About Brasserie Française Chez Jules

24, Rue Sainte-Anne
Quebec, QC G1R 3X3
View Larger Map

Traditional Cuisine and Estate Wines
Le Pain Béni restaurant has undergone a recent metamorphosis into its present form, Brasserie Française Chez Jules.
At Chez Jules, you will eperience a true French Brasserie where the decor, the recipes, and the service all meticulously respect tradition with the utmost attention to detail.
At Chez Jules, it is still the same wonderful team that has lead Le Pain Béni to its success and they, once again, are ready to carry out this new adventure. A classic cuisine, a professional service, rigorous, attentive and pretention-free.
At Brasserie Françcaise Chez Jules, its reassuring traditional cuisine along with its estate wines will undoubtedly charm you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: monday - sunday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: monday - sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
rue du Trésor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9485

Website:
http://www.chezjules.ca/

Executive Chef:
Simon Côté-Tremblay

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Aaa Steak - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Créme Brulé - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Veau - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Tartare de bison - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Pain Foie Gras - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Alcool - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Pouding Pain Beni - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Oeuf Mimosa - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Smoked Trout Pizza - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Chicken Liver Mousse - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Grilled Seabass - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Mushroom Bisque - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Braised Deer - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Boréale Blonde - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Onion Cream Soup with Beer - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
Salmon and Nordic Shrimp Tartare - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC
French Onion Soup - Brasserie Française Chez Jules, Quebec, QC

Brasserie Française Chez Jules Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Romantic (3)
See All
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Me and my girlfriend decided on Chez Jul ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Me and my girlfriend decided on Chez Jules for our final dinner in Quebec and it was one of the best decisions we made here! It was very accessible and easy to get to (especially coming from across the river in Levis) and the warmth inside was perfect in the January weather. Staff were very friendly and treated us with a lot of familiarity, making jokes and complimenting our choices. We were even treated to free coffee when we realized we had just missed our ferry! The food was lovely and well presented, and the atmosphere was perfect for our date. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was bone chilling cold outside last F ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was bone chilling cold outside last Friday night, but the ambiance inside Chez Jules was warm and inviting. Food was overall very good but my wife thought the fillet of sole had way too much butter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was very pleased to find this authenti ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

I was very pleased to find this authentic French bistro after a few average meals in Canada. The seafood was beautifully cooked , the service friendly and efficient and the atmosphere charming. It was the best meal of our holiday.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great waiter and a great service! Food w ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great waiter and a great service!

Food was done very well. Good job for the new change

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food in great location. Quaint atmo ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good food in great location. Quaint atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Although our Open Table reservation was ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Although our Open Table reservation was not found, the restaurant did have space for us. They say that happens a lot!

We enjoyed the special, the Bouillabaisse and the Grand Marnier Flambe' Crepe Suzette was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic!!! Excellent food and service. ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Fantastic!!! Excellent food and service. Chez Jules is a must visit!! Escargot, coq au vin and crepe suzette were spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service forgot our asks more than o ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Poor service forgot our asks more than once and rushed through our courses. Meals were ok but nothing special for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

My meal was wonderful. It was strange th ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

My meal was wonderful. It was strange though...they were in the middle of changing their menu and rather than giving us a copy they tried to tell us what was there or not... but it was half the menu and very confusing. Could have just used a photocopier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

It was a fantastic atmosphere and delici ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

It was a fantastic atmosphere and delicious food! The staff was very courteous! We will definitely come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very ordinary tourist trap. Not a good c ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very ordinary tourist trap. Not a good choice for Quebec city. You can have a much better experience at the Conti for example for the same dollar. Will not go back ever. Service was disorganized and slow. Yet the restaurant wasn't full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great place food was awesome host also c ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great place food was awesome host also came by with a complimentary brand for our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This restaurant was attached to our hote ...

 
·Dined on October 3, 2016

This restaurant was attached to our hotel. I had the duck which was good, my husband had the beef which was excellent. Very convenient location, friendly staff. We also had a breakfast there. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was always very busy when we ...

