Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

About Brasserie Française Chez Jules

Traditional Cuisine and Estate Wines
Le Pain Béni restaurant has undergone a recent metamorphosis into its present form, Brasserie Française Chez Jules.
At Chez Jules, you will eperience a true French Brasserie where the decor, the recipes, and the service all meticulously respect tradition with the utmost attention to detail.
At Chez Jules, it is still the same wonderful team that has lead Le Pain Béni to its success and they, once again, are ready to carry out this new adventure. A classic cuisine, a professional service, rigorous, attentive and pretention-free.
At Brasserie Françcaise Chez Jules, its reassuring traditional cuisine along with its estate wines will undoubtedly charm you!

24, Rue Sainte-Anne
Quebec, QC G1R 3X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: monday - sunday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: monday - sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
rue du Trésor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9485

Website:
http://www.chezjules.ca/

Executive Chef:
Simon Côté-Tremblay

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wine

Brasserie Française Chez Jules Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (1)
Historic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

On an anniversary trip to Quebec City, we chose Chez Jules for dinner the first night we were there. The restaurant has a very comfortable, "neighborhood joint" kind of ambiance. The service was great, and the food was excellent. Our dishes included escargot, pork rillettes, duck breast, and beef cheeks - all were expertly prepared and presented. All in all, we had a terrific, fun dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Tous les splats etaient excellents, il y avait une belle atmosphere dans l'etablissement et le service etait loin d'etre banal. Si nous habitions plus pres nous serions des reguliers, c'est certain!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Our first night in Quebec City.. we were exhausted from the travel and Chez Jules provided the perfect dining experience. Casual but classy. The Onion Soup was great...
we didn't eat a lot because we were pretty beat.. just soup and salads.. the service was excellent. Great location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great! Vvvvvvvvvvvv

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Lovely meal and very friendly, considerate service by all the staff. We ate classic French dishes and I enjoyed my Cahors wine, a reminder of childhood holidays in the Lot Valley. Would definitely return on future visits to Quebec City. Only negative were some not so friendly people seated nearby but I hope they enjoyed their meal as much as we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A little France at 6000 km ! Good food !
Good place to go !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This restaurant is located in Vieux Quebec, very close to the Fairmont Frontenac. The meal was very good, reasonably priced, the service was very quick, and the waiter was charming - very knowledgeable and attentive. I ordered a mixed salad to start, the Sole Meunier and apple pie for dessert and the food was quite tasty. My husband had the soup de jour (which i think was a cream of vegetable on the day), the steak frites and dessert of floating island (meringue in custard). There was also a jar of cornichons on the table and they were delicious, very tasty with a glass of wine or beer.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A truly wonderful dining experience for my husband and I and also our young adult son during our recent stay in Old Quebec City. Delicious menu and top notch staff made for a very memorable evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Needed to host a business dinner for five colleagues on - of all nights - Valentines day. Tried to get a reservation at a few of the more well known spots in the City. When they were all booked I thought we were settling on a reservation at Chez Jules. Boy was I wrong. Everything was great from the service, the wine recommendations, appetizers, charcuterie, entrees and dessert. I have no hesitation about either returning to or recommending Chez Jules.

Enjoy!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was very lovely, enjoyed the chicken pate then the sweetbreads and it was very deelish.. the only criticism was we felt a bit rushed, wanted us to order pretty much immediately and food came out pronto. It wasn't that busy that they needed the table...other than that service was friendly and professional..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great restaurant. The food tasted amazing and the service was outstanding. Would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Just loved the entire evening! Excellent food and service. Atmosphere is romantic and wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Me and my girlfriend decided on Chez Jules for our final dinner in Quebec and it was one of the best decisions we made here! It was very accessible and easy to get to (especially coming from across the river in Levis) and the warmth inside was perfect in the January weather. Staff were very friendly and treated us with a lot of familiarity, making jokes and complimenting our choices. We were even treated to free coffee when we realized we had just missed our ferry! The food was lovely and well presented, and the atmosphere was perfect for our date. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was bone chilling cold outside last Friday night, but the ambiance inside Chez Jules was warm and inviting. Food was overall very good but my wife thought the fillet of sole had way too much butter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I was very pleased to find this authentic French bistro after a few average meals in Canada. The seafood was beautifully cooked , the service friendly and efficient and the atmosphere charming. It was the best meal of our holiday.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great waiter and a great service!
Food was done very well. Good job for the new change

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good food in great location. Quaint atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Although our Open Table reservation was not found, the restaurant did have space for us. They say that happens a lot!
We enjoyed the special, the Bouillabaisse and the Grand Marnier Flambe' Crepe Suzette was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Fantastic!!! Excellent food and service. Chez Jules is a must visit!! Escargot, coq au vin and crepe suzette were spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Poor service forgot our asks more than once and rushed through our courses. Meals were ok but nothing special for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Oxford)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My meal was wonderful. It was strange though...they were in the middle of changing their menu and rather than giving us a copy they tried to tell us what was there or not... but it was half the menu and very confusing. Could have just used a photocopier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

