Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

About Brasserie Française Chez Jules

Traditional Cuisine and Estate Wines
Le Pain Béni restaurant has undergone a recent metamorphosis into its present form, Brasserie Française Chez Jules.
At Chez Jules, you will eperience a true French Brasserie where the decor, the recipes, and the service all meticulously respect tradition with the utmost attention to detail.
At Chez Jules, it is still the same wonderful team that has lead Le Pain Béni to its success and they, once again, are ready to carry out this new adventure. A classic cuisine, a professional service, rigorous, attentive and pretention-free.
At Brasserie Françcaise Chez Jules, its reassuring traditional cuisine along with its estate wines will undoubtedly charm you!

24, Rue Sainte-Anne
Québec, QC G1R 3X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: monday - sunday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: monday - sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
rue du Trésor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9485

Website:
http://www.chezjules.ca/

Executive Chef:
Olivier Imbeault

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wine

Brasserie Française Chez Jules Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Romantic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

Vraiment super découverte. Menu typiquement brasserie française, plats très bien réalisés, toujours fait dans le respect de la tradition, vraiment très goûteux et très copieux. Avons choisi le saumon, le tartare de boeuf et le ris de.veau. nous nous sommes tous régalé. Service hors pair, notre serveur aimait visiblement son travail, il était très agréable et très attentif.Nous retournerons certainement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best onion soup I have ever had ! service a bit slow but high quality bistro food

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Restaurant was fantastic. Table was ready when we walked in (need reservations, otherwise might not get a table since it's a very popular place) and service was very quick. Server was very personable and spent time explaining the menu and giving recommendations. Food was outstanding. One of my daughters got daily special- all you can eat frog legs and had a ton of fun with that. Everything was delicious, you can't go wrong with any dish at this place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food...Great service...Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great food and service in the heart of Vieux Quebec

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

After reading the reviews, we expected more from Chez Jules. The food turned out to be mushy and overcooked and lacking anything to make it special. Otherwise, the setting and the service were OK and would have made it a worthwhile dinner. Was disappointed in the overall experience as our evening did not live up to the reviews we read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food was great but our waiter was outstanding. Would go back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing service and food. The best we tried in Quebec City! Our waiter was a pro! Food -salmon tartar, beef liver, all appetizers, deser, wine were perfect!!!! Couldn't ask for a better evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great service great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Fabulous meal, from warm goat cheese salad, beef cheeks, and the best bread pudding I've had in a very long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at Chez Jules on two different evenings while in Quebec City. It is convenient to Chateaux Frontenac (in upper town) and has both indoor and outdoor dining. The interior is French bistro style as is the menu. Both my coq qu vin and duck confit were excellent. Nice wine selection. You cannot go wrong here. Very good food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Even with a reservation indicating we were celebrating a milestone anniversary, we were seated at the back of the restaurant, next to the exceptionally hot kitchen, and there were many empty tables front forward.

After waiting 15 minutes with no service or even acknowledgement, we decided Chez Jules was not for us and promptly left. It is tourist season, but this lack of service was inexcusable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Authentic French bistro food in a charming space. Service was delightful. Escargot were delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Took my teenage granddaughters there for our last night in Quebec. Menu was varied, food tasty and well prepared. Extremely busy sidewalk dining in a hectic part of haute ville (across from Place d'Armes), but inside dining more peaceful. Would recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Lovely bistro on touristy street near the Chateau Frontenac. With many tourist attractions nearby, it can be a busy spot. Despite this, however, the food remains excellent and it is a prime spot for a quintessentially Quebec afternoon/evening of dining, drink sipping and people watching.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very nice meals with very nice service.It made for very pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Ahh, that unrivaled France-like experience, but in N America. Unrushed service with nice wine list and great menu options. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding. He truly made the occasion memorable!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We arrived on time for a Saturday 8pm reservation, but they had to clear a table for us. The server was great! He understood what we wanted, even as far as getting me a gin and tonic with a local gin...he brought the gin in a short glass with ice and the tonic in a carafe so I could sample the gin neat first!
My beef bourguignon was delicious, but my wife's salmon, ordered well done, was distinctly underdone. She sent it back and the next was also underdone. She finally got the sole meuniere which was fine, but by then it was just an effort to salvage the evening. She wanted to order a dessert, but a misunderstanding intervened and the manager brought us the check, so we paid and made our escape.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The restaurant was very busy but we received appropriate attention. It is tastefully chic. The menu was small but all items were enticing. I had the CoqAuVin; it was attractively presented and tasted better than that which I had in Paris last year. My party of three enjoyed this meal so very much that we chose to eat here again on our fourth evening in Quebec. The second meal surpassed our high expectations! We definitely will recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Frites were cold, steak tartare was poor quality meat. French onion soup was not hot, would have complained but server was busy, and did not check on us until after main course was served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

