About Buca di Beppo - Kansas City

310 West 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Near Wyandotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6548

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Parking Details:
Free public parking. Wheelchair accessibility is available from rear of the parking garage.

Public Transit:
The Max bus stop - 47th and Wyandotte stop.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Smith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (21)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

The underground space was super fun. We had the prosciutto stuffed chicken. Outstanding!!!! The service was excellent. The dishes are all meant to be shared, so the price is for 2-3 people, which makes it a good deal. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Place was quiet. Waiter was not good; gave us one dish of dipping oil (for bread) to share amongst 6 people sitting in a long booth; had to get up and get our own additional. Had to get up and get our own cheese and hot peppers. Guy (waiter) was blah and didn't really talk and didn't check on us and place was not busy....it is not like he was hustling around to other tables. Chicken in one of the dishes tasted like it had been cooked hours before and was dried out and did not taste very good. I like Buca but not a good experience on most recent visit on a slow Wednesday night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was felicitous. Company was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went for a late Valentine's celebration, the food and the service was great! We will be back soon.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Got seated at the time of our reservation. We got served pretty fast and food was delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have been there with my fiancé now for the past three Valentine's Day's seems like I am always put in the dining room that servers are learning which creates a bad experience and bad service but the food is always good when it finally gets to the table. I wanted this to be a special place to take my fiancé to every Valentine's Day but after three experiences exactly the same I'm thinking I should consider different options

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great authentic Italian food, and huge portions make this a great family atmosphere and a great place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very disappointed in our visit. We were excited to celebrate my daughter's 15th birthday with family. We had a part of 15 people. Our server, Stacey was great, but was given a party of 25 and left us. She asked a coworker to attend to our table. I'm not sure of his name because he didn't introduce himself. He was rude and inattentive. It seemed as if our party of 15 was less important. No one sang to our daughter as requested and we waited forever for our receipts. We had three separate tickets yet only one of us could use the Groupon. I love Buca di Beppo, but I don't know if my family will return after the way we were treated. By the way, I usually don't complain, but I spent a great deal of money on food only to have lousy service and customer treatment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was mediocre, I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The good was very good. We just ordered wayyyy too much

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good lunch. Slow service. They weren't busy, so it was unclear what took so long. With three little ones, it was a long time to wait for our meal to arrive. Otherwise, it was a positive dining experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was very hot inside the restaurant-everyone in the room was hot, people were using the menus to fan themselves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Atmosphere is almost like an old New York style Italian restaurant. Ambience is unique and cool. Outdoor patio has a New Orleans type of flair. Food was good, but it's a little tricky if there are not more than 2 people in your party, because when you order, you need to agree on what you want to eat, due to portion size(way too much for just 1 person to order by themselves, even salads). Service was very good. Location is obviously wonderful.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

There is no point making a reservation when we have to wait nearly an hour for our table. After being seated the appetizer took almost another hour. Then the main course was served two minutes later. The manager had bother to offer other than to say they were really busy. Will not be going back to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fun, delicious. Had a few hiccups but management took great care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Do NOT go here! Service was the worst that we've ever had. Had reservations for 4 people at 5:45 and we're seated on time, but that was the last thing good thing about this meal. We didn't see a waitress to take our drink order for 10 minutes, then another 10 minutes later we finally got our drinks. Got our food at 6:45 and finished eating by 7:00. We were still waiting for our check at 7:15 with no sight of ANY waiters in our area. Finally had to retrieve to-go boxes ourselves and go to the hostess to find our waitress. Finally left at 7:30. 1 hour and 45 minutes for dinner is ridiculous enough, but it was not worth $90 plus tip, which needless to say wasn't much on this meal. Save your money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our server was one of the best I have had in a long time. made sure drinks were filled, was prompt with togo boxes and kept us informed. fixed any issue right away. Always good to dine Family Style. New friends came and had never been there, and they liked it as well as enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food is good

