About Buca di Beppo - Mira Mesa

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

10749 Westview Parkway
San Diego, CA 92126
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mira Mesa Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 536-2822

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Executive Chef:
Antonio Pimentel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Mira Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Family Style (10)
See All
Comfort Food (9)
Special Occasion (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Casual (6)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (1)
Authentic (1)
Vegan (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day. Sauce wasn't thick enough. Quick service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Went for national pizza day. Food is always good at this place. Got the pizza since it was national pizza day. Little greasy for my liking, but still good. Always go here for family gatherings and when people are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It is too damn cold in there. Will take a coat next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Just love their menu selections. Great variety for everyone.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always a fun time and TONS of food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was a bit slow and bit forgetful......but they were busy...when we tried to split our bill with 2 credit cards, waitress charged me the full amount and the second card the amount I had asked. If I had not reviewed my charge slip we would have way over paid the bill. Nothing that would keep me from dining there again though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My husband and I have eaten there for several years. They have the best eggplant that I've ever tasted. No other restaurant can beat the flavor and crispiness. They are always consistent, so no surprises.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were seated right away, order was taken and food was delicious. Everything was really good until it was time to pay. We couldn't find our waitress, but there was no pen when we finally got our ticket. It took awhile to find our waitress again. She gave us a discount for it which was nice of her. The restaurant seem to be very busy around that time however we waited quite some time to get our ticket and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was amazing as usual!! A pleasant unexpected surprise...we were seated in the kitchen and got see all the dishes before they were served!! Staff is absolutely amazing and very much about the customer! A tradition we will continue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We celebrated my daughter's 18th birthday there last night and it was perfect. The service was great. We were sat at a reasonable time and served with drinks right away. They sand happy birthday to the birthday girl and made the night special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Not great Italian food, but good. Very courteous and polite waiter. $7.00 for a small beer was a bit pricey.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service. Best to make a reservation. Order dessert!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Even with the reservations we had to wait approximately 25 minutes. We had several waitresses attending to us which got a little confusing for them. It took longer than usual but ut was a busy night for them. The pairing of our food and wine was divine though. Yummy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went on Christmas evening so we knew it would be super busy but our waiter seemed to never be around. It took forever to get our drinks and he only refilled them once. Then when we were trying to go he gave us a little attitude

Over all though we did enjoy our meal and the food was delicious like always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I was extremely impressed that our party was seated exactly at the reservation time even on Christmas Day with a lobby full of people waiting (presumably without a reservation) and a long-g-g-g line for take out. The staff was cordial and polite. Our waitress was knowledgeable and went out of her way to accommodate our requests. The atmosphere of the restaurant was relaxed, comfortable, and upbeat.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was the perfect venue for our large family get together. The service was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Just ok, not as good as normal , still had an enjoyable and sustainable meal.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was pricey for the quantity and quality of food and drink. A carafe of sangria was high at $25. The antipasto salad was good. The veal parmigan should have been cooked in tomato sauce. It did not come with very much tomato sauce.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I'll be returning many times in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a nice server who had a great attitude even with working on Thanksgiving. We enjoyed her hospitality and service. Thanks!

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent value.....authentic Italian food. Energetic wait staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Thank you to the staff for good service and attentiveness to our large party. Everything worked out perfectly to accommodate our special food requests. The timing was perfect to get us to the movie premiere too. Thanks to all for making the birthday special!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The person who met us upon entering, the one who seated us and the waitress were all wonderful and appeared truly interested in us & our comfort. Good food enough for tomorrow's lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Service was great and the food was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We had a fantastic time. The service and the food was unbelievably good! The whole family truly enjoyed their time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Service was very good and the recommendation for dessert was excellent. The caeser salad was really good and properly dressed. The veal marsala was tasty although quite sweet and the veal was really over cooked. All in all an okay meal food wise however our server was very good.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We sat in the kitchen and received excellent service. It was a great experience! We will return.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The behavior of our waiter changed half way thru dinner. His eyes couldn't focus and was slurring when talking. He is high on something he's smoking/ inhaling/ taking....

