About Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits

155 South Palm Canyon Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Voted “Best Pizza in the Desert” 4 years running,
What makes a great pizza? It starts with a great oven! Ours is an authentic wood- fired masonry oven where the fire has burned constantly since the day we opened. Modern gas and electric ovens cannot produce the intense heat needed - over 700 degrees - to achieve the crispy, smoky crust that our oven provides. With dough made fresh daily in-house, our goal is to make the best pizza in the desert!
In the mood for something a little fancier? Our famous mini-burgers, Pan seared atlantic salmon, 16 oz grilled Rib Eye steak or matchbox fish and chips? Our chef's dishes are simply and classically prepared! You’ll find our appetizers and entrees well seasoned & hearty, never bland. The challenge? Build an interesting restaurant in an expansive second floor space that includes outdoor seating in historic Downtown Palm Springs! The matchbox experience takes place in an engaging atmosphere designed & custom-built.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 11:30am - 11:00pm
Sunday- 11:30am - 10:00pm
Happy Hour 4pm - 6:30pm everyday

Cross Street:
Taquitz Canyon / Arenas Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 778-6000

Website:
http://www.matchboxpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating! Want more privacy? Not only is balcony seating available, but we are also two semi-private rooms from which to choose!

Our menu is equally divided into two parts, the first features incomparable thin crust pizza. The second, our bistro menu, consists of a wide selection of chef-driven entrées.

Parking Details:
There are many parking facilities in and around matchbox, the closest being the parking lot behind matchbox but if this is full then there are many others you can choose from just a short walk away, these may charge a nominal fee due to not being public parking.

Public Transit:
There is one transit stop 50 yards from our building on the main strip of Palm Canyon Drive, in down town Palm Springs.

Executive Chef:
Ignacio Zayas

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, matchbox is the perfect venue for your special gathering or celebration! Winner of the prestigious 2004 RAMMY Award for Best New Restaurant in Washington, DC, our second location in Downtown Palm Springs is an exciting restaurant with a decidedly hip and urban feel.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Estrada: 7607786000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From June 1st - the 10th Matchbox will be featuring our 3 course $24 per person Restaurant week menu. In addition to our restaurant week menu which can be viewed at www.palmspringsrestaurantweek.com we will also be offering our full pizza menu.

Matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating!

Restaurant Photos

Strawberry Cream Pie - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Oven-Dried Tomato + Fresh Mozzarella - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Blueberry Lemon Drop - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Half And Half Pizza Fire + Smoke And Pizza Italian Salami - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Simple Green Salad - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Matchbox Mule (Cocktail) - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Lost Coast Great White Beer - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Arancini - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Spicy Meatball Pizza - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Moscow Mule - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Fire & Smoke Pizza - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Spinach Salad - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Black Mission Fig Pizza - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Sliders - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Ahi Tempura Roll - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Port Wipeout  Ipa - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Pizza Roll - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Hofbräu Dunkel - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Fish & Chips - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
shrimp salad - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Pesto Chicken Pizza - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Sausage Pizza - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Prosciutto & Fig Pizza - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Bistro Burger - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Calamari - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Matchbox Meat Pizza - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Grilled Halibut Special - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Grilled Romaine Steak Salad - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
lemon tart - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Bacon burger - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Russian Mule - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Spicy Ahi Tuna Tempura Roll - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Cedar Plank Salmon - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Risotto - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Ephemere Apple Beer - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA
Mini Bur - Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits, Palm Springs, CA

Brickworks American Bistro + Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
People Watching (10)
Scenic View (8)
See All
Comfort Food (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Wood Oven (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Romantic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love going to the Matchbox on Thursday n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love going to the Matchbox on Thursday night. There is a street fair just below and it's fun to look down on all the action. Finding parking is the only drawback, so leave a little extra time. The food, service, and value are top-notch. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typical bistro type food. The menu did n ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Typical bistro type food. The menu did not have anything different from most other bistros. Salad, pizza, without any creative twists.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Matchbox is one of my favourite places t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Matchbox is one of my favourite places to take guests. The staff is outstanding and so is the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hamburger, pizzas were good, litt ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great hamburger, pizzas were good, little to burnt crispy on the edges. Fries, blah. Weak cocktails, service meh, though not bad. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

