About Buca di Beppo - Austin

3612 Tudor Boulevard
Austin, TX 78759
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mopac Access Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 342-8462

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free self parking in private lot. Additional parking available in public shared lot.

Public Transit:
Capitol Metro bus stops at Tudor Boulevard and at Hyatt Place.

Executive Chef:
Gustavo Patron

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.5

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

55% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (6)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Romantic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was looking forward to the renovated ver ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was looking forward to the renovated version, walked in for our reservation, and wasn't greeted with a smile or even a "Welcome to...", just stared at. Then asked to wait for 15 minutes while the table was set up. Ordered dinner, process went well, and food was very good quality. Warning: the appetizer prices are family style cost without corresponding amount, like the calamari we ordered. Ended evening on a bad note, we sat waiting for the server to return to our table to end dinner service (by getting the bill, offering to box the family style amount leftovers, clear plates, etc) and sat and say. Asked for him and wasn't able to find the server at all. We sat at least 45 minutes looking at the table of cold food longer than the ordering and eating combined. Finally, my husband got up and did a search, from kitchen to bathroom, throughout the restaurant, to no avail. Server finally appeared, saying "sorry about that", making a dinner that was reserved for 3, one of them a kid, turn into an ordeal of 2 hours for a starter, salad and spaghetti and meatballs, family style.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Birthday for 16 and 17 year old grandson ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Birthday for 16 and 17 year old grandsons

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I loved that it felt so authentic. The s ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I loved that it felt so authentic. The service was fast and waiters were so nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had great fun the the "Pope" room with m ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had great fun the the "Pope" room with my group of 13. Great food and excellent service!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We only went because there was no other ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We only went because there was no other Christmas day. Lol

Really bad food. Ice cream was tasteless. Brownie was stone cold. Terrible. Never again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

My husband and I had reservations at 7:1 ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My husband and I had reservations at 7:15 on a Sunday night and were seated fairly quickly. It was at least 30 minutes before our waiter took our order. Around 8:30, our waiter informed us that another waiter had taken our entrees to another table but that our order was the chef's next priority. Our waiter was not apologetic - his attitude was like "not my fault". We finally received the bread we had asked for 3 times. Our food arrived about thirty minutes later, near 9:00 pm. Our waiter never offered to refill our drinks and ignored our attempts to get his attention. The food was okay - definitely not worth waiting for. We could have received better at a neighborhood restaurant for less money. We finally received our check around 9:30 and left.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

After having set reservations, it still ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

After having set reservations, it still took an extra 45 minutes before we were seated. Then it took another 30 minutes before a server appeared. I accidentally knocked over a glass of water, and our server laughed about it and one of my friends had to ask him to bring something to clean it up with while I was trying to hold back the water that hadn't already spilled off the table. The food was very good, but the overall experience was pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The food is the only redeeming factor T ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food is the only redeeming factor

They do not understand the concept of a reservation. We waited an hour past our time to get our table.

Once we did get our table we were ignored for another 15 min before we met our waitress.

All the food was excellent though. Which is a shame as I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Waited an hour past our reservation time ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Waited an hour past our reservation time; had run out of wine I wanted; expensive for uninspired food; very noisy - couldn't hear across the table (seated in the bar area). Attentive, pleasant waiter. Calm host despite huge waiting crowd.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Thank you for being open Christmas Day. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank you for being open Christmas Day. You guys were a lifesaver! I know it was inconvenient for the staff but it was so appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I were never offered water ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My family and I were never offered water, neither did we receive service. We had made a reservation online and arrived 10 minutes early, however the restaurant was under staffed and the service was horrible. The manager apologized more than three times on several occasions, for both the lack of service and long wait time. Considering my employer had introduced Buca di Beppo to me and my family, I hoped for a decent experience. We will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We made are reservation for a party of 1 ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We made are reservation for a party of 11, confirmed it twice (after being moved to a new location)...and one confirmation made just 2 hours prior to our reservation. The reservation was for Thanksgiving Dinner.

