Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Flavors of India - San JoseFlavors of India - San Jose
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Indian | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 1 time today
Benihana - CupertinoBenihana - Cupertino
(1407)
$$$$
Japanese | Cupertino, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 71 times today
Kyoto Palace RestaurantKyoto Palace Restaurant
(1027)
$$$$
Japanese | Campbell, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 33 times today
MIZU Sushi Bar & GrillMIZU Sushi Bar & Grill
(545)
$$$$
Japanese | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 19 times today
Pacific Catch - CampbellPacific Catch - Campbell
(1188)
$$$$
Seafood | Campbell, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 23 times today
Il Fornaio - Santa ClaraIl Fornaio - Santa Clara
(279)
$$$$
Italian | Santa Clara, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 17 times today
Black Sheep BrasserieBlack Sheep Brasserie
(542)
$$$$
Contemporary French / American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 33 times today
Maggiano's - San JoseMaggiano's - San Jose
(4970)
$$$$
Italian | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 87 times today
The Farmers UnionThe Farmers Union
(600)
$$$$
Contemporary American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 33 times today
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San JoseFogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Jose
(1262)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 30 times today
Naschmarkt RestaurantNaschmarkt Restaurant
(1222)
$$$$
Austrian | Campbell, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 12 times today
LB Steak - Santana RowLB Steak - Santana Row
(2076)
$$$$
American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 20 times today
Birk'sBirk's
(2189)
$$$$
American | Santa Clara, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 13 times today
Sino Restaurant & LoungeSino Restaurant & Lounge
(1106)
$$$$
Chinese | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 31 times today
Parcel 104Parcel 104
(1036)
$$$$
American | Santa Clara, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 2 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About Permanently Closed - By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill

This restaurant is permanently closed. The restaurant specializes in seafood dishes and hearty comfort food

4565 Stevens Creek Blvd
Santa Clara, CA 95051
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: Su-W 3:00pm-9:00pm

Dinner: Th-Sa 3:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Woodhams Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 248-6244 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.btbbarandgrill.com/

Catering:
Let us help you with your event planning, whether you"re hosting an event in-house or meeting at a off-site location. We have options to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Restaurant Parking is located behind the main restaurant and can be accessed on both Stevens Creek Blvd. and Woodhams Road.

Public Transit:
VTA Bus Stop 23

Executive Chef:
Paul Furiosi, Jr.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Comfort Food (8)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Live Sports (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was the worst restaurant ever. We walked in the door we're seated in the waiter went to for other tables that were seated after us before he even came and said hello. He then goes on to tell us that they have no french fries or onion rings to go with a burger. Then he tells us that they have no fresh crab or for that matter any crap at all even though it was on multiple items on the menu. I will never go back to this place again and I wouldn't be surprised if it inns of shutting its doors down in the next six months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Always a good meal, always good service! By the Bucket is one our favorites. We love to bring friends here!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

By-Th'-Bucket is in that comfortable niche that's above a fast-food or coffee shop atmosphere but not a chef-created over-the-top meal (and without that over-the-top pricing that hurts). It's getting harder to find these places, so I treasure the ones that exist.

It has a large menu, meat/fish/pasta/chicken, easy to find special diet items such as gluten free, and it's priced right. Large portions.Easy parking. It's one of those neighborhood places that might not be the first place that comes to mind, but it's easy to get consensus when it is suggested.

I had the salmon, my companion the chicken.We both thought the food was good - and if not the top-of-the-taste-buds, a meal that left us happy. The wine list was acceptable but not interesting or remarkable; the coffee was ok; the desserts didn't tempt us.

We were both dismayed and thought it not-in-keeping with the atmosphere that they've joined the "charge extra for bread" trend that seems to have taken hold. Especially with the chicken dish, that came with lots of sauce/gravy to sop up, bread should have been included.

All in all, I'm happy to suggest it to friends and co-workers, especially on those nights when you just can't decide in advance what you're in the mood for.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill is a go-to restaurant when you have a big appetite. My husband and I normally come home with leftovers. The appetizers are truly meant for 4 or more - not for 2. We decided to try a cup of the clam chowder this time but was disappointed; it was rather bland. Our entrees however didn't disappoint - Seafood Fettuccine Alfredo & Blackened Salmon with
Etouffee Rice. FYI, if you are expecting a romantic dinner for 2 this is not the spot; remember to come hungry!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Nice ambiance, good seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Always delicious and very generous servings. Our waiter, Gustavo, could not be more friendly and at the same time professional. Always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My husband, adult son and I enjoyed our experience until we received the bill and did not receive our $20 Open Table rewards.

More specifically... I took the time before leaving the house to login to my computer to redeem my first $20 reward (it can't be done on a mobile device) I applied my reward with the reservation, and when checking in with the hostess I specifically asked if she had my reward and was told "yes".

