Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.59mi
  4. Distance: 1.88mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.59mi
  4. Distance: 1.88mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The AdmiralThe Admiral
(2494)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 41 times today
The Market Place RestaurantThe Market Place Restaurant
(1317)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 56 times today
Sunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park InnSunset Terrace - Omni Grove Park Inn
(1924)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 47 times today
Stable Cafe -Biltmore EstateStable Cafe -Biltmore Estate
(773)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 19 times today
The Bull and BeggarThe Bull and Beggar
(699)
$$$$
French | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 22 times today
Cucina 24Cucina 24
(1627)
$$$$
Italian | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 35 times today
Cedric's Tavern - Biltmore EstateCedric's Tavern - Biltmore Estate
(1090)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 43 times today
Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore EstateDeerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate
(1252)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 31 times today
Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel AshevilleRed Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville
(2062)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 27 times today
Local ProvisionsLocal Provisions
(299)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 22 times today
Limones RestaurantLimones Restaurant
(2151)
$$$$
Mexican | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 49 times today
Edison - Omni Grove Park InnEdison - Omni Grove Park Inn
(688)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 15 times today
TableTable
(1729)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 17 times today
The Dining Room - Biltmore EstateThe Dining Room - Biltmore Estate
(1376)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 33 times today
The JunctionThe Junction
(645)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 19 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.59mi
  4. Distance: 1.88mi
  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 1.59mi
  4. Distance: 1.88mi

About Buffalo Nickel

Buffalo Nickel in Asheville, North Carolina is proud to serve an array of American-style food in an atmosphere that is welcoming and never pretentious. The goal is to make everyone feel comfortable and to provide them with fantastic quality food.

Buffalo Nickel has a dinner menu with starters such as fried green tomatoes, calamari and pierogis. Some of the entr�e options include the Buffalo skirt steak, fried chicken, braised short rib and the pan seared rainbow trout. The eatery also has a tavern menu with items such as short rib poutine, smoked chicken wings, dry-aged cheeseburgers and short rib tacos. Buffalo Nickel has some tasty dessert choices including rustic apple tarts and Trinity cream.

747 Haywood Rd.
Asheville, NC 28806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Open 7 nights a Week 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Herron Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-2844

Website:
http://buffalonickelavl.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music every Thursday night and no cover charge. Join us!

Parking Details:
Street parking with large parking lot two blocks east.

Public Transit:
Asheville Regional Transit (ART) via W1 and W2 bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Kline

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact us for your special event. We can accommodate small or large groups.

Sort By:
S
102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 24, 2015

The food was good but not great. We were the only ones downstairs. There were a lot of people upstairs and while the service wasn't bad it was obvious that the attention was being place on the upstairs crowd. I wouldn't go back but would let others know that it is an OK place to eat. Just make sure you eat upstairs. That must be where the action is.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 21, 2015

Creative menu fairly well executed. Were there at 7 pm on a Thursday night and there were only a few tables occupied...not sure why that would have been. All was good...just not great. Will give it another try in a month or so.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 10, 2015

This was such wonderful location for Mother's Day Brunch. The menu had plenty of options, but was minimal enough that you didn't find yourself spending all your time staring at it, trying to choose. The service was fantastic, and FAST! The drinks were delicious. I would certainly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 10, 2015

We tried out Buffalo Nickel based on reviews we read. No complaints. Service was great, food was really unique and tasty. I had the BBQ Brisket with fried eggs, perfect breakfast. Our waiter was friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere was comfortable. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 10, 2015

On Mother's Day, I arrived at the Buffalo Nickle with what some would say a lot of baggage-- a clunky manual wheelchair, 2 very energetic toddlers and my friend, their equally energetic and kind mother. Service was lovely and streamlined, food was great esp, fancy French toast for the children and lovely roses for us moms. Will definitely bring my son here when he gets back from overseas