When we arrived we were told there was no Thanksgiving dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Terrible smell throughout the restaurant ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Terrible smell throughout the restaurant. It's the "dirty towel that washes the dining table" smell

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The food was good as always. Chicken par ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was good as always. Chicken parm and spaghetti and meatballs. Service was excellent as was the greeter that actually understood about OpenTable. If you live in Austin and you're closer to the Buca Lakeline Mall location, do yourself a BIG favor and drive to the Domain/MoPac location. EVERYTHING is SO MUCH BETTER at MoPac location!!!!!!! It's like night and day!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My date and I originally had plans to ha ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 10, 2016

My date and I originally had plans to have dinner somewhere else but had to switch up after a power outage hit that neighborhood. At first, I was surprised that I was able to get a Saturday night table at Buca on such short notice, and even more surprised when I could get a parking spot right in front of the restaurant. After dining there, I understood why Buca was as empty as I'd seen it on a weekend. Salad portion was smaller than usual and the lettuce was starting to go brown. Entree chicken was on the dry side and not sauced sufficiently. Service was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good! Plenty in portions!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was good! Plenty in portions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Have been to this Buca many times. Food ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Have been to this Buca many times. Food is usually good. Service is marginal. This time it was a Tuesday. Not many people in the restaurant. We sat in the bar area again. It was very cool again. The AC is cranked down in this area. Very uncomfortable. The bartender is responsible for waiting tables and also making all the drinks for the entire restaurant and maintaining the bar, therefore we had to wait too long again for things and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It was our first time going. They walked ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 1, 2016

It was our first time going. They walked us through the way the ordering is done. Since it is family style dining, it was a bit confusing. Once it was explained by our waiter, we had a better picture. Do not shy away because of the price. The small portions were enough to split between two people and still bring some some left-overs. Make it a dining experience. That's what we did. I suggest reservations!!!!! Open table was the best app for it. Cut our wait time by over 1.5 hrs that we were originally quoted when I initially called.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun times, fair food.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a corner booth in the back, so it wasn't as loud as I imagine other parts of the restaurant were. Overall the ambiance was raucous and fun, which is what I think they are going for, judging by the wall art - basically a collage of photos of Italian-Americans and Italian celebrities. The waiter was friendly and attentive. The kitchen lost our order and so the wait for our food was about 45 minutes, but we were having fun, and luckily, my 6-year old was in a good mood. The lemon chicken was frankly bland. The spaghetti and meatballs was pretty good. The desserts were good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely the worst experience from the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Absolutely the worst experience from the moment we entered until we left. When we mentioned the horrible service to the manager he was indifferent and recommended that we go to their corporate webpage. No wonder the staff doesn't care. They get it from their management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Big portions. Tasty Italian food.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Interesting pictures on the walls. Old style furnishing. Apparent leak, so the back door was open with fans blowing. Their approach to Italian food is very traditional and tasty with large sharing portions. So you do get your money's worth, so to speak, in an average setting. We'd go back for a very casual family dinner mostly for the neighborhood convenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Easter Meal

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We ate here on Easter and to my surprise it was not that crowded. We were sat at the bar at to my relief the noise level was just right. The music was not too loud, not too low. The wait staff at the bar wee very personable and friendly but not too overbearing. I was with my wife, 2 daughters and my dad and we had an enjoyable meal. The food was very good as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just Ok

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 2, 2016

The food is fine, nothing special. Same goes for service, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very Disappointed with staff and management

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2016

Arrived early with no rush on a Thursday night and place was only about 20% full. I've been thinking for a long time that Austin wait staff are the worse I've encountered anywhere in the world and the young lady here lived up to the image.

We ordered wine and she brought it and poured for me (the guy) first and then for my girlfriend, spilling the wine as she half missed the glass. which left the table cloth we for the remainder of the evening.

Appetizers took about 25 minutes to arrive and we never saw her to even inquire why it was taking so long. One the bread and wine were on the table she vanished. When she poured the oil and vinegar she over poured the vinegar to the rim of the plate, about 4 times what is normal and provided only a splash of vinegar. I ended up pouring the oil off into a napkin from the two extra place settings she never cleared from the table.

Veal Parmigiana was ordered and 3 pieces of burnt veal was served up with a smidgen of the sauce. When she made it back to the table a while later my girlfriend had had 2 bites of 1 of the 3 slices and I had about 4 of mine and the rest was still on the large platter. I stated the veal was over cooked, black on the edges with the consistency of tough shoe leather. Her comment was that "Yeah. I noticed"..... I guess she was too afraid of the cook to mention it then or to the manager before serving it.