WAY TO LOUD not relaxing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

As always we love this place. On this particular night it was uncomfortably hot. The heat was on and the lights are extremely brIght. A good place for a family of 8 to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time here. Big portions. Excellent flavor. Would certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I have visited before, but this particular evening was a disappointment. Our table was terrible, the service was so-so and the food was only 1/2 great. I'm not sure I'll ever be interested in visiting again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The Spaghetti was not good, however the Shrimp Florentine was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Every time we've ever gone it's always been pleasant except for this last time. Which is when we've been asked to review. The people before us ending up leaving because they sat them twice at dirty tables then our food was forgotten then our silverware wasn't washed at all the bathroom smelled of sewage. This place has been one of my utmost favorites so this experience was very surprising and disappointing in comparison.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Dinner with family and friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waitress brought bread then said "be conservative we are running out." Which just seemed rude and unprofessional. Plus the bread tasted cold and stale. How could they be running out when it tasted like they were serving old bread!?!? Then I order alfredo sauce instead of red sauce and it wasn't brought with my food. I was assured it was coming right out, 15

minutes later still no alfredo sauce. Waitress came back and said they were making it fresh, when I made the comment(very politely) that I ordered it with my food the waitress got an attitude and said she would get the manager. (I didn't even want a manager, just my sauce) Manger comes, says she will comp my chicken parmesan, and says the alfredo sauce will be right out. 10 minutes later, no sauce, manager comes back and apologizes again and says she will

go get my sauce. 10 minutes later finally received my sauce after my food was cold and every one else was done eating. The waitress wouldn't even come back to our table, they sent someone else wait on us and let me say this; I worked in the food service industry for 10 years. I would never be rude or treat someone rudely and I am always extra patient and understanding when it comes to dining at a restaurant. I understand things happen! But the entire night was simply horrible and the food was equally disappointing. Our bill was still over $50 after receiving horrible service and food that was not worth the price. I should have gone to Olive Garden where the breadsticks are always good and when I go there "I'm family"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Made a reservation and were early, but still had to wait awhile to be seated. Quick and friendly service. Amazing food, huge portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good food. Too loud, too crowded. Watered down Sangria. Unique decor. Smelly messy bathroom. Switched waiters mid order?? Birthday and no free desert for the birthday boy.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Arrived on time for our 7pm reservation, at check-in we were informed reservations running about 30 minutes behind. 90 minutes later, other guests waiting for table started to leave because the restaurant told them they had run out of food. Hostess disappeared to go help bus tables because they had nobody else to do it. We finally gave up and grabbed fast food at 9pm

I doubt I will ever trust a special family occasion with Bucca do Beppo again 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a 6:45 reservation and finally got a table at 8:00pm. When we were seated, we were informed they were out of lasagna. Our server, Nicole, was lovely but it was not the experience I was expecting from Buca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I had made reservations for Christmas dinner. 6:30. Not late in the evening.. We arrived after driving 30 mins downtown. Not only were we told there was a 30 minute wait (even WITH a reservation), but we were handed a sheet of paper with all the food they were out of. It filled a 9" x 11" sheet of paper. Including spaghetti, bread, lasagna, meatballs, rigatoni, etc etc. Looking at it, there was little left. REALLY?!?! They said they had taken twice the reservations they normally do. I'm sorry, don't you take the amount of reservations your kitchen can handle? Not just an infinite amount? So those of us that planned ahead for our holiday dinner with you were left out in the cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

They ran out of most of their ingredients on Christmas and did nothing to try to make it up to the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We decided to go on Christmas since it was open and seemed like a good idea! We got there for the reservation to check in and they did not acknowledge us beyond shoving a list of foods that they were out of in our face. The list included Bread, Spaghetti Noodles, Meatballs, Eggplant, and about 10 more items. Since I was going to get Eggplant Parmesan and my fiance planned to get the Spaghetti we decided that we would give up our reservation to the many other people in the waiting area. We tried to tell the hostess but they did not acknowledge if they heard us or not. So we waited a few minutes - tried to tell them again - and then left. It was a very strange experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They were out of:

Meatballs

Spaghetti

Peppers

Stuffed chicken

Bread !?!