On an anniversary trip to Quebec City, we chose Chez Jules for dinner the first night we were there. The restaurant has a very comfortable, "neighborhood joint" kind of ambiance. The service was great, and the food was excellent. Our dishes included escargot, pork rillettes, duck breast, and beef cheeks - all were expertly prepared and presented. All in all, we had a terrific, fun dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Tous les splats etaient excellents, il y avait une belle atmosphere dans l'etablissement et le service etait loin d'etre banal. Si nous habitions plus pres nous serions des reguliers, c'est certain!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Our first night in Quebec City.. we were exhausted from the travel and Chez Jules provided the perfect dining experience. Casual but classy. The Onion Soup was great...
we didn't eat a lot because we were pretty beat.. just soup and salads.. the service was excellent. Great location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great! Vvvvvvvvvvvv

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Warwickshire)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Lovely meal and very friendly, considerate service by all the staff. We ate classic French dishes and I enjoyed my Cahors wine, a reminder of childhood holidays in the Lot Valley. Would definitely return on future visits to Quebec City. Only negative were some not so friendly people seated nearby but I hope they enjoyed their meal as much as we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

A little France at 6000 km ! Good food !
Good place to go !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This restaurant is located in Vieux Quebec, very close to the Fairmont Frontenac. The meal was very good, reasonably priced, the service was very quick, and the waiter was charming - very knowledgeable and attentive. I ordered a mixed salad to start, the Sole Meunier and apple pie for dessert and the food was quite tasty. My husband had the soup de jour (which i think was a cream of vegetable on the day), the steak frites and dessert of floating island (meringue in custard). There was also a jar of cornichons on the table and they were delicious, very tasty with a glass of wine or beer.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A truly wonderful dining experience for my husband and I and also our young adult son during our recent stay in Old Quebec City. Delicious menu and top notch staff made for a very memorable evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Needed to host a business dinner for five colleagues on - of all nights - Valentines day. Tried to get a reservation at a few of the more well known spots in the City. When they were all booked I thought we were settling on a reservation at Chez Jules. Boy was I wrong. Everything was great from the service, the wine recommendations, appetizers, charcuterie, entrees and dessert. I have no hesitation about either returning to or recommending Chez Jules.

Enjoy!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was very lovely, enjoyed the chicken pate then the sweetbreads and it was very deelish.. the only criticism was we felt a bit rushed, wanted us to order pretty much immediately and food came out pronto. It wasn't that busy that they needed the table...other than that service was friendly and professional..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great restaurant. The food tasted amazing and the service was outstanding. Would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Just loved the entire evening! Excellent food and service. Atmosphere is romantic and wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Me and my girlfriend decided on Chez Jules for our final dinner in Quebec and it was one of the best decisions we made here! It was very accessible and easy to get to (especially coming from across the river in Levis) and the warmth inside was perfect in the January weather. Staff were very friendly and treated us with a lot of familiarity, making jokes and complimenting our choices. We were even treated to free coffee when we realized we had just missed our ferry! The food was lovely and well presented, and the atmosphere was perfect for our date. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It was bone chilling cold outside last Friday night, but the ambiance inside Chez Jules was warm and inviting. Food was overall very good but my wife thought the fillet of sole had way too much butter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I was very pleased to find this authentic French bistro after a few average meals in Canada. The seafood was beautifully cooked , the service friendly and efficient and the atmosphere charming. It was the best meal of our holiday.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great waiter and a great service!
Food was done very well. Good job for the new change

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food in great location. Quaint atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Although our Open Table reservation was not found, the restaurant did have space for us. They say that happens a lot!
We enjoyed the special, the Bouillabaisse and the Grand Marnier Flambe' Crepe Suzette was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Fantastic!!! Excellent food and service. Chez Jules is a must visit!! Escargot, coq au vin and crepe suzette were spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.