Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 3.24mi
  3. Distance: 3.95mi
  4. Distance: 5.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 3.24mi
  3. Distance: 3.95mi
  4. Distance: 5.80mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Rams HillRams Hill
(66)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Borrego Springs, East County
Urge Gastropub & Common HouseUrge Gastropub & Common House
(42)
$$$$
American | San Marcos, North San Diego
Booked 12 times today
Buca di Beppo - Mira MesaBuca di Beppo - Mira Mesa
(721)
$$$$
Italian | Mira Mesa, San Diego
Booked 1 time today
Stone Brewing World Bistro & GardensStone Brewing World Bistro & Gardens
(2834)
$$$$
Organic | Escondido, North San Diego
Booked 70 times today
The Marketplace Restaurant at Avensole WineryThe Marketplace Restaurant at Avensole Winery
(27)
$$$$
American | Temecula, Temecula / Wine County
Booked 5 times today
The Vineyard Rose at South Coast WineryThe Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery
(1962)
$$$$
Californian | Temecula, Temecula / Wine County
Booked 18 times today
The Main Course RestaurantThe Main Course Restaurant
(127)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Ramona, North San Diego
Booked 1 time today
Vintana Wine & DineVintana Wine & Dine
(3445)
$$$$
Californian | Escondido, North San Diego
Booked 49 times today
The Restaurant at PonteThe Restaurant at Ponte
(1610)
$$$$
Californian | Temecula, Temecula / Wine County
Booked 22 times today
Banbu Sushi Bar & GrillBanbu Sushi Bar & Grill
(44)
$$$$
Sushi | La Mesa, East County
Booked 3 times today
Pinnacle Restaurant - Falkner WineryPinnacle Restaurant - Falkner Winery
(733)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Temecula, Temecula / Wine County
Booked 2 times today
Brigantine La MesaBrigantine La Mesa
(1452)
$$$$
Seafood | La Mesa, East County
Booked 21 times today
AVANTAVANT
(532)
$$$$
Californian | Poway / Rancho Bernardo, North San Diego
Booked 13 times today
The Great Oak at Pechanga Resort & CasinoThe Great Oak at Pechanga Resort & Casino
(366)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Temecula, Temecula / Wine County
Booked 14 times today
Capri Blu Wine Bar & Italian BistroCapri Blu Wine Bar & Italian Bistro
(62)
$$$$
Italian | Poway / Rancho Bernardo, North San Diego
Booked 2 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 3.24mi
  3. Distance: 3.95mi
  4. Distance: 5.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 3.24mi
  3. Distance: 3.95mi
  4. Distance: 5.80mi

About Butterfield Dining Room - La Casa del Zorro

Butterfield Dining Room in La Casa Del Zorro, located in Borrego Springs, CA, is a desert resort and spa. This eatery offers up some truly elegant dining for the visitors. It features quality gourmet cuisine and you can enjoy a range of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Butterfield Dining Room in Borrego Springs has some excellent options on the menu. Try the smoke salmon toast and the roasted Brussels sprouts. Some of the entrée options include the pork loin rib chop, petite filet mignon and lobster tail, scallops and the halibut. Butterfield Dining Room in Borrego Springs also features some nice soup options, including the lobster bisque.

3845 Yaqui Pass Road
Borrego Springs, CA 92004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Californian

Cross Street:
Borrego Valley Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 767-0100

Website:
http://lacasadelzorro.com/

Executive Chef:
Kurt Hauser

Private Party Facilities:
Desert Resort, Fine dining , Casual

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Kidd: (855) 820-4738

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
31 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 19, 2014

Servers adequate not friendly. Menu the same each day,apparent chefs specials never revealed. Most menu selections more suitable for lunch. No bread offered. Servers undercharged or forgot wine or drinks on the bill, not good for business. Pool beverage service very poor. No room service menu available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 29, 2014

The German cheese appetizer was fabulous! The menu offers a wide variety of entrees and salad choices. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2014

Expensive for poor quality food and service. The staff may need some more training in customer service. Horriable experience. Would not recommend this place. I hear the brunch is good, but we will never find out as we will never go back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2014

