Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.54mi
  2. Distance: 4.39mi
  3. Distance: 4.54mi
  4. Distance: 4.58mi
  1. Distance: 1.54mi
  2. Distance: 4.39mi
  3. Distance: 4.54mi
  4. Distance: 4.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.54mi
  2. Distance: 4.39mi
  3. Distance: 4.54mi
  4. Distance: 4.58mi
  1. Distance: 1.54mi
  2. Distance: 4.39mi
  3. Distance: 4.54mi
  4. Distance: 4.58mi

About Bull Run Restaurant

The Bull Run Restaurant has been serving the Tired & Thirsty Traveler Since 1740! Join us in the relaxed, "boots off" atmosphere of our pre-Revolutionary Tavern where we use only the finest ingredients sourced from local Central Mass & New England farms. We serve seasonal Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch, Concert, Pizza and Ice Cream menus along with local brews on tap including The People"s Pint. Our legendary Bull Run Concert Series features a diverse lineup of top notch talent each week - everyone from Dr. John, Judy Collins, Paula Poundstone & Los Lobos to Zach Deputy, Paula Cole & Rusted Root. Relax in our authentic Tavern which was the first stop on the Boston to Albany stagecoach route in front of our roaring fireplace in winter, on our outdoor Garden Patio in summer, or take in a show in one of our two Concert venues. And don't forget to visit the legendary Egopantis in our Tap Room. Owned & operated by the Guercio family of Shirley since 1946. Bull Run. Local, Since 1740.

215 Great Road
Shirley, MA 01464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday
-Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
-Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
-Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm
-Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Longley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 425-4311

Website:
http://www.bullrunrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The famous Bull Run Concert Series features local, national and internationally known acts weekly. Larger national acts perform in our Sawtelle Supper Room seating 300, while emerging performers are showcased in our upstairs Ballroom, seating just 65. Tickets are available online from our website for both venues. Or join us for live music with no cover on Friday and Saturdays in our Tavern, or Trivia every Thursday and Jazz on the Patio from May - September.

Catering:
The Bull Run Restaurant provides catering to private homes, businesses, and exclusively at Farandnear, an 89 acre Trustees of the Reservation preserve located just one mile from our restaurant in historic Shirley Center. From picnics to sit down dinners, our catering department provides dining and full bar set up for functions of every kind. We use only the freshest ingredients sourced locally and prepared fresh to order. Visit our website for all our function menus and contact our Function Manager for more info.

Parking Details:
The Bull Run can accommodate up to 200 vehicles in our private lots on either side of our Covered Bridge.

Public Transit:
The closest public transportation is the Shirley train stop, 3 miles from the Bull Run. Taxi service can be arranged from the station at a minimal cost.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Barck

Private Party Facilities:
We have 7 separate dining rooms, an outdoor Garden Patio and a Covered Bridge on which we perform many weddings! Our private dining rooms accommodate from 10 people to 300. For photos & descriptions visit our website or contact us for a tour.

Private Party Contact:
Bryan Sawyer : (978) 425-4311

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Holiday Menus available for Easter, Mother's Day, Valentine's Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day & New Year's Eve.
Throughout the year we feature live Blues, Jazz, Rock, Pop, Reggae, Comedy, & many other special events including Dinner on the Bridge, Beer, Spirits & Wine Food Pairings, Outdoor Jazz, & our annual Bull Run Moon Party!

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat Dad to Father's Day Sunday Brunch at Bull Run! Serving Brunch from 10am - 2pm, and Sunday Dinner from 2pm - 8:30pm.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bull Run Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (23)
Live Music (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Local Ingredients (16)
Historic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fireplace (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Fun (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great Beer (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Romantic (5)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband was disappointed in the quality of his prime rib - very tough and chewy
My haddock was very fresh
May try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was very tasty. The prime rib was fabulous and cooked prefect.
The entertainment was very enjoyable but not intrusive. It was fun when they started to sing along. it was a lot of fun.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We dine here particularly because they have a good prime rib and are very convenient. The menu is limited, the service is usually good, the bar pours are above average and the prices are a bit in the high side but are commensurate with the portion quantity and general quality.
The 4 of us had the steak fritte, the baked haddock and the prime rib (2). All were nicely done & cooked as requested. We shared the fried calamari app which was over cooked and very disappionting. We did not have dessert. Our waitress was very pleasant but did not seem to have a lot of experience at this location.
The noise level is on the high side and was contributed to by a live pianist which, while very nice, helped to make cross table conversation challenging.
Parking is ample.
I'd recommend a reservation, particularly on the weekend or when a performance is scheduled for the same evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was great, drinks were cold and service was spot on. Great place to relax and play trivia on Thursday

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As a frequent diner at BullRun, I can solidly recommend it's fine menu choices, excellent table service and friendly atmosphere. I am planning a dinner engagement consisting of 26 guests this month and I am confident they will enjoy the evening

