Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Cadiz

Cadiz Restaurant & Lounge offers a Seaside Cuisine influenced by flavors from the seaside villages of Italy and Spain. Cadiz offers pizzas, pastas, seafood, entrees, and a variety of "small plates." The menu is seasonally driven, and all produce is bought from the local Farmer's Market right outside our front door. Our wonderful selection of seafood dishes come from local, harbor fresh seafood, purchased daily. Our mixology bar offers seasonal, market-fresh cocktails, and on weekend nights Cadiz transforms into an upscale European style lounge/nightclub at 10:30 until 2am.

509 State St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday, 5pm-9pm
(Closed Mondays)

Happy Hour: Sunday, Tuesday-Friday, 5pm-7pm

Cross Street:
Haley and Cota

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-2760

Website:
http://cadizsb.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday and Saturday nights at 10:30pm Cadiz transforms into a lounge/nightclub with DJ's for entertainment.

Catering:
We offer various options for catering. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
On Friday and Saturday Nights, we provide complimentary Valet Service out of our back Parking Entrance, which is located on 509 Fig Street.

There is also ample public parking just a few feet away from our front door. The lot is located at Anacapa and Cota Street.

Public Transit:
Right in front of our building at 509 State St.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Vazquez

Private Party Facilities:
Spanish, Italian, and Sicilian Inspired Cuisine in historic Downtown Santa Barbara. Tapas, seafood, flatbreads, pastas & entrees all made from local, fresh produce and seafood. Seasonal cocktails & market-fresh ingredients come together in a warm, inviting space perfect for your next special event.

Private Party Contact:
Messina DeRose: (805) 259-6693

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cadiz can be used a venue for many different events. Rehearsal dinner's, wedding reception's, the after party to your wedding, bachelorette dinner's and private luncheon's to name a few. Please call to book or inquire

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cadiz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Casual (14)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Tapas (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (9)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
People Watching (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, ample servings, terrific waitstaff, and a very nice ambiance. Highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 17, 2017

It was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Cadiz is a beautiful restaurant with great fresh, creative dishes and a pleasant staff.
We will definitely return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is a unique restaurant in Santa Barbara-it offers a late night scene but also casual yet classy dining earlier in the evening. The food is delicious and varied, although sometimes I could wish for a few more vegetarian options! But the mushroom risotto is so good that it's worth going just for that. The service is unfailingly friendly and prompt. There is a lovely outdoor patio and front but also really nice dining inside so it's no punishment if you can't get onto the patio. We are lucky to have this place in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Came to Cadiz to sample food and check the space for a large event. There were 3 of us dining. We all enjoyed the food and wine. The service was outstanding. Looking forward to our party there this August!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We were in Santa Barbara for travel and booked based on the YELP recommendations and we were intrigued by the idea of Spanish/ Italian mixed menu.

We enjoyed several tapas, including the Scallops and Beef skewer. I'd pass on the Caprese which was very mediocre. We had also ordered the Seafood Paella which was tasty.
The service was very attentive and I'd consider coming again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cadiz was an absolutely amazing experience. My boyfriend and I have been in the food and beverage industry for several years and we understand all the mechanics of making an experience incredible and Cadiz made it happen. From waiting for our reservation at the bar to dessert at the end, every person gave exceptional service. In particular our server, Gabi. She went above and beyond in every way. I was consistently blown away by the food and service. I had just graduated and I felt nothing but cared for and celebrated (like family). It was top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Interesting combo of Spanish and Italian Food. Wonderful grilled octopus and the paella was excellent! Loved the Farmers Market salad and we were delighted that they pre-split it for us. Very friendly and attentive service. Perfect date night dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

They do food right and we had great service along with reasonable prices. Don't miss the pork belly app fantastic!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our third trip to this restaurant. Should go more. Had a roster of small plates, copping and paella – all tasted good. Excellent and friendly service, with recommendations. My wife enjoyed the San Remo cocktail and I found out that an Oregon vineyard can bottle a good albarino.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Sat outside on Cinco deMayo and the noise from the Mexican restaurant across the street was too much. Large group was seated inside Cadiz. I don't fault them for the noise because of the day we chose, but would have preferred to sit inside.
The service was top notch, very professional, and the food excellent. I will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a dinner reservation and because they were a little late with our table, we sat at the bar. Decided to eat at the bar and the bartender was great! If we go back we will eat at the bar a great environment and the bar is great for dining. Also, I loved the food.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

the food was OK, but the service was so slow it ruined the whole meal.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was good, but not enough vegetarian options. Mostly all meat choices. Waiters breath smelled strongly of wine. Went on to try to sell us $50 bottle of wine when we said not interested in wine earlier in evening. Overall nice staff. Wrote our credit after meal for $140 less than what it should be. Manager had to fix it. Glad we noticed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Richard at the bar was great! Went there before on a show on 4/1