It was a fantastic atmosphere and delicious food! The staff was very courteous! We will definitely come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very ordinary tourist trap. Not a good choice for Quebec city. You can have a much better experience at the Conti for example for the same dollar. Will not go back ever. Service was disorganized and slow. Yet the restaurant wasn't full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great place food was awesome host also came by with a complimentary brand for our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This restaurant was attached to our hotel. I had the duck which was good, my husband had the beef which was excellent. Very convenient location, friendly staff. We also had a breakfast there. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This place was always very busy when we walked by and it's on OpenTable, which we always consider first when traveling. But, skip it, as there are so many better restaurants in Quebec! I had dried out goose leg confit with soggy vegetables, and BOTH pasta and potatoes as sides. They love heavy sauces there, too. Just SO average!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

All you can eat frogs legs on Monday nights are amazing. Liver with mushrooms was excellent too.
Be sure to save room for Floating Island dessert - the best I ever had - in fact I had two.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Beef cheeks and salmon rice was great !
Duck breast was overcooked unfortunately. Very kind of them to discount that dish as a result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great service and food - prompt response
Excellent variety on menu
Mon all u can eat frogs legs 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Despite having used 'brunch' as my main search word, we sat down early (11:45am) to the lunch menu and were not disappointed. French Onion soup and superb foie gras to start followed by Croque Madame and Duck, all ticked the right boxes. We did not partake of any wine but the drinks were brought swiftly and service, accommodating our Englishness, was with a smile. If you are in Quebec and find the Fairmont Chateau Frontenac you can find nearby Chez Jules - go, you won't regret it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great service from our waitress.My pasta dish was not very tasty needed sauce and heat,but all other meals great.
Modern decor ,they were lined up when we left after an early meal. An easy walk from our old town hotel Chateau .would try again

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very small tables and very close to neighboring tables. Difficult to even be seated. Almost impossible to converse due to noise level. Husband's steak was good, my chicken was dry, the au gratin potatoes tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The service at the restaurant was wonderful. My husband had to try the beef cheeks and they were delicious I even I tried them and enjoyed it very much . I had a chicken dish and it was so delicious. we took the waiters recommendation for dessert and had the bread pudding it was fabulous . I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service was really good! They were very warm, friendly, and accommodating! The clientele was about 60% English-speaking tourists and 40% French-speaking and they could communicate with ease. The one waitress even made it a point to come back and check if we wanted to sit outside, when a table opened up. The food was good, the salmon tartare was surprisingly bland, but certainly not inedible, but the salmon "back" filet was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Well situated location, but the food was disappointing, surprisingly in light of the mainly very positive reviews. Most disappointing was the French Onion Soup au gratin. Very thin-tasting and the onions were not really cooked down and caramelized. I remarked to the waiter when then inquired, that the soup tasted as if they had run out of it earlier and had to quickly whip up a new batch and didn't have time to cook it and let flavour develop. Really very meh. The rest we had was so so. The flank steak with shallots was nicely cooked and tasty. We decided to go elsewhere for dessert. We heard the table right next to us commenting on their disappointment vis a vis the food as well. The resto was busy and full, but Service was nicely attentive, however, didn't offer any suggestions regarding the bland soup.
A lot more restaurants in the area, so no need to go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We arrived early because we were going to a Celine Dion concert (with 30,000 of our closest friends), so we had a drink in the sidewalk cafe section (good people watching) until the kitchen opened and then moved inside (just as it started to rain) to a table right by the window (probably a result of having made a reservation a few days before). I started off with snails and followed with beef tartare, both of which were excellent. My wife had a salad followed by salmon tartare (also excellent). Our wine choice was from the less expensive options, but was completely pleasant. We would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was terrible! We had to ask for anything we needed multiple times.
The portions are pretty small compared to American portions and the menu is pretty limited.
The location is great particularly if you can get seated outside. We were a party of 8 and they told us that was not possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dined here on a visit to Quebec City from Boston. I had the liver, and my friend had the sole. Both were execellent though the liver portion was a bit on the small side. The waiter was great and spoke impeccable English. There was outdoor seating which would have been great except it was a little buggy outside. Though we came from the other direction, the restaurant was very close to the Chateau Frontenac.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Smack bang in a very touristy street, it's unlikely I would have wandered in, but thanks to the reviews here we booked for dinner. Immediately welcoming and accommodating for our 6 and 7 year old with a kids menu that included steak and frites and salmon and rice (switched for frites) with a drink, went down very well.
Steak tartar and salmon tartare to start were excellent and went down well. Carafes of an excellent Fronsac which I think would add upto $46 a bottle, was excellent and one of the best value wines I've had on this trip. Both tartares can be had for a starter or a main.

Tempted by the frog's legs which were on special, I instead went for veal liver while the wife had her favorite duck gizzard salad (also available as a starter or main). The liver was perfect, delicious quality French food and the side order of vegetables were beautiful but the wife's plate was a masterpiece of color, arrangement and some of the best confited gizzards we've ate.

We went for the full pudding menu. Chocolate mousse served un-glamorously in a large bowl with biscuits, perfect vanilla classic creme brulee and their take on profiteroles. All excellent and good value.

Our waiter was awesome, ran back and forwards with great attitude.

Four happy diners enjoyed their walk home. Recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 26, 2016

C'était délicieux, service efficace, à conseiller !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.