About Bull Run Restaurant

The Bull Run Restaurant has been serving the Tired & Thirsty Traveler Since 1740! Join us in the relaxed, "boots off" atmosphere of our pre-Revolutionary Tavern where we use only the finest ingredients sourced from local Central Mass & New England farms. We serve seasonal Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch, Concert, Pizza and Ice Cream menus along with local brews on tap including The People"s Pint. Our legendary Bull Run Concert Series features a diverse lineup of top notch talent each week - everyone from Dr. John, Judy Collins, Paula Poundstone & Los Lobos to Zach Deputy, Paula Cole & Rusted Root. Relax in our authentic Tavern which was the first stop on the Boston to Albany stagecoach route in front of our roaring fireplace in winter, on our outdoor Garden Patio in summer, or take in a show in one of our two Concert venues. And don't forget to visit the legendary Egopantis in our Tap Room. Owned & operated by the Guercio family of Shirley since 1946. Bull Run. Local, Since 1740.

215 Great Road
Shirley, MA 01464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday
-Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
-Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
-Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm
-Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Longley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 425-4311

Website:
http://www.bullrunrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The famous Bull Run Concert Series features local, national and internationally known acts weekly. Larger national acts perform in our Sawtelle Supper Room seating 300, while emerging performers are showcased in our upstairs Ballroom, seating just 65. Tickets are available online from our website for both venues. Or join us for live music with no cover on Friday and Saturdays in our Tavern, or Trivia every Thursday and Jazz on the Patio from May - September.

Catering:
The Bull Run Restaurant provides catering to private homes, businesses, and exclusively at Farandnear, an 89 acre Trustees of the Reservation preserve located just one mile from our restaurant in historic Shirley Center. From picnics to sit down dinners, our catering department provides dining and full bar set up for functions of every kind. We use only the freshest ingredients sourced locally and prepared fresh to order. Visit our website for all our function menus and contact our Function Manager for more info.

Parking Details:
The Bull Run can accommodate up to 200 vehicles in our private lots on either side of our Covered Bridge.

Public Transit:
The closest public transportation is the Shirley train stop, 3 miles from the Bull Run. Taxi service can be arranged from the station at a minimal cost.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Barck

Private Party Facilities:
We have 7 separate dining rooms, an outdoor Garden Patio and a Covered Bridge on which we perform many weddings! Our private dining rooms accommodate from 10 people to 300. For photos & descriptions visit our website or contact us for a tour.

Private Party Contact:
Bryan Sawyer : (978) 425-4311

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Holiday Menus available for Easter, Mother's Day, Valentine's Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day & New Year's Eve.
Throughout the year we feature live Blues, Jazz, Rock, Pop, Reggae, Comedy, & many other special events including Dinner on the Bridge, Beer, Spirits & Wine Food Pairings, Outdoor Jazz, & our annual Bull Run Moon Party!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bull Run Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (18)
Fireplace (18)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Casual (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Live Music (16)
Cozy (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Great Beer (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Scenic View (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Romantic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Business Meals (2)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere, live pianist, and song ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great atmosphere, live pianist, and song books in case you want to sing along! The bar area is comfortable and casual. We love it here!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. I especially e ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great dining experience. I especially enjoyed the new menu choices and the chef recommendations. As always, the service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had dinner before seeing the David Br ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had dinner before seeing the David Bromberg Quintet. The service was very timely. The food was very tasty and very generous servings. The dining room very quickly filled and was quite boisterous! We easily had dinner and walked to the other room for the concert with no rush. We would happily eat at the Bull Run again.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great menu options with new additions. I ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great menu options with new additions. I enjoy the friendly welcoming atmosphere and the prompt table service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Casual, Live Music, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We met friends for dinner in the bar. T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We met friends for dinner in the bar. The bar was crowded, a bit noisy, but definitely a fun hangout. Someone was playing the piano and the fire was blazing. The food was excellent. Comfort food options that were fresh and slightly different from the standard. I would highly recommend and we will be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bull Run is one of the few restaurants i ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bull Run is one of the few restaurants in the Groton / Ayer / Shirley area. The people who run it are always incredibly friendly and accommodating, and the food is always delicious. It has become a part of our family tradition in visiting our son at a nearby school.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, locally sourced meats and ve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, locally sourced meats and vegetables. Big fireplace, good people. Tons of great live music!

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fun, Live Music, Organic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for the prime rib. We were not dis ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went for the prime rib. We were not disappointed. Delicious. Unbeknownst to us it was Trivia night when we arrived. Was fun hearing the team competitions going on - did not participate (too busy eating the prime rib), but definitely learned some new trivia facts along the way. The noise level was definitely "energetic", but it fit well with the activities going on. A good number of people were having a good time. Would definitely recommend Bull Run to a friend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Local Ingredients, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We absolutely loved this place. The food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We absolutely loved this place. The food, the environment, the experience was all together awesome. It was the kind of place you want to go to with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Special Occasion was the John Davids ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Special Occasion was the John Davidson concert. The Bull Run was ideal in every aspect.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Prime rib was perfect. My wife said clam ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Prime rib was perfect. My wife said clam chowder was floury.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was top notch. Handled every ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was top notch. Handled every question or request with courtesy and professionalism. Made us feel very welcome, and accommodated my 3 nieces (all under 4 years old) with coloring books, crayons, and special smiley face French fries, which they LOVED. They are well known for their Prime Rib, and it's a well deserved accolade. Portion sizes are huge, and feel like a great value for the money. Wine and drink selection were pretty extensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food ,nice menu,sure to please ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food ,nice menu,sure to please even the fussiest diner,excellent portions,service at times rather slow,but worth the wait

Prime rib best around

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was amazed at the level of service and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was amazed at the level of service and the exceptional quality of the food for New Year's Eve!