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 19, 2015

Buffalo Nickel was already a favorite for dinner, and now it is a great new option for brunch. We had a large group of 12 , and the staff was ready and waiting to accommodate. The food was excellent as always, and all of our party had a great time. I highly recommend this establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 17, 2015

WE have driven by the Buffalo Nickel many times and had it on our list. We are very happy we finally made it there. The dinner room on street level is nice a cozy with excellent staff (thanks Clu). We looked over the menu and liked the selection. For starters we got deviled eggs and their brussel sprouts. Wife is not a fan of brussel sprouts, but I had to make sure I got some after she had her first bite! Excellent start. The deviled eggs were good but definitely overshadowed. For a main dish, we ordered the pork chop and spaghetti carbonara. Both were plated nicely and tasted fantastic. The pork chop was perfectly cooked and complemented with an interesting sauce and a few small dollops mustard. The carbonara was an unexpected surprise. The perfectly cooked egg on top was the visual highlight, but it bought the dish together into a tasty meal. We definitely will be back to enjoy more of their selections as well as the bar upstairs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 14, 2015

Had a business dinner for a group of 9 upstairs by the bar. Food was great and everyone enjoyed the evening. Lots of action going on in the "fun room" which added to the vibe of the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 10, 2015

Four of us tried this one night. Liked the menu, had fabulous service, enjoyed our meal - good price range, although I thought the oysters were a bit spendy for what they were, but still a nice evening out. We especially enjoyed the small plates, lots of variety, local/unique choices. We ate upstairs, and it was VERY noisy by the time we finished, which put a damper on relaxing over coffee since conversation is too difficult. Maybe I'm getting too old, but I really wish restaurants would tone down all those hard surfaces that make the noise worse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2015

Nice place. Good service and interesting, unique food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2015

My wife, 9 month old son and I ate here yesterday and overallit was quute nice. For parking there are about 10 spot in a back lot, other tham that you have to find a spoy on the street or in a nearby lot.

We were seated immediately thanks to open table. I really liked ambiance of the restaurant. Refinished reclaimed wood floors with matching tables, about 15 different antique chandeliers for lighting, and antique photos and decorations give it a great vibe.

The staff was very nice and accommodating to my cranky son. Everyone stop to talk to him, they played and even brought him a plate of chopped fruit for no charge.

I ordered a Catawba White Zombie beer and water to drink and my wife had water while we looked over the menu. The menu was small yet had good variety. They had some very interesting starter and we ended up with the Border Springs Lamb Meatballs which were very yummy! since my wife and I both love a good burger we both decided to try the Apple Brandy Farm Burger. Although it wasnt the best Id ever had.... It was handmade, cooked to order, and very juicy, which in my book makes it better than most. All in all it was very good. We both had fries for our side, but I got mine "California style" which was awesome. For dessert we shared the Banana Chocolate Chunk Cake which was also really good with caramelized bananas and candied bacon! But for the portion I thought it was a little pricey at $6.

All in all we really enjoyed this restaurant and definitely plan on going back to try some more menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2015

Well above average pub fare. Good place to meet friends during March Madness

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2015

My dad was in town for his birthday and we wanted to try some place we hadn't been. Buffalo Nickel was a great choice. We started with the artisan cheese plate, and the Buffalo Nickel cocktail. The presentation of both was excellent. For dinner my dad had the pork chop which was great. I had the tenderloin and my 10 year old tried the lamb meatballs. There is a more kid friendly menu available, but she's adventurous. Everything from appetizer to dessert was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 6, 2015