IWe had dinner Sunday night, two of us.Our server was attentive but not intrusive. We started with the ceaser salad which was delicious.I ordered the scallops, the presentation was good and the food excellent. My husband had the tri-tip. The flavor of the tri-tip was fantastic but a little on the salty side . The side of ranch beans with his dinner were undercooked.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2014

Took my mother, wife and kids to the Mother's Day Brunch. Food was outstanding. Good value for the meal. Beautiful setting. Great time had by all. I would Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2014

Lovely dining room. Acceptable service but no one is friendly. Food is well prepared but overpriced. Guess that's what you get when you're the only show in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 29, 2014

This was my first time back to the Butterfield Room since it reopened. We were seated by Dee a very competent and welcoming hostess. We ate out on the patio which was lovely. The service was a little slow but I would rather have that as opposed to being rushed. We enjoyed a bottle of the house wine and it was very reasonably priced. The food was very good. The chef had no problem accommodating my request for something not listed on the menu. The server was pleasant and very competent. This is by far the best restaurant in Borrego Springs. We enjoyed the experience and will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 28, 2014

The new Zorro is back and performing well===Great food[Kit fox salad with avocado and dates was a smash==1/2 portion was more than enough--Scallops were fresh and tasty] ==Excellent service == the Terrace is very nice, if weather permits ----I would have awarded * , except for the wine selection. VERY ordinary supermarket selections, with exorbitant pricing !!!!!! == Best to bring a bottle from the cellar, and pay the fair corkage of $15.00.===J.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 27, 2014

Not good experience.
Wait forever and and food arrived cold did comp us but looking more for a great time. M

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2014

This has been a favorite restaurant for many years…And the re-opening has made us very happy. We were delighted with everything and hope the restaurant and resort continues in the same wonderful way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2014

We love La Casa - but this night they were severely understaffed. After 20 minutes of waiting to place a beverage order, I went to the bar and got our drinks myself. Don't most restaurants have people on call for those nights when they are unexpectedly busy?

Food mostly great except rice so undercooked it was actually crunchy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2014

Lovley place for lunch, great burgers and salads, very relaxing Great Cosmos wonderful service, a hidden treasure

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 8, 2014

Very tasty Fox Kit Salad, scallops, mushrooms, mashed potatoes, no flour chocolate cake...yummy. I have had much better virgin pina coladas.

Very nice service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night. Your results may vary..
We're by no means restaurant or food snobs, and we rarely dine at such a nice establishment...
When we approached the hostess stand, all she said was, "reservation?". I was expecting a greeting at the least. There was no other talk, as she just grabbed menus and we followed her to the table. The place was busy, but all the tables weren't full. One of the waiters was almost running around. Our salads came out at different times, which we found odd. Then there was a really long gap until our food came. No one asked how the food was or how we were doing. The staff was very quiet. We enjoyed our food, however.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Very glad that La Casa Del Zorro is open once again. Ambiance was missed!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Food was excellent, had a corner secluded table so atmosphere was super. Went for a early seating, thus less noise and more intimate. The price per couple was over the top, but since a special day and celebration, didn't mind. Service was excellent and wine list complete. Personal attention by the chef was a bonus.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2014

The Butterfield Room is not to miss if you are in or passing through Borrego Springs. We went for an early Valentine's Day dinner and were blown away by the food (macadamia crusted halibut was delicious!). It's nice to have a fine dining option available in Borrego Springs. Will definitely dine there again sometime soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2014

My husband and I have eaten here twice since they reopened. Good selection of appetizers and salads with small but good variety. The diver scallop main course were expertly prepared and the staff was able to give me extra vegetables and removing the mashed potatoes. Changes did not appear to be a problem for them, very willing to alter the selection. The Cambozola (Camembert and gorgonzola) cheese appetizer is delicious but VERY rich, good to be shared for 2 or more. We were very satisfied with dinner but since it was my husband's birthday, we ordered the salted caramel cheesecake to take...they graciously gave it to us for free...even added a candle for him!

