Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Brickworks American Bistro + Pizza

Voted “Best Pizza in the Desert” 4 years running,
What makes a great pizza? It starts with a great oven! Ours is an authentic wood- fired masonry oven where the fire has burned constantly since the day we opened. Modern gas and electric ovens cannot produce the intense heat needed - over 700 degrees - to achieve the crispy, smoky crust that our oven provides. With dough made fresh daily in-house, our goal is to make the best pizza in the desert!
In the mood for something a little fancier? Our famous sliders, pan-seared atlantic salmon, 16 oz grilled Rib Eye steak or brickworks fish + chips? Our chef's dishes are simply and classically prepared! You’ll find our appetizers and entrees well seasoned & hearty, never bland. The challenge? Build an interesting restaurant in an expansive second floor space that includes outdoor seating in historic Downtown Palm Springs! The brickworks experience takes place in an engaging atmosphere designed & custom-built.

155 South Palm Canyon Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 4:00 pm - 11:00pm
Sunday- 4:00 pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour 4pm - 6:00pm everyday

Cross Street:
South Palm Canyon / Tahquitz Canyon

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 778-6000

Website:
http://www.matchboxpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating! Want more privacy? Not only is balcony seating available, but we are also two semi-private rooms from which to choose!

Our menu is equally divided into two parts, the first features incomparable thin crust pizza. The second, our bistro menu, consists of a wide selection of chef-driven entrées.

Parking Details:
There are many parking facilities in and around matchbox, the closest being the parking lot behind matchbox but if this is full then there are many others you can choose from just a short walk away, these may charge a nominal fee due to not being public parking.

Public Transit:
There is one transit stop 50 yards from our building on the main strip of Palm Canyon Drive, in down town Palm Springs.

Executive Chef:
Ignacio Zayas

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, matchbox is the perfect venue for your special gathering or celebration! Winner of the prestigious 2004 RAMMY Award for Best New Restaurant in Washington, DC, our second location in Downtown Palm Springs is an exciting restaurant with a decidedly hip and urban feel.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Estrada: (760) 778-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From June 1st - the 10th Matchbox will be featuring our 3 course $24 per person Restaurant week menu. In addition to our restaurant week menu which can be viewed at www.palmspringsrestaurantweek.com we will also be offering our full pizza menu.

Matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating!

Brickworks American Bistro + Pizza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Scenic View (9)
See All
People Watching (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Family Style (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great location in the heart of Palm Springs. We make it a point to stop here overtime we visit the area. Great service and our favorite place for pizza. Balcony patios available but its often too hot to eat outside. Inside decor is very inviting. We love it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Good food and service was great! Enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

great salad... large enough to share...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always the calamari is amazing with the Apple jalapeno jelly the pizza was cooked to perfection the wait staff was excellent and the view was just beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Best wedge And cheddar burger I've ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I have been coming to this restaurant for the better part of 10 years - first as Matchbox and now as Brickworks. The main reason for my addiction are the hamburger sliders, excellent beer choices, and amazing shoestring onions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was a bad experience for us at Brickworks. First, they sat us next to a party that was so loud and obnoxious, the restaurant should have requested that they calm down. Next, we ordered a salad to arrive as our appetizer, but it never showed up until our entree. We sent it back, but the waiter was not very apologetic, and, typical of waitstaff in this Valley, really did not have the good customer-service attitude of waiters in cities where they actually care about customers. Maybe this place caters to tourists. We are locals, and we won't be back. My pizza was overcooked and undersauced. The caesar salad that my partner got AS HIS ENTREE (not the pre-entree wedge we wanted as a starter) was horribly bland. It's a pity, because our first visit here was so much better. If they'd teach staff the art of customer service and get little things like "salad before entree" correct, we might try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good food, great price

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I loved this restaurant wgen it was Matchbox. He pork chop was a reason to eat there. I sold the idea to our friends. We had three irders if dry pirk chop. Will not go back. The menu items I loved are changed or gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I thought the crust was some of the best I had in Palm Springs. Service was pleasant. Could have been better but not bad. I would definitely go back for the 🍕 pizza

