Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Brickworks American Bistro + Pizza

Voted “Best Pizza in the Desert” 4 years running,
What makes a great pizza? It starts with a great oven! Ours is an authentic wood- fired masonry oven where the fire has burned constantly since the day we opened. Modern gas and electric ovens cannot produce the intense heat needed - over 700 degrees - to achieve the crispy, smoky crust that our oven provides. With dough made fresh daily in-house, our goal is to make the best pizza in the desert!
In the mood for something a little fancier? Our famous sliders, pan-seared atlantic salmon, 16 oz grilled Rib Eye steak or brickworks fish + chips? Our chef's dishes are simply and classically prepared! You’ll find our appetizers and entrees well seasoned & hearty, never bland. The challenge? Build an interesting restaurant in an expansive second floor space that includes outdoor seating in historic Downtown Palm Springs! The brickworks experience takes place in an engaging atmosphere designed & custom-built.

155 South Palm Canyon Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 11:00pm
Sunday- 4:00 pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour 4pm - 6:00pm everyday

Cross Street:
South Palm Canyon / Tahquitz Canyon

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 778-6000

Website:
http://www.matchboxpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating! Want more privacy? Not only is balcony seating available, but we are also two semi-private rooms from which to choose!

Our menu is equally divided into two parts, the first features incomparable thin crust pizza. The second, our bistro menu, consists of a wide selection of chef-driven entrées.

Parking Details:
There are many parking facilities in and around matchbox, the closest being the parking lot behind matchbox but if this is full then there are many others you can choose from just a short walk away, these may charge a nominal fee due to not being public parking.

Public Transit:
There is one transit stop 50 yards from our building on the main strip of Palm Canyon Drive, in down town Palm Springs.

Executive Chef:
Ignacio Zayas

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, matchbox is the perfect venue for your special gathering or celebration! Winner of the prestigious 2004 RAMMY Award for Best New Restaurant in Washington, DC, our second location in Downtown Palm Springs is an exciting restaurant with a decidedly hip and urban feel.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Estrada: (760) 778-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From June 1st - the 10th Matchbox will be featuring our 3 course $24 per person Restaurant week menu. In addition to our restaurant week menu which can be viewed at www.palmspringsrestaurantweek.com we will also be offering our full pizza menu.

Matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating!

Brickworks American Bistro + Pizza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Wood Oven (17)
See All
Happy Hour (15)
Fun (15)
People Watching (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Scenic View (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Fireplace (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great Beer (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Another great dining experience just as we expected. Service is polite and attentive and the food quality is well above most other restaurants in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Really liked the old Matchbox. Also glad Brickworks kept the same menu. Just not quite as good. Can't put my finger on it. Kitchen chefs need to step it up a bit. Otherwise, a great spot to eat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Looks like they're still trying to find their way through the shadow of Matchbox. We were very well treated and looked after. The food is only slightly different than Matchbox. Not better or worse, just a little different. I like this place and will be back. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We sat on the patio overlooking the street - beautiful night and the patio was perfect. The bread with garlic butter appetizer was tasty - crust was very good. I added shrimp to the Rosa Rigatoni pasta dish - creamy and delicious. The lemon cheesecake was a little too "lemony" for my taste. The hostess and server were friendly and accommodating. You won't regret dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went twice on visit to Palm Springs great burger and fantastic pizza. Thought drinks were pricey vbut food reasonable price. Waiters both visits were excellent. Will be back next year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Good menu that is straight-forward. I wanted salad, and I wanted steak... but I didn't want both. They have the option to add ~7oz steak to the salad, which was perfect. deserts looked good, but didn't go that route. On the nice side of casual, I'd say.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The view is everything here and without a patio table is pretty blah 😋

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We came here with our children to celebrate my husband's birthday on a weekend trip from LA. It was delightful- we were seated in a private balcony over the Main Street, and our waiter- Errol- was a perfect gentleman. The beet salad and black bean Ban Mih were great for me, the vegetarian; my husband and kids got really good pizzas. Extra special was that Eroll brought the pizza makings to our table and our children assembled their own before it was baked. All in all, lovely!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We stopped by during late afternoon. The happy hour specials are unbeatable. Handcrafted pizza is one of the happy hour specials, and is fabulous at any price. Also, I loved the sliders, also on the happy hour menu. Good selection of beers, too.

