About Buca di Beppo - Columbus

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

343 North Front Street
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Nationwide Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 621-3287

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Self parking in nearby parking structures and flat lot (located across the street from Buca di Beppo).

Public Transit:
COTA Bus Service - Nationwide and Front Street stop.

Executive Chef:
Jon Ashworth

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.5

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (27)
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (16)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Casual (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Waiter was good but his delivery of comments was rehearsed and kind of kitschy. Very energetic to the point of wanting to tell him to take a breath. It was busy though.

I would request him again if he would just relax a little and not be so rehearsed.

All in all he was a nice young kid.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Had fun, food and drinks before the Blue Jackets/ Penguins game.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

AVOID this restaurant in the Arena District. I would give ZERO stars above if this was an option. This place does not understand or care about customer service. Shame on me for giving them a second chance after our last horrible visit. After the last visit, I was called by Stephanie who asked for details of the visit. She apologized and said this is not the standard for Buca. She sent us a digital coupon for our next visit. So we tried again. We arrived early for our reservation but were promptly seated. However, we were next to a table for 20 with all of them speaking so loudly we could barely have a conversation. Waiter took our order—drinks, large salad, and two side dishes. Drinks were served and then we waited. After 20 minutes our waiter, Daniel, served a large salad to a couple two tables from us. They called Daniel when he was back in the area and indicated they did not order the salad. He removed it. Fifteen minutes later (35 minutes since we ordered), another waiter delivered our two side dishes. I told the waiter to get a manager. Ken Mackey came over and asked what was wrong. I told him we were leaving. Explained issues with our last visit. The promise by Stephanie that this was not the standard. And now the crappy service again tonight. Of course, he apologized. Gave us his card and said to contact him on our next visit. There will NOT be a next visit. Further I don’t understand why you would need to contact a manager just to get some decent service. This place does not care about customer service. Avoid it unless you like long waits, lukewarm food if you get it, and incomplete orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Bucca is one of my favorite restaurants. 1. I love Italian food, and their dishes do not disappoint. 2. It's an experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful service with an energetic personality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 9, 2017

They forgot us a couple of times. Then they forgot our apps and never refilled our drinks. Sad part was they were not busy and we had two servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

After a long day at the convention center, it was great to sit down to a great pasta meal. Servers were friendly and efficient. My daughter and I shared the shrimp linguine and still had plenty to take home. Comfort food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Way too crowded. Too many people waiting in the lobby for a table, not a comfortable experience. Not are servers fault, but the service was very slow, especially the drink orders. Seemed like they were having computer issues.

Food good as always. But due to the crowds and slow service we were much more rushed to get to the CBJ game than we normally are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a reservation before a Blue Jackets game. Didn't get to our table until 40 minutes after our reservation time. Service was spotty. Entree arrived before appetizer and drinks. But manager made the situation right. Food and drinks both very good. Wouldn't go back when the Blue Jackets are at home.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We ended up with 22 people and only 1 server. She said there would be someone else helping but we rarely saw him. It took a great deal of time to get drink refills.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was great, service was horrible. We never received the complimentary bread and we waited over 30 minutes for 2 beer. Our food was actually served prior to receiving our drinks. Place was packed and the manager did take our appetizer off the bill but I don't think we will be back.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The family and I had dinner on a Saturday night. It's always best to use open table and make reservations before going to avoid a wait. We love this restaurant. We would like the tomato sauce more if it were more spicy and less sweet, but overall a great family treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The seat staff didn't even know what table to sit us at. The waiter took forever to take our order and to check on us thereafter . Food was ok good but not great. Probably wouldn't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First let me start by saying even though our experience started off crappy management they do their best to make it right. We had a reservation at 5:30 and did not get seated until 5:50 which almost made us late for our show at nationwide. The manager did give us an appetizer on the house for the inconvenience. Restaurant was extremely crowded, extremely hot and very noisy. We were running so late we had to cram our food down in what felt like a sauna. As far as the quality of food, it is overpriced Italian, you pay for the ambience!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Normally this Buca is a pretty good place for groups, but we had a not so great experience recently. We had a reservation for 7 and when we arrived the table was not ready. The table was ready about 15 minutes after our reservation time which is somewhat understandable as they were busy, but we got two 4 person tables and had to push them together. I physically had to help because the hostess essentially just stood there while I tried to match up a round and square table next to a giant pillar. The server took good care of us, but our green beans arrived very undercooked and cold. Definitely not the greatest experience and I would consider trying another location next time if there is an event going on.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Server was awesome! Food was fair!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service were both great. We were there before disney on ice, so very busy and lots of families. The family sitting by us was quite loud and very rude. The server and management were very accommodating for them and handle then with respect even though they weren't showing it back. I was impressed with the perfessionalism shown.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A group of us went for my friend's birthday and we were very disappointed in the service. Our server had to be flagged down to get his attention. We asked that he honor my friends birthday and watched this happen at several other tables. However, my friend was never sang too or even offered dessert. Our bills were wrong and it took about 20-25 minutes after we were done eating to even get the bills. As someone who worked in the restaurant industry, I understand that servers can get behind. If this was the case though, a form of communication or an apology was necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, fun atmosphere, great service. Really can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Portions are huge!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Horrible is the best I can use to describe the meal and service. We had a reservation and were promptly seated. Our waiter arrived and took our drink order within a minute of sitting down. We were served our salad and it was fine. That is the end of the good news. We ordered three sides for our meal. Two sides were served and the waiter disappeared. Both sides were barely warm. We wanted to return them but we never saw the waiter again for over 10 minutes. I was finally able to wave him over and asked about the third side and was told it should be coming. A full five minutes later the waiter brought it, dropped it on the table and left with no explanation. Finally got his attention and sent the third side back and asked for our check. Again, we had a long wait for that. Of course sitting way in the back, we never saw a manager to address the issues of no food/cold food. Clearly, we will not eat here again. There are plenty of other choices in the Arena District.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Birthday for my 3 kids, we had fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

