Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

643 Emerson Street
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hamilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-0665

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area

Parking Details:
There is a 3-level parking garage directly behind us at City Hall. It is free of charge but fills up quickly on weekends.

Public Transit:
We are very close to the Palo Alto BART station.

Executive Chef:
Eric Keyes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.5

ambience

3.7

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (14)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (10)
See All
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Business Meals (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server and experience was excellent! The food was delicious, from the bread to the friend mozzarella and spaghetti with meatballs. The staff was also very nice, my stomach was upset and one of the managers and my server came to ask if I was alright. They were caring and kind, the best kind of staff there is!! Thank you for a fabulous time we will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is trending down. We arrived right at 5:00 for our reservation when they were "switching out their tables" and we stood around in the busy kitchen area for 5 min before we realized it was going to take a while and we sat in the bar and waited. They took >10 min to come and take a drink order, then drinks took >10 min to arrive. The person who brought our food didnt know if it was ours or not and then we waited 20 min for our settings to be cleared. It took 2.25 hrs for a quick Sunday meal during a slow Sunday. This place used to be a go-to for our family, but its quickly falling out of favor. Too bad, food is still pretty good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Slow service. Lackluster food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food is served family style so that you can share plates. We had chicken Marsala which was very good. Our server was very attentive and informed us of options on the menu. We really enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Terrible service. Slow and inattentive at 5:15pm with very customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a 7:15 reservation. Arrived at 7:14 and were told that they were running behind by 45 minutes. We could expect to be seated at 8 pm. We left. I've never had this experience with OpenTable in many years-- but clearly a 45 minute delay isn't really a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant and probably our last. It was strange that you walk through the front door, but are immediately in the kitchen. It was confusing. The hostess stand is also in the kitchen. The restaurant seemed cozy enough but our booth had crumbs all over the seat still so I had to wipe it down. The bathroom was all out of toilet seat covers and had no paper towels at all. I had to wipe my washed hands on my nice dress to dry them off. The food was not good - the spicy shrimp appetizer was sub-par and nothing special. For dinner we had the chicken carbonara which was just ok. We didnt eat too much of it and ended up taking it home where it has only sat in our fridge due to neither of us really wanting to eat it. The Brussels sprouts we got for a side were overcooked with just big pieces of pancetta on top. We didnt bother with desert. The waitress we had was very friendly so I would say the service was good. But overall it was not a place i'd recommend or go back to. There are much better Italian places with similar pricing. Maggiano's is one of our favorite "family style" Italian restaurants.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Always a winner! This restaurant is consistently a success. Their sauce for the Chicken Limone I could do a face plant in. It's so delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We celebrated National Lasagna Day (yeah, I didn't know there was such a thing either!) at Buca, and it was everything I'd hope it would be. Delicious food and terrific service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We came to Buca di Beppo to enjoy National Lasagna Day! We were seated promptly and our waiter was terrific. We ordered Caesar Salad, Cheesy Garlic Bread and Lasagna. Everything was served as it should -- and was excellent.

The manager stopped by the make sure we were happy -- the smile on our faces said it all.

We will definitely return for more. Thanks Buca!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It might have gotten very busy because our server got our orders wrong. It was really slow. The pizza came so late we were already finished with our pasta and ready for dessert. Our server was so apologetic and gave us tiramisu on the house because we were really patient waiting for our food. Although service got very sloppy, because she was super nice , we left her a good tip. Too bad we were not able to get her name. She was a fine young black lady. Super sweet. We were there for my birthday and enjoyed celebrating it. We may not be back soon though. We're used to Buca Campbell that's why.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

FOOD: The portion sizes are large, and more appropriate to a family of three or four. This is not good choice for a single person dining out. It made for three meals, so you could say that added value. Like most Italian food it was better on reheating. I found adding some water to the pasta based dish moved it from dried out to a more enjoyable al dente. The calabrese salad was passable, although since tomatoes are in season you might be expecting more than what was presented.

SERVICE: was prompt and accommodating. Water was refilled, but not the bread basket. Olive oil and vinegar were poured for the table which is nice; no table spices to add to the mix for added flavor when dipping.

FACILITY: The entrance through the kitchen area from the street is interesting but disorienting to the first time visitor(not my first time here, but last time we were a party of about six). I have also been to this chain in other cities (SF, DC) and they do not feature this "added pass through the kitchen experience." Perhaps if they offered single seats watching food prep might be interesting.

AMBIANCE: Music was loud, and that was commented on by more than one party in the area I was seated in. Glad I arrived (reserved time) early; it fills up quickly despite the rest of this review's perspectives.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Left credit card there and waitress decided to spend > $100 at 7-11 a couple of blocks away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

One of my favoriote placeas dor great Itallian food in ample quantities.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A good dinner and great atmosphere. Ample portions and a good chance to try several entrees to share.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Festive, inexpensive, and portions are huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We reserved for 17 people for a high school graduation dinner. It was easy to do via OpenTable. They called to confirm a couple days before and I was able to give them our order so it could be put in as soon as we were seated.

That evening, the ceremony ran long, so I called to let them know we'd be 15 minutes late. They said no problem and we were seated quickly when we arrived.

