Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Brownstone

Brownstone is located at the edges of Boston's Back Bay and South End and just steps from Copley Square. Named after the architecture of the neighborhood, Brownstone has a quaint and comfortable ambience achieved through exposed brick and subtle lighting.

Chef Kelly Snogles has created a comfort-food focused menu with a touch of Southern hospitality. Enjoy our signature brunch items everyday of the week, like the Fried Chicken Crunchy Fried Toast. Or join us for dinner where Chef Kelly's creativity continues to be showcased through dishes like the Smoked Trout Toast or the Short Rib Ragout.

111 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Monday - Friday 10am-3pm, Saturday & Sunday 9am - 3pm, Dinner everyday 3pm - 10pm, late night menu available after 10pm

Cross Street:
Boylston Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-4142

Website:
http://www.brownstoneboston.com/

Public Transit:
Back Bay - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Kelly Snogles

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brownstone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (24)
Casual (18)
Comfort Food (14)
See All
Sunday Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Cozy (6)
People Watching (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

service horrible. food good not great. will try again to see if service improves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent restaurant. Went for brunch and it was fantastic! Service was great, both at the hostess and server level. Food very flavorful without being overbearing. Will definitely go again next trip to Boston.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Get the aglio olio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Came here with my husband for brunch and everything was great. The service was awesome and the brunch food was delicious. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Staff was great, place is cozy and fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife and I had a very nice and laid back brunch. Good service, good cocktails (once it was past 10:00 am) and good food. The only thing I would have liked, even though it was summer, would have been to have a hot chocolate option to warm up with (we ate on a chilly, rainy Sunday). Everything else was great and we have a great morning!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had brunch at Brownstone on Sunday. Service was good. The restaurant was not very busy when we arrived but filled up by the time we finished our meal around 11am. Food quality was good - we had an omelette and the breakfast special which consisted of eggs, toast, home fries, and a meat which they allowed me to sub for fruit. The portions were good but not as huge as you might find at some places. The prices were reasonable - not cheap, but not as expensive as a lot of other restaurants in the area. The only slight negative is that by the time we left they put a table about 1 foot away from ours and seated a couple there, but not a big deal. Overall would recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We ate there before the ball game and then had a Sunday brunch. Truffle Fries were great. Corned beef hash and the duck and sweet potato hash are phenomenal.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Consistently, good brunch option ... accommodating hostess...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Close to Back Bay's T and Amtrak station, and down the block from the upscale end of the Copley mall and several hotels, this neighborhood 'tavern' has a nice breakfast/brunch/lunch menu, great beer selection and comfortable vibe. "Location, location, Location" tips the scales in favor of a visit to explore the menu.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Arrived on time . Good choice of tables. Service prompt and polite. Food good very generous portions . Main dishes easily feed two. Overall a good time

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Brunch was Good, I like that they offer egg whites on their Benny's but my order came with poached eggs at first so I had to sit for 5min while my husband ate. Our waitress was busy so didn't spend much time with us, we had to ask for more coffee, the bill so I felt like I was always looking for her. She was very friendly, I guess just busy. The food was good, just not good enough for me to want to rush back. The benny sauce was HOT, mixed with some spice and I wasn't expecting that. I didn't care for it much but I ate everything. I might give it a try for dinner, just to see if anything excites me.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Live Sports, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food here is always awesome. We had a reservation and were seated quickly. The service was good. Great neighborhood spot. It is a little loud at times. Overall great for food, locatiin and ambience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Brownstone, named after the traditional brownstone buildings you can find throughout Boston, provides a casual, yet professional atmosphere. Perfect for those in Boston looking to get together with friends, with an ambiance providing the perfect noise level for friendly chatter without feeling like the entire restaurant is listening in. The defining dining moment: beer/service, I ordered my go-to 'brew', which I order whenever in New England, but it is not a Mass local, so the server (like any good server) took this opportunity to offer me a comparable. It was a delightful change, this style of service can define a restaurant. Additionally, he was attentive, but understood my guest and I wanted to be left alone to catch up, so he didn't hover like far to many inexperienced waiters do.