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We had the fig and prosciutto pizza. The crust was good, but I didn't care for the sauce and the pieces of prosciutto were too big to eat without making a mess. The salad was good as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food, outstanding service, the wait staff is very attentive and professional.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Enjoyed both the food and service, especially the black bean burger .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great! Food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The meal was enjoyable. The star of the entire thing was the pizza bread with the incredible garlic butter that comes with it. I wanted to just eat the butter. The beet salad was really tasty. Pizza was good. Had a nice ipa from Great Divide. They had a nice beer selection. Server was nice and helpful. The bussers were very attentive and polite. Will definitely come back and order extra pizza bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Another great dining experience just as we expected. Service is polite and attentive and the food quality is well above most other restaurants in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Really liked the old Matchbox. Also glad Brickworks kept the same menu. Just not quite as good. Can't put my finger on it. Kitchen chefs need to step it up a bit. Otherwise, a great spot to eat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Looks like they're still trying to find their way through the shadow of Matchbox. We were very well treated and looked after. The food is only slightly different than Matchbox. Not better or worse, just a little different. I like this place and will be back. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We sat on the patio overlooking the street - beautiful night and the patio was perfect. The bread with garlic butter appetizer was tasty - crust was very good. I added shrimp to the Rosa Rigatoni pasta dish - creamy and delicious. The lemon cheesecake was a little too "lemony" for my taste. The hostess and server were friendly and accommodating. You won't regret dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went twice on visit to Palm Springs great burger and fantastic pizza. Thought drinks were pricey vbut food reasonable price. Waiters both visits were excellent. Will be back next year.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good menu that is straight-forward. I wanted salad, and I wanted steak... but I didn't want both. They have the option to add ~7oz steak to the salad, which was perfect. deserts looked good, but didn't go that route. On the nice side of casual, I'd say.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The view is everything here and without a patio table is pretty blah 😋

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We came here with our children to celebrate my husband's birthday on a weekend trip from LA. It was delightful- we were seated in a private balcony over the Main Street, and our waiter- Errol- was a perfect gentleman. The beet salad and black bean Ban Mih were great for me, the vegetarian; my husband and kids got really good pizzas. Extra special was that Eroll brought the pizza makings to our table and our children assembled their own before it was baked. All in all, lovely!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We stopped by during late afternoon. The happy hour specials are unbeatable. Handcrafted pizza is one of the happy hour specials, and is fabulous at any price. Also, I loved the sliders, also on the happy hour menu. Good selection of beers, too.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our server and hostess were indifferent. It took 45 minutes to get our salad (which I had to ask for). We ordered 3 different pizzas which seem to be their specialty? They were very average...at best. Doughy bottom-not wood oven crisp like they claim. Toppings were mediocre. Our cocktails were good, but they better be at $12 each. Family of four for drinks, one salad and pizza cost us $100 before tip. Totally not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great place for delicious brick oven pizza. We had great seats on the balcony overlooking Palm Canyon Drive. Great service and we went on a Wednesday, which is half price wine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Decent place with a casual atmosphere. We opted for the private balcony area for 2 which over looks the action on Palm Canyon, which is the way to go, that being said, not sure how many special occasions you'd want to dine at a casual place like this and reserve a private balcony, but given some of the other noisy crowded areas, I'd still recommend doing so. Oscar was our server and he did a great job.

For drinks, we were there on Wine Wednesday so all wine (bottles or glass) was half price. We opted for the Malbec and at $32 retail, the 50% off was a great deal. Salad was OK, but it said it was a pear salad and pretty sure it was missing the pear and the apples were dried and not fresh which wasn't in the description either. I'd say the only minus. The wings were good and we opted for the Buffalo, which had a kick but not too much. (They have both a mild and crazy hot option as well)

Finally, the pizza, which is one of my favorite places for pizza in the city. Very crispy crust that was cooked in a brick oven. Very few places do this and this pizza is miles better than Giueseppi's. We built our own with Sausage and the Mushrooms, which even those were delicious.

