HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Buffalo Nickel

4.2
102 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (132)
  • Fit for Foodies (125)
  • Good for Groups (71)

Similar Restaurants

About

Buffalo Nickel in Asheville, North Carolina is proud to serve an array of American-style food in an atmosphere that is welcoming and never pretentious. The goal is to make everyone feel comfortable and to provide them with fantastic quality food.

Buffalo Nickel has a dinner menu with starters such as fried green tomatoes, calamari and pierogis. Some of the entr�e options include the Buffalo skirt steak, fried chicken, braised short rib and the pan seared rainbow trout. The eatery also has a tavern menu with items such as short rib poutine, smoked chicken wings, dry-aged cheeseburgers and short rib tacos. Buffalo Nickel has some tasty dessert choices including rustic apple tarts and Trinity cream.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Open 7 nights a Week 5:00pm - Midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 575-2844
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: Herron Ave.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 102 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2
  based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
1.0
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
rleenels (Milwaukee)
3.0
Dined on May 24, 2015

The food was good but not great. We were the only ones downstairs. There were a lot of people upstairs and while the service wasn't bad it was obvious that the attention was being place on the upstairs crowd. I wouldn't go back but would let others know that it is an OK place to eat. Just make sure you eat upstairs. That must be where the action is.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Western NC)
3.0
Dined on May 21, 2015

Creative menu fairly well executed. Were there at 7 pm on a Thursday night and there were only a few tables occupied...not sure why that would have been. All was good...just not great. Will give it another try in a month or so.

Report
Helpful
betty (Western NC)
5.0
Dined on May 10, 2015

This was such wonderful location for Mother's Day Brunch. The menu had plenty of options, but was minimal enough that you didn't find yourself spending all your time staring at it, trying to choose. The service was fantastic, and FAST! The drinks were delicious. I would certainly recommend.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Western NC)
5.0
Dined on May 10, 2015

We tried out Buffalo Nickel based on reviews we read. No complaints. Service was great, food was really unique and tasty. I had the BBQ Brisket with fried eggs, perfect breakfast. Our waiter was friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere was comfortable. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
Sunflower (Western NC)
5.0
Dined on May 10, 2015

On Mother's Day, I arrived at the Buffalo Nickle with what some would say a lot of baggage-- a clunky manual wheelchair, 2 very energetic toddlers and my friend, their equally energetic and kind mother. Service was lovely and streamlined, food was great esp, fancy French toast for the children and lovely roses for us moms. Will definitely bring my son here when he gets back from overseas

Report
Helpful
vipLauraC (Western NC)
5.0
Dined on April 19, 2015

Buffalo Nickel was already a favorite for dinner, and now it is a great new option for brunch. We had a large group of 12 , and the staff was ready and waiting to accommodate. The food was excellent as always, and all of our party had a great time. I highly recommend this establishment.

Report
Helpful
LisaD (Western NC)
5.0
Dined on April 17, 2015

WE have driven by the Buffalo Nickel many times and had it on our list. We are very happy we finally made it there. The dinner room on street level is nice a cozy with excellent staff (thanks Clu). We looked over the menu and liked the selection. For starters we got deviled eggs and their brussel sprouts. Wife is not a fan of brussel sprouts, but I had to make sure I got some after she had her first bite! Excellent start. The deviled eggs were good but definitely overshadowed. For a main dish, we ordered the pork chop and spaghetti carbonara. Both were plated nicely and tasted fantastic. The pork chop was perfectly cooked and complemented with an interesting sauce and a few small dollops mustard. The carbonara was an unexpected surprise. The perfectly cooked egg on top was the visual highlight, but it bought the dish together into a tasty meal. We definitely will be back to enjoy more of their selections as well as the bar upstairs.

Report
Helpful
Packerbacker (Western NC)
5.0
Dined on April 14, 2015

Had a business dinner for a group of 9 upstairs by the bar. Food was great and everyone enjoyed the evening. Lots of action going on in the "fun room" which added to the vibe of the place.

Report
Helpful
snowqueen (Western NC)
4.0
Dined on April 10, 2015

Four of us tried this one night. Liked the menu, had fabulous service, enjoyed our meal - good price range, although I thought the oysters were a bit spendy for what they were, but still a nice evening out. We especially enjoyed the small plates, lots of variety, local/unique choices. We ate upstairs, and it was VERY noisy by the time we finished, which put a damper on relaxing over coffee since conversation is too difficult. Maybe I'm getting too old, but I really wish restaurants would tone down all those hard surfaces that make the noise worse!

Report
Helpful
Russ (Charleston)
5.0
Dined on April 2, 2015

Nice place. Good service and interesting, unique food.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Open 7 nights a Week 5:00pm - Midnight
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Herron Ave.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 575-2844
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music every Thursday night and no cover charge. Join us!
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking with large parking lot two blocks east.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Asheville Regional Transit (ART) via W1 and W2 bus lines.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ryan Kline
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Contact us for your special event. We can accommodate small or large groups.