Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Brownstone

Brownstone is located at the edges of Boston's Back Bay and South End and just steps from Copley Square. Named after the architecture of the neighborhood, Brownstone has a quaint and comfortable ambience achieved through exposed brick and subtle lighting.

Chef Kelly Snogles has created a comfort-food focused menu with a touch of Southern hospitality. Enjoy our signature brunch items everyday of the week, like the Fried Chicken Crunchy Fried Toast. Or join us for dinner where Chef Kelly's creativity continues to be showcased through dishes like the Smoked Trout Toast or the Short Rib Ragout.

111 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Monday - Friday 10am-3pm, Saturday & Sunday 9am - 3pm, Dinner everyday 3pm - 10pm, late night menu available after 10pm

Cross Street:
Boylston Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-4142

Website:
http://www.brownstoneboston.com/

Public Transit:
Back Bay - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Kelly Snogles

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brownstone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (24)
Comfort Food (17)
Casual (17)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Fun (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Live Sports (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (2)
Romantic (2)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was ok. Service was ok. Took awhile to get anything. Dont think I would order the buttermilk pancakes again too doughy. Coffee was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

There is nothing wrong with Brownstone. But nothing exceptional, either. Food is good. Service is friendly. Atmosphere sort of dark paneled sports bar. The blueberry pancakes were a bit heavy for my taste, but others in our party thought them fine. The frittata looked beautiful and, according to the person who ordered it, was excellent. Sunny-side up eggs and home fries were decent. When we asked the server about what tasted like burnt or old coffee, she said it had been brewed less than an hour before, and the strong taste was because they use Columbia beans. Uh-huh. But there was no excuse in not having either skim milk or soy milk in a town like Boston. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I made a res for 5 but we ended up being 6. The occasion was a laid back brunchelorette.
They turned a table around almost instantly to accommodate my error. This was my second time here- service has always been great! Food was yummy, inventive but not pretentious - and they have a decent beer selection. The vibe is relaxed, so you can dress your outing up or down and not feel out of place. The volume is boisterous but not deafening.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for mother's day brunch. The pulled pork eggs benedict was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, and the french toast was fabulous as well! The presentation wasn't as great as I was expecting, but it was very reasonably priced for how good it tasted! Good selection of brunch cocktails as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my wife here for Mother's Day Brunch. Great brunch selection -- many interesting choices like "sweet potato and duck hash" which was excellent. The prices are very reasonable with the exception of the cocktails which are almost as expensive as an entree. Parking is difficult, as with many places in downtown Boston. Server was friendly and offered several suggestions. Would definitely return and recommend!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

terrible food and poor service. We went for dinner and everyone had terrible experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was perfect! The food, ambience and service were top notch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Brownstone was really good. They took our reservation with only twenty minutes notice for 7 people which was awesome for a Friday. Reasonably full priced. Service was a bit slow but was a good experience!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had a couple beers and a few apps with friends after work. Service and food was great. Perfect for a casual bite.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good food, fun place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very happy with our server, Tyler, who made sure we well looked after. Great place to dine comfortably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Jocelyn is such an amazing server! I make sure to ask for her every time 💕

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I would give this place a zero star if possible. One of the worst services and extremely rude. The servers had an attitude and hostess was totally indifferent. They gave us a booth with torn seats and when we asked to move they showed an attitude. We walked out of the place. I would recommend to stay away from this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was amazing- food-service-ambience. It was a super cozy bar/pub type atmosphere with hearty & delicious, yet not too heavy, food combos - and the servers went out of their way to be efficient, informative and friendly.

My only request would be to please squeeze a changing table in the restroom! I one-handed it on the sink top, but otherwise would have had to change my baby in the booth where we were seated.

Despite this, I'd go back & highly recommend to anyone! They made us feel welcome with an infant- Thank You!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Brownstone, when we arrived, was sparsely packed. The menu wasn't extensive but the Caesar salad I got was delicious and filling. We are from Indiana and we felt like it was very much a "Boston" restaurant that we couldn't experience elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had Sunday brunch there and it was very enjoyable. The food was very good, reasonably priced and our server was excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We were there for brunch today and the food was spectacular! Enough of a varied menu so everyone found something great, but not overwhelming or random. Definitely recommend and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Getting there early allowed for the first half of the meal to be quiet with a splendid​ soundtrack of favorite songs. The service was friendly but inatentative with no offers of coffee refill. With the exception of the over cumined potatoes, the food was top quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Waitstaff was fun and pleasant. Food quite good and reasonably priced. Nice selection of beers. We did not feel rushed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Had the chicken sammy, was fantastic. French fries were also very good. Good beer selection. Recommend it for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Pulled pork Benny never fails as the best brunch food in Boston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was great. Service was awesome. Great place for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food,great atmosphere and excellent service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Surprised they didn't have more specials for St Patty's day, a bit disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Blech it was awful. we got our entire meal comped. would not recommend unless you were JUST drinking.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had a really yummy dinner here and the server was excellent. We were a bit late, but were still able to get a spot. Would definitely recommend and will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Highly recommend! Great menu, excellent for weekend brunch! Great food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Brownstone is one of my go-to brunch spots. When you're in a pinch and everywhere else is booked, you can usually count on them to have some room. That's not to say the food and atmosphere isn't good - in fact, it's great, and reasonably priced too. Equally good place to stop for a few drinks after work during the week, a first date, or casual brunch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Average food, reasonable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for Brunch while some out of town relatives were visiting. The food and drinks were amazing and our server was excellent. However, I do need to comment on the fact that the hostess greeted us when we arrived, she said they were just cleaning off our table, pointed to it and said she would be right back. The people that had been sitting there were on their way out the door when we walked in, and a busser came over right away to clean off the table and re-set it for us. Well the hostess had completely disappeared and after waiting and staring at our clean table (and many other empty tables) for 15 minutes with lots of employees just watching us and walking right by, we finally asked the bartender what had happened to her. A few minutes later she came sauntering out and acted as if we had only been standing there for a minute or 2. Not a great way to start off our experience. fortunately the food and our waitress completely made up for our initial frustrations.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I erroneously made reservations to dine at the Brownstone in the wrong State - Massachusetts.

My experience at the Brownstone in Edgewater, NJ was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good meal. Steak frites cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A bit loud but good food. Went for v day dinner but it was reallly loud

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food is not well prepared, looks and tastes bad. Super noisy. The girl welcomed me seem very friendly but the waitress was rude and gave me a dirty look when I ask for questions. I would dfinitely not recommend this restaurant to any one. I think they still have business is because of the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our waiter was awful, but the food was tasty and the environment was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great neighborhood place with equally great food and staff. Everything freshly prepared and brought out as son as it was done. Definatley will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was good, but very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

very underwhelming. we went to support the greater boston food bank and were not treated the same as other customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I had the duck sweet potato hash and it was great. Portion size wasn't overwhelming but the quality was fantastic. House coffee tasted fresh as well. Didn't see if they had more coffee options on the menu but think an expanded coffee menu with latte's and such would be good for the brunch crowd.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Outstanding food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.