About Buca di Beppo - Minneapolis

1204 Harmon Place
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hennepin Avenue and 12th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 288-0138

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you"re hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free parking after 6pm weekdays and all day on weekends for Buca di Beppo.

Street, metered parking is also available.

Public Transit:
MTA Bus Service - 12th Street Stop

Executive Chef:
David Burington

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (14)
See All
Kid-friendly (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Casual (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Historic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

I've gone to Buca for years and always felt the food was okay with the atmosphere being the reason to go. In the past few years, the food has improved with a much better selection of good things to eat. I'm a much bigger fan now!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had reservations and were seated 15 minutes late. It was busy. Our waiter knew nothing of the wine list. It took forty minutes from ordering to get an unremarkable pasta dish. Atmosphere was interesting. All in all, their are many restaurants I prefer over this one within a ten minute walking distance

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My husband and I came for dinner before attending a show at the Orpheum. Our server Matt was wonderful. He was very attentive to what we needed. Our food was delicious. When we mentioned to Matt that we were heading to the theatre he processed our check quickly and got us containers for our leftovers. We never felt rushed and I would come back again. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful dinner out with my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food, pleasant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very nice "sweet 16" location for a party! 6 girls, lots of food (and laughing)...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Despite having a reservation and being on time, we were made to wait. It was early and several parties without reservations were seated in an otherwise empty restaurant. We were finally seated in a corner next to a larger party and had to request another table. After talking with three employees we were moved. Not very friendly customer service. As a couple we seem to find that we are not treated as well as larger parties and certainly not just here. But, once seated our server was attentive and helpful. The food was good and the dinner was saved thanks to Katherine.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were in a small room with a very large group, so it was way to noisy for us to even have a conversation. The food was very good.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our Christmas Eve tradition. Excellent food, service and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Unlike other Buca locations in the Twin Cities, the downtown Minneapolis (and original) location is like a going to New York City for the evening because it's in the basement of an apartment building. Love the energy in the cozy space, and the food and service are always good. The spicy chicken penne and the chicken marsala were standouts, along with the surprisingly good cheesy Florentine bread. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great place to take the family for a Christmas get together. Great food and drinks!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a group of 23 with several kids aged 10-14. We were seated at tables right next to each other which was great. Food was great and it was fun to be able to try several dishes. Servers split our bill 7 ways with ease. Would definitely recommend for a group of any size.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My family and I had a reservation at Buca after seeing a Christmas show; due to a light snowfall during the day reservations were behind (aparently people weren't able to make it to their reservations in time due to the weather). We waited about 15 minutes past our reservation time before being seated, which fell within the expected wait time provided by the hostess (who was clearly doing a very good job under a lot of pressure). The place was PACKED; entryway was pretty cramped and full of people waiting for their tables to open up, with plenty of walk-ins being turned away till after 8:30 pm (I'd definitely recommend making reservations well in advance). We were seated right next to the kitchen, so it was a little loud and VERY warm. Our waitress was very nice but forgot to bring our individual plates on two separate occasions, so we sat there staring at our food for about 5 minutes each time before we were able to eat. The food was very good (which is why it was so hard to wait to eat it), but the service and atmosphere were a little dissapointing on this occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our group gets together at Buca every year around the holidays. We've never been disappointed! Always excellent food and service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of the best group places you can ever do!

Also a great group of servers, and the food is always consistent.

A little loud, but so few restaurants are quiet anymore!

Yes its a chain but this one has the best food of them all always.

Fun stop

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Charming atmosphere and excellent food. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Perfect for our needs. Friendly staff and cozy atmosphere. Appreciated the more quiet environment for our private conversation. The food was just what we wanted and that we could take leftovers with was a great plus. Nice experience for the holiday meal, casual and comfortable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The only complaint I have is you have to park on the street and it took us awhile to find a spot and then we had to walk blocks in the cold. The food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fun, convivial atmosphere, decent food, and the servers were on a mission for everyone to have a good time. But if you're looking for a quiet table, you probably won't find one here on a weekend evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food. We had 7 people in our party & it was a fun meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

What happened to the Buca I remembered from years past? The food has become a corporatized, marginalized, and bland shadow of its former self. We won't go ever again.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Buca never disappoints! Chicken Marsala is a favorite and also the caprese salad . Nice atmosphere ...

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I can't believe I never knew about this place!!

Excellent atmosphere, great food and big shout out to our server Des who made the experience all the more fun with her enthusiasm!

Food is great and so fresh! Everything is full of flavor and doesn't feel so cookie cutter Italian as some of the other places we've been to.

Left absolutely stuffed but very happy :-)

Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I went here with some of my friends for a bachelorette party, it was wonderful. The food was amazing and our server was outstanding. Would definitely go back again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Well, we went here to celebrate my birthday. I love the fact that they still sing to you and give you some candles to blow out! It was fun to be there with my family. The food is good....just not outstanding. Why not warm up the rolls? They would be so much better! Also, there was a glitch with reservations as two people had signed up for the same group reservation. When one cancelled, it also cancelled out the order of a free Birthday cake. They would not give it to us unless we waited for a half hour for the new reservation to show up in their system. Ummmm no. I realize that they are probably bound by restrictions, but a little flexibility here would have been wonderful. All in all, it was a wonderful time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

