Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

About Brasserie Française Chez Jules

Traditional Cuisine and Estate Wines
Le Pain Béni restaurant has undergone a recent metamorphosis into its present form, Brasserie Française Chez Jules.
At Chez Jules, you will eperience a true French Brasserie where the decor, the recipes, and the service all meticulously respect tradition with the utmost attention to detail.
At Chez Jules, it is still the same wonderful team that has lead Le Pain Béni to its success and they, once again, are ready to carry out this new adventure. A classic cuisine, a professional service, rigorous, attentive and pretention-free.
At Brasserie Françcaise Chez Jules, its reassuring traditional cuisine along with its estate wines will undoubtedly charm you!

24, Rue Sainte-Anne
Québec, QC G1R 3X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: monday - sunday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: monday - sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
rue du Trésor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9485

Website:
http://www.chezjules.ca/

Executive Chef:
Olivier Imbeault

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wine

Brasserie Française Chez Jules Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (9)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Reviews were much better than the actual experience - food was good but certainly not great- billed as a traditional French brasserie, but lacking in lots of areas of charming decor. The front room was Much prettier than the area we were seated in . Scallops in Coquilles st Jacque extremely salty and very overcooked- just not a memorable meal. Fish and chips needs serious work. One of our party's beef cheeks were very good. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Excellent. We all really enjoyed the entire experience. And our waitress was terrific; appropriately friendly, funny, efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Though the wait staff was really pleasant and the food was good, the carafe of red wine (cabernet blend) was awful. The waiter immediately offered to bring another, but unfortunately, yhe wine still had a musty smell and I couldnt drink it. It should never have been served again the second time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Was disappointed in what I perceived as a limited menue- I have a saying do not order fish in a steak restaurant - I can now add do not order pasta in a french restaurant - pasta dish was over done - and listed as haing mushrooms - but if you put togetheer all the mushroom pieces I food (and I looked carefully) it would not add up to one whole small mushroom-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Un très bon resto Français, sans prétentions avec une addition qui ne fait pas souffrir!
Ma femme a eu la chance de manger votre tartar de saumon... ''mon meilleur à vie'' , a t'elle déclaré!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Met friends there on a Sunday evening and even though it was quite late the staff didn’t rush us at all. The atmosphere is beautiful and the food was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2017

A wondeful braserie in the middle of everything Quebec City has on offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent in every way! We had the salade with duck gizards which was equal or better than we have had in the South West of France. Don't miss this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Lively restaurant with a nice wine list. We came here for dinner and the food and service were OK overall. The beef cheeks were the best thing we ordered. Duck was extremely salty, sole was bland, salmon was dry. Get a table near the front of the restaurant if you can. The back by the kitchen can get very hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This place is a must! If you are in the Quebec City area, you need to have at least one meal here. You will want to go back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had reservations and we were seated promptly in a window overlooking the cobblestone walkway below. The restaurant had charming decor and nice lighting. Service was outstanding and the menu offered many nice selections. The Coquille St Jacques was excellent and cooked perfectly. The entrees, the Coq au vin and the sole were a bit bland but a touch of salt remedied the taste. That one drawback was not enough to keep us from returning the following morning for a petit dejeuner!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 19, 2017

2nd time in two years - went for all you can eat frogs legs that didn't disappoint.
Unfortunately floating islands are no longer on the menu but the super waiter made up for any woes about that.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very nice restaurant, well situated in old Québec. Good cuisine and good wine list. One thing, chairs are really uncomfortable.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The beet salad was yummy and the beef cheeks are amazing. Skip the sweetbreads, the sauce is way too heavy. The onion soup was also great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was phenomenal. Charles was our garcon, he was tremendous. The food was awesome. Flavorful, presentation and combinations were artful and well thought out. A new must go to for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The service start to finish was excellent. The waiter knew his wines and was willing to provide his opinion on individual entrees. The walnut and cheese salad had a light, flavorful dressing. The walnuts were coated with a sticky substance that detracted. The onion soup was flavorful and had an interesting sweet flavor. Unfortunately, our entrees suffered from too much. The sole was greasy and had too much butter. The chicken had too much gravy. We came away thinking this was a place for steak and pomme frites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