 
·Dined on October 3, 2016

This place was always very busy when we walked by and it's on OpenTable, which we always consider first when traveling. But, skip it, as there are so many better restaurants in Quebec! I had dried out goose leg confit with soggy vegetables, and BOTH pasta and potatoes as sides. They love heavy sauces there, too. Just SO average!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

All you can eat frogs legs on Monday nig ...

 
·Dined on October 3, 2016

All you can eat frogs legs on Monday nights are amazing. Liver with mushrooms was excellent too.

Be sure to save room for Floating Island dessert - the best I ever had - in fact I had two.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beef cheeks and salmon rice was great ! ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

Beef cheeks and salmon rice was great !

Duck breast was overcooked unfortunately. Very kind of them to discount that dish as a result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service and food - prompt response ...

 
·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great service and food - prompt response

Excellent variety on menu

Mon all u can eat frogs legs 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Despite having used 'brunch' as my main ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Despite having used 'brunch' as my main search word, we sat down early (11:45am) to the lunch menu and were not disappointed. French Onion soup and superb foie gras to start followed by Croque Madame and Duck, all ticked the right boxes. We did not partake of any wine but the drinks were brought swiftly and service, accommodating our Englishness, was with a smile. If you are in Quebec and find the Fairmont Chateau Frontenac you can find nearby Chez Jules - go, you won't regret it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service from our waitress.My pasta ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great service from our waitress.My pasta dish was not very tasty needed sauce and heat,but all other meals great.

Modern decor ,they were lined up when we left after an early meal. An easy walk from our old town hotel Chateau .would try again

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very small tables and very close to neig ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very small tables and very close to neighboring tables. Difficult to even be seated. Almost impossible to converse due to noise level. Husband's steak was good, my chicken was dry, the au gratin potatoes tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The service at the restaurant was wonder ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The service at the restaurant was wonderful. My husband had to try the beef cheeks and they were delicious I even I tried them and enjoyed it very much . I had a chicken dish and it was so delicious. we took the waiters recommendation for dessert and had the bread pudding it was fabulous . I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was really good! They were v ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service was really good! They were very warm, friendly, and accommodating! The clientele was about 60% English-speaking tourists and 40% French-speaking and they could communicate with ease. The one waitress even made it a point to come back and check if we wanted to sit outside, when a table opened up. The food was good, the salmon tartare was surprisingly bland, but certainly not inedible, but the salmon "back" filet was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We arrived early because we were going t ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We arrived early because we were going to a Celine Dion concert (with 30,000 of our closest friends), so we had a drink in the sidewalk cafe section (good people watching) until the kitchen opened and then moved inside (just as it started to rain) to a table right by the window (probably a result of having made a reservation a few days before). I started off with snails and followed with beef tartare, both of which were excellent. My wife had a salad followed by salmon tartare (also excellent). Our wine choice was from the less expensive options, but was completely pleasant. We would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was terrible! We had to ask ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was terrible! We had to ask for anything we needed multiple times.

The portions are pretty small compared to American portions and the menu is pretty limited.

The location is great particularly if you can get seated outside. We were a party of 8 and they told us that was not possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Dined here on a visit to Quebec City fro ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dined here on a visit to Quebec City from Boston. I had the liver, and my friend had the sole. Both were execellent though the liver portion was a bit on the small side. The waiter was great and spoke impeccable English. There was outdoor seating which would have been great except it was a little buggy outside. Though we came from the other direction, the restaurant was very close to the Chateau Frontenac.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Smack bang in a very touristy street, it ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Smack bang in a very touristy street, it's unlikely I would have wandered in, but thanks to the reviews here we booked for dinner. Immediately welcoming and accommodating for our 6 and 7 year old with a kids menu that included steak and frites and salmon and rice (switched for frites) with a drink, went down very well.

Steak tartar and salmon tartare to start were excellent and went down well. Carafes of an excellent Fronsac which I think would add upto $46 a bottle, was excellent and one of the best value wines I've had on this trip. Both tartares can be had for a starter or a main.

Tempted by the frog's legs which were on special, I instead went for veal liver while the wife had her favorite duck gizzard salad (also available as a starter or main). The liver was perfect, delicious quality French food and the side order of vegetables were beautiful but the wife's plate was a masterpiece of color, arrangement and some of the best confited gizzards we've ate.