When taking reservations be sure to take the correct party when approached for seating. That mistake can cause embarrassment for all involved. Other than that experience everything else was great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was great! We had two babies with us and everyone was kind and friendly!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took forever to get food. Very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The person who seated us didn't bother to wait for us to follow her, we were asked to move tables, the hot food came out before the salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love Bucca. Went here before a Blue Jackets game with friends. The food was great, spaghetti & meatballs & stuffed shells. I just came for the meatballs!! Yum!!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Blue Jackets Game - very busy. Reservations at 6:00 got seated at 6:15 Crowded lobby area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I went to this restaurant to celebrate the 2016 year and look forwards to 2017. I was told by friends that this was a great place, great food and great atmosphere. I ordered calamari and rigatoni. However, a few hours after dinner my stomach was killing me and a few hours into the 2017 year I was nauseated and vommited the whole night. The next day I felt worse and didn't eat anything but I had gotten sick so badly that I contacted a friend of mine who works in a local ER. She said I had food poisoning and that I had to let it run its course and the local ER would do nothing except give me an IV and let it run its course. Its now almost 48 hours later and I feel a little better but the bad taste in my mouth was going here and listening to my friends. Seeking out this restaurant was a big mistake and I have contacted corporate and the Franklin County Health Department. Happy New Year!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Have been coming to Bucca around New Years for over 10 years. This past time was absolutely terrible. Food was below average, service poor and not what we have become accustomed to experiencing throughout the past.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were there for 2.15 hours and never received our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I made last minute reservations Open Table and came to Buca di Beppo tonight for an impromptu date with someone I just started seeing. I hadn't been for quite some time (like 12 years!) so I didn't remember much about it, or what to expect. But since they were one of the only places open for dinner on Christmas Day, and Italian food sounded goodktd, I picked Buca. Damn good decision!! Now I don't know why It's been so long since coming to Buca!! It was fantastic! Very much enjoyed the atmosphere and the way everyone was made to feel at home. Everything from the courteous hostess who seated us (as soon as we walked in the door), to how quickly and attentively we were taken care of by the wait staff. The food was also on point. My date and I shared a small order of the Mozzarella Caprese which was definitely enough for 2 people. Now, being the dumbest "smart" person that I know, I had forgotten that my date is gluten free. So I'm feeling pretty sheepish that I picked an Italian place for our Christmas Day date night, since pasta is pretty much 100% gluten. Wrong!! Buca once again pulled a trick out of their hat when they waiter came to check on us and brought with him A GLUTEN FREE MENU! :). Crisis averted. Now I can pretend to my that I knew all along that they had a gluten free menu, so at this point Buca di Beppo has basically become my wingman. All in all, I couldn't have asked for a better dinner experience. I will most definitely be back, and I would encourage others to do the same! Merry Christmas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 26, 2016

