Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Buca di Beppo - DC

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

1825 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 232-8466

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Public, paid parking is available parking structure off Florida Avenue.

Valet service is available seven days a week after 5pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Buca di Beppo is approximately a 10-minute walk from the Metro Dupont Cirlce stop, exit NQ.

Executive Chef:
Scott Reynolds

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (11)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (8)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Bachelor party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent but the service stinks. Frank, one of the chefs, did try to ameliorate the bad service by one of the waiters though, so hats off to him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food, Great Service! Very authentic atmosphere.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Usually my husband, son and I are ok when we come here during Police Week every year. Usually there are always HUGE parties (students and/or senior groups usually). So we always make a reservation. This past year, I guess some of the groups were not ready to leave as my reservation and another person's reservation collided. We actually had the host at the door tell us the following -- "Right now there is only one table available so you guys will need to figure out who gets it" -- I was floored. UNACCEPTABLE to actually tell a customer that. Other than that, our visit was fine, but they really need to work on the customer service aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was extremely slow !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was a little slow but overall it was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was good...but it took awhile to get to us so it was a bit cold. Our server had to leave because he got sick, so that delayed our service quite a bit. We waited about an hour for our meal, and they forgot one of our dishes, so it was frustrating with two young kids. I've heard people have had much better experiences at other Bucas, so I'm not sure if it was the location we went to or just the issues with the server.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a fun place to dine and the service is always good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They bussed the table while I was still finished my meal. Took my drink as I was reaching for it. Irritating. I love this place but that may have changed my mind.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Ok, better options in the area. Good for large groups with hungry tweens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very slow being seated. Had to request service from wait staff. Had to wait for the bill. Very understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We used open table to get reservation. We were seated over an hour after our reservation. They host did not know what he was doing. They would seat people in random order and people that didn't have a reservation - if you were standing closer to the restaurant versus the door you got sat first... disappointed in the long wait.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place is a blast for a good time and a lot of food. That being said, the service on Sunday was horrible. It was the first time in my life I did not leave a tip.

If you aren't in a rush, this is a fun place to have a large portioned decent meal over a 3 hour period.

If you want a quick, normal, service oriented dinning experience (something that takes 1.5 hours or less) don't come here.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Our server, Parris, was GREAT!! He was knowledgeable of the menu and offered great suggestions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Came in to DC for a Volleyball tournament. We ordered apps of Little Meatballs and Fresh Mozz & Tomatoes. For dinner we ordered Caesar Salad , Veal Marsala, Chicken Parm and Lasagna and Penne with Rosa Sauce. Everything was delicious and our waiter was awesome. I need a reason to get back to DC so we can go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Casual, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

If you like authentic Italian food, then you will love this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waiters are always pleasant and food is excellent. I always order the Spicy Rigatoni for the entree. The large can serve 5-6 in reality. If I'm with a group we order the fried calamari with house sauce which is excellent. Always a good meal at a decent price.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Private Room, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It took us over 10 minutes before the waitress came to our table. Then it took another 10 minutes or more before we got our drinks. Once we order our food we waited an hour before it came. We only order 4 things. This was my first time to the here and I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The manager was awesome.Loved her support for Blue Lives. The bartender made me fresh squeezed lemonade for my vodka! ❤️

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always love Buca, Even though we always eat too much! The service was excellent! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was a full house. They honored our reservation so that was good. The service was extremely slow maybe because it was Christmas. We waited a long time for our food and drinks but once the food came out (even though they forgot a dish) it was worth the wait. The waiter was so apologitic that we ended up getting free desserts and a percent off the bill. Overall experience was ok. Will try it again but not on a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've had previous occasions in which I'd recommend this family style restaurant for special occasions; however on Christmas day, the restaurant was understaffed, the food quality meh. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was good. Everything was great. Would appreciate if the restaurant followed reservation times. Waited for about 30min after the reservations before we got seated.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were still not seated a half hour after our reservation. The host staff was completely disorganized and was not willing to provide updates. We ate somewhere else. There were a ton of people with the same reservation time as us and nobody was getting seated. It was very unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was dreadful, took over twenty minutes for water to come to the table. It was not that busy as the area we sat had many empty tables. The waiter (Halle) was just oblivious to anything that resembled decent service. He never came around btwn ordering appetizers and main entree's to ask if we needed anything. Once he served the entrees we did not see him for over thirty minutes . For a much better experience, GO to Carmines!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