I look forward to my next visit to Brownstone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I took my boyfriend to Brownstone for brunch for his birthday and they creatively put a candle in his pulled pork benny -- it was great! We went during the weekday during lunch time and it wasn't very full so the noise level was moderate. The menu isn't super large but it is curated and everything sounded delicious. We ultimately went with the pulled pork benny and the duck sweet potato hash along with the sangria and sunshine for drinks. The wait for food was a bit long but we had our drinks and the food was worth the wait! I highly recommend the duck hash! Our experience here was great and this has become one of the all-week brunch spots I'll definitely come back to. We both had a great time here. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Went for brunch because I'd read so many great reviews. Meh. Waitress was fine, not particularly attentive or engaged, but also not difficult or annoying. I had corned beef hash and hubs had the signature crunchy French toast. Mine was fine - a little greasy, basic level of flavor, nothing bad, nothing to write home about. Hubby thought the crunchy French toast was interesting, but way too sweet. It was an average, run-of-the-mill breakfast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were there for brunch and we all enjoyed our meals. Food was good as well as the service.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The restaurant was extremely loud and the service was slow. The cocktails were inconsistent despite ordering the same drink three times across 2 people. Food was just average. Super disappointed as we chose Brownstone based on reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Requested able was ready upon our arrival!! High top at the window. Lovely server who was very attentive and mindful of one of the diner's lactose intolerance. Never felt rushed by staff.
Food was quite good, not earth shattering but consistent tasty bruch items. A great neighborhood find!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everything was great, except for the server. She seemed distracted and not by the other tables. IT was not very busy she just wasn't checking on us very often and was very slow/forgetful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were searching online for a place for Sunday brunch near the Back Bay and discovered Brownstone. It was a short walk from Copley Square. We're so glad we went. Our meals were absolutely delicious. Crab cake benedict and a Croque Monsieur both with homestyle fried
red bliss potatoes which appeared to be cooked in bacon fat! The crab cakes were full of crab meat and very generous. The eggs were perfectly poached and the hollandaise had a spicy kick that complemented the crab. The Croque Monsieur had delicious black forrest ham thickly sliced with gruyere cheese on french toast with real maple syrup. We enjoyed two sunshine cocktails each - orange juice with prosecco and orange flavored vodka. A filling and totally enjoyable brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Tasty brunch and good drinks. I got the egg sammy which was delicious and bloody mary which was spicy and included a strip of bacon. Hell yes! Great music and nice casual atmosphere. Perfect for catching up with friends over brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

As big Red Sox fans, we frequent the Back Bay Area during baseball season. We've been to many places around Copley and the South End -- and enjoy taking in weekend brunch before an afternoon game. This weekend, we decided to give Brownstone a try. They have a very interesting brunch menu with lots of breakfast and lunch offerings to satisfy all tastes. They also have a good variety of brunch cocktails.

I ordered the crab cake Benedict (which turned out to be spicy) and my wife ordered the pulled-pork Benny. Both were good -- but not remarkable. These courses were a bit on the heavy side and lacked the nuanced flavor of creative dishes from Coda, which is a smaller establishment just around the corner. Having said that, Brownstone is a great place to go if you are really hungry and in the mood for comfort food. The service was very good and it had a fun "Sports Bar" vibe to it. Enjoy!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Pretty inside but the volume of the music made it impossible to converse with friends directly across from me. Never again. Food was fine but nothing notable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It was good solid food. The Duck Brest was really good and the rest of the dishes were good.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went here for Father's Day brunch. Everyone enjoyed their meal - food was great. We were seated right by the sidewalk and, given it was a beautiful day and the window was open, it was great! Our server was named John and he was AWESOME - so pleasant, attentive and helpful. Would go back again no question!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent food for price. Service was slow. Very loud atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great location. Right next to Back Bay Station. The Quinoa burger was great. Portion size was huge. Could only eat half. Wasn't too crowded and the noise level was not great. Food came out quickly.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food is excellent but the service was a little slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The ambiance of Brownstone is a fairly generic. We went for brunch and I have to say, the brunch menu was outstanding and very well priced. Our server was super friendly and attentive. He recommended their Bloody Mary which arrived with skewered olive, lemon, lime and a spicy slab of bacon. Super tasty. The portions were hearty, but not obscene and everyone one of us raved about their order. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were in town for just the weekend and we're staying around the corner. I had lived in Boston years before and never been here before and me and my fiancé absolutely loved the food!!!! We came here for brunch 2 days in a row!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Waitress was awesome. Pretty little place. Food was great! Will revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Had a reservation. We got there a little bit earlier than expected the hostess was very nice and got a table for us anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food awesome as always and had a great waitor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Fried chicken and french toast 👌🏼

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Delicious, reasonably priced brunch. Great and timely service. The sunshine (their version of a mimosa) is particularly tasty.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a gift certificate from a friend, so we decided to check it out. We were seated right away (had a reservation), server got our drinks in right away (good sized beer selection) and allowed us to look over the delicious dinner menu.
We split the deviled eggs and truffle fries -- both delicious and worth an order.
Then we each got a sandwich (burger and chicken) with caesar salads on the side.
The food was tasty, reasonably priced, came out in an adequate time.
All in all, the experience was very pleasant. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was ok. Service was ok. Took awhile to get anything. Dont think I would order the buttermilk pancakes again too doughy. Coffee was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

There is nothing wrong with Brownstone. But nothing exceptional, either. Food is good. Service is friendly. Atmosphere sort of dark paneled sports bar. The blueberry pancakes were a bit heavy for my taste, but others in our party thought them fine. The frittata looked beautiful and, according to the person who ordered it, was excellent. Sunny-side up eggs and home fries were decent. When we asked the server about what tasted like burnt or old coffee, she said it had been brewed less than an hour before, and the strong taste was because they use Columbia beans. Uh-huh. But there was no excuse in not having either skim milk or soy milk in a town like Boston. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I made a res for 5 but we ended up being 6. The occasion was a laid back brunchelorette.
They turned a table around almost instantly to accommodate my error. This was my second time here- service has always been great! Food was yummy, inventive but not pretentious - and they have a decent beer selection. The vibe is relaxed, so you can dress your outing up or down and not feel out of place. The volume is boisterous but not deafening.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.