About Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis

35 North Illinois Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 632-2822

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking available. Paid public parking in nearby parking structures.

Skywalk available from local area hotels, the convention center and Lucas Oil Stadium.

Public Transit:
IndyGo Bus Service - Market & Ohio Stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Guba

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

65% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Comfort Food (14)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Fun (10)
Casual (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (4)
Romantic (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
People Watching (4)
Spicy (3)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was the most amazing experience of my life never have I thought to find such a place where I could dine as though if I were in Rome. I felt like a king I had Esquires I had clowns. When we received our meal, fireworks begin to be shot in the air. It was so magical. I even got to see a dragon! If I were to be asked again about my experience I would say that it was aight.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A lot of food! But very good! Will be back. Make reservations very busy place.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were quite late for our reservation and they still sat us- it was great. Our salads were good, and we got the seafood pasta. Our calamari was the only complaint- it lacked flavor and was quite soggy. We even sent it back the first time, but it wasn't much better the second time around.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was exceptional by Eddie. We were served very large sharing portions. One dish wasn't to our tasting and so they generously removed the charge from the bill. We would return and recommend to friends looking for a real authentic Italian evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Gymnastics meet get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Waitress was terrible. Food was mediocre. Restaurant was not busy but our order was messed up the entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Seated after 10pm. Slippery floors, foul odors, sketchy back room (yuck) definitely will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

They try hard, but the restaurant is always busier on weekends than they can handle. Reservations are seated 30-60 minutes late. The servers, while friendly, are over worked and don't have time to make sure they do a good job. For example we asked twice for silverware and still waited a good 7 minutes after our food was delvivered before it was delivered by the third person we asked. By then the food was getting cold. Plus the place is packed to the point no one can walk through, and so loud you cannot have a conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very good, great place with a large group

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and food!! Very busy, but we were seated and served quickly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Overall the experience was great. Just a quick little date night, it wasn't very busy which was nice. Service was fast and pleasant, food was delicious. Cocktails were great. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always good, never disappointed.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

They missed my 2 high chair memo and had the nerve to ask if we could put 2 kids under 2yrs in a booster seat. Took longer than expected to get seated and I had a reservation. Finally sat down with my party just to discover a whole room with round tables open and clean-the answered I got was we have reservations...really!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Terrible service seated 45 mins late for reservation & then sat another 15 mins before server arrived .not recommended st all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food with very good service, went early so no a big crowd which was a big plus.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been here many times. As usual, the service was great. However, in the past few years, the food quality has gone downhill. Our appetizers were cold and anything not custom made was also cold (spaghetti / meatballs, fettuccine Alfredo). We ordered Caesar salad with chicken and did not receive chicken. We ordered custom made pasta - and did not receive artichokes in it but got chicken in it that we did not order (did not want meat due to a vegetarian eating). Prior to everyone finishing their meal, we received the bill - we felt pushed out (despite the restaurant not being full and being early in the night). There are better choices in town.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our service was great as the waitress was prepared however the main reason we went there was to sing Happy Birthday to our daughter or son and a granddaughter no singing granddaughter devastated but they tend to 12 colossal brownie no whipped cream the tables around us were saying to how do you think that makes a seven-year-old feel crappy

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was great and our server, Logan, was super friendly and accommodating. Great experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The last couple of times we have been to Buca we have been quite disappointed in the pasta, which is a real shame. Their penne alla vodka used to be my very favorite and I'm sorry to say that it's no longer very good. Quite frankly, none of the pasta seems to be very good anymore. The best part of our meal was actually the roasted garlic mashed potatoes, which we ordered as an afterthought. The meatballs were simply ok. I was just glad that our server was really sweet and our bill wasn't very expensive at all. I don't think we will be going back anytime soon as our last two visits have been a real let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A classic Italian feast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've been to Buccas many times. This time was the worst experience ever! Our food came out cold, waitress had attitude when she came to check on us 20 minutes after dropping cold food off! Chef came to table and said he would have them made again...they microwaved one dish and brought out a pasta dish 40 minutes later. Never did anyone come back to check on us OR comp anything on our bill! Our bill was $300.00 which was for a party of 12..I will never return with the type of service we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The dining experience was a little disappointing as food was served lukewarm. Waitress was very friendly and personable as was the kitchen chef which made up for the mediocre, lukewarm food. A new plate of hot food was served. Signature glasses were not available as advertised.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Bad service and sub-par food not served at temperature will make us never come back. The men's bathroom is one step below that of a truck stop and smells like sewage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 26, 2016

So many little rooms I felt trapped. Sauce was bland, meat ball tasted like ground beef. For $50 I thought it would be a better lunch experience. Not a good place for just two people.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Sam was out waitress. She was very accommodating the minute we walked in. She asked if the table we were seated at would work for our group and I asked if there was a quieter part of the restaurant due to one member of our party having audio issues. She immediately looked for an alternative seating area and found one for us. It made a much more enjoyable and interactive lunch for all. I cannot tell you enough how grateful we all were to get a quieter area. We come to Buca di Beppo every Christmas Day and this was yet another special one thanks to this restaurant being open, all the staff and especially our waitress, Sam!!! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

