Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.54mi
  2. Distance: 4.39mi
  3. Distance: 4.54mi
  4. Distance: 4.58mi
  1. Distance: 1.54mi
  2. Distance: 4.39mi
  3. Distance: 4.54mi
  4. Distance: 4.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.54mi
  2. Distance: 4.39mi
  3. Distance: 4.54mi
  4. Distance: 4.58mi
  1. Distance: 1.54mi
  2. Distance: 4.39mi
  3. Distance: 4.54mi
  4. Distance: 4.58mi

About Bull Run Restaurant

The Bull Run Restaurant has been serving the Tired & Thirsty Traveler Since 1740! Join us in the relaxed, "boots off" atmosphere of our pre-Revolutionary Tavern where we use only the finest ingredients sourced from local Central Mass & New England farms. We serve seasonal Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch, Concert, Pizza and Ice Cream menus along with local brews on tap including The People"s Pint. Our legendary Bull Run Concert Series features a diverse lineup of top notch talent each week - everyone from Dr. John, Judy Collins, Paula Poundstone & Los Lobos to Zach Deputy, Paula Cole & Rusted Root. Relax in our authentic Tavern which was the first stop on the Boston to Albany stagecoach route in front of our roaring fireplace in winter, on our outdoor Garden Patio in summer, or take in a show in one of our two Concert venues. And don't forget to visit the legendary Egopantis in our Tap Room. Owned & operated by the Guercio family of Shirley since 1946. Bull Run. Local, Since 1740.

215 Great Road
Shirley, MA 01464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday
-Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
-Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
-Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm
-Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

For parties of 15 or more, please contact the restaurant.

Cross Street:
Longley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 425-4311

Website:
http://www.bullrunrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The famous Bull Run Concert Series features local, national and internationally known acts weekly. Larger national acts perform in our Sawtelle Supper Room seating 300, while emerging performers are showcased in our upstairs Ballroom, seating just 65. Tickets are available online from our website for both venues. Or join us for live music with no cover on Friday and Saturdays in our Tavern, or Trivia every Thursday and Jazz on the Patio from May - September.

Catering:
The Bull Run Restaurant provides catering to private homes, businesses, and exclusively at Farandnear, an 89 acre Trustees of the Reservation preserve located just one mile from our restaurant in historic Shirley Center. From picnics to sit down dinners, our catering department provides dining and full bar set up for functions of every kind. We use only the freshest ingredients sourced locally and prepared fresh to order. Visit our website for all our function menus and contact our Function Manager for more info.

Parking Details:
The Bull Run can accommodate up to 200 vehicles in our private lots on either side of our Covered Bridge.

Public Transit:
The closest public transportation is the Shirley train stop, 3 miles from the Bull Run. Taxi service can be arranged from the station at a minimal cost.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Barck

Private Party Facilities:
We have 7 separate dining rooms, an outdoor Garden Patio and a Covered Bridge on which we perform many weddings! Our private dining rooms accommodate from 10 people to 300. For photos & descriptions visit our website or contact us for a tour.

Private Party Contact:
Bryan Sawyer : (978) 425-4311

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Holiday Menus available for Easter, Mother's Day, Valentine's Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day & New Year's Eve.
Throughout the year we feature live Blues, Jazz, Rock, Pop, Reggae, Comedy, & many other special events including Dinner on the Bridge, Beer, Spirits & Wine Food Pairings, Outdoor Jazz, & our annual Bull Run Moon Party!

Bull Run Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Casual (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
See All
Live Music (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I love coming to your place. I especially enjoy the atmosphere, and the staff is always trying hard to make it a special experience. I love coming to your place. I especially enjoy the atmosphere, and the staff is always trying hard to make it a special experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

This restaurant has such a great cozy, new england feel to it, with great food and drinks. The 'specials' menu had great entree's and it was nice to have the owner/manager come around to chat with the tables.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food is amazing! Call ahead to make sure you get a seat especially on Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Bull Run is always my first choice for dining out. Great menu, friendly faces, awesome service every time. Steve, the piano man, never disappoints with an amazing selection of music for listening or sing a long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Would request a quieter table next time. Being next to the piano we could have no conversation. Our table would shake every time someone walked by do to the shaky floor (old building). As usual food was good and service was great.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We ate in the dining room. Very few appetizers. Entres/specials were over priced. Drinks served in kitchen style glassware.

Staff are excellent, friendly, acxommodating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We were in the Concord area to attend a wedding the following day. As I checked Bull Runs website it looked like exactly the kind of place we would enjoy and it didn't disappoint! From great ambiance, to excellent service and food, we had a wonderful experience. Oh, and the piano player was wonderful too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Prime Rib was outstanding, it should be fro their signature dish. Definitely would order it again. The table was ready for us upon our arrival, no waiting whatsoever. The noise level did increase as the evening progressed. We seemed to be on the path for the Ladies room. Since the tables were a little close to each other on either side of this route, we felt a little cramped and awkward as people walked by. Overall a decent experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The service was excellent by the waitress who served us. Everything was good and a positive experience, nothing to complain about. It was our third time there and each time has been a good experience .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Cooks did very well. Hate asparagus but it was actually good enough to eat. Noise level made it hard to carry on a conversation. House red wine was great. Desert was great and the coffee was great. The waitress sucked. I finally caught her after multiple failed attempts to be seen for my drink order. There were only 5 of us. Very annoying. As a combat veteran, if had ever missed a simple clear detail such as ' there are more than four orders and there are 5 people.... hmmm' I probably would have caused grave harm. Usually expediting is a relatively simple job. Record what has been requested and make sure everyone is attended to. Apparently except for me. She did however have no issues seeing me when it came time to pay. Oh and portions are a bit small considering the price.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was just ok. The service, a little less. Won't go back unless it's for a concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Bull Run provides a truly enjoyable setting for fun and great tasting menu options. The building itself and its interior charm make it a special experience unlike any other I have visited. Great service by a friendly staff who seem to always remember you with a welcoming smile.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved this place food was great. I loved the 1700 decore.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The prime rib was wonderful, had the senior cut and was more than I could eat. Well be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had the senior cut prime rib. It was huge! Excellent meal and enough taken home for another meal tomorrow. 😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