We always enjoy this place, balconies ar ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We always enjoy this place, balconies are made for people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Matchbox every year during our ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We visit Matchbox every year during our trip to Palm Springs. A patio table is worth the wait for people watching down on the street. Food is always good as is the service.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sat on the patio overlooking the street, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sat on the patio overlooking the street, nice ambience... service was exceptional/friendly/fun and food was just as inviting!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matchbox is always so reliable. Excelle ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Matchbox is always so reliable. Excellent reasonably priced pizzas and salads, efficient servers, and full bar. The Palm Springs restaurant, perched on the second floor, offers a variety of outdoor spaces that are great for people watching.

Tags: Quick Bite, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always good food and great service. G ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 14, 2016

As always good food and great service. Great for people watching if you can grab a balcony seat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Matchbox is one of our favorite go to sp ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Matchbox is one of our favorite go to spots in Palm Springs. We take all of our friends and family who visit, here. Food is great and service is wonderful, also friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Put on hold for 15 minutes trying to mak ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Put on hold for 15 minutes trying to make a phone reservation. Gave up, used Open Table instead, got an email confirmation, but they couldn't find my name when I got there. Was then seated in a weird location then sat there with no one tending to me for anorther 15 ministers before I got up and walked around looking for a server. Food? It was fantastic. But this place is extremely disorganized, laid out weirdly, and it all ruined the experience for me. Oh, and then I got the email from Open Table accusing me of not honoring my reservation. Cannot recommend the food due to the brain damage required to endure it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Surprisingly good. Sit outside if possi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Surprisingly good. Sit outside if possible. Makes the experience more enjoyable. For what appeared to be a run of the mill establishment, the food was quite tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time going- meatball appetizer a m ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 1, 2016

First time going- meatball appetizer a must! Our daughter loved it.

Kid friendly and we had incredible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We always come to their happy hour (unti ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We always come to their happy hour (until 6pm everyday)/ Their food is very good and love to sit at balcony. Very friendly services too.

Tags: Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was forgettable.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Matchbox Palm Springs appears to be a pl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Matchbox Palm Springs appears to be a pleasant sandwich/pizza type restaurant. Unfortunately, the menu provided on OpenTable is NOT the menu for this restaurant. Instead, according to the staff there, is the menu for an entirely different Matchbox, not in Palm Springs and possible not in California. So, do not use the OpenTable-provided menu as a criterion. The staff there was friendly and the facilities OK, but don't pay any attention to my food ratings since we left and had dinner elsewhere. Not their fault and the place looked perfectly fine, but not what we wanted. Beware in this case. Never experienced this before over many years and dozens of restaurants using OpenTable. It's a mystery.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Great pizza. Location is terrific and p ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great pizza. Location is terrific and parking is easy. Ambiance is fine, lots of outdoor seating.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was promptly seated with a private patio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Was promptly seated with a private patio table. Courteous service. Very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately we went to Matchbox specif ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Unfortunately we went to Matchbox specifically for Fish and Chips only to find out after we ordered... they were out! Also, there is a 16oz. PBR can listed on the beer menu... we were told, they don't carry that anymore. It would have been nice to know these things upfront. Food we had was very good. Great pizza!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great upstairs restaurant on the main dr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great upstairs restaurant on the main drag of Palm Canyon in downtown Palm Springs, with both indoor and outdoor dining. Balcony tables overlook the boulevard. Great American menu with meat and fish dishes, wonderful pizza, and a wide variety of salads and sandwiches. We shared a wedge salad, chicken pizza and divine calamari, all of which the restaurant split into separate plates for us in advance. Exceptionally gracious service. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pizza was amazing. Service was great