What a diss appointment--- this is like a Maggiano's type of restaurant. Not a small cozy place, portion are gigantic and the food is not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Perfect place for our large family gathering. The kids loved it, food was delicious, staff very attentive!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Had a reservation for 8. Took about 15 minutes to get seated, not because it was busy, but there was only one host. Also, went there anticipating valet parking (which was there the last time we visited), but there was no valet parking and the garage around the corner was $25.

The food was good and service was ok. Certainly plenty of food and no one left hungry.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Nice italian restaurant. Reasonnably priced. Large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We were sat next to a Christmas work party that had a DJ playing music. We asked to move and we're then seated next to the bar where all of the work party patrons were ordering their drinks and shots. Very loud, which was somewhat understandable given it was a party. However, the other sections of the restaurant were not crowded and we could have been seated more appropriately. Our server seemed untrained for the job. We were not greeted or introduced properly by her and our dirty plates were left in front of us even as we were paying our bill. Our bill (which we asked for twice before receiving it) was supposed to be split evenly amongst four of us, but even that task proved to be too difficult and adjustments had to be made. Dessert was never offered and no final goodbyes were made. Very odd experience with our server which left us disappointed because we have had an fantastic prior experience when we dined at the infamous Pope table. The quality of the food was just ok, so I doubt that we will return anytime soon, if at all. Love the decor and the old Italian family feel. Truly hope others have a better experience in the future!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food, service great! Our restaurant of choice for many celebrations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great for an un-traditional Thanksgiving dinner (though traditional fare is available).

This is our 3rd year doing Thanksgiving here. Our kids love it, not very crowded, food is good, and this time our server and the kitchen service was lightning fast.

The only negative is that the decor looks a bit tired and dusty. Several of the bulbs on the holiday lights and spot lighting were burnt out. But other than that all was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great place for a big group to share unhealthy and delicious Italian-American comfort food and have a conversation w/o fighting to be heard. Wine list a bit weak, but food pleases all non-vegetarian palates.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Buca di Beppo is...Buca di Beppo. Family style no frill but good Italian fare at a decent price. This location is also convenient for large groups.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went to Buca di Beppo in DC for dinner the night before the Marine Corps Marathon to load up on carbs. The food was very good but we were disappointed and surprised to find out that they had run out of meatballs. It was only 7:00! What?!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great time. The food was good and very good size family portions. One salad was enough for 10 of us. They even brought us a cake for my parents anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were seated at the kitchen table, which we have requested. The table was nicely set-up when we got there (reservation for 4). The service was a little slow, our waiter was busy with other tables inside the restaurant and failed to provide a prompt and efficient service to us. But overall, good food, and a great experience for our friends from out of town.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Frozen cake brought out after we had been waiting for 20 minutes. I preordered the cake a week before. The cake was rock hard in the middle. No apologies about the cake or offer to take it off the bill when clearly no one had eaten it and 2/3 of the cake was left uncut. Parts of our order were forgotten and they were out of a selection of wine on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We used a coupon for $15 per person for a special group meal. Server only checked on us once, never refilled my friend's iced tea. I've been here before with much better service, it wasn't even very busy so our waiter should have been more attentive and enthusiastic. Chicken picatta was delicious but spaghetti barely had enough sauce.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I usually like eating at Buca but over all of the years that me and my family have been going there, this day Friday Sep. 16, 2016 was literally our worst experience. We were seated in a large back room with the tables shoved together in the middle of the room. We asked for something more comfortable near the seating area by the bar and the host said "they had several groups that were coming in" We had to deal with very slow wait times this night. Then we were seated by the loudest group of twenty grown people that were talking loud and constantly bumping our seats to get when getting up and down. The chicken Parmesan we tried for the first time and liked it. Due to the noise we did not really enjoy our dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.