About Brazil Grill

1201 SW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

WELCOME TO BRAZIL GRILL
Come & enjoy Portland"s Best Value in fine dining while experiencing Oregon's FIRST authentic Brazilian Steakhouse or "Churrascaria".
Our reasonable, fixed price menu means you get to select from our freshly made, Brazilian-inspired salad & side bar, which includes vegetarian & gluten free items.
Our traditional "stop-go" system allows you to decide when you are ready for you next course, by turning the disc on your table from red to green.

Skewers of deliciously seasoned, rotisserie meats are then carved at your table by roving gauchos eager to please your palate. YUM! Save room for our cinnamon-sugar roasted pineapple at the end of the meat rotation. If you like pineapple you will think you've died & gone to heaven! SO GOOD! We also offer desserts, a full bar menu specializing in Brazilian cocktails, wines & brews. So come in, relax, celebrate the day with a "Caipirinha" Brazilian national drink & DINE LIKE NEVER BEFORE.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: From Monday through Friday 4:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
Saturday and Sunday 3:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
SW Jefferson & SW Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-0002

Website:
http://brazilgrillrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind the restaurant includes handicapped parking spaces as well as the adjoining lot behind the cosmotology school. Street parking in front of the restaurant and across the street.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Welcome to Brazil Grill. Oregon’s first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse! Family Owned and Operated. Downtown Portland’s Best Value in Fine Dining. The restaurant is available for private functions Monday-Friday

Brazil Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fun (27)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Casual (17)
Family Style (16)
Authentic (14)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Healthy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
People Watching (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great, perfect cooked, seasoned ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Food was great, perfect cooked, seasoned and plenty available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Brazil Grill for business meetin ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Went to Brazil Grill for business meeting and had great time.

All my guest love the food and the ambiance.

Be back for sure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone treats you very well and intera ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Everyone treats you very well and interacts with you on a personal level. They are very attentive to food requests and delivery very quickly

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will never go to an Outback or most an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

I will never go to an Outback or most any other steak house restaurant again. Service was awesome, food was outstanding and I enjoyed myself. The décor could use a bit of love, generic stock photo artwork on the walls.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

For carnivores. Friendly staff, quick se ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

For carnivores. Friendly staff, quick service, high energy Brazil-style churrasqueria. Salad buffet had a line most of the evening. Then the meats come to your table fast. If you want something that hasn't appeared just ask the waiter. They are helpful and responsive.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Staff was friendly and lively. Being our ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Staff was friendly and lively. Being our first time there our server explained the process very well. Do remember to make a reservation as they fill up fast! Worth the price - try everything!! Our one complaint was the restroom situation....only a single person restroom for each sex seems unexceptable for a restaurant of this size... expansion needed.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First thing in hear when i get there the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First thing in hear when i get there the host told me "you should booked for 3 not for 2!". When i did my reservation i didn't count my baby (2 months old) cause it won't have any food. So my wife and I thought it was very rude.

Also almost all of the meet was over done and lacking of salt. No mention there was nos sauces to accompany it.

So, not a good experience. Not coming back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is probably my 5th time eating at t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is probably my 5th time eating at the Brazil Grill. I live 85 miles south of Portland and have made the trip to just to eat there before. This last time a group of friends and I went up to the NW Sportsman's show and we knew where we had to eat while in the Portland area. It's always a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful experience overall. Although ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Delightful experience overall. Although salad bar was a little lacking in variety, the main entrees more than made up for it. Nice, attentive, staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and an excellent staff. Me an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and an excellent staff. Me and wife enjoyed dinner and drinks very much and will definitely add this to our regular hang outs.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, food is always good. An ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love this place, food is always good. And the employee's are great, service is awesome .

Just a good all around experience ....

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During my recent visit to Brazil Grill, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

During my recent visit to Brazil Grill, I was greeted at the door with a friendly smile, that always helps start the evening. Yea! The salad bar is always fresh and it offers items you won't see at every restaurant. Stroganoff?? Its awesome, so good. And chicken hearts are on the menu, where else can you find those? Cool. I really enjoyed the service, prompt but not over done. Genuine people, not phony.

Great job Brazil Grill, I'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for my husbands birthday. I loved t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Came for my husbands birthday. I loved that they called to confirm our reservations and we're very friendly and attentive. This is a place where you don't have to worry if you be missed with the food coming around, they make sure everyone is attended to.

We will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was outstanding. A+ This was o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The staff was outstanding. A+ This was our second time eating at Brazil Grill. Love the waitress, she has a great sense of humor. The all of the servers where on there A game and jonny on the spot to keep the food coming. Thank you all who make this a very special night to remember.

Thank you,

Mitch

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in PDX. Serv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of the best restaurants in PDX. Serves were friendly and food tasted great!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were really accommodating for my hu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

They were really accommodating for my husband's birthday, as I had scheduled it the day before. We were worried that the protests would be happening again; and did not want to get stuck in Portland. We always come here :), he loves it and we do too. You will leave super full. It's very yummy.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for my anniversary ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I made a reservation for my anniversary as soon as I walked in I was greeted with a smile . There's so much food variety. I started out with the salad bar there was so many options salad to fries . The glazed pineapple was also one of my favorites. I recommend this restaurant for any occasion! I will be returning soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is very friendly. I expected so ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Service is very friendly. I expected so much more though, in experience and food. Every 15 minutes you may get a thin slice of meat or a teaspoon size piece of steak wrapped in under cooked bacon (think beef nugget). Shrimp came around once in 2 hours and you needed to peel the 2 you are given. There was nothing special about this place. Certainly no entertainment value in waiting to be fed a scrap here or there. Salad bar was not of quality. I felt like I could of been in a cheap type buffet place but waiting for meat to be presented and certainly there is no Brazilian flare to the meat presentation. And it is expensive. The good thing is you won't consume many calories and you will have plenty of time to converse with your party which was the best part of the night. Better to select one of the quality steak houses. You will pay less and have a good meal. Not so much here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Delicious food. Went on a date to celebr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Delicious food. Went on a date to celebrate a birthday & the service was great. Even gave us a free desert for the birthday! I would definitely go again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful, as usual. It's become a spot ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful, as usual. It's become a spot for our birthday dinner. The food was great and service was excellent. We'll certainly be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was perfect! Our server was v ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our dinner was perfect! Our server was very attentive and the meat was fresh and very flavourful. The salad bar has plenty of healthly and delicious options. Overall everything was great, 10/10 we will definitely be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Come hungry! Make sure ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful food. Come hungry! Make sure to leave room for the pineapple! Great service, super fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great! 12 different meat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was great! 12 different meats, our favorite was the lamb. Delicious!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brazil Grill was the BEST!! Awesome cust ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Brazil Grill was the BEST!!

Awesome customer service, delicious food and fun atmosphere !

Been here many times and consistence is the key for this place.

Be back soon!

Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Authentic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Brazil Grill to celebrate a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Went to the Brazil Grill to celebrate a friends birthday and we had a wonderful time. This restaurant is my husbands favorite and he was just a bit jealous that it was girls only event. Thank you for the lovely evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Love the service and the food!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cozy dining room, extremely attentive an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Cozy dining room, extremely attentive and friendly staff. Very happy with the dining experience, especially that the kitchen carved portions of each steak and cooked them well done for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great date night

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Great date night

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my meal. My wife and I ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I really enjoyed my meal. My wife and I had a lot of fun eating hear. My only complaint is that I don't know if i will go back anytime soon because of the price. ($40 each) It really felt like it should be 10-15$ cheaper.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Sorry to have to say this, but the past ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Sorry to have to say this, but the past two visits we have made here there seems to be a new constant thing that is not nearly as good as it used to be. The further you sit from the kitchen the less chance you have of getting the variety to your table especially near the windows in the front of the restaurant. In the past the service and waiters came around much more often then they do now. Even if you ask for something that should have already been around it takes quite a while for it to arrive if it does. We had to ask for the "bacon wrapped chicken breast", "the pineapple", "the chicken hearts/gizzards". Also the meat seems to be much "rarer" mostly "blood rare". The meatballs in the sauce in the soup warmer were barely warm even a few of the meats, specifically the bacon wrapped filet mingon. Before you think it was just a busy time, both of these visits were between 4:30 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. so the restaurant was more empty than full. I love the restaurant, but might opt for another restaurant in the future as these problems seem to be more constant now. I had hoped the first time this happened it was a fluke, but after two visits in a row like this...seems to be becoming the norm.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great dining experience for friends. Nic ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great dining experience for friends. Nice atmosphere with friendly staff. The pineapple is a must have.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

very friendly server, Tara who was cheer ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

very friendly server, Tara who was cheerful, upbeat, friendly, helpful. We felt great to ask for her suggestion. She even threw a free desert for our anniversary. The meat was fresh and cooked well. The salad bar has a variety and I love the fresh, warm pineapple. As I usually don't eat too much meat and the cost is quite expensive, so I chose the salad bar which was good enough for me. I enjoyed watching my husband eating the different meat selections esp. the chicken hearts. Definitely, we will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is by far my favorite restaurant! T ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is by far my favorite restaurant! The staff is very helpful and the food is amazing!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love!!! Ended up with a Meat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely love!!! Ended up with a Meat hangover! Great service! Recommend for the hungry and variety of meats. Polenta the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a tasty meal with so much variety! ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a tasty meal with so much variety! We loved being able to taste so many different types of meat for one meal!

Tags: , Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very friendly wait staff and management. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very friendly wait staff and management. It's a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. The food is fresh, hot and quickly to the table. This was our first visit. We plan to return in the future!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. The Pineapple was amaz ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great atmosphere. The Pineapple was amazing! The staff was outstanding.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent dining experience for our f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

An excellent dining experience for our first time at the Brazil Grill. Delicious food and great ambiance. Having a parking lot is a plus too!! We'll definitely be back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Place with very authentic food jus ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great Place with very authentic food just like you would find in Brazil.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting from Brazil and wanted to ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I was visiting from Brazil and wanted to take my host family to an authentic Brazilian dinner. I was happy to see that it was pretty authentic. The salads were more American, but the meats and bean and rice were just like back home. It was a fun evening with lots of good food. They live in the Portland area and said they would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.