About Brasserie Française Chez Jules

24, Rue Sainte-Anne
Quebec, QC G1R 3X3
View Larger Map

Traditional Cuisine and Estate Wines
Le Pain Béni restaurant has undergone a recent metamorphosis into its present form, Brasserie Française Chez Jules.
At Chez Jules, you will eperience a true French Brasserie where the decor, the recipes, and the service all meticulously respect tradition with the utmost attention to detail.
At Chez Jules, it is still the same wonderful team that has lead Le Pain Béni to its success and they, once again, are ready to carry out this new adventure. A classic cuisine, a professional service, rigorous, attentive and pretention-free.
At Brasserie Françcaise Chez Jules, its reassuring traditional cuisine along with its estate wines will undoubtedly charm you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: monday - sunday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: monday - sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
rue du Trésor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9485

Website:
http://www.chezjules.ca/

Executive Chef:
Simon Côté-Tremblay

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brasserie Française Chez Jules
Aaa Steak
Créme Brulé
Veau
Tartare de bison
Pain Foie Gras
Alcool
Pouding Pain Beni
Oeuf Mimosa
Onion Cream Soup with Beer
Salmon and Nordic Shrimp Tartare
Smoked Trout Pizza
Chicken Liver Mousse
Grilled Seabass
Mushroom Bisque
Braised Deer
Boréale Blonde
French Onion Soup

Brasserie Française Chez Jules Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Best Restaurants in Quebec City ›

Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Scenic View (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
68 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service at the restaurant was wonder ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The service at the restaurant was wonderful. My husband had to try the beef cheeks and they were delicious I even I tried them and enjoyed it very much . I had a chicken dish and it was so delicious. we took the waiters recommendation for dessert and had the bread pudding it was fabulous . I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was really good! They were v ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service was really good! They were very warm, friendly, and accommodating! The clientele was about 60% English-speaking tourists and 40% French-speaking and they could communicate with ease. The one waitress even made it a point to come back and check if we wanted to sit outside, when a table opened up. The food was good, the salmon tartare was surprisingly bland, but certainly not inedible, but the salmon "back" filet was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We arrived early because we were going t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We arrived early because we were going to a Celine Dion concert (with 30,000 of our closest friends), so we had a drink in the sidewalk cafe section (good people watching) until the kitchen opened and then moved inside (just as it started to rain) to a table right by the window (probably a result of having made a reservation a few days before). I started off with snails and followed with beef tartare, both of which were excellent. My wife had a salad followed by salmon tartare (also excellent). Our wine choice was from the less expensive options, but was completely pleasant. We would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was terrible! We had to ask ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was terrible! We had to ask for anything we needed multiple times.

The portions are pretty small compared to American portions and the menu is pretty limited.

The location is great particularly if you can get seated outside. We were a party of 8 and they told us that was not possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Dined here on a visit to Quebec City fro ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dined here on a visit to Quebec City from Boston. I had the liver, and my friend had the sole. Both were execellent though the liver portion was a bit on the small side. The waiter was great and spoke impeccable English. There was outdoor seating which would have been great except it was a little buggy outside. Though we came from the other direction, the restaurant was very close to the Chateau Frontenac.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Smack bang in a very touristy street, it ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Smack bang in a very touristy street, it's unlikely I would have wandered in, but thanks to the reviews here we booked for dinner. Immediately welcoming and accommodating for our 6 and 7 year old with a kids menu that included steak and frites and salmon and rice (switched for frites) with a drink, went down very well.

Steak tartar and salmon tartare to start were excellent and went down well. Carafes of an excellent Fronsac which I think would add upto $46 a bottle, was excellent and one of the best value wines I've had on this trip. Both tartares can be had for a starter or a main.

Tempted by the frog's legs which were on special, I instead went for veal liver while the wife had her favorite duck gizzard salad (also available as a starter or main). The liver was perfect, delicious quality French food and the side order of vegetables were beautiful but the wife's plate was a masterpiece of color, arrangement and some of the best confited gizzards we've ate.

We went for the full pudding menu. Chocolate mousse served un-glamorously in a large bowl with biscuits, perfect vanilla classic creme brulee and their take on profiteroles. All excellent and good value.

Our waiter was awesome, ran back and forwards with great attitude.

Four happy diners enjoyed their walk home. Recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing was bad at this restaurant but n ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nothing was bad at this restaurant but nothing was exceptional. From the chèvre chaud to the tartare, no one was really impressed by any dish. Our server was friendly and funny but the service was just okay. We had a great time because we were in good company and the restaurant is pretty, but there are so many great gems to discover in Old Quebec that we probably won't be back at this establishment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience our first night in Queb ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience our first night in Quebec. Prices were reasonable and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is no longer called Le P ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant is no longer called Le Pain Beni. It is now Chez Jules and has a very diffent menu. The decor although apparently new is jarring - in a sea of neutral tiles, the upholstery is a loud very red vinyl. If it had been in velvet, it would have brought a bordello to mind. The food was okay. The fries and desserts - chocolate mousse and creme brûlée -were quite good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Great atmosphere,friendly, very accommodating

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly, welcoming waiter and staff. Very accommodating, and helpful with our lacking French words. Great service, there to help when needed.