When we arrived they I'd not have the reservation from Open Table. They said that that had happened to other people. They did seat us within 20-25 minutes. I am surprised the health department hasn't said something to them about having the hostess stand in the kitchen! As the weigh staff was walking through with the food people were sneezing and coughing. Yuck! The food was so-so. Waitress was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service spotty. Very loud and expensive for what we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Buca always has good food and we enjoy eating family style. This time the service was not up to par. Rude staff at the bar that were "too busy", and table service that couldn't keep up. Gave us the feeling we were imposing. Never had that here before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The place was almost empty. I'm sure it was due to the holiday though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had made a reservation and yet still had to wait for 10 minutes beyond our reservation time. Wait staff was not friendly. Restrooms were filthy (makes you wonder about the kitchen?). Food was ok but not a good value for the price. Not the authentic, "home made" Italian food we were hoping for when we read the reviews. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is the second time I ate there with a group and forgot about the super slow service. Food is cold and took about an hour and a half to get food. Server did the best job she could but as usual this place is one of the slowest services in town. Unfortunately I don't think we will return to this location again. This has happened to us three time in a row. Time to move on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Paige our waitress was very pleasant and spot on service

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2016

While we had reservations, we were not seated on a timely bases. We were seated at least 30 minutes after our confirmed time and only after my husband asked two different times. There were four of us in our dinner group. People would come in after us without a reservation, and would be seated. Overall, the food was good, and we will give them another chance.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have visited this location a few times before. It was never offensive and my father in law enjoys the food. This time it was downright uncomfortable. We were seated in a dining room with 3 other parties. The first thing I noticed that everyone still had their coats on. Odd. This was bc the room temp, at that point, was 59degrees. This was at noon. Other customers testified that they had asked the server to change the thermostat and she obliged but it was not conducive to a comfortable meal. It had only reached 62 degrees by the time we left. The thermostat was visible. The bathrooms had floor fans running on high with no explanation. Positively attic. On the food portion, the lasagna was unable to be they would have not have it ready for an hour! The fettuccini supremo came out lukewarm. It was not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was a late business dinner, we pushed the time back twice & they accommodated us willingly. The waitress was super friendly, and attentive...We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Had an 8:00p reservation and weren't seated until 9:00p.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had a reservation and were told they were very busy and we would have to wait a bit. It's seemed a reservation didn't mean anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Very dirty, very loud, we were seated 30 minutes after the reservation time, very slow service, forgot our drinks, food was mis-ordered and had to be redone, food was cold when it came out, seating was VERY tight and crowded and we literally were touching back to back with tables behind us. Awful all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2016

House bread was cold. Wish it could have been warm and fresh out of oven as it used to be.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 8, 2016

If you book a reservation for more than two people, count on being seated separately. We were at this restaurant for our reservation time. They split our party of 10 into two 4 seat booths. We told them that we were not prepared to dine like that and had to wait an extra 40 minutes even though we had a reservation time booked. Following our disappointment, several other large prebooked groups came in that they tried to do the same thing to. It is commonplace at that restaurant.

If you don't mind sitting separately, the food is fantastic! It is served in family style...dishes for 2 people to share or dishes for 3 - 5 people to share....and it is awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Atmosphere was great, food was good, service was lacking. Overall a good dinner and we will most likely done there again.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I arrived an hour early for my reservation and sat at the bar. The bartenders were very nice, but one snapped at my friend who was simply asking about the status of a drink he had ordered awhile sooner. The other bartender was very nice to me however, as it was my birthday.

Unfortunately when I went to be seated they tried to give me three separate booths, completely limiting our ability to speak or communicate. I had to ask to be moved and ended up in a room where if you were not at table's end, you could not leave the table.

The server forgot my main dish and had to go back to get it. He did sneak me a slice of birthday cake.

It was a mixed experience and I doubt I'd reserve for a large party again.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Lot eating here but do not like the tighness of tables. We had a group of 10 and we were crowed while eating.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Service was okay. The spicy chicken and pasta was a LOT of pasta and little chicken, but the flavor was good. The pepperoni pizza was undercooked with thin crust so it could not be picked up. We had to cut it and eat it with a fork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I start by saying I understand that it was a busy night downtown. I had made my reservation through the opentable app and received confirmation. When we arrived 15 minutes early for our reservation we were looked at like we had no reservation. I'm still not sure if we actually were in the system or not. By 8pm when it was our reservation time, we were seated within 5 minutes near the bar. Now we were a group of 10, and the reason I think we never made the system is we were sat in a booth big enough for about 6-8 people. Granted we had 2 small children, but at a family style restaurant; we had no room. They ran out of rolled silverware, no biggie, but could've received some napkins with our basket of forks and knives. My 4 year old is a picky eater, but will eat pizza; unfortunately they ran out of dough, how I still can't understand. So they were nice enough to make her a plain chicken cutlet. They were also nice enough to charge us $11 for that one small piece of chicken cutlet. It wasn't the money as much as the principle that you're out of a basic menu item and charge us for a piece of chicken like it was a full meal. The food really was bland and the best description of the meatballs was rocks. Luckily we have a great family who was laughing and enjoying each other the entire time. I don't think I'll make it a point to visit any of the Buca di Beppo's if this is the type of service I'll receive.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fun family style dining experience. Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Bucas' always pleases with their food and drinks. And we are thankful to always get in for dinner prior to the Circle of Lights tree lighting, but every year we make reservations, we are always seated 30-45 minutes after our reservation time. :( We got smart this year and made them 30 minutes prior than when we actually wanted them at 6 pm and all worked out, just a wasted 30-40 mins in a very crowded waiting area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very disappointed! Had a reservation for a traditional Thanksgiving meal and they ran out of food! No Thanksgiving meal for us...had to settle for pasta:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We made a reservation for Thanksgiving dinner because Bucca di Beppo was advertising a great-sounding meal. We arrived for our 4:30 pm reservation, were seated. We are indicted that we wanted the Thanksgiving feast they were promoting. The server then informed us that they had run out of the Thanksgiving food and we would have to order from the regular menu. We were very disappointed because it was a special meal and too late to make other arrangements. We left without dinner. Thanksgiving fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Everything was perfect and our waitress was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.