We were seated upstairs (party of 6) and I knew there were pool tables--I was afraid it might be too loud. Turns out the pool tables were separate from the bar and dining. The room was loud enough for a good vibe but still easy for the 6 of us (older people!) to talk with each other. But the food! Fantastic! I had the roast chicken breast--I've read reviews that this dish was under flavored and I have no idea where that came from. It was delicious. There were at least 2sauces swirled on the plate with wonderful favors that the chicken could be dipped in. And the best collards I've had in a long time! (And I'm a southern gal) one friend had the burger....excellently cooked to her specification and too large for her to finish. Another foodie friend had the pork chop and reported it to be excellent . Think thick. My husband had the tilefish that came with littleneck clams. I usually grab a bite of his dish, but unfortunately was sitting down the table from him much to my regret. He, too, thought he had a great dish. The only dish reported to be so-so was the chicken pot pie. (Others have reported this also) Not that it was bad, it was reported to be bland and not an outstanding dish. Especially when we were all raving about ours. Our service was excellent, especially for a Friday night. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Booked this restaurant for our recent weekend visit to Asheville based on its reviews, but mainly due to constraints in reservation times for Valentine's day. Asheville is such a competitive restaurant market with so many well rated places. I did not know this was just a year old establishment and our inkeeper at our B&B did not know much about it. Menu looked great online, so the choice was made.
Before I rate the food, I'd like to give kudos first to our waiter, Nick, who made the evening perfect (the overall service was great as well). As a good home cook myself, I am a believer that what a restaurant should offer first and foremost, is great service and not just god food or prices. So, if you take my advice and visit, just ask for Nick's section and sit back and enjoy the great food.
We had the oysters and the cheese platter. No complaints there...great taste, size and price. My wife had the beed tenderloin and I had the suckling pig confit. Outstanding in flavor and preparation. Finished things off with some great deserts. Good casual atmoshere, rustic/bar like...unpretentious.
My wife was eyeing the burgers while waiting to be seated, so we are definitely going back on our next visit. Highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2015

We had a wonderful Valentine's Day meal. That evening was by reservation only, and we booked about one month ahead. The table was ready the moment we arrived; we could tell the staff were well prepared for a busy night. I loved the low lighting and the view from the 2nd floor. The food was excellent, especially those decadent pirogues! It was a tad pricey, but not surprisingly so.
We're looking forward to going back on a regular night & trying something new.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2015

We had the dining area to ourselves which was perfect for our large group. The food was good, especially the short ribs which were tasty and well prepared. It was an enjoyable evening with two minor quibbles. We were well taken care of until late in the evening when the waitstaff disappeared and because we were at the back of the restaurant there was a steady flow of people coming in from the parking lot which meant a blast of cold air for those of us seated near the door. Other than that we had a good time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2015

This place is a gem. If you like specialty cocktails, warm delicious comfort food made creatively, but in a way that you can't believe you have never had it like that before, and some of the nicest people working in the business, then this is your place. Had the chicken pot pie, amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 17, 2015

The ambiance is "chill" and there are great culinary creations, & fantastic drinks. The bourbon cocktail was amazing, and I'm not usually a bourbon fan. The server, Karr, was interesting and on-point. There is even a pool area set around the corner so it doesn't interfere with the dining ambiance. Overall, super cool for all ages and types of people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 16, 2015

We had dinner at Buffalo Nickel on a cold January Friday. We asked to be seated downstairs, rather than upstairs in the larger bar and game room, and we were able to get a larger four-top, even though there were just two of us, rather than the rather small two-top tables. Having reservations through Open Table, we were seated promptly. The place was hopping, with a nice West Asheville buzz.

The owner, who I understand has owned this property for a couple of decades, has done a good job of renovation, refinishing the original wood floors and adding wood waincoating from another old building. The downstairs room is a long rectangle, with a single row of tables along each side.

Upstairs, up some rather steep stairs, is a large bar area as you enter the room and then beyond that a game room with pool tables and other games. I noticed that, for a bar, the upstairs gets quite a few families with small kids. Maybe they like the games. Also, a lot of regulars seem to head directly upstairs for a drink or maybe a bar snack.

We started with drinks. My vodka martini ($8 with well vodka) was as ordered, up, dry and cold and with both olives and an onion. It was a little smaller than the typical martini, but it was good. My wife had the Vieux Carré, at $12 the most expensive cocktail on the menu, and also the Buffalo Nickel specialty drink, $9. I switched to a draft stout ($4.75) from Maine. Buffalo Nickel has about 18 craft beers on draft, some local and some from around the country. I had the deviled egg appetizer ($4) with four half eggs, very tasty.