The wait staff was very attentive and helpful. We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2014

Impressive effort for a Borrego Springs location. Food was definitely above average. You pay a premium but you are in the middle of the desert. Filet was excellent, small proportions but worth the price. Wine list was a bit limited. We had a party of 10 and each couple brought a bottle. The $15 corkage fee seemed reasonable all things considered. They did not balk at 5 bottles! This is the best restaurant in Borrego hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2014

Good food; nice ambience sitting at a table by the fireplace; the timing of our food service was off a bit, but it could have just been a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2014

The ambiance of La Casa Del Zorro is great. The bar is really unique.

However, our dining experience was dismal. The menu is limited. They did not have two things on the menu. They wanted $42 for Lamb Chops. I paid $32 for a Filet that was a poor piece of beef and not done appropriately. We paid $60 for a bottle of wine I can get at the Grocery store for $10.99.

We had planned a weekend at the reopened Del Zorro but are now rethinking it. We would not eat again at the dining room. Bar menu is actually very good. We at there a couple of months ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2013

Ambience, service, food - all top notch. Best steak I've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2013

The food was excellent. It was high gourmet but they do have a kids menu which was helpful for our 8 yr. old. Our server was excellent as well. The Kit Fox Salad is so delicious. My husband had the pasta and sd. it was delicious. I had the scallops and loved them. My son had the grilled cheese off of the kids menu and loved it. My husband had the blood orange mousse dessert and thought it was delicious. Even the coffee was amazing. It was such a pleasure to return to the Casa Del Zorro and have such a fine dining experience. I think I read that the original chef, Kurt, is back and I have to say, you can sure tell. I highly recommend the splurge here for both the atmosphere and especially the food. Welcome back Casa Del Zorro!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2013

Yes, indeed a great addition to the dining out here. Classy restaurant; food cooked freshly, and served on very hot plates which was much appreciated. Keep it up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 6, 2013

Great ambiance for a special occasion dinner with live light jazz/holiday piano music and a roaring fire in the background. Well-timed and friendly service. My husband had an excellent filet mignon dinner and I had a delicious vegetable rice pasta with fresh basil pesto sauce. Both entrees were artfully presented. The fig-citrus salad we shared before our entrees was to die for--so light, fresh and full of different flavors . The chef even created a special dessert for us. We would definitely return to try other menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2013

The Thanksgiving buffet was good. None of the dishes were exceptional, though none were bad, either. There was just nothing that I'd wish to have the recipe for. The service was hit or miss. The tables on either side of us had what seemed to be good service; offers of drinks; plates cleared when they were done; offers of coffee with dessert. Our waitress brought us a wine menu; no mention of a full bar. She seemed to disappear from the dining room for long stretches. We finally had to ask one of the other waiters (who cleared our plates) if he could find her for us so that we could order coffee. It was good; delivered when we were mostly finished with dessert. The atmosphere was so-so; again, nothing really bad, just nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2013

Yeah, Zorro and all its amenities are finally back in full swing. Such a fabulous desert gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2013

The food was very marginal. the lettuce on the Caesar salad was wilted. The scallops came to the table cold and really had no flavor. The steak also had no flavor and the vegetables had too much seasoning on them. Need lots of work on the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2013

If you want to get away from the city and have a wonderful drive and wonderful desert atmosphere, this is the place to go. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2013

We had drinks in the Fox Den because we arrived early. Awesome Margaritas. Dinner was divine. Had an appetizer with melted brie and garlic.... perfect Ceaser salad.. seriously the best I have ever had. All entrees in our party were cooked to perfection. A great dining experience over all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 18, 2013

We are a repeat customer for over the past 10+ years. Upscale, beautiful ambiance, great service, and reasonable priced for the level quality food and service provided. A special occasion place that is relaxed and comfortable, table cloths and all. Expect $$$ for dinner, breakfast and lunch but you get what you pay for. This is an upscale place and the only game in town for a lovely dinner. Great for couples. Wonderful outside dinning in the Season, Oct to early Spring. Recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.