About Brasserie Provence

Brasserie Provence is a local family-owned and operated restaurant offering upscale casual dining & traditional French cuisine with a South-of-France flair. A large selection of Provençal and classical French dishes offer something for everyone at an affordable price. Enjoy French & Pacific NW wine, signature European cocktails, and French, Belgian & local Kentucky beer.

Ample seating is available in the brasserie-style bar, the warm and inviting dining room, and the outdoor patio. Parties of six to twelve can be seated at the generously-sized Chef's Table, parties or meetings of up to 40 are accommodated in the Private Dining Room, and the entire restaurant is available for events of up to 200 people. Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Join us Mon-Fri for Lunch & Happy Hour, and Mon-Sat for Dinner to experience a Taste of Provence!

150 N. Hurstbourne Pkwy
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Provencal

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday-Friday 11am to 2pm
DINNER: Monday-Thursday 5pm to 9pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm to 10pm
HAPPY HOUR: Monday-Friday 4pm to 6:30pm
at the Bar & High Tops Only
CLOSED SUNDAY

Cross Street:
near the intersection of Shelbyville Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 883-3153

Website:
http://www.brasserieprovence.com/

Entertainment:
Recorded French & American Cabaret, Contemporary & Jazz Music

Catering:
CATERING FOR BUSINESS LUNCHES, RECEPTIONS & DINNERS IS AVAILABLE! Special menus are customized to individual needs and budgets. Call Guy Genoud for details: 502.883.3153

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Public Transit:
31 Shelbyville Road Route. Stop G at Hurstbourne Parkway

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
CHECK OUR WEBSITE MONTHLY FOR SPECIAL EVENTS, HOLIDAY DINNERS/BRUNCHES, OUR WEDNESDAY WINE TASTING SCHEDULE, & OUR VERY POPULAR WINE DINNERS!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brasserie Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (25)
Authentic (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was our fifth time, and it seems they get better each time. Our servers Jeff and Jessica were outstanding, they are knowledgeable about wine and the food they serve. And Guy the owner is always a pleasure to see and talk with.

We were with another couple and it was their first time here, and they loved it. They had the special for the night, which was kabobs with filet and shrimp, which they both enjoyed. My wife had the Ruby Red trout, she said it was done perfectly, and I had the rack of lamb which was great and cooked the way I like it.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was excellent. Server was helpful but not hovering. Make sure you try the mussels. The sauce is superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food and service and the wait time for the meals was fine. Our waiter was very accommodating and supported by other staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Best pork chop I have ever eaten. My wife had the trout and it was also excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Very great pick along Hurstbourne Parkway. I had the chicken breast which was cooked to perfection seated in a medley of vegetables. Very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a treat @ Brasserie Provence. We love it god casual, or special occasion. And, the weekly Wednesday special at happy hour or the monthly wine tasting dinners are great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Disappointing

Nicoise salad was light on potatoes, eggs, dressing and tomatoes and was made with canned tuna; totally uninspiring; what you'd expect from a deli, not a first-rate restaurant

Chewy escagot, no toast points, light on butter and garlic

Roast chicken was fairly tasty but overpriced at $23 given that it was a leg/thigh

Martini on the notably small side made with house vodka @ $12 seems steep

Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful food, and perfect service. Great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We love Provence, and we used a Groupon this time, so we ordered a lovely bottle of wine. The waitress gave us a suggestion, and she was absolutely correct. The bottle was wonderful. We split the watermelon/tomato salad, and it was divine. The balsamic reduction was perfect. I had the bouillabaisse, and it was terrific. My husband had the steak, and it was perfectly cooked. We both treated ourselves to dessert, a raspberry tiriamisu. The restaurant is quiet, and the ambiance is relaxed. A great place for fine dining and special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food in a vey French atmosphere. The owner is very hands-on and visits at each table to be sure that everything is right. One of the men in our group didn't like the steak frites and it was immediately replaced with sincere apologies.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This is one of the most underrated restaurants in Louisville. The food is outstanding, the service spot on, and the menu changes often enough that there is always an excellent variety based upon very fresh ingredients The portions are good sized and their châteaubriand is the best I have ever had. It is the finest cut of beef in the region and the sauce is amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Never disappointed when dining at Provence. The mussels were perfectly prepared.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was wonderful, will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Brassiere Provence has become our favorite restaurant in Louisville. Great French cuisine!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Excellent quality food.
Authentic and satisfying in every way

Attentive manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food here is absolutely outstanding. Fresh ingredients prepared to perfection. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the menu and can recommend the perfect wine to accompany your dishes. Ambience is very nice. Not cheap, but well worth the price. This place has made it to my list of local favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I have only been here for lunch, but many times. Service and food are always excellent. I love the Onion Soup, Croque Monsieur, mussels, bread and the yummy garlic oil they serve with the bread. You can't go wrong with this spot!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our family's favorite place for special occasions. Love the food
Love the servers and staff and general ambience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful French cuisine. And a great value. All the staff are friendly and competent. And the owner always greets us warmly. On the 15th the owner discovered it was our anniversary and gave us a free dessert. Thanks so much!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had a great night at Provance. Food fabulous and service exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Brasserie Provence provides some of the very best service in Louisville, coupled with wonderful food. The owner always makes you feel special. I particularly enjoy the wine dinners where the food is beautifully paired with various French wine selections.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary and the staff made sure it was special right down to the candle in the complimentary dessert. The waitress was very attentive and the maitre'd had obviously read my requests with the reservation as we were seated at a table not in the line of traffic. The food was prepared to order and very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our lunch was more about friendship than the actual meal. What a peaceful place for lunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our server was very good and enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Love love this place! The mushroom appetizer is a favorite of mine. The special tonight; salmon croquettes, were the best I've ever had!! They were amazing! The pork chop is also great. From food to service, it was a fantastic evening. I highly recommend dining here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We enjoyed our time at Brasserie Provance. The atmosphere was comfortable and elegant. The service was warm ,friendly and efficient. Our group of four each ordered a different entree and we all cleaned our plates. Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent selection @ very reasonable prices w/ good sized portions plus half price Happy Hour appetizers and wine. Beautiful photos of Provence on walls. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 26, 2017

As always, the food was amazing, and the manager very personable and friendly as always!!! Our server was a little slow, but that didn't ruin a fantastic meal!!! Will gladly return soon!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. The charcuterie was delightful. Our entrees arrived in a timely fashion. I had the Chef special, and am glad to know there is a chef who actually knows how to make real Béarnaise sauce. The Steak Frites were well cooked. My wife had the scallops, which were almost perfect. She had to send the dish back because the two she tried were still raw in the middle. Just a little. They were fairly nice about that, but a little temperamental. We will go back, though.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nice quiet atmosphere and great service! We went for our anniversary with our adult kids and had a wonderful time! Food is out of this world delicious and very authentic French. The only drawback is the price. It was very expensive but for a special occasion we'll definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Guy Genoud never fails to impress. First time diners, and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Delicious, explosion of flavor. Perfect quality & outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Brassiere Provence is our "go to" place for a special occasion or romantic meal. The food seems to be authentic (but never having been to the Provence region of France I can only note that is seems authentic from my research). The menu is broad as respects sea, land, as well as some vegan selections. The pre-heat bread and olive oil is so good - don't fill up on the bread though, wait for the excellent onion soup followed by your entre. The owner comes around and checks on you - a nice, personal touch. Highly recommended. We'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great authentic French food! Interesting wines by the glass. Attentive service and wonderful bread!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This place has fantastic food!!! The service is great and the owner is always exceptionally nice and accommodating. Enjoy!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Guy and his crew always do a fantastic job of offering wonderful food selections and then providing excellent service. The wine list is extensive with a number of excellent french wines. You will be glad that you chose to dine here.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food is always awesome. Be certain to check Thursday to see if the cassoulet is to die for!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 6, 2017

In spite of many restaurants, the options in Louisville are not as good as Kansas City. Here is a good high quality restaurant at a reasonable rate. It is hard to find places with the options they offer.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.