About Buca di Beppo - San Francisco

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

855 Howard St.
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th & 5th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 543-7673

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Parking garages available nearby at 5th & Mission, 5th & Howard and 5th & Folsom; no validation available

Public Transit:
BART Powell St. station

Executive Chef:
Abel Cuevas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Romantic (1)
Historic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Cozy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1922 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We especially love our waitress, she was very nice and accommodating. We just forgot to get her name tho.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We paid $21.99 for a tiny plate of frozen calamari. What a rip off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall, we had a good experience. The food was great and the service was great. Unfortunately, we showed up 20 minutes early for our reservation and were told we would have to wait due to overbooking. The wait didn't bother us so much but when we were seated we got table that felt like we were in a dungeon. The air conditioning didn't reach the room that we were in, so durin GBP dinner we were extremely warm. The service and food did make up for a lot though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The is the first time in years (over 10) since I've been to a Buca di Beppo. The reason I stopped going is because the food hadn't been good the last few times I ate there. We had a large party from work and picked Buca di Beppo because it could accommodate our party easily. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of food. OK, it isn't your gourmet Italian food but for a chain restaurant serving large portions family style, the food was great! Service was awesome! We spent a pleasant afternoon there.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Our waiter was nice, however he had no support and the service was extremely slow (so slow, I had to get extra wine glasses from the bar!). The portions are plentiful, but the food is just ok. Search for better Italian places before settling on dining here.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our table was in a room with a low ceiling. It made the dining experience claustrophobic. The bathroom was dirty. The food seems expensive for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I usually order the salmon entrée. The food is consistently delicious.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our waiter today was very friendly and enjoyed talking with him :) i hope he's our waiter again next time :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Made a reservation for 6pm and we were early. They were able to seat us within five minutes. The salad and spaghetti were good. The pepperoni pizza was way too greasy. I will pass on that in the future. Service was attentive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very well set up for a 21st birthday party. Sebastian, our waiter, was exceptional and kept his sense of humor with a group of 8 giggling girls. We had a great time! Bellinis were the Bomb!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food but the service was not very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We a,ways enjoy Bucca de Beppo. We absolutely love the chicken stuffed with prosciutto and cheese with a creamy pesto sauce - the absolute best. That and tha Apple Gorgonzola salad - what a feast. A little on the pricey side, and you have to like eating family style.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great place for our team to come to dinner, we had 13 and they had space and the food was great! Family style so easy to share.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were a group of 14 people attending the RSA Conference. The drinks and even water for the table took between 20 and 40 minutes (not all drinks came at the same time). Appetizers and main course took 45 mins to over 1 hr respectively, after placing the orders. I even had to get up to get spoons as we did not have silverware after the tiramisu was delivered to the table. Our waitress did all she could, but the restaurant was clearly understaffed and/or there was a huge back-up in the kitchen and at the bar. Net result: The worst group dining experience in recent memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The server could have provided guidance on our ordering. We basically over ordered not knowing the portion we were getting.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food is family style. Consistently fresh and good. There are usually coupons in the Sunday newspaper so who doesn't want to save a few $.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good pasta to share. The mussels were excellent!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was so much fun! Just a spur of the moment night out with the girls.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Took a little long to get service after seated.
My spicy rigatoni felt a little bland. Lack of spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Generous portions of tasty pastas. Our group ordered several large plates, but the Spicy Chicken Rigatoni & the Apple Gorgonzola Salad are what stood out most.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great night Great service right when we walked in and told them my name we was seated ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We came on a busy Saturday. A lot of waiting period. 20 minutes wait for us to be seated. And another 20-30 minutes before our food was served.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Portions are good for sharing. They serve them family style. Food tastes good.

Service is usually mediocre. I wasn't offered any bread nor did the waiter check to see if I needed anything else.

Overall I rated it Very Good because the food was good. I'm simple so I didn't really need anything else so I can overlook the fact that the waiter never checked back with me to see if I needed anything.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had 8 people celebrating a birthday. The lady from the bar started to take our order then appeared to be upset from her facial expression. She was a replaced by a male waiter who was great. The lady behind the bar should not have any public contact because we could read her feelings like a book. We did nothing to upset her.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went for the First time very good enjoyed my birthday

