About Brownstone

111 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Brownstone is located at the edges of Boston's Back Bay and South End and just steps from Copley Square. Named after the architecture of the neighborhood, Brownstone has a quaint and comfortable ambience achieved through exposed brick and subtle lighting.

Chef Kelly Snogles has created a comfort-food focused menu with a touch of Southern hospitality. Enjoy our signature brunch items everyday of the week, like the Fried Chicken Crunchy Fried Toast. Or join us for dinner where Chef Kelly's creativity continues to be showcased through dishes like the Smoked Trout Toast or the Short Rib Ragout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Monday - Friday 10am-3pm, Saturday & Sunday 9am - 3pm, Dinner everyday 3pm - 10pm, late night menu available after 10pm

Cross Street:
Boylston Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-4142

Website:
http://www.brownstoneboston.com/

Public Transit:
Back Bay - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Kelly Snogles

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brownstone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Casual (11)
See All
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Romantic (3)
Live Sports (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great Beer (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Special Occasion (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A bit loud but good food. Went for v day dinner but it was reallly loud

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food is not well prepared, looks and tastes bad. Super noisy. The girl welcomed me seem very friendly but the waitress was rude and gave me a dirty look when I ask for questions. I would dfinitely not recommend this restaurant to any one. I think they still have business is because of the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our waiter was awful, but the food was tasty and the environment was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great neighborhood place with equally great food and staff. Everything freshly prepared and brought out as son as it was done. Definatley will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was good, but very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

very underwhelming. we went to support the greater boston food bank and were not treated the same as other customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I had the duck sweet potato hash and it was great. Portion size wasn't overwhelming but the quality was fantastic. House coffee tasted fresh as well. Didn't see if they had more coffee options on the menu but think an expanded coffee menu with latte's and such would be good for the brunch crowd.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Outstanding food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food in a bar-like environment. The good out-classed the venue and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband and I came for brunch today. He had the duck and sweet potato hash which he is still raving about and I had the egg Sammy. But the star here was the crunchy French toast that we split. It was amazing! Highly recommend ordering it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My second time there. Love the creative menu and how tasty and delicious everything is. such fun menu

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic breakfast our waiter Tyler was awesome great spot for a couple of family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was friendly & on point, good food & nice atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Waiter was not very friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everything was good with the exception of the people in the next booth. They were so loud we could not hear ourselves think. We even asked the waiter to speak to them, but he ignored our request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for a weekday brunch for his birthday. The server took a long time to greet us after we sat down. By the time he got to us, we were ready to order our drinks and our food. We told him so, but right after we both told him our drink orders, he rushed away. When we were able to flag him down again, we ordered food and asked for water. The water didn't come until the food came, which was a bit longer than usual also, and we had to remind the server to bring the water. We then didn't see the server again until he dropped the check on the table. (At which point, we politely asked for another round of drinks.) Although the service was some of the worst I've had in Boston, the food was amazing! We hadn't expected Brownstone to be on point for weekday brunch, but it absolutely was. We'll come back again for the food, and hopefully for better service next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Pleasant surprises- The pork belly tacos as an appetizer was an absolute perfect way to start the meal ;the duck with pork belly fried rice delicious ! only disappointment was that they were out of the peppermint mocha tiramisu dessert we wanted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great brunch menu, food is always great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Cool hip energetic. The food was upscale bar food. It was fine. Not fabulous.. good value.. great ambiance. Great energy.. we would go back. FYI.. this reservation was for dinner.. but brunch at a previous sitting was 5 star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Best food!! So delicious and great service! Get the friend chicken and French toast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was good. Waiter was nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Crab cake Benny was a great surprise and the frittata was a great presentation and was very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is not a fancy place, but the food is very good. We had Sunday Brunch, and everyone enjoyed their meals. The Crabcake Benedict and Sweet Potato Duck Hash were excellent, and omelets very good as well. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had brunch here and enjoyed it. The food was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Really enjoyed our lunch at Brownstone. Staff were friendly, service was food was great! Would recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Duck and sweet potato hash was the best brunch meal I've ever had in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our waiter was exceptional and I apologize for not knowing his name. I asked if I could have scrambled eggs instead of poached eggs for Eggs Benedict. My request was granted, no problem. Very busy eatery so make a reservation. Everyone was happy with their brunch. Would suggest they improve the lighting. It is too dark along the rear exterior wall, you can not read the menu and not where you would want to sit on a beautiful sunny day unless you have a hangover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went here as a group of 5 for a Friday night dinner. We wanted a nice meal, cocktails and conversation before going to a show. The drinks were well made, although over priced. It's the south end though so that was expected. Food was underwhelming and over priced. We couldn't carry a conversation because people were very loud and milling around our table, so it wasn't an ideal dining experience. The place offers a sort of upscale menu, but definitely doesn't have the vibe for it and the food didnt deliver for the price. I'd only go back for a cocktail at the bar or for brunch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Brownstone is a very loud place. It's extraordinarily frustrating. At some point in our society, it was decided that 'noise' equals 'excitement'. Even OpenTable's site shows "energetic" for the highest "Noise Level". I've never found that to be true. The music is loud, so the patrons in turn are louder. You find yourself yelling at/to the person across/next to you and at/to the server. The bar scene at Brownstone (on a Friday night) was filled with twenty-something's all using sentences riddled with "like". "We were like, walking down the street, and this woman like, almost hit me! I was like, 'hey'" but she like, ignored me. She was like, so rude!" The food is good for a bar; and I mean 'bar'. The burger, good; crab cake, good - however if serving fish, tartar sauce would be a nice alternative to the spiced aioli. Brownstone is a bar with food; it's not a restaurant with a bar. Its web site tells us, "Brownstone is a gem in a city known for world-class culinary offerings", but only if that 'gem' is a cubic zirconia. It looks nice and it's shiny, but it ain't a diamond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were seated in the back near the kitchen during lunch. It was very warm, dark, and loud. Unfortunately we could not sit by the windows. Note to self to request that next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We were in Boston for a quick, 48-hour work trip and were hoping for a Tuesday brunch spot. Brownstone was a great find! The open windows allowed us to sit near the crisp outdoor air. The brunch/lunch menu had so many delicious things that it was hard to narrow down just one.