It over all was an okay experience. Portion wise the food matched the bill, but the proteins were kind of dry. I had the Coq au vin, and for chicken that is supposed to be cooked with a braising cooking method it was as if they cooked it in bulk in an oven and covered it with sauce. Otherwise the service was quick and the restaurant is basically in the heart of Old Quebec making it an easy place to get to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Good food and service, bright and lively ambiance but not noisy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent meal. Not too touristy even though it's located in the middle of tourist area of Quebec City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Located on a busy pedestrian-only street (zone piétonne), Chez Jules is surprisingly much better than your usual tourist trap café. The food was excellent and service more than adequate. We ate on the patio with our one-year-old baby and were treated well. Recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Vraiment super découverte. Menu typiquement brasserie française, plats très bien réalisés, toujours fait dans le respect de la tradition, vraiment très goûteux et très copieux. Avons choisi le saumon, le tartare de boeuf et le ris de.veau. nous nous sommes tous régalé. Service hors pair, notre serveur aimait visiblement son travail, il était très agréable et très attentif.Nous retournerons certainement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best onion soup I have ever had ! service a bit slow but high quality bistro food

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Restaurant was fantastic. Table was ready when we walked in (need reservations, otherwise might not get a table since it's a very popular place) and service was very quick. Server was very personable and spent time explaining the menu and giving recommendations. Food was outstanding. One of my daughters got daily special- all you can eat frog legs and had a ton of fun with that. Everything was delicious, you can't go wrong with any dish at this place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food...Great service...Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great food and service in the heart of Vieux Quebec

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

After reading the reviews, we expected more from Chez Jules. The food turned out to be mushy and overcooked and lacking anything to make it special. Otherwise, the setting and the service were OK and would have made it a worthwhile dinner. Was disappointed in the overall experience as our evening did not live up to the reviews we read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food was great but our waiter was outstanding. Would go back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing service and food. The best we tried in Quebec City! Our waiter was a pro! Food -salmon tartar, beef liver, all appetizers, deser, wine were perfect!!!! Couldn't ask for a better evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great service great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Fabulous meal, from warm goat cheese salad, beef cheeks, and the best bread pudding I've had in a very long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at Chez Jules on two different evenings while in Quebec City. It is convenient to Chateaux Frontenac (in upper town) and has both indoor and outdoor dining. The interior is French bistro style as is the menu. Both my coq qu vin and duck confit were excellent. Nice wine selection. You cannot go wrong here. Very good food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Even with a reservation indicating we were celebrating a milestone anniversary, we were seated at the back of the restaurant, next to the exceptionally hot kitchen, and there were many empty tables front forward.

After waiting 15 minutes with no service or even acknowledgement, we decided Chez Jules was not for us and promptly left. It is tourist season, but this lack of service was inexcusable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Authentic French bistro food in a charming space. Service was delightful. Escargot were delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Took my teenage granddaughters there for our last night in Quebec. Menu was varied, food tasty and well prepared. Extremely busy sidewalk dining in a hectic part of haute ville (across from Place d'Armes), but inside dining more peaceful. Would recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Lovely bistro on touristy street near the Chateau Frontenac. With many tourist attractions nearby, it can be a busy spot. Despite this, however, the food remains excellent and it is a prime spot for a quintessentially Quebec afternoon/evening of dining, drink sipping and people watching.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very nice meals with very nice service.It made for very pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Ahh, that unrivaled France-like experience, but in N America. Unrushed service with nice wine list and great menu options. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding. He truly made the occasion memorable!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We arrived on time for a Saturday 8pm reservation, but they had to clear a table for us. The server was great! He understood what we wanted, even as far as getting me a gin and tonic with a local gin...he brought the gin in a short glass with ice and the tonic in a carafe so I could sample the gin neat first!
My beef bourguignon was delicious, but my wife's salmon, ordered well done, was distinctly underdone. She sent it back and the next was also underdone. She finally got the sole meuniere which was fine, but by then it was just an effort to salvage the evening. She wanted to order a dessert, but a misunderstanding intervened and the manager brought us the check, so we paid and made our escape.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The restaurant was very busy but we received appropriate attention. It is tastefully chic. The menu was small but all items were enticing. I had the CoqAuVin; it was attractively presented and tasted better than that which I had in Paris last year. My party of three enjoyed this meal so very much that we chose to eat here again on our fourth evening in Quebec. The second meal surpassed our high expectations! We definitely will recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.