First time to bucca di beppo; and possibly last (to the downtown location at least). Made reservations on opentable on Christmas Day for a last minute dinner date before a trip out of state; The restaurant was slightly busy but nothing out of control. The hostess was prompt, sweet, and seated us 10 minutes early although there was a 40 minute wait for walk ins (which seemed a bit long considering the place didn't look too full). We were shown to the table by a kind older gentlemen, where we then proceeded to sit unattended for 20 minutes. We finally flagged down a young man who was attending a section next to us who managed found our waitress, a middle aged full figured red headed woman (who never told us her name); she signaled to us that she would be over in a minute, but didn't come over for about another 7 minutes. Once she finally took our beverage order, she dropped wet straws in front of us and promptly took them back saying she would go get some more. She never came back. Fast forward ten minutes and we have to flag down the same young man once I spotted he had straws on him. After our waitress returned, we ordered the large calamari to which we were told they were out of (which was understandable), so we skipped right to entrees and got the stuffed shells for 2. The shells were amazing along with the bread served with it. We ordered dessert immediately upon receiving the entree. Finished our entree, sat there for 20 minutes and still no dessert. We had to, for the third time, flag down the same young man and ask him to scratch the dessert and tell our waitress to please drop of our check. He goes off to find her and she appears about 30 seconds later asking if "they" never brought out our dessert. I was incredulous because last time I checked "they" weren't in charge of taking care of your tables and "they" didn't receive the tip. She did take the dessert off even though she tried to convince us the frozen tiramisu was made on the fly because they ran out

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service was slow; when serving, they spilled one dish while serving and brought the wrong dish for another order. The food was average-slightly above average. The staff was pleasant.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

second time seated next to the supplies station. food was sub par but acceptable. the waitstaff was busy but pleasant. will probably not visit again unless set up by someone else.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food. Packed tight due to the holiday. Overall a pleasant experience. Drinks were a bit pricey. 14 for a margarita is a little much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was great. Just need to remember not to get so many large servings. Took a lot of food home in boxes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good food served family style. Wide menu of typical Americanized Italian fare. Busy, but very good service. Everyone's friendly. Expensive wine and cocktails. Go with a group, but make reservations. Not worth it if < 4 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Little worried after reading reviews. We were headed to the CBJ game. But we were seated by our Open Table reservation time, waited on and served promptly. Good food, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our go-to place before CBJ games or small occasions with a variety of ages in large group. We had their pizza for the 1st time and will now add that to their salad, pasta, chicken marsala and green beans that we enjoy sharing!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Buca de Beppo has amazing ambience (old fashioned italian) and I go there to enjoy that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was not good! Usually great food! I had to send my utensils back numerous times... Very upset?!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The server was great. The food is mediocre.

The ambiance is nice but I don't go there often.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I had a reservation for 7:15 and we didnt get seated until 8.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We didn't get seated until 1/2 he past our reservation. Cramped corner seating. Draft beer was warm. The waitress was extremely polite and quick, which was nice since we were running late to our event next door.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had reservations made 4 weeks in advance for 16 people at 5pm. We were on time, actually a 15 minutes early. We were told at 5:15pm that we still had to wait, there was a party ahead of us that was still dinning and should be done soon. Finally at 5:30pm we were seated. People who were coming in after us were being seated, some were big parties like ours. Whats the point of having a reservation?? We could have come in on our own and been seated faster. We had reservations, one we were a big party and second we had a few elderly with us that we knew could not stand and wait. We were not even updated on our status unless we asked. The food was not the same. Bland. We loved our server and if it wasn't for him, we would not be back. Actually that still to be said.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Quick service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was decent. The only problem we had was the service. Our food took over 40 minutes to come out. We saw a few other tables that didn't get their food either. When we got our food we asked for the check as well, since we had a hockey game to catch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We arrived on time for our 5:00 reservation and was seated by 5:10. We gave our server our drink and entree order at the same time about 5:30. We were served our dinner 70 mins later at 6:40. Management comped the entire dinner incl the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Make sure you get a reservation if Nationwide has an event. Watched desk turn away several groups who did not have reservations. Open Table worked great for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.