Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About Buca di Beppo - Sacramento

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

1249 Howe Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hurley Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 922-6673

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free on-site self parking.

Public Transit:
Regional Bus Transit - Howe Avenue Stop

Executive Chef:
Jeff Mitchell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Fun (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Romantic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Cozy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had a great time celebrating a family graduation. Our wait staff was very helpful, friendly, and attentive, and the food was great. Thank you!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Birthday!

Service (hostesses) were slow and not that pleasant.
Server (table) was great...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great family style Italian dining with amazing food and awesome staff that are always very friendly and trying to make your visit something to be remembered. It's a little pricey but the bigger the group the better the value.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was awesome we had veal parmesan and their meat lasagna. Waitress was super nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Sacramento. The food is consistently delicious and I can always count on stellar service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food and our server Amber was the best. Very special Easter meal for our family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Outstanding service and great food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The food has become extremely overpriced for what they offer. The Sangria Carraffe was $25 with no fruit pieces. Just cheap table wine and fruit juice with too much ice.

I got the wool pulled over my eyes because the previous server switched gift cards on me and when I tried to use it, it had a zero balance. "Always double check the balance and trust no one"

Probably the last time I will ever go to Bucca, it's just not worth it. I mean Olive Garden is better and this is Olive Garden we are talking about.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always fun! Service is great and be sure your hungry on arrival! Huge portions and fun ambiance!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a great place to enjoy family style Italian food. Great atmosphere and great happy service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Our waiter was scattered brained and very inattentive. One of the pasta dishes we ordered had a piece of hair in it and it was quickly replaced. They were out of the birthday cake that night, they ran out of bread, and lasagna. Our waiter charged us for 2 more teas than we ordered and kindly removed them when we inquired about it. When we were leaving he asked if he could run a credit card for us and we reminded him that, he had already brought us the corrected bill. We had already signed and paid. He also failed to apply the coupon as part of my birthday special that emailed to me. Our entire experience was awful, which was not a very happy birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Felt too much like a chain. Sat inside the restaurant with no windows, claustrophobic. Generic pasta in way too large sizes for a family of four. Okay for a fancy buffet-like experience but we prefer our Italian food more delicate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Perfect for large family gathering!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were disappointed that they had a run out of the veal parmigiana... and we were told this after our appetizer.. so then we had to choose another entree.. we gave in to the chicken parmigiana to come out though... it was good, but our wait was long, our sangria took forever too 😐.. we were just a tad disappointed 😔

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for our Vday date with hubby, the waiter was super nice and professional..

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

AMANDA Was A Great Waitress!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Here we go! Well the scenery was pretty nice, I mean it was a new place for me. I decided to start my night off with A SHOT of FIREBALL, only for the waiter to come back and tell me they ran out! (Who runs out of fireball?) obviously buca did. I ordered speghetti and meatballs and could wait for my order to get to my table ( the waiter was taking forever) the speghetti looked like it was 3 big meatballs sitting on top of noodles! At that moment I wished I was at speghetti factory. For the price of their food I'd suggest buca step up their game! My bowl of sauceless carbs turned me off from buca di peppo! ... this was Valentine's Day night!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food. Excellent staff. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Awesome customer service and great food at a great price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This classic family style Italian restaurant is great place to celebrate in a fun environment especially if you want to be loud and have a blast without offending the table next to you. Maybe not the best place for a romantic and intimate dinner with that special one but definitely a place for lovers after the formalities of impressing one another.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The server, Eric, and the manager were very caring and attentive. It didn't matter that I dined alone. I definitely felt like a special customer due to their service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We love the coziness of the table in the kitchen. Although a table for 4, it seats five of us, including 3 tall men/boys, quite comfortably. We also love interacting with the kitchen staff and watching other people (sometimes familiar faces) come through. Just the right blend of privacy and socializing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food wasn't as good as usual. The meat sauce pasta had no flavor, the garlic bread was uneatable ( they didn't charge us for it) and the chicken lemone was dry. Service was great (or server was the best we ever had (Monika I think) and made up for the not so tasty food. We had fun.

