About Burma Ruby

Now open in downtown Palo Alto, Burma Ruby Burmese Cuisine Burmese cuisine. Chefs Win Tin formerly of Burma Superstars locations in Oakland and Alameda respectively, will jointly be heading up the kitchen at the new Burma Ruby venue.

326 University Ave
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;

Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bryant St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 285-2770

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
5 Story Parking across the street

Executive Chef:
Win Tin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Burma Ruby Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vegan (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Romantic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, slightly grumpy server. He d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, slightly grumpy server. He didn't write anything down and had to (surprise!) come back and ask us our order after we had already been waiting 10-15 minutes. The restaurant was busy, so we didn't mind waiting for someone to come by and take our drink order for a bit. We were with friends and chatting away, but under normal/less relaxed circumstances we may have been less forgiving. Our entrees and appetizers were delicious - we will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good, but it was so noisy ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good, but it was so noisy my dinner mate and I could hardly hear each other. Service was erratic, sloppy, not very friendly. Wait staff seemed to be very stressed as the sounds of dishes crashing on the floor occurred often. I would not go back except at off hours, because when that place is full, it is impossible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Nice ambience- and service was good. Bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice ambience- and service was good. But prices are expensive - given the less than stellar tastes we experienced.

My monk hangar soup was yummy - but the Pea Leaf Tofu so/so. And my wife's pumpkin stew was really bland!

Tough to give this a recommended rating - without some improvement in recipes/prep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Best vegetable options at a place my mea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Best vegetable options at a place my meat eating boyfriend will also go. Best tofu of all the places we regularly go. Love it!.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as always Don't tell me how ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent as always

Don't tell me how long my review needs to be. Or you get no review

Tags: Modern Decor, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met a friend traveling from out of town. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Met a friend traveling from out of town. I don't usually eat in Palo Alto, so this was a recommendation from OpenTable. It was a great suggestion. The food was fantastic - they offered multiple levels of spice or spice on the side which was a plus for our group. The food is served family style for easy sharing which allowed us to try multiple dishes - the chicken lettuce wrap starter and pumpkin pork curry were the two favorites.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, , Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tea leaf salad is a must.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Tea leaf salad is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food at Ruby's is delicious! We lov ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food at Ruby's is delicious! We love the Tea Leaf salad and get it every single time we go. We tried the walnut shrimp this time which was terrific. Maybe it was where we were seated, but the tables felt too close together. It was difficult to walk through them to get to the bathroom.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great burmese food and our service was g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great burmese food and our service was great too. I will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed delicious cuisines and beers, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We enjoyed delicious cuisines and beers, especially noodles are so delicous

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very small restaurant. Good food. Tables ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very small restaurant. Good food. Tables packed very closely to your neighbor's table.

Received Quick service for a Friday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Complaint: it was too cold! We were sit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Complaint: it was too cold! We were sitting near the door and freezing!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived early (5:30) on a Monday in D ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We arrived early (5:30) on a Monday in December and were the first party in the restaurant. By 6:30 most tables were full. When the door to University Ave. opened cold air rushed in to the square-shaped dining room. Almost all diners left their winter jackets on. The cocktail I ordered was heavy on the fruit juice and too light on the gin. No complaints about the food, though. The vegetable samosas were smaller, lighter, and tastier than the Indian versions I have had. Tea leaf salad excellent, with abundant fermented tea leaf. Tofu with pea leaves, onions, and red bell peppers especially good.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic food and great service! Really ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fantastic food and great service! Really enjoyed everything including the sparkling birthday treat :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soup was not hot enough; server tossed s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Soup was not hot enough; server tossed salad table-side (nice), but seemed angry about it so pieces went flying all over and I thought he was going to break the plate. Normally very consistent but this seemed to be an off day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Poor service and quality of food. They f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Poor service and quality of food. They forgot to make one dish.. it seemed that the server was in a rush to get the orders in. The place was too noisy with a group few tables down talking loud as if they had the restaurants to themselves.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Delicious food. We tried several differe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Delicious food. We tried several different dishes and all were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is unusual and very tasty--a cr ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food is unusual and very tasty--a cross between Thai and Indian food. The food was more mild than I anticipated but the hot sauce provided upon request was spectacular--very flavorful and full of heat! I managed to forget my credit card on the table after I had paid, and when I realized it, I was at a movie theater. I called the restaurant and Glenda the manager had my credit card. She was kind enough to wait for me at a nearby bar until the movie was over some two hours or more after closing. I was leaving the next morning on a trip so her kindness of waiting for me late that evening was particularly appreciated! Thank you so much Glenda!Overall an excellent experience and I am sure to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fine. The tea leave salad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was fine. The tea leave salad was excellent and the rest was fair to good. The main problem is the noise. It's almost impossible to carry on a conversation.

