About Buca di Beppo - Encino

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

17500 Ventura Boulevard
Encino, CA 91316
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Encino Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 995-3288

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Valet parking available for $2.50 and metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
The Metro Bus Line - Encino Avenue stop.

Executive Chef:
Mike Alietti

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Encino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Family Style (6)
See All
Fun (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Casual (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Romantic (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Made a reservation for 9 o'clock, upon arrival to the restaurant, the restaurant was closed. Apparently, having been recently "shut down". Either way, this left me with no reservations on a Friday night for a graduation celebration dinner. A heads up, would've been nice. Some sort of email or call saying they would not be able to accommodate the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Everything was okay, we had added incorrectly for the number of people by saying six plus a high chair. Apparently they counted this as seven people and gave us a hard time when we arrived. Granted, it was Mother's Day and they were busy. However, I don't think it is good customer service to give a customer a hard time when they are bringing more people into the restaraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As soon as we walked in the hostesses greeted us if we had a reservation and if the whole party was there. Our waiter was cheerful, helpful, and patient. He was really on top of everything. Great food! Lots of fun. Awesome Mother's Day!

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good place to celebrate Mother's Day

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had to wait almost 20 minutes for my table when I had already made a reservation.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was subpar for the very expensive price. Service did not makeup for the lack of taste in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Buca di Beppo is feeling a bit dated. The food was okay. It just feels tired. I remember when it was the happening place for groups. They are clinging to large, shared portions of decent food, when a lot of competing restaurants are offering more modern cuisine and not in the gargantuan portions. Maybe change the concept and cater to individual diners.

Tags: Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was definitely an American style Italian dishes they give you plenty the quality was very average the service was poor the ambience was excellent-definitely not worth the amount of money they charge the overall experience was very in inadequate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We have dined at Buca di Beppo Encino many times, almost always enjoyed it a lot. This time was a big disappointment. The server was pleasant when she was around, but slow. They must have left our appetizer platter sitting somewhere for a long time, everything was cold. The "spicy chicken rigatoni" was gummy and not very warm either. The apple walnut gorgonzola salad -- a favorite -- seemed much less flavorful than we remembered. Won't be back unless we have some reason to think that this was just "an off night."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

HORRIBLE Restaurant. Four of us were there to Celebrate my husband's 75th Birthday. The lasagna was OLD, OVERCOOKED with cheese on top that was burned. Dried out NO FLAVOR, BLAND. The Chicken Limone had 3 very SMALL pieces for $23.99???
Our server Brad was not very attentive. We ordered a 2nd bottle of wine but by the time it came 10 mins later we were almost finished eating. WHERE WAS HE with that bottle of wine? It was not that busy for a server to not be attentive. I had put in the reservation that it was my husband's 75th Birthday AND we mentioned it to our server. They didn't come around to sing or Celebrate and we had a coupon for $15 off $30 plus Birthday cake. NO CAKE, no mention and food was BLAND & OVERCOOKED. We asked for our remaining antipasti salad to be packed to go. NEVER GOT IT. Our server said, he never heard us ask hmm? Wouldn't you offer to guest if they want their remaining anything to be packed to go? Brad was smug with an insincere attempt at an apology. THEN he said, well there wasn't much left so he assumed we didn't want it. In their HUGH white bowls some left at the bottom may not seem like much to Brad but it was enough for us to take home. NOT GOOD. We mentioned our disappointment on our way out. NO ONE SEEMED to CARE.
WE WILL NEVER COME BACK THERE EVER AGAIN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Not happy with this visit. Service was very slow. The chicken Alfredo was cold. We were there for 3 hrs for a simple dinner. Not good for a busy Saturday at 6:30.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I agreed with the other reviews. I came with my family. We had reservation and ended up waiting for table. Ordered foods and drinks. Drinks arrived in reasonable time. Foods arrived extremely slow. It tasted very plain. I would not come back and would not recommend Buca in Encino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everyone is so nice, great service and great food, the bar serves up some very good drinks too!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were very disappointed with our experience on March 3. Upon seated we waited close to 20 minutes before we called someone over to see if we could get service. The waiter came finally and stated he did not know he was assigned to our table. Then it took at least a half hour before we were served. We had a brand new waiter and he was very nice so I am not going to fault him on the service as it was his first day. The main disappointment was the food -- it was awful and the linguine and white clam sauce was cold and spicy. The eggplant Parmesan was substandard in it just had no taste, however, it was served hot. We have patronized your restaurant on many occasions so you can imagine our surprise that it was awful. We were there to celebrate my mother's 93rd birthday and when I told them the hostess said ok and then again I told our waiter. The response from your waiter in front of my mother was this -- "we do not do a dessert for patrons on their birthday, you can buy one -- he also mentioned how we could purchase a coupon or join your special club. WOW! We declined to purchase a dessert as our dinner food was awful. I live in Redondo Beach and order quite frequently from that restaurant and the food is always good. Needless to say we will never patronage your Encino restaurant again. Very disappointed because it was my mother's 93rd birthday and was her favorite restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We sat in the bar for a more quiet dining experience. Joe, the bartender, was terrific. Great dinner, fun conversation and quiet!!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very expensive with relatively small portions. Food tasted ok.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was a bit slow and the food was so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great time at Buca on Valentine's Day. The service wasn't the best but it was pretty good considering the place was packed and every employee seemed incredibly busy. The food was great as always and the waiters are very helpful if you're not sure what to order.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines dinner. Service was great besides not bringing the appetizer before the main meal. Overall, had a great time and enjoyed great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Buca doesn't disappoint if you are looking for some good "home" cooking. Restaurant can get very loud, so not great for conversation, but festive fun for parties and group dinners.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good tasty food and friendly service - kinda pricey