For mains, I had the burger with fries ($12) -- an unscientific sampling suggested about one-half the customers got the burger, which indeed was very good, filling and one of the cheapest items on the menu. My wife's short ribs ($19) were okay. The menu is rather short and perhaps could do with some expansion or at least a regular rotation.

Service was excellent. We parked in the Grace church lot, two short blocks away.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2014

I would definitely return to try more food. Delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 28, 2014

A fine dining experience. I LOVED the craft cocktail called "Fig and Ferry."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 28, 2014

This was our first time visiting Buffalo Nickel. We were in Asheville visiting family and I found this restaurant while searching for a great, comfortable place to eat that featured seasonal items on the menu. We had a GREAT experience! I am one of "those" people who always has to substitute/change items and it was no problem at all. Everyone was pleased, if not thrilled, with their choices. The service was wonderful, even when my husband's steak came back a little undercooked ( he likes filet more well done than usual)- they took care of it immediately, apologized, and brought him free dessert to boot! The wine list is very nice, and the crafted cocktails were tempting. :)

We will definitely return the next time we visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2014

Great atmosphere in this newly remodeled building. We were there for Thanksgiving dinner and they served it up nicely. Great way to wrap up a trip to the Biltmore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2014

Four of us Asheville residents dined on a Thursday night in Nov - for the first time. We expected a pub atmosphere, unaware that the pub area is up the stairs located at the front of the nice, small restaurant on the first floor! Our reservation placed us at a table in the restaurant, which was fine...we just switched gears and looked forward to the more formal goodies to come from the busy open kichen. We were pleased - our small plates and entrees were very good, as was the service. Too full to try dessert. We will return...to the dining room and to try the upstairs, as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 9, 2014

We had a great server with great recommendations. We had drinks before dinner that the server described with such enthusiasm and tasted so good that we decided to go with his recommendation for an appetizer too. (Chicken Liver Mousse, Bourbon Gelee, Cherry Mustard, Compressed Apple Pickles, Toast) We followed his direction right through dessert. (perfectly sweetened apple pie). We would definitely go back.
The interior is lit with all sorts of vintage and antique chandeliers, what fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 8, 2014

The food was absolutely delicious. All four of us ordered something different and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals: Trout, Gnocchi, Peirogi, Chicken Pot Pie and the Burger. Not only were the meals delicious but they were reasonably priced as well. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 7, 2014

I have been to Buffalo Nickle three times and the first time was right after it opened. Needless to say the early reviews were adequate at best. Second time it was much better and this last time was very good. There are a few great things as a constant on the menu while other things seem to be hit or miss. I don't generally order chicken at a nice restaurant but their chicken breast is cooked perfectly with crunchy skin and wonderful blended sides. The butternut squash puree went surprisingly well with the tender chicken. My date had the Lamb chop which was also very good with nice sides. The best dish could be their kale salad which has a wonderful dressing but it needs more dressing to offset the toughness of the kale..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 3, 2014

Innovative southern and vegetarian cuisine. Enjoy dining here with friends and neighbors.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 1, 2014

I made a reservation knowing nothing about this restaurant and we were all "Wow!!" when we walked in the door. Then the hostess took us up a flight of stairs to a pool room and pub scene, that was loud and nothing like the quieter, more cozy setting downstairs. Fortunately she happily responded to my disappointment, and took us back downstairs to a table for two. The food was quite good. We had the butternut squash soup for an appetizer and chicken breast and brined pork chop for entrée. Everything was delicious but the portions were small! My BF had to order a plate of French fries to fill in the hunger gap. Not recommend for those with a hearty appetite unless you order extra side dishes. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2014

Interesting menu. Great food quality. Had chicken pot pie Husband had chicken breast