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I was commenting to my friend with whom I was dining that it is hard for an Italian restaurant to serve authentic Italian food due to the different regions and the influence of Italian-American variations. We agreed to share a pasta dish that was made with several ingredients with pasta called "cavatelli". However, when it was brought to us, the pasta that was used was not cavatelli but "fusilli rigati". I didn't want to send it back and my friend would have seen it as a minor detail so I said nothing.
The dish was very good but I think that the pasta selection should have been accurate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This location is across the street from the Intercontinental Hotel on Howard St. Always good food especially on a cold winter/fall San Francisco evening.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere. Expensive, but well worth it. Only complaint was we were forgotten for about 10 mins until i flagged someone down to serve us. The hostess also seemed extremely tired of dealing with people that night, being very short with customers. However, can't blame her or the waiter. Was a very busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Bucca used to be a favorite spot for family dining BUT times have changed. The food is okay, just okay, nothing special and definitely no longer worth the high prices. Our table ordered the small spaghetti and meatballs (the entire reason for the trip) and were terribly disappointed. The sauce was runny and did not have a lot of flavor. The sauce wasn't bland it was just nothing special. The meatballs!! Now those were BLAND! There was very little seasoning in the meatballs; for that matter, very little seasoning in the whole dish. One part that made no sense to me, why are there 2 meatballs on the small portion but only 3 on the large portion (priced at $42.99)???? On the other hand, the cocktails (Sparkling Solerno) which is a new cocktail, was absolutely delicious and the Cheesy Florentine Bread was perfection!!! Side note: if you order the Sparkling Solerno make sure the bartender cuts the syrupy sweetness with a little Club Soda. It's not part of the drink but our bartender (an absolute doll) made this change for us and it made our cocktails wonderful! Overall, I was disappointed with a place that used to be one of my favorites. Bucca - you need a lot of work in the kitchen!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

$48 for a large bowl of mediocre sugary pasta. $240 for a group of 4 adults and 4 kids and we didn't get a lot of food. Totally overpriced. Cheesy attempt to sell you pictures only adds to the feeling of a tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The decor and atmosphere is as kitschy as it gets. Red check vinyl table cloths, vintage pictures of celebs that I doubt many have even stepped foot in the place and old 50's & 60's music. For the price I expect better than plastic water cups & cutlery wrapped in paper napkins. The menu with pictures of the meals kind of says it all and had we not been really limited in places to eat for Christmas dinner we may have just run out of the place.

Overall the food was acceptable and we thought the calamari and chicken saltimboca were good. The stuffed mushrooms were much too rich for our liking. Their house white wine was not bad. Only outdated American Italian restaurants have veal parmigiana on the menu and this restaurant and menu badly needs an overhaul.

As far as value for money I would say the price tag was a little rich! It is one of those places where they mistake quality for quantity as noted with the big doggy bag sacks people are taking home.

Considering it was Christmas, the service was good and the wait staff were friendly.

Would we go back? Absolutely not! However, the place was jammed so obviously there are people out there that go for what the Buck di Beppo offers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

First, we were made to wait for over 20 minutes with a reservation. Then we were told that the computer indicated our entire party was not yet present, even though all three Of is presented to the podium upon arrival.

Once seated, service was poor. Table was dirty when we were seated and there was no salt and pepper on the table. We were told there was no calamari left, yet the tables seated after us received large calamari appetizers. The salad arrived while we were still waiting for the wine. Bread was not brought until multiple requests were made.

After the meal, rather than the server offering to box the leftovers, boxes were broth to the table with no bag. Multiple requests for a bag were made.

Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Perfect destination with family on Christmas. Food hearty, filling, and tasty -- good for group of picky eaters. Server was incredibly sweet and checked on us often. Pleasant experience! Thanks!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They always overbook making us wait for a long while even if we reserve way in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had dinner on Christmas eve. Our waiter was very distracted and un-attentive. It took him over 30 minutes to even acknowledge our presence but was enjoying taking pictures with a group at another table. He ordered our salad and appetizer but forgot to put in the order for the rest of the food as it took over 45 minutes after the salad was served and came only after we got up and found another service person to go check on it. The food was mixed, the veal was tough and overcooked but the pasta made to order was very good. As the prices at this restaurant go up, the quality of service and food also needs to be elevated for us to consider returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Opted for a late lunch following the SF Nutcracker performance. Myself and my daughter arrived an hour early for our reservation and were seated within 5 minutes. We had tons of food leftover given this food was family style, but was fun nonetheless and since I didn't know of any other Italian establishments in the area it worked, but did come at a price tag of $100 for two people. Wouldn't visit again due to the portion sizes and being a single mother.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The wait staff were very accommodating to our boisterous group. Food was great and the waitress kept our wine glasses full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As a party of 5 we were seated in a room with a large party of 30 ish people and the kids were running wild without adults caring. It was hard to hear at our table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Not as good as the time before.
Food was only ok. Very crowded as usual - glad we had reservations.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was a lot of fun. Great place, right near union square if you want to get out and see the city before or after the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.