Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Buca di Beppo - San Diego

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

705 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7272

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Valet service Friday and Saturday- $20.00 ($15 with validation)

Paid street, metered parking. Street parking is free after 6pm.

Public parking at Horton Plaza: free before 9pm with validation.

Paid public parking (Park It on Market, located on Market & 6th Street)

Public Transit:
San Diego Trolley - Orange Line or Red Line - Gaslamp Quarter stop.

San Diego Metro transit - bus stop at Market & 6th.

Executive Chef:
Domingo Ramos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (8)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
See All
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Historic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My first time at Bucca di Beppo and I enjoyed the ambiance and all those photos. Delicious food!

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Celebrated mothers day!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was awesome as usual but service not so much. I'm not sure if it was because it was late or the amount of people but our waitress kept forgetting our drink orders

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We came here with my family after my daughter's baptism. The family style servings were perfect for us. Everything tasted very good. The service was great for our large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We left before we even ordered. Terrible ambiance. The head of the pope was in a plastic see through box on one of the tables. Not joking. Don't go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Everything was outstanding with exception of the room temperature which was cold.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Very poor food

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excelent service, excelent food. Great for family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was hot in there. But it was busy. Very good place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place to accommodate a party of 19 people without a problem. Family size plates, we ordered 6 different dishes and had food left over. A little on the pricey side, but food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a wonderful time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, People Watching, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our poor server was on her second day of work...it was Valentine's Day...we were there for 2 hours and it wasn't any busier than any other visit. I feel bad for the waitress, the manager came around to EVERY table in our area (there were only 6) and never stopped at ours. We were so exhausted by the end of our meal; it was ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was great from beginning to end. Moment we got to our table til we left, it was worth coming to da restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good food, good service. Much enjoyed at a great price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

All around great place no matter what the occasion. This used to be a local stop for us, till we moved away...but while we where in town we knew we had drop in for some great food and fun! Thanks as always.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Business meeting

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food and server was outstanding. Sure wish the lobby is more polite recently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It's just too pricey for Italian food. The drinks and dessert are overpriced. $10 each for a glass of Chianti and for the cannoli dessert.

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always have a great time at Buca Di Beppo. It was the best place to spend New Year's Day with family and friends, their service it's outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A good time was had by all. Good for seniors and young kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Horrible! Loud and crowded. Wait is ridiculous...even with a reservation. Food is over priced. Go elsewhere.

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This place is AWESOME!!! Never disappointed. My family was visiting from NJ, and now they wish to eat here every visit in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our first time ever having our Christmas dinner outside our home. It was WONDERFUL! Our server, Jeremy, could not have been more pleasant and helpful. A few things to make you aware of:
1) One of our glasses of water had a large chip at the top rim
2) One of our plates was dirty with food (dishwasher must have missed it all)
3) The Saltimbocca chicken was extremely dry.
Other than those things everything else was PERFECT.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful place to dine on Christmas Eve! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The ambience was perfect for my Italian father's 85th birthday at the Pope's Table. We sat 15 adults and had an amazing time. The food was great and the staff was exceptionally accommodating making the whole evening memorable for our family. Your order family style and we had more than enough food for all of us.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Private Room, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Celebration of sister's birthday

food company and ambience awesome!!!!

thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Both food and service were great. Watch what you order because it is a ton of food. Ordered 3 dishes and a salad for four people and we took a about a 3rd of everything (except the salad) home. Everything was very tasty and served hot. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The service was good, but the problem was that the offer some pictures for free (complementary). When we ask if they would be a cost for the pictures they say no. But at the end, the where mad because they took several pictures and our group didn’t by any picture.