I wonder if they have a new team in the kitchen??? Been there a few times and the food was great before so will be going again. You should give it a try.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The server Amber went out of her way to make our experience very memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Upon arriving in was told it would.be moment to get table together for our 11 person party, even though I had reservation. We then waited approximately 20+/- minutes with a reservation & mind you I did ask what took so long since restaurant was not full many open tables and got the we will seat you in a moment sir. And there is no room for anybody to really wait one small bench and we had our entire party there since that was required when.placing the reservation.
So now that we have been seated in a makeshift room with limited heat on a cold night in a room full of exterior windows so it stayed cool in the room throughout our dining and we had to split tables with our party which was not asked just assumed.by restaurant to be good. Our food was okay plenty of it too just not a lot great flavors pretty bland overall, we had Veal Saltimbocca which was prepared different than I've ever had and all who were in our party. Spaghetti and ravioli were just okay nothing that great, now the baked spicy rigatoni was a good meal and my favorite of them all but it was just ok to others in our party so this being our first experience with this restaurant it likely was our last. Our server was really good and attentive to our group but ultimately the food must shine at some point and it just never did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Somewhat disappointed that we booked in advance with Open Table, only to find our party of 4 waiting for a table with the rest of the crowd long after our reservation. We have two young toddlers and arrived 10-15 minutes prior to our reservation (we also were in the empty parking lot for 30 minutes prior waiting for our toddlers to wake up from a nap); to our disappointment, we waited over 25 minutes for a table. The hostess was disorganized and kept customers waiting at the door despite several open tables in addition to the entire 2nd floor being completely empty! It seems as though they had reserved one too many spots and did not know how to handle the situation. The restaurant operations were disorganized. While the food and service was par, I don't think we would return due to the experience in waiting for our table - with a reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The settings was very Italian, very warm. The veal was absolutely delicious. The chocolate cake to die for.
The server attentive. Overall, I love the food and atmosphere. I could go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The wait was long even with a reservation but it was Christmas and they brought out free cheese pizza for those of us waiting in the lobby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas Day dinner with my kids. Great service, good food but quite noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent service, everyone was friendly and helpful even though they had to work on
Christmas. Our server was especially accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went here on Christmas Eve despite the multiple negative reviews. I've been to other locations though that were always really fun and so thought it might be a fun place to be on Christmas Eve. The hostess staff was nice enough but as we waited for our table, we went to the bar to get a drink. The bartender could barely muster up the energy to get our drinks- despite the fact there was one other person at the bar (they seemed to have a rapport and so he just had no desire to interact with us). Then our waiter... I mean he was way over it. I get it. It was Christmas Eve. There were tons of people there. But much like the bartender, he could not pretend he wanted to be there or wanted any part of serving us. And then the food. We ordered the chicken saltimbocca which basically was very beige, definitely reheated, chicken breasts with sad slices of proscuitto on top. Meatball side was dry. And spaghetti with sauce was basically red water. And our price for all of this plus glass of wine- $89. It was such a disappointment. I would say you dont go to Buca di Beppo's necessarily for the food. If the food is good, its a bonus. You go there for the fun lively atmosphere. This night was anything but fun and sadly I think this will be the last time I go here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Eight of us came here for Christmas Eve & were seated promptly at a perfect table by the window. We ordered the Antipasto chopped salad which is amazing, the chicken Marsala, tasty but a bit too sweet for our tastes, baked ziti, fettucine Alfredo, Childs portion of spaghetti with meatballs which was more like an adult portion, and cannoli for dessert. The food and service was first rate, our server was efficient & very friendly and we had a very favorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great family style restaurant, generous portion and very helpful and cheery staff.

So glad that they offer OpenTable booking system, so much easier, so handy and much more convenient for group gathering within a scheduled range of time, big help, tks.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This isn't the place for alfredo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everything was good, but they don't really have a meal for two. We got a small, which feeds three. The leftovers were good, though.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The Thanksgiving menu was very limited, almost take it or leave it. We were able to add an antipasto salad from usual menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Resterant sells good food . a little highly priced. The noise level is low because of all the walls.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was poor and there was arguing among the kitchen help, which we could hear. I have been going to this restaurant for years. You didn't get your value for a Thanksgiving dinner special. The regular Italian food we ordered was fair. Not enough help for a holiday. We made reservation a week in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

over booked. over priced. 120 dollars for that? and a wait. at least the food was good. you have my money and tip but we wont be back unless I hear from you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.