Nice location, unique and ambient decor, lighting and music, amazingly delicious food and desert! Great wine and beverage selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food; great service.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Enjoyed a very nice meal here with my wife. I would definitely recommend; excellent food and a vibrant (somewhat noisy) atmosphere. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is amazing, presentation is impecca ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Food is amazing, presentation is impeccable, and my seafood casserole has really good flavour and consistency especially with the white wine I had. Dessert looks amazing, but a bit too minty for my taste, the strawberry sorbet, mint jelly, everywhere...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Onion soup and bruschetta was extraordin ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

Onion soup and bruschetta was extraordinary.

Bread pudding is like none other.

Pizza was also quite good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent Restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

The food was delicious, atmosphere very nice, wait staff knowledgeable and friendly. Overall a wonderful place for dinner. Would highly recommend when looking for a restaurant in Quebec City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

The food exceeded our expectations, but what made the experience outstanding was the level and quality of service, the friendly, non-intrusive banter and the willingness of the server to make suggestions and share his knowledge with us. For a restaurant located in a busy tourist spot within the old city we were pleasantly surprised with the attention to detail and quality the evening overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Food without Portentousness

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

I went there with my wife while visiting Quebec City. The restaurants is a low keyed bistro and has a nice patio. Most importantly, they serve one of my favorite dishes – Foie Gras. The dishes are the chef innovation and the Foie Gras was served with soft boil egg in a bread bowl, liver mousse and bacon jam – an amazing combination. For the main course I had the Atlantic Halibut - another amazing dish. My wife had the roasted chicken loaf and it was excellent. Don’t miss Le Pain Béni when you are in Quebec City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Andrew

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

Excellent location, pleasant atmosphere, excellent staff. However, food over complicated in presentation at expense of quantity of main ingredient. Appears to be catering to a price point rather than good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Lovely restaurant deserves its excellent rating!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We selected Le Pain Beni because of its excellent ratings by most previous diners on TripAdvisor. We had a delightful, delicious meal from a creative menu, thoughtfully presented and served by a friendly attentive waiter. We enjoyed the outside seating bordered by pots of flowers to provide some privacy and distance from the walking crowd, musicians and artists on Rue St. Anne. It was a great find!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our family of four had a wonderful dinne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

Our family of four had a wonderful dinner here at Le Pain Béni! It was our first meal in QC. The restaurant has a very nice ambience with both indoor and outdoor seating. Both of our daughters are allergic to nuts, and our server was very attentive to their needs. It was also one of our daughter's 13th birthday, and she was able to enjoy a delicious flourless and nut free chocolate cake adorned with a sparkler! Merci!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The steak, chicken loaf and the fish are ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

The steak, chicken loaf and the fish are all well cooked. Quite fancy and contemporary. Many new stuff has been added to the menu from opentable and the price has rised a little bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Yummy

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

Deer burger was amazing!!! We sat outside ate under the chandelier and enjoyed every minute.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Beautiful and friendly gluten-free safe restaurant

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

Going for a late night dinner at Le Pain Béni was a highlight of our trip to Quebec City. Even though it was very busy, we were served quickly and the server took the time to make our visit enjoyable. The atmosphere was great: full of energy but not too loud, and such a beautiful spot one couple walking by stopped to take pictures right next to us. From romance to family fun this restaurant is an excellent choice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Amazing food! The onion soup was delicio ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

Amazing food! The onion soup was delicious. The filet was one of the best meals I've ever had. Our server was funny and charming. We dined on the patio and enjoyed watching the artists and people walking by. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Vieux Quebec restaurant with eclectic menu

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Le Pain Beni was, unexpectedly, a bit modern and funky inside, revealing an eclectic menu with lovely choices around which were guided expertly by our exceptional waiter. We took a vhance and order a Chef's "surprise" appetizer platter to share for dinner and everything, save the bison tartare, was very delicious. While we didn't care for the tartare, it was beautifully prepared and presented, just not a taste we enjoyed. In a city where finding bad food is pretty difficult, Le Pain Beni presented much of what Quebec is known for: fresh tasting, well prepared and presented food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

Was expecting alot, and was still blown away!! Had the bison tartar and bruchetta, it was outrageously amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2015

Found this place through Open Table and was very pleased. The meals were delicious. The restaurant 's menu differed from the on-line one but they were willing to customize so we're delighted. The wait staff was attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Très bien in every way!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