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Dancing, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The is a very nice and welcoming eatery in SB that feels like a Spanish Cafe. The wine list its a bit thin but our food was great. We had a very fresh mozzarella with fresh tomatoes, and we split a scrimp and pasta pesto. It was really good. For a casual, well priced dinner in SB, this is a good place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We loved this place. Our server was friendly and helpful. The food and drinks were delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Wonderful service, awesome menu, nice wine selection. Ambiance elegant relaxation

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

A truly delicious meal at Cadiz! The crudo in particular was the best I've ever had, but everything was delicious.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Cadiz is truly a gem among Santa Barbara restaurants. By far our BEST dining experience of the week!! The atmosphere is upscale and vibrant. Very good wine selection. Fabulous small plates and interesting entres. Our waiter was excellent, even bringing us another complimentary small plate as we waited for entres to be prepared. Such a nice gesture!! Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Cadiz.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Cadiz never disappoints! (well, there was that one time...) Our favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara. Our most recent visit was for our anniversary on March 17. Service is reliably spectacular, attentive without being intrusive, varied menu choices exquisitely prepared. Recommendations include the beet salad, steak skewers, calamari and pork belly. San Sebastian cocktail is not to be missed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Loved this restaurant. Had date night here on a Sunday and the staff and ambiance was perfect.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fun time, but I expected a more refined experience. The prices are expected for the area, yet a bit high for the quality. The ingredients were fresh, though something was missing - the food didn't come together in an interesting way. The menu is not overly imaginative, and barely Spanish or Italian. It's really Californian with those Mediterranean influences. The staff was very pleasant if not as well trained as at other places. The Moorish decor is attractive, although more night clubby than it need be. Enjoy, but know what you're getting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Been here several times of the years and it just keeps getting better. Service was excellent and they accommodated my kids with a kids menu. However, it is quiet enough to have a conversation if you are with a date.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Love this beautiful restaurant! It adds some class to State Street with its great architecture and Interior design and then there is the great food and excellent service we received. This is a must for a visit to State Street!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were two, seated against the wall at a tiny table - the restaurant was empty from the time we arrived until we left. We felt a little crammed, and the host/waiter was beyond talkative. We ordered shareable dishes, and the table was not large enough- so we asked to be moved. Once we were at a larger table it was much more comfortable to share dishes. The food was excellent. The Grilled Octopus, Beet salad, and for the main dish, the Pasta Bolognese were all delicious! The wine list was good. We had a Barolo Reserve. Overall it was a good experience but the Waiter was way too much in our face talking and he screwed up the desert (we were celebrating a special occasion) and he almost gave the bill to my fiancé but I had to intervene. He was a little annoying. We would go back and just ask to have more privacy. We don't need constant narrative. The waiter was the only negative, but the food and atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A very enjoyable evening with exceptional food and close by to our hotel. Would strongly recommend to anyone wanting great flavors from the kitchen as well as attentive service. Would return next time in town as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I went to Cadiz for a date night, and the ambiance was amazing. It set the mood for such a romantic night, even though we had to run through the pouring rain from our car to our seats.
The food was very tasty; the wine superb.
We had a great time, and are looking forward to our next trip to Santa Barbara so we can enjoy another visit to Cadiz.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was good and the atmosphere was nice, but the service was lacking. Seemed to be
very disorganized and not attentive. Needs work! Especially on a special night like Valentine's Day which is why we dined there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We are locals and so don't necessarily like to go to lower State St to eat out, however, Cadiz is worth the effort to find parking & walk a ways through the tourists & youngsters! It is a beautiful restaurant, especially at night, food is very good & cocktails are OK - stick with something you know.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Cadiz is our go to place for a really nice meal. Keep offering the Diver Scallops, the Mushroom Risotto and the Salsiccia Flatbread and we'll be back again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was good--we had rib-eye and salmon fussuloni. Portions were generous without being too much to eat. Service was attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place for a date, food and ambiance. I would recommend it for anyone looking for good and a good time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Love having the opportunity to take a family member/friend from out of town to Cadiz. Their menu is creative, interesting, flavorful and well executed every time. Cocktails and wine list are nicely done with a good selection to compliment any meal. The ambiance is lovely with beautiful, subdued lighting and a lovely patio with heaters, if necessary. A wonderful addition to downtown Santa Barbara without a touristy feel.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service. The staff made my three friends celebrating their birthday feel extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing experience! Justin was an incredible server and made our night so special!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Cadiz was walking distance from the Harbor View hotel. I am always a little concerned when I take clients to a new spot. We stopped by while walking on State Street and talked with Justin, one of the waiters. He ended up being our server for the evening … a great dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have been to Cadiz several times and each time it is disappointing. Food very mediocre.
Service about the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We took our son and some friends to Cadiz. We did not know anything about it and were very happy we found it! The Staff was very friendly and attentive. All 6 of our meals were very good. Price was reasonable (for Santa Barbara dining!). It is Spanish/Italian with Moroccan architecture, which is very well done. The ceilings are high, so a little noisy. Drinks were good, wine list fine. I think this will be one of our go-to places in the future.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great experience. Cadiz has a unselfish tream concept without the "attitude". Thank you Tyler, Justine m and Messina for a great dinner. Nice wine list too

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.