We ended up sharing the (house made) corned beef hash. The hash was seasoned well, and the breakfast potatoes were perfectly cooked. My co-worker paired it with their spicy bloody mary, and I had the house sangria -- both were delicious and strong.

I'd recommend this spot to anyone looking for good food, good service and a local neighborhood vibe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It is terrific to find an excellent restaurant in this busy neighborhood that will take a reservation. They did a great job accommodating our vegetarian interests without sacrificing flavor and style. A great value for dinner and for brunch.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazing brunch and excellent drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Noise level out of control. Cannot hear anything. Need to yell to hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Service was terrible. Food was extremely mediocre. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great Manhattans and service... The chicken sandwich was moist and meaty!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went to this restaurant with many friends for Brunch on my birthday. They gave us a very big table, had great service, food was delicious (plates are huge). Definitely recommend for similar occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great brunch spot! We had a great table right by the window which was nice! Breakfast cocktails were tasty but I would recommend they offer a bottomless mimosa!

Entrees were very tasty- traditional entrees were good- as expected. The pulled pork Benny was the star! The combo of the pork and Mac and cheese sauce was delicious! Crab cake Benny was good too but have had better crab cakes.

Service was great- waiter was attentive and friendly! Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food and great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Too noisy for a date but great for a group of friends out for brunch.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went to Brownstone for brunch - yum! So many good things to choose from on the menu. Two of us got the fried chicken and French toast - that was quite good, both to a newbie to the dish and to another who had had it before elsewhere. Third member of the party got the combo which was pretty traditional, though with banana pancakes - they said they could put whatever you wanted in them and the banana pancakes did not disappoint. Service was great at first (very helpful with choosing what to order) then she kind of disappeared for a bit. Getting water and coffee refills took some more effort than other places. The coffee was good - not outstanding but definitely drinkable on a daily basis. Overall a very good meal. Thanks Brownstone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Crunchy French toast is to die for !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. I picked it because I loved their menu. Both old favorites and some interesting twists; something for a picky eater and also someone who likes to try different things. I was a little disappointed in my Bloody Mary. I thought it tasted weird. My husband really liked his, so maybe it was me. I ordered a pasta with fried egg, and I enjoyed it but got the sense the pasta was never stirred while cooking. And it had a little too much olive oil. The focaccia that was served with it was burnt. I mean, black. I'm not a sender-backer, but I thought serving black toast was unacceptable. It was promptly replaced by toast that had been waved over the toaster: the other extreme. A little odd. I still enjoyed the meal and my friends did too. One person had the steak and scrambled eggs and it looked really good. The value was good- reasonably priced and generous portions. I would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, great service, great value. A hidden gem in the middle of many other restaurants in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was great as was the ambience. We went for brunch and the food wasn't particularly great. Home fries nothing special. And French toast – one order was deep-fried and another was overly sweet. What was exceptional was the fact that I ordered a crabcake Benedict and the poached egg was made perfectly with a runny yolk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Too loud for a friends get-together but the food was good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The French toast was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great brunch spot! We had good service, great entrees, including pulled pork Bennie, eggs Sammy, duck hash and combo.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for brunch. Everyone was happy with the food. My pancakes were delicious. Also, the house Bloody Mary is top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a lively group of eight who each enjoyed their food and cocktails. Our waiter was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.