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Pizza was amazing. Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took family for the first time. Everyone ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Took family for the first time. Everyone enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dinner menu was average but for the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The dinner menu was average but for the price it should have been great! If you stick to pizza and drinks it will be a good time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service and wait time for food was very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service and wait time for food was very poor. Pizza was good but salads and other items lacked flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

You will not get Open Table credits; the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 5, 2016

You will not get Open Table credits; they will not give. Probably because of brand new ownership. Other changes occuring according to staff; many plan on leaving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

It was good. Love the Matchbox Meat Pizz ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2016

It was good. Love the Matchbox Meat Pizza. I can't believe I ate 2 lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't dare try to go here during a long ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Don't dare try to go here during a long weekend or holiday. We waited almost 2 hours to get our food. We should have just left, but we kept thinking, "well it's been this long, it shouldn't be much longer, right?" Waitress never checked up on us, we had to flag her down to get refills. I wondered if they forgot to put our orders in. Food was NOT worth that wait. It seems like the service industry in Palm Springs can't handle large/holiday crowds. Every where else we went, the service was terrible too. But Matchbox Palm Springs, we all agreed, was the WORST experience we have ever had at a dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

The service and ambiance was great! I or ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service and ambiance was great! I ordered the chicken, and it was not at all what I expected. It was like a fancy version on Kentucky Fried chicken. Definitely will stick to ordering pizza, since it is the specialty for this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

The appetizer was not to our liking and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The appetizer was not to our liking and after returning it we still were charged for it. The pizza was brunt black around edges but we tried to eat it. We were still charged for the entire meal. No I will never go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellebt Pizza. We sat outside on the ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellebt Pizza. We sat outside on the balcony. Great people watching on a good weather night.

I highly recommend Matchbox for Pizza. Far exceeded my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun Place! Its located in a super great ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fun Place! Its located in a super great location above the heart of downtown palm springs and has tables on the balcony overlooking the action down below. The service was great. Started with calamari which was very tasty. I had salmon that had rice, sausage & tomatoes under it. Each component was bland by itself, but when eaten together it was uniquely good. The salmon was cooked perfectly. My husband had the pork chop & was underwhelmed. It was a bit dry & boring, but the brussel sprouts & cauliflower mash that came with it were good. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For some reason I was underwhelmed. The ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 14, 2016

For some reason I was underwhelmed. The setting was nice and we had a view of the street below. The service was very friendly, professional and attentive. What was lacking was the food, it was just pedestrian at best. The pear/Apple salad lacked pears and apples, and the chicken was dry...tasting like it was nuked right before it came out. My dinner companion was equally underwhelmed with the pizza. Maybe it was just a bad night in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Very crowded and noisy place. Best suite ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very crowded and noisy place. Best suited for the college crowd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Great place! Service was top notch, and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place! Service was top notch, and the food was incredible. Will definitely be back and soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow took us 1 1/2 hrs ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was very slow took us 1 1/2 hrs to get food and an order was wrong on top of that

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Fun restaurant with a good vibe. The pi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fun restaurant with a good vibe. The pizzas are very good. I especially like the fire and smoke pizza. For the most part, well worth the price. The single exception is the meatball appetizer which, while it tastes good, is not worth $14..

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The burger and fries are better at Ruby' ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The burger and fries are better at Ruby's across the courtyard, and the full size salad portion is skimpy for the price. Overall, not a good value and we won't return. Very sorry to report this because our server and the manager obviously cared to try to give us a good experience. They get an 'A' for effort but the food preppers and quantity policy makers at Corporate get a 'C' at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Delicious pizza with crisp, thin crust. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious pizza with crisp, thin crust. We were pleased to find that Happy Hour prices included our pizzas, as well as our tasty house margaritas! Service was prompt and friendly, and our food came to table very quickly. Entire staff was welcoming, polite, and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was great ......

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was great ......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place always delivers great food an ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place always delivers great food and service. We ordered salads and pizza, I think this is the best pizza in the valley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.