With 12 adults and 4 children celebrating a special occasion, we chose Buca's for a "pizza party" and it was perfect. The downtown location is my favorite for Buca's and the pizzas were absolutely exceptional. I'd forgotten how delicious their pizzas are and we had enough to feed an army. Also, the service for our large party was quite good and it made our dinner very relaxing to have someone keeping an eye on refilling drinks, etc. Overall, and wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have been here twice. The restaurant is perfect for group and family lunch or dinner. Personally I like their pasta menu while my husband like their pizza. Although nothing is spectacular about their food but I admit the restaurant has good selection of Italian dishes on their menu. We skipped the dessert after our first experience - it was too sweet. But certainly their pasta and pizza are the winners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server, Dwight, was amazing and made the experience great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food is served family style and has very generous portions. Food tasted great and the salads were excellent. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2016

I tend to find nothing wrong with a group outing to Buca. The food was great and in plenty of portion. Their chopped salad was especially incredible! Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Ate in the Bar- look for Matt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2016

This wasn't one of our best experiences at Buca. The temperature outside was in the high 30s, and the ceiling fans were on full blast in our dining room. I finally had to ask for them to be turned down. The antipasti salad contained little or no cheese or meat, and was served with salad plates so fresh out of the dishwasher they were too hot to touch. Our pizza was good, and the service was fine, the salad was disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Food was average. Waitress could have improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is overpriced with a mediocre taste.

It seems they raise up the price with the tact of it being a group family dish. However, the appetizers aren't that large and you're spending a lot of money for them. $14 for stuffed mushrooms that are small 5 total. Even though they may pile a lot of food on, the taste just is not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Buca is great for sharing meals with a group of people. Their family style meals make it fun to share with everyone. I've never had anything I didn't like. Plus, it's very affordable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Great job for a group of 10....also great with children ...would recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food and service! Always a good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We ordered pasta and dessert but not really impressed by the quality. The pasta was watery while the dessert was overly sweet. Maybe the other menu is better.

Service was friendly and nice but I am not sure if I will return to eat there for their pasta and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Buca is a favorite of our family, but this was our first time at the downtown Minneapolis location. Our server, AJ, was amazing. She made our night with projects for the kids, instant responsiveness, great conversation, and warm hospitality. Food was great as always too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Waitress was friendly enough, food came out and was a big heaping plate of mediocre. But it was fine. Its group style Italian dining which is fine, it was myself my girlfriend, 1 other couple and another person. We all ordered as couples and the single guy ordered separately. We shared some food everything was okay. Then the check came and the waitress thought it was completely ridiculous that we asked her to split the check by stuff that each "buying group ordered" and completely became rude. She stated next time tell me to separate it before, when we hadn't even asked for the check yet. Really terrible attitude like we were inconveniencing her from her job. It shouldnt be that difficult to split a check, when there was only one beer ordered, a side salad, and 3 plates ordered. Will probably not return as there are many better options in Minneapolis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We came for Xmas dinner, one of the only places open..so of course they were busy. Server was nice and friendly but seemed overwhelmed, not surprising given the day. Food was okay, not the best we have had here. Simply did not have the flavor it usually does. Apple salad was wonderful as always! Would definitely come back and try again on a different day. You can't beat the price and ambiance for a group of people!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Buca features a variety of traditional Italian favorites along with many of their own creations. Delightful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We arrived at 6:30 P.M. and were seated right away. We told our waitress that we had church at 8:00 P.M.. At 7:30 we asked about our order and she said she would check on it. She came back and said that our order got lost but would be out in just 5 mins. The manager came over and said he was sorry and would make it right. At 7:50 our meal came, we asked for boxes, the manager took $25.00 off our bill, we paid the remaining $50.00 and left. We warmed up the meal the next day and had it for lunch and it was good. I was very disappointed at what was deducted and will think twice about going back.

Tom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Such a great spot for Christmas Eve. Decided to eat out after church this year and this was an excellent choice. Very festive environment!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2015

I brought a group to Buca's for a night of great family-style dining using the banquet menu. Brooke worked with me in advance in getting the banquet menu decided and she did a great job of staying in touch. The dinner was during the week and later in the evening so the restaurant was pretty quiet. Our server, AJ, did a great job of keeping things moving and was accommodating to our needs. The food was very good ... the eggplant parmigiana was a hit.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 12, 2015

As usual the food was great. However the service was horrible. It seemed as if our waitress was covering too many tables. We were seated for close to 20 minutes before our she took our food order. We requested a dessert that needed to be ordered with the meal. The waitress said she would check on it's availability and never got back to us. After receiving our bill it was close to 10 minutes before she came back to take my credit card. Very disappointing service, and not typical of Bucca. If it happens again I will find a different Italian restaurant when in the Twin Cities.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 12, 2015

If you are looking for an easy way to celebrate with a group prior to an even in downtown, this is a great place to go. Service was good, the food didn't take long to be served and they are not overly pricey.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2015

My first time going great food, very filling so don't order as much as they suggest unless you want dinner for the whole week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 28, 2015

Made a reservation for 7, got a table for 6. My son had to sit in a bay window because there was no room at the table for him. Service was slow, waited 10 minutes for first bottle of wine, 20 for the second. Took an hour for food, 45 minutes for a salad and house bread (only after we asked for it). Ran out of menu items and had to ask our server repeatedly for items. Did not get all of our leftovers at the end of the meal. Won't return, there are other Buca's and other restaurants to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2015

My wife and I visited on Friday evening of Thanksgiving weekend. Food was excellent, service was great, and it was a great experience. As a 55 year old male, I felt it was really loud but Open Table had me describe that as energetic. :) Overall, it was very good and the noise level is the only limitation...but those of a more energetic age will find it to be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Eight of us got together for dinner after the theater Saturday afternoon. We had a great time - the food and atmosphere were warm and inviting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.