Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill

The restaurant specializes in seafood dishes and hearty comfort food

4565 Stevens Creek Blvd
Santa Clara, CA 95051
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: Su-W 3:00pm-9:00pm

Dinner: Th-Sa 3:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Woodhams Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 248-6244 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.btbbarandgrill.com/

Catering:
Let us help you with your event planning, whether you"re hosting an event in-house or meeting at a off-site location. We have options to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Restaurant Parking is located behind the main restaurant and can be accessed on both Stevens Creek Blvd. and Woodhams Road.

Public Transit:
VTA Bus Stop 23

Executive Chef:
Paul Furiosi, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
By-Th'-Bucket has a private Banquet Room for your Corporate Meetings, Wedding or Private Dining options. The room can hold up to 40 guests.

We've proudly served events such as:
Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Business Meetings, Afternoon Mixers, Business Dinners, Wine Tastings

All Banquet Packages Include:

House salad, cheesecake dessert, coffee and iced tea. Price is per person.

The Chef has created 6 different suggested packages on our Banquet Menu

Ask Natalie & the Chef about Custom Banquet Packages Min. of 20 required to reserve Private Banquet Room

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Ceglia: (408) 248-6244

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
Comfort Food (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Authentic (9)
Family Style (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Live Sports (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Business Meals (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Cozy (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent, portions huge, the food mediocre, and it was very highly priced.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Met with friends and family for drinks and appetizers prior to an event at Levi's Stadium. Drinks were well made and food was delivered rather quickly. Good place to go to!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great . But Mothers Day is a busy day. The server tried his best but we did not receive personalized service. I felt as though it was a burden to ask my server for extras. He was very busy and it was a rush throughout the entire dinner .

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We made a reservation and showed up on time. The challenge was that our server was very slow. The entire meal took 2 hours, and that is without a dessert.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very poor service. We were the 2nd table in the section for Mother's Day. The table ordered 3 Southern Fried Catfish dinners with my wife and I splitting one order. When the food was brought out two of the orders were missing french fries. I asked for an extra plate so my wife and I could split the order. It took 5 minutes and several reminders to get the plate. The french fries took another 5 minutes and by that time all of the food order was cold. The orders should not have come out until the french fries were ready. Since we ordered as a split/shared meal the extra plate should have come out with the order. Ordered coffee and dessert. The coffee came without creamer and had to ask several times to get it. Had to ask twice to get coffee refill. The only thing that came quickly was the check!!! Will be a long time before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good spot for everyday dining. Large menu with lots of variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This is our go to place and never disappoints. Hands down best Cioppino anywhere and incredible wine values. Seafood, pasta, pizza, paella, comfort appetizers, you name it they do it and do it well.

Tags: Cozy, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I have never been disappointed in the service and the food, especially the fish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Crab cakes and catfish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I had the seafood alfredo and it was OK, but the alfredo sauce tasted like nutmeg and I didn't care for that. The other diner wanted ahi, but they were out so had to settle for talapia :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food was excellent as always, Fresh, Hot and Delicious. The Garlic Bread is the best I have ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We recently enjoyed a Sunday dinner with family when my daughter was in town visiting from Seattle. By the Bucket has a diverse menu, great service and provides the perfect level of nostalgia. I highly recommend dining at this restaurant.

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Nothing special here but your usual comfortable restaurant with a good sized bar and lots of sports tvs to watch but the seafood was very good and fresh in huge portions. Seating is in a large area with booths available as well as tables. Raw oysters were fresh and the baked oyster dish was a delightful delicious surprise. Entree portions are huge (lots of patrons leaving with take home boxes) so an appetizer would have been enough for us for lunch. Service was punctual, friendly, and attentive. Would recommend if you want good seafood served with fresh local vegetables.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My favorite is the Paella. It's enough to feed 2 people!! Service was great, very attentive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Made a reservation and got comfortable seating for five people. All was happy with their dishes. Salmon no calamari were cooked to perfection. Portion is quite big for next day lunch. Service was great but may not be in range of excellent. Water refill needed reminder. For a straight water drinker, this was annoying because that was the only drink for me. Otherwise, this is good family restaurant with fabulous value. Carb watchers may not want to order pasta as it has huge portion of pasta. It is hard to resist good pasta so watch about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

If 5 is the best then that's was the best rating. Always enjoy our meals. A little expensive though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Well seasoned, generous portions, delicious dinners were the piece de resistance at BtB!! Helpful service, good spacing of tables, solicitous staff add to a friendly ambiance. The "Italian Amigos " was a surprise hit. You will go away full and satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a much better experience this time than last time. Most of the food was outstanding - we ordered salmon, chicken piccata, and fish and chips. The only disappointment was the clam chowder - many of the clams were super chewy. We also never received bread and butter although we saw it on all the tables around us. I finally asked the waitress about the bread and she said you have to order and pay for it. That is a change from the past and a disappointment.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I REQUESTED A CANDLE ON DESSERT FOR MY FRIEND'S BIRTHDAY AND IT WAS FOLLOWED THROUGH WITHOUT A REMINDER. SHE WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED AND APPRECIATIVE!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It's been 12 to 15 years since we eaten dinner at By the Bucket and we have outstanding memories there with my parents and in-laws, so I really wanted to go back. Saturday night, we has a reservation and although they were packed we were seated in about 5 minutes. That was a great start and was appreciated.
The downside in my opinion, it is no longer what it was. My veal marsala was tender, but the marsala sauce was watery and the calamari were cold and oily. ( the manager did take the cost for the calamari off the bill). The cheeses spread with the bread is gone and you have to pay for the bread?
I really wanted to like the restaurant and maybe my tastes have changed, but we won't be back very soon.
Sorry