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 25, 2014

My wife and I went here for a casual anniversary dinner. Everything we ordered was incredible. We really enjoyed the unusual pairings of flavors and ingredients. A sampling of the appetizers is a must. They are not very large, but they are not very expensive either. I am slightly embarrassed to say that we ordered 5! Drinks were good also. Good beer selection for me with lots of local NC options. The wife ordered the Fig & Ferry cocktail and she can't stop talking about it. We will definitely go back on future trips to Ashville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 22, 2014

Always looking for new restaurants w vegan options. Was not disappointed at all. The best brussell sprouts and butternut squash soup served here. Husband had pork chop and he was very happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2014

B N is a great spot. Hopping with families- apparently Tuesdays are free night for kids. Our waitress was adorable, but way busy. She was hung up with a manager at the cash register for more than a couple of minutes. My wine never came, which gave me the opportunity to ask for one of B N's special cocktails. It's worth the trip for their special cocktails and deviled eggs. I'll return on a different night next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 18, 2014

I was there on a Saturday night with friends; It was hoppin'. I liked the food and atmosphere so much I returned on Sunday with my husband. Had the brussels sprouts appetizer both times - really exceptional. The crowd was quieter, but the food was just as good; I have to say that the service was much better on Sunday night. Also, they kept beers listed on their chalkboard that they told us they were out of. I heard others come in after us and ask for the same beer, and just seemed odd they didn't erase it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 17, 2014

It's a beautiful quant setting with very rich decor. The various chandeliers are a very unique touch. We enjoyed the atmosphere and delicious food but the portions were way too small. We left unsatisfied. We were there during the height of the dinner crowd and they had already ran out of 2 of the most appealing dishes leaving us to chose from 4 remaining, one being vegetarian.
My wife and I settled on something we were neither anticipating to eat. She had the chicken pot pie, which had great flavor but was more like a soup with a breaded cover and was a very small portion. I had the fish and it was delicious but again, half the portion you would expect for dinner. More importantly, for money spent it was a very disappointing experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 17, 2014

We had a great meal. My husband had the deviled eggs and monkfish. I had two appetizers: brussels sprouts and gnocchi. Our son had butternut squash soup and the burger. Everything was well prepared, well presented and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 17, 2014

Food & fall menu is spot on and good, some items seemed to be pre made ready to warm & serve came out too quickly, other notes: pot pie was delicious! great beer & wine list, a few things needed better presentation on plate, as items are delicious but looked dull on plate.
No.1 area to improve: lighting for dinner way too bright. Candles on table nice but the overhead chandeliers need to be dimmed. Looks too much like a diner for a great food place that it is.
Pool tables and stuff upstairs super fun! Great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 11, 2014

In Asheville for a fall weekend and we reserved a table at Buffalo Nickel via Open table on a whim. OMG! What an awesome resturant! We tried the oysters on the half shell, best we ever had! We also had the deviled eggs appetizer as well as the pan fried pierogi's both are definitely recommended. We had the chicken potpie with the tender flaky crust and the ribeye with duck confit and fingerling potatoes. For dessert we had the creamy cheesecake and the apple pie. The apple pie was warm with a light flaky crust and caramel sauce and the BEST homemade vanilla ice cream ever! It was SO delicious I wish I had another slice right now! The cheesecake was worth hiking for 2 miles the next day!
Our server, Danny was great! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 27, 2014

Saw a review of Buffalo Nickel and decided to try it. Great experience! As some reviewers had said, parking was a bit of challenge, but not bad if you don't mind a little walk. We were courteously greeted and liked the small and intimate atmosphere. Our server was very good. Felt the menu was perhaps slightly limited but each person in our group enjoyed his or her meal. Our guest had the pork chop which he said was outstanding. My husband ordered the grouper which he also loved. i decided to make two starters my meal--- had the pirogi which were a specialty of the chef and the kielbasa. All were delicious. Will try something else next visit. Good find to add to our list of Asheville restaurants to revisit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.