About Brasserie Provence

Brasserie Provence is a local family-owned and operated restaurant offering upscale casual dining & traditional French cuisine with a South-of-France flair. A large selection of Provençal and classical French dishes offer something for everyone at an affordable price. Enjoy French & Pacific NW wine, signature European cocktails, and French, Belgian & local Kentucky beer.

Ample seating is available in the brasserie-style bar, the warm and inviting dining room, and the outdoor patio. Parties of six to twelve can be seated at the generously-sized Chef's Table, parties or meetings of up to 40 are accommodated in the Private Dining Room, and the entire restaurant is available for events of up to 200 people. Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Join us Mon-Fri for Lunch & Happy Hour, and Mon-Sat for Dinner to experience a Taste of Provence!

150 N. Hurstbourne Pkwy
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Provencal

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday-Friday 11am to 2pm
DINNER: Monday-Thursday 5pm to 9pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm to 10pm
HAPPY HOUR: Monday-Friday 4pm to 6:30pm
at the Bar & High Tops Only
CLOSED SUNDAY

Cross Street:
near the intersection of Shelbyville Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 883-3153

Website:
http://www.brasserieprovence.com/

Entertainment:
Recorded French & American Cabaret, Contemporary & Jazz Music

Catering:
CATERING FOR BUSINESS LUNCHES, RECEPTIONS & DINNERS IS AVAILABLE! Special menus are customized to individual needs and budgets. Call Guy Genoud for details: 502.883.3153

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Public Transit:
31 Shelbyville Road Route. Stop G at Hurstbourne Parkway

Private Party Facilities:
BRING YOUR NEXT SPECIAL OCCASION OR BUSINESS EVENT TO BRASSERIE PROVENCE!
OUR DESIRABLE & GENEROUSLY-SIZED CHEF'S TABLE is located in our Brasserie Dining Room, seating 6 to 12 people. A Custom Menu with Wine Pairings is offered at $100 or $150 dollars per person.
OUR BEAUTIFUL & COMPLETELY PRIVATE DINING SALON is ideal for entertaining or meeting with friends, family and business associates of up to 40 Guests. Privacy is assured with curtained French Doors. Table setup is customized to your event. A Personalized Menu, based on our Lunch or Dinner Menu, is tailored to your budget.
LARGE RECEPTIONS AND EVENTS Take Place Throughout the Dining Room & Bar Areas for up to 200 Guests. We Welcome Cocktail Receptions, Weddings, Corporate Dinners, Networking Events, Luncheons and all other Important Celebrations with Gracious Service, Fine Beverages and Delicious Cuisine!


Private Party Contact:
Guy Genoud: (502) 883-3153

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
CHECK OUR WEBSITE MONTHLY FOR SPECIAL EVENTS, HOLIDAY DINNERS/BRUNCHES, OUR WEDNESDAY WINE TASTING SCHEDULE, & OUR VERY POPULAR WINE DINNERS!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brasserie Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Authentic (37)
Romantic (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (15)
Fireplace (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Private Room (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

My go-to lunch place. Just down the street from me. Perfect for business or social. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

There is nothing I can say about this restaurant except....exceptional!! Everything about this restaurant is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Watched the Preakness at the bar and then had an excellent dinner. This is a regular destination fro us and the food and service are consistently good and sometimes outstanding. Best of all, the noise level is muted enough to allow conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and great service as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I had been to Brasserie Provence once before and found it to be lovely with very good food. I was glad to see that they were taking reservations for Mother's Day. Part of our table of 8 was running a bit late, but my husband and I were seated at the reservation time. We had all looked at the menu online ahead of time and were happy with the options. Several of us ordered mussels, which were plentiful and tasty. A few ordered the mushroom ravioli, which they said was good and my husband got the arugula salad and enjoyed it. I'm glad we enjoyed that first course, because it was a long wait for the second. During that time, they ran out of iced tea, and after awhile, our waitress said they'd gotten some brewed but it was too weak. She was apologetic and did offer raspberry iced tea, but some of us were OK with just water until the tea got there.

When we finally got our second course, we all enjoyed it. Most of us got the beef tenderloin with a fried egg and gratin dauphinois and thought it delicious. My father really enjoyed his pork and my niece liked her chicken quiche. The desserts were all delightful. I got the honey and almond cheesecake, which was a large circular portion with a candy straw on top, and charmingly, a chocolate honeybee with a cute cream beehive. It was too cute to eat, but I did.

Everything was very nice. Our servers seemed very distracted, but it was Mother's Day, so that is understandable. There was some harp music, but we were at back of the restaurant so could only hear a few notes waft through every once in a while. It was a