We proceeded to order two appetizers and Rombauer Chardonnay along with our entrees - two of them being at the high end. I bought the extra expensive wine since I had the reward. We ordered dessert and coffee. The bill was $248 after tax but before tip. When I asked why the reward wasn't shown as redeemed I was told that they didn't have record of the reward. The manager, Lupo, gave me an insecure apology with an excuse that the hostess didn't understand. I told him if he was really sorry he would have given us the discount as it was less than 10% of the bill - especially when our bill was high and there are coupons in the newspaper. I told him we wouldn't be back - what a foolish way to treat customers with an above average bill!! I felt bad for our wonderful waiter as I was clearly angry despite Gustavo's great service. Shame on Lupo for treating us so badly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were seating on time..
However no sw

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The steak I had fell far short of the usual good food I have enjoyed in the past. I will return but no steaks,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great dinner, start to finish! And, the server was on top of everything!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Large portions, reasonable drink prices, Very Good food. Slightly older crowd, but very comfortable. We are going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Too much food! It is easy to tire of the flavor, which is initially very good). Wasteful if you are traveling and can't take it home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food and large portions to take home! They also have a nice bar area with TV screens to watch the games, have a drink and eat dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We enjoy the food and the service is good. Large menu. It too loud. Decent bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

As sways the Bucket was great. Our waiter went out of his way to correct an entres which he had mistakenly written down.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

It was a lovely last minute dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and service huge portions reasonable prices, worth visiting again!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband has been going to By th' Bucket for 56 years now, except in the beginning it was only appropriate for take-out. He and I have watched it change over 30 years, and the food has been the one consistent: homey, large portions, and good. The one thing I miss, is that they said that they would be able to prepare anything that ever had been on the menu, which they did for many years. Now, they don't do that anymore. I miss my Veal Monterrey! It was so good.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I've eaten here many times and have celebrated my son's high school graduation in the private room. The food is always delicious and a good value. The service is always great here!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First time visit with the family. We enjoyed the breadth of the menu and drink selection. Overall, very nice place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Good as usual. I have never had a bad meal at this restaurant. We had a nice booth and a terrific meal.Our server was outstanding. Tell all your friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Enjoyed our dinners. We had the early bird specials. There are no substitutions, but they were good. I don't enjoy having televisions where I'm eating and this restaurant has a sports bar vibe. We ate early so avoided the loud sports crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The mashed potatoes were horrible and they omitted my asparagus because the waiter said they were out of them. Another person dropped off 2 asparagus on a small plate which was kind of tacky. I will go back to By The Bucket because I enjoy their salmon and other Italian menu items. But they should not take their customers for granted.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service was excellent, portions huge, the food mediocre, and it was very highly priced.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I had not been there in quiet some time and noticed they no longer have pizza . As i was growing up that was our go to pizza and clams place .

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Met with friends and family for drinks and appetizers prior to an event at Levi's Stadium. Drinks were well made and food was delivered rather quickly. Good place to go to!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great . But Mothers Day is a busy day. The server tried his best but we did not receive personalized service. I felt as though it was a burden to ask my server for extras. He was very busy and it was a rush throughout the entire dinner .

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We made a reservation and showed up on time. The challenge was that our server was very slow. The entire meal took 2 hours, and that is without a dessert.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very poor service. We were the 2nd table in the section for Mother's Day. The table ordered 3 Southern Fried Catfish dinners with my wife and I splitting one order. When the food was brought out two of the orders were missing french fries. I asked for an extra plate so my wife and I could split the order. It took 5 minutes and several reminders to get the plate. The french fries took another 5 minutes and by that time all of the food order was cold. The orders should not have come out until the french fries were ready. Since we ordered as a split/shared meal the extra plate should have come out with the order. Ordered coffee and dessert. The coffee came without creamer and had to ask several times to get it. Had to ask twice to get coffee refill. The only thing that came quickly was the check!!! Will be a long time before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good spot for everyday dining. Large menu with lots of variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This is our go to place and never disappoints. Hands down best Cioppino anywhere and incredible wine values. Seafood, pasta, pizza, paella, comfort appetizers, you name it they do it and do it well.

Tags: Cozy, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I have never been disappointed in the service and the food, especially the fish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Crab cakes and catfish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I had the seafood alfredo and it was OK, but the alfredo sauce tasted like nutmeg and I didn't care for that. The other diner wanted ahi, but they were out so had to settle for talapia :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food was excellent as always, Fresh, Hot and Delicious. The Garlic Bread is the best I have ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We recently enjoyed a Sunday dinner with family when my daughter was in town visiting from Seattle. By the Bucket has a diverse menu, great service and provides the perfect level of nostalgia. I highly recommend dining at this restaurant.

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Nothing special here but your usual comfortable restaurant with a good sized bar and lots of sports tvs to watch but the seafood was very good and fresh in huge portions. Seating is in a large area with booths available as well as tables. Raw oysters were fresh and the baked oyster dish was a delightful delicious surprise. Entree portions are huge (lots of patrons leaving with take home boxes) so an appetizer would have been enough for us for lunch. Service was punctual, friendly, and attentive. Would recommend if you want good seafood served with fresh local vegetables.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My favorite is the Paella. It's enough to feed 2 people!! Service was great, very attentive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Made a reservation and got comfortable seating for five people. All was happy with their dishes. Salmon no calamari were cooked to perfection. Portion is quite big for next day lunch. Service was great but may not be in range of excellent. Water refill needed reminder. For a straight water drinker, this was annoying because that was the only drink for me. Otherwise, this is good family restaurant with fabulous value. Carb watchers may not want to order pasta as it has huge portion of pasta. It is hard to resist good pasta so watch about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

If 5 is the best then that's was the best rating. Always enjoy our meals. A little expensive though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.