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was OK... Food was good but service could have been better. Took 45 min to get our dessert... Will never return again. Sorry

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awful experience. Slow service, understaffed valet and servers, app that came AFTER the entree, cold food, skunked wine, and the icing on the cake - a waitress yelling the f-bomb in front of my daughter in the show kitchen you have to walk through. NEVER returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The room that we were sat in was freezing cold! There wasn't an option to more rooms or to turn up the heat. :( It took a long time to get our garlic bread. The service was exceptional and the food was alright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fair at best

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I would have rated this experience with more stars, but the hostess reprimanded me in front of my entire group of 14 for asking to add another person to our Christmas Dinner Celebration. The wait staff were lovely, however.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Good experience for a Christmas Day dinner. Had reservation for 11 @ 6:15, seated around 6:50. We were warned in advance that another party was coming by at 8:30. At 8:45, as we were literally trying to sign the check (split in half - one pen) the hostess comes by, reminds us that we were warned and everyone should get up while we (the two blocking the door) continued to sign the check. It put a damper on what was actually a fun evening. Lucky nobody wanted dessert or coffee which was offered by the waiter (who should have been looped in to the reservation issue). Good food and excellent service, especially considering the Christmas timing. The hostess could have been nicer and gotten the same result. Too bad but we'd give them another try.

Tags: Private Room, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Worst service ever. Walked in for our Christmas dinner reservation time and greeted by the Grinch. I said "good evening" and she said in a grouchy tone with an angry face "we'll do what we can to get to you, we are busy". Went to the bar and bartenders were great (they earned the only star in this review). Seated for our table and waited, waited, waited. After 20 minutes with no acknowledgement we grabbed a nearby server. She did us a "favor" and took our table over. We were told "no server was assigned to our table". Painful trying to get an order in as our server was running by constantly without stopping. Once ordered, salad arrived but no garlic bread. We requested the bread, utensils and napkins. Nope. 10 minutes goes by. My husband went into the kitchen to get them. We then received the bread and one entree before we could start our salad. No room at the table so we double stacked them like Jenga. Tick tock 20 more minutes. Our other entrees? Something to drink maybe? Nope. The server stopped by for the first time when we were done eating and asked if we wanted our check. We eagerly said yes and asked her to remove the other entrees. She said "they didn't bring them?" Shouldn't she have noticed that? Left a message for the manager yesterday requesting a call back for long time but very dissatisfied customer? Return call received? Nope. Will never go back and plan on following through with corporate as well as Yelp. Ruined our Christmas dinner. Way too many restaurant options on LA. Don't waste your time with these amateurs. Word of advice to management...learn about CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Went for Christmas night dinner wonderful service wonderful attitude fun location enjoyable night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They ran out of clean dishes and glasses. It took an hour and ten mins to get our food and it was an overall horrible experience. You ruined our Christmas eve. Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food I always good and lots of it! We had a great family Christmas Eve dinner! Ghada was a great waitperson even though she was very busy, she made sure we had what we needed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our 15th year of a family Christmas Eve dinner at Buca..This year due to two large banquets going on the food wait was terrible( 1 1/2 hours)..They need better planning next year..Otherwise all was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was mediocre. Low on taste this time. I find that this location has consistently been not as good as other buca locations. Plus they ran out of turkey on thanksgiving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving Dinner with my son. Food was good, but we had a later dinner - 6:45 - and they had run low on Cranberry sauce. The atmosphere is very hard-core Italiano - great photos of every aspect of the Italian American culture as seen in the movies - but better.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server, Laura, was outstanding as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I don't know what it is about this place but every time we come here the wait staff is so overwhelmed. Buca is an insanely indulgent assault on the appetite, and the food, I have to say is never less than great but I'd love to get out of there in less than 3 hours at some point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday with family ranging from 10 months to 85 years old. The staff was friendly and offered suggestions for what would work with our group.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Always love dining in "the Pope" room! Family style is the way to go when with a group of 16, 5 of us celebrating birthdays!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Got to see my daughter for my wifes birthday .It was a lot of fun.Thank you

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Buca is best for parties and large groups. Their meat balls are the best. Wine choices are not top of the line so we usually bring our own. The staff is usually very nice. Best thing is to buy a few dishes and Share share share

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.