Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Burma Ruby

Now open in downtown Palo Alto, Burma Ruby Burmese Cuisine Burmese cuisine. Chefs Win Tin formerly of Burma Superstars locations in Oakland and Alameda respectively, will jointly be heading up the kitchen at the new Burma Ruby venue.

326 University Ave
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;

Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bryant St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 285-2770

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
5 Story Parking across the street

Executive Chef:
Win Tin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Burma Ruby Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Authentic (5)
Spicy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Romantic (2)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a very good meal at Burma Ruby. Initially, we requested a different table than the one they offered us, and the hostess wouldn't do this. Then, we went and talked to the hostess at the door and she reseated us. after that, the meal was very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I've never had Burmese food before and it was amazing! The produce and meat was fresh and the flavors were fantastic. Make sure to get the coconut rice and the garlic noodles. Holy crap the garlic noodles!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The restaurant is located on university ave in the heart of Palo Alto. Serving was excellent, and of course the tea leaf salad is to die for. They're very flexible with making the food to your level of mild or spicy.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Poor service. Poor ambience

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The tea leaf salad is the signature dish to get here! The ingredients are fresh and they toss the salad at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fourth or fifth visit. Excellent experience. I had Burmese Pork Curry (chose hot, but not extra hot). It was super. I had Indian Burmese rice as a side dish and finished the rice, an unusual outcome on my part. I would go back tomorrow. The online reviews basically recommended all dishes so choosing is a challenge. Can't lose though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food, you must try the Tea Leaf Salad. The menu is very creative. There are many wonderful dishes to try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This is an amazing restaurant --the food is unusual and great!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food is great but this restaurant is let down by the noisy atmosphere

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food and Service is generally very good. I always get the Mango Chicken which is really tasty. I am somehow disappointed by their not so generous wine servings. From my experience, a glass of wine at Burma Ruby has less wine than at most other restaurants I usually go to. This is especially frustrating if you pay $15 for one glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great dinner date place

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

From the creative cocktails to the exotic (and spicy!) cuisine this is a good place to spend a Friday evening. Warning: the cocktails are a lot to handle so pace yourself! Also, it is recommended that you arrive early.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food! We loved the mango chicken; light stir fry sweet and tangy with fresh mango and basil; the eggplant and garlic was also very tasty. The waitress was very attentive and friendly. Good family restaurant- will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had four people - 1 vegan, 2 vegetarian, 1 carnivore - and each of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Always liked Burmese food but Rangoon Ruby seating was to cramped. Burma Ruby has more room and the food is excellent. Highly recommend the tea leaf salad, the khau suey and the okra with eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Lemon Grass Chicken a little too saucy but mango salad tossed by waiter at table was superb. Liked the decor and service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I have to say that this has been my favorite restaurant food but I walked out this evening because your restaurant has a wine list that cannot be fulfilled. I asked for 2 separate wines on your list only to be informed that they are not available. I will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food, slightly grumpy server. He didn't write anything down and had to (surprise!) come back and ask us our order after we had already been waiting 10-15 minutes. The restaurant was busy, so we didn't mind waiting for someone to come by and take our drink order for a bit. We were with friends and chatting away, but under normal/less relaxed circumstances we may have been less forgiving. Our entrees and appetizers were delicious - we will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was very good, but it was so noisy my dinner mate and I could hardly hear each other. Service was erratic, sloppy, not very friendly. Wait staff seemed to be very stressed as the sounds of dishes crashing on the floor occurred often. I would not go back except at off hours, because when that place is full, it is impossible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice ambience- and service was good. But prices are expensive - given the less than stellar tastes we experienced.

My monk hangar soup was yummy - but the Pea Leaf Tofu so/so. And my wife's pumpkin stew was really bland!
Tough to give this a recommended rating - without some improvement in recipes/prep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Best vegetable options at a place my meat eating boyfriend will also go. Best tofu of all the places we regularly go. Love it!.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent as always

Don't tell me how long my review needs to be. Or you get no review

Tags: Modern Decor, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Met a friend traveling from out of town. I don't usually eat in Palo Alto, so this was a recommendation from OpenTable. It was a great suggestion. The food was fantastic - they offered multiple levels of spice or spice on the side which was a plus for our group. The food is served family style for easy sharing which allowed us to try multiple dishes - the chicken lettuce wrap starter and pumpkin pork curry were the two favorites.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Tea leaf salad is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food at Ruby's is delicious! We love the Tea Leaf salad and get it every single time we go. We tried the walnut shrimp this time which was terrific. Maybe it was where we were seated, but the tables felt too close together. It was difficult to walk through them to get to the bathroom.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

What a wonderful place. One of my favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great burmese food and our service was great too. I will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We enjoyed delicious cuisines and beers, especially noodles are so delicous

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very small restaurant. Good food. Tables packed very closely to your neighbor's table.
Received Quick service for a Friday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Complaint: it was too cold! We were sitting near the door and freezing!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We arrived early (5:30) on a Monday in December and were the first party in the restaurant. By 6:30 most tables were full. When the door to University Ave. opened cold air rushed in to the square-shaped dining room. Almost all diners left their winter jackets on. The cocktail I ordered was heavy on the fruit juice and too light on the gin. No complaints about the food, though. The vegetable samosas were smaller, lighter, and tastier than the Indian versions I have had. Tea leaf salad excellent, with abundant fermented tea leaf. Tofu with pea leaves, onions, and red bell peppers especially good.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fantastic food and great service! Really enjoyed everything including the sparkling birthday treat :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Soup was not hot enough; server tossed salad table-side (nice), but seemed angry about it so pieces went flying all over and I thought he was going to break the plate. Normally very consistent but this seemed to be an off day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Poor service and quality of food. They forgot to make one dish.. it seemed that the server was in a rush to get the orders in. The place was too noisy with a group few tables down talking loud as if they had the restaurants to themselves.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Delicious food. We tried several different dishes and all were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food is unusual and very tasty--a cross between Thai and Indian food. The food was more mild than I anticipated but the hot sauce provided upon request was spectacular--very flavorful and full of heat! I managed to forget my credit card on the table after I had paid, and when I realized it, I was at a movie theater. I called the restaurant and Glenda the manager had my credit card. She was kind enough to wait for me at a nearby bar until the movie was over some two hours or more after closing. I was leaving the next morning on a trip so her kindness of waiting for me late that evening was particularly appreciated! Thank you so much Glenda!Overall an excellent experience and I am sure to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was fine. The tea leave salad was excellent and the rest was fair to good. The main problem is the noise. It's almost impossible to carry on a conversation.
My friend cannot eat spicy food. I discussed this with the waiter and asked for his recommendations. Although he was very nice and made suggestions, which I followed, 2 of the 5 dishes were spicy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our first taste of Burmese cuisine and it did not disappoint. The salad with fermented tea leaves was absolutely fantastic! We appreciated the excellent service, too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very tasty food, efficient service . Overall a very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We stopped in for a quick lunch. As always it was delicious. The tea salad was spectacular. The chicken kamat was not as tender as is usually is but good none the less. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.