The piano player was outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as always. New menu is great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent, as always. New menu is great. Spent New Years Eve with some friends and had a great time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with siblings - once a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful dinner with siblings - once a year gathering for all of us to enjoy a meal together!! Bull Run Restaurant had a dinner menu that everyone could find something delicious to enjoy. Will come back to experience the live entertainment.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fireplace, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a wonderful dinner and loved the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and loved the ambience for Christmas! The food was great, and service was fantastic. We always enjoy our time at the Bull Run and recommend it highly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice cozy tavern atmosphere and excellen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice cozy tavern atmosphere and excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bull Run always provides comfortable, fr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Bull Run always provides comfortable, friendly and efficient table service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere was lovely, the mean grea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The atmosphere was lovely, the mean great and generous portions. The piano singer got the crowd sings and the we have a fantastic time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot. But if you are with someone ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great spot. But if you are with someone and want to talk, do not take a table where they are playing jazz. Way louder than I would have hoped for such a small place.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service and food was very good. Although ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service and food was very good. Although there was only 1 server for the entire dining room. He could have used more help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went to Bill Run for a staff appreciatio ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Went to Bill Run for a staff appreciation lunch. Our group left with full bellies. Everyone enjoyed the food and service. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Service was exce ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was delicious. Service was excellent. The place is a charming building with open fire place and rustic look. Will definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful dinner with excellent se ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with excellent service and entertainment by Steven, the very talented piano man

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual it is fantastic!!

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As usual it is fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have to make a serious compliant. It i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have to make a serious compliant. It is absolutely not fair to the rest of the world how good the French Onion soup is. Absolutely not fair!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always great food and service from the f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always great food and service from the friendly wait staff at Bull Run.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere for a relaxed evening o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great atmosphere for a relaxed evening of dining fun. Always excellent service by smiling, friendly wait staff. The piano man continues to provide an entertaining variety of music to appreciate and sing along with if inclined to participate.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

awesome everything from pizza to prime ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

awesome everything from pizza to prime rib, we have dined here several times and the food is just top shelf all the way. they also have a fantastic music venue in the back with some top notch bands, you MUST check this out if you like live music of any kind, I guarantee you will return.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have had much better meals there and was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Have had much better meals there and was very disappointed this time. Seasonal specials were a bust. Pumpkin agnolotti was way too sweet and brussel sprouts were served in a bowl of water and were inedible. Friends ordered steak/caesar salad and chicken caesar salad and receive enormous portions of meat with their salads. (Not complaining, but it was odd.) We ate in the upstairs because there was an event in the downstairs tavern. The tavern is a very charming space. The upstairs is most definitely NOT. Cheap polyester curtains and white lights are a weak attempt to dress up a very plain room. I will say the servers are all very nice and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

The main menue and specials are truly gr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The main menue and specials are truly great. I especially enjoy the informal tavern atmosphere, sing along piano man and the great table service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Cozy, Historic, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Made reservations for table of 8 on a Fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Made reservations for table of 8 on a Fri night for 7p. Didn't get sat until 745. Food was fantastic. Service was great. But I was having a meeting for business and had a VERY hard time talking over the very, very loud piano. WAY too loud.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

SpectacularSpectacular... Spectacular fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

SpectacularSpectacular... Spectacular food, atmosphere, and entertainment. This was the best night of our vacation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, , Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Historic, Great Beer, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bull Run is a regular spot of ours. If ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Bull Run is a regular spot of ours. If you haven't been there in a while, try it again - the food is much improved, and on caliber with the best resturaunts in the area.

Prime rib and clam chowder are excellent. My wife had Scallops and said they were excellent as well.

Not the place to go if you are looking for a quiet date night. It is definitely more like a colonial tavern - lot's of regulars and very loud.

Almost always have entertainment after 8ish as well.

Wait staff is very friendly and attentive. There is a bus person coming by every two minutes to see if you need anything, or to clear away dirty dishes.

Price is on par with other resturaunts in the area.

also, check out their website. They are on the regular circuit for many big name bands and comedians.

Tags: Fun, , Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had clam chowder, which was a disappo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had clam chowder, which was a disappointment, we felt it wasn't creamy and was lacking in flavor...the cranberry corn muffins were yummy as was the beet salad...for dinner we had sword fish and vegetable lasagna, both of our dinners were excellent and the staff was happy to substitute a backed potato for rice...we didn't eat all of our dinners, as our friendly waitress recommended, so we could have their lemon desert and their apple crisp...I would highly recommend both.

The service was exceptionally great, our server was very attentive to our every need, and anticipated our needs.

Go and enjoy...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, warm friendly atmosphere ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great service, warm friendly atmosphere and excellent me i.e.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Live Music, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We visit Bull Run often since it's near ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We visit Bull Run often since it's near our son's school and is always delicious and consistent. The staff is lovely and the food just what we're looking for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Friday night at Bull Run has become my f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Friday night at Bull Run has become my favorite dining out spit for good food, excellent service and great piano sing along.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bull Run is a "cheers" for today's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Bull Run is a "cheers" for today's crowd. Everyone knows your name for sure but the food is excellent and the ambiance is superb. This is the best place intown for a good night out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Cozy, Vegan, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.