Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Brazil Grill

WELCOME TO BRAZIL GRILL
Come & enjoy Portland"s Best Value in fine dining while experiencing Oregon's FIRST authentic Brazilian Steakhouse or "Churrascaria".
Our reasonable, fixed price menu means you get to select from our freshly made, Brazilian-inspired salad & side bar, which includes vegetarian & gluten free items.
Our traditional "stop-go" system allows you to decide when you are ready for you next course, by turning the disc on your table from red to green.

Skewers of deliciously seasoned, rotisserie meats are then carved at your table by roving gauchos eager to please your palate. YUM! Save room for our cinnamon-sugar roasted pineapple at the end of the meat rotation. If you like pineapple you will think you've died & gone to heaven! SO GOOD! We also offer desserts, a full bar menu specializing in Brazilian cocktails, wines & brews. So come in, relax, celebrate the day with a "Caipirinha" Brazilian national drink & DINE LIKE NEVER BEFORE.

1201 SW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: From Monday through Friday 4:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
Saturday and Sunday 3:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
SW Jefferson & SW Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-0002

Website:
http://brazilgrillrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind the restaurant includes handicapped parking spaces as well as the adjoining lot behind the cosmotology school. Street parking in front of the restaurant and across the street.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Welcome to Brazil Grill. Oregon’s first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse! Family Owned and Operated. Downtown Portland’s Best Value in Fine Dining. The restaurant is available for private functions Monday-Friday

Brazil Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
See All
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Fun (22)
Authentic (18)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Kid-friendly (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
782 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner was a little disappointing. I've been to Brazil Grill a few times before and the food and service was much better. The food seems to have gone downhill a bit, lacking flavor and dry. The service was slow and inattentive. I noted on the reservation that it was my birthday and it wasn't mentioned by the staff at all. We ordered chicken livers and we were warned it would take 10 minutes. It took 25 minutes because the server didn't put the order in to the kitchen. May try them again but for a hundred dollar meal for two we probably will go elsewhere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 10, 2017

This is our favorite place. Food is amazing bit pricy not for everyday but for special occasions is perfect. Costumer service on point. Create place

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

If your into packing away some meat this is one of the places U would choose. 12 different types of grilled meats & interesting fried polenta. Never tried the P B4 & don't think Nonna would get it! Overall place is good for client dinners and the occasional special meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We love it here! Always feel welcomed and like we are the only ones they have to take care of. They all take great care of you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Everything is generally great. Except this time, the young man acting as our waiter . Was slow and wouldn't check on us for drink refills. Had to keep asking him . I was drinking coke, and my buddy was drinking beer . That was the only issue. I usually dine here every 4 to 6 weeks. These last two months i have been here 5 times trying to introduce friends to the experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and were seated immediately. The service was excellent. The food quality was excellent as well. Overall, it was an exceptional experience for our entire party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

All of our serving staff was fabulous. Very friendly and accommodating and always right there when we needed them. Two of us had never been to Brazil Grill before and loved it. As we left they were making plans to come back again! Thank you!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

They forgot to assign us a server, so we waited for water for a while and even to pay the bill. Salad bar is small but good. Next to us there was a Kids's party so it was a little loud. The waitress was talking to the kid's parent for a while so the gauchos were going to another direction and we weren't getting meat until I asked one of the waiters for assistance. The food is amazing, but service needs some improvement. The waiter apologized in the end, but they saw us there before and did nothing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went there for anniversary celebrations, my husband and I and our daughter and her husband. It had been recommended to us by our other daughter. It was fabulous! Our son-in-law can be kind of picky and he loved it. I don't know know how they keep the meats so moist and tender, but they were all wonderful. It was a fun, new dining experience.
And the servers were great. Our waiter was very good.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Meat was delicious but I expected way more food for the sides for the price!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food is always good here. The sirloin was a bit too done, but the tri top, ham, and pineapple were delicious

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This place is good if you want a quiet dining. The place was not packed on a Friday evening so that may change depending on how many people are dining in. We had a bottle of wine that was overpriced but it was ok. That's what you pay for in every restaurants too anyway. The meats were a little bit dry but their grilled pineapple was awesome! Also, the salad bar was good too! My boyfriend and liked the potato salad and the broccoli salad.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our first time eating Brazilian style food The meats were excellent and the grilled pineapple was a refreshing treat. We will be back

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Fantastic! Don't pass up on the grilled pineapple, it is out of this world. Service was excellent as well. Overall, great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Anniversary dinner, did not disappoint. Service was outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Open from 4:30 to 9:30. Reservations at 7:30pm. Surprised the salad bar was not stocked

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our waiter was amazing! He made sure we knew how to eat at this restaurant and checked in at perfect intervals. It is family friendly, but it also serves as a good place to have a date or family gathering.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The meats are delicious, staff are all very friendly, lots of fun to have the gauchos carve the meats table-side from swords.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

I was very disappointed. I have never been to a Brazilian Steakhouse where the food was so dry, and very few sides offered. The salad bar was tiny and the selections were forgettable. The best item was the grilled pineapple. I have no problem spending $200 for a family of four on a special occasion, but the food was not worth it at al!! I feel ripped off.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We were there early so the rounds of fantastic meat came fast!!! Very tasty!!! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The menu online seem to have more of a variety than the actual restaurant. Not much of a salad bar, pretty much just lettuce and then a small selection of items. Meat was good and they had a nice variety. Definitely not a vegetarian restaurant. We didn't feel it was worth the price, but glad we tried it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

a must for the true carnivores. Lots of variety and great service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Celebrated a Birthday. Make sure to eat your money's worth! Overall good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Amazing service.. kid friendly as we had 4 under the age of 10.. exactly what I expected

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 24, 2017

First time here and it was amazing! Service was excellent, food was fantastic, and the overall ambiance was fantastic! Certainly going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary and were welcomed to our table that had a special balloon & lollipop to note our special day. Food (meat in particular) was delicious. We loved the grilled pineapple. Salad bar was so-so, lots of pre-made salads to choose from but I prefer lots of fresh veggies so that I can build my own salad. Servers were very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We went for a birthday celebration. We usually go to Fogo but were treated so poorly by then during Portland Dining Month that we decided to try Brazil Grill. We loved it. It was a Tues night at 7, so it was pretty mellow. The service and food were excellent! We accidentally left our bag at the restaurant and staff notified us immediately. This place was great! We will now always choose BG over FdC!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We went for my fiancée's 50th Birthday and had a lovely time. I brought my two teens and four year old- they were comfortable. The salad bar lacked options that are Indigenous to Brazil and not sure if the various meats are authentic either but they were tasty. It's pretty spendy even though the gaucho come to your table with meats every five minutes - one can only eat so much. Nice experience overall

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was good, but not a huge selection compared to other Brazilian steakhouses that I have visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful food and great ambience! It was so lovely to spend our one year anniversary at Brazil Grill! The music was perfect and paired well with the caipirinhas and churrasco style food. Every single thing we are was delicious - I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My wife and I ate for the first time at Brazil Grill this past Saturday evening (July/2017). We were early for our reservation time and the staff was still able seat us pretty quickly. The staff was excellent. The gaucho's were very pleasant - frequently asking what specific item from the grill we wanted. I didn't expect the grilled pineapple to be such a fantastic item - delicious - especially when combined with ham or lamb.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A traditional style Brazilian grill. The foods was very good and the many different meats just kept coming. We have dined here before but this was a first time experience for our guests and they were very impressed also. It was worth the drive from Salem. It is very easy to get to on SW 12th, near PSU.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Everything was AMAZING as usual!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Because we chose to make reservations the SAME 'wknd' as PORTLAND BLUES FESTIVAL & 4th of July, the Grill was not its usual busy, mildly chaotic eatery. I believe the diminished demand for the various meat entrees also conspired to allow some of the selections to be just a bit on the dry or well done side, which was certainly a first. Still, BRAZIL GRILL is a great destination. The young couple we were hosting were quite impressed w/ the service & the fare. Even when not running on "all eight cylinders", the GRILL is impressive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I really enjoy this place. The food is really good and a great atmosphere. They have a good selection of meat to choose from.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great place! From the beginning the wait staff was very friendly and helpful. The selection of
Meats was excellent, the salad bar was well stocked. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to try the Brazilian style of eating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was our 5th time at Brazil Grill and, as always, it was amazing. I haven't had a bad experience there and the fact that a lot of employees speaks Brazilian Portuguese made me happy. So amazing to speak my home country language. The food was amazing, perfect taste of my terrinha. The meat was cooked to perfection and the desserts took me back home.
It was my husband's birthday celebration.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Came up to visit a friend we had not seen in a very long time. Great food and atmosphere. Nice and quiet so it was easy to converse

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent food and awesome service. Can be expensive for a family outing. Have used exclusively for business dinners and always get nice feedback from clients/affiliates.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.