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I am a regular of this restaurant. I will recommend any time. Excellent seafood

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Historic, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had to ask for menus and water
Dirty knife
air conditioning was blasting above us
oor paella needed more sauce and they said there would be a charge for extra sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We've only tried seafood here, and it was very good. Both the ahi and the salmon were delicious, and the portions generous. The vegetables and mashed potato were also quite good, not just plate decoration. The house salad was excellent, and the New England clam chowder was surprisingly good. All in all, the good was great and the service was friendly and attentive. You can tell that the locals love this place: half the neighborhood was at the bar having a fine time. Glad we had a reservation - this is really popular on a Sunday night, and it's no wonder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

our table wasn't ready on time and we waited a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Pretty standard food and service, not bad just not memorable. Surprising because the place was quite full, maybe we just didn't know what to order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We loved the Point Reyes burger, satisfying both our taste for blue cheese and avocado, though others in our group ordered the California burger. Kid-friendly ravioli was a hit with the little one.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife's New York steak was fabulous and her twice baked potato was good also. My pasta dish three amigos looked liked dog food a dog would not eat. Sorry?

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We decided to go for an early dinner on Valentine's Day. Surprisingly, it was busier than expected for the early serving. Our waitress was pleasant, took our drink order, and returned for our dinner order in a timely fashion. We ordered a specialty salad with dried fruit, goat cheese and a raspberry vinaigrette. It was delicious, and enough to split between the two of us! We did have to ask that our water glasses be refilled, but understandable, since they were busy. My husband didn't care for the garlic bread, and didn't like the idea, they now charge for bread with the meal. My shrimp and risotto entree was very good. The shrimp were tender and sweet. My husbands veal parmigiana was excellent too. The portions of food were more then generous and we both took leftovers home! We skipped dessert. We have never been disappointed with a meal,ever at this location. Casual dining experience and I would recommend for lunch or dinner!

Tags: Seasonal, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I were out for Valentines day and the Bucket is one of our favorite spots for a wonderful meal, great service and a good time. We go back time and again, and are never disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was great however the food was mediocre. We had the spinach/crab/artichoke dip for appetizer and that was great although I wasn't a huge fan of the bread it was served with. I had the crab sandwich for my main course and it was terrible. Not what I was expecting at all. It was a crab melt but was not advertised that way. I was expecting more like a lobster roll and I got a tuna melt. My husband had the seafood pasta which he loved. It was waaaaay better than my meal but still not spectacular. The server was nice and efficient. Drinks were amazing; we had hurricanes. Overall it was just ok. I really wanted to like this place too.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very enjoyable meal at a fair price. Very good sea food and pastas. Fantastic garlic bread!!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What a bad experience. The restaurant was busy but it is no excuse. The calamari was cold when it arrived, our entrées were bad and the server showed up only once after we placed our order and that was to pick up the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Unfortunately they were having problems in the kitchen or so we were told, overwhelmed was the word they used. Our waiter, I guess was overwhelmed also. He took our drink and appetizer and dinner order and that was pretty much it. Our drinks ran out after the appetizer and didn't get refilled until we were just about to get our bill. Our waiter didn't return until he refilled our drinks, at which point we were done. Our appetizer and food was brought out by another waiter or busboy. It was warm but not hot. For the price I paid for the 4 of us I was completely disappointed. I had high hopes but maybe the overall experience was poor because the NFL playoff game was on and that's where they make their money... in the bar. Won't return😩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Really good food. Service prompt. They do a great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was good!! Sadly, the service wasn't all that great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We haven't been here for awhile and probably won't go back. We had calamari- excellent!! Salmon was over cooked, with something that resembled rissotto but wasn't. My hubby had chicken pesto rissotto and it was huge chunks of chicken cut up in a watery rice dish with pieces of artichokes. He's a big eater, and couldn't eat it nor wanted to take the leftovers home. I had two glasses of wine and the bill was @100. Not worth it for bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food is always great at By-Th'-Bucket. But the service and attention we get from Roberto at the bar is what keeps us coming back. Always a lot of sports choices on the many tvs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great dish. Stuffed mushroom appetizer. Heavy sauce, but excellent. Portions are very generous. Come hungry. We took our main entree home. As for the service, our waiter was super nice, but did not check often. We had to flag our server down. Overall, worth the wait in food and kindness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.