Manager finally came by and looked at it and agreed it should not have been served. he discounted the entree (which had 90% remaining) by $14 (50%)

Never again here. Nicer places with better service at the Domain or Arboretum in the same price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

Italian for Christmas

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2015

We decided not to cook for Christmas and the original place we tried was over an hour wait. Buca di Beppo had an open reservation. When we arrived, the host was overwhelmed and people were waiting all over. Evidentially large group seating was an issue on Christmas. However we were seated promptly as a party of four. Our waitress was energetic and friendly through out the meal. Our food came out quickly. My dad and brother enjoyed a generous small pizza and my mom and I enjoyed a nicely spiced shrimp pasta. Yum!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved it!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Great gift for Christmas. Didn't have to cook a thing. Has lunch at Lubys and topped the day off with dinner at a place we've never been before and had a great time. This is our go to Italian restaurant from now on! Buca di Beppo is amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad service

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2015

The service was terrible. Took my husband 40 minutes to get a beer. Fettuccine Alfredo was so dry, we asked for extra sauce and it took 30 minutes and then they charged for the extra sauce. Most of the food was just ok ; not terrible. but not great either. Would not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

very bad customer service

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We came on Christmas night. The staff was overwhelmed and it was clear they weren't prepared for the crowd. Awful experience. We'll stay home for Christmas dinner in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Not a great result on Christmas

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2015

I took my family of 5 there for Christmas for a 4:15 reservation. We were seated at about 4:30. Our server promptly brought us water and bread and took our order. The first dish ( tomato, basil, mozzarella in olive oil) was delivered promptly and tasted very good. Our entree item took about 90 minutes to come out, and the 5 pieces of chicken were tiny, overcooked, and dry. Our server started apologizing to us at about the 45 minute mark for how long it was taking, but it still took much longer.

We were interested in dessert and coffee, but we had been at the restaurant for almost 2 hours already. We chose to pay and leave.

Overall, it was a disappointing effort and too expensive for the small amount of food in our main entree. I don't plan to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Super generous portions!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Super generous portions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always good service and good food.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Quirky interior will keep you entertained. Food is reliably good. Portions are huge, so plan on sharing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place for a family get toge ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2015

What a great place for a family get together. Huge portions and amazing quality that impressed the pickiest of eaters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place for larger parties or special occasion

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 13, 2015

I like the family style nature of the dishes and the variety to choose from. The environment is fun and casual and sets a relaxing tone. The food is good. I prefer this restaurant to other Italian chains. Always a nice time when our family visits.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

SO LOUD!!!!

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 6, 2015

Hubs and I took the kiddos to Buca Di Beppo for the first time last Saturday, thinking it would be fun for them. We had a reservation and were seated immediately, however, they seated us in a room with two large parties who were drinking and SO LOUD!!! In addition, we really needed a high chair for our 2 year old, but due to the limited space in the room with the parties, we had to seat her in our booth. I'm sure you can imagine how that went... yeah. Not good. Finally, we hardly saw our waiter. In fairness to him, he was working one of the large, obnoxious parties, but the service was less than spectacular. He basically showed up to take our order and bring our bill but someone else did everything else. We couldn't wait to get out of there... even I was over-stimulated. Will we go back, unlikely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Thanksgiving Lunch

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2015

For our non-traditional Thanksgiving Day lunch we could not have picked a better spot. We got served in a timely manner on a very busy day and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hot

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2015

We were walked all the way through the the restaurant and we were seated as far back as you could go. The farther back we went, the hotter it got. It was stifling where we were seated, no cool air coming from anywhere. was an uncomfortable meal

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

thanksgiving visit

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2015

3Rd holiday at Buca. Will be a tradition every Thanksgiving and maybe other holidays.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanskgiving with Pope Francis!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2015

I made an online reservation for Thanksgiving lunch for a group of 12. We arrived 5-minutes early for our reservation and were seated promptly in the "pope" room that featured a bust of Pope Francis in the middle of the table on a Lazy Susan. Our waiter was courteous, attentive & engaging. The restaurant GM took the time to visit with us in an effort to ensure that our meal and visit was satisfactory. As always, the meal was hearty, delicious & very satisfying! This is the 2nd consecutive year that we celebrate Thanksgiving at Buca di Beppo and we are already planning our third!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!!!!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Everything is good here, food, service, place!! love it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Heather Perry The Pet Loss Center

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 24, 2015

When I called I spoke with J Tracy. She is fun and energetic. She helped me with the menu and suggested wines for our group. Very nice down to earth lady. She even came out and met us and made us all laugh after we had such a long day with our Grand Opening. That woman deserves a raise for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.