I feel bad for those who had later reservations than ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We made a reservation, but they were running 1/2 hour behind. When we arrived we were told they were out of complimentary bread, spaghetti, meatballs, red peppers, Lasagne, and so many other things. We were very disappointed. How does an Italian restaurant run out of spaghetti???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

we had reservations for 4pm, we were there in time but there was no table waiting for us. we had to wait to be seated. then they were all out of sever items, bead, meat balls rosito and what else i don't remember just now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They didn't have meatballs or bread when we arrived, which is stupid for an Italian restaurant. It looks like they had bread when we were leaving, so I don't know what the hell that was about. Crappy management hung its workers out to dry this day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As always the food was amazing! I absolutely love the Stuffed Shells and we tried the Supremo Pizza and it was amazing as well. This is our 4th Christmas Eve dinner here in a row! I guess it's our new tradition 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food, family atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loud. Tables crowded. Main waitress, Stacey, was aloof. Megan was friendly, happy, had a personality. If i came back i would ask for her. Food was mediocre. Not warm. Dishes didn't included pasta or potatoes. Nice they had gluten free choices, but no gf pasta. Not really a good value for what is served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our server Nicole was very attentive and a good sport when some of our party were teasing her.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was mediocre. Service was terrible, having to ask for drinks multiple times including five request for a Coke. Great for large groups as the tables are all large and pricing was good. However, if you are looking for a memorable evening this is not the place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We arrived and were seated early. It took a server a while to come to our table only to tell us that he'd be back. He never returned. Instead, a young and inexperienced (but very nice) server finally came 5 minutes later. She explained how the restaurant and menu worked and took our drink order. She returned about 10 minutes later with water and our drinks. She took our dinner orders and offered bread and said she'd be right back. It took her a while to return with our drinks and didn't have the bread. The bread came about 10 minutes later without butter or olive oil/balsamic vinegar which she said she had to find. After another 5 minutes she returned with the balsamic and shortly thereafter our salad. Then about 5 minutes later another server brought our entrees. At the same time, our original server reappeared to seat 8 young ladies at the table right next to ours. They were VERY loud throughout our meal and nobody asked them to calm down etc. our server reappeared when we were halfway through our meals to check on us. Then she returned about 5 minutes later to see if we wanted dessert while we were still trying to eat our dinner between a waitress who seemed to be rushing our meal and 8 very loud young ladies. It was a very disappointing experience to say the least. It felt disorganized, rushed, unconcerned about our enjoyment of the food or the time in the restaurant. If that is a typical experience there there is ZERO chance that I'll recommend the restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is terribly overpriced. Sure you get massive bowls of pasta but a family of three doesn't need massive bowls of pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We go to Buca for anniversaries birthdays and anytime we have an out of town guest! It is one of my favorite places in town and has a fantastic sangria

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere! Delicious food! Go with an appetite!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I absolutely love coming here. The food is always delicious and the service never disappoints. This is always the place I recommend when going to the plaza. Ive had two birthdays and a team diner here and everyone loved it. I can't wait till we have the opportunity to come here again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Spicy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food is always good. Service is hit or miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We all gathered here to celebrate my daughter's graduation from KU. The food, as always, was incredible. The only two issues we really had were 1) the table was way too crowded. We had 10 people at one table, and once you got into your seat, you couldn't move. Perhaps you could put 8 people at a table? The other issue was that one of our diners had to use the gluten free menu, which was fine because we got it as soon as we asked for it, but then her food came at least 15 minutes after everyone else's, so we were almost finished eating by the time she got her food. Then the waitress lost one of the credit cards and, although we found it, we had a pretty tense 10-15 minutes looking for it.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.