My friend cannot eat spicy food. I discussed this with the waiter and asked for his recommendations. Although he was very nice and made suggestions, which I followed, 2 of the 5 dishes were spicy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was our first taste of Burmese cuis ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our first taste of Burmese cuisine and it did not disappoint. The salad with fermented tea leaves was absolutely fantastic! We appreciated the excellent service, too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very tasty food, efficient service . Ove ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very tasty food, efficient service . Overall a very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We stopped in for a quick lunch. As alw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We stopped in for a quick lunch. As always it was delicious. The tea salad was spectacular. The chicken kamat was not as tender as is usually is but good none the less. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a birthday event and we as usual ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was a birthday event and we as usual brought a cake to cut after the meal. On asking to put it in inside and bring it after the meal they mentioned that it will cost us $1.50 per person. We decided not to do it but when I checked the bill the cost was still added. It is not only pathetic but very cheap way to overcharge customers. Probably will not be going back again to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The food is great but it is too noisy. T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food is great but it is too noisy. That t is what would keep me from recommending this restaurant to my friends. The service was helpful and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great and the waitress was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was great and the waitress was very nice as well. However, the hostess would not seat us because we were 10 minutes early for our reservation... fine. It doesn't make sense that people walking up without reservations were seated before us and we weren't even seated at my reserved time. The hostess forgot we had been waiting. It was frustrating

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food but crowded place. Still I re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food but crowded place. Still I really like it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food not as good in taste and quality a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food not as good in taste and quality as its sister restaurants Rangoon Ruby in San Carlos and Belmont.

Very noisy. Could not carry a conversation without shouting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

If you like Chinese food, give this plac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

If you like Chinese food, give this place a try. Burmese is similar in style, but much tastier. And if you ask for spicy you get SPICY.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is special and unique and beer goes ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Food is special and unique and beer goes well with it. Service is helpful about the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious! Each plate we or ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was delicious! Each plate we ordered was better than the one before. We will definitely go back. Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The servers were not well trained. For e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The servers were not well trained. For example a server clearing plates from our table in the middle of our meal laid a dirty plate he had collected from another table and left behind a messy tomato stain. Overall, unenthusiastic, ill-informed and poorly train staff. The quality of the food was so-so and we will not be returning or recommending this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great location and excellent food but VE ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great location and excellent food but VERY noisy if you eat inside. We ate outside which helped but what we gained in ambiance we lost in service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My husband and I like the food here an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 22, 2016

My husband and I like the food here and we have been here several times. This last time we felt rushed through the dining even though the restaurant was mostly empty. The seat was dirty. I put my handbag down next to me end ended up with big food stain on the bottom which doesn't come off. It pretty much ruined my handbag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Great food, lackluster service. We visit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food, lackluster service. We visited on a Friday evening in August. We were seated a few minutes after our reservation time, which was fine. It took the server several minutes to come by for drink orders (seemingly forever); we ordered the Tea leaf salad at the same time as drinks. The salad came out before the drinks (1 mixed drink, 1 beer), which has always been a no-no in my book. The server came by one more time to take the food order and was never seen again. Food was delivered in a timely manner and plates were cleared from the table promptly after being emptied. I would have liked to order another drink mid-meal, but as the server never came back, I never had the opportunity. The small missteps combined with a very noisy atmosphere and too-few restrooms made for an over mediocre experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

My first Burmese food, and it was delici ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

My first Burmese food, and it was delicious! Had the tea leaf salad and a spicy fish dish called Basil Chili Swai. If you order it spicy, be prepared, for they will give you what you ask for. Personally I loved it. Nice wines by the glass. Dined outside on a very pleasant evening. Good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good meal here! Note "hot" is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always a good meal here!

Note "hot" is really hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Burma Ruby has delicious food. Very tast ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Burma Ruby has delicious food. Very tasty. Excellent service. Good size portions. I would eat there every week if I lived in Palo Alto.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the food. We love Rangoo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Disappointed in the food. We love Rangoon Ruby in San Carlos and thought to give this location a try but not the same!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Everything was great, especially the foo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was great, especially the food. However there was a large 50th birthday celebration going on while we were there which made it hard to hear and enjoy our first experience at this restaurant. We will probably have to come back another time to get a better assessment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burma Ruby was a great choice for dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Burma Ruby was a great choice for dinner - the food was served hot and was very flavorful. Our server was helpful and friendly. We will definitely go back to try more items on their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.