The pizza is the way to go if you venture here. Sorry, we passed on the dessert so you'll have to check out other reviewers for that.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 27, 2017

It was our first time at the Brickworks since the restaurant changed owners. We were very happy with the pizzas and the salads. The Matchbox was always one of our favorite restaurants and Brickworks did not disappoint. We will return many times. Our server was very good and it was a very nice special evening. Thank you.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Wonderful new find in Palm Springs. Service and food is top notch. Martinis are well prepared. We have been there twice during our stay.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We always liked matchbox very much, but saw some iffy reviews of brickworks. Tried it anyway and had a fantastic dinner!! Great service, excellent pizza, pasta, salads and fish and chips (beyond great). Recommend very highly.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Less than stellar restaurant. Went here with 5 adult family members. Asked for quiet area when calling to make the reservation and was assured we had a nice view of the outside in a quiet area. Instead, we were seated in the pathway where servers and patrons walk. Asked to move to another area but they couldn't or wouldn't accommodate our request. The music was too loud but they did turn it down a bit when we asked. Food was sub-par. One dish was inedible. Everything was overpriced and no one in our party enjoyed their food. Alcoholic beverages were watered down. On the plus side, our server was outstanding and provided excellent service. Unfortunately the food and ambiance didn't match that. The facility looked old, tired and dirty. Wish we hadn't wasted our time and money on this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Thank you so much to Desiree for putting up with our group, making us laugh, and doing an awesome job serving our table. Great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We arrived 15 minutes early at 6:45. I was told where to wait and that we were guaranteed a table at 7. I was told someone would come and get me at 7. At 7:04 I went back to the podium and was told it would be just a few minutes. We were left standing for another 5-6 minutes. Through my own persistence and nagging we were finally seated at 7:20.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had a wonderful table on the balcony overlooking the Villagefest Street Fair. The food was wonderful as well as the attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This is a fun place, in the best location, on the Palm Springs strip. Happy Hour is a great deal with yummy menu and bar options, and also amazing people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The wedge salad was very good. They even split it for us. Although, it took a long time to be served. The pizza was also very good. The water service and table (bus) service was good.too. The wait service was terrible. The waitress was never seen again after our order was placed until she brought the check. Other people served the food. We wanted to order more drinks and mentioned it to the bus staff, but no waitress ever appeared. She showed up for the first time long after we finished eating. Nice table outside, a little more off the street and on the second floor balcony.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great selection for Happy Hour. Really enjoyed dining outside.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We asked for and got an outside table. It was a beautiful full moon evening and because we were dining with a friend, it also allowed for conversion. Perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

As a regular customer of the Matchbox restaurants in the Washington, DC area, I was curious to what extent this establishment (which I had visited when it was a Matchbox) differed since its name and ownership change last fall. The answer: not much. Still around are the matchboxes set into the tables, oblong menus printed in red and black, and food runners wearing black T-shirts with the legend "3, 6, 9" (albeit in a different font).

The Matchbox recipes continue to be in use as well. The sliders contain the usual crispy onion straws and nice brioche buns; however, the beef patties here were thicker (and harder to keep in the bun) than any I recall at a DC Matchbox. Pizza was also good, although the toppings on our veggie pizza seemed to weigh down the bottom crust.

One difference between this establishment and DC Matchboxes persists: It is considerably less frenetic, possibly because it is on the second floor of a shopping complex, access is set off from the street, and most of the dining area in inside. But the food is a good deal better than some of the more prominent restaurants downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a great meal. We had made a reservation online, we were seated promptly however we got a table that was in a corner surrounded by walls. I asked one of the waiters if we could be moved and he put us at a table outside on the patio right by their blade sign. It was great! The service was awesome, food was awesome and overall experience was great.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.