There were 7 adults in our party. Our server was very efficient and friendly. All of our meals came out together. Everyone was happy with their meal which included a turkey dinner, entrée salads, steak tips, roasted chicken, fig pizza, to name a few. The dining room was casual and comfortable. The noise level was fine. We were able to carry on a conversation even with the musician playing in the background.They had a good wine and beer selection. I would definitely go back again to try some other comfort food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We scheduled a reservation but we got their an hour early and they accommodated us easily. Waitress was friendly and prompt. We ended up going there a day later for no scheduled reservation, but it was still like a 5pm dinner time slot. Friendly staff again. Food was fantastic! Great drink menu.....it is our new local gem as we just bought a house in town. Looking forward to many more meals and drinks at this local historic restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Comfort Food, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were seated quickly but it was downhill from there. Although our table was right up front, we sat, ignored, for 25+ minutes. Then we flagged down a server. She apologized for the wait, as did the hostess but we still had to ask for everything: water, bread, more water, utensils. I finally had to steal a bread plate from another table. The room we were in wasn't full so I don't know what the issue was. Other tables did not seem to have any problems. The food was fine. The live piano music made conversation difficult. The pianist did a good job but just too loud. I doubt we will be back anytime soon.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A long time favorite for dining out, Bull Run has consistently provided the best menu choices, efficient friendly service and a truly welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We really enjoyed The Bull Run and will go back! The good was delicious and to tell the truth, I'd go back for the truffle popcorn alone!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

On the road with family and found this by location on Open Table. Pleasantly surprised at the all around good food and service. Historical place with very friendly staff, Nice find. If we are ever up that way again will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Had an awesome brunch. Very relaxed; and the food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A very comfortable place with interesting history. One of the best spots you'll find in Shirley or within a 10 mile diameter of that town. I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

First time taking my mother in law to dinner and it was a great experience. She loved the turkey dinner and I had the scallop special. Husband enjoyed every bite of his Prime Rib.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great live music and service, AMAZING scallops, and decent wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Haven't been here in a few years. Awesome food great atmosphere. Excellent service.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always a treat to make it out to Bull Run on a Friday evening. The burger options are truly special as is the Chef's choice menu. The piano man rocks the place with an amazing selection of favorites which encourages spontaneous sing-a-long. Great service, food and fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I've been to the Bull Run a couple of times in the past month because I took friends not familiar with the area. I seem to enjoy it more each time I go. The food is good, varied in price with plenty of options. Historic setting, maybe Paul Revere even rode by.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great waiter, very attentive. Food was good and enjoyed the atmosphere. Appreciated hearing the live music but not being in the same room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Had a great evening with a seating of 24 invited guests for a wonderful meal, gracious and prompt table service and a charming and accommodating owner/manager. The piano entertainment was fantastic with keyboard and improved sound system

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Authentic, Scenic View, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Bull Run is a historic Tavern that serves good food and drink. It also offers entertainment and tickets can be purchased on their website where you can see the dates of who will be appearing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband was disappointed in the quality of his prime rib - very tough and chewy
My haddock was very fresh
May try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was very tasty. The prime rib was fabulous and cooked prefect.
The entertainment was very enjoyable but not intrusive. It was fun when they started to sing along. it was a lot of fun.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We dine here particularly because they have a good prime rib and are very convenient. The menu is limited, the service is usually good, the bar pours are above average and the prices are a bit in the high side but are commensurate with the portion quantity and general quality.
The 4 of us had the steak fritte, the baked haddock and the prime rib (2). All were nicely done & cooked as requested. We shared the fried calamari app which was over cooked and very disappionting. We did not have dessert. Our waitress was very pleasant but did not seem to have a lot of experience at this location.
The noise level is on the high side and was contributed to by a live pianist which, while very nice, helped to make cross table conversation challenging.
Parking is ample.
I'd recommend a reservation, particularly on the weekend or when a performance is scheduled for the same evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was great, drinks were cold and service was spot on. Great place to relax and play trivia on Thursday

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As a frequent diner at BullRun, I can solidly recommend it's fine menu choices, excellent table service and friendly atmosphere. I am planning a dinner engagement consisting of 26 guests this month and I am confident they will enjoy the evening

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Hot Spot, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was very good, the music was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome ambiance

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I was here many years ago for a company function. We just went back for a birthday celebration. It was awesome. Prime rib was excellent. Waitress was very good. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Live Music, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

we saw nick moss show!!great sound!!wicked blues!!dennis gruenling wicked harp!!sugar ray wiked vocals and harp!!one of the best shows i ever seen and heard!!thanks bull run daveb!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.