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service. Good atmosphere for family and or adults only.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have enjoyed dining here every time we have gone. Food is consistently good, service has always been excellent & courteous. Noice level is low which is sometimes hard to find. You can have a conversation without leaning over the table to hear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Slow service and mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Brasserie Provence combines absolutely stunning fare with a beautiful ambiance. With smooth, relaxed service, Jacques helped to provide the perfect celebratory evening for my wife and me. With the Lyonnaise salad for her to start and a bit of country pate for me, we started in serious style. On the table for the main were the tenderest cut of meat in the Chateaubriand for One at perfect medium rare and the absolute best pork chop in Kentucky, (and still the best one I have tasted in six states). Provence is at the top of the list always to patronize in this great city of food and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Quaint atmosphere, great wine menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Perfect in everyway. Consistent in service, food and atmosphere. Transports you to Provence for a couple of hours. Parfait!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Guy and his staff always do a great job. Food is wonderful. Service is great. You will always be pleased that you decided to dine here.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The restaurant is not French but rather more American. Expected more sentivities and elegant French cuisine but not really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had a party of 8 and we were seated quickly and comfortably. Our service early in ordering drinks was slow and haphazard but eventually we all received our beverages. After placing our orders it seemed quite sometime before our dinners arrived. Having said that our meals were as ordered and very well prepared. Please visit your taste buds will thank you!! Especially the Pork Chop!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent food and wait staff. Manager could be friendlier.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My wife and I have enjoyed this restaurant time after time over the past few years and consistently been extremely impressed with the level of service, quality of food, and overall ambience of the establishment. It is by far our favorite restaurant in Louisville. I regularly recommend this restaurant to other married couples and professional colleagues.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The fish plate was not appealing. Cold lentils were very drab. Sauce was not carefully spooned onto fish. The cheese plate was quite good. (Were the lentils supposed to be served chilled?) The soup was good also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our group wAs very pleased with everything abt this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had to request bread, even after we already received apps. Always had to refill our own water, even if server or SA was around/at table and glasses were empty. Service was slow considering they were not terribly busy. Food was excellent, as always.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was excellent, I had lamb and it was perfectly cooked. My wife had the Ahi Tuna, and she said it was perfect. Veggies were fresh and crisp. The espresso was fantastic, always nice when you can finish off a meal with good coffee.

Tom our waiter for the night was friendly, and knowledgeable, and above all had a good sense of humor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

From the time that my dining guest and I arrived in the restaurant we were greeted promptly and with a smile. The appetizers were brought out quickly and a special request for a drink was met with a wink and a gracious acceptance. Despite my entrée being a little over done the waiter and owner were quick to try to correct the mistake. While I did not ask for the entrée to be re-made my companion and I were treated to an absolutely beautiful and delicious cheesecake. The whole team worked diligently and with grace to make us happy. And happy we were!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Brasserie Provence always provides a wonderful dining experience with outstanding French bistro food, excellent service, and very reasonable prices. That all adds up to an exceptional value. Desserts come from Ghislain's and are a treat for the eye as well as the palate. Proprietor Guy Genoud makes sure everything runs smoothly. We are most fortunate to have this establishment in Louisville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was excited to visit a new restaurant and thought the menu items online showed a variety of options at a decent price. We were greeted friendly and sat a table with appropriate space from the other guests. As our server approached us he was quick to tell us about the specials, he hadn't even asked us about drinks yet. Once we had drinks he asked us three times if we were ready to order before we actually had time to look at the menu to say yes. We ordered escargot, calamari, lamb chops, and the special.
The calamari was just breaded and fried, it didn't have seasoning or added flavor to differentiate it from any other restaurant and it was a little rubbery. My husband and I got bread- then wondered what the oil and salt on the table were for; it would have been nice of the sever to point out its intended use to dip in bread, or offer to blend it for us. Dinner... my husband ordered the lamb chops, they we smothered in a BBQ flavored sauce which took away from the natural great lamb flavor. The special was a marinated steak, it tasted like liquid smoke. It was inedible. I did like my mushroom patty and mashed potatoes- the only pleasant part of my meal. We left over half of the calamari, 2 of 3 lamb chops, and the full steak on our plates - the server didn't even acknowledge it. We paid and left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I am still gushing over how amazing this entire experience was. The food was so spectator that my table of four kept stealing bites from each others plates! Every item was incroyable! The service was perfect. There was no interruption in table conversation (great for business or romantic meetings), every need was attended to and the servers were friendly and knowledgeable. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Everything was over the top. I will always remember that duck!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The most amazing food and wine experience! A must attend for all wine lovers.

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was fantastic. Special mention for Chef, the food was excellent. Also Jeffery our server was the best. Always there, but never intrusive. Five Stars!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I will be tasting the French bread with garlic & herb-infused olive oil in my dreams.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Delicious dinner and superb service - they also accommodated our seating request perfectly and made us all feel so welcome. Lovely French dishes and other choices, too. I highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

1st time visiting the restaurant. Food was delicious, and excellent service! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very good. Better than expected. I'm adding these words only because this silly system requires at least fifty letters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I have been here several times and enjoy the authentic French food completely. The decor is pleasing and relaxing as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Our waiter was amazing very friendly and the food was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Just wonderful across the board. Excellent Choice, New Orleans atmosphere. The lamb was superior. Attentive servers and owner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Excellent value for both lunch and dinner, authentic French brasserie menu, all coupled with a well chosen and extensive French wine list -
Owner Guy makes each customer feel like a member of the family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our waiter Jacques was very helpful and attentive. We appreciated his service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Dinner was well done; great desert; and, top notch service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Still one of my favorite restaurants but food portions are getting smaller and smaller. Value is not as high as it used to be just a year or two ago. Service continues to be above average and ambiance is wonderful. Restaurant offers only salads made with mescaline, which I will not eat, so lack of choice leaves salad course out of the question for me.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Brasserie Provence is absolutely the best lunch value in Louisville. Make sure you select the cup of French Onion Soup (best in Louisville) along with your sandwich and pommes frites (french fries)! Our favorite lunch in town!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Locally owned a plus. There is a genuine interest in the guests and their needs. The food was
excellent but the eagerness to serve was most appealing. Jeff was the waiter and we also met the owner who took the time to inquire about the service. It was not a crowded night but I am certain the same level of attention if available when they are busy. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.