We went for the full pudding menu. Chocolate mousse served un-glamorously in a large bowl with biscuits, perfect vanilla classic creme brulee and their take on profiteroles. All excellent and good value.

Our waiter was awesome, ran back and forwards with great attitude.

Four happy diners enjoyed their walk home. Recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

C'était délicieux, service efficace, à c ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

C'était délicieux, service efficace, à conseiller !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nothing was bad at this restaurant but n ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nothing was bad at this restaurant but nothing was exceptional. From the chèvre chaud to the tartare, no one was really impressed by any dish. Our server was friendly and funny but the service was just okay. We had a great time because we were in good company and the restaurant is pretty, but there are so many great gems to discover in Old Quebec that we probably won't be back at this establishment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience our first night in Queb ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience our first night in Quebec. Prices were reasonable and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is no longer called Le P ...

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant is no longer called Le Pain Beni. It is now Chez Jules and has a very diffent menu. The decor although apparently new is jarring - in a sea of neutral tiles, the upholstery is a loud very red vinyl. If it had been in velvet, it would have brought a bordello to mind. The food was okay. The fries and desserts - chocolate mousse and creme brûlée -were quite good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Bel accueil, très bon service attentionn ...

 
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Bel accueil, très bon service attentionné, très bon choix au menu et belle carte des vins. Bravo pour la présentation des plats! Et ils sont très bons. Pour les prix, ils se situent en général entre 30 et 40 dollars le plat principal. L'ambiance marie l'antique et le moderne. C'est agréable.

Mon hésitation pour moyen ou très bon : SACHEZ que le samedi il y a deux services. Nous aurions aimé le savoir plutôt que de se faire dire de partir sur le champ pratiquement une fois l'addition réglée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great atmosphere,friendly, very accommodating

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly, welcoming waiter and staff. Very accommodating, and helpful with our lacking French words. Great service, there to help when needed.

Nice location, unique and ambient decor, lighting and music, amazingly delicious food and desert! Great wine and beverage selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food; great service.

 
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Enjoyed a very nice meal here with my wife. I would definitely recommend; excellent food and a vibrant (somewhat noisy) atmosphere. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is amazing, presentation is impecca ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Food is amazing, presentation is impeccable, and my seafood casserole has really good flavour and consistency especially with the white wine I had. Dessert looks amazing, but a bit too minty for my taste, the strawberry sorbet, mint jelly, everywhere...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Onion soup and bruschetta was extraordin ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2015

Onion soup and bruschetta was extraordinary.

Bread pudding is like none other.

Pizza was also quite good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent Restaurant

 
·Dined on October 22, 2015

The food was delicious, atmosphere very nice, wait staff knowledgeable and friendly. Overall a wonderful place for dinner. Would highly recommend when looking for a restaurant in Quebec City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service

 
·Dined on September 18, 2015

The food exceeded our expectations, but what made the experience outstanding was the level and quality of service, the friendly, non-intrusive banter and the willingness of the server to make suggestions and share his knowledge with us. For a restaurant located in a busy tourist spot within the old city we were pleasantly surprised with the attention to detail and quality the evening overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Food without Portentousness

 
·Dined on September 18, 2015

I went there with my wife while visiting Quebec City. The restaurants is a low keyed bistro and has a nice patio. Most importantly, they serve one of my favorite dishes – Foie Gras. The dishes are the chef innovation and the Foie Gras was served with soft boil egg in a bread bowl, liver mousse and bacon jam – an amazing combination. For the main course I had the Atlantic Halibut - another amazing dish. My wife had the roasted chicken loaf and it was excellent. Don’t miss Le Pain Béni when you are in Quebec City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Andrew

 
·Dined on September 3, 2015

Excellent location, pleasant atmosphere, excellent staff. However, food over complicated in presentation at expense of quantity of main ingredient. Appears to be catering to a price point rather than good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Lovely restaurant deserves its excellent rating!

 
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We selected Le Pain Beni because of its excellent ratings by most previous diners on TripAdvisor. We had a delightful, delicious meal from a creative menu, thoughtfully presented and served by a friendly attentive waiter. We enjoyed the outside seating bordered by pots of flowers to provide some privacy and distance from the walking crowd, musicians and artists on Rue St. Anne. It was a great find!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.