About Buca di Beppo - Mira Mesa

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

10749 Westview Parkway
San Diego, CA 92126
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mira Mesa Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 536-2822

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Executive Chef:
Antonio Pimentel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Mira Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (6)
See All
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Spicy (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The restaurant was very noisy! We were 4 adults celebrating a birthday and they sat us among 3 family groups with quite boisterous children?! The fact it was a birthday was never passed on to the server, so there was no recognition of the event!! The food was good, with many choices, but we felt a bit pricey based on the amount of food served.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was good except the food. It needs more flavor, spices, salt, pepper, etc. The interior of the resturant is fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Enjoyable dinner. I really love their marinara sauce! The service was very pleasant and prompt. It is on the expensive side, however you will certainly be taking food home. The only issue I experienced was that it was extremely cold inside, so you may want to bring a sweater.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We ordered a small antipasto salad and the small baked Ziti to share as a couple. After we started eating the salad, we realized that it actually contained no meat. It was supposed to include salami and pepperoni, and initially we assumed it must have been on the bottom and not gotten tossed well with the salad. But there was no meat. When this was pointed out to the waiter, he went back to the kitchen and came back with two small containers of salami and pepperoni. At the conclusion of the meal, the waiter brought us someone else's bill.
Buca di Beppo is very loud, as they have lots of birthday parties and large groups, often with lots of kids. It can be difficult to find a quiet table there to have a conversation with your meal. The food is very mediocre, and they push their family photo biz really hard while you are eating. It is also not the cleanest restaurant you will encounter. We usually have to reject silverware that hasn't been decently cleaned, and the handrails on the stairs are gross.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This was a delightful meal. The stuffed combo was excellent and the veal marsala was among the best I've ever had. The caprese was delicious too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was just okay. I think it's a bit pricey for the quality. Would rather have smaller servings and higher quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always good fun. Great for page parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I made a reservation for our group but then the size went down and we no longer had a total of 14 participants... we were down to 8. I understand we shouldn't be given the private room with only 8 but I was disappointed they squeezed us into a booth for 8... it was pretty squishy which made it more difficult to eat.
The food was delicious as always... service was outstanding. Just wish the booth would have been a little larger for 8 adults!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food here is never bad. The service is rarely good. You can order takeout from the full menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Tasty, local and kid friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Food is great. Staff are very friendly. It's a family restaurant so there is noise but that's ok. Get small size meals bcz small is large

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Fun dining experience, prepare to get stuffed! They sing their own version of "Happy Birthday" enthusiastically - it's terribly embarrassing for all.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is a very unique place to eat. Its loud especially where we at because we are at the kitchen area. literally in front of the kitchen! The guy in charge was there and somehow showed some of their specialties as its served. He ended up giving us some marinara sauce for our bread. It's loud and fun at the same time. You hear pots and pans clanging, banging and dropping but not breaking! Always love their linguine frutta de mare!!!!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

They were the best for accommodating a father's day dinner with kids and elder people who are very picky!

With changing our reservation time 30 minutes beforehand to changing seats on the fly, a diverse and accommodating group of people and a restaurant well deserving of our return.

Food was outstanding, service was real good.

Worth a return visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love Buca but waitress on this day acted like she did not care. Had to ask other waiters for refill on drinks and did not bring additional items requested..then said she forgot and said ..oh do you still want them since you're almost done

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is fresh and authentic Italian and is served family style. The atmosphere is unique and fun and the service was excellent. Be sure to make a reservation because this restaurant is busy.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Chose them for a birthday celebration. Food was yummy and able to be shared which is a plus. Our group of 12 was accommodated quickly and service was prompt.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Haven't been here for years, but the pizza
is still my favorite!! Great for groups, very large portion sizes. We ordered the pizza, shrimp florentine pasta and chicken marsala. This was plenty for 6 adults. The shrimp last could have used more seasoning and the chicken Marsala tasted too sweet. They had a good kids menu that had macaroni and cheese, cheese pizza, and fettuccine pasta.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took my mom there for Mother's Day. Terrible experience. Waiter forgot to come back to take our order & then forgot to come back to give us the bill. Food was burnt & dry. Really disappointed with the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great Food. Fantastic Atmosphere. One of the best places to meet with Friends.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I enjoy taking my family to Buca's for a meal after a movie. Food is always excellent. The staff works,hard and are courteous. Great for a group!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Restaurant was very accommodating and gave us the Pope's Room which was fun.
Our server was outstanding food was very good, definitely recommend Buca di Beppo for special occasions and large family meals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My family and I go about six times a year, we really like the food.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great place. Had so much fun for my friends 12 year old Birthday .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was great and the service was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a reservation for 4 ppl and were seated promptly, but upstairs in the back corner of a room that was very warm. We asked to move to a booth in a different section and were told it was reserved for people who requested a booth when making their reservations. After we placed our order, another group seated near us in the corner, must have asked to move and they were allowed to do so. We also found the pricing outrageous... $30 for 3 pieces of Veal Saltimbocca with no sides (not even pasta) seemed excessive. We realize it was family style, but paying additional $10.99 for a side of green beans was not reasonable in our opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall, it was a good experience. The staff were very friendly & prompt, and it was great to be able to get a reservation so we could get dinner before the kids bedtime. However, the kids pizza was pretty greasy, and the bathrooms needed some attention...You could tell that they were hastily updated with paint & needed cleaning. The adult food was pretty good, and the servings were so large that we got 4 more meals from leftovers.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I've always liked the atmosphere of Buca; dark and quiet. Easy to carry on a conversation with your guest. Not the best Italian food I've had, but good. The waiter was attentive and did what he needed to do.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The staff was amazing! Food was delicious! Overall great place to go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The host was rude. She did not help to find why my open table reservation was missing and she did not crack a single smile. She should not be in the front greeting people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day. Sauce wasn't thick enough. Quick service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Went for national pizza day. Food is always good at this place. Got the pizza since it was national pizza day. Little greasy for my liking, but still good. Always go here for family gatherings and when people are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It is too damn cold in there. Will take a coat next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Just love their menu selections. Great variety for everyone.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a fun time and TONS of food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was a bit slow and bit forgetful......but they were busy...when we tried to split our bill with 2 credit cards, waitress charged me the full amount and the second card the amount I had asked. If I had not reviewed my charge slip we would have way over paid the bill. Nothing that would keep me from dining there again though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My husband and I have eaten there for several years. They have the best eggplant that I've ever tasted. No other restaurant can beat the flavor and crispiness. They are always consistent, so no surprises.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were seated right away, order was taken and food was delicious. Everything was really good until it was time to pay. We couldn't find our waitress, but there was no pen when we finally got our ticket. It took awhile to find our waitress again. She gave us a discount for it which was nice of her. The restaurant seem to be very busy around that time however we waited quite some time to get our ticket and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It was amazing as usual!! A pleasant unexpected surprise...we were seated in the kitchen and got see all the dishes before they were served!! Staff is absolutely amazing and very much about the customer! A tradition we will continue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.