Very inappropriate especially a lot of children celebrate birthdays there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I lost my credit card here when I came back after 30 minutes it was never turned in. I cancelled the card right away.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Unless you go with a large group and can all agree on what to eat, it's just not worth the expense. Food wasn't bad. Service was good. Overall...just, meh.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great Italian food, outstanding service, exceptional value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Even with a open table reservation we had to wait at least 15 minutes. Food was good but a bit slow. Great place for large groups but not very couple friendly due to noise level and the family style type of food servings, you better agree on a dish to share or you will have way too much food and a huge bill!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I made reservations for this! Worst experience EVER!! We were seated. We Ordered our food and before our food arrived a party of 33 teenagers/ coaches arrived. And it began! The party next to us gave no regard to how loud and obnoxious they were being. The parents or coaches could care less. We flag down our waiter and the manager and asked to be moved. We were moved a few moments later into an area that seemed to be quieter. 15 min prior there was a teenage girl soccer team that had free run around the restaurant to parade and yell and chant as much as they wanted and unfortunately for us we were seated right in front of them. After we were seated the manager stopped at our table to make sure we were comfortable, she mentioned that there was a quieter table downstairs. At this point I don't understand why she didn't move us to the quietest location since that was our chief concern. The manager also stated that due to a line she didn't want to keep anyone else waiting. At this point I lost faith in her as a manager. The manager left us to enjoy our meal and before I could enjoy my first bite that teenage soccer team got up ran past my table almost causing me to drop my fork and started chanting and yelling again. At this point I was completely through and was visibly upset as other customers started to notice. The soccer team continued to chant and yell at 2 different tables so loudly that my son had to cover his ears and our ears began to become affected by the noise. The manager again was flagged down and we were only given a sorry we didn't know excuse. She lamely offered some slivers of brownies as compensation and an apology. This was surely one of the worst dinning experiences I've ever had. It's pretty sad when kids get to run around and cause a ruckus while disturbing customers and the manager allows it to happen. Why would I waste my money on mediocre food and an environment like this? Bucca Di Bepo you should be ashamed of this behavior!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Pizza was soggy, this is the norm for Bucca Di beppo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have dined here for years. This visit was not on par with previous visits. And it wasn't crowded. Pasta a little overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Servicewas slow despite being the only one in the bar area. Latte was weak, bread was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food is great and our server was top notch-how he kept up with the overwhelming crowd is a mystery to me.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2016

Well sized family dishes, amazing milky sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great value and excellent service.....great for birthdays. The Brownie sundae is awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2016

The staff was all very nice and accommodating for my large party. They had no problem doing multiple split checks for my party and the server never got frustrated with us... Thank you for letting me celebrate my bday with you..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Buca Di Beppo is a great place for family style meals. Expect lots of distracting (and sometimes inappropriate for kids) pictures. The price are a little high for what you pay for. I would only dine there if I had a coupon.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was OK. They serve it family style so one order can feed several people. It felt a little rushed and the server didn't come back to check on us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Not impressed. Food tasted OK, but the portions are HUGE. Quantity not quality : (

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2016

This place is decorated like an old fashion family run style Italian restaurant with lots of pictures, I mean lots! They tend to be funny, antique, and some might even say vulgar, but fun to look at. Hosts were extremely nice, patient, and helpful. Other servers were extremely nice and helpful as well. Though our server was nice and accommodating, she was rarely there, hence the 4 stars instead of 5. Plates are big and delicious. If coming in with a large party try to sit on the round table with the pope's head, I tried to have my party sit there but for some reason were taken somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Came in with party of 14 and got great service and food and did not have to wait as long as I expected for our table.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Us 4 sat at the smallest table next to the water check station. Every time a waiter came around the corner they almost bumped in to us. I'm assuming because it was valentines they added extra tables, obviously the table where I sat didn't belong there. the two couple came in after us say at a bigger table. Just them two.I put reservations in every year as a tradition but after this visit we will go else where annually. Thx for the good vibes but service has gone down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Even though I booked a table for eight people one day ahead, when we got there they cramped us into a booth that seats 6. We had to wait for a while to get 2 more chairs. The place was really crowded we waited for a very long time to even get drinks. I would not recommend this place for anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2016

A reservation is a must when you go there on a weekend, especially a holiday (we went NYE).

It was just a short wait to get seated, and service was great. Food always yummy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Dined with 4 people last Saturday and had a very good experience. The food was cooked properly with some of the dishes like the mussels and Ziti being excellent. The sauce on the Chicken saltimbocca was a bit sweet but the chicken was very tender. We had 2 salads and both were very good. The Super Tuscan wine on the menu was very good and inexpensive. The restaurant was very busy so service was a little slow but not impossible to obtain. I highly recommend for a "before movie" dining venue.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.