Since we didn't reserve a banquet room, so we were split into to tables next to each other which worked out fine. There were tons of groups that night, but our server was attentive and friendly. They let us bring in our cake and don't charge a cutting fee.

It was a festive, filling and affordable way to celebrate our son's graduation with our loved ones.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We arrived on time and were seated in less than 5 minutes. We ordered about 5 minutes later. After we ordered, a very large party taking up two long tables (20-ish people) were seated. They ordered 10 minutes later.

Long story short, they were done eating before we got our food. Literally an hour after ordering our food came. We were told a plate broke on our canneloni in the oven. They comp'd us dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Not great. Expensive for what it is. Servings too big & a little bland.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Came to celebrate my wife's birthday. She's been wanting to eat here since I spoke about my experience. I had to modify the reservation I made from 5 people to 13. The staff at Bucca was friendly and accommodating. They really made it easy to add more people and made us feel welcome when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very good but became VERY noisy as time went on. Food excellent as always,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Live this place!!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good food. Large portions (they warn you). Entry to restaurant is a little funky.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Portions are generally large, so plan your plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We ordered an Appetizer, salad, and two entres. The main issue was that it all came at the same time. Our waiter was having a hard day and initially forgot about us, then didn't get us olive oil, and finally gave us the wrong check.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Daughter birthday

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I had scored a $20 off coupon for Buca, so we ordered the delicious Chicken Saltimbocca. Our server was a bit ditzy and kept forgetting parts of our order. However, the overall experience was quite good, and the food was terrific and served at just the right temperature.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Your server will be with you is the motto here. This review must be at least 50 characters.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I have been to other locations before and I think this was the worst experience. We either had a bad waiter or a waiter that was having a bad day. He was very dismissive. Because we decided to do the wine special on the table, he told us we were ordering the "cheap wine". When he pored our wine, he spilled it on my wife's plate and on the table when he pored my wine. Toward the end of our meal, I saw him playing with some sort of wiring device in his mouth and not washing his hands. I was ready to go at that point. I also saw another waiter eating off what appeared to be leftovers from a patron's plate.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We have been to Buca at least 1/2 a dozen times for dinner. The experience has always been slightly better than mediocre but we have always left satisfied because we felt it was a decent place for large groups. This last experience was very different. The waitress was nice enough. When we sat she asked if we were celebrating a special occasion- to which I told her that we were celebrating the 10 y/o girl's bday. But when our desserts came- no recognition what so ever for the bday.
Truthfully, that was just the icing on the cake for our lousy dinner. The food was really horrible. We ordered the chicken Marsala and it was so sweet, as if they had added sugar to the sauce, that it was relatively inedible. I told the waitress but that's as far as it went. We also ordered 2 pasta dishes. The one pasta dish had chicken in it that was so over-cooked, it was nearly impossible to chew. Th other pasta dish had a so-called meat sauce that was so watery, they should be embarrassed to serve it.
Bottom line- we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had to return food as it was not good. Overall just not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Son's celebrations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We always enjoy good food and service at Buca di Beppo, but the Palo Alto location has a habit of making guests wait for a table, even with reservations. This Saturday at lunch, we waited over twenty minutes before finally being seated.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The entrance is very weird. Several groups including us got confused by the kitchen setup before the podium where they take you to the seating area. As noted by other reviews, the smell of bleach and steam air really made kind of bad experience at this venue.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Birthday dessert was thoughtful. Good food for the soul. Delicious spaghetti and best meatballs. The broccolini was semi sweet with hints of garlic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great service and great pasta! The service was superb, the waiter continuously checked up on us to see if we needed anything. Portion sizes are large.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Used to love this place. Now had FOUR bad experiences there in a row, so, it's no longer just a "one-off" issue. The service is simply no good. The food is hit and miss. This time, bread was cold and the Apple Gorgonzola salad did not have any salad dressing on it! Get it together guys...

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have been to other Buca locations and have a good experience. We are extremely disappointed with this location. The service is horrible. There was no attention to customer needs. We even have to ask for the menus. The drinks were mixed up. One drink was served when we asked for the check. Some employees were playing their smartphones at the back of the restaurant! They should be paying attention to customers!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our first Christmas dinner at Buca di Beppo, although we'd dined here many times before. The food is always good, and this time was no exception. We ordered salad, calamari, veal parmesan and eggplant parmesan. Our waiter brought our salad and calamari, then he brought the check and left. Um, what? I looked at the check, and he had closed out our tab. My husband flagged him down and asked why he had already given us the check. The waiter said, "Oh, did you order more food?" I looked at him like he had two heads, and I said, "Seriously? You don't remember that we ordered entrees?" He said to tell him again what we had ordered and he'd go get it.

A bit later, he brought the entrees, and they were good, as always. Then he put the check down on the table again. WTH? I asked for a dessert menu, and he said, "Oh, you aren't finished?" So he took the check and our dessert order. A short while later, he came back with the dessert...and the check. I realize working on Christmas Day can be stressful, but the restaurant wasn't any more frenetic than normal. I don't know what this guy's problem was, but I think he was too flaky to work on Christmas Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Thank you for making my 50th Birthday a truly dainty and happiest one!

Merry Christmas to all Palo Alto Staff. You are all superb!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.