly. The food is exceptional. The paella and skin on salmon were incredible. The octopus appetiser was unique in presentation and flavour. Their olives appetiser are also recommended. Overall, a great dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great resturant! My fiance and went to celebrate her birthday. We were staying in Santa Barbara for the Labor day weekend. I went online to check out the reviews and took a chance and made reservations. She loved it! Recommend this resturant to anyone 100%!

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Best place ever!

So good we came back the next night.

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Messina runs a wonderful top notch restaurant. I can't wait to get back to try more items off their creative and delicious menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Cool place, didn't disappoint other than the lack of much vegetation options.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The ambience and service were great. Cocktails were very good. A couple of the food items we ordered were really good, and others were just okay. Nothing special that would make us want to return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Waiter was very "business like". Ordered caprese salad and pasta bolognese to split with my daughter. Received the bolognese first. Waiting on caprese. The waiter told us that he put the order in and told them to have the items delivered in the order listed. OK. Not something you'd want to tell your customer. Food was excellent. Kitchen/Service needs improvement.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good food and service. Adequate serving size. Limited menu. Noise not bad at 7:00PM On an August Friday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Lovely room, solid food, excellent bolognese. The problem was the server, who was an unpleasant combination of arrogant and incompetent. He kept forgetting...makes a diner suspicious... is "would you like a dessert menu" really so hard to recall?

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing shrimp ravioli with incredible sauce. Service was good but slow....however it was a busy night on State St. Great olive appetizer, and brushetta. Scallops appetizer and beet salad also delicious! Wife said skewers were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Poor service all around. We had to wait 30 minutes even though we had a reservation. Our waiter showed up infrequently and then completely forgot about us so we had to walk inside to pay our bill. Midway through our dinner, the restaurant turned into a club. Will never go back there for dinner or recommend it to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had tapas consisting of the charturie plate and diver scallops. The charturie had large portions of meat and cheese that we couldn't even finish. The diver scallops were very tasty and cooked to perfection. The restaurant has a very elegant but casual decor. We also enjoyed the jazz music that played as background.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Creative food with a fabulous atmosphere. The service was far less than impressive. Again and again I was disappointed with the lack of attention from our waiter. Sitting outside is really loud so be warned...both in and out are beautiful tho...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Not good! I made a reservation after reading some very good reviews. It was so disappointing. We both got a starter salad, it was so average and underdressed. We both had the penne pasta, mine was vegetarian and his was with shrimp. We had totally different pasta, they apologized to me and said "sorry, we ran out of the pasta the dish comes with" (the pesto sauce was not good)...I asked for a spoon to twirl my pasta, the hostess came back with a small teaspoon and told me they didn't have any other clean spoons. We had to ask the waiter for water refills and bread and salt/pepper. I was a server myself, this was poor service.

I don't recommend this restaurant, sorry Cadiz, I was very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The ambiance was great and quality of food was good. Some dishes were definitely better than others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was my first visit. Three of us were getting together for the weekend. One had the paella and loved it while two of us had the cioppino. It was messy but delicious. Overall, a really nice evening.

Tags: Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Superb tapas, especially the octopus! Disappointed they didn't have sangria that night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Not a bad restaurant, not great though. Ambiance is excellent for a date or quick drink on St. Street. Otherwise, food is average for the price they charge and service was a little slow.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Cocktails and food were delightful. Service was outstanding. Sat in the patio and could people watch but didn't feel out in the open. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service at the bar and at our table was awful. We had to keep flagging down the servers. The food was very good though and the place has a nice energy and feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great server tyler, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Terrible service as waiter was too busy chatting up the front of house. Worst meal I have had in a long time, it was expensive and the scallops dish was sickly as sauce was overpowering. So disappointed wish I never left a tip. They also accused us of no show when we had the receipt to prove we did in fact eat there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The bruschetta was the best I've ever had. The homemade pasta with pesto was excellent as well.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Comfort Food, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We have been coming to Cadiz for several years. I think they may have recently changed the chef as the food just doesn't taste the same. We always order the mushroom risotta and this time, while good, just wasn't excellent like it usually is. They also have eliminated some of our favorite dishes (specifically the flatbreads) and reduced the servings on other items (like the diver scallops).

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was creative and delicious. We especially loved the California avocado bruschetta appetizer and the farm to table salad and the Pesto Shrimp. Gabrielle was our server and she anticipated our every need. The bus person even asked us how we enjoyed the meal and thanked us for coming.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Healthy, Organic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Had a wonderful evening enjoy good food with a great ambiance. Awesome date night. Our server Justin was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Delicious food, ample servings, terrific waitstaff, and a very nice ambiance. Highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Bachelorette party dinner. Service was OK. There was a sticker on a piece of the tomatoes and our friend almost ate it but besides that it was good. Restaurant seemed quieter than what we were expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

It was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cadiz is a beautiful restaurant with great fresh, creative dishes and a pleasant staff.
We will definitely return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.