I was fortunate Le Pain Beni was in my hotel -- so convenient, and my room rate included free awesome breakfast every day. The "Classic Eggs" prepared with Goat cheese and chives (sans bacon for me) with potatoes and fresh baked bread toast was so yummy. On second day, I asked for fresh fruit instead of potatoes and was warmly accommodated. Excellent coffee and they also provided soy milk upon my request. The staff was so nice and service perfect! Beautiful food presentations. At dinner I had a Salmon salad and a unique veggie pizza, at the waiter's recommendation, -- both wonderful. The Sauvignon Blanc was also très bien! Red accented decor -- very stylish with comfortable red leather chairs and benches; outdoor seating also so enjoyable and cozy with red umbrellas and flower boxes in total bloom! I loved it and highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience at Le Pain Béni

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2015

I loved the overall experience- the staff was attentive, helpful with selections and enjoyable! I visited Old Quebec City with family and wanted to experience the local French cuisine and Le Pain Béni delivered. For starters we had the Onion Cream Soup, Waldorf Salad, and Bison Tartare, a new dish for us, and all were delicious. For main courses we shared the Seafood Casserole and steak, each done to our expectation. We finished up with the local Beaver Tail (maple and chocolate decadent dessert) and crème brûlée, to quote my daughter, “perfect”. Thanks for a lovely evening, great food and nice atmosphere. We had a great time in Old Quebec City and will definitely return one day to Le Pain Béni.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great meal in old Quebec

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2015

One of the best restaurants we have eaten in. The food was complex and perfectly prepared. My husband had the veal. It was cooked to his preference, and he found it perfect in taste and texture. I am a vegetarian and had the rare pleasure of eating a vegetarian meal that had as much attention paid to it as meat dishes. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique flavours. Friendly staff and a ni ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

Unique flavours. Friendly staff and a nice vibe about the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stands out in a sea of tourist restos

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

This chef certainly shows great passion in his offerings. Perfect for getting away from the all too common lamb shank or Bavette offerings in so many places. The menu is small which always shows that what is available will be above average. Each dish had a variety of ingredients with unique tastes. Each mouthful was an adventure for the palate. We had the halibut and the chicken loaf (yes.. A chicken loaf with style! This is not your mother's chicken loaf)) which is available till mid fall as the menu changes 2x a year. service was great and they were eager to please us (as we like our food more well done).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointing Christmas meal

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 26, 2014

Had dinner on Christmas. Lovely looking little restaurant, brick walls, busy. We had a pleasant server who gave us a good wine recommendation. Charcuterie plate was outstanding but everything else from the kitchen we felt was heavy handed. A plate of oysters with raspberry jam (?!) and and a lime foam overpowered everything you want in a plate of oysters. We both ordered venison tartare that was almost gluey in consistency with hard chunks of bacon - again a dish that should have been fresh tasting and wasn't. We skipped dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great dinner option in old city.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 5, 2014

Wish we had found this on our first visit to old Quebec. Last visit to the city we weren't very impressed with dinner options. But if you are willing spend $100-$150 for dinner for 2 with wine, great place to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic and Delicious

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 15, 2014

Lovely setting for a romantic dinner. The food was inventive and excellent. The service started slow but finished strong. I'll look forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dinner with two business colleagues

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 13, 2014

Chose this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews. It was close to hotel and menu was eclectic. This was the first time we had worked together so I did not know colleagues very well. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals. We shared the charcuterie and bruschetta appetizers and they were both delicious. I had the cabbage soup based on recommendations I had read and it did not disappoint! We all enjoyed our meals so much that we splurged and had dessert. They were all yummy! Service was attentive yet unobtrusive - just the way I like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had an excellent experience. With 7 ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 11, 2014

We had an excellent experience. With 7 girls on a weekend trip to Quebec City, we all agreed that this was the best food we had throughout the entire trip. Service was top notch as a bonus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

old quebec gem

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

The food was perfect, the waiter was perfect, the table was perfect, the desserts were more than perfect. A gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meal I've ever had! Ever ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 23, 2014

One of the best meal I've ever had! Every bite was an expérience. The service was à bit unpersonal but we had good suggestion and great wine as well

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great dinner!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 22, 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous meal here while in Old Quebec. I had read about it online and it looked great, then a local cafe owner told us this is where he goes with his wife when they want a good meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So Good We Ate There Twice

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

The first night we arrived to discover our reservation had somehow been lost and the restaurant was full. They put us at the bar and everyone gave us the most attentive service ever. We had the fondue which was a real retro treat. The next time we went we were able to get a table and again had amazing service. The food was fantastic and I had the chef's special dessert and it was the best I had ever had in a restaurant. Add this to you "must go" list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.