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Hot Spot, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was very good, the music was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome ambiance

Tags: Disabled Access, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I was here many years ago for a company function. We just went back for a birthday celebration. It was awesome. Prime rib was excellent. Waitress was very good. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Fun, Authentic, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Live Music, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

we saw nick moss show!!great sound!!wicked blues!!dennis gruenling wicked harp!!sugar ray wiked vocals and harp!!one of the best shows i ever seen and heard!!thanks bull run daveb!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Enjoyed a special occasion with visiting daughter and friends for an amazing dinner for five. Ashley, our server, handled our group wonderfully and cheerfully. The new changes in the dinner menu are fantastic. The choices are very well distributed over a range of dinner preferences.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a great experience and the food was amazing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We went to celebrate our friend's birthday and it was wonderful!! The menu was great-I wanted to try everything! I think that we got a lot for what we paid too-highly recommended-I can't wait to go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The bar area has a lot of atmosphere and the round tables are perfect for a good conversation. The food is fresh and delicious and original enough without being too out there. The bread basket with corn muffins is one of the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesome service. Food was outstanding. It was Saturday night, so there was a jazz band playing in the same room. Created a great ambience, and yet not too loud for conversation. Highly recommended. But book ahead!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great atmosphere, live pianist, and song books in case you want to sing along! The bar area is comfortable and casual. We love it here!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great dining experience. I especially enjoyed the new menu choices and the chef recommendations. As always, the service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had dinner before seeing the David Bromberg Quintet. The service was very timely. The food was very tasty and very generous servings. The dining room very quickly filled and was quite boisterous! We easily had dinner and walked to the other room for the concert with no rush. We would happily eat at the Bull Run again.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great menu options with new additions. I enjoy the friendly welcoming atmosphere and the prompt table service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Casual, Live Music, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We met friends for dinner in the bar. The bar was crowded, a bit noisy, but definitely a fun hangout. Someone was playing the piano and the fire was blazing. The food was excellent. Comfort food options that were fresh and slightly different from the standard. I would highly recommend and we will be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bull Run is one of the few restaurants in the Groton / Ayer / Shirley area. The people who run it are always incredibly friendly and accommodating, and the food is always delicious. It has become a part of our family tradition in visiting our son at a nearby school.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, locally sourced meats and vegetables. Big fireplace, good people. Tons of great live music!

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fun, Live Music, Organic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went for the prime rib. We were not disappointed. Delicious. Unbeknownst to us it was Trivia night when we arrived. Was fun hearing the team competitions going on - did not participate (too busy eating the prime rib), but definitely learned some new trivia facts along the way. The noise level was definitely "energetic", but it fit well with the activities going on. A good number of people were having a good time. Would definitely recommend Bull Run to a friend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We absolutely loved this place. The food, the environment, the experience was all together awesome. It was the kind of place you want to go to with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Special Occasion was the John Davidson concert. The Bull Run was ideal in every aspect.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Prime rib was perfect. My wife said clam chowder was floury.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was top notch. Handled every question or request with courtesy and professionalism. Made us feel very welcome, and accommodated my 3 nieces (all under 4 years old) with coloring books, crayons, and special smiley face French fries, which they LOVED. They are well known for their Prime Rib, and it's a well deserved accolade. Portion sizes are huge, and feel like a great value for the money. Wine and drink selection were pretty extensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food ,nice menu,sure to please even the fussiest diner,excellent portions,service at times rather slow,but worth the wait

Prime rib best around

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was amazed at the level of service and the exceptional quality of the food for New Year's Eve!
The piano player was outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent, as always. New menu is great. Spent New Years Eve with some friends and had a great time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful dinner with siblings - once a year gathering for all of us to enjoy a meal together!! Bull Run Restaurant had a dinner menu that everyone could find something delicious to enjoy. Will come back to experience the live entertainment.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fireplace, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and loved the ambience for Christmas! The food was great, and service was fantastic. We always enjoy our time at the Bull Run and recommend it highly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is a very old restaurant - in operation in one way or another since the 1700's. The food is very good and they have many options. Overall it has a very nice ambiance. We enjoy going there because the food is good and it's local. They also have a very active concert schedule (which we have yet to take advantage of though we are later this week). They bring in many well known acts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice cozy tavern atmosphere and excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Bull Run always provides comfortable, friendly and efficient table service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The atmosphere was lovely, the mean great and generous portions. The piano singer got the crowd sings and the we have a fantastic time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great spot. But if you are with someone and want to talk, do not take a table where they are playing jazz. Way louder than I would have hoped for such a small place.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service and food was very good. Although there was only 1 server for the entire dining room. He could have used more help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Went to Bill Run for a staff appreciation lunch. Our group left with full bellies. Everyone enjoyed the food and service. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was delicious. Service was excellent. The place is a charming building with open fire place and rustic look. Will definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with excellent service and entertainment by Steven, the very talented piano man

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.