It’s better to clarify this to the customers before taking the pictures and offering the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 30, 2016

celebrating my husband's bday was nice there especially since it was our first time. our waitress was very helpful to help me decide what to order. parking was only around $2 since we parked next to a meter & during weekday lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Family of 5. Thanksgiving dinner was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Been to Buca's all over and this was a return visit in San Diego. For a Saturday, we seemed to pick a good time as we were seated quickly. Server was enthusiastic, friendly, and accommodating. For example, when we got our broccoli, we didn't realize it had chili flakes on it. I asked if they could redo and he said, "no problem," and I considered this my mistake. The food was too much as usual, but we split a bunch of things between 2 adults and 2 kids. You always get enough food. Server was attentive even though he had a big party of 20 next to us. I'm sure experiences will be mixed given you may not always get a good server and may not hit a night where it's not too busy.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Services was slow (we waited over ten minutes to be greeted at our table), bad (our waiter never introduced himself, apologized for the lack of attention or late food), and the food was late (we waited over a half hour for a chopped salad (we made the commitment to walk out and go somewhere else but at the last second the salad arrived) and then another 25 minutes for our entree). The food was okay. The chopped salad they can't screw up, the pasta dish was alright, but the cheese bread was bad. It was over baked and not enough cheese.

To the restaurants credit they comped our salad and the bread. And I would normally take some blame for arriving after 7 on a Saturday, but it didn't appear that the restaurant was that busy. For instance, when we entered there were four girls chatting at the hostess stand. And there were empty table around us.

The reality is I like the food, but this experience left a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Good food, Good Ambience , Portions can only be ordered in 2 family sizes M and L which is not good if you want to try to multiple items. Service was slow. Overall experience was OK.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good place for families

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We held our daughter's 18th birthday party at Buca. We had 14 people and they seated us in their large back room. It was very loud since most of the room was filled. We could barely hear our server or each other. I don't blame the restaurant since the very large group next to us was beyond loud and yelling at times. Once they left it was awesome! We had a set menu and the food was very good. The atmosphere was fun and you could literally look at their walls for hours if your were bored. They have a strolling photographer who took some fantastic photos of our group, which we purchased. Overall everyone had a really good time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was great from service to food. My only concern was that the Penne ala Vodka came out really really spicy, but they made a second batch that came out perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Cozy, Comfort Food, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Made reservation through open table for 7pm on a Wednesday (7/27/16) - arrived a few minutes early and were seated right away - party of 4. Restaurant was NOT busy. We were given menus by the hostess and waited more than 15 minutes for our server Chase to actually come to the table. We ordered drinks and an appetizer right away and waited. After another 15 minutes go by he appears with glasses of water. He indicated the drinks would be up shortly and asked if we wanted bread, we said yes. During this time two other parties arrived and were seated near by. Drinks finally arrive - we ordered our entrees still no bread. 52 minutes later I chased down our server Chase and said where the app? I asked to speak to the manager. The manager brought the app to the table and explained the delay on the fact that it took longer for certain foods to come out of the kitchen when I pointed out one of the recently seated diners had gotten drinks salad and a pizza delivered to their table and our app which consisted of fried calamari, mozzarella, and stuffed mushrooms had yet to arrive. The manager leaves and we dig in on the app. It was cold the serving plate itself was cold to the touch except for the marinara sauce which was in a separate container. The calamari was way over done and truly some of the worst I've ever had in a city known for serving decent seafood. Drinks were getting empty by then and no server to be seen after waiting another 10-15 minutes. We got up and left. As I said previously the restaurant was not busy there were open tables everywhere. I spoke with the manager on the way out to settle for the drinks and the horrible app we had received and she was most apologetic. She comped the "meal" and never gave a reasonable explanation of why the service was so poor. We were in the building from 6:45 -8:30 and only received the drinks and app in that time. We walked to the HardRock cafe a few blocks away and had a proper meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was a busy night due to comic con but they had run out of large plates and that pretty much put our entire dinner off schedule. Slow to bring drinks. Salad came after food and with no plates. Not enough sauce with spaghetti and meatballs. Bianca pizza was cheesy garlicky and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Reservation time spot on. Busy place before awesome Billy Joel concert ;) great food , excellent service, overall best bang & value . Hats off to kitchen staff. Chianti bottle on table ready to cork, nice touch & good quality for self proclaimed Chardonay wine snob.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.