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our server and hostess were indifferent. It took 45 minutes to get our salad (which I had to ask for). We ordered 3 different pizzas which seem to be their specialty? They were very average...at best. Doughy bottom-not wood oven crisp like they claim. Toppings were mediocre. Our cocktails were good, but they better be at $12 each. Family of four for drinks, one salad and pizza cost us $100 before tip. Totally not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great place for delicious brick oven pizza. We had great seats on the balcony overlooking Palm Canyon Drive. Great service and we went on a Wednesday, which is half price wine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Decent place with a casual atmosphere. We opted for the private balcony area for 2 which over looks the action on Palm Canyon, which is the way to go, that being said, not sure how many special occasions you'd want to dine at a casual place like this and reserve a private balcony, but given some of the other noisy crowded areas, I'd still recommend doing so. Oscar was our server and he did a great job.

For drinks, we were there on Wine Wednesday so all wine (bottles or glass) was half price. We opted for the Malbec and at $32 retail, the 50% off was a great deal. Salad was OK, but it said it was a pear salad and pretty sure it was missing the pear and the apples were dried and not fresh which wasn't in the description either. I'd say the only minus. The wings were good and we opted for the Buffalo, which had a kick but not too much. (They have both a mild and crazy hot option as well)

Finally, the pizza, which is one of my favorite places for pizza in the city. Very crispy crust that was cooked in a brick oven. Very few places do this and this pizza is miles better than Giueseppi's. We built our own with Sausage and the Mushrooms, which even those were delicious.

The pizza is the way to go if you venture here. Sorry, we passed on the dessert so you'll have to check out other reviewers for that.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 28, 2017

It was our first time at the Brickworks since the restaurant changed owners. We were very happy with the pizzas and the salads. The Matchbox was always one of our favorite restaurants and Brickworks did not disappoint. We will return many times. Our server was very good and it was a very nice special evening. Thank you.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wonderful new find in Palm Springs. Service and food is top notch. Martinis are well prepared. We have been there twice during our stay.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We always liked matchbox very much, but saw some iffy reviews of brickworks. Tried it anyway and had a fantastic dinner!! Great service, excellent pizza, pasta, salads and fish and chips (beyond great). Recommend very highly.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Less than stellar restaurant. Went here with 5 adult family members. Asked for quiet area when calling to make the reservation and was assured we had a nice view of the outside in a quiet area. Instead, we were seated in the pathway where servers and patrons walk. Asked to move to another area but they couldn't or wouldn't accommodate our request. The music was too loud but they did turn it down a bit when we asked. Food was sub-par. One dish was inedible. Everything was overpriced and no one in our party enjoyed their food. Alcoholic beverages were watered down. On the plus side, our server was outstanding and provided excellent service. Unfortunately the food and ambiance didn't match that. The facility looked old, tired and dirty. Wish we hadn't wasted our time and money on this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Thank you so much to Desiree for putting up with our group, making us laugh, and doing an awesome job serving our table. Great night!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We arrived 15 minutes early at 6:45. I was told where to wait and that we were guaranteed a table at 7. I was told someone would come and get me at 7. At 7:04 I went back to the podium and was told it would be just a few minutes. We were left standing for another 5-6 minutes. Through my own persistence and nagging we were finally seated at 7:20.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is a fun place, in the best location, on the Palm Springs strip. Happy Hour is a great deal with yummy menu and bar options, and also amazing people watching.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a wonderful table on the balcony overlooking the Villagefest Street Fair. The food was wonderful as well as the attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The wedge salad was very good. They even split it for us. Although, it took a long time to be served. The pizza was also very good. The water service and table (bus) service was good.too. The wait service was terrible. The waitress was never seen again after our order was placed until she brought the check. Other people served the food. We wanted to order more drinks and mentioned it to the bus staff, but no waitress ever appeared. She showed up for the first time long after we finished eating. Nice table outside, a little more off the street and on the second floor balcony.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great selection for Happy Hour. Really enjoyed dining outside.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We asked for and got an outside table. It was a beautiful full moon evening and because we were dining with a friend, it also allowed for conversion. Perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

As a regular customer of the Matchbox restaurants in the Washington, DC area, I was curious to what extent this establishment (which I had visited when it was a Matchbox) differed since its name and ownership change last fall. The answer: not much. Still around are the matchboxes set into the tables, oblong menus printed in red and black, and food runners wearing black T-shirts with the legend "3, 6, 9" (albeit in a different font).

The Matchbox recipes continue to be in use as well. The sliders contain the usual crispy onion straws and nice brioche buns; however, the beef patties here were thicker (and harder to keep in the bun) than any I recall at a DC Matchbox. Pizza was also good, although the toppings on our veggie pizza seemed to weigh down the bottom crust.

One difference between this establishment and DC Matchboxes persists: It is considerably less frenetic, possibly because it is on the second floor of a shopping complex, access is set off from the street, and most of the dining area in inside. But the food is a good deal better than some of the more prominent restaurants downtown.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a great meal. We had made a reservation online, we were seated promptly however we got a table that was in a corner surrounded by walls. I asked one of the waiters if we could be moved and he put us at a table outside on the patio right by their blade sign. It was great! The service was awesome, food was awesome and overall experience was great.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service! Beautiful table overlooking Palm Canyon Drive. Food was very good. Fun place!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a beautiful dinner with my wife out on the balcony overlooking Palm Canyon in Downtown Palm Springs had the wild Murasaki calamari with apple jalapeno jelly wedge salad and fish and chips it was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had their white pizza with olives. So delicious we ordered a second one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service was excellent! We all enjoyed our entrees too!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good local place - it was our first visit since they changed the brand from Matchbox to Brickworks, and the pizza is still great. Good happy hour specials and pricing available too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Fun, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The Brickworks makes a great pizza and loved the appetizers.
We were there on Thursday for the Street Fair.
We enjoyed the atmosphere and the service was very good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The service was excellent! If you can get a balcony table I highly recommend, it made the meal even more special! If you go make sure to get the bread with the garlic butter, it will blow your mind!! Make sure to save some of the butter for your pizza crust

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Glad they survived the transition Fromm Matchbox. Love the food here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This is a very casual pizza type place. We were lucky to get seating out on one of their little balconies, which was fun, but the food is just so so. We ended up here because it was very busy in Palm Springs and most of our go to restaurants were busy. I think it is mostly tourists that eat here. The staff is very nice and friendly there and they get an A+. The rest is ho hum.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 20, 2017

When we got on the elevator I knew things were amiss. It was filthy and there was a soda can in the corner. It was Modernism Week and they were overwhelmed by the crowds. The waiter was friendly, but he was also not dealing well with the crowd. The Matchbox was our "go-to" restaurant, but the Brickworks is not up to their standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Hostess did not seem to have a clue what was going on. Poor bartender was trying to fill drink orders and wait on the people sitting at the bar. Management needs to tighten this operation up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great atmosphere and decent food but brutal service. Took 30 minutes just to place our drink order and 60 minutes later we were still waiting for our food to arrive and never managed to get a refill on our drinks the entire night. A lot of potential but needs help on execution to make it worth revisiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

A really bad night. Two hours and ten minutes to get served one round of drinks, a split salad and a cold pizza. Staff seemed to be overwhelmed by a holiday weekend crowd. The server was friendly when we saw him, but it took 10 minutes to track him down to pay the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Requested and confirmed a special balcony table while visiting for our vacation with our 11 year old who chose this as her birthday meal. Instead ended up with a table in a hall area with a view of the kitchen. Requested 4 times to have the heater turned on and finally got it going by our table mid meal. Food was okay, nothing exceptional.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

When we first showed up, the girl at counter just walked by without greeting or smile so I thought "uh-oh" but the guy at the computer greeted us and showed us to table. I don't like when it starts out bad so I am very critical. Pizza is good but their entrees are a bit overpriced for a place like that We had salmon which was cooked fine but the vegetable of the day seemed old. The steak sandwich was great--tender meat and came with chips instead of fries. Good place to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.