Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

643 Emerson Street
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hamilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-0665

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area

Parking Details:
There is a 3-level parking garage directly behind us at City Hall. It is free of charge but fills up quickly on weekends.

Public Transit:
We are very close to the Palo Alto BART station.

Executive Chef:
Eric Keyes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (10)
Family Style (8)
Fun (8)
See All
Kid-friendly (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Casual (5)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Romantic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good but became VERY noisy as time went on. Food excellent as always,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Live this place!!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Good food. Large portions (they warn you). Entry to restaurant is a little funky.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Portions are generally large, so plan your plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We ordered an Appetizer, salad, and two entres. The main issue was that it all came at the same time. Our waiter was having a hard day and initially forgot about us, then didn't get us olive oil, and finally gave us the wrong check.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Daughter birthday

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I had scored a $20 off coupon for Buca, so we ordered the delicious Chicken Saltimbocca. Our server was a bit ditzy and kept forgetting parts of our order. However, the overall experience was quite good, and the food was terrific and served at just the right temperature.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Your server will be with you is the motto here. This review must be at least 50 characters.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have been to other locations before and I think this was the worst experience. We either had a bad waiter or a waiter that was having a bad day. He was very dismissive. Because we decided to do the wine special on the table, he told us we were ordering the "cheap wine". When he pored our wine, he spilled it on my wife's plate and on the table when he pored my wine. Toward the end of our meal, I saw him playing with some sort of wiring device in his mouth and not washing his hands. I was ready to go at that point. I also saw another waiter eating off what appeared to be leftovers from a patron's plate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We have been to Buca at least 1/2 a dozen times for dinner. The experience has always been slightly better than mediocre but we have always left satisfied because we felt it was a decent place for large groups. This last experience was very different. The waitress was nice enough. When we sat she asked if we were celebrating a special occasion- to which I told her that we were celebrating the 10 y/o girl's bday. But when our desserts came- no recognition what so ever for the bday.
Truthfully, that was just the icing on the cake for our lousy dinner. The food was really horrible. We ordered the chicken Marsala and it was so sweet, as if they had added sugar to the sauce, that it was relatively inedible. I told the waitress but that's as far as it went. We also ordered 2 pasta dishes. The one pasta dish had chicken in it that was so over-cooked, it was nearly impossible to chew. Th other pasta dish had a so-called meat sauce that was so watery, they should be embarrassed to serve it.
Bottom line- we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had to return food as it was not good. Overall just not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Son's celebrations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We always enjoy good food and service at Buca di Beppo, but the Palo Alto location has a habit of making guests wait for a table, even with reservations. This Saturday at lunch, we waited over twenty minutes before finally being seated.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Fun, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The entrance is very weird. Several groups including us got confused by the kitchen setup before the podium where they take you to the seating area. As noted by other reviews, the smell of bleach and steam air really made kind of bad experience at this venue.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Birthday dessert was thoughtful. Good food for the soul. Delicious spaghetti and best meatballs. The broccolini was semi sweet with hints of garlic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great service and great pasta! The service was superb, the waiter continuously checked up on us to see if we needed anything. Portion sizes are large.

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Used to love this place. Now had FOUR bad experiences there in a row, so, it's no longer just a "one-off" issue. The service is simply no good. The food is hit and miss. This time, bread was cold and the Apple Gorgonzola salad did not have any salad dressing on it! Get it together guys...

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been to other Buca locations and have a good experience. We are extremely disappointed with this location. The service is horrible. There was no attention to customer needs. We even have to ask for the menus. The drinks were mixed up. One drink was served when we asked for the check. Some employees were playing their smartphones at the back of the restaurant! They should be paying attention to customers!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This was our first Christmas dinner at Buca di Beppo, although we'd dined here many times before. The food is always good, and this time was no exception. We ordered salad, calamari, veal parmesan and eggplant parmesan. Our waiter brought our salad and calamari, then he brought the check and left. Um, what? I looked at the check, and he had closed out our tab. My husband flagged him down and asked why he had already given us the check. The waiter said, "Oh, did you order more food?" I looked at him like he had two heads, and I said, "Seriously? You don't remember that we ordered entrees?" He said to tell him again what we had ordered and he'd go get it.

A bit later, he brought the entrees, and they were good, as always. Then he put the check down on the table again. WTH? I asked for a dessert menu, and he said, "Oh, you aren't finished?" So he took the check and our dessert order. A short while later, he came back with the dessert...and the check. I realize working on Christmas Day can be stressful, but the restaurant wasn't any more frenetic than normal. I don't know what this guy's problem was, but I think he was too flaky to work on Christmas Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Thank you for making my 50th Birthday a truly dainty and happiest one!

Merry Christmas to all Palo Alto Staff. You are all superb!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our server Dewan was amazing. He made the experience incredible. Thanks so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We've been going to Buca for years now and have always been satisfied with their food. The only regret I have is that the entrance is usually not as clean. It's like walking thru a dirty kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our party of 7 arrived on time for a weekday birthday lunch, we were asked to wait while they set up our table, it took ~15 minutes. We were seated directly next to a large, very loud group while there were plenty of open tables. Accommodated our request for a table change, lots of open tables. Service was very slow, once platters of food arrived there was a wait for serving utensils. In the end, our server told us "nobody showed up for work", she was not a server, usually worked in the bar. The food was really quite good, but overall experience for a fun celebration was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The restaurant for some reason didn't get our reservation from Open Table. They didn't seem surprised that this happened, and said, "it happens sometimes", and didn't seem very concerned. They were able to get us setup with a table in about 20 minutes thankfully, but I was definitely a little concerned by their lack of concern about a known issue and that it didn't seem they were doing anything to mitigate the issue. Service was pretty slow, but food was good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many time and was terribly disappointed. Management has severely deteriorated since our last visit about a year ago. Our server was incredibly overworked. She had tables upstairs and downstairs. She was working her butt off while many coworkers were congregating at the bar discussing their social lives. Meanwhile we were waiting and waiting and waiting for everything but the food.

Our food arrived quickly, but the baked ziti which is normally a favorite was flavorless and poorly assembled. The chicken saltimbocca was ok, but missing the sage garnish we have seen in the past that boosts the flavor. We had the colossal brownie sundae to celebrate my daughters birthday and the brownies were stale! Sort of capped off the entire experience. Then as we left, the basket of mints that used to reside by the hostess station was gone. :(

We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had a poor dining experience...our server went to tend bar and forgot about our table for almost 30 minutes long after we had finished. Plus sitting right next to the noisy kitchen, we don't plan to return to what used to be a family favorite. Too expensive to tolerate poor service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We made a reservation here for Thanksgiving. They called us the day before to confirm our reservation for the 24th. When we arrived, the table was not ready and we waited for an extra 20 minutes. Once seated at the table, we were given the regular menu. When we asked for the Thanksgiving Menu, the waiter told us they ran out of food "two hours ago". We immediately left, as we did not go there for their mediocre italian food. I don't know why this place is getting good reviews. Deceptive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went for Thankgiving Feast had to wait a bit even with rsvp then only after we told the waiter we wanted the Thanksgiving Feast for 6 he said "oh my manager just told me we don't have anymore turkey".

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

All server was awesome. The food was delicious. Service was prompt. This is definitely a place that I would recommend for family-style eating it's a very nice Quaint restaurant not too loud but perfect for a first date or as I said before a group setting. I would highly recommend this restaurant and location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food tasted great. The turkey was a little cold but this could be because we had a green waiter on Thanksgiving and I am thankful not to have to cook the dinner myself!

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Fun, Comfort Food, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Pet peeve: when wait staff takes your order without pen and pad of paper - then comes back to confirm the order. If you don't have the memory then use a pad of paper. Geez.

Otherwise visit was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was very relaxing , lights with a soft glow , food portion was great , ordered wine which was fantastic , our server was patient and delightful . Thank you !

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had an enjoyable visit. Our server seemed a little inexperienced - there were some issues with the check but they were taken care of. He did not really come around to ask how we were doing or refill our drinks.
The food was very good though. I love the decor inside, and its a fun place for a family. You're likely to run into neighbors there, which is fun.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We forgot to tell the server about no nuts and they gratefully replaced it after we told them. Best service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Never disappoints! Still a gem considering all the Italian choices in Palo Alto. Great for groups but expect it to be noisy even if the restaurant isn't full.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

GREAT spot for a quick lunch and leftovers for late night snack. Always enjoy everything about Buca!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Sat so close to next table. Could only hear their conversation with someone pontificating the whole time. Way too expensive. Had $20 off coupon, still cost over $80 for 2 with I glass of wine, and 1 soft drink. Good for large parties, not designed for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was OK but not great; the service was adequate but not great. The speed of food being served was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Dependable quality Italian food. Couldn't fault it. Unfortunately the service completely let the place down. We had a reservation for 7:45pm, arrived 5 minutes later and it took almost 20 minutes to get us seated. The maître d' was on the phone and took another phone call before even talking to us, one of which was a lengthy reservation that she for some reason attempted to do on speaker phone in a very noisy restaurant, leaning into the phone and shouting.

When we did get attention, she complained that "the computer is frozen, I can't do anything" and just yelled for a co-worker. 5 minutes and more yelling later the co-worker appeared and asked why she didn't call her over sooner. She said that she did, but the co-worker pointed out that she was wearing a headset and why didn't she call via that. Wonderful

We were seated by 8:10pm and were promptly ignored. Flagged down a bus boy who found our waiter. Drinks order placed. Drinks arrived and order placed. ~8:50pm, order arrived, but no serving ware and no individual plates (all the food arrives in the middle - a good system). We had to pick at the food with our forks from the serving bowls. 9pm, no individual plates. Flagged down a busboy who said our waiter would come. He didn't. Flagged down another waiter who rather than bringing us some plates decided to go find our own waiter. She found him eventually an our plates arrived. 9:15pm and we can start to eat the (now almost cold) food.

9:40pm and we're finished. We order another glass of wine from our now very attentive waiter (who to his credit checked in on us several times after his first failures). 10pm - wine didn't arrive. I went looking for the waiter at the bar area but he was nowhere to be found. Asked around and he eventually turned up and said the bar is slow on drinks tonight. Really? Bar was empty when we went looking.

Sorry guys, this is not what expect. Our second visit will be our last. Shame since the food is divine.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

First impression with host wasn't good at all, it took them almost 15 min to seat us. The food wasn't the best and service could have been better. I do want to give credit to the server he did the best he could considering he didn't had no help and looked like he was serving al the tables around us.KUDOS for the server although not for the rest of the team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.