HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Butterfield Dining Room - La Casa del Zorro

3.9
31 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (26)
  • Romantic (24)
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (19)

Similar Restaurants

About

Butterfield Dining Room in La Casa Del Zorro, located in Borrego Springs, CA, is a desert resort and spa. This eatery offers up some truly elegant dining for the visitors. It features quality gourmet cuisine and you can enjoy a range of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Butterfield Dining Room in Borrego Springs has some excellent options on the menu. Try the smoke salmon toast and the roasted Brussels sprouts. Some of the entrée options include the pork loin rib chop, petite filet mignon and lobster tail, scallops and the halibut. Butterfield Dining Room in Borrego Springs also features some nice soup options, including the lobster bisque.

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steak, Californian
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(760) 767-0100
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: Borrego Valley Road
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 31 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9
  based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.6
service
4.1
ambience
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Pickee (Orange County)
1.0
Dined on July 19, 2014

Servers adequate not friendly. Menu the same each day,apparent chefs specials never revealed. Most menu selections more suitable for lunch. No bread offered. Servers undercharged or forgot wine or drinks on the bill, not good for business. Pool beverage service very poor. No room service menu available.

Report
Helpful
vipFarmer (San Diego)
5.0
Dined on May 29, 2014

The German cheese appetizer was fabulous! The menu offers a wide variety of entrees and salad choices. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
1031dinefiest (San Diego)
1.0
Dined on May 25, 2014

Expensive for poor quality food and service. The staff may need some more training in customer service. Horriable experience. Would not recommend this place. I hear the brunch is good, but we will never find out as we will never go back to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
ssnado (San Diego)
5.0
Dined on May 25, 2014

IWe had dinner Sunday night, two of us.Our server was attentive but not intrusive. We started with the ceaser salad which was delicious.I ordered the scallops, the presentation was good and the food excellent. My husband had the tri-tip. The flavor of the tri-tip was fantastic but a little on the salty side . The side of ranch beans with his dinner were undercooked.

Report
Helpful
BP26 (San Diego)
5.0
Dined on May 11, 2014

Took my mother, wife and kids to the Mother's Day Brunch. Food was outstanding. Good value for the meal. Beautiful setting. Great time had by all. I would Highly recommend!!!

Report
Helpful
vipHungry123 (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on April 18, 2014

Lovely dining room. Acceptable service but no one is friendly. Food is well prepared but overpriced. Guess that's what you get when you're the only show in town.

Report
Helpful
viprednick (Las Vegas)
4.0
Dined on March 29, 2014

This was my first time back to the Butterfield Room since it reopened. We were seated by Dee a very competent and welcoming hostess. We ate out on the patio which was lovely. The service was a little slow but I would rather have that as opposed to being rushed. We enjoyed a bottle of the house wine and it was very reasonably priced. The food was very good. The chef had no problem accommodating my request for something not listed on the menu. The server was pleasant and very competent. This is by far the best restaurant in Borrego Springs. We enjoyed the experience and will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
vipGerald (Palm Springs)
4.0
Dined on March 28, 2014

The new Zorro is back and performing well===Great food[Kit fox salad with avocado and dates was a smash==1/2 portion was more than enough--Scallops were fresh and tasty] ==Excellent service == the Terrace is very nice, if weather permits ----I would have awarded * , except for the wine selection. VERY ordinary supermarket selections, with exorbitant pricing !!!!!! == Best to bring a bottle from the cellar, and pay the fair corkage of $15.00.===J.

Report
Helpful
Mapearle (Minneapolis)
2.0
Dined on March 27, 2014

Not good experience.
Wait forever and and food arrived cold did comp us but looking more for a great time. M

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0
Dined on March 20, 2014

This has been a favorite restaurant for many years…And the re-opening has made us very happy. We were delighted with everything and hope the restaurant and resort continues in the same wonderful way.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steak, Californian
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Borrego Valley Road
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$31 to $50
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(760) 767-0100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kurt Hauser
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine