About Brasserie Provence

150 N. Hurstbourne Pkwy
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Brasserie Provence is a local family-owned and operated restaurant offering upscale casual dining & traditional French cuisine with a South-of-France flair. A large selection of Provençal and classical French dishes offer something for everyone at an affordable price. Enjoy French & Pacific NW wine, signature European cocktails, and French, Belgian & local Kentucky beer.

Ample seating is available in the brasserie-style bar, the warm and inviting dining room, and the outdoor patio. Parties of six to twelve can be seated at the generously-sized Chef's Table, parties or meetings of up to 40 are accommodated in the Private Dining Room, and the entire restaurant is available for events of up to 200 people. Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Join us Mon-Sat for Lunch & Dinner, and Mon-Fri for Happy Hour to experience a Taste of Provence!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Provencal

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday-Saturday 11am to 2pm
DINNER: Monday-Thursday 5pm to 9pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm to 10pm
HAPPY HOUR: Monday-Friday 4pm to 6:30pm
at the Bar & High Tops Only
CLOSED SUNDAY

Cross Street:
near the intersection of Shelbyville Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 883-3153

Website:
http://www.brasserieprovence.com/

Entertainment:
Recorded French & American Cabaret, Contemporary & Jazz Music

Catering:
CATERING FOR BUSINESS LUNCHES, RECEPTIONS & DINNERS IS AVAILABLE! Special menus are customized to individual needs and budgets. Call Guy Genoud for details: 502.883.3153

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Public Transit:
31 Shelbyville Road Route. Stop G at Hurstbourne Parkway

Private Party Facilities:
BRING YOUR NEXT SPECIAL OCCASION OR BUSINESS EVENT TO BRASSERIE PROVENCE!
OUR DESIRABLE & GENEROUSLY-SIZED CHEF'S TABLE is located in our Brasserie Dining Room, seating 6 to 12 people. A Custom Menu with Wine Pairings is offered at $100 or $150 dollars per person.
OUR BEAUTIFUL & COMPLETELY PRIVATE DINING SALON is ideal for entertaining or meeting with friends, family and business associates of up to 40 Guests. Privacy is assured with curtained French Doors. Table setup is customized to your event. A Personalized Menu, based on our Lunch or Dinner Menu, is tailored to your budget.
LARGE RECEPTIONS AND EVENTS Take Place Throughout the Dining Room & Bar Areas for up to 200 Guests. We Welcome Cocktail Receptions, Weddings, Corporate Dinners, Networking Events, Luncheons and all other Important Celebrations with Gracious Service, Fine Beverages and Delicious Cuisine!


Private Party Contact:
Guy Genoud: (502) 883-3153

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
CHECK OUR WEBSITE MONTHLY FOR SPECIAL EVENTS, HOLIDAY DINNERS/BRUNCHES, OUR WEDNESDAY WINE TASTING SCHEDULE, & OUR VERY POPULAR WINE DINNERS!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brasserie Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (32)
Romantic (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Authentic (25)
Fireplace (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (15)
Business Meals (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite lunch place. Excellent food, service and value.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent in every way, food, wine service. We will definitely return

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service and food were outstanding! Ideal for any occasion and quiet enough for conversations and intimate meals, very warm and cozy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great valentine's menu. Awesome, speedy service. Always a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I visited Brasserie Provence for Valentines Day. We started with a glass of champagne at the bar. I hate to admit is wasn't as cold as I would have liked but I enjoyed it never the less. We enjoyed the prix fixe selections. It was difficult to settle on one starter because they all sounded so delicious. I had the vegetable tart and my husband had the seasonal salad. They were both outstanding.

For our main course I had the filet and my husband had the chicken. Both were delicious but I have to admit his cheese stuffed chicken was better than my steak. They didn't have the wine we requested but a similar wine was suggested that we really enjoyed. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our Valentine's dinner was very good. It even made great left-overs. The service was very good also. We were seated and waited on promptly. The prix fixe dinner selections gave us great choices.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always the service and food were wonderful. The Brasserie ambiance is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We made reservations for Valentine's Day. We entered and the gentleman changed our seating in a very non-romantic area close to other couples. My wife asked politely for other seating was accommodated. We both chose grouper and scallops which were good, although I needed a little more seasoning on the grouper and I like my scallops with crispy char on the outside. Overall, the experience was good. If we go back, it will depend on the menu choices.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best service we have had in a very long time. Food was excellent. A little pricey, but would return for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 6, 2017

My husband and I went to Brasserie Provence for his birthday. We went on a Monday evening, so it wasn't too busy. I'm a vegan, so I typically order side dishes in restaurants that don't have vegan options. As soon as I told the server my order, he asked about my dietary preferences and he said the chef would create a pasta dish for me that included all the sides I ordered plus the panisse (minus the aioli). The food was amazing, the service was amazing, and we would definitely recommend trying it out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Authentic, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice authentic French Food spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Server was very helpful and knowledgeable. Owner was walking around and spoke to us, very friendly. Great for a nice quiet night out with my husband.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, great ambiance!!! One of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Brasserie Provence has become our go-to for fine dining in Louisville. The food is genuinely French and very well-prepared. The wine list is very good, and paired nicely with the menu. The service is outstanding. The ambience is also quite nice. Great place for. Special occasion!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Blood orange sorbet was awesome!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We've eaten here several times and each has been very good. We like the atmosphere and that tables are far enough apart to have a conversation. Food and service are excellent with experienced servers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Guy the owner is friendly and accommodating. Good French food without the sky high pricing. I take my family on special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Overall everything was great. My wife had the Pork Chop which was a large piece and tasted great. I ordered the Friday special "Bouillabaisse". I liked it but it was not my favorite as I didn't really get into the Cod and the other fish. But it was not the fault of the restaurant, I think others would love it. I should have listened more to the ingredients from the waiter, but it was still tasty and well prepared. Service was impeccable. We also used a Groupon, so the discount made it very reasonable.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was quite good. Only downside---the owner was talking to potential bridal party customers at the next table and he was incredibly loud. It was off-putting. Take the sales call to a back room or at least keep in to a reasonable level.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Had an outstanding dinner experience here a few weeks ago and the lunch experience did not match it. Food was very good, but our server seemed to be in a bad mood and was disinterested throughout our meal. Ambiance was not as good as dinner, as this restaurant definitely benefits from subtle lighting. Our meal was very good value. Would definitely return, but only for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was as usual a great experience and a great value

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our third time here and we look forward to returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Thanks Gey for always taking care of our needs. Come for pleasure and business, always appropriate.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Both the food and the service were excellent. The Yule log we shared for dessert was one of the most beautiful we've seen.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was my second visit and I admit to being disappointed. Perhaps I just made poor selections. Our cocktails were fine; generous bourbon pours. We started with the onion tart and were surprised to be served a pile of carmelized onions on warm flatbread. That was it. Really. There was no cheese, no custard, nothing 'tartlike' about it. And the onions did not seem to have been seasoned. We did enjoy the entree, red snapper; but were again disappointed with dessert, a pear custard which we found absolutely tasteless. We returned it and were not charged. I will return because I know many others who enjoy this place, but I'll make different choices next time. Service was a bit more casual and laid-back than I expected for this nice place on a slow night (Wednesday).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Having enjoyed the food at this restaurant on many previous occasions, we chose to celebrate New Years Eve with the restaurant's special menu. Once again, the food was excellent and despite the huge crowd, was served quickly and timely for each of the four courses. Our server was handling multiple tables and was certainly rushed, but nonetheless he remained attentive and friendly throughout the meal and with able staff aiding in serving serving the dishes as they became ready, everything was freshly prepared and warm. This is a highly recommended restaurant, particularly for anniversaries and other similar special occasions, but also just an excellent place for any meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I celebrated New Years Eve at Provence. The meal was wonderful. The filet was cooked perfectly.

We have many wonderful meals there and can't wait to go back again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was absolutely magnificent and the service outstanding. Had a seat right next to the front door that I wasn't wild about but that's no fault of anyone. Will definitely be returning in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful meal on New Year's Eve! The four of us chose different dishes from the three course menu, and we were all very pleased. The service was very good, and the restaurant was beautifully decorated. We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I brought my sister-in-law and niece, both Parisiens, to the restaurant for our last meal in Louisville before they returned home to France. Food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great celebration and made for good conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and enviornment. The owner and staff were extremely pleasant. Made a great evening for our foreign exchange student to have a piece of home for the holiday.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a solid option for authentic Rench cuisine. It is a "go to" for us and always pleases.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Private Room, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a wonderful meal on Christmas Eve. They considered food restrictions and allergies of our party and guided us. It was a great experience from cocktails to dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Everything was cooked perfectly. Had a mishap with entire glass of red wine being dropped on my husband. Owner and staff were above apologetic. We were offered cleaning, however it went straight through jacket and undergarments. We were comped a dessert which was nice. However it shoud have really been at least one meal (it was Christmas Eve). It was still a very enjoyable evening and accidents do happen. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My husband and I celebrated his 51rst birthday here. Neither my husband and I have eaten at a French restaurant, but had always wanted to try. Our server was wonderful in explaining the dishes. The Mgr carved and served our beef tenderloin. The staff are attentive and friendly. We will be back, soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Had a great family dinner.------------------------------

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We had an exceptional waiter who really helped us with the wine and food selection, as his knowledge of everything on the menu was outstanding and I think he has a great deal of salesmanship, in a good way!

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. The atmosphere is great. The food is good but not what I expected. I guess I expected more french-like food. I had the trout and so did my friend. Several people ordered $17 hamburgers. They said they were good. Service was a little slow. Want to say it was the Christmas time rush but a lot of the tables were not filled.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The plate of the day was cod and rice with white wine with mushrooms. Very bland. Not at all like French cooking is thought to be. Chocolate desert was excellent. However the pear tart which was supposed to be in custard was more like cake dough with a pear inside. Sort of dry and not very sweet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Always a pleasure to go to Provence. The owner goes out of his way to be helpful and friendly, as do the staff. Food is wonderful, specials are enjoyable, and the 3 course meal is a bargain.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Outstanding fish dish. Excellent as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I frequently visit some of the nicest restaurants in Louisville and around the world. This is, by far, one of the best. In Louisville, it IS the best. The owner is delightful, the staff is knowledgeable, and the food is literally to die for. I cannot recommend this place more. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was a reasonably good attempt at classical French food. Some of the items I tried were significantly under seasoned. I was surprised that there weren't more authentic, rustic, traditional French items.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful impeccable service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent service and food. Very good prices for a French restaurant. The Pistou soup was an excellent first course; the cheese plate was also very good. Appreciated the extensive list of wines by the glass. Will return when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had a group dinnerfor 11, combining business and friends. The table was ideal for the dinner, spacious accomodation, comfortable chairs. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The drinks were excellent as was the food. We were unaimous in praising the restaurant selection

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Authentic French food in a warm, elegant environment. Excellent value and amenable to specific requests. Owner accessible and circulated to make sure all diners were pleased- even young diners. Seafood and lamb absolutely delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We loved Brasserie!!! Our server was tremendous and very knowledgeable! The food was scrumptious, and the servings were very good. I started with the Calamari, which was very tasty, and a good portion. My wife and I both had the Monday special, which was the Pork Ribeye, and it was simply incredible. The green beans and fries were also very good